View Full Version : Magic May Babies!!! #2

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

EmsMum72
14-12-2007, 05:07 PM
:flowerz:Here is a shiny, new, happy thread where we can all talk about our pregnancies and enjoy each others company. We are all on such a wonderful journey together so let's be supportive of each other! :yes: :shakehands:

rynosmum
14-12-2007, 05:15 PM
Great idea EmsMum!

Well, thank goodness it's Friday. Work hasn't had it's pre-Christmas slowdown today. It's just manic.

To top it off, my Dad is in Intensive Care tonight after surgery this morning. Hopefully he'll be back on the ward by Monday.

This whole fulltime work, mother of one and pregnant again thing is a bit tougher than I thought. We entertained all last weekend so I'm looking forward to a quieter time for the next couple of days.:yes:

My big scan is next Friday - a little nervewracking but bubba is still moving about wonderfully so hopefully all is good.:goodvibes::fingerscrossed:

EmsMum72
14-12-2007, 05:20 PM
Sorry to hear about your dad rynos, I hope he makes a speedy recovery!

I can only imagine how hard it must be working, mum of 1 with another on the way. I'm tired enough and I stay home, still busy tho!

It's very re-assuring when you can feel the baby, because then at least you have some idea of it being ok. I thought I felt the baby today, but was possibly imagining it. :confused: Goodluck with your scan on Friday, is that the 20 week one! Will you find out what you're having??

Kayangel
14-12-2007, 05:44 PM
Yay! A new thread!!! woohoo on our 2nd one.

rynosmum- Sorry to hear about ur dad. Are u going to find out what ur having?

Mel- I had flake tonight thanks to you saying it was safe :D it was so yummy!!

Me- Doctors on tuesday i cant wait! 1 week 6 days till my scan. Bubs has been kicking away so much today its wonderful to feel. Its so hot.

EmsMum72
14-12-2007, 06:07 PM
Mel- I had flake tonight thanks to you saying it was safe :D it was so yummy!! .

I had flake for dinner too :yes: so, so yummy!. I have been craving flake for weeks.

It is hot isn't it?? I'm going to plonk myself in front of the a/c when I've settled DD for the night!

Kayangel
14-12-2007, 06:17 PM
I had flake for dinner too :yes: so, so yummy!. I have been craving flake for weeks.

It is hot isn't it?? I'm going to plonk myself in front of the a/c when I've settled DD for the night!

:laughing: I have been craving it for weeks but thought it was a big :no::no: im was so gald when u said its ok once a fornight :goodvibes:

I have just put the air con on couldnt stand the heat any longer TMI im only wearing my under wear its that hot, i hope my brothers dont come home anytime soon :laughing:

Going to relax and watch a movie soon, im so tired the heat must be knocking me.

Kayangel
15-12-2007, 12:01 PM
Hey ladies :sunshine:
Whats everyone upto today???
Its cold wet and rainy in melbourne, its so nice!

MaddisonsMummy
15-12-2007, 12:15 PM
hello ladies, sorry ive been MIA again, christmas shopping sucks, i still have a few more pressies to get and im busy packing for our holiday, we leave on boxing day morning.

not alot to report, i was 17 weeks on wednesday, feeling bub kick more and more, i love it!

17 week belly pic:
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/17weeks.jpg

i got my nails done yesterday, they are very christmasy lol, im not sure if i like them, i miss my white tips, my next nail appt is on the 4th of jan.

nail pic:
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/xmasynails.jpg

tuesday is going to be a busy day! i have to be up early to go and meet with a friend and give her daughter her bday pressie from the other day, then i have my u/s at 2.20, then my midwife appt at 3.10, then once thats finished i have to rush back to my sisters place to do my nieces hair for her year 6 farewell all before 5.30!

will be sure to post back after i get home that day.

my groin/pubic bone has been absolutely killing me! i think i have SPD
http://www.bubhub.com.au/infopregnancycomplications.php#spd

i had it with maddy too, it got so bad that i could hardly walk, i had to sit on the edge of the bath and lift my legs over into the tub so i could get in the shower (with mum and chris helping me), i had to lay on my bed to get my undies/pants on... basically it just kills to lift your legs in anyway or to lift one leg and have all the weight on the other leg, especially trying to get into the car, that wasnt fun. it feels like i have a 20kg bowling ball sitting in my groin ready to fall out, thats how i felt when i was 35+ weeks with maddy, and im not even 18 weeks yet and i feel like this, omg!

anyways enough about my whinging, just thought id pop in and see how you all are. will try and be more active in this thread, will be so much better once xmas and new years have gone.

V8
15-12-2007, 12:51 PM
Hey All

Yay a fresh new thread!!

Emsmum - great idea! :yelclap: When you going to NZ again, will you be there for christmas?

Rynosmum - how is your Dad, i hope he is ok..... Goodluck for your big scan on Friday, mine is on Wednesday, but i haven't been feeling much movement, well not noticable enough anyways, so will be reassuring to have the scan.

Kaya - hope the weather is a bit cooler, we are having a pretty hot day here in QLD today too, not so nice at all!

