View Full Version : North West WA Chat!

Pages : [1] 2

Melo
16-12-2007, 14:51
:yelclap: There are a few of us now! :thumbsup:

I'm Mel, partner to Matt and mum to Jacob (2) and Ava (11 months). We are currently living in Paraburdoo, but might be relocating to Dampier :flowerz:.

PandP
18-12-2007, 13:57
Hi Melo
I have always wondered if there are other bubhubbers in town...wouldn't be hard to work out who we all are from the avatars!!
I am in Tom Price.

Melo
19-12-2007, 10:58
Hi Alice!

Ooh another Tom Price person :D. Have you been there long? We were living there until September last year when the job came up in Para. We are actually heading over there today to pick up a table :).

Hi Wondermum (Jess?),
You have lived in Newman before though yeah? :D. How exciting, come back to the hot Pilbara! xx

PandP
19-12-2007, 11:14
Hi Melo and Wondermum! Well, it's a nice day here (same as there I'm guessing!!).
This is my second stint in TP, was here until Dec 2005 and then just came back in September 07. Went to Perth to live, had the bub then was lured back!!
Someone is making a lot of noise in his cot so I am going to get him up and go to another Mum's house for a play date.
Melo - Dampier would be nice - humid, but nice!
Wondermum - I like Newman, better shopping, airport - what's it like to live there??
TP is great. I love it.
Have a good one! Look forward to chatting!

Melo
19-12-2007, 22:08
Hi Melo and Wondermum! Well, it's a nice day here (same as there I'm guessing!!).
This is my second stint in TP, was here until Dec 2005 and then just came back in September 07. Went to Perth to live, had the bub then was lured back!!
Someone is making a lot of noise in his cot so I am going to get him up and go to another Mum's house for a play date.
Melo - Dampier would be nice - humid, but nice!
Wondermum - I like Newman, better shopping, airport - what's it like to live there??
TP is great. I love it.
Have a good one! Look forward to chatting!

Hot day today :sunshine:. We were in Tom Price this arvo, maybe we should organise a meet for next year? I think there are some more Tom Price people on BH..

I lived in Newman when I was 18-19yrs old that's 10 years ago now! I went there originally because my eldest sister was having her first baby and she had no family support around her, so I packed my bags and got on a bus and made my way over. I was young and single and looking for work at the time. So, at least I kind of know what I'm in for over there - but now I have my children :flowerz:

So when does Matt expect to hear back about the Dampier job Mel?

I can't remember if I went to Tom Price - I think I did... 10 years ago now lol - and it would have only been a quick turn around for work - Avis Car Rentals. I'm not sure how much Newman has changed since I was last there? I've heard there have been a few changes. Shops were :thumbsdown: in Newman when I was last there - to have a decent shop I had to go to Port Headland.... 4.5 hrs drive away. It will be interesting to see how things have changed :yes:

Speaking of shopping - does anyone know of any good internet shops in W.A region? I'm thinking maybe that's the way to go over there? Buy online and get delivered.

Not sure yet, hopefully soon! We go on holidays next week.

Karratha shopping is pretty good now :yes:. They have Maccas, Subway and all the other bits too :D.

What type of Internet shopping are you after? Food or other bits and bobs?

PandP
20-12-2007, 10:43
Good idea!

Actually, what is the new restaurant in Para like??? The one here closed booo hoooo.

I use betterbabydeal.com.au a bit as they have free postage but depends what you are after. I also use strawberrynet.com but that is purely for me!! I would like to find a good website for toys but with decent postage charges - that is what makes it pricey.

I like Karratha. Haven't been over for a while it's about time for a shopping trip. I might head down to Perth but not as easy to get things back on the plane. Last time we went to Karratha we stocked up on nappies had the boot full!!

Melo - when do you find out about Dampier?? Things can be very slow I think...we are waiting on a call also as DH has had all his tests etc now we just need a house...would be nice to hear before Christmas but it is coming around fast!

OK, talk later. Cooking a banana cake today with the over-ripe nanas. I can't stand in the kitchen without bubs making a very consistent, annoying noise at me to feed him. But, I persevere!!

Melo
20-12-2007, 22:07
Yum banana cake! :D

Well he got a call today from HR, saying that they want him to do a site visit by the 27th of Dec, but he goes back to work on Saturday.

Better baby deal is fantastic! I love Deals Direct for toys, they have some good stuff there and really cheap postage :D.

Where are you waiting on a house for? In Tom Price?

PandP
21-12-2007, 08:34
Congrats!! that usually means you're in doesn't it??!!!

we are waiting on a house here in TP. Apparantly the boss is on hols so it might be a while. We have to do a site visit also even though we are already here so that part of the process might be stalled. waiting, waiting...

have a good day, getting warm again here.

Melo
21-12-2007, 08:41
Oh wow, where are you guys living at the moment?

It usually means good news about the Site visit, but not counting our chickens before they hatch :p.

Very warm here today, we went out to the airport yesterday afternoon to pick up my sister and neice who flew in on the 2:30pm flight and I got burnt!! :eek:

We are going to come across to TP tomorrow, do some last minute Christmas shopping and show my sister and her partner around TP.. The toy shop has a pretty good sale on at the moment I believe.

Oh and I didn't answer your question before, the new restaurant here is fantastic! Yummy food. Has the Chinese restaurant closed there? It was such a bugger when Sassy's closed! We used to go there every weekend, when we were living in Tom Price :).

PandP
21-12-2007, 09:19
toy sale is good. i am going to go in and have a look again later today so I will let you know if there is much left. must be about 40% off by now.

we are housesitting at the moment plus we have a caravan just in case. it's OK, but will be great to get our own place. :fingerscrossed: we have been in this same position before (all tests done) and never heard back from them again so we are waiting for the call to say we have the job before we get our hopes up too.

Melo
21-12-2007, 15:30
Oh hopefully!

Is your partner employed by Pilbara Iron at the moment? Or contractors?

Matt used to work for Sinewave, before getting a permanent PI job.

PandP
21-12-2007, 18:03
I just went to the toysale. 41% off today and still plenty of stock. Apparently it's just a big clean out and they will do the sale again next Christmas 'cause it's been such a success.
Mal is with Skilled at the moment.
Have a good day up here tomorrow. The pool shuts tomorrow for a while over Christmas due to no staff. Yuk! the town pool is vital!!

Melo
21-12-2007, 19:34
Hi lovelies :D

Today was a scorcher alright! :sunshine:! Ooh toy sale sounds great! Can't wait, although my kids don't need any more toys :o.

Jess, its 3 hours from here to Newman, so i'm guessing 2 and a bit hours to Tom Price.

Alice, that sucks about the pool! Para pool has only just recently reopened and it had been shut for 2+ years :eek:. My parents have a pool, so we use theres :D.

Deals Direct is great, I ordered a huge trainset, some perfume and big storage thing and it was only $9.95 postage, score :D.

Well best get going.

Mel xx

macknsethmum
22-12-2007, 22:20

I'm Nat i have a 5.5 yo dd and 2.5 yo ds. I live in Karratha been here since june this year :) have met a few people through another parenting site but always looking for new friends :smiliedance:

Wow Melo Dampier yay will be close by, only 20 min drive from Karratha.

:laughing: I used to live in Tom Price with my parents as a kid (2 till 8) and what I can remember was great, all my best childhood memories are from there.

Another good online toy store is Online toys Australia, they only charge $7.95 delivery anywhere in oz!! Doesnt matter how much it weighs or how many toys you buy!

I ordered a zoingo boingo for xmas pres (my dd has been on at me for months for one lol) on a sunday night and arrived in Karratha the following Thursday from Melbourne!! The prices are also pretty reasonable

Speak soon ;)

Melo
22-12-2007, 23:28
Hmmm, thats strange Jess! Actually... I think they did that to me too!

Welcome Nat :wave: :yelclap:! My DS (Jacob) was born at Karratha :D.

HR has been in contact, but as we are going away for over a month we can't do the Site visit any time soon.... So we are hoping this doesn't affect the job at all. But I think it might.

Alice - I went to the toy sale today, I spent way to much money! I heard a rumor, that they aren't going to re-open it after Christmas :hissy:. We did some shopping in Coles, as they have so much more variety then here!

PandP
23-12-2007, 19:51
Hi Nat :wave:

Oh surely they wouldn't close the toy store. I asked "Muzzy" and he said they weren't closing - maybe he told me fibs??!!

Hope everyone had a good weekend. We did. Bit of swimming and some friends over for tea Saturday night. It was very pleasant!!

Jess - maybe buy stuff over there and get it brought over as part of your move - you arrive January don't you??

Where you off to for hols Mel??

Talk tomorrow!
:noel:

Melo
23-12-2007, 23:38
I hope they don't close :(. Who knows?

We went swimming today at my parents pool, the kids LOVED it! Ava is such a water baby, Jacob was more happier to sit on the step :p.

We are off to QLD for 2 weeks as Matts parents live over there, and then back to Perth for another 2 weeks for a wedding. So excited!

Bye xxx

PandP
24-12-2007, 09:27
Morning :goodvibes:

Christmas Eve huh!?? I forgot to buy wrapping paper...off to the shops for me!

Hope you all have a lovely Christmas and will catch up soon.

Mel - have a good holiday if you are going shortly.

I have to look up what a zoingo boingo is now!

BTW where did everyone have bubs?? I had DS at SJOB Subi.

talk later

Melo
24-12-2007, 09:36
I hope you lovely ladies have a great Christmas too :D. We leave on Saturday!!

Zoingo boingo, never heard of it?

I had Jacob at Nickol Bay in Karratha, it was pretty horrible and then had Ava at SJOG Subi too! Who was your OB Alice? I had Adam Gubbay, he was really good and I had a fantastic 4 hour induction.

Sarieslittlemen
24-12-2007, 10:07
Just wanted to say hi girls! We were in Karratha earlier this year. We had to move back to Bris though, DH had taken a year off his gov job to work for a friend overthere and we couldn't afford to stay.
I had Cooper at Nickol Bay in February and had a pretty good experience. The lead up wasn't as good as my two Brissy births and I was due to be put on a bus to Port Headland to be induced on the Sunday, Cooper was born in under 2.5 hours in the early hours of Saturday morning. Luckily the Doctor had flown in from Perth Friday afternoon!
We do miss being over there... well except for maybe the heat, you really can't explain that to anyone back here when they say 'Gee it's hot'.
Hope you all have a great Christmas, you never know we may be back one day...

Melo
24-12-2007, 11:25
Hi Sarie!

I do actually remember when you were heading over to Karratha! Wow, I can't believe they were going to put you on a bus!

Crazy times :D

Sarieslittlemen
24-12-2007, 13:55
We couldn't believe it either! They were originally going to have an orderly (sp?) drive us up on the Saturday, but apparently no-one was working on the Saturday so they booked us on a Bus for the Sunday morning to be induced Sunday afternoon.
The 3 hour bus ride obviously scared the poo out of me cause I went into labour the night I found out about it!
I just felt sorry for all the first time mum's there who were having to make other arrangements to go to PH or Perth to have their bub's because of the lack of doctors. It certainly opened my eyes on the situation over there!
We did enjoy being there though, loved Dampier and Point Samson. We didn't get the chance to see the 'Stairway to the moon' though.

PandP
24-12-2007, 17:03
Hi Sarie :wave:

I wrote a whole post this morning and it seems to have gone into cyber space. who knows where it will pop up!!

If I don't get on here tomorrow hope you have a HAPPY CHRISTMAS! We got invited to lots of orphan Christmas things but we are just having a quiet one, just us.

Mel - I had Gubbay too! I think you replied to me ages ago when I was moving to WA and needed an ob and hospital. I want him again. 6 hrs for me and they reckon quicker next time.

Bye! talk later.

macknsethmum
24-12-2007, 22:46
[quote=Melo;2208848]

Zoingo boingo, never heard of it?

quote]

Lol its like a pogo stick with a flexible pole thingy so they can do tricks and stuff Has a ball on the bottom with a disc around it where feet go. Hope that makes sense :confused:

Have a great Christmas everyone :xmastree: ds keeps crying out every half hr tonight, soooo frustrating just want to go to bed cant get anything done. I think he may be getting 2 yo teeth, great timing :(

Melo
24-12-2007, 23:40
Oh wow! Thats so funny, we both had the same OB! :D. Sorry Heather, I assumed your name was Alice :o.

I hope you all have an excellent day tomorrow! :tree::xmastree::noel:

Mel xx

PandP
25-12-2007, 09:17
Happy Christmas!!

Bub slept 'til 7 - bliss!!!!

Hope those teeth have settled down at your place

Mel - I thought it time to change my sig and I need to change my username too. I used Alicebub as it's a family name but it's too much like a real name!! I need some ideas for the username...

have a good one!

Melo
25-12-2007, 21:51
Awww, um Darcy's Mum? :laughing:. So original! :p

We had a good day, the kids got SO spoilt and both went to bed early tonight!

Matt is on night shift tonight, boring....

PandP
26-12-2007, 15:43
are you still bored?? I am so bored. Mal is back at work today and there is no one around at all. Everyone must be resting after yesterday.

I hear on the grapevine there is a delay here for new starters...D'oh!

Any wind on the coast to those of you there?? Hear there might a cyclone coming.

Christmas was great! It was tough though with family so far away. We forgot to get the meat out to defrost and forgot to buy anything to put with the pudding but we worked around it!!

Hope all the bubs/kids are happy.

Melo
26-12-2007, 16:03
Yes, very bored :p.

Matt is sleeping now, and Jacob is sleeping too. Ava is walking around.

I did some cleaning today, yay.. So much fun (NOT!).

Matt talked to the Supervisor in Dampier the other day, and said that the site visit won't be until we get back from Holidays.

We go away on Saturday, so exciting! :D :yelclap:. We drive to Perth, and then fly to QLD from Perth.

PandP
26-12-2007, 17:15
Ava walks already??!!! wowsers! Clever girl! Darcy just rolls and eats!

oh so lucky about the site visit. I bet that makes you feel a little more at ease. Mal worked at Dampier for 4 weeks in August and he loved it.

