View Full Version : North West WA Chat!

Pages : 1 [2]

Melo
03-08-2008, 13:33
Hey Guys,

Went to FeNaCl yesterday,was pretty good.... Didn't get to look around too much, kids wanted to play and so many people.

Hi Westketeers - Tom Price is a lovely little town, so much to do! Shopping, no that good. Shopping in Para is worse! Karratha is not too far away, and apparantly that new road is open and its meant to be quicker... Will see next weekend ;)

westketeers
05-08-2008, 23:51
Hi Tom Price mums,

just got to ask you about the following: went shopping today for some sneakers for the kids and after plowing through 3 shops(Kmart etc)ended up only finding some for my girl, so still got to go out again for DS. As it proved to be such a big task to just find some shoes it just made me wonder about you. How do you do shopping for kids clothing, shoe(especially when they need to try it on) in Tom Price ? Do you go to Port Hedland/Karratha ? Or are there any local shoe/kids shops in TP ? Or is it a case of ordering online ?

Also how do your kids cope with the heat in summer ? Being in Perth we get the 'freo doctor' coming through anywhere from 3pm onwards and on the 35+C days we just hide inside the house with the kids between late morning & late arvo. Guess I am trying to visualise as to what to expect.

DH is coming home tomorrownight, so no doubt TP option will discussed, but first a sleep-in for me on thursday morning :sleeping:

Love to hear from you

me (34) :wave:
DH (34) FIFO
DD 13*06*06 :sleeping:
DS 13*06*06 :sleeping:

mastermum12345
06-08-2008, 13:08
westketeers > Shopping: Most go off to Karratha or Port hedland for clothes and such. Online is always another good option. I have had my sister who lives in Perth pick me up some stuff and post it out to me.

Summer : I cant officially comment on this :laughing: I've only been out here since April so haven't gone through a summer out here. We have been lucky enough to score a house with a pool, So I guess we will spend a lot of time in that. All houses have air-cons :) I found Perth's heat to be worst than the heat in Kalgoorlie - Not sure if that helps you out :laughing:

Melo > I wanted to get out to this FeNaCl thing, never made it though LOL

Hiya to everyone else gotta go lunch time.

Wondermum
09-08-2008, 19:42
OMGosh I was soooo close to satisfying my craving for a HJ's Whooper with cheese today for lunch! A friend was bringing some back from Perth with her in an esky this morning and the dang esky got caught in the baggage conveyor and it was smashed to bits :hair::banghead::hissy: Ah well maybe time to plan a short 'special' trip to Perth... the lengths a pregnant pilbara women will go to :p:laughing:

westketeers
14-08-2008, 23:28
o o I feel for you...HJ cravings....readign your story made me feel really guilty as I did put my teeth in to a Whopper that day....sorry should I not have told you this ? Wish there was a way I could help you out...

Well, DH has gone back to work for another fortnight...but the weather is much better here now and we've been spending a bit of time at the beach, splashing about....

TP is definately on the cards, now we just have to cross our fingers and hope to get in.....:fingerscrossed:

Wondermum
14-08-2008, 23:39
o o I feel for you...HJ cravings....readign your story made me feel really guilty as I did put my teeth in to a Whopper that day....sorry should I not have told you this ? Wish there was a way I could help you out...

Oh no you shouldn't have told me that because now I have gone and broken my ankle and am now literally confined to my house! No skipping town for me unless they fly me out for surgery :crying:

How is everyone else going?

Melo
15-08-2008, 15:40
Oh Jess! I just seen that on Facebook about your ankle!!! You poor chicken, how did it happen??

Went to Para last weekend, was good! We went on the new road, was only 140km of dirt and the rest normal road :p. Took just over 4 hours to get to TP.

Did you other lovely ladies go to Nameless? We were there for Friday night, and a bit on Saturday. Wasn't that good this year, I think every year its getting smaller and smaller!!

Hope that you are okay Jess :hugs:

westketeers
16-08-2008, 00:22
so sorry to hear you broke your ankle, but I promise you this: If they fly you to Perth for surgery, I'll personally come and bring you a Whopper with cheese (warm & fresh)
Take care !