Maddiesmum - Oh no, that sounds terrible the pain of SPD, i have a lots of aches and pains due to my hypermobility syndrome, but it isn't much worse since being pregnant, still pretty sucky though! lol Loved the pic of your tummy and your nails are so cute! Have fun on your holiday. :)

Here is a pic of my tummy at 19 weeks, well it was taken yesterday and technically i'm 19 weeks today! Woohoo! :smiliedance:

19 weeks (http://s95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/vee81/?action=view&current=DSC01652.jpg)

Definately a noticable change since my 8 week pic:

8 Week Pic (http://s95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/vee81/?action=view&current=2007-10-03001002.jpg)

Also just thought i'd put a pic of my cutie Joshy next to our christmas tree, i think i did a great job decorating it! lol

Chrissy tree with Joshy (http://s95.photobucket.com/albums/l132/vee81/?action=view&current=DSC01657.jpg)

So yeah only update from me is last night i was feeling so crappy, i was having aches and pains, hot and cold flushes, awful headache, i actually took some hot water with lemon and honey and i think it actually worked, i'm feeling fine today, well as fine as i normally feel (which is actually tired and really sore!) lol But yeah not like last night Phew!

PrincessJasmine
15-12-2007, 01:19 PM
rynosmum- Sorry to hear about your dad, hope he gets better soon.

Madisonsmummy- SPD doesn't sound very pleasant, does it affect how you give birth at all, like more pain?

Yay new thread! Number 3 now isn't it?

I'm happy today:D I had another weird dream lastnight. I dreamt I went to an op-shop and found a really good pram, exactly what I wanted but I had trouble getting it to fold. So this morning I decided it would be nice to go to the big Salvos store down the road, and guess what?
I bought myself a pram! DP also took about 10 minutes trying to work out how to fold it! I'm seriously having prophetic dreams lately, last week it was about the car.
Anyway it's a mothers choice 4 wheel pram, has a reversable handle and adjustable height. Plus a big basket down below. It will also fit a bassinette which I'm going to buy seperately. All it needs is a good clean with my mums steam cleaner and its perfect!:smiliedance:
All for the wonderful price of $40! :thumbsup:
I couldn't really justify spending $300 on a new pram, if we don't plan on having more kids (at least not for 5 years) then it would be sitting in the spare room gathering dust. By the next one I'd probably want a different pram anyway.

MaddisonsMummy
15-12-2007, 02:29 PM
when i was in labour i thought it went pretty good, i actually dont remember if affecting me through labour.

Kayangel
15-12-2007, 02:30 PM
MaddisonsMummy- I love ur bump! looking pregnant for sure!

Ur nails look great, i love them! wish mine looked liked that.

U sure do have a busy day on tuesday try not to over do it keep drinking and eating thoughout the day, let us no how ur scan goes and bring us pics to see :goodvibes: please!!

i really hope u dont get SPD again its sounds terrible, have u talked to your doctor about ur groin/pubic bone killing you? if u havent u should asap. Ill be thinking of you.

Where abouts r u going on Holidays??

V8- I hate hate hate the heat :sunshine: im loving today im actually cold its so nice to be cold!! I hope QLD get a cooler day soon.

I love the pic of joshy he is soooo cute! he has the nicest smile.

I love ur bump! I wish i looked pregnant like that.

Im gald u r feeling better today!

catalytic- Im so gald ur happy :D thats great to hear!!!

Sounds like u got a great deal on a pram! thats excellect lucky u. $40 bucks is alot better then $300 for sure and it has everything u need.

Is that the first thing u have brought??

Comes in handy that ur mum is a stream cleaner.

wow i cant belive ur dreams r coming true! thts amazing.

PrincessJasmine
15-12-2007, 03:03 PM
Well this is the first thing I bought. I found a bassinette/cradle that was being throw out for rubbish collection, nothing wrong with it. So getting the most expensive items out of the way allows me to go buy some things new. I'll probably spend the money I saved on a change table and some draws for DD.

Now I just have to dream about winning tattslotto :D

Kayangel
15-12-2007, 03:39 PM
catalytic: U seem to be doing pretty well for ur self! I have only got a cot and draws/changetable hopefully getting pram in jan. U r doing the right thing by keeping a eye open for things.

Can u please dream for me to win tattslotto aswell, i really need some money!

Lauren: Get ur butt in here and chat to us :ecomcity: please please please!!! or i will make u some how :confused: dunno how tho??

mummajugs
15-12-2007, 04:18 PM
hey everyone, just dropping in to say hello and see how everyone is going?

i have been very well. extremely hot today though. went for a swim in DP's pool. i think bub enjoyed it :D. well i hope so hehe. because i did!

Kayla- im here, never fear! :laughing:

that is all i have to say at the moment. :)

take care!

Kayangel
15-12-2007, 04:23 PM
Lauren: Bubba would have loved the swim, swimming is meant to be the best form of excise as it supports ur whole body!

I hope the heat doesnt come back to melbourne for a while, u can keep it :laughing:

Im gald u r hear, woohooo!!! dont stay away or ill have to fly to Sydney and .....

Have u got any names picked for ur bubba??
Do u live with ur DP??

mummajugs
15-12-2007, 04:46 PM
kayla- haha, no, you can have the heat back! its horrible. at the moment i dont live with DP, just trying to save more money before bubba comes! although im pretty much living at his parents house lol im here about 4 nights a week im here til monday as DP's car is broken. something happened to the radiator!
the only names we have picked out so far are:
Girl- hayley louise + tara louise
Boy- kalem anthony + kayle anthony, we also like zachary but it doesnt go with the middle name anthony.:no:

my friend who is 31 weeks pg at the moment went into hospital yesterday. she was having contractions. she said bubs beng naughty and wants to come out early :laughing:
but they are going to give here something(steroids i think) to keep bub in there for a while longer and shes bound to bed rest.
shes hating it :(

thats all for now!