I cleaned today too. Seemed to make a mess yesterday somehow.

I see you posted re: ergo. I really want one. I can get a new one for $143 on the net inc. postage. There is one on ebay but not an appropriate colour for the pilbara. None on monkeysundies.

Are you packed!? Good luck for the hols. I get so jealous every time I see the Lestok bus heading to Para!! I might be heading to Perth (trying to talk mal in to letting me go to melbourne) as I want to see friends and we have a break between houses. the van is WAY too hot for bubs this time of year.

wow, long post. All the other NWA mum's must be busy with christmas. I wonder if it's cool in newcastle??

BTW my username is changing to AuntyEp, well if the mods on here say it's ok.

Melo
26-12-2007, 18:05
Yeah, shes been walking for a few weeks now! Clever chicken :D.

Jacob and I just cooked some biscuits, and Matt has just left for work.

The Ergo is fantastic, Ava loves being in it. I have the Black and Camel, I wanted the Black and Cranberry but it has been discontinued. I need to remember to pack the Ergo, will come in handy at the Airport :D.

Haven't packed yet :o. Will need to get stuck into it tomorrow!

PandP
26-12-2007, 18:30
righto, i just ordered a black/green. I agree the black/cranberry would have been my choice too!!

I see there is an infant insert and suck pad but i don't actually need them now so maybe i could get them later. i had a sling when he was littler.

ok, i'd better throw a salad together before Dad gets home.

night

Melo
26-12-2007, 21:21
Heather - The Green is gorgeous! Yup, I don't think you will need to insert now, and its too hot up here for it.

Hi Jess! Yay, packing! :p. Looking foward to the month long holiday, god knows I need it :D

PandP
28-12-2007, 11:18
Hi all :)

this morning we have a playdate at our house so I am slightly excited. I don't know about you but I find it hard to find things to keep bubs amused all day and he is only 7 months :confused:. If I was in the city I'd be off with friends, shopping, walking in not so hot, hot...

Mel - have a great holiday. I dare say you won't be on the net much so we will catch up in a bit. Enjoy QLD, I love it. Which part? I think I asked but I can't remember.

Jess - good luck with your packing too. I feel like I have way more stuff since Christmas and it's just daunting!! I love Newcastle. Have the property prices gone nuts there yet??

Hi macknsethmum. How's Karratha?? Have you had any good sales over there after Christmas?? I really want to get over there soon, maybe to Point Samson.

oh there's a knock at the door...got to go!
h & d x

Melo
28-12-2007, 21:30
Oooh nice new name Heather!

Have you taken Darcy swimming?

Well we head off in the morning, hope to leave home by 3:30am.. I better go finish the packing!

Have a great new year everyone and i'll hopefully get to pop in when we get to QLD!

Mel xx

PandP
30-12-2007, 21:56
I went to Newcastle a few years ago - just before they started doing reno's on the airport. Did some shopping, looked around, stayed somewhere can't remember where with my sister.
It's raining here tonight.
Wonder where all the other NW Mum's are?? Might just be you and me 'til Mel gets home!
Night :sleeping:

PandP
31-12-2007, 18:07
Happy New Year :flowerz:
nice rain here!

PandP
03-01-2008, 13:43
Wow what a beautiful post! Happy New Year and so pretty! Thanks!

Hope your NY is off to a good start. I also enjoyed 4 drinks as it has been a long time!!

Still no word on DH's job :(

It's real hot here. And a bit steamy. I am sure the coast will be more humid though.

I am just about to put DS down and make myself some lunch, then bring the washing in THEN rest just for a minute or 3!

Talk later, I am always out here!

Melo
07-01-2008, 11:20
Hey Guys :raspberry:

Our holiday is going great :cloud9:

We got back yesterday from the Sunshine Coast, it was lovely down there. We got there Friday and it was raining, and a pretty crappy day. Matt and I, took the kids down to the beach (It was a 2 minute walk from his Grand parents house).. The waves were massive! I took some photos, but can’t upload them until we get home due to Matt’s parents internet being slow and they don’t have a very big limit.. On Saturday, Matts grandparents were having a party that night for there 50th Wedding Anniversary so we decided to get out of the house so they could set up. So Matt, his 3 brothers, me and the kids headed down to Mooloolaba to go to Underwater world. It was really good down there, Jacob absolutely loved it! We went and watched a Seal Show, which was good the person who got to feed the seals fell into the water lol, although we then realised it was set up.

After Mooloolaba we headed into Maroochydore to do some shopping. Maroochydore was extrememly busy, but seems like a popular place.

We then headed back to Caloundra to get ready for the party! Got there and there were so many old people there, and it was extremely hot and muggy so we went for a quick walk down to the beach where Jacob then decided to go for a SWIM!! Oh well, he loved it!!

On Sunday we were going to go to Australia Zoo, something I really wanted to do but by 9am it was so hot and muggy we decided to head back home – Matt then found out that the weather for today was excellent fishing weather :doh:.

So i’m home alone today! Well with the two kids, Ava is sleeping and i’m just waiting for a load of washing to finish.

I’m so not used to this humidity! At home, most days its 40+ degrees and I can stay home in the Aircon that never goes off, but over here they don’t have any air-con :sunshine: .

I’m getting worried now, about our January wedding next year!

Right, now I’m babbling :p.

Mel xxx

Sarieslittlemen
08-01-2008, 11:39
Hi guys, hope you all had a great new year and Christmas!
Mel I've been feeling guilty all week complaining about the heat knowing how much hotter it is over there, but we had aircon in WA too, non here, the boys were soooo cranky yesterday.
Hi Heather, how are things for you?!
Better go need to put DS1 back to bed.

PandP
09-01-2008, 09:49
Hi Mum's!

Good to hear from you Mel. Hope you are having soooo much fun. I much prefer the weather here, least it's dry heat. Although, the thunderstorms every afternoon have been amazing! Leaves it sticky but cools down a bit - probably to about 37 degrees!!!!

Sarie - did you get the kids to sleep?? Where is Bray Park??

Wondermum - almost here!! still no news on the job. apparently he has got the job but no one has told him that directly yet...

I won't be on much this week as I am babysitting a friend's girl as well as DS. It's going Ok but i can't sit on the computer and type away and ignore someone elses kid! My DS is currently pulling the DVD's off the shelf...I had better save him AND the dvd's!!

take care and talk soon. we move again this weekend and the next place has better internet :fingerscrossed:.

hx

PandP
24-01-2008, 09:43
Good Luck!! Will be thinking of you. The weather has been ok, bit rainy so keeping the heat down a little. The Coast will be humid though I'd say!!

Ohhhhh so excited for you. Hope your good byes aren't too sad. But remember, you can back for visits REALLY fast. It doesn't feel that far away here b/c of aeroplanes and internet/phone!!

take care and chat to you soon
Heather x

Melo
24-01-2008, 21:29
Hi lovelies!

I'm home!! Got in tonight.

So glad to be home!

Was thinking of you Jess when we drove past Newman!

Will catch up more later xxx

Melo
26-01-2008, 22:22
Welcome to the West Jess!!

So glad to be home, although not used to the heat!!

Well, Matt had a Site visit when we were in Perth (They flew him to Karratha for the day). I would of went too, but we couldn't find a babysitter . He got shown around, and got showed one house.. It looked okay, except for the fact it had already been taken . Now, they are saying we might have to live in Karratha which i'm not too keen on doing!! And Matt then told me the hours are 7am - 7pm - Meaning he won't get home until 7:30ish every night. Which well to me SUCKS!

Sooo... We will wait until the letter of offer, which is "supposedly" meant to be coming! (:hair:).

Jess, I can't believe you've un-packed!! I'm still getting through all of our suitcases!

I've got some photos uploaded on to Photobucket, if you guys want to have a squiz?

They are here:
Matt & I at a wedding:
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/048.jpg Jacob feeding the ducks
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/024.jpg
(http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/024.jpg)Ava & Matt
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/017.jpg
Ava (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/%5BIMG%5Dhttp://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/016-1.jpg%5B/IMG%5D)
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/016-1.jpg
Jacob (http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/019-1.jpg)
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/019-1.jpg

Melo
29-01-2008, 09:25
Gorgeous photos Jess!

How are you all settling in?

mastermum12345
29-01-2008, 15:47
Hi - Hope you don't mind me barging in :D A friend of mine told me to have a look at this thread as it mentions Tom Price LOL

Anyway getting to the point DP and I (oh and the kids ;) )are hopefully moving out there soon (Job through Pilbara Iron AKA Rio Tinto :cool:) We are off to do site visits etc next week. DP has been through the medical (came back A1) etc

Now Im just wondering how long this process (PI - Job wise iykwim) takes As this has been going on for literally months now - Anybody have any idea ? :laughing:

Now for the Tom Price questions ........

And I have been through Tom Price very briefly about 3 years ago - So I kind of am aware that it has coles banks etc

Tricky Questions......

Just wondering what the high school is like and the primary schools ?

What are the playgroups like in Tom Price ?

The hospital ?

Sporting groups ?

Any web sites that you could link to me about Tom Price would be excellent as well (I've found the local council one - Some handy info there :) )

Not bad for a first post hey :laughing:

mastermum12345
29-01-2008, 15:49
Ohhh forgot to add - Thank you in advance :)

Melo
29-01-2008, 15:57
Hi - Hope you don't mind me barging in A friend of mine told me to have a look at this thread as it mentions Tom Price LOL

Anyway getting to the point DP and I (oh and the kids )are hopefully moving out there soon (Job through Pilbara Iron AKA Rio Tinto ) We are off to do site visits etc next week. DP has been through the medical (came back A1) etc

Now Im just wondering how long this process (PI - Job wise iykwim) takes As this has been going on for literally months now - Anybody have any idea ?

Now for the Tom Price questions ........

And I have been through Tom Price very briefly about 3 years ago - So I kind of am aware that it has coles banks etc

Tricky Questions......

Just wondering what the high school is like and the primary schools ?

What are the playgroups like in Tom Price ?

The hospital ?

Sporting groups ?

Any web sites that you could link to me about Tom Price would be excellent as well (I've found the local council one - Some handy info there :) )

Not bad for a first post hey :laughing:

Welcome!! :wave:

Congratulations on the job! How old are your children?

Heather has been waiting awhile on Pilbara Iron to get there bums into gear I think. We are currently in the process of (hopefully) transferring to Dampier / Karratha. And it has been really quick so far! But when we moved over to Paraburdoo from Tom Price (Matt wasn't employed by Pilbara Iron in Tom Price) hence why we were moving to Paraburdoo it took a bit of time to get the ball moving. I hope that they don't stuff you around!

Just wondering what the high school is like and the primary schools ?I went to the High School in Tom Price a few years ago now, but it wasn't too bad. I ended up heading off to boarding school for Year 11 & 12. I have heard the Primary Schools are really good. They have 2 in Tom Price, Central and North :).

What are the playgroups like in Tom Price ?I never really got involved in the Playgroups, I meet a few mothers thought the CHN and ended up forming our own Mothers Group.

The hospital ?Very small, but not too bad.

Sporting groups ?Lots of these in Tom Price!

Any web sites that you could link to me about Tom Price would be excellent as well (I've found the local council one - Some handy info there :) )http://www.tompricewa.com.au/index.asp
http://www.tompricewa.com.au/index.asp

Well, it looks all systems go for the job. HR called Matt this morning, saying that she will send through the Letter of Offer this morning. When I last spoke to him to hadn't recieved it (Was meant to be through email). But with HR it could be next week!! And Matt goes UP in pay, we thought we would drop moving to the coast (:smiliedance:)

mastermum12345
01-02-2008, 13:10
Thank you for that - looking forward to the site visit and congrates on your move :)

PandP
01-02-2008, 15:10
Sorry I have been a bit awol!!

Love the photos Mel. They are great! Sounds like you had a good time. And now...you are planning another move!! Are you excited??

MMum12345 - Hi and Welcome! Where are you now??? I am in Tom Price. I agree with all of Mel's comments. There are 2 playgroups on Tues and Thurs. There is heaps on actually you just have to make a few friends and then people really stick together to make the long days pass quicker!!

Schools are good from what I have heard.

HR can be slow but then some people seem to just be lucky and everything falls in to place. We are stalled again, this time it's housing but we should hear something late next week :fingerscrossed:

Jess - How is Newman?? Was going to drive there this weekend for a trip but DH wants to go 4WD'g with his workmates cause you know they don't see each other enough!!

Right, I am off again. Going to try to sneak up the hallway for a rest.

Talk soon :hugs:

mastermum12345
03-02-2008, 09:42
AnutyEP >I hope the housing gets sorted out ASAP :fingerscrossed: Im in Perth atm. YES !! Im very excited about moving to Tom Price. I know this sounds crazy but Im just really over Perth and looking forward to having my DP home with us everyday :D

On the HR thing - They must be busy in there ;)

Melo > I forgot to mention last post yes I have 3 children. A girl and 2 boys, 13, 3, and almost 1.

Well in a matter of day we will be in Tom Price doing god knows what (nah I know what we are doing I've studied the itinerary :laughing:) We get the pleasure of being able to get up at 3:30 in the morning - to get to the Perth airport by 4:30am to catch a plane at 5:30am - I am going to be TIRED But hopefully at the end of it there will be some of this happening :shakehands: LOL Maybe there will be a letter of offer all printed up for us ready to sign LOL

PandP
05-02-2008, 15:41

MM- have you been to TP yet?? If you see a little person with a blue/orange pram walking around then that is me. I usually see the early Lestok bus come in from Para. I really hope that you have a quick HR process. :fingerscrossed:

Melo - How is Para? Any news on your move yet?? I am off to Victoria this weekend then hopefully won't be long 'til we are in our own place here.

Jess - How is Newman? I was there on Saturday. We were bored so drove over. It was fun. Long drive, but fun. I was trying to look for you but no idea what you look like and there were so many Mums EVERYWHERE!! We just went to the shops.