Good to hear it only takes 4 hrs to get to Dampier area. We'll have to sit & wait now for a job to come up anytime soon.:fingerscrossed:

DH (34) FIFO
DD 13*06*06 :sleeping:
DS 13*06*06 :sleeping:

Wondermum
16-08-2008, 22:55
Mel I fell down two steps outside this kids indoor play centre while I was disposing of a nappy :rolleyes: Heard the bone crack straight away and thought oh **** that doesn't sound good :eek: I was in shock and when I got to the hospital the pain set in real bad! Couldn't have happened at a better time! I ended up getting a wheelchair from the hospital as it was such a struggle to hobble on crutches being pregnant as well. It's thrown a huge spanner in the works for us all!

We've got the fortescue festival happening this weekend - that would be similar to nameless I guess? I'm so bummed I miss out this year :( was really looking forward to it! My 10yo niece said she would come and wheel me down in my wheelchair but I dunno :o

westketeers that sounds awesome :shakehands: :fingerscrossed: for that job soon!

mastermum12345
17-08-2008, 12:19
Holy **** wondermum :eek: I hope the pain is not to bad. Is it in plaster ? How awful :hugs:

Melo > I went to nameless, My DS2 was on the school float :laughing:

westketeers > Fingers crossed for you :)

Same old, same old here...

Another pilbara website > The other one closed down (for those in the know *Wink Wink*) If you want a link to the new one PM me (as Im not sure if I can post it on this site :laughing:)

mummy2declan
17-08-2008, 19:42
hey guys,

in septemeber/early october my partner and i and our 18 month old baby boy are moving up to tom price..would be great too meet some people up there...

as im a little scared of moving so far away from my family..

westketeers
17-08-2008, 21:26

Just wanted to say hi, we're not in Tom Priceas yet, but DH is working hard to get a job up there. I've met some wonderfull mums thru this forum who gave me some insight info. I'm sure they'll help you too.
Anyway, goodluck with the move and keep me up to date as we hope to follow soon.

DH (34) FIFO
DD 13*06*06 :raspberry:
DS 13*06*06 :devil:

P.s I know how hard it is being fdar away from your rellies(just about of all of mine live in Europe....:mad:)

mummy2declan
17-08-2008, 22:09
ahah thanks, hope your hubby gets a job soon, contact rio tinto thats who my fiance is working for... he a communications technican =]..

we moving up there..they gave us a house etc

Melo
18-08-2008, 00:08
Mel I fell down two steps outside this kids indoor play centre while I was disposing of a nappy :rolleyes: Heard the bone crack straight away and thought oh **** that doesn't sound good :eek: I was in shock and when I got to the hospital the pain set in real bad! Couldn't have happened at a better time! I ended up getting a wheelchair from the hospital as it was such a struggle to hobble on crutches being pregnant as well. It's thrown a huge spanner in the works for us all!

Oh Jess!!!!! That sounds so horrible!!! How lovely of your neice to offer to wheel you down. If the festival is anything like Namless, your not going to be missing out on much.. Expect the HOT donuts!!! Yummo.

Melo > I went to nameless, My DS2 was on the school float

Another pilbara website > The other one closed down (for those in the know *Wink Wink*) If you want a link to the new one PM me (as Im not sure if I can post it on this site )

Oh I missed out on the float!! Think I was still sleeping :laughing:.

hey guys,

in septemeber/early october my partner and i and our 18 month old baby boy are moving up to tom price..would be great too meet some people up there...

as im a little scared of moving so far away from my family..

Hey! Welcome to the thread, it is a little duanting moving away from your family and friends, but TP is a really good place to live with young kids and i'm sure you will meet new people no worries :).

mastermum12345
18-08-2008, 14:17
Hi mummy2declan Im living in Tom Price - Its a fantastic little town :) Feel free to ask questions, and welcome to the Pilbara (well almost :laughing:)

mummy2declan
18-08-2008, 22:31
thanks a heap
mastermum12345

i shall take you up on that for sure =]

mastermum12345
22-08-2008, 10:59
Thats ok mummy2declan, Did you get that other link ?

Hi to eveyone :wave:

chloesma
26-08-2008, 22:27
Another pilbara website > The other one closed down (for those in the know *Wink Wink*) If you want a link to the new one PM me (as Im not sure if I can post it on this site :laughing:)

I'm in Perth and went to log in and it was gone. Man I miss all the action LOL
X Kelly

mastermum12345
27-08-2008, 15:21

Dont worry it was not that exciting :laughing:

Melo
27-08-2008, 22:52
X Kelly

:laughing: You didn't miss much!!

