View Full Version : Your partner... Best Friends?
09-03-2006, 11:47
There has been a lot of threads lately about relationships that are in trouble... I'm just wondering what kind of relationship you have/had with your partner?
For example, my husband always tells me that I'm his best friend. This makes me feel great of course - and I share everything with him as he does me. But I dont feel as though he is my best friend too... I have a girlfriend in Brisbane who is what I would call 'My Best Friend.' We have been friends for 15 years, and our friendship will never change.
Dont get me wrong - I love my husband dearly, he is a fantastic husband, a great friend, he communicates effectively, will be an awesome father one day and certainly he is my lover too. But I cant honestly say he is my BEST friend...
Hmm - this sounds more awkward than I intended it to, but even still - I am sure you all understand what I'm getting at.
Do any of you ladies have similar relationships with your DH, where there is just one other person in the world that you couldn't possibly retract the title of Best Friend from?
PS - There is nothing wrong in paradise at the moment either! Just a rhetorical question...
I could say my DP is my best friend, having moved to a whole new town and not really knowing anyone when I got here - Sure i've made friends at Mothers Groups and I still see my other 'close' friends whenever I go to my home town (Only 80kms down the road), but it isn't the same with them now. I feel I have grown up - Moved out of home, had a baby etc, whereas they are still going to the pub and going out getting drunk.
I tell my DP everything, theres nothing I wouldn't keep from him - Except what his birthday present is! So yeah generally he is my best friend. From day dot with him i've felt comfortable - we had only been going out for a week when he asked me to go to QLD and meet his parents, I think we both knew we were the one for each other! :smiliedance:
P.S. EXCELLENT THREAD ALLY84!!! It's good to hear good things about our partners!!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
My fiance is definately my best friend, we always have so much fun together. We've been together nearly 3 years and have never had a major arguement. I miss him while hes at work and always greet him at the door when he gets home, i couldnt imagine my life without him. He left his country to be with me not knowing anyone here but me, what more could i ask for
Ruby Slippers
09-03-2006, 12:01
My Dh is my soul mate and he's my best friend ,i don't have any other friends other than family been there, done that and my friendships did not work out , well we have been married for 10 years this may the 18th on he's birthday we got married i gather he won't forget lol , we have the same starsign a Taurus
we
can lock horns now and again we are both Stubborn , who will say sorry first we both end up laughing i love my life with him and my girls and our two dogs.:D
*Country Bumpkin*
09-03-2006, 12:02
Even though my DP and I have been having a few roubles at late he is definitly my best friend and i am his..... its always been like that we started off as best friends and it went from there:hugs:
For sure, my DH is my best friend. He has been through everything with me and me with him.
We have a no secrets policy and I feel at ease with him with absolutely everything.
I miss him terribly during the day whilst we are at work and I can't wait to see him when I get home. Even when he's out the back mowing the lawn I miss him and call him to come inside with me.
We were mates for about a year before we got together and we are still are mates :thumbsup: 9 years later :yelclap:
Ruby Slippers
09-03-2006, 12:06
For sure, my DH is my best friend. He has been through everything with me and me with him.
We have a no secrets policy and I feel at ease with him with absolutely everything.
I miss him terribly during the day whilst we are at work and I can't wait to see him when I get home. Even when he's out the back mowing the lawn I miss him and call him to come inside with me.
ohhhhh that's so cute :D that you miss him when he's only out the backyard.
My DB is most defintely my best friend..:D
Peaceangels
09-03-2006, 12:21
The way I look at it, I have a male best friend which is DH and I have a female best friend which is my sis (I always tell DH something first).
I know where you are coming from Ally, sometimes you just can't get the same conversation from a male as you can from a female, not to say one friendship is better than the other - just different.
mellybean
09-03-2006, 12:22
My DH is my best friend. We laugh at lot and I have had more memorable life moments in the 3 years we have been together than in the previous 28 I reckon! He was definately worth the wait!! :kiss:
09-03-2006, 12:28
Wow! These are really interesting responses! I thought there would be more than one person (thats you Ness) who would have felt kind of the same as me...