Talk later, x

Melo
05-02-2008, 23:18
Melo > I forgot to mention last post yes I have 3 children. A girl and 2 boys, 13, 3, and almost 1.

I'm sure you will fit right in!! :D

Melo - How is Para? Any news on your move yet?? I am off to Victoria this weekend then hopefully won't be long 'til we are in our own place here.

Hi Heather!

Para is good, we had a storm today - Look what happened to our washing line :eek: http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/Picture3437.jpg, which what was caused by this: http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j89/melandmatt/Picture3440.jpg
Luckily we weren't outside!

I think I am coming across to TP next Wed, to meet up with some Mums from my Mothers Group.. :)

Mel when is the big move happening? Congrats and all the best :goodvibes:

Hi Jess!

We got the letter of Offer today :yelclap:, no date though for the start date... But a $11,000 payrise!!! :smiliedance:

PandP
06-02-2008, 11:16
Oh my, big storm. We have had a few good ones lately but all the activity seems to be over your way.

Oh I won't be in town next Wed as I head to Melbourne this weekend. I just met with my Mother's Group this morning. Wouldn't it be funny if it's the same one!!

Jess - I was at the shops pretty much from 12-2. Had some lunch, went to woolworths as the produce there is way better than here. I had my bub in a maclaren stroller and dh has blonde hair/blue eyes. I know that probably won't mean anything to you but anyway, was looking about for ya!!

ok, over and out. I will try to keep in touch from over east.

Melo
06-02-2008, 18:27
Oh typical Heather :p

We will be moving in the middle of next month :eek:

PandP
06-02-2008, 20:40
wow! the coast will be awesome. Well, I hope it is good for you. You have had a few moves lately so it will be nice to stop I bet! I like the coast but I don't cope too well with humidity - ecxema and wild hair!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

Melo
06-02-2008, 22:40
Yeah, i'm not looking forward to the humidity either!

Although am looking so forward to being close to the water!! (And the SHOPPING :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:)

mastermum12345
07-02-2008, 09:02
We had our ;)"field trip" ;) out to Tom Price. Looked at the mine, Got Driven around town showing us school, shops, golf course :D Got shown some houses - Had some lunch than I was left to my own devices and DP was chaperoned off to mine to see where he would be working.

We have been told to expected to hear from them/check email for letter of offer in the next couple of days - they wouldn't tell us a date.

So if the past is anything to go by I can expect days to turn into weeks right LOL

I guess we can call them in a couple of days to see where we stand - no harm in that :laughing:

Its raining here in Perth atm and my god - Its so nice

I hope all is well - Im really looking forward to this move (when ever it happens)

Keep well Ladies

(sorry for the me post. Posting in between getting kids ready for school and daycare - never a good move)

PandP
07-02-2008, 12:19
MM - we could have caught up! I didn't get out of the house yesterday as DS didn't want to sleep and then when I packed my bag to go out - he fell asleep!!!

So glad you liked it, it's a great place.

Melo - shopping :p it will be awesome! Fishing, water, few more people! :yes:

Jess - How's Newman? Do you have a pool or do you go to the town pool?? I was very jealous of all the shade at that town pool!

Well, we got the call this morning! Now they are arranging a transit house. Not sure how it all works as they are talking with DH. :yelclap:

Melo
07-02-2008, 16:32
We had our "field trip" out to Tom Price. Looked at the mine, Got Driven around town showing us school, shops, golf course Got shown some houses - Had some lunch than I was left to my own devices and DP was chaperoned off to mine to see where he would be working.

We have been told to expected to hear from them/check email for letter of offer in the next couple of days - they wouldn't tell us a date.

Oh wow! How exciting! Did you like the town?

How was the flight into Para?

Matt had his site visit on the 22nd of Jan, and we got the letter of offer on Tuesday.. So not too long to wait.We got it emailed to us ;)

So glad you liked it, it's a great place.

Melo - shopping :p it will be awesome! Fishing, water, few more people! :yes:

Well, we got the call this morning! Now they are arranging a transit house. Not sure how it all works as they are talking with DH. :yelclap:

Yay!!! :smiliedance: How exciting :D

How long are you over East for? We should meet up before I leave!

mastermum12345
09-02-2008, 10:12
Can I take back my almost a complaint about HR ?? :laughing:

We got the phone call telling us that we "officially" have the job :thumbsup:

Not sure on all the ins and outs of it, That is being sent to us via email, Housing approval etc on Monday.

So WOOOHOOO!!!! We are moving to Tom Price !!! Im one very happy chappy :yes:

Melo > I had never been to the Parra airport before nor had I ever seen an airport quite like it, all those rental cars/trucks and all white, what were they thinking :laughing: Yes I enjoyed the trip out there. Have you started packing for your move ?

Anuty EP > LOL a quick meet up. Im glad you have the housing sorted - What a relief !!

Melo
09-02-2008, 13:43
Not sure on all the ins and outs of it, That is being sent to us via email, Housing approval etc on Monday.

So WOOOHOOO!!!! We are moving to Tom Price !!! Im one very happy chappy

Melo > I had never been to the Parra airport before nor had I ever seen an airport quite like it, all those rental cars/trucks and all white, what were they thinking Yes I enjoyed the trip out there. Have you started packing for your move ?

:smiliedance: How exciting! Congratulations.

Yes, Para airport is very "special" isn't it!!! :laughing::laughing:

No, we haven't started packing yet. We get removalists in to do that :thumbsup:

blessedmummy
12-02-2008, 12:48
hey all!! DH&I are in Carnarvon.... not sure if any bubhubbers are here or not..but anyhow..DH&I may be moving to QLD soon...prob around may/june

mastermum12345
14-02-2008, 22:20

Nice and humid here in Perth

Melo > Ahh yes removalist LOL

Wondermum > Congrates on the job!

MEC > I’ve stop in Carnarvon a couple of times. Nice place J

AnutyEp > Have you made the move to the transit housing??

Me > Housing delays. Well that’s the word on it :laughing:. So we are still in limbo land waiting for a moving date. Hopefully we should hear whats happening soon, fingers crossed. I’ve packed some boxes (with stuff I don’t want the movers packing LOL) and am going to do a toy cull on the weekend. It will keep me busy and not focusing on “the when of the move” ;) Other than that all good here

Happy Valentines Day :valentine: (awww)

PandP
17-02-2008, 19:31

I miss the Pilbara!! I am over here enjoying cappucinos at GJ's in Victoria!!!!!!!!!!

Just a quickie from me 'cause it's hard to get on the net at the in laws. Mix up with DH's job and there is no house/contract on it's way after all. We are waiting again...........!!!!!!!!!

Hope you are all well. Talk really soon.

mastermum12345
19-02-2008, 19:26
Anuty EP - Enjoy your holiday :), that sucks about nothing being organised yet.

Still waiting, waiting, waiting, here. I feel a bit like this >> :hair:<< Its a long journey

Hope everyone is good :)

mastermum12345
27-02-2008, 11:05
Very quite in here :)

We got our contact this week :yelclap: DP starts in April. No word on housing ect, Have been told we will be contacted in the next couple of days about transit housing, crown, ect.

So YEAH!!! We finally have an almost moving date :laughing:

Hope everyone is having a great day :smiliedance:

PandP
27-02-2008, 13:47
Hi MM :wave:

They must be on a roll 'cause we now have a starting date too. 10 March but with Easter our stuff won't be in town until April...hmmm :rolleyes:

What does your dh do again? Mine is a Maintainer/Fitter.

Hi to anyone else out there. It seems to be a very busy time for all of us with moves and new towns to settle in to.

Talk soon :hugs:

mastermum12345
27-02-2008, 14:34
AnutyEP > DP is Maintainer/Fitter also, maybe they are doing the same job :laughing:

PandP
27-02-2008, 15:03
They probably are! DH is going on to Team 9. He is in the Fixed Plant. Funny huh!
exciting!

maiestro
27-02-2008, 17:37
Just wondering how far away you all are from Port Hedland, we're considering moving that way as DH might have a job with BHP (just in the initial stages now) as a boilermaker. We'll have to go on our little site visit and DH have his medical first, but they have said they want to start everyone around May/June. Given I live in NE Victoria it's going to be quite a change but it's so hard to find any information about it on the web.
Anyway would love it if anyone here had any info or could help out!
Thanks, annalise

Melo
27-02-2008, 23:37
Hi Guys!

Very quiet lately..

Heather how was Melbourne?

Matts starting date is the 17th of March, we have the truck coming on the 11th of March :eek:. Happening so fast lol!

Hi Annalise, we will he 2 hours away from Port Hedland when we move. I suggest you have a look at the town before deciding on anything... It doesn't suit everyone :).

Mastermum, how exciting about the move! How exciting!!

PandP
28-02-2008, 09:15
Hi Melo :wave:

Ours is also happenning fast now. Although with Easter our stuff won't be in TP until April...that isn't that long though really considering it's been 5 months already since DH's final interview!!

maestro - there are heaps of good towns up here so if PH is not for you there are other options. BHP is in Newman too I think and I have been there and it's OK. I haven't been to PH personally so can't comment. I have only been to Newman, Karratha/Dampier and around there and Para and TP.

mastermum12345
29-02-2008, 18:27

Hurry up February, be over, I want to move already :laughing:

We got the moving date the day after Easter Monday - So I guess that means that will be our last week in Perth.

Maiestro > I have not been to Port Hedland. Ive only heard mixed things about the place, Sorry not much help am I :confused:

Melo> WOW your move is coming up quickly

AuntyEp > Its a Loooong wait for your stuff. Im gathering I'll be going through the same thing as well :laughing:

Anyway long week-end. Im off to Busselton, I should be cleaning this house but, yeah, - Not going to LOL

Be good

PandP
01-03-2008, 11:49

MM - Can I ask you some questions?!? Feel free to pm me if you'd prefer but I would really like to chat about this whole process. Melo might be able to add something also...

I was wondering what Rio have in place for you once your furniture leaves you but before your house is ready in TP??

DH and I just seem to be arguing about the process all the time. I am powerless from over here but I have myself and baby to think of.

HELP!! Surely they have transit housing??

Sorry about the me post. And thanks!

mastermum12345
01-03-2008, 15:15
Anuty EP > Have PM'd you :)

maiestro
02-03-2008, 16:55
Hey all,
Seriously anything that you've heard about the town would be greatly appreciated, doesn't matter if it's bad stuff as I just want to know anything! We'll do a site and town visit as part of the interview stages but I'd just like to know more now, so that I can ask questions when we get there!
Thanks heaps!
annalise

mastermum12345
02-03-2008, 18:17
maiestro > :laughing: Here's what I know about PH (its very basic)

There's 2 parts to the town PH and South Hedland. One side is meant to be better than the other. I've been told good and bad things about there hospital (not that that's any different to any regional hospital in WA) I was also told that there privates primary schools are much better than the public system - That could be wrong though :confused:

I have also been told that its flat and bloody hot :laughing:. Like I said though - I have NEVER been to PH so cant back any of that up ;)

But any place like PH, has mixed rep - If you get out there and make it your 'home' Im sure you wont have any problems.

PandP
02-03-2008, 18:31
I agree with mastermum. Anywhere you make your home will be OK. But yeah, check it out.

I have never been there but heard mixed reports. People always tell us to go to South Hedland shopping though but we have not been yet.

I think everyone I speak to thinks there town is the best up here!! Some people like Karratha, some don't. Some people like Tom Price, some don't. etc etc. Go and have a look see. :thumbsup:

maiestro
03-03-2008, 13:07
Thanks heaps guys! South Hedland is where we'd be as I think thats the BHP area. I am very much looking forward to the site visit thats for sure - need to have our baby first (one month to go!)

Melo
03-03-2008, 23:14
Got the big move happening next week :eek:. The truck is meant to be coming on Monday to pack, Tuesday to pick up. We clean the house on the Wednesday and leave on the Thursday! Crazy stuff.

We don't even have a house in Karratha yet, so who knows how long i'm going to be offline for :cry:

Heather, hopefully they sort something out quick. How frustrating for you!!

Hi Jess, how are you settling into Newman??

Maistero - Defiantly check it out, and make up your mind then :)

Goodnight all.

Melo
05-03-2008, 15:49
Thats good to hear everything is going well Jess!! Takes a bit getting used too!

Well we got our new house today!!!!! Its in Dampier, and pretty nice!

I've got some photos..

PandP
05-03-2008, 16:10
Oh very nice house!! Did you pick it over the internet??
Not sure when we get to pick ours.

Wmum - I might be coming through Newman on the way back to TP if we take the inland road!

maestro - any news?

MMum - how's all your plans going??

Melo
05-03-2008, 22:55
No, they chose it for us and then just told us what we are getting.

Pretty happy with that... In Dampier too ;)

mastermum12345
06-03-2008, 11:24
Melo - Awesome House and a pool - What a score :)

AnutyEP - No word yet still waiting on an email *sigh*

Wondermum - Hi :wave:

Me - Getting closer to move date here, So much to do. We still have to do one more massive clean up. Than we are just going to relax a bit:laughing: DP is on his last swing at his old job (he flies back in tonight:smiliedance:)So we kind of get a little 'holiday' before we start at TP - Which will be nice :)

PandP
08-03-2008, 18:23
Hi All :wave:

We are heading back to Perth on Monday and then back to TP at the start of April. DH rang this morning, he had only got to Capricorn and had hit one kangaroo and had a flat tyre. :fingerscrossed: for the rest of the trip!!

Hope all is going well for you all. Will catch you all soon x

mastermum12345
10-03-2008, 15:49

Aunty EP > Hope you have a safe trip back :)

Us > Not doing much. Our week-end plan to clean up the house fizzled out :laughing: We are just basically wondering around Perth waiting to move. :laughing:

No news on 'housing' yet. Gotta hear something soon though.....right ??? :fingerscrossed:

PandP
12-03-2008, 21:18
hi all
funny, most of us are in the middle of moving. well, not so much funny, bit of a pain in the behind really!!
we are now in perth and in a round about way have found out that we do have transit housing, start date has changed again etc etc etc.