Kayangel
15-12-2007, 04:56 PM
Lauren- Oh no ur poor friend, naughty bubs better stay in there longer aww poor thing having to stay in bed, not nice!

I Love the name Hayley!

I have Sienna Makayla picked for a girl im hoping people will stop picking Sienna :mad: thanks to Shannon noll there seems to be alot of Siennas popping up, its annoying!! :laughing:

and I have Kaidyn izac or Jaylen Izac picked for a boy!

I have to admit i do love living with my mum, its rent free woohoo i just have to cook all the meals which i dont mind and help with cleaning, if i was still with my bf i think i would still stay at home and he would just come ova here.

I hope ur DP's car gets fixed soon!

mummajugs
15-12-2007, 05:02 PM
Lauren- Oh no ur poor friend, naughty bubs better stay in there longer aww poor thing having to stay in bed, not nice!

I Love the name Hayley!

I have Sienna Makayla picked for a girl im hoping people will stop picking Sienna :mad: thanks to Shannon noll there seems to be alot of Siennas popping up, its annoying!! :laughing:

funny you say this because my friend is having a little girl and naming her sienna! haha!

Kayangel
15-12-2007, 05:28 PM
Everyone seems to be loving the name Sienna atm! but can u blame them?? its a lovely name.

Even if i have a boy this time down the track when i have a girl i will still use Sienna i love love love the name!

Kayangel
16-12-2007, 02:04 PM
Good Afternoon everyone :sunshine:

Whats everyone been doing today??

Very quiet in here!!

mummajugs
16-12-2007, 05:19 PM
hello everyone,

bit of a drab day in sydney today :rain:
been raining and has been very overcast, ive just being playing mario party on wii today :D
love it! nothing better to do, might go and play some pool with DP a little bit later.
im having chinese for dinner... is that bad? im a bit funny about it...
but i love satay chicken :D
please tell me its ok to eat!

take care everyone!

Kayangel
16-12-2007, 07:05 PM
Lauren- Sounds like u got Melbournes weather :laughing: I love the rain!!

chinese is fine to eat, i love chinese and i eat it quiet alot. Im not too careful with diet tho as if u really stick to all the :no::no: foods then there wouldnt be a whole let of yummy foods to eat but i do stick to the big no no foods like cold meats.

I love playing pool even tho im shocking lol, i cheat lol.

meegzz
17-12-2007, 10:51 AM
Ok well i just typed a massive thing for you girlies including personals but somehow i closed my screen instead of posting it aggghhh :hair:. haha ohwell!!!

I am not going to start again as it will make me mad but i hope everyone is well and all had good weekends!!!

What did yous get up to? Anything cool and exciting?

I watched my DP get so drunk on Saturday night and then i watched him pay for it yesterday sooooo funny i dragged him out to do the grocery shopping it was great!!! But then we had a lazy day so it was good!!!

meegzz
17-12-2007, 03:17 PM
Hi Girlies....

I just put a pic of the ultrasound up finally haha - i put it on my zoints profile as this is all i know how to do so you can all have a look on there...

Work is nearly over yeah yeah yeah.... sooooo quiet on here today!!!!

V8
17-12-2007, 03:38 PM
Hey Meegz - did you get your scan today? How was it?

meegzz
17-12-2007, 03:52 PM
Nah man i had my scan ages ago like 4 weeks ago... i will be 17 weeks this week! i just couldnt figure out how to add pics and so forth!!!

Gotta go works done here!!

Speak to you all tomorrow xoxoxox

PrincessJasmine
17-12-2007, 04:33 PM
:yelclap: I finally got my assignment sent off today. Now I just have to finnish the one thats due the end of this week.

How is everyone else?
I still have to get a referal for my next scan. Has everyone done their xmas shopping? I pick up DD lay-by next week. I wonder what I'm getting for xmas this year? I wanted a bread maker or a slow cooker, DP likes to get me jewlery but I don't wear it everyday, so I don't mind getting kitchen appliances that make my life easier.
A slowcooker would be good, as DP could put something togeter in the mornings before he goes to work so I don't have to worry about cooking when bubs comes along.

Kayangel
17-12-2007, 04:45 PM
Meegzz- Watching ur DP have a massive hang ova would have been funny! :laughing:

My weekend was pretty boring saturday was raining and cold so just got some dvds out and took my doggie for a swim at the pool, sunday went shopping.

I have had a look at ur scan already on ur myspace, i love it!!

How long r u off work for?? does that mean u cant talk to us :(

Talk to u 2morrow.

V8- :wave: Thinking of you, hope u r feeling better today.

catalytic- Good luck on ur assignments, i hope u get a good mark :fingerscrossed:

I Hope u get what ur hoping for, for chrissy! im not a jewlery person either just wear it when im going out.

I have finished my xmas shopping but i didnt have must to get only having a small xmas this year and doing a big one next year.

Me- I put my (travel system) pram $300 and capsule $260 on lay by today :smiliedance: and will be picking it up after xmas. Yay!

ummm feeling lots of kicks and off to doctors 2morrow.

Bel1978
17-12-2007, 07:23 PM

I Love the name Hayley!

and I have Kaidyn izac or Jaylen Izac picked for a boy!

I have to admit i do love living with my mum, its rent free woohoo i just have to cook all the meals which i dont mind and help with cleaning, if i was still with my bf i think i would still stay at home and he would just come ova here.

I hope ur DP's car gets fixed soon!