Maybe I have just learned to adapt to having a best friend AS WELL AS a husband - since he cant be my best friend when he is away all the time... what good is a shoulder to cry on when its on the other side of the earth! :confused:
Ana Gram
09-03-2006, 12:33
Never fear, my partner is definately not my best friend and I would like to keep it that way!
KiLLaKaZ
09-03-2006, 12:34
i considered my husband as my best friend - well, ONLY friend to be precise ;)
he considered his family to be his best friends, so it was tough as he wouldn't share stuff with me! :mad: :banghead:
My husband is not my best friend - he is the only person I want to be with for the rest of my life but there are things about me that he just doesn't understand and for those I turn to my girlfriends. I don't have a problem with the fact that he doesn't provide all the emotional sustenance that I need - he provides a lot and for the rest I have friends and family. I love him and enjoy his company and share things with him that I wouldn't share with others but he hasn't replaced those girlfriends who support me too. Don't know it I am explaining it well but hopefully you will get the drift. No dramas in paradise, no marriage on the rocks - I just have other people in my life too.
09-03-2006, 12:46
Dan is definately my best friend!!! I have close girlfriends, but they will NEVER compare to what Dan & I share!! ( mind you, sometimes you just needs a chicks ear ;) ) We promised to share everything & keep no secrets on our wedding day!! And so far we have kept that promise... 5 years on!! ( I dont share other peoples secrets with him btw, just mine).
YAY I LOVE MY DAN!!!! :smiliedance: :kiss:
ElizaDee
09-03-2006, 12:50
I have known my husband for 10yrs, we have been married for 1yr and he is my soul mate and best friend. I tell him everything all the time, there are times when I miss him when he is up at "his shed" or just gone up the road.
Don't get me wrong, I love some of my me time but I still miss him. I am probably missing him more right now as he is in Sydney but he comes home again tonight! :smiliedance:
We are always cuddling and kissing and he is always telling me that I am his best friend. He is mine too, we say this is because we are Neville No Friends! :laughing:
09-03-2006, 12:52
My husband is not my best friend - he is the only person I want to be with for the rest of my life but there are things about me that he just doesn't understand and for those I turn to my girlfriends.... No dramas in paradise, no marriage on the rocks - I just have other people in my life too.
Well said!
I always talk to my husband about everything - there is certainly no secrets with us either - but girlfriends understand the 'Womens Business' a lot more!
LittleBoysRock
09-03-2006, 13:20
DH is my best friend in the world. :kiss:
Having said that I still have my closest friends....two girls who I went to school with were my b-maids at my wedding and are Owen's Godmothers. :yelclap:
Blessed Mum
09-03-2006, 13:51
My husband is definately my best friend & my soul mate. He has been my rock through so many things & always supports me. Don't get me wrong, we have our ups & downs but he is it for me & of course our children. The way I look at it is if I was to walk into a room with a hundred people in it as long as DH was beside me it wouldn't phase me in the slightest because I know he's always got my back(looking out for me) iykwim? That's something I read or something someone once said.
He makes my world turn around & my kids make it a happy world :)
This has probably come out all wrong.:laughing: .
I have found as I grew older (and older, and older....) that my concept of a best friend has changed. I now have special friends and they're all different, and we offer eachother different things.
My hubby is of course my sweetheart, but I have a long time girlfriend that I share different things with, and she is just as special. I can't really classify one friend as being better than another... I need them all for different reasons.
I have found as I grew older (and older, and older....) that my concept of a best friend has changed. I now have special friends and they're all different, and we offer eachother different things.
My hubby is of course my sweetheart, but I have a long time girlfriend that I share different things with, and she is just as special. I can't really classify one friend as being better than another... I need them all for different reasons.