MM - I hope you get some news soon. Ours changes everyday, seriously, everyday.

Melo - are you in Dampier already!? How is it?? Hope you get that pool all nice and clean so you can have swims!

WMum - how's Newman? i sat next to a man on the plane from Newman. Not sure if I am coming through as DH thinks me and Ds should fly home...

better go :hugs:

mastermum12345
17-03-2008, 08:21

The movers will be here next week. YEAH !! Im over hanging out in Perth :laughing:

AnutyEP > :laughing: Ours got 'sorted' last week. But we are still waiting on 'that email' :rolleyes:

Hi to everyone else. I shouldn't be on here Meant to be getting kiddies ready for school :cool:

mastermum12345
22-03-2008, 16:59
Happy (almost) easter everyone :smiliedance:

Purpose Blessings
23-03-2008, 22:43
Hello NW mums

My name is Marissa and I am currently living in Perth. My DH is talking with his work about them moving us to Karratha later in the year. I have 2 kids (DS-3 and DD - 18mths) and am having bub #3 in August. I've been reading through your posts and want to thank you for all your encouraging words about the NW. We are really looking forward to the move but obviously a bit scared of the change (and the heat), especially as we will be moving most likely when bub is only 6wks old or so. I think we will really like it though.

I hope you are all going well with your moves and settling into your new homes.

mastermum12345
25-03-2008, 07:20
Hello

Welcome Marissa :wave:

:crying: Moving day = No more posting from me for a while.

Cant wait to finally get up there :smiliedance:

Be good everyone :yes:

Scotty
26-03-2008, 20:06

First time posting on the site, just saw this thread and as I spent 4.5 years in South Hedland working for BHP I thought I'd make it my maiden entry to reply to Annalise.
I loved PH and SH but the one piece of advice I would offer is get involved in the town. If you are a homebody, you will be lonely. Get out and make friends and play sport, go to mother's groups anything. There is not a lot other than a great community spirit to be a part of. And get out often...drive to some of the amazing areas surrounding, north, south and east of the town.

Broome is an incredibly accessible 6 hours "up the road". There are other fantastic places around, Tom Price is great, Karajini National Park, Point Samson, 80 Mile Beach...all within driving distance from town for the weekend. South Hedland is where the best shopping is, and mostly residential but the area in between Port and South (Cooke Point and Pretty Pool) are nice too. PP is the swimming beach.

It is remote, but not too bad...there are current movies shown at a "theatre" once a week and there is a McDonalds!
Good luck, I only have fond memories of the place and have a number of friends still up there.

Oh - I'm on BH as I am due to have my first baby, a boy in 3 weeks.

Feel free to ask me any other qu's. If I don't know the answer I can probably find out.

Cheers, Scotty :D

Melo
29-03-2008, 22:43

Finally have our internet reconnected. Geeez, Telstra are useless!!

But we have settled in well, getting used to the humidity.. Handy having Karratha only 20kms down the road!!

PandP
01-04-2008, 15:24
Conratulations!! How exciting!! I am going to have a look at your other thread and respond...

melo - it's humid here too this week. The weather has gone a bit strange!!

We move to our new house on Thursday!! :smiliedance:

I wonder how MMum is doing???!!

Purpose Blessings
01-04-2008, 21:43
Congratulations Wondermum on your :bfp:. That is very exciting. I am pregnant with number 3 also and due in August. I live in perth at the moment but will be moving to Karratha after bub is born.

Melo
02-04-2008, 21:46
Congratulations Jess!!!! How exciting, geez it just feels like yesterday Rylan was born :D.

Can you have babies in Newman?

Charmaine2
04-04-2008, 12:13
hey everyone .
Ive just joined bub hub.

Im Charmaine i live in Wickham so another pilbarian, i live with my Fiance Shane and 2 little boys Kayne 3 and James 15 months.

Melo
04-04-2008, 13:00
Welcome Charmaine!!!

Charmaine and I used to go to Primary School together, back in Para :). Her youngest and my youngest were born on the same day, freaky :p.

Charmaine2
04-04-2008, 13:04
lmao mel it is freaky aye!

pitty u werent at nickol bay ! James wasnt due til the 12th but had a planned c-section!

gosh how old is Jacob! definetly have to catch up lots to catch up on!

haha found a heap of old shcool pics the other day haha

Melo
04-04-2008, 14:12
Yeah, I had Jacob at Nickol Bay, he is 2.5 now :eek:. Wanted to go private for Ava, and my sister lives in Perth so I stayed with her! Besides, Ava was 8 days over due and no doubt Nickol Bay would of made me wait longer to be induced.

Ohh really?? Mine are away in a box somewhere, need to find them too.

Charmaine2
04-04-2008, 14:22
aww wow Kayne would have a blast with a new friend! even though he tends to get a bit over excited lol!

oh awesome gosh id die if i was ever over due! kayne was 3 days early and obviously james was a week and a half early.

i found pics my mum had taken at i think my 6th bday party haha now thats funny especially with no 2 front teeth

and the outfits we used to wear haha

Melo
04-04-2008, 14:33
:laugh: Ohh I bet!!

Yes, Jacob would love a new play mate too.

How far is Dampier away from Wickham?

Charmaine2
04-04-2008, 15:09
aww so cute! im sure they'd get along so well
umm about a 40 min drive maybe its about 25 mins to karratha i think

PandP
06-04-2008, 16:16
Very good thank you!! :flowerz: Very happy with our house and we got a pool which is just fantastic!!

I wonder when MM arrives??? I will keep an eye on the transit houses around town!! Her DH does the same job as mine so will tell him to stay tuned for any newbies this week :detective:.

My bubba has another cold. Think it's from the moving. He knows this is his house though 'cause he is just cruising around.

Melo
06-04-2008, 21:39
Hey Heather!!

Nice score on the house :D. Have you guys moved in now? What section of TP is it in?

Sorry to hear that Darcy has a cold :(.

Hey Jess, how long did you live in Newman for before? You might know some people I know ;)

Charmaine2
08-04-2008, 15:10
hope everyone had a great weekend! isnt this year seeming to fly by already ??

what did everyone get up to ?

mastermum12345
11-04-2008, 17:08

I made it to Tom Price :yelclap:

I'm on here purely to see if the internet was connected and guess what ? It is :laughing:

We are out of the transit house and into our house - It has a pool. I love it :)

Anuty EP :detective: Your DP found my DP

Hello to the newbies. Congrates to Jess on the :bfp:

Well better go so many boxes so little time.

PandP
12-04-2008, 22:52
Hi Everyone!!

MM - I saw your DP - I didn't know it was him but my DH pointed him out. He looked staight at me actually as I was standing outside the bakery making weird kissy noises at my DS in the trolley!!! :o

Glad you are happy on your new home. The pool is AWESOME!!

Hi to everyone else. Another quiet Saturday night in TP. That's not usual actually...

night :hugs:

Melo
14-04-2008, 11:04
Glad to see you guys have settled into your new houses!

We are going well over here, Matt just did his 3 nights.. Finished this morning, on his birthday :laughing:. Poor man!

Purpose Blessings
14-04-2008, 18:14

How are all the new houses? Its great those of you who have gotten pools.

My Dh finalised this week that we are definetely moving to Karratha. There is a position available for him now, however we have decided to stay in Perth until after our bub is born as I have started to have a few pregnancy complications.

So we will probably be up there at the beginning of October which is when bub will be about 6 weeks. I am excited but also a bit scared of all the changes and helping my family adapt.

Does anyone know which mobile phone companies have reception in Karratha? My phone is playing up and I don't want to sign up to a 2 year plan only to find out that I don't have reception.

Hope everyone has a good week
Marissa

mastermum12345
15-04-2008, 09:47
Helllloooo

AEP> LOL @ the kinda of meet with my DP. Hows the house going

Rissa79 > Congrates on the job. I know I get my telstra reception in Karratha - So maybe its Telstra in Karratha. Not much help am I :laughing:

Melo > Happy Birthday to your DP :)

Me > House done here. Kids loving the pool :D School holidays here gotta run

:wave: to everyone reading.

Charmaine2
15-04-2008, 12:33
hey everyone! alot going on in our house atm!

how did matt go with his nights mel ?

were u in centro yesterday ?

hey rissa most companys work in karratha but if you were to go to wickham for drive or samson even ud have no reception unless u had telstra!

hows the weather atm! first its breezy then its boiling gah cant win atm

mel we so have to ctahc up soon! i gotta see these pics haha

Melo
15-04-2008, 13:01
My Dh finalised this week that we are definetely moving to Karratha. There is a position available for him now, however we have decided to stay in Perth until after our bub is born as I have started to have a few pregnancy complications.

Does anyone know which mobile phone companies have reception in Karratha? My phone is playing up and I don't want to sign up to a 2 year plan only to find out that I don't have reception.

Hope everyone has a good week
Marissa

Oooh how exciting! You will be only 20 kms from me! :yelclap:

We have Telstra, because thats what was only available in Paraburdoo so just transferred it across here.. But sorry, don't know what other networks work here.

Melo > Happy Birthday to your DP :)

how did matt go with his nights mel ?

were u in centro yesterday ?

mel we so have to ctahc up soon! i gotta see these pics haha

Hey! Yeah, he likes nights.. I don't :o. I have a thing about being home alone at night!!

Nope, wasn't in Centro yesterday! We are going in today though.

Yes, will defiantly have to catch up. Will catch you on MSN one day.

Charmaine2
15-04-2008, 13:05
lol thank god i didnt run up and say hey haha! that would of been embaressing!

i hate nights to thank godness shane doesnt do them! i hate being at home at night alone too all the noises and stuff! i sleep with tv and all lights on rofl!

bugger if i was going in today i would of caught up :(

definetly catch up on msn when i go on again lol

mastermum12345
17-04-2008, 12:41
I have the headeche from hell - Not good when its your DS2 birthday :no:

The shrieking in delight is about to make my head explode :confused:

My parents will be here tommorrow for a visit - So I've just got moved in now I have to entertain the oldies :D

Im also off to PH (in 4 days time)- My parents moved up there almost a month ago - Its like a 'you show me your new place than I'll show you mine' thing I think :laughing:

Sorry for the ramble

:wave: To everyone

Charmaine2
17-04-2008, 12:43
aw3w hope your head feels better soon!

im having issues with my 2 today fighting not sharing even a pencil stabbed into a nose grr!!

bring on 5.00 so i can go to work and dadys turn to deal with it im thinking!

have fun in ph

mastermum12345
18-04-2008, 16:41
Waiting very impatiently for my parents to turn up LOL. Shouldn't be to far away :smiliedance:

Headache gone - Thank god.

Anyhoo - waiting waiting waiting here :laughing:

Melo
19-04-2008, 11:37
Aw, how lovely your parents are coming up for a visit MM!! My parents are coming over next weekend :smiliedance:! SOoooooooo excited :D.

Not upto much this weekend, Matt is off.. Probably will take the kids down to the beach tonight to do some fishing!

Charmaine2
19-04-2008, 13:55
aww have fun mel i need to take boys to beach again havent been to dampier beach in ages !

Tonight i have my sisters 19th birthday dinner at Icon in karratha ! then have a friends sisters bday which is drinks at tambrey and they want to head to trawlers not keen for that thoough!

Melo
19-04-2008, 14:02
Matts taken Jacob fishing now, so its just me and the Girl at home!

Oh have you been to the Icon before? Its only new yeah?

Melo
19-04-2008, 14:03
Matts taken Jacob fishing now, so its just me and the Girl at home!

Oh have you been to the Icon before? Its only new yeah?

Charmaine2
19-04-2008, 14:18
oh how fun i wish we could go fishing havent been in ages!

Jacob will have a blast!

yeah ive been to icon! its not as fantastic as everyponemakes it out to be really

mastermum12345
30-04-2008, 10:53

How is everyone ? I have been busy. Glad school is back.

I went to Port Hedland for the 1st time on the week-end. Not at all what I expected :)

Anyhoo, washing day here :laughing:

Charmaine2
30-04-2008, 10:55
aww i havent been to hedland in ages but im not a huge fan really!

Mel haha sorry i probably came accross as the biggest idiot when i saw ya at woolies last night! sorry to freak ya out haha

your kiddies are gorgeous! have to catch up properly and when im not in my daggy work clothes

PandP
30-04-2008, 16:51
Got my good internet on today!! :yelclap: Now all I need is bubs to have a sleep so i can play!!

No news here. Went to para on the weekend to para breeze cafe - why can't we have something like that in TP??!!

Wonder how WMum is going in Newman??

PandP
30-04-2008, 22:17
Hey funny!!

I know of someone who is renting near SJOG in subi and the rent is pretty reasonable. I will find out more details when she returns from having her baby girl.

mastermum12345
01-05-2008, 11:00
WM > I thought it was umm.... Bad :eek: (Sorry PH fans :)) I have parents that live in South Hedland - They have been broken into and had petrol stolen from there car (they moved up there about 2 months ago). PH was a lot better though. Not trying to scare you :laughing:

Can I just ask - Is Karratha hospital (no idea on the name LOL) Not delivering babies ?

Charmaine2
01-05-2008, 11:05
they should be delivery only thing we have heard is if your high risk you cannot deliver there atm ( Nickol Bay)

PandP
01-05-2008, 12:09
true or so I have heard. Nickol Bay is meant to be OK but yes high risk to PH. And if too early, Perth.

I think wise Melo has had some experience in the area.

You can deliver in TP but you have to have had very straight forward previous delivery's.

Apparently in the good old days the hospital here used to have everything. So did the supermarket and I am guessing the Post Office didn't send parcels back to the sender all the time :mad:.

No seriously, it's a real issue up here at the moment the hospital funding.

i would have a baby here if it was possible. But for me, if I have another, it will be in Perth again. My experience there was extremely positive.

Charmaine2
01-05-2008, 12:13
i had both my boys at nickol bay and its fantastic ! they just need to get everything sorted! i nearly couldnt have my second there due to having to have a c-section!

mastermum12345
01-05-2008, 12:25
[You can deliver in TP but you have to have had very straight forward previous delivery's.