Sienna Miller started it.... My husband picked ours and its the only name i agreed with... We have Sienna Brooke

Kayangel
17-12-2007, 07:29 PM
:laughing: who is Sienna Miller?? i have never even heard of her :o:o:o

Everytime i tell someone the name they always guess its from shannon noll or other ladies i no who have a sienna have got it from shannon noll, his daughter was all over the mags when she was first born.

but im sure this sienna miller had something to do with it, off see if i can google her.

Kayangel
17-12-2007, 07:34 PM
Just did a google.

Sienna miller was born in 1981, the name wasnt a hit intill a year ago when Sienna Noll was born and made public everywhere.

Isaac's Mummy
17-12-2007, 08:00 PM
Sienna Miller is the chick that Jude Law had an affair with. That's where I first heard the name too Bel - and I agree - she's who made it popular. She was ALL over the news when it happened.

I really love the name Sienna - had it on my shortlist - but once Shannon Noll named his daughter that is was totally off my list. :no: :laughing: I don't like Shannon so much - I'm a Guy fan :D

:wave: by the way! Hope everyone is well. Not long until Christmas now....sooo exciting!

Kayangel
17-12-2007, 08:24 PM
i must not watch the news :laughing: that will be on my list of questions to ask ppl have u heard of Sienna miller? see how many :yes: and :no: i get.

I would say it would from abit of both because there would be some people like me who dont even no the chick.

mummajugs
17-12-2007, 08:48 PM
i must not watch the news,that will be on my list of questions to ask ppl have u heard of Sienna miller? see how many :yes: and :no: i get.

I would say it would from abit of both because there would be some people like me who dont even no the chick.

sienna miller is quite a popular lady, suprised you dont know who she is! :laughing:

well as i said a little while ago, im going to melbourne on boxing day, dad was going to drive, but now we are flying. he got cheap fares! i hate flying, my ears always go funny and stay that way for weeks. i hope bub can handle to flight too and doesnt make me too sick :D im sick at the best of times on planes not to mention what could happen while pregnant.

ive now got my morning (afternoon mainly) sickness back :no: and its horrible. really turning me off any food! i cant eat any red meat. only chicken. which i dont mind. i love chicken!
oh and DP's car is fixed, but the damn mechanic locked the keys in the car! IDIOT! lucky DP's sister has a friend who is a locksmith:D. so its all sorted!
well thats all i have to report today!
take care everyone!
and i hope everyones feeling better than i am!

Lauren

rynosmum
18-12-2007, 06:22 AM
Yep, Sienna Miller here too - I didn't even know that Shannon Noll had a Sienna? Not that I follow him I must admit :confused:

Cat, I hope you get the slow cooker. I've had one for about a year now and it's fantastic. I cooked a chicken curry yesterday which was great, just made up some rice and a salad when i got home. It is so easy and the meat always comes out so tender.:yes:

Good luck for the flight Mummajugs. That's a shame about the morning sickness coming back. What I can tolerate changes day to day. Sometimes it's all fruit, sometimes I need KFC chips:D

I finished most of my Christmas shopping in November but just finished wrapping it yesterday morning. We're off with friends for the weekend to the Sunshine Coast so won't have time when we get back. Then we have two family Christmas' to be at on Christmas day so plenty of cooking to do on Christmas eve :goodvibes:

How is everyone sleeping at the moment? For the past few days, I just can't get comfortable as my lower back and legs keep cramping. Once I get up, I'm fine but I can't sleep past about 5am. I went to acupuncture yesterday and they have referred me off to an osteopath - does anyone else have this? I don't remember getting it so early last time.

Thankfully work is slowing up a bit. I generally have plenty of client appointments but all I have today is a client lunch. That, I can handle :yes::yelclap:

Have a lovely day everyone!

Bel1978
18-12-2007, 08:33 AM
Sienna Miller is the chick that Jude Law had an affair with. That's where I first heard the name too Bel - and I agree - she's who made it popular. She was ALL over the news when it happened.

I really love the name Sienna - had it on my shortlist - but once Shannon Noll named his daughter that is was totally off my list. :no: :laughing: I don't like Shannon so much - I'm a Guy fan :D

:wave: by the way! Hope everyone is well. Not long until Christmas now....sooo exciting!

I didnt know that Shannon Noll even had a daughter..... The name that i am thinking of isnt used by any celeb that i know of...

My friend has a Keira... again Keira Knightly around the same time.... My DH picked it as its an Italian City (Siena) and Sienna spelt with a Double N is a colour.....

My SIL married an Italian so they all love it.. 2 of my Nephews are Alessandro and Leonardo... very Italian

Rynosmum- i dont sleep much with Sienna any way.. but when i was pregnant with her i got major cramps.. go to the chemist and get Magnesium and calcium tablets they help sooo much

V8
18-12-2007, 09:28 AM
Hey All

Been reading everyone's threads but haven't really been replying, it's going to be hard for me to reply as it hurts to sit at the computer and my fingers and wrists are starting to really hurt like it feels like arthritis (another joy of my condition), so yeah still in a sucky amount of pain here.

Rynosmum - i got my first cramp in my leg yesterday while sleeping, geez it hurt, lower back is also really sore! I haven't looked into an osteo, i mainly see chiro's, but i wonder if an osteo may help. Anything to ease this darn pain! I am also getting some magnesium powder from the health store today, will let you know if i get any improvements.