Yup, totally agree with that one :)
MonkeyMum05
09-03-2006, 14:20
My husband is my soul mate, and my best friend. There is nothing that I can't tell him! He is the most caring, open minded, non-judgemental person I have ever met and I love him with all my heart and soul!
He's a absolutely awesome Daddy too! When Bub was newborn, he had a few weeks off work, and used to change almost every single nappy, (day and night!) becasue he didn't think it was fair that I had to do all the work, ie- feed him and change his nappies too. lol.
He also gets up early with Bub in the mornings and lets me sleep in till he goes to work, and baths him when he gets home!
I'm not letting this one go!
We were mates for about a year before we got together and we are still are mates :thumbsup: 9 years later :yelclap:
Df is my bestest friend in the whole wide world...
I sit out side while he mows, watch him get all hot and sweaty....:p
Briannabear
09-03-2006, 19:16
My husband is definately my best friend! :hugs: I couldnt think of anyone else Id rather hang out with!
(dont get me wrong I love my friends - but he takes higher priority!)
He's my best friend with special benefits! :p :smiliedance:
As always Wattle you are much better with words than I am - and you have just said exactly what I was trying to say in my earlier post - so Ditto!
SweetSerenity
11-03-2006, 08:00
I read this thread yesterday....and i thought, yes he's my soul mate, we love each other dearly, he's my husband, lover, friend, confident, and i can tell him everything but he's not my best friend....So im with you Ally!
So i went to DH yesterday after reading this and asked him if he considers me his best friend....and he said "not really but your my wife which is even better than a best friend!" :D I feel the same way!
I have two best friends who i can talk about EVERYTHING with....Yes i can talk to my hubby about everything too, but theres just some women things that they dont get!
Also for Brett and I, we have been together for 3 years this year, where as with my best friends, ive known them for nearly 8 years....so we have that whole history thing....and they were there when i went through tough times in the teenage years. It s the same with Brett, his best mate he's known since High School.
It's good though cos we can invite our best friends over and we all get along and have heaps of fun together as a group!
Kirstlea
11-03-2006, 08:26
My DH is my best mate and soul mate and he feels the same about me too.
We have known each other for 6 or 7 years but only became a couple 3 1/2 yrs ago. I used to be his bookkeeper:eek: I always said never mix business with pleasure lol. Every week we saw each other told our stories from the weekend, or about the people we had met and generally what we got up to. We both looked out for each other in relationship breakups etc.
I used to tell him off for leading the girls on just for a bit of fun, oh there is so much we used to tell each other, it makes me laugh everytime I think of it and it still amazes me that we are married and so happy. There are no secrets we tell each other everything, we play hard, fight hard and love hard as thats the kind of people we are so it can be interesting but neither of us would have it any other way.
I feel like my life is so sereal and wonder if the bubble is going to burst sometimes.
We're best friends.
We were best friends before we got together, and we're still best friends now.
We both have best mates (and Best Good Friends... *looks at Puk*) but Chris will always be there for me, forever and stuff :D
My DH is a fantastic man. He and I have been together for 1o years and married for 6 and our relationship just keeps getting better.
It saddens me to see some of our friend couples not hold hands still or show any affection towards each other. They act more like friends that live together than lovers.
I consider DH as one of my best friends although I have a few female best buddies as well (incl my sister).
This pregnancy has definitely brought DH and I closer and today I even had tears in my eyes thinking how wonderful he will be as a father.
Baby Girl
11-03-2006, 23:00
My DP always says he would be lost without me - and its true!! But he survived before I came along!!
We were friends for years before we got together. We are still friends but I wouldn't call him my best friend. He is my partner. Our relationship grew from a friendship but it has become more than that. We share everything, I can rely on him to pick me up when I am down. I can be myself and know that is why he loves me. I am not perfect and he doesn't want me to be. All that (I hope) could be said the same way by him too.
My nan once said to me that you know when you have found the right person because you couldn't imagine life without them - I can't imagine what it would be like not having him around, not having him to talk to, not having him to snuggle with, not having him to take the bins out :laughing: