View Full Version : Veggos Rock!!
canberramomma
20-12-2007, 11:59
Well, we already knew that, but here's more proof!!!
http://www.vegetarianaction.org.au/
Not stirring the (vegetable) pot at all!!!!
Ana Gram
20-12-2007, 12:04
But you don't have to go vego to help the reduction of methane contributing to greenhouse gases. Swap to kangaroo :D
canberramomma
20-12-2007, 22:07
The article wasn't just about the methane emissions, it was also factoring in production of feed, water for growing the feed, water for the animals, clearing of land for the animals and their feed, and transportation costs for taking the animals to slaughter and distribution.
15% people!!!!
Am I the only veggie who doesn't like lentils, tofu or egg plant??? :barf:
Ana Gram
20-12-2007, 22:42
The article wasn't just about the methane emissions, it was also factoring in production of feed, water for growing the feed, water for the animals, clearing of land for the animals and their feed, and transportation costs for taking the animals to slaughter and distribution.
15% people!!!!
Again, swapping to kangaroo meat is a good alternative. I am not going vego again, it makes me ill a lot, so as an alternative I have swapped all my red meat for kangaroo meat.
canberramomma
21-12-2007, 08:19
I'm sure there are plenty of you out there. Being vego doesn't mean you have to love EVERYTHING that's not meat!! Just make sure you get your protien from other sources.
We have nut allergies here so we have to substitute a lot and I have a friend who's vego but has a wheat intolerance.
I won't be inviting you for dinner though. Lentils, tofu and eggplant are regulars here. :laughing:
Haha!
I am vegetarian but so fussy about how I have my vegies. I like em fresh.
I don't mind tofu or eggplant just cooked right. Lentils ...if someone knows how to cook em right, maybe...
canberramomma
21-12-2007, 08:23
Again, swapping to kangaroo meat is a good alternative. I am not going vego again, it makes me ill a lot, so as an alternative I have swapped all my red meat for kangaroo meat.
I know what you're saying, but I can see several flaws in this solution, so I guess we'll have to agree to disagree. Good on you for being an environmentally aware meat eater, though. Now, if I could convince my brothers to eat kangaroo sausages and TVP bolegnase, I'm sure we could halve Australia's commercial meat consumption!!
Ana Gram
21-12-2007, 08:29
Please tell me what the flaws are. Can't agree to disagree until I know what your argument is.
canberramomma
21-12-2007, 08:42
Please tell me what the flaws are. Can't agree to disagree until I know what your argument is.
Well, I can see kangaroo farming on a mass scale as being as detrimental to the environment as other sources of meat. I know this doesn't currently happen, but people being people, I reckon it wouldn't take much for multi nationals to step in and start setting up kangaroo farms which don't benefit society or the animals.
By agreeing to disagree, I meant that I am a firm believer in going vego, and you obviously have your reasons for being a meat eater. We'll never agree on this point, methinks.
I have a question that is slightly off topic.... I hate meat really and am so fussy about what meat I will eat (the thought of it grosses me out) and I got really bad food poisoning from chicken this week so I am thinking about cutting it out all together, but we will prob start ttc sometime next year and I wonder who to ask what a preggo veggo should eat :D And bf when veggo? I had really low iron when I was preg with ds anyway..... Any tips??
Phyllis Stein
21-12-2007, 16:12
Yay for us vegos alright! 'tis the best tasting food anyway. :)
beth82, it's such a huge question, might be worth starting a new thread for... but generally, pregnant vegos can be just as healthy as meat eaters (or more so ;)). We replace meat protein with plant-based protein, that's all (think legumes & their derivatives, like tofu). My iron's been pretty good through pregnancy, and TBH, if you have a varied vego diet, you can easily get all the vit/ minerals you need.
canberramomma
21-12-2007, 16:40
:iagree:
Prior to going veg, I was always diagnosed with a low iron count. I was vego through my last pg and all my tests were fine and have been since. You have to make sure you get enough iron-rich foods, though. Being veg means more than just eating what you used to less the meat! It's a bit of a lifestyle change, but not too scary. There are heaps of sites out there with delicious recipes that represent a balanced diet.
I guess you have to try it.