How is your little man going now? He looks so teeny in your AV.

Hey MM!

Poor Jess (Wondermum) has been flown to Perth for surgery. Haven't seen any more updates on Facebook though, so hope its going well for her and she's getting her Hungry Jacks!!

Not much happening here, turned our aircon back on today, that was pretty exciting :laughing:. Not!!

Hope you are all well,

Mel.

chloesma
28-08-2008, 10:26
I Miss the warm weather, it has been nearly 3 months since I slept in my own bed in Dampier.
Do you go to Dampier playgroup??

westketeers
28-08-2008, 22:37
Does anyone know where Melo is ? I promised her her dbl Whopper ! Anyone ?????

Purpose Blessings
29-08-2008, 01:22
Hi girls, I'm just checking in.

Melo have you heard anymore about wondermum?

We now have 6 weeks until we move. I am excited but also so sad that I'm leaving my life down here.

Anyway I'm exhausted and the bubs just had her last feed for the day so I'm off to bed.

Welcome to the new ladies.

Melo
29-08-2008, 16:27
I Miss the warm weather, it has been nearly 3 months since I slept in my own bed in Dampier.
Do you go to Dampier playgroup??

No, we haven't been yet. I've been told everyone is really lovely there though. Was planning on heading last Tuesday actually but Ava woke up with gastro, which then we all got :rolleyes::barf:.

Is warming up very quickly here, turned the aircon back on the other day.

Does anyone know where Melo is ? I promised her her dbl Whopper ! Anyone ?????

You did?!

Hi girls, I'm just checking in.

Melo have you heard anymore about wondermum?

We now have 6 weeks until we move. I am excited but also so sad that I'm leaving my life down here.

Hey Rissa, no haven't heard no more. Hope all is good though! :).

Wondermum
29-08-2008, 19:07
Hi girls, I'm really tired but I'm home and managed to escape the dreaded ankle surgery :thumbsup:

I was so worried in the lead up when I was told here last Friday I needed to pack my bags as they were arranging a flight out for me on Saturday as I would need surgery. I spent 5 nights at RPH where my x-rays were reviewed by orthopedics and they made the decision surgery wasn't absolutely unnecessary - the bones should heal just as well in a cast.... thank goodness!!! I missed out on my HJ's Whooper sadly... didn't get a sniff of anything but hospital food and a cappuccino at the airport! Good news is I'm hopefully going back in 4 weeks to get reviewed and get this cast off so I will be walking out on my own two feet into a HJ's restaurant to have a feast lol and hopefully do a bit of shopping too :smiliedance:

Thanks for updating everyone in here Melo - it all happened pretty fast and my mind was racing before I left. Nath had to organise time off work to look after our two boys. So glad to be back home - missed them terribly!!!

:hugs: Thanks for your thoughts girls :hugs:

westketeers
29-08-2008, 20:08
Wondermum, so good to hear you are back home again, but now I couldnt keep my promise for your Whopper ! Wish you'd more time to let me know, o well, maybe next time under better circumstances

Melo, sorry meant wondermum

Melo
29-08-2008, 21:31
Glad to hear your home Jess :hugs:

Ohhh glad to hear that you didn't need any surgery Jess, bad news about the HJs though :(

chloesma
29-08-2008, 22:33
No, we haven't been yet. I've been told everyone is really lovely there though. Was planning on heading last Tuesday actually but Ava woke up with gastro, which then we all got :rolleyes::barf:.

I went to a couple of playgroups in Karratha and no one spoke to me :no:
Dampier is fantastic, everyone is welcoming.:shakehands: They have been so supportive while I have been in hospital, by looking after Chloe and offering genuine friendship. :hugs: I don't know how we would have coped without them.

Melo
29-08-2008, 22:40
I went to a couple of playgroups in Karratha and no one spoke to me :no:
Dampier is fantastic, everyone is welcoming.:shakehands: They have been so supportive while I have been in hospital, by looking after Chloe and offering genuine friendship. :hugs: I don't know how we would have coped without them.

Oh how lovely :). Is Chloe still up here?

chloesma
30-08-2008, 10:18
no shes been here with me since last Thursday, I am hoping to fly back with her in the next couple of weeks. (even if I only stay the weekend)

mastermum12345
03-09-2008, 11:30
Wondermum > Glad to hear the ankle did not need surgery, Hope its getting better.