/QUOTE]

Yes I was told this, But no good for me anymore than 3 births (hypothetically, not pregnant :laughing: yet :laughing:) is considered high risk :confused:

and this [quote]Apparently in the good old days .....So did the supermarket

I went to buy low fat milk and a cabbage, and guess what neither where there to buy(well I could have got that pura non fat stuff but its foul lol). When does the coles truck get in :laughing:

But its good to hear that Nickol Bay does deliver. What about Geraldton - I guess that's the next kind of place - Anyone go there ??

Good Golly must get off this computer my day is wasting away :D

Charmaine2
01-05-2008, 12:25
oh thats a bugger then maybe fungers crossed things could be sorted at nbh by then well worth asking still

PandP
01-05-2008, 12:34
my friend has told me when the truck is SUPPOSED to come in a number of time but the only day I can remember SUNDAY. That doesn't guarantee that the truck does arrive though. Another thing with shopping Sunday is that there are no special tags on anything so you need the catalogue from the previous week to know the prices.

I try to remind myself that it could be worse. but sometimes, I am not sure who orders the food. Very frustrating about the milk!!!!

mastermum12345
01-05-2008, 15:07
:yes: Coles here in TP and YES open on sundays :laughing:

Melo
01-05-2008, 16:39
Hey guys!

Charmaine, you didn't freak me out! I was in my dream world, lol!! Yes will defiantly have to catch up soon!!

Heather - Para Breeze is nice hey? Yummy food!!

MM - What a bugger about PH, we are thinking of taking a day trip up there to see what its like!!

Jess - I had Jacob at Nickol bay in 2005, it was okay.. But he was my first baby so I had no idea what to expect and then had Ava at St John of God Subiaco! (That was fantastic!). Gosh, so **** about the accommodation!! Karratha has self contained unit things at the Caravan Park, don't know how much they are though.

Ahh, I see Coles TP haven't changed there ways! Paras IGA wasn't much better. Good to have a selection now! We usually shop here at Woolies, occassionally Coles. The fruit and veg over here is great, soooooo fresh! We don't do any shopping here in Dampier though (Except if we are desperate!). The shop isn't that good here.

Melo
02-05-2008, 15:03
Oh Jess! Thats awesome news!!! King Edward is meant to be good for delivery babies.

Thats in Subiaco.

mastermum12345
03-05-2008, 16:09
Excellent news WM, and what a releif it must be :)

What is this Para Breeze ? Sounds good

I've gotten back from a trek to Karijini (umm excuse the spelling ? :confused:) - Its awesome out there. The water was a bit cold, no biggie, those weird little bugs on the water were a bit :barf: But than Im not much of a bug person :laughing:

Well better go Im exhausted and in need of a lie down

Purpose Blessings
03-05-2008, 22:03
Hi girls, thanks for all your help with the phone company a while back. I think I will go with Telstra just to keep it simple.

There is now 5 months until we move to Karratha from Perth. We talk about our move all the time and are getting really excited. My DH can't wait to go fishing up there. I am still feeling a bit daunted as there is just so much going on between now and then. I only have 15 weeks now until bub#3 is due and my ob told me during the week that he expects I will go earlier because of some complications I've been having. We are then moving 9 weeks after that.

You all had me a bit scared after reading about the supermarkets in the north west but I see from Melo that Karratha is well stocked so that made me feel better. My kids just love fruit and eat so much its not funny. It would be very annoying not to be able to get any.

wondermum - that is great news about accommodation. I have heard good things about KEMH but haven't been there myself. They have a really great birthing center if you have non complicated deliveries and are after a more relaxed homely evironment.

Anyway off to clean my house

mastermum12345
12-05-2008, 10:32
Hiya everyone

Happy mothers day for yesterday :) I got flowers and chocolates - anyone get anything fabulous ?

WM > I got 3 pairs of shoes from that K-mart in PH for the kids for $10 (thats an all together price :laughing:) - lots of bargins in there.

Rissa > Not long to go at all

Looks like we are off to Newman for the week-end. Looking forward to it :)

Melo
12-05-2008, 16:02
Hey everyone!
Going well over here!! Glad to hear PH wasn't too bad Jess, we are going to go up there one day!

I got Jacob some cute Bob the Builder sandals in K-Mart the other day $5 score!!

Matts going on a boys trip out to the Archipelago this weekend for some fishing with the guys from work! I'm going to need to find something to do to entertain myself :p.

Purpose Blessings
12-05-2008, 17:46
Hi Girls, I just typed out a post and then lost it so I will try again.

Its great to hear that some of you have been getting bargains. I am such a bargain hunter.

I cant believe how quickly time is flying at the moment. I am trying not to get stressed out by it but must admit to getting a bit frazzled. We are heading to Qld next week to vist family for 2 weeks and when we get back it will be June. That also means that I am on the 10 week countdown for bub. Everytime I look at my bubhub ticker it freaks me out a bit how soon bub is going to be here. And then thinking that it is only 9 weeks until we move ARGHH..

I must sound like a real worry wart but honestly I'm not, I'm just aware of how quickly everything is going to happen and am scared of how I will cope and how I will help the kids adapt.

We heard yesterday that Kindy enrolements are between June and August so my DH asked his future boss today for a rough idea of which suburb we will be given a house in so that I know which school to enrole DS in. DS is so excited about going to Kindy so hopefully we can get it sorted so that he doesn't miss out.

Hope you all had a great mothers day:flowerz:

mastermum12345
18-05-2008, 13:38

How is everyone going ?

Busy here :flowerz:

mastermum12345
03-06-2008, 15:49
Its very,very quiet in here :wave:

Melo
04-06-2008, 00:30
Hi Guys! :thumbsup:

Has been very quiet in here, i've been busy... Doing stuff around the house and what not.

Haven't joined a playgroup or anything, but go to story time at the library.. Kids seem to like that!!

Hope you are all well,

Mel :)

mastermum12345
04-06-2008, 16:36
WM > Settling in well, kids all doing some kind of activity :laughing:

Melo >
Haven't joined a playgroup Me either :laughing: - I am going to a session tommorow though.

Its been coolish all today, some cloud cover no rain.

Better go, Have to go to shop - After school snacks :rolleyes:

Melo
04-06-2008, 20:05
I've taken Rylan a few times to our local one but he just doesn't sit still! Everyone elses child/ baby seems to sit but he thinks he's there for social/ play time lol.

Oooh it's a little bit chilly today here! Anyone getting any rain where they are?

:laughing: Neither does Ava! She wants to be in the middle and the centre of attention!

WM > Settling in well, kids all doing some kind of activity :laughing:

Melo > Me either :laughing: - I am going to a session tommorow though.

Its been coolish all today, some cloud cover no rain.

Better go, Have to go to shop - After school snacks :rolleyes:

Goodluck with the playgroup tomorrow!

No rain here, getting coolish though :)

mastermum12345
05-06-2008, 13:24
Didn't end up going :no: My parents decided to tell me last night that they would be in town today :confused:

So I got to spend the morning moving beds around as they refuse to stay in the caravan :laughing: fussy buggers. Will be good to have them down though.

I will endeavour to get down to PG next Thursday :fingerscrossed:

Melo
05-06-2008, 13:58
Well Jacob and I went to Story time this morning, Ava had a shocking night.. Matt is on days off so I left her at home with him, she was asleep by the time I got back!

We had a really good time, read stories, and sung songs and then did a craft activity.

Going into Karratha today to have some lunch with some friends :)

Purpose Blessings
05-06-2008, 22:05

How is everyone? I love the idea of storytime at the library but have to admit to never being brave enough to go as I'm sure my kids would run a muck.

I am going well. I had a wonderful holiday in Qld visiting family and friends and as it was my birthday while we were over there my DH took me to the seaworld resort for a night and then to sea world the following day. It was such a lovely time and the kids had a ball.

I'm on the 10 week countdown now which is exciting. I ended up in hospital on the weekend becasue of bleeding and contractions and they gave me some steroid injections to prepare bubs lungs for prem birth but it all settled down and I seem ok now. My OB said that bub is a bit small and they are a bit worried about how well the placenta is functioning so I will have to have another scan in 3 weeks just to make sure she is growing ok. He said if there is a problem with the placenta than she will have to be delivered early. Thus I am now getting everything ready just in case. I hope she stays in there for at least another 6 weeks though.

We still haven't heard anything final about our move to Karratha or where we might be living. I was really stressed about this a few weeks ago becasue of the kindy enrolment issue, but now am not really letting it bother me. I figure it will all be sorted out in the right time. I might put his name down at a few places just to be on the safe side.

Anyway off to the shop to buy Ice cream:cloud9:.

hope you are all great
Marissa

PandP
05-06-2008, 23:20
Hi All :wave:

Good to hear everyone's updates!!

Rissa - hope you are doing OK and bub stays put. :fingerscrossed: How many kindy's are there in Karratha??

Melo - hope Ava is OK. What's up do you think?? Sounds like you are enjoying Dampier. Do you miss us in TP and Para???!!

Wmum - how are you doing? I hear you about story time at the library singing whilst your kid is no where to be seen. That is me too.

Mmum - which playgroup are you thinking about??? I have family here at the moment but then I will be back in to it. I did hear there is gastro going around AGAIN but I guess, you can't avoid it.

talk soon, enjoy the lovely weather :flowerz:

mastermum12345
06-06-2008, 10:49
Rissa > Hope baby stays put for many more weeks. Glad to hear you had a good holiday :)

Melo > Hope Ava is getting better

WM > I to have a 5 year old doing his very 1st session of soccer - Its very cute !

AE > Nitirri, No doubt I spelt that incorrectly. I've got family up as well. I know they run it twice a week Tuesday and Thursdays, Im only really interested in 1 day a week (*because Im slack* ) As I have the kids sports etc spread all over the week/week-end ;)

Oh and Gastro - Im over it, It has already done the rounds here :rolleyes:

Funny story > I was busted :laughing: By a lady from another forum I visit the other day, I got, walking down the street, "Excuse me are you __________ from the Internet" Very cute. I was only slightly embarrassed :o (ps > Im a bit of a forum wh*re LOL)

Melo
06-06-2008, 22:28
I hope bub stays put Marissa!

Oh Ava's fine! Shes finally cut through teeth number 7 & 8. They have been giving the poor mite grief! :fingerscrossed: for a good nights sleep tonight :D

MM - Thats soooooooo funny!! I think i've came across you on a another forum :p.

Heather - I do miss TP and Para actually :o. We are coming across for a weekend next month. We want to do our tax with Leonie from TP as she's done Matt's for the past few years. So spend a night in TP and then in Para with my parents!!

Gosh the gastro doesn't sound too nice Jess :(

I am starting to enjoy Dampier a bit more now, absolutely hated it! Going out and meeting people makes it a bit better :D

Its only 8:30 and i'm ready to crash out in bed. Matts on nights this weekend, I hate nightshift!!!

PandP
07-06-2008, 17:22
Melo - I am going to Para next weekend. might have to take a detour to the plant shop and also get some thai for lunch. Did you get a good night sleep??

MM - I haven't seen you in other forums! I only look on this one though. In fact, I haven't seen you at all even though some of your lovelies were at a bbq i was at on the weekend!! :laughing: :laughing:

Jess - TP is nice and you are right, it's green and we do have a cafe. It's OK actually. I still think Thai in Para is the best and I have had a few nice meals in Newman, once at a pub and once at 4 seasons. Did you go to the speedway the other weekend???

OK, talk soon :flowerz:

mastermum12345
09-06-2008, 11:44
Melo > Yep I know the ones you are talking about :laughing:

AEP > I was :barf:& :sleeping: The day of that BBQ :laughing: I'll be there for the next one, I promise :D

WM > Not long until that inter town match, I'm looking forward to heading out your way

My parents enjoyed there trip out here, and I enjoyed having them here. Its always sad when you have to say bye though. Apart from that its more of the same here.

Hope all is well

mastermum12345
10-06-2008, 12:29
Who else got some rain ??

Purpose Blessings
11-06-2008, 18:30
Hi ladies, thanks for your well wishes about bub staying put. So far so good. I haven't had anymore probs so am feeling optimistic.

Hope you are all going well

mastermum12345
11-06-2008, 18:58
:laughing: I went to coles today (hadn't been in there for a couple of day) and there is a carnival setting up. I am very excited about this :laughing: I highly doubt I'll be going on any rides, but still, How exciting!! Child#2 even bought home some vouchers for rides and games etc :cool:

Oh dear Im a sad lady arent I :D :o

Melo
24-06-2008, 10:33
Hey Guys :wave:,

How is everyone going? We are really well over here!! Freezing lately, but really nice during the day :)

We had some rain last week, which was really nice..

How is bub going Rissa?

How are you going Jess? Are you going to Perth for baby #3?

How is everything going in TP MM?

We are coming back inland for a weekend next month to do our tax, probably stay with some friends in TP for a night and then a night in Para with my parents. So looking forward to that :laughing:

We have a man here fixing our shower, we are getting pratically a new shower so I had to have a shower with a garden hose in the fricking bath this morning! Not happy jan :laughing:

mastermum12345
25-06-2008, 12:38
TP is going well. We all have nasty colds/chest infection things going on in this household. I am well and truly over all this sickness business :hair: I did make it down to PG last week :smiliedance: nice ladies in there, Not a chance in hell of doing it this week thou :no:

I had to have a shower with a garden hose in the fricking bath this morning! Not happy jan

You are a braver woman than I . Was the hose at least connected to some hot water ? :laughing:

Hope everyone else is well, Come in and update us :wave:

Im off to lie on the sofa

Melo
25-06-2008, 19:16
Oh yes it was connected to the hot water as well, thankfully!

But I wasn't allowed to get the shower wall wet, and everyone knows how the houses are up here.... The shower and bath are right next to each other!! :hair:. Its extremely hard washing your long hair without spraying water everywhere :laughing:

It should be ready to go tomorrow night, so :fingerscrossed:

Lovely weather over here, finally turned our aircon off!

