View Full Version : Will cloth be better?

17-12-2007, 07:13
Just wondering about something.

Anakin is BF & poo's in most nappies. We've had many leaks in all different types of sposies, only poo though.

So the question is, would cloth prevent leaks of BF poo on a newborn? He's about 4.3kg, long & skinny. Was thinking of using flats & covers.

Any advice???

HoopDeeDoo
17-12-2007, 07:27
It worked for Lachlan, but he had expolosive BF 5-6 month old poos by the time we switched. But he would save them up for a few days and poop in the swing and it would go everywhere in sposies, didn't matter which brand. Not a leak with cloth, but we were using Malden Mills windpro pockets, and PUL pockets, not flats. But if you had a well fitting cover, especially with gussets it should be better than sposies :thumbsup:

M O P
17-12-2007, 09:12
D- I have been using fitted MCNs (Raphaels, Very Baby & BabyBeeHinds) on Pearl and they work a treat for breast fed baby poo explosions.

ziggie
17-12-2007, 09:19
Hi RB :wave:

The sposies don't seem to soak up bf poo, do they? :no: I'm still using up some huggies I got as a gift when Linc was born, but when they go, I won't buy more. It was different with Mitch, because his poo's were heaps different.

I'm using totsbots bamboozles size 1 - they're really good... I have 1 BBH Magicall which is awsome... and GK's, which are also really good. Then terry flats with bummi's covers.

17-12-2007, 16:01
I have some BB PUL covers on order for over flats. Also have GK & some BBB.......might have to take the plunge again :p

3cherubs
17-12-2007, 18:45
During the first 6 weeks of DD3, i used Terry Nappies and did not have 1 leak. I used the Chinese / Bat fold and for a cover i either used GK's as covers and also used wool soakers.
Oh and DD3 was very skinny too.

Goodluck...

17-12-2007, 18:55
The best covers i have found with flats to stop poo explosions has been the Tots Bots PUL cause they have the gussets & they are just awesome !

Good price & great colours etc !

17-12-2007, 19:04
So the question is, would cloth prevent leaks of BF poo on a newborn? He's about 4.3kg, long & skinny. Was thinking of using flats & covers.

The two lots of elastic in a fitted and cover is ideal, but I reckon you'd be fine in TERRY flats and covers.

BF poo 'slips out' of a flannellette flat in my experience with Ronan when he was a newborn :barf: but is held better in the nappy by the 'grab' of the terry in a terry flat.

And your success would come down to what cover you use, you'd have to get great pul covers. I'd go for a cover with gussetts, like Tots Bots.

Good luck!

OJandMe
17-12-2007, 19:14
I used terry flats and bummis covers, and never had a poo leak.

MCN wise I actually really liked the Haute pockets for containing it all. High back and good coverage around the legs.

Flats were ssoooo easy to clean though. :yes:

ButterflyMama
17-12-2007, 20:40
We used flats with DD for the first 6 weeks and never had an issue with them paired with Bummis PUL covers.

stellaj
17-12-2007, 21:25
I'd try terry flats or prefolds with a cover such as tots bots, motherease or thirsties that have gussets for extra protection. Alot of people swap to cloth becuase of all the poo-escaping problems they have with sposies. Just make sure you get some decent fitting covers and a fair few of them as you can expect a newborn to get them dirty pretty often.

Glad you like the MA Ziggie:thumbsup:

30-12-2007, 17:32
Just wondering still on this subject....are BB PUL covers any good on a little bub with flats?

youngones
30-12-2007, 22:36
Not sure if this is any help, but my DD is very tall and skinny too, so much so that she's still in Tots Bots Bamboozle size one! They were meant to last until about 4-6mths of age and she's over 13mths now !!!

We use a combination of fitteds, flats and still use disposables overnight at present, because she is a gold olympian wee-er and managed to wee her way through every cloth we tried, including night nappies with extra boosters.

Best covers and the cheapest too that I've used are the Modern Baby - I love them - they are trim fitting and have excellent leak protection and they just seem to sit a whole lot more nicely on a skinny minnie like DD than any others that I tried.. I got mine for about $15 each online. DD is still in size small, so we've also got excellent value for money out of them.

punkbaby
30-12-2007, 23:01
i still use quiet a few flats as indies still small for most of my mcs, shes been wearing the tots bots covers, they catch explosions!! Also i got some covers from nappies covered they are great too, you might not like the print though lol! I did get some newborn ones and size small but the size small would have done fine there is quiet a bit of room in them, still holds the nappy on fine though