Rissa > Not long now, How is the packing going ?

chloesma > Hope you get a chance to fly back

Melo > I've been turning the aircon on in the afternoons for a couple of hours, Than having to turn it off as it gets to cold :laughing:

:wave: to everyone else

Im off to have breakfast now :laughing:

mummy2declan
07-09-2008, 23:11
20days and im outta perth..WOOHOO

Wondermum
15-09-2008, 21:53
Hey girls, how are you all? Loving the nice warm weather? Summer is just around the corner :sunshine:

9 days until I get my cast off :smiliedance: can't wait to live life normally again!

We're moving soon... over the other side of town :D dp got a new job with bhp and we've been offered a brand new 4 brm with ensuite, WIR, study and separate dinning, living and family rooms. We're so happy, finally some space and a new career dp has eagerly been wanting to get into. Guess some good had to come out of the bad run I've had lately :p

Oh, my baby will be turning 2 in 6 days :party: Can hardly believe it - they grow up way to fast!

Melo
16-09-2008, 10:29
Yay Jess! Thats awesome news about the cast AND the house!!! Ooh you lucky ducks! Good going with BHP, good thing is you can eventually transfer too (cough cough Karratha cough cough) lol.

Wow, can't believe Rylan is nearly 2. Weeeeeee. Jacob celebrated his 3rd Birthday last week, I think i'm in denial i'm a parent to a 3 year old!!!

Not a lot happening here, getting very warm and humid pretty quick. Can't wait until it is warm enough to get into our pool and head down to the beach (:p).

Wondermum
16-09-2008, 23:14
8 days until the cast comes off :smiliedance: woohoo:D

Thanks Mel, yeah it's awesome we'll be able to transfer many places... including Karratha lol I do envy your coast lifestyle and pool!

So how was Jacob's 3rd birthday? Did you have a party or just a little family celebration? Saw your pics on facebook - he looked thrilled to pieces with his pressies! Hope you all had a lovely day.

:wave: Jess

Purpose Blessings
17-09-2008, 16:13

How are you all?

We are going ok. The removalist came today to assess how many boxes etc we will need, which made us moving seem all the more real. Dh has been up in Karratha for the last 2 weeks for work. He said the weather there at the moment was devine. We were meant to be arriving there in about 3 weeks but DH has to go to training in sydney the week that we were meant to be moving so it has been postponed for 2 weeks more.

ANyway better go clean the house while i can

twinmum79
18-09-2008, 18:39
I was referred to this thread by a friend. My hubby has been trying to get a job up in Parraburdoo with Pilbra Iron . So I was just wondering what life is like up there ? We are originally from the country but stuck in Perth at the moment while my hubby works away in Southern Cross for BGC. :(
We where bit dissapointed cause they want him up there but don't have any houses at moment! Well any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks Loads
twinmum79

mastermum12345
23-09-2008, 14:32
Hi twinmum79 and welcome to the thread. > I live in Tom Price, which is Paras neighbouring town. Getting a job with pilbara iron/Rio is a slow process, Housing is the main issue why it can take so long. If I was you I would just be applying for residential jobs for both Tom Price and Para, Just to give yourself more of a chance, and really both towns are lovely :) I've been here since April :)

Rissa79 > I hope the move goes smoothly. Have you got a house yet (can't remember:o If you had or not)

wondermum > Has the cast come off yet ? Congrates on the house - How lucky are you !!!

Melo > Our pool water is still freezing :laughing: but I to am looking forward to using the pool

Chloesma > How are you going ?

mummy2declan > I wonder if you are already here ???

Me > All good here, 3 more days til school holidays - wooohooo!!!

twinmum79
25-09-2008, 15:58
Thanks Mastermum12345

Thanks for the heads up about applying for Tom Price too I've had hubby looking at all the jobs and just hoping something will come up.
As you said though the housing is the problem! But fingers crossed.:fingerscrossed:
Ta again and hope this finds you well :flowerz:

Twinmum79

Wondermum
25-09-2008, 16:36
wondermum > Has the cast come off yet ? Congrates on the house - How lucky are you !!!