Well Matts on nights tonight so I better go wake him up :)

P.S. Ooh yum Hungry Jacks! KFC is about to open here :D. Yummmmmmm :p

PandP
26-06-2008, 13:31

Melo - glad to hear things on the coast are going well. I really hope you have your bathroom back in order asap!!

MM - Ds also has been struck down. Dh says "he is just feeling a little off". I say, you stay home with him all day you will see he is SICK!!

WM - wow your pregnancy seems to be going so fast! Have you been OK, any sickness?? I am trying to do they maths, 2 yrs between 2 and 3 or a bit more??

Anyone else out there?? Rissa???

Hey, does anyone know where I can buy cot manchester online without massive freight?? I am getting no where!! Everything seems to be huge costs to get to WA making very exp sheets. Mine have shrunk, who knows why and now ds is pulling them off every night! :p

Talk soon, H x

PandP
26-06-2008, 16:19
Thanks WM!! I brought some sheets from babyshop!! It should be a while until he is in a big bed so we will get plenty of use out of them!!

Oh my, it's 2.20pm I have to watch All Saints - talk soon :wave:

maddysmummy
30-06-2008, 11:48
Hi. My names Stacey and I'm mum to 3 year old Maddy. She turned 3 yday. I live in Kallaroo. I'm from the UK and staying with my mum for a few months. Just saw this site and saw people where from round here ? I find it hard to meet people out here. So hopefully I will now. :)

niccolett26
30-06-2008, 22:51
:(i am from geraldton. i am a young mum. my parter has left me and all the friends has gone with him i am very lonely and wish to met/talk to people. i feel kinda stupid asking for friend/company online but i am desperate.:(

PandP
01-07-2008, 16:52
maddysmummy - Welcome to Bub Hub! I think you might need to join the Perth thread if that is where Kallaroo is :detective:. I am sure the ladies there will welcome you with open cyber arms!! We are all about 2000km from Perth.

Niccolett - :hugs:. I thought there were some other Mum's on here somewhere from Geraldton. There are a few of us here in the Pilbara. It's a quiet thread 'cause we are all outside playing in the sunshine all day!!:laughing:

WM - I got my babyshop order already! How fast was that!! Unfortunately I ordered blue sheets AGAIN!! and I really wanted green but that's oK, I'll wait until next time. How are you btw??

Melo - Have you been out for tea lately?? Must be nice to have an option. I too, get very jealous of the food ads :hissy:

MM - how are you and the boys?? Ds is sick AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

mastermum12345
03-07-2008, 10:13
Hiya

Still dying here. Its only Son#3 and I that are still sick, Which is good.

I have been doing lots of this :barf: and trying to have lots of this :sleeping: but with 3 kids thats not going to happen.

Basically what I've been doing is going to bed about half an hour after my DP gets home :(

It was DS1 birthday yesterday, I couldnt even face baking a cake - I bought some ikky thing from coles.

Sorry for the me post. Just very over being sick.

Hope everyone is happy and well :)

PandP
03-07-2008, 11:00
MM - I think there are some wicked thing going around. Unless WM is right of course!! I have been sick for what feels like ages and DS is in the middle of his 2nd cold in a row. I just need to get out to the PO before Danny sends my mail back interstate!!

WM - damn headaches. So hard when pregnant, I can't remember what you can actually take!? Wouldn't KFC be sooooo yummy!!

Melo - I am twisting my DH's arm to go to the coast one weekend. It's not working!! How are your little folk settling in to their new surrounds??

Don't you wish we could go to the toy sales???

macknsethmum
03-07-2008, 15:54

Havent been on for a while, been busy moving house TWICE since last time I posted. We moved to Port Hedland from Karratha in March. THen We just moved into a company owned house 2 weeks ago as there were lots of problems in the other house, too small, the yard wasnt finished just sand so kids had to stay inside because bindis everywhere etc but all good now :D

You can order by mail order through Kmart and Target and postage is pretty cheap too! Larger items freight applies. I did a mail order today with Kmart Toy Sale this morning - ordered the trampoline $80.50 freight and all the other bits and pieces were just standard postage of $7 something for the lot! Kmart charge a $10 handling fee and Target charge $5. Less hassle with mail order, don't have to fight the crowds :thumbsup:

Think I might do that with the Target sale, although we have Kmart here but dh away so I cant really take 6 yo dd as she will clue on as to whats happening.

Hope Target have some good stuff, do you do the mail order through the website or do you have to call them.
Where is our closest Target anyway:confused: besides target country in Karratha.

macknsethmum
03-07-2008, 15:59
Ok just looked on website, closest target is Geraldton. Is that where your stuff comes from wandermum or does it come from perth??

macknsethmum
03-07-2008, 20:37
I called head office today to ask about phone ordering and they told me the stores probly wouldnt do it as theyll be so busy and alot of people who travel to get the stuff could miss out because someone ordered it over the phone and its not fair.

But hey we're customers too and anyway its first in first served (so to speak) with these things :p

I dont think she realised just how far away we actually live.

I'll ring the store tomorrow and see what they say

macknsethmum
03-07-2008, 20:38
Where bouts in the east are you from, we're from Victoria, East Gippsland

macknsethmum
04-07-2008, 10:37
Exactly!!! It was target and i was talking to head office which i think may be sydney:confused::confused: So they probably think we only have to travel a few hours:mad:

But yeah I will ring Geraldton Target and ask them myself sometime today.

"the stores probly wouldnt do it as theyll be so busy and alot of people who travel to get the stuff could miss out because someone ordered it over the phone and its not fair"

Its not fair that we have to miss out by ordering over the phone because its too far to travel. Ooh so frustrating :hair:

macknsethmum
04-07-2008, 16:04
Yeah I just did that and she was very good, thanks WM :)

She said to ring anytime during the sale and just a $5 handling fee and $7.50 for something else she cant think of atm.

So looks all good yay. :smiliedance: Watch out Target hehe

Melo
04-07-2008, 22:57
Hey Guys!

Got Matt's mum over at the moment, so can't get on as much as normal :).

We are good over here, kids are loving having their Nan around!

Heather - We haven't actually gone out for dinner anywhere yet :o. It's a bit hard with little kids, but we will get their ONE DAY!

Ohh if you twist your DH's arm in coming over let me know! You can get cheap accomoodation over here in Dampier at Pennisula Palms through Rio its only $30 a night and the rooms are a decent size. They are 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms.. With a couch and TV in the middle!

Went to the toy sale on Wednesday (:D). Got there nice and early, spent $450!! But thats with some of Jacob's birthday presents too, so was pretty happy with that.. Will of course have a look at Target when there starts LOL!

Can't wait for KFC to open, it looks really good like a proper KFC! LOL.

Jess - Wow, thats really good about Target! I think because Karratha's Target Country is only small they must order stuff in too? They had a pamphlet out the other day where you could pre-order about 10 items (Big stuff). So I pre-ordered Ava a 130cm dolls house! Can't wait for it to arrive LOL!

Melo
04-07-2008, 22:58
OMG Jess! Just noticied your 19 weeks already :D. Where has the time gone?!

Are you finding out that your having?? :fingerscrossed: for PINK? :D

Purpose Blessings
07-07-2008, 22:22
Hi girls, remember me. I know its been ages since I was on here. What can I say, busy, busy, busy.

Things with me have been going ok but not great. I haven't had anymore suspected labour episodes which is great. Since the last time though I've been going for fortnightly ultrasounds to makes sure everything is ok and from these scans they noticed that bub was a bit small. Last week (33wks preg) they confirmed that bub has interuterine growth restriction (IUGR) and is too small and not growing at a good enough rate. So the OB wants to bring my c-section forward to almost 37 weeks. We are happy about this as DD also had IUGR and was born at 37.5 weeks and since being born has thrived. I am so glad that we decided to stay living in Perth until after bub was born.

So now I only have 22 more days until bubs is in my arms. This is very exciting and a bit scary as well. I have been put on very light duties as I've had continued bleeding and can't do much which is annoying. On the positive side though, my mum is flying over from Qld this friday and staying until mid sept. She wants to help me out and just be around for emotional support. I am so looking forward to her coming.

Anyway thats all the news about bub.

Other than that all is good. I think it is 14 weeks now until we move to Karratha. I had to put an application in for kindy next year for DS recently and didn't know which school to put it into as we have no idea which area we will be living. I rang up one of the schools and the admin lady said that I was only allowed to apply for one school and that we would be the lowest category for placement as we were not living in the area. We will just have to take which ever kindy takes us. I have heard that 2 of the schools run kindy programs 2 full days and the other two run it 4 half days. I was really hoping to get Ds into a 2 full day school as 4 half days with a small baby would be really hard, but I will just have to be happy with where ever we get. Dh tried to press his work for an idea of the houses that might be coming up around the time we are moving but they were less than helpful.

I agree with all the sickness going around. I was planning on getting my kids the flu shot at the beginning of the season however they have been sick with head colds and chest infections almost all winter so I haven't been able to. They are both ok at the moment but I don't know if it is too late to get the immunisations done.

Anyway I have a headcold tonight and am feeling pretty sleepy so I am off to bed.

Welcome to anyone new, I look forward to chatting with you more.

Sorry for the very self-focussed chat, I hope everyone is going well and enjoying the lovely weather up there (it was 1 degree here this morning and soooo cold).

Got to sleep.....

Melo
08-07-2008, 16:58
I know - it seems to have gone fairly fast (can't complain). I'll be finding out on Tues arvo... so anxious! :yes: Pink would be nice after two Blue

Oooh I haven't got the pre order catalogue for Target! Does it have prices on big items?

Oooh Tuesday arvo as TODAY? :D. Goodluck hun :D. You make gorgeous little boys anyways :).

Yeah with the Target thing, it was a phamplet with about 10 items on it? Trampoline, Doll House and other big things. I did bring a pamphlet home the other day and I would of scanned it in for you, otherwise i'll pick one up on the weekend no doubt.

Hi girls, remember me. I know its been ages since I was on here. What can I say, busy, busy, busy.

Things with me have been going ok but not great. I haven't had anymore suspected labour episodes which is great. Since the last time though I've been going for fortnightly ultrasounds to makes sure everything is ok and from these scans they noticed that bub was a bit small. Last week (33wks preg) they confirmed that bub has interuterine growth restriction (IUGR) and is too small and not growing at a good enough rate. So the OB wants to bring my c-section forward to almost 37 weeks. We are happy about this as DD also had IUGR and was born at 37.5 weeks and since being born has thrived. I am so glad that we decided to stay living in Perth until after bub was born.

Other than that all is good. I think it is 14 weeks now until we move to Karratha. I had to put an application in for kindy next year for DS recently and didn't know which school to put it into as we have no idea which area we will be living. I rang up one of the schools and the admin lady said that I was only allowed to apply for one school and that we would be the lowest category for placement as we were not living in the area. We will just have to take which ever kindy takes us. I have heard that 2 of the schools run kindy programs 2 full days and the other two run it 4 half days. I was really hoping to get Ds into a 2 full day school as 4 half days with a small baby would be really hard, but I will just have to be happy with where ever we get. Dh tried to press his work for an idea of the houses that might be coming up around the time we are moving but they were less than helpful.

Sorry for the very self-focussed chat, I hope everyone is going well and enjoying the lovely weather up there (it was 1 degree here this morning and soooo cold).

Got to sleep.....

Hi Rissa! How exciting about bubby. 14 weeks until you guys come up here, how exciting! What company is your DH employed with?

Weather is lovely at the moment, warm but pleasent :)

Ooops DD is awake :) xx

Purpose Blessings
08-07-2008, 17:30
Melo - Dh works for Woodside.

I went to the kmart and big w sales down here and bought a few things for our kids and stacks of presents for birthday party presents and neices and nephews. I also bought some indoor games (board games etc) for this summer as I feel like it is going to be a huge shock for me moving to the Karratha summer. I think we will be spending lots of time inside during the days, so I am trying to be prepared.

Anyway, gotta go

Melo
09-07-2008, 15:48
Awwwwww congratulations Jess!!!

I checked out your Facebook page last night in hopes you had posted something!

Congratulations, another gorgeous boy :D :D

macknsethmum
10-07-2008, 12:48
Congrats Jess:yelclap:

wow 3 boys, Bet your hubby is stoked:D

My uncle and aunty had 4 boys 3 years apart!!!

macknsethmum
10-07-2008, 12:51
Ok that didnt sound right, was supposed to be 4 boys with 3 years gap between each one. Ok that makes more sense:rolleyes:

Purpose Blessings
14-07-2008, 21:40
Congratulations Wondermum on finding out you are having another boy :yelclap:. 3 boys would be great.

I have good news about my bubba. On friday I went for another ultrasound and said that things were looking much better. She is still small but has grown well and at a good rate over the last two weeks. So feeling abit more relaxed about it all now.

Anyway off to put my feet up...

macknsethmum
15-07-2008, 12:29
:hugs:Thought i'd let you girls know that the Target online catalogue has PRICES on it now:yelclap:
Dont know about anyone else but im excited:smiliedance:

Ds loves the wiggles wonderland and a few other big things in there i'd like, hope they can post everything i want:fingerscrossed:

So how is everybody else going. Good I hope :flowerz:

P.S. Is there anyone on here from hedland :)

mastermum12345
24-07-2008, 12:39
Wondermum > Congrates on the boy - Boys Rule :D

macknsethmum > Welcome. Im from Tom Price. My parents live in PH so we try to get out that way as much as possible.

Me > My new DSLR camera finally turned up in the post and that's why Ive been AWOL :laughing: Im busy taking lots of bad pictures :devil6: The kids got off to school well - Thank God !! I was over the school holidays.

I'm going to be busy this term - I signed the younger 2 up to kindermusik. So with all the other stuff they do I'll be very occupied :o

Anyhoos Hope all is well out there, where ever you are :wave:

Melo
24-07-2008, 23:42
:hi: Everyone!

Been busy over here, getting out of the house, long walks along the beach, shopping :p. LOL! Sorry, had to rub it in a bit.

Went to the Target toy sale today, only brought the kids a drawing pad each, I really restrained my self although not that much took my attention.