Catalytic - slow cooker would be great, anything practical i like as a present. :thumbsup:

I can't believe Christmas is next week, Dad came to visit last night and told me and i was like, what?? Next week!! OMG!! I had no idea, i am just living in a bubble!

Ok, better go have to take DH to the gym soon, little Josh is still asleep and i have to get organised.

Oh, and only one more day till my scan. :smiliedance:

Have a great day everyone!

Bel1978
18-12-2007, 11:51 AM
Good luck with your scan..

I have 1 next week and 1 the week after.... they will let me know for sure what we are having

Daviegirl
18-12-2007, 12:17 PM
Its great to hear how you are all doing with your pregnancies. This thread was such a great idea, I am new to Bubhub so what a great way to start!!!

This Xmas period is killing me!! I was due to have my scan to tell me the sex of the baby in the week of Christmas however the place shuts down for hols so I have to wait until early Jan and I am sooooo keen to know now!!!!

I am convinced I am having a boy but I know how those ideas turn out so I will wait for scan until I start buying the clothes. Does anyone else feel guilty for having a preference for the sex of their child? I feel evil but there are so many beautiful little girls around me that I am hoping for a boy to have a bit of diversity!

Hope you all stay well over christmas. The heartburn thing has started for me so I will try not consume too much over the festivities.:chef:

Bel1978
18-12-2007, 12:24 PM
What date is your baby due?

meegzz
18-12-2007, 01:09 PM
V8 - good luck with your scans tomorrow!!! It really sucks that you are in so much pain constantly... is it only when you are pregnant??? i really hope it is not somehting that will last forever for you!!!

Bel - How exciting you are hoping for a bioy right? Good luck!

Catalytic - Slow cooker is great i have one at home and i love it sooooo much!!! I even cook roasts in it and the meat is perfect everytime.... i cook shanks and soups and stews and everything you can even do casseroles - most meals really all you have to worry about is cooking some rice and veg or whatever?! But i highly reccommend it as they save a lot of time and effort i just prepare the night before and refrigerate it and then i turn it on in the morning and its done when i get home and its yummy as!!!!

Rynosmum - i also have 2 different dinners to go to!! Im not cooking anything (one good thing about still being classed a kid) I used to cook all the time when i was still living with the family though so i dont know why it has never been expected of me to turn up with somehting!!

V8 and Rynosmum - i think something was in the air last night or something as i woke up with a cramped leg and i couldnt move it it was horrible ,i never even get cramps so it was worse!

Kayla - i dont understand how you dont know who Sienna Miller is haha have you heard of Factory Girl?? its a movie and she is the main star and it was an adverts everywhere!!!
Truthfully i didnt know that Shannon Noll had a bubs Sienna either but the name has become very popular lately!!! Same with Rylee i really wanted to name a girl (if i had a girl) Rylee but that name has become really poular with both boys and girls lately so i will not use it . I want some different stuff DP really likes Tyren or Asher or Ash for a boy ( i like them too)the middle name for a a boy will be Edward - DP family tadition:crying: i hate it!!! I was hooked on Gracie-Lee for a girl but DP hates it he reckons it is too old fashioned!!! i love it still but we'll see we like Layla, Skylar and Ella there was another one which i forget i mustn't of liked it much haha the middle name will either be Louise or Lee for a girl!!!

Hows everybodies days going?? i am ok i am over work thank god i finish on Thursday at lunch woohoo!!! :smiliedance::goodvibes::smiliedance::goodvibes::s miliedance:

Kayla - i will check in and say hello but i wont be on much unless i get the net hooked up!! ( i might do that) But i will miss you all heaps xoxoxo

Mummajugs (lauren) - i hope your morning sickness stops again it will be no fun on a plane!!! I have never actually been on one haha

Love yas xoxox

meegzz
18-12-2007, 01:13 PM
Cdavidson - Congratulations and welcome to our thread!!! Hope you enjoy it cant wait to talk to yuu more!!!

Daviegirl
18-12-2007, 01:45 PM
What date is your baby due?
Hi Bel1978,
I am assuming you were asking me about my due date. Last OB appointment has me due 20/05/08 however each time I go this seems to change depending on how much the baby has developed since the last appointment. I wish we were just given the date and that was that, no wondering or going over, you just went into labour that day! Would that be nice, then I could plan my first glass of red wine post conception!!!

Daviegirl
18-12-2007, 01:47 PM
Cdavidson - Congratulations and welcome to our thread!!! Hope you enjoy it cant wait to talk to yuu more!!!
Thanks Megzz,

I'll be keeping an eye on the thread. Looking forward to posting gender news soon!

V8
18-12-2007, 02:11 PM
Welcome to the May babies thread Cdavidson. So you will be finding out. :) How exciting!! Is this your first bubs?

Meegz - sounds yummy the stuff you cook in the slowcooker, other than casseroles i wouldn't know what to do with one! lol Thanks for the goodluck with the scan, i've been so stressed lately i hope little bubs is ok. Also yeah the condition was brought on by DS's birth and has stayed with me since, and it won't get better. :( I just have to learn how to manage it.

Kayla - Thanks for thinking of me, you're so sweet.

Rynosmum - I got some magnesium powder, i took some before and i think it has helped a bit which is good.