Yeeep cast is off :smiliedance: <---- though no dancing going on just yet! Not suppose to weight bare for another few weeks but have been naughty as the day after it came off Nath flew back home and I've had to look after the two boys on my own and my 2yr old isn't well. So I've been hobbling around :shame:

PossumGirl
26-09-2008, 14:10
Hi Everyone :wave:

Just thought I'd pop in and introduce myself as I have just moved to Port Hedland from QLD.

I am a proud stay at home Mummy to my 15 month old DD. We recently made the big move over here for my husbands work.

Anyway....looking forward to chatting!

:goodvibes:

farahandmatt
29-09-2008, 12:57

My family and I are moving to Paraburdoo soon. Just waiting on a house so may take a while. Just wondering if anyone can offer any advice etc as to whats it like there and all that stuff us girls need to know. Im Farah and am 31 and have a daughter who is 6 old a son who is 9 months. Oh and a husband Matt who is 30.
Thanks Girls, appreciate your advice and info if you have any!!:wave:

mastermum12345
29-09-2008, 13:56
Hi to the newbies !!! farahandmatt and PossumGirl Welcome to the thread

farahandmatt > I live in Tom Price which is not far from Para, Its a nice little town, I don't get out there much but from what I have been told about the place its lovely :)

Wondermum > WooHoo for the cast coming off !!!

possumgirl > My parents live up in PH, I go up that way about once a month

Me > School holiday here lots of this :ecomcity: and this :hissy: going on atm

:wave: to everyone

Purpose Blessings
29-09-2008, 22:04
hi everyone and welcome to the newbies.

mastermum - na we dont have a house yet and pparently wont get one until after we arrive. We will be put in temp housing when we get there and then apparently be told which ones are available and pick the one that we want. this is stressing the removalists out heaps but i am just going with the flow...

wondermum - :smiliedance: about your cast coming off. Try to take it easy, although i know it is hard.

Hello to everyone else.

We will officially be karratha residents in about 3 weeks

farahandmatt
30-09-2008, 08:16
Hi Mastermum

Ive heard that Tom Price is the place to do our food shopping as you have a coles there, is that right?? And do you have a Target Country I wonder???

We are from the South West but have been in Central Qld for the last 3 years and Im a bit scared of the move as have a pretty good life and a nice house here.
Are the houses ok??????:ecomcity: I could go on forever with my questions sorry........

Melo
06-10-2008, 12:21
Hi Farrah,
Tom Price does have a Coles. Paraburdoo has an IGA.

But no Target or K-Mart in either Tom Price or Paraburdoo sorry. The closest Target is in Karratha - 5 hours away :).

Houses - Some can be absolute ****, and then others are really nice. They are doing a few up at the moment..

mastermum12345
10-10-2008, 17:35
Hi there !!

Farrah > LOL No target country. Coles though - 7 days trading - Which is helpful. I do ALOT of online shopping. Or SADLY hit up the shops in HEDLAND :laughing: Where in central QLD are you living? I was born out that way :) Melo is right about the houses, There are some awful houses, and some really lovely ones. I went to a friends house the other day that has new everything in it, New kitchen, flooring and the likes - Its beautiful inside - So you could get lucky. We did, we have a pool !! :yes:

Rissa > Hope the housing gets sorted, and I hope the transit house is nice, Must not be to much longer now :)

Hiya to everyone else - Ive got to run - Kids feral, bloody school holidays. I also hear rain !! Woohoo its been very humid today

mummy2declan
11-10-2008, 18:27
hey all,

yes i've been up in tom price for nearly 2 weeks and got into out home and nearly all sorted out :)

hope everyone is going good and i can meet a few of you TP mums

Cate

farahandmatt
12-10-2008, 12:14
Hi Mastermum

Mastermum - We are in Moranbah- west of Mackay. Matt got his letter of offer this week so we are moving the beginning of Dec. Im really looking forward to it but am soo nervous on the houseing situation. we will just have to wait and see what we end up with and hope its not too bad!!! I already shop heaps online so that wont be a problem.

All- thanks for the replies, maybe may get to meet some of you when we get up there.
Farah x

imme
12-10-2008, 15:49
Hi there, looks like we will be moving to Karratha soonish. Just wondering how many other BH karratha Mums are out there?? I am a Mum to a 5year old daughter and a 8mth old son, hoping to make some friends over there as I will have no family and DP works long hours, but hoping to keep our family together.