Hey Tom Price peoples, we will be there on the Namless weekend... If you want to meet up or something? We are actually going over there to do our tax but it happens to fall on that weekend..

Rhonda - What camera did you get? We've got a DSLR - Canon 400D got in on our holidays at the start of the year, i'm still learning with it lol!!!

PandP
25-07-2008, 22:27
:laughing: rub in that shopping Melo - well, guess what? I think I might have twisted DH's arm to drive over to the coast soon!! :laughing:

I'd be keen to catch up in TP. Would be good to finally meet MM seeing I see her kids and DP all the time - think I might have seen MM at coles once but not sure :detective:

Just about to lose the battery here so night from me :flowerz:

Purpose Blessings
26-07-2008, 00:10

Just wanted to let you all know that our baby girl made her arrival into the world 5 weeks prematurely on the 16th of July.

I know I had said that things were looking positive but apparently that wasn't to be. I had to go into the hospital on the wednesday morning to get a CTG done just to check on bubs wellbeing. I expected it to be pretty quick and had told my mum and other kids that I would be back in about an hour. The test showed that whenever bub moved, her heart rate was dropping. They did the scan for a couple of hours before deciding that there was too much risk to continue the pregnancy and I was preped for a c-section. Our bub was born at 5:58pm weighing just 4lb, 11oz. She came out screaming which was the most wonderful sound but started having breathing difficulties shortly after. They let me have a quick cuddle and then took her to Princess Margaret Hospital (I was at Attadale hospital). It was really terrible and so scary. I was taken back to my room to recover and DH went with bub to PMH.

Everyone told me that she was doing well but that she would probably be up there for about a week. It turned out though that she was doing so well that she was able to come back late the next day. She came back with tubes and monitors attached still but she looked so wonderful. I was finally able to give her a proper cuddle and we decided to call her Emily Ruth (I couldn't name her before then as I hardly had had a chance to see her).

Emily needed to be fed through a gastric tube for the first week as she wasn't strong enough to suck and she hadn't developed the sucking reflex yet. We were able to take it out a couple of days ago though and she has taken to feeding really well. She tires easily and I have to be careful that she doesn't use up all her energy trying to feed.

Today they finally told us we could go home:smiliedance:. I have to go back every couple of days to get her weighed and make sure that she is growing ok, but it is looking very positive. I feel very blessed that she is alright and that I am able to be back with my other kids again so quickly.

I will upload some pics soon. I have recovered really well now and am feeling very little pain.

I just heard a little cry so I'd better be off....

I hope you are all going well

Marissa

PandP
26-07-2008, 16:44
Congratulation Rissa! Sounds like you did a wonderful job. It must have been very hard for you with Emily at PMH and you at Attadale. I bet you are very glad to be home!! :baby: Nice choice of name too!!

macknsethmum
26-07-2008, 18:11
CONGRATULATIONS Marissa!!!

Glad to hear all is well :)

Melo
27-07-2008, 01:15
Congratulations Rissa! Welcome to the world little Emily. Glad to hear that everything is going well :). How long til you guys are up this way?

Late night here, about to head to bed! Went for a walk along the beach this morning, and I got tanned!!!

Purpose Blessings
28-07-2008, 22:24
thanks for the congrats.

Melo - I think it is about 10 weeks now until we move up there. Now that Emily is born I am starting to concentrate on our move and am getting really excited. I am so looking forward to the beaches up there and the fishing!.

macknsethmum
30-07-2008, 14:02
Yes the weather is beautiful atm. My sfil is coming over from Melbourne on friday.

Dh told him its been around 30 degrees and he goes ooo I'm gonna boil. Haha lucky hes not coming over in summertime :D;)

westketeers
30-07-2008, 16:23

hope you don't mind me budging in, just wondering if any one lives in or has lived in Tom Price recently. I posted a separate thread about Tom Price, but didn't get the response we are looking for.
Basically, we are looking at moving up to Tom Price for work with our 2 year old twins(b:sleeping:/g). DH has lived in Leinster as a kid and has a FiFo job now, so he's familiar with country lifestyle.
Can any one tell me what the community is like as I'm a SAHM ?
I'm starting to look forward to bring the kids up in country town, just not sure what to expect in an Australian country town(lived in cities & villages thru out Europe an several burbs in Perth).

I'd really appreciate if any one can help me.

me (34) :wave:
DH (34) FiFo
DD 13*06*06 :flowerz:
DS 13*06*06 :sleeping:

PandP
30-07-2008, 16:43
Sorry didn't see your other thread or one of us would have responded!! Tom Price is great!! I think most of the towns up here are. It's a great place for kids and SAHM's!!
Does your DH work for one of the mining companies up here already?? If so, then it should be a matter of transfering. If not, he will need to get on to their websites and apply. Unfortunately the recruitment process is usually quite long.
Good Luck!

westketeers
30-07-2008, 20:09
thanks for your reply. Hubby's company is situated in TP already, so really once we(well, really it comes down to me now) make up our minds, he'll put his hand up. It's great to hear a positive response. I've had a look on several websites about Tom Price, one thing I haven't found out about is..playgrounds & (toddler) activities. What's the community like ? Is it difficult to make your contacts ? (can't go without some social butterflying) Or most people pretty open to newcomers ?

Would you mind if I pm you during this week with some specific queries ?

thanks heaps again :thumbsup:

mastermum12345
01-08-2008, 09:49
Congratulations Rissa !!!

macknsethmum > Enjoy your time with your family, LOL 30 degrees is nothing

Tom Price meet thing > If you organise I will turn up :laughing:

westketeers > Another Tom Price resident here. Its a lovely place. There are 2 main parks - Both good. Toddler services - Yeap lots of them- My kids do Kindergym, kinder musik, and a variety of sports.

You will have to get out and network Some of the locals can be standoffish - But you get that in every mining town. There is a centre called Nittirri (not sure on the spelling LOL) and it runs groups - Playgroup, mothers morning, and the likes.

The only thing I don't like about Tom Price is the lack of shopping. It only has coles really :laughing: and the post - Don't expect to get 'fast post' out here:no: It does not happen ;) Lets not even talk about the lack of specialised medical assistance eg - Speech therapy, Dentist, Pead - They all FIFO - Its painful :(

HTH :laughing:

westketeers
01-08-2008, 10:29
morning,

so shopping ain't great in Tom Price ? Are there any shops for like kids clothing/toys and stuff like you would buy at a Target or is Coles really it ? Guess, ordering online and have it posted might be the way ? :confused:

I didn't expect to have the full medical range available as long as there is a ED, GP and a dentist..we'll manage.

Toddlers activities sound good, sounds like we're heading in the right directions.

So, I take it that summers up there are boiling ? Is it 40+ C each day ?
Might beat the on/off rain & storms :rain: we have here for the last week and more to come.

Any other tips/thoughts are more than welcome. :thumbsup:

DH (34) FiFo
DD 13*06*06 :flowerz:
DS 13*06*06 :crying:

PandP
01-08-2008, 22:27
:wave: Hi All

Mm - I was at nintirri today!! They have creche while the coffee club is on every 2nd Friday, it's great!!

Melo - Not long 'til Nameless weekend!

Rissa - how is Emily??

Wm - how are you and the fam?

Westketeers - I am sure any of the Mum's on here would be happy to answer any queries on here or PM. Mastermum and I live in Tom Price and Melo used to. I think we all think it's a top spot :yes:

Melo
03-08-2008, 13:33
Hey Guys,

Went to FeNaCl yesterday,was pretty good.... Didn't get to look around too much, kids wanted to play and so many people.

Hi Westketeers - Tom Price is a lovely little town, so much to do! Shopping, no that good. Shopping in Para is worse! Karratha is not too far away, and apparantly that new road is open and its meant to be quicker... Will see next weekend ;)

westketeers
05-08-2008, 23:51
Hi Tom Price mums,

just got to ask you about the following: went shopping today for some sneakers for the kids and after plowing through 3 shops(Kmart etc)ended up only finding some for my girl, so still got to go out again for DS. As it proved to be such a big task to just find some shoes it just made me wonder about you. How do you do shopping for kids clothing, shoe(especially when they need to try it on) in Tom Price ? Do you go to Port Hedland/Karratha ? Or are there any local shoe/kids shops in TP ? Or is it a case of ordering online ?

Also how do your kids cope with the heat in summer ? Being in Perth we get the 'freo doctor' coming through anywhere from 3pm onwards and on the 35+C days we just hide inside the house with the kids between late morning & late arvo. Guess I am trying to visualise as to what to expect.

DH is coming home tomorrownight, so no doubt TP option will discussed, but first a sleep-in for me on thursday morning :sleeping:

Love to hear from you

DH (34) FIFO
DD 13*06*06 :sleeping:

mastermum12345
06-08-2008, 13:08
westketeers > Shopping: Most go off to Karratha or Port hedland for clothes and such. Online is always another good option. I have had my sister who lives in Perth pick me up some stuff and post it out to me.

Summer : I cant officially comment on this :laughing: I've only been out here since April so haven't gone through a summer out here. We have been lucky enough to score a house with a pool, So I guess we will spend a lot of time in that. All houses have air-cons :) I found Perth's heat to be worst than the heat in Kalgoorlie - Not sure if that helps you out :laughing:

Melo > I wanted to get out to this FeNaCl thing, never made it though LOL

Hiya to everyone else gotta go lunch time.

westketeers
14-08-2008, 23:28
o o I feel for you...HJ cravings....readign your story made me feel really guilty as I did put my teeth in to a Whopper that day....sorry should I not have told you this ? Wish there was a way I could help you out...

Well, DH has gone back to work for another fortnight...but the weather is much better here now and we've been spending a bit of time at the beach, splashing about....

TP is definately on the cards, now we just have to cross our fingers and hope to get in.....:fingerscrossed:

Melo
15-08-2008, 15:40
Oh Jess! I just seen that on Facebook about your ankle!!! You poor chicken, how did it happen??

Went to Para last weekend, was good! We went on the new road, was only 140km of dirt and the rest normal road :p. Took just over 4 hours to get to TP.

Did you other lovely ladies go to Nameless? We were there for Friday night, and a bit on Saturday. Wasn't that good this year, I think every year its getting smaller and smaller!!

Hope that you are okay Jess :hugs:

westketeers
16-08-2008, 00:22
so sorry to hear you broke your ankle, but I promise you this: If they fly you to Perth for surgery, I'll personally come and bring you a Whopper with cheese (warm & fresh)
Take care !

Good to hear it only takes 4 hrs to get to Dampier area. We'll have to sit & wait now for a job to come up anytime soon.:fingerscrossed:

DH (34) FIFO
DD 13*06*06 :sleeping:

mastermum12345
17-08-2008, 12:19
Holy **** wondermum :eek: I hope the pain is not to bad. Is it in plaster ? How awful :hugs:

Melo > I went to nameless, My DS2 was on the school float :laughing:

westketeers > Fingers crossed for you :)

Same old, same old here...

Another pilbara website > The other one closed down (for those in the know *Wink Wink*) If you want a link to the new one PM me (as Im not sure if I can post it on this site :laughing:)

mummy2declan
17-08-2008, 19:42
hey guys,

in septemeber/early october my partner and i and our 18 month old baby boy are moving up to tom price..would be great too meet some people up there...

as im a little scared of moving so far away from my family..

westketeers
17-08-2008, 21:26

Just wanted to say hi, we're not in Tom Priceas yet, but DH is working hard to get a job up there. I've met some wonderfull mums thru this forum who gave me some insight info. I'm sure they'll help you too.
Anyway, goodluck with the move and keep me up to date as we hope to follow soon.

DH (34) FIFO
DD 13*06*06 :raspberry:
DS 13*06*06 :devil:

P.s I know how hard it is being fdar away from your rellies(just about of all of mine live in Europe....:mad:)

mummy2declan
17-08-2008, 22:09
ahah thanks, hope your hubby gets a job soon, contact rio tinto thats who my fiance is working for... he a communications technican =]..

we moving up there..they gave us a house etc

Melo
18-08-2008, 00:08
Mel I fell down two steps outside this kids indoor play centre while I was disposing of a nappy :rolleyes: Heard the bone crack straight away and thought oh **** that doesn't sound good :eek: I was in shock and when I got to the hospital the pain set in real bad! Couldn't have happened at a better time! I ended up getting a wheelchair from the hospital as it was such a struggle to hobble on crutches being pregnant as well. It's thrown a huge spanner in the works for us all!

Oh Jess!!!!! That sounds so horrible!!! How lovely of your neice to offer to wheel you down. If the festival is anything like Namless, your not going to be missing out on much.. Expect the HOT donuts!!! Yummo.

Melo > I went to nameless, My DS2 was on the school float

Another pilbara website > The other one closed down (for those in the know *Wink Wink*) If you want a link to the new one PM me (as Im not sure if I can post it on this site )

Oh I missed out on the float!! Think I was still sleeping :laughing:.

hey guys,

in septemeber/early october my partner and i and our 18 month old baby boy are moving up to tom price..would be great too meet some people up there...

as im a little scared of moving so far away from my family..

Hey! Welcome to the thread, it is a little duanting moving away from your family and friends, but TP is a really good place to live with young kids and i'm sure you will meet new people no worries :).

mastermum12345
18-08-2008, 14:17
Hi mummy2declan Im living in Tom Price - Its a fantastic little town :) Feel free to ask questions, and welcome to the Pilbara (well almost :laughing:)

mummy2declan
18-08-2008, 22:31
thanks a heap
mastermum12345

i shall take you up on that for sure =]

mastermum12345
22-08-2008, 10:59
Thats ok mummy2declan, Did you get that other link ?

Hi to eveyone :wave:

chloesma
26-08-2008, 22:27
Another pilbara website > The other one closed down (for those in the know *Wink Wink*) If you want a link to the new one PM me (as Im not sure if I can post it on this site :laughing:)

I'm in Perth and went to log in and it was gone. Man I miss all the action LOL
X Kelly

mastermum12345
27-08-2008, 15:21

Dont worry it was not that exciting :laughing:

Melo
27-08-2008, 22:52
X Kelly

:laughing: You didn't miss much!!