Harlequin
21-12-2007, 17:04
I think I would die if I went vegetarian.
Lol, that is what my husband thinks!
Phyllis Stein
22-12-2007, 08:47
Which is ironic, seeing as a vego diet is (generally) much healthier than a meat eating diet!
canberramomma
22-12-2007, 09:05
You've never met my little brothers. They are convinced that veggies give you syphillis. Apparently, though, once you put salad on a burger, it turns into meat. And the potato is a form of meat disguised as a vegetable! Ah, footy-heads!!!
I have tricked them into eating veggo meals which they have enjoyed, though.
Harlequin
22-12-2007, 11:06
Which is ironic, seeing as a vego diet is (generally) much healthier than a meat eating diet!
I'm iron deficient and don't have the discipline to make sure I eat enough of the right vege's in order to get enough iron in my diet.
It's easier to eat meat... and I love my meat so it'd kill me to be a vego. It'd kill me I say!! :D
caramella
22-12-2007, 19:45
Yay for veggos! :yelclap:
My husband and I decided to go vegetarian about 6 months ago, and it was the best decision! We love it and feel so good about doing it, we've never felt healthier. My husband says that he hasn't craved meat at all which has been a surprise as he was such a red meat lover before going veggo. I think it's because we are eating so much more healthily now that he's obviously getting all he needs without the meat.
Going vegetarian was much easier than I anticipated. We love it and will never go back to eating meat again.
Oh, and I love eggplant, tofu and lentils! :D
stellarella
22-12-2007, 19:57
I am a vego and I eat everything that isn't meat...I will have the LOT!! I have been a vego for 14 years!! 14 years people!
However I understand some people would like to eat meat and they have that right, I am all for the consumption of kangaroo meat, good on your Chelle, my DP also eats kangaroo meat for this reason.
I do agree we could run into problems if it is farmed en masse however it would still be less than farming beef.
Or the alternative is raise and kill your own meat on a small scale. Not possible for city folk but possible for many others. :D
I think if more people had to kill their meat they would eat it on a moderate and healthy scale instead of breakfast, lunch and dinner like my FIL....eeeeek!
Pippi Longstocking
22-12-2007, 20:11
I am a vego and I eat everything that isn't meat...I will have the LOT!! I have been a vego for 14 years!! 14 years people!
I have been vego for 30 years :D I win! :p
stellarella
22-12-2007, 20:14
Yeah but how old are you....50??? :p
LOL go on percentages! I have been vegetarian most of my life. Didn't have much choice when I was little.
Pippi Longstocking
22-12-2007, 20:26
Yeah but how old are you....50??? :p
Shaddup! *slap* I'm...well, 30! :p I have been a vegetarian for exactly 100% of my life :D
Veggie since 1991 :)
(Seems like eons ago now.)
Phyllis Stein
22-12-2007, 20:31
Vego since 1993. That's... 14 years?
stellarella
22-12-2007, 20:38
Thats awesome Guv!
I was grown and born a vego, then at about 3 I ate meat again, dunno what came over my mother...anyhoo at 11 I made the very grown up decision not to eat animals, why would eat what I loved???...anyway the rest is history.
So technically 17 years, so someone do the math for me, not my strong point, and tell me what percentage that is. I am 25.
mumofKieran
22-12-2007, 20:56
I was a vego for 3 years or so, then I married an ex-butcher who loves his meat :o.
I succumbed, as I really do/did like it too...
Anyhow, as for the kangaroo farming thing, it would be extremely difficult if not impossible to achieve, because kangaroos have a unique 'condition' when stressed causing severe stiffening of the muscles, and they are dead or very ill before they would even make it to the abbatoirs. It's actually such a big problem that field researchers have huge problems catching them for research, even when they just want to gather info and then let them go. It's called 'capture myopathy' I think, from memory.
So rest assured, people, it's not likely we'll be seeing them in feedlots in the future (thank god).
metalhead713
22-12-2007, 21:00
I personally wouldnt eat kangaroo meat, as it makes me wanna :barf::barf: game meat is disgustingg
my ex made spag bol with kangaroo mince once.. omg:barf:
When I started seeing DF I got a shock a few times when I went to kiss him and he'd just eaten some meat. Not very nice to end a kiss by going :barf:
ExDH was veggie and we were together for about 8 years and I wasn't with anyone in between exDH and DF.