Purpose Blessings
12-10-2008, 22:53

8 days now until we leave. Dh is in Sydney until saturday and the packers come monday. Its sort of weird to finally be happening. We've talked and planned for so long and now in 2 weeks I will be in Karratha (we are taking our time driving up).

I'm feeling sad to be leaving here. Wspecially my house as I really love it and don't know what I'm going to up there, but I trust that it will all work out wonderfully.

Hello to everyone, I hope you are all doing really well.

Purpose Blessings
28-10-2008, 11:06
Hi everyone, We are finally here in Karratha. We arrived a couple of days ago and are in temp housing until we find a good company house.

gtg as bub is crying...hope you are all well

studentmum
28-10-2008, 12:16
Hiya NW mummies!! :wave:

DH is a primary teacher and we are thinking of coming our bush next year.

We have DD 5 & 7 and DS due in Jan so what I want to know is where should we go?!?!?

I thought the best ppl to ask would be ppl with families then I saw your thread :yelclap: YAY!

Open to all suggestions and recommendations :yes:

Sarah :flowerz:

Wondermum
28-10-2008, 17:56
Hi everyone, We are finally here in Karratha. We arrived a couple of days ago and are in temp housing until we find a good company house.

Welcome to the Pilbara Rissa .... finaly here you made it! Hope you find a nice house and settle in well :)

Hiya NW mummies!!

DH is a primary teacher and we are thinking of coming our bush next year.

We have DD 5 & 7 and DS due in Jan so what I want to know is where should we go?!?!?

I thought the best ppl to ask would be ppl with families then I saw your thread :yelclap: YAY!

Open to all suggestions and recommendations :yes:

Sarah

Hi Sarah,

I have a 5 yr old, 2 yr old and another one due in approx 39 days! I would say Newman has a great primaray school but I'm a little biased :p

Scored our flights out of town when I leave to have bub with VirginBlue for just $9 each!!! :smiliedance: Woohoo!!!

How's everyone else? I seem to have caught a gastro/ flu bug from my boys who were ill for most of last week. Have been feeling so drained and achy.

It's been like a mini cyclone outside today... gail force winds and it had to happen on bin day!

mastermum12345
30-10-2008, 10:12
Hi All !!!

Studentmum > I would recommend the inland towns to teach at, Tom Price :D Parrabadoo, Newman. My Mum is a High School teacher in Port Hedland - I wont go into details, But *I* would not teach out there :( (Please Note - To the PH residents, Im not saying - Don't, Im saying *I* would not, Everyone is different)

Rissa > Welcome to the pilbara, How are you finding Karratha ???

Wondermum > I cant believe you only have 39 days left - That went so quickly :)

ME > Same old same old here. We have had a couple of coolish mornings out here (or maybe its the DLS :rolleyes:) . My eldest is on camp, comes back tomorrow, So Its been unbelievably quiet here. We went out to eagle rock falls last week-end (out near newman) What a fascinating place that is :)

Anywhos Hi to everyone !!!!

Melo
30-10-2008, 18:20

:smiliedance: Welcome to Karratha! How are you finding it so far?

I thought the best ppl to ask would be ppl with families then I saw your thread YAY!

Dampier or Karratha are great!

Scored our flights out of town when I leave to have bub with VirginBlue for just $9 each!!! :smiliedance: Woohoo!!!

I got $9 flights too!!!! We are heading down to Perth on the 1st of Dec for a few days. Last minute wedding stuff. Couldn't say no to such cheap flights.

Can't believe how fast your pregnancy is going Jess!!!

ME > Same old same old here. We have had a couple of coolish mornings out here (or maybe its the DLS )

I'm loving DLS! Go for a an eveing walk lately along the beach its great.

We had friends come out to Dampier last night, and they brought KFC :p. Not trying to rub it in or anything!! :laughing:

macknsethmum
03-11-2008, 15:32
Hi studentmum:wave:
I'm Nat and I live in Port Hedland. I like it the primary schools are good, not sure about the high school as my oldest is only 6, she goes to PH primary school. As far as I know the 4 PS in south Hedland are OK too.

Glad you made it safely to Karratha Rissa, we lived there for 10 months and liked it. We moved to Hedland in March for dh work.

Wow Mel and wondermum $9 flights!! you were lucky, they usually sell VERY QUICKLY. We get 2 free flights to Perth every year but havent used them yet. Will have to find something to do down there lol as family is in Vic

mastermum12345
29-11-2008, 19:00
WOW

Its been so quite in here !!!