I am in a foul mood though just spent about an hour on the phone in tears to someone about the financial management of my DH and apparantly i have done something wrong so need to discuss why i did it and then find a way to fix it. Soooo ridiculous and frustrating, i now have to get some sort of financial advice in order to see what i can do about it and it may end up costing me a small fortune, i have no idea yet, but i am friggin not happy!! This is me! :mad::mad::mad:

Ahhh, that was better getting that out! :geek: and another for good measure, except that is the ladies head not the computer!

mummajugs
18-12-2007, 02:23 PM
cdavidson- congrats on your pregnancy and welcome to our thread! :D

meegzz- trust me, planes arnt all they're cracked up to be! the have horrible food(always order the low fat food when you book your flight, it tastes so much better), it hurts your ears on decent/landing (if not the whole flight), they're so squishy (esspecially when your stuck between to fat sweaty men) and the only good thing is, they get you to your destination (although never on time).
haha! rant over :laughing::ecomcity:

well im off to start cooking dinner, rogan josh(indian) tonight, should be good! but prob not so good for my heartburn :laughing: ill let you know later how it turns out!
take care everyone

Bel1978
18-12-2007, 02:31 PM
Hi Bel1978,
I am assuming you were asking me about my due date. Last OB appointment has me due 20/05/08 however each time I go this seems to change depending on how much the baby has developed since the last appointment. I wish we were just given the date and that was that, no wondering or going over, you just went into labour that day! Would that be nice, then I could plan my first glass of red wine post conception!!!

Actually funny you say that.... mine works like that... as i get induced.. so with my baby this year in May i had to be at the hospital at 7am was induced at 8am in labour by 8.30am and Sienna was born at 4.30pm ...

This time i know walking helps the baby come out faster and not to sit down for so long as sienna's labour should have been less then 8 hours...

meegzz - im not fussed either way but my ob already thinks its a boy

Bel1978
18-12-2007, 02:34 PM
well im off to start cooking dinner, rogan josh(indian) tonight, should be good! but prob not so good for my heartburn :laughing: ill let you know later how it turns out!
take care everyone

People eat that to go into labour.. i thinks its funny my SIL loves it.. she always says what do people in India eat...

Just before she was due.. the guy at the indian restuarant asked her if she should be eating it... of course she said yes!

mummajugs
18-12-2007, 02:45 PM
People eat that to go into labour.. i thinks its funny my SIL loves it.. she always says what do people in India eat...

Just before she was due.. the guy at the indian restuarant asked her if she should be eating it... of course she said yes!

:laughing: i must keep that in mind :D might help things move faster if i end up going over due.
if i want to just get bub out, ill cook some the night before and eat it for breakfast lunch and dinner! haha

Bel1978
18-12-2007, 03:28 PM
I have 3 nephews so she knows alot of the tricks.... if you need them...

Kayangel
18-12-2007, 07:43 PM
Sounds like a who made Sienna popular debate in here :laughing::laughing::laughing: i belive that if this sienna miller chick so called made the name popular it would have been around for alot longer then 12 mths when 12mths ago shannon noll had a daughter wow what do u no? same time the name become popluar, maybe u guys dont no him aswell because u arent in melbourne??
Sorry for big vent just seems like everyone is jumping on me saying sienna miller, when i have never heard of her and neither has my mum sister or niece, i belive shannon noll made the name popular.

Not that i have to worry tho as i am having a boy!!! well i am pretty sure but wont no 100% till next week.

V8
18-12-2007, 08:43 PM
Yeah, doesn't really matter who made Sienna popular, it's still a nice name. :) BTW - The only Siennas i have heard of is online, never met any IRL so to me it's not that popular of a name. I hear more Gracies and Ellas and Maddison used to be a really popular one too. Girls names are so hard i reckon!

mummajugs
18-12-2007, 09:08 PM
well, my dinner was amazing. so yummy!!!!!

OH GUESS WHAT
im starting to feel bubs little flutters! well i think it is, im like 99.9% positive it is!
it feels like someone is tickling my insides with a feather!
it feels kinda funny, but amazing at the same time!

V8
18-12-2007, 09:14 PM
Yay for feeling movements! I am glad i felt a fair few movements from bubs today even though i have been majorly majorly stressed out!

Was your Rogan Josh noice? We had Domino's i was too p***** off and lazy to cook. Mum is staying over so she can watch Joshy tomorrow while DH and i go to the scan. Hope he is a good boy for grandma he usually is. Also he is sleeping in his own bed tonight, wonder how long that will last till he wakes up and comes into our bed! :)

Speaking of bed, i better have my shower and go to be myself! :) :sleeping: Night all!

Oh, will tell you about my scan tomorrow :D

mummajugs
18-12-2007, 11:24 PM
V8- the movements are awesome!
try not to stress hun, things will get better!
rogan josh was really yummy. i have a feeling that it was the reason i felt bub moved, was a little spicy. but i had no heartburn thankgosh!
im sure joshy will be an angel for grandma tomorrow! good luck for your scan! make sure you let us know how it goes!

im not very tired tonight. its 12.30am and i dont want to sleep though i know i should!

take care everyone!

rynosmum
19-12-2007, 06:11 AM
Sorry for big vent just seems like everyone is jumping on me saying sienna miller, when i have never heard of her and neither has my mum sister or niece, i belive shannon noll made the name popular.

Kayla, no one is jumping on you regarding the origin of the name. As Bel pointed out, the name has been around for a long time. It really doesn't matter. Let's be careful to keep on track as this type of debate is why the last thread was closed.

MJ, I'm making Rogan Josh for dinner tonight. I make it in the slow cooker then put it with a light salad, some rice, raita and dipping bread. Yummo...is it too early to be craving dinner?:D I still love curries but I'm just toning them down a little so they're not quite as fiesty:laughing:

V8 - Good luck for today!!! I have my fingers and toes crossed that everything goes perfectly. Mine is on Friday and I'm as nervous as anything already although none of us really have a reason to be worried. Thinking of you!