I got a lot of cr*p from family and friends for a long while before they realised that this was me. It's just who I am now and has been for year. I don't need a reason anymore.
Ana Gram
22-12-2007, 22:31
However I understand some people would like to eat meat and they have that right, I am all for the consumption of kangaroo meat, good on your Chelle, my DP also eats kangaroo meat for this reason.
Every little change helps :). Roo meat absolutely reeks raw but I find it tastier than any other red meat. I think it is healthy for you, not totally sure though.
I think the current meat on shelves comes from culling rather than farming as we understand farming - animals fenced etc. Someone else might know more and be able to correct me.
stellarella
23-12-2007, 02:24
Yes it is one of the healthiest meats, very lean and very high in iron and other minerals.
metalhead713
23-12-2007, 06:21
When I started seeing DF I got a shock a few times when I went to kiss him and he'd just eaten some meat. Not very nice to end a kiss by going :barf:
ExDH was veggie and we were together for about 8 years and I wasn't with anyone in between exDH and DF.
I got a lot of cr*p from family and friends for a long while before they realised that this was me. It's just who I am now and has been for year. I don't need a reason anymore.
I dont know why people would judge a person by what food they eat:no: the food doesnt make the person. (so that throws out that whole 'we are what we eat' then lol)
Pippi Longstocking
23-12-2007, 06:32
I dont know why people would judge a person by what food they eat:no: the food doesnt make the person. (so that throws out that whole 'we are what we eat' then lol)
She wasn't. She was explaining that kissing a meat eater when you are vegetarian is unpleasant. It's a fact, not a perceived attack on all omnivores. It's the equivalent of kissing a smoker when you are a non-smoker. It is unpleasant. My husband eats meat occasionally, I certainly don't judge him for it. He is a big boy, he can make his own dietary decisions without the need to be berated and chastised by me. But I won't kiss him after he has just consumed something I find abhorrent. Would you kiss your partner right after he ate a dog turd? ;)
stellarella
23-12-2007, 06:38
I won't kiss DP or let him near me when he has eaten meat, he has to brush his teeth first. And oysters or mussels are the absolute pits!
metalhead713
23-12-2007, 06:55
She wasn't. She was explaining that kissing a meat eater when you are vegetarian is unpleasant. It's a fact, not a perceived attack on all omnivores. It's the equivalent of kissing a smoker when you are a non-smoker. It is unpleasant. My husband eats meat occasionally, I certainly don't judge him for it. He is a big boy, he can make his own dietary decisions without the need to be berated and chastised by me. But I won't kiss him after he has just consumed something I find abhorrent. Would you kiss your partner right after he ate a dog turd? ;)
woah back up lol, I was talking about her family judging her for being a vego. They shouldnt judge her for it.
Pippi Longstocking
23-12-2007, 07:07
woah back up lol, I was talking about her family judging her for being a vego. They shouldnt judge her for it.
Oh right, no worries then! :D Being judged for it just goes with the territory, unfortunately. People are strange creatures - they get all defensive if people deviate from the "norm". So many people have taken offence at my vegetarianism - they somehow take it as a criticism of their omnivorous diet. :rolleyes: I don't do the whole grandstanding/brow-beating thing and yet people still get offended. I am quite happy to talk about my vegetarianism and my reasons to maintain this way of eating with anyone that is interested but I have no interest in forcing my beliefs on others. I wish the respect was mutual but unfortunately it's not. I have had people question my diet, demand rather than request to know why I eat the way I do, attempt to bully me in to eating meat, trying to trick me into eating it, had it thrown at me and the most common, people thinking they are hilarious by waving it under my nose while cr@pping on with "ohhhh meat. Mmm, smell that bleedy goodness,yum, look at that bone" etc. :rolleyes: It's not funny, it's not original and it makes people look like utter w@nkers but still it happens on a regular basis.
metalhead713
23-12-2007, 07:34
I may be a meat eater but yuk.. if someone did that to me id be :barf: too. I dont like my beef mooing thanks lol cooked please.