How goes the christmas planning ???

Anyone doing anything interesting ????

Wondermum
14-12-2008, 16:12
Anyone doing anything interesting ????

I had my baby :D

Lachlan Xavier was born Joondalup Health Campus on 5 Dec 2008, 5:47pm, 8 lb 5oz, 53cm L, 35cm HC. We're all doing really well.

Here's a pic of my little man 3 days old (http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153/Jessath/LachlanXavierFenwick045.jpg)

PandP
14-12-2008, 17:05
:yelclap: Congrats WonderMum :yelclap:

He is very cute!! Hope it is all going ok and you get home soon!! :D

Melo
15-12-2008, 23:59
Welcome back Jess!!

Congratulations on the arrival of Lachlan Xavier! What a gorgeous name :). I checked out the photos on Facebook, he is absolutely GORGEOUS!! Making me clucky :o.

We are off to QLD next Tuesday (Not tomorrow! - I wish :p). For a whole 5 weeks!! Whooo :smiliedance:. The wedding is on the 10th of Jan, so not too long to go now. And then Matt and I are heading down to the Gold Coast for 6 days by our selves - Kid free!! I'm going to miss my babies like crazy.

Hope that you all have a very Merry Christmas, and a SAFE New Year :D

mastermum12345
17-12-2008, 13:28
Wondermum > Ohhhh Congratulations :) Such a beautiful baby.

Melo > Enjoy your holidays.

Merry X-Mas, Happy New Year to everyone :flowerz:

macknsethmum
20-05-2009, 19:10
Where is everyone? Nobody has posted in this thread all year:confused:
I have been checking in occasionally and there is never anything new:(
I Guess everybody is busy this year

mastermum12345
04-06-2009, 13:25
:laughing:Now dont freak out :laughing:

But

Here is a new post in the very quiet thread !!!!

macknsethmum > I have been busy, I went out and got myself a job (I know what was I thinking LOL)

I'm off to Perth on Monday !! WoooHooo

What is everyone up to ?

mummy2declan
24-06-2009, 21:05
Very Very quiet thread.

We still in Tom Price..

Got married in May & Am finally going back to work..found someone to look after declan. i need a lil me time.. 2-3 days a week shall be good :)

how is everyone else?

Wondermum
24-06-2009, 22:21
:wave: Hi everyone!

It sure has been quiet in here this year! Been a while since I last posted. We're all going really well. Loving the cooler weather :thumbsup: Had a dumping of rain here in Newman today. Don't get it often but when it rains it really does RAIN!! :rain:

M2D congrats on tying the knott and finding a job

MM congrats on gettin yourself a job too. Hope you're enjoying it!!

Thank you for your congrats on Lachie... almost 7mths later!!! Time just flies when they're babies! I've been enjoying every minute of it as he will most likely be my last baby... boohoo! He is just lovely :cloud9: Enjoying being a SAHM for now.

maiestro
01-08-2009, 11:40
Thought I'd drop in, DH has been working for BHP doing FIFO and this week we've been approved to go residential - woohoo! So now we will go on the waitlist and see how long it takes for us to get a house. I cannot wait. FIFO has been great, but I am so looking forward to living with my hubby again, and the kids miss him so much. Hopefully by christmas we'll be there!

mastermum12345
03-08-2009, 15:05
maiestro > How exciting going residential. Fingers crossed you get a fantastic house :)

Wondermum > 7 months already! Gosh that has gone quickly

mummy2declan > Congrates on getting married.

AFM > Nothing new really. Am hanging out for winter to be over, not a fan of the cold LOL

bourbon11646
15-03-2010, 14:29

Not sure if this is the right thread for me but here goes!

Im currently living in Perth and are doing ivf.
My DH and i are moving to Karratha any time from 4-6 months away!
Im a little nervous about how the ivf is going to go with having to do the whole country and travelling back and forth thing.
Has anyone else done ivf while living in Karratha?

I have been to K-Town once for a short visit and im looking forward to living there sometime this year, just hope i am UTD before i get there!

Will be nice to meet other BHers when i do the big move!

patsmum
09-07-2010, 01:20
hey bourbon... have you made it to karratha yet? we just moved here

Lashed
27-07-2010, 15:20
Hi Ladies, I am new to this!