I'm sorry about your financial worry - the last thing you need at the moment. It's always the way isn't it?

Welcome CDavidson and congrats on the pregnancy! I'm not finding out the sex and one of the reasons is the preference you talked about. I'd love a girl but to be honest, if I end up delivering a little boy or a girl, I really won't mind which one it is. If I think about it too much early though, I might start to preference one or the other (if that makes sense):confused: and I don't think that's fair on the bubba. We've tried so hard to have this little one, I will be so happy regardless of the sex:yes: By the way, I have a 3.5 year old boy and he is wonderful:D

After a day of minimal movement yesterday by bubs (and kicking up a storm the day before), s/he is back with a vengence. I bought some maternity clothes yesterday - I'm running out of things to wear in public that cover my bump:o. I spent too much but got some lovely things and it will be a long summer so I'll get a heap of wear out of them. Room42 is having a sale where you buy 2 tops and get another one free. They also took 20% off some other items for me which was great.

Has anyone else seen some good specials?

I used a body pillow last night and no cramps! Unfortunately DS had a nightmare and woke up at 5am but at least the sleep was good.

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 07:30 AM
The unbelieveable happened.....

My husband went to check on sienna the other morning and what i was dredding had happened.. Sienna was wrapped and rolled on her tummy and was screaming.... so i decided to have words with her :yes: and i told her she was a big girl and could have a big girl pillow instead of a wrap...

Last night she slept all night... we didnt as i kept checking her to pull up the blanket etc.... but i will get used to it... she had her leg hanging out of the cot.. it was soo cute....

:yelclap:yay for all the movements!!!! keep them comming.....

The body pillows are awesome as i said Magnesium and Calcium tablets for cramps and lots of Milk...

Sienna is going to her 1st carols in the domain on saturday Yay.. no one else at playgroup said they would take their kids near it....

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 07:45 AM
V8- I cant wait to hear about ur scan, how exciting!

Lauren- Congrats for feeling movements arent they wonderful? mine seem to only come in the afternoon.

Question: whats everyones fundal height my bubbas was 21? is that big for 18 weeks?

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 07:52 AM
usually it tends to be what the baby is in weeks.. wouldnt worry too much though... as you get closer they will check

Fundal Height

What exactly is a fundus and how is fundal height measured? If you've heard these words during your pregnancy, you might have asked these questions. Fundal height is useful in assessing fetal growth and development. Too high of a measurement and you could be having twins (http://www.justmommies.com/articles/multiple_pregnancy.shtml) (or other fetal growth problems). Too low of a measurement and your baby could be having problems with fetal growth such as intrauterine growth restriction (IUGR).

Fundus is the medical term for the upper portion of the uterus between the fallopian tubes. Fundal height is measured using a tape measure and measuring from the top of your pubic bone to the top of your fundus. Fundal height is measured in centimeters and should closely match your baby's gestational age. So, for example, if you're 24 weeks pregnant, your fundal height should be 24 centimeters.
Fundal height can vary from person to person and it is not an exact measurement. As you approach late pregnancy, fundal height will become less accurate.
Please remember that fundal height is only one factor in assessing fetal development.

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 08:07 AM
Thanks bel. wow im alot ahead then, does that mean im gonna have a big bub??

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 09:28 AM
No No please dont worry when you get to a certain point you can ask to have an estimate of bubba any way... with sienna they said 7lb she was induced early and she was 6lb 5oz so they were right...

wait until say 28-32 weeks and check with your doc.. whens the next big scan that you will have around 30ish weeks????? they can tell you what they think then your bubba may slow down later any way as you have ages to go..

As long as your baby is healthy thats all that counts.... :ecomcity: im carrying on here... i know we havent been ontrack with some of our conversations so i dont want you to take what im saying the wrong way... as i said please dont worry your bubba will be perfect

My friend had a 11lb baby they estimated him to be 13lb so she had a c-section early and he was born 60cm...

MaddisonsMummy
19-12-2007, 11:01 AM
hello lovely may mummies!

sorry i didnt report earlier, been so buggered since yesterday.

well had my 18 week u/s yesterday (had to have it a bit earlier due to us going on holidays). bub is doing fine and is measuring what it should be for how far along i am. my dates are spot on and im still due the 21st of may.

im also 18 weeks today, it feels like its going really quick.

my next appt isnt until the 14th of feb, ill be 26+1, i have my 2 hour glucose test on that day at 8.30am, then my midwife appt at 1.30pm, thats going to be a huge day!
im hoping maddy is enrolled and in daycare by then coz she will go bonkers.

oh, im also proud to announce, i got to hear bubs heartbeat yesterday for the 1st time!

bub was in a very akward position, i couldnt even get a profile shot.

bub was wriggling around like crazy though, was so fun to watch.

stupid me was too caught up in the u/s i didnt ask what the heart rate was, when my midwife had a listen with the doppler she didnt say what it was, just that it sounded good.
my BP was also 94/60, its never been like that before.... my whole pregnancy with maddy it was 120/80, weird :|

i got a few u/s photos but they're really dark, i can hardly see them so my camera wont take pix of them :(

mummajugs
19-12-2007, 12:12 PM
rynosmum- rogan josh is sooo yummy, your allowed to crave it early if you want :laughing: i also make it in the slow cooker(pressure cooker) meat comes out sooo nice and tender then. i have mine with rice, papadums and cucumber salad(diced cucumber with natural yoghurt and dill) its really yummmmyyyy. i think with the next one i make ill be toning it down a little. :D

maddisonsmummy- good to see your u/s went really well and you saw lots of movement. it should say on your report sheet what bubs heartrate was.

well the movements are coming more frequent it feels funny, makes me squirm. :laughing: seems to be only when im sitting still, :) or when i lay on my tummy at night trying to get to sleep!

thats all i have
take care!