Whats the word for someone who eats pretty much anything? lol cause thats me. I love tofu, lentils and all that sorta stuff but I also love red meat and seafood too. Mmm love seafood acctually lol.
I think im just a pig:D
But yes I understand what your saying, I have a few friends who cop the same treatment. Its the same with anything that isnt seen as 'the norm'
canberramomma
23-12-2007, 20:19
Omnivore is the word you're looking for and they are, generally speaking, the most successful of the species.
I get a lot of grief from my family about being veg. When I told my dad, he said "I hope you get better soon". Every time I get a cold, my brothers tell me that it's because I don't eat meat. My grandmother just doesn't understand. Everyone goes into panic mode when I go round for dinner or lunch. Just give me a jam sandwich fer chrissake. Or tell me to bring my own!!!
Just coz they don't care about my kids future (and they really don't, looking at their lifestyle), doesn't mean I can't, right??
Oh, and I'm glad to hear about the kangaroo farming thing, coz it was worrying me!!!
When I told my dad, he said "I hope you get better soon".
When I told my dad the conversation went exactly like this:
Dad:"Rebecca, a man needs meat"
Me: "That's ok Dad, I'm a woman"
Dad: "All the vegetarians I know are all weak and anemic looking".
The next time he saw me which was a few months later he said a couple of times, "gee you're looking really well".
I swear on my grandma's grave.
I won't kiss DP or let him near me when he has eaten meat, he has to brush his teeth first. And oysters or mussels are the absolute pits!
Not meaning to lower the tone of the thread... but... meaty wind isn't pleasant either! I'm sure veggies are less gasey, as long as they have soaked their pulses properly!
Oh right, no worries then! :D Being judged for it just goes with the territory, unfortunately. People are strange creatures - they get all defensive if people deviate from the "norm". So many people have taken offence at my vegetarianism - they somehow take it as a criticism of their omnivorous diet. :rolleyes: I don't do the whole grandstanding/brow-beating thing and yet people still get offended. I am quite happy to talk about my vegetarianism and my reasons to maintain this way of eating with anyone that is interested but I have no interest in forcing my beliefs on others. I wish the respect was mutual but unfortunately it's not. I have had people question my diet, demand rather than request to know why I eat the way I do, attempt to bully me in to eating meat, trying to trick me into eating it, had it thrown at me and the most common, people thinking they are hilarious by waving it under my nose while cr@pping on with "ohhhh meat. Mmm, smell that bleedy goodness,yum, look at that bone" etc. :rolleyes: It's not funny, it's not original and it makes people look like utter w@nkers but still it happens on a regular basis.
I had a lot of similar experiences when I came to Aus. I think the % of veggies is much lower than other countries. My bestie has only just stopped freaking about what to cook me (I bring my own stuff for barbies so it's not like she needs to worry) after knowing me for 2 1/2 years!
BTW I love Aus, but there is a real meat eating culture here and some guys seem to not eat any veggies! I hate to imagine what their guts look like!
Everything that is in meat can be replicted from other sources. Im Vegan and breastfeeding so when i eat i make sure i have a meal that will include everything i need i.e I will make sure there is protein..tofu, Vitimans abc etc...veggies, You can get Omega 3 from Flaxseed oil. Being Vegan the hardest thing to get is b12 but i take a suppliment. You have to make sure you fill up on good calories. The worst thing to do as a vego is to have empty calories, such as junk food because you wont eat enough to get your vitiman requirments. It really is very easy to be a healthy Vegan. I don't miss animal products at all. A good reciepe book is a great start. The cruelty free shop (google it) has great books and advice on nutrition.
I'm mostly vegan and am much healthier, leaner and happier than when I ate animals :yes:
Just thought I'd share some of my fave veg quotes too :D...
A human can be healthy without killing animals for food. Therefore if he eats meat he participates in taking animal life merely for the sake of his appetite.
-- Leo Tolstoy
If you could see or feel the suffering you wouldn't think twice. Give back life. Don't eat meat.
-- Kim Basinger
I think there's something odd about eating another living anything.
-- Shania Twain
There's heaps more from other famous vegos here: http://www.betterworld.net/quotes/vegetarian-quotes.htm
Perhaps you would if you couldn't find anything else to eat. But just think of all the lives you would save ;)