Currently 13 weeks pregnant and living in Newman. I will be doing shared care with my doc in Perth and having the baby at Mercy.

Any other Newman ladies here?

katemw4
14-08-2010, 22:05
Hi guys, I'm a new member, I see there's been not much happening on this thread but just incase anyone checks that can help. I just want to know what everyone thinks of living in Newman, Tom Price or Paraburdoo? My husband works FIFO for BHP but it sucks to put it midly. We have 4 children ages 3, 10, 13 & 16. We just want to have our family back together.

Lashed
15-08-2010, 00:39
Hi Kate

My partner and I were in the same boat. He worked FIFO for BHP and it got too much. We wanted to be together. Especially since we were starting a family.

We have now been in Newman since April and I love it. It's beautiful weather all the time. Well apparently except for summer when it's scorching (high 40's).

Newman is a great town with good people and lots of families.

Any questions, feel free to ask

mastermum12345
27-10-2010, 16:53
Anyone from this thread still around??

missbrizz
01-11-2010, 11:23
Hi All, I am new to Tom Price and am really struggling to get out and find new friends. I am a quiet person until people get to know me and haven't had to do this before and is very nerve racking. Please help me someone. I live in area north and have three beautiful girls- Alysha (8), Olivia (6) and Emma (3). Been in Perth all my life and this is a massive move. :flowerz:

mastermum12345
01-11-2010, 19:00
Hi Missbrizz - I am a bit busy at the moment but will send you a PM. I am in Tom Price as well :) Have you done the playgroup rounds? I am about to do the playgroup thing (again, new baby) If its your kind of thing and you want to get out you are welcome to come along with me, anyway like I said bit busy (the joys of having 4 children) but will send you a PM.

mummy2declan
02-11-2010, 00:07
playgroup is really good :) There is one Tuesdays & Thursday mornings at Nintirri Centre in town.. its 9-11am :)

We havent been going lately as my lil man has been sick..but prob gunna go tomorrow morning :)

Hope to see you there.

mysticme
21-11-2010, 20:20
Hi All, I am new to Tom Price and am really struggling to get out and find new friends. I am a quiet person until people get to know me and haven't had to do this before and is very nerve racking. Please help me someone. I live in area north and have three beautiful girls- Alysha (8), Olivia (6) and Emma (3). Been in Perth all my life and this is a massive move. :flowerz:

Hi Missbrizz - I too have recently moved to Tom Price. We have been here about 6 months now!

Area North ? Is it Area W that you mean???

I ask as I am in Area W and our daughter goes to North Tom Price Primary. She is still in pre primary.

I hope you have settled in ok and are finding some others to get to know. Most of the people I have met are though school....

Let me know if you need someone to talk to...

poppet
06-04-2011, 14:09
Just wondering if there are any of you still about, we are moving to Newman in June and would be great to find out about the area

JHSN
03-05-2011, 17:58
Hi just wondering if there are any other mums in Hedland area been there nearly a year but am really struggling. I have a 3 year old boy and 22 month old daughter.

Ladybugz
02-08-2011, 16:16
Hi Girls!
just wondering if any one from Newman ? my little family is moving there in october and im excited and nervous at the same time. :) any replies or PM's will be greatly appreciated

susandixon88
08-09-2011, 20:09
I was wondering if someone can help (I am an extreme novice at this)

We are moving to Tom Price at the end of the year and I have various questions that I would like to ask a current resident.

1. Which Mobile/Telecommuncations company provides the best service?
2. Are their any play groups & if so are they for "any" age or are they age specific?
3. how difficult is it to buy nappies/formula (its my understanding that their is a Coles?)

I have heaps more to ask, but won't rattle them all off at once....

If anyone could help that would be great....

Many thanks
S

mastermum12345
16-11-2011, 14:19
1. Which Mobile/Telecommuncations company provides the best service?

Telstra - Its the only one that gets coverage out here.

2. Are their any play groups & if so are they for "any" age or are they age specific?

If you are on facebook search Nintirri - It runs a playgroup twice a week, also the Australian playgroup association runs one twice a week in area W at the civiv centre.

3. how difficult is it to buy nappies/formula (its my understanding that their is a Coles?)

Easy. Its a stock standard Coles. I breastfeed but there seems to be a good range of formula there - same with the nappies - Lots of babies out here so Coles keeps the stock up.

Hope you are still about to read that :) Best of luck with the move!!