How is your little man going now? He looks so teeny in your AV.

Hey MM!

Poor Jess (Wondermum) has been flown to Perth for surgery. Haven't seen any more updates on Facebook though, so hope its going well for her and she's getting her Hungry Jacks!!

Not much happening here, turned our aircon back on today, that was pretty exciting :laughing:. Not!!

Hope you are all well,

Mel.

chloesma
28-08-2008, 10:26
I Miss the warm weather, it has been nearly 3 months since I slept in my own bed in Dampier.
Do you go to Dampier playgroup??

westketeers
28-08-2008, 22:37
Does anyone know where Melo is ? I promised her her dbl Whopper ! Anyone ?????

Purpose Blessings
29-08-2008, 01:22
Hi girls, I'm just checking in.

Melo have you heard anymore about wondermum?

We now have 6 weeks until we move. I am excited but also so sad that I'm leaving my life down here.

Anyway I'm exhausted and the bubs just had her last feed for the day so I'm off to bed.

Welcome to the new ladies.

Melo
29-08-2008, 16:27
I Miss the warm weather, it has been nearly 3 months since I slept in my own bed in Dampier.
Do you go to Dampier playgroup??

No, we haven't been yet. I've been told everyone is really lovely there though. Was planning on heading last Tuesday actually but Ava woke up with gastro, which then we all got :rolleyes::barf:.

Is warming up very quickly here, turned the aircon back on the other day.

Does anyone know where Melo is ? I promised her her dbl Whopper ! Anyone ?????

You did?!

Hi girls, I'm just checking in.

Melo have you heard anymore about wondermum?

We now have 6 weeks until we move. I am excited but also so sad that I'm leaving my life down here.

Hey Rissa, no haven't heard no more. Hope all is good though! :).

westketeers
29-08-2008, 20:08
Wondermum, so good to hear you are back home again, but now I couldnt keep my promise for your Whopper ! Wish you'd more time to let me know, o well, maybe next time under better circumstances

Melo, sorry meant wondermum

Melo
29-08-2008, 21:31
Glad to hear your home Jess :hugs:

Ohhh glad to hear that you didn't need any surgery Jess, bad news about the HJs though :(

chloesma
29-08-2008, 22:33
No, we haven't been yet. I've been told everyone is really lovely there though. Was planning on heading last Tuesday actually but Ava woke up with gastro, which then we all got :rolleyes::barf:.

I went to a couple of playgroups in Karratha and no one spoke to me :no:
Dampier is fantastic, everyone is welcoming.:shakehands: They have been so supportive while I have been in hospital, by looking after Chloe and offering genuine friendship. :hugs: I don't know how we would have coped without them.

Melo
29-08-2008, 22:40
I went to a couple of playgroups in Karratha and no one spoke to me :no:
Dampier is fantastic, everyone is welcoming.:shakehands: They have been so supportive while I have been in hospital, by looking after Chloe and offering genuine friendship. :hugs: I don't know how we would have coped without them.

Oh how lovely :). Is Chloe still up here?

chloesma
30-08-2008, 10:18
no shes been here with me since last Thursday, I am hoping to fly back with her in the next couple of weeks. (even if I only stay the weekend)

mastermum12345
03-09-2008, 11:30
Wondermum > Glad to hear the ankle did not need surgery, Hope its getting better.

Rissa > Not long now, How is the packing going ?

chloesma > Hope you get a chance to fly back

Melo > I've been turning the aircon on in the afternoons for a couple of hours, Than having to turn it off as it gets to cold :laughing:

:wave: to everyone else

Im off to have breakfast now :laughing:

mummy2declan
07-09-2008, 23:11
20days and im outta perth..WOOHOO

Melo
16-09-2008, 10:29
Yay Jess! Thats awesome news about the cast AND the house!!! Ooh you lucky ducks! Good going with BHP, good thing is you can eventually transfer too (cough cough Karratha cough cough) lol.

Wow, can't believe Rylan is nearly 2. Weeeeeee. Jacob celebrated his 3rd Birthday last week, I think i'm in denial i'm a parent to a 3 year old!!!

Not a lot happening here, getting very warm and humid pretty quick. Can't wait until it is warm enough to get into our pool and head down to the beach (:p).

Purpose Blessings
17-09-2008, 16:13

How are you all?

We are going ok. The removalist came today to assess how many boxes etc we will need, which made us moving seem all the more real. Dh has been up in Karratha for the last 2 weeks for work. He said the weather there at the moment was devine. We were meant to be arriving there in about 3 weeks but DH has to go to training in sydney the week that we were meant to be moving so it has been postponed for 2 weeks more.

ANyway better go clean the house while i can

twinmum79
18-09-2008, 18:39
I was referred to this thread by a friend. My hubby has been trying to get a job up in Parraburdoo with Pilbra Iron . So I was just wondering what life is like up there ? We are originally from the country but stuck in Perth at the moment while my hubby works away in Southern Cross for BGC. :(
We where bit dissapointed cause they want him up there but don't have any houses at moment! Well any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks Loads
twinmum79

mastermum12345
23-09-2008, 14:32
Hi twinmum79 and welcome to the thread. > I live in Tom Price, which is Paras neighbouring town. Getting a job with pilbara iron/Rio is a slow process, Housing is the main issue why it can take so long. If I was you I would just be applying for residential jobs for both Tom Price and Para, Just to give yourself more of a chance, and really both towns are lovely :) I've been here since April :)

Rissa79 > I hope the move goes smoothly. Have you got a house yet (can't remember:o If you had or not)

wondermum > Has the cast come off yet ? Congrates on the house - How lucky are you !!!

Melo > Our pool water is still freezing :laughing: but I to am looking forward to using the pool

Chloesma > How are you going ?

mummy2declan > I wonder if you are already here ???

Me > All good here, 3 more days til school holidays - wooohooo!!!

twinmum79
25-09-2008, 15:58
Thanks Mastermum12345

Thanks for the heads up about applying for Tom Price too I've had hubby looking at all the jobs and just hoping something will come up.
As you said though the housing is the problem! But fingers crossed.:fingerscrossed:
Ta again and hope this finds you well :flowerz:

Twinmum79

PossumGirl
26-09-2008, 14:10
Hi Everyone :wave:

Just thought I'd pop in and introduce myself as I have just moved to Port Hedland from QLD.

I am a proud stay at home Mummy to my 15 month old DD. We recently made the big move over here for my husbands work.

Anyway....looking forward to chatting!

:goodvibes:

farahandmatt
29-09-2008, 12:57

My family and I are moving to Paraburdoo soon. Just waiting on a house so may take a while. Just wondering if anyone can offer any advice etc as to whats it like there and all that stuff us girls need to know. Im Farah and am 31 and have a daughter who is 6 old a son who is 9 months. Oh and a husband Matt who is 30.
Thanks Girls, appreciate your advice and info if you have any!!:wave:

mastermum12345
29-09-2008, 13:56
Hi to the newbies !!! farahandmatt and PossumGirl Welcome to the thread

farahandmatt > I live in Tom Price which is not far from Para, Its a nice little town, I don't get out there much but from what I have been told about the place its lovely :)

Wondermum > WooHoo for the cast coming off !!!

possumgirl > My parents live up in PH, I go up that way about once a month

Me > School holiday here lots of this :ecomcity: and this :hissy: going on atm

:wave: to everyone

Purpose Blessings
29-09-2008, 22:04
hi everyone and welcome to the newbies.

mastermum - na we dont have a house yet and pparently wont get one until after we arrive. We will be put in temp housing when we get there and then apparently be told which ones are available and pick the one that we want. this is stressing the removalists out heaps but i am just going with the flow...

wondermum - :smiliedance: about your cast coming off. Try to take it easy, although i know it is hard.

Hello to everyone else.

We will officially be karratha residents in about 3 weeks

farahandmatt
30-09-2008, 08:16
Hi Mastermum

Ive heard that Tom Price is the place to do our food shopping as you have a coles there, is that right?? And do you have a Target Country I wonder???

We are from the South West but have been in Central Qld for the last 3 years and Im a bit scared of the move as have a pretty good life and a nice house here.
Are the houses ok??????:ecomcity: I could go on forever with my questions sorry........

Melo
06-10-2008, 11:21
Hi Farrah,
Tom Price does have a Coles. Paraburdoo has an IGA.

But no Target or K-Mart in either Tom Price or Paraburdoo sorry. The closest Target is in Karratha - 5 hours away :).

Houses - Some can be absolute ****, and then others are really nice. They are doing a few up at the moment..

mastermum12345
10-10-2008, 16:35
Hi there !!

Farrah > LOL No target country. Coles though - 7 days trading - Which is helpful. I do ALOT of online shopping. Or SADLY hit up the shops in HEDLAND :laughing: Where in central QLD are you living? I was born out that way :) Melo is right about the houses, There are some awful houses, and some really lovely ones. I went to a friends house the other day that has new everything in it, New kitchen, flooring and the likes - Its beautiful inside - So you could get lucky. We did, we have a pool !! :yes:

Rissa > Hope the housing gets sorted, and I hope the transit house is nice, Must not be to much longer now :)

Hiya to everyone else - Ive got to run - Kids feral, bloody school holidays. I also hear rain !! Woohoo its been very humid today

mummy2declan
11-10-2008, 17:27
hey all,

yes i've been up in tom price for nearly 2 weeks and got into out home and nearly all sorted out :)

hope everyone is going good and i can meet a few of you TP mums

Cate

farahandmatt
12-10-2008, 11:14
Hi Mastermum

Mastermum - We are in Moranbah- west of Mackay. Matt got his letter of offer this week so we are moving the beginning of Dec. Im really looking forward to it but am soo nervous on the houseing situation. we will just have to wait and see what we end up with and hope its not too bad!!! I already shop heaps online so that wont be a problem.

All- thanks for the replies, maybe may get to meet some of you when we get up there.
Farah x

imme
12-10-2008, 14:49
Hi there, looks like we will be moving to Karratha soonish. Just wondering how many other BH karratha Mums are out there?? I am a Mum to a 5year old daughter and a 8mth old son, hoping to make some friends over there as I will have no family and DP works long hours, but hoping to keep our family together.

Purpose Blessings
12-10-2008, 21:53

8 days now until we leave. Dh is in Sydney until saturday and the packers come monday. Its sort of weird to finally be happening. We've talked and planned for so long and now in 2 weeks I will be in Karratha (we are taking our time driving up).

I'm feeling sad to be leaving here. Wspecially my house as I really love it and don't know what I'm going to up there, but I trust that it will all work out wonderfully.

Hello to everyone, I hope you are all doing really well.

Purpose Blessings
28-10-2008, 10:06
Hi everyone, We are finally here in Karratha. We arrived a couple of days ago and are in temp housing until we find a good company house.

gtg as bub is crying...hope you are all well

studentmum
28-10-2008, 11:16
Hiya NW mummies!! :wave:

DH is a primary teacher and we are thinking of coming our bush next year.

We have DD 5 & 7 and DS due in Jan so what I want to know is where should we go?!?!?

I thought the best ppl to ask would be ppl with families then I saw your thread :yelclap: YAY!

Open to all suggestions and recommendations :yes:

Sarah :flowerz:

mastermum12345
30-10-2008, 09:12
Hi All !!!

Studentmum > I would recommend the inland towns to teach at, Tom Price :D Parrabadoo, Newman. My Mum is a High School teacher in Port Hedland - I wont go into details, But *I* would not teach out there :( (Please Note - To the PH residents, Im not saying - Don't, Im saying *I* would not, Everyone is different)

Rissa > Welcome to the pilbara, How are you finding Karratha ???

Wondermum > I cant believe you only have 39 days left - That went so quickly :)

ME > Same old same old here. We have had a couple of coolish mornings out here (or maybe its the DLS :rolleyes:) . My eldest is on camp, comes back tomorrow, So Its been unbelievably quiet here. We went out to eagle rock falls last week-end (out near newman) What a fascinating place that is :)

Anywhos Hi to everyone !!!!

Melo
30-10-2008, 17:20
Hi everyone, We are finally here in Karratha. We arrived a couple of days ago and are in temp housing until we find a good company house.

gtg as bub is crying...hope you are all well

:smiliedance: Welcome to Karratha! How are you finding it so far?

We have DD 5 & 7 and DS due in Jan so what I want to know is where should we go?!?!?

I thought the best ppl to ask would be ppl with families then I saw your thread YAY!

Dampier or Karratha are great!

Scored our flights out of town when I leave to have bub with VirginBlue for just $9 each!!! :smiliedance: Woohoo!!!

I got $9 flights too!!!! We are heading down to Perth on the 1st of Dec for a few days. Last minute wedding stuff. Couldn't say no to such cheap flights.

Can't believe how fast your pregnancy is going Jess!!!

ME > Same old same old here. We have had a couple of coolish mornings out here (or maybe its the DLS )

I'm loving DLS! Go for a an eveing walk lately along the beach its great.

We had friends come out to Dampier last night, and they brought KFC :p. Not trying to rub it in or anything!! :laughing:

macknsethmum
03-11-2008, 14:32
Hi studentmum:wave:
I'm Nat and I live in Port Hedland. I like it the primary schools are good, not sure about the high school as my oldest is only 6, she goes to PH primary school. As far as I know the 4 PS in south Hedland are OK too.

Glad you made it safely to Karratha Rissa, we lived there for 10 months and liked it. We moved to Hedland in March for dh work.

Wow Mel and wondermum $9 flights!! you were lucky, they usually sell VERY QUICKLY. We get 2 free flights to Perth every year but havent used them yet. Will have to find something to do down there lol as family is in Vic

mastermum12345
29-11-2008, 18:00
WOW

Its been so quite in here !!!

How goes the christmas planning ???

Anyone doing anything interesting ????

PandP
14-12-2008, 16:05
:yelclap: Congrats WonderMum :yelclap:

He is very cute!! Hope it is all going ok and you get home soon!! :D