Daviegirl
19-12-2007, 12:21 PM

Thanks for your welcome, I really appreciate it. Its so nice to have people going through the same things with you at the same time!

Bel1978 - thats interesting about being induced, is this something you can ask for or is there a reason you are induced? I find this fascinating!! I have heard about the walking to get you through labour quicker, my girlfriend has 4 kids, the last one a few months ago and she said that walking works without fail everytime. As this is my first, I am a bit terrified about the pain factor although I wil be trying hypnobirthing as I would like to consider drug free option. I hate the idea of being paralysed through the whole thing and not being able to walk around afterwards.

Rynosmum - its interesting the reaction you get when you say you have a preference for gender. I am happy either way in the end but when I did mention my preference for a boy a few people look at you like you've just told them you've hit their car or something. For that reason I have decided to not mention it anymore even though I get asked all the time. Did you have a preference the first time round?

PrincessJasmine
19-12-2007, 01:07 PM
Pages to catch up on, sorry if I forget anyone.

Hi V8- That's good you can feel movements so many movements. I'm not feeling that many, mainly at night, but I keep forgetting I'm only 17 weeks tomorrow. I know the next couple of weeks things pick up. Sorry to hear about your troubles, hope you can sort it all out, and have a stress free xmas.
Hope your scan went well today!

Hi maddisons mummy- glad your scan went well. Did you find out what you're having, or were you keeping it secret? sorry I forget...

Welcome CDavidson:wave:
I really want a boy, so badly that I will be upset if I find out I'm having a girl. I feel guilty about it, but I'll still love the baby the same.

Bel1978- DD did the same thing the first night we gave her a pillow it was great! Glad you found a solution to the wrapping problem, hope it lasts for more than one night.:D

Now DP says he doesn't want to get me a slow cooker, everything else he has suggested I don't really want. Meh... kitchen appliances I always use, the only other thing I want is a Wii console. I told him to put that on layby for my Bday in March. I want something to do in those last few months of pregnancy when I'm too lazy to get off the couch. I figured I'll give the Wii to my sister when I get bored with it.

Did some quick shopping today, DD's great-grandad sent some money over and told us to buy her something. So DD got a Dora dress to wear on Xmas day, and a printed t-shirt that says "Life is full of sweet thing like me" and some short shorts.

I've got to try and write at last 400 words on what I've learnt so far about gendered identities. I'm having a complete mind blank. It's due on Friday and I'm having one of those days where I just want to sleep all day. I felt the same yesterday and ended up sleeping most of the afternoon. Oh no most of the day is gone now...

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 01:10 PM
Cdavidson - thats only if you have an epi which i didnt.. i had the gas and pethedine and i was fine.. as for being induced its a medical reason i cant carry full term or i could lose bubba......

The gas and Pethedine were perfect for me... and yes i wont be sitting down this time... i also heard the 2nd can be faster lets hope so.. sienna was only 8 hours but shorter is better and as for pain i hate pain too... I only wanted 1 baby as i was so scared of labour... I fell asleep for half of my labour any way.... im doing it again 12 months later believe me mine wasnt that bad at all.. and when you hold bubba you forget all about it...

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 01:11 PM
Thanks for the infomation bel, my sister keeps telling me im gonna have a big bubba :mad: like how would u no? i wouldnt care if i had a big bub just dont like her going on and on about it. lol.

My last scan will probley be 20 something weeks.

maddisons mummy- Gald ur scan went well.

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 01:46 PM
catalytic- essays are good when you use the internet :laughing:

Maddisonsmummy - so glad you got to see bubba

Mummajugs - i dont have heart beats on any of my reports.. but then again.. my Ob does 2 second scans then says every thing is ok.... i take his word for it..... My major 12, 20 & what ever he sends me for the last one show it....

V8
19-12-2007, 02:03 PM
Hey All

Well i had a great scan, the baby's heartbeat was 157bpm, the baby kept moving in the opposite direction every time the sonographer wanted a pic bubs would move! haha! Also measured spot on 19w4days.

Ok and so i know i wasn't going to find out. But the guy asked if we wanted to find out, i said, no don't really mind, but you can have a look and see if you know what it is. So he had a look and said 'yep i know what it is', i said, 'well don't say what it is, show me and i'll see if i can guess', so he showed me and i went 'yep i see'. It's a ......... isn't it? And he went yep! :) So yeah, i know what we are having now!

I'll tell ya's all another day! :raspberry: Hehe aren't i :devil:

I better go and check the prediction thread to see if i was right! LMAO!

PrincessJasmine
19-12-2007, 02:35 PM
I've been predicting that you'll have a boy V8. Congrats on either sex though!
I want to know so badly. You just reminded me I have to make an appointment to get my referral....3pm tommorrow. So I'll book my scan when I get home. I'm guessing the second week of Jan, which seems ages away!

Bel- I've got access to Griffith uni's databases and I still can't find any relevant information!. I'm really not good at researching. Especially when I get really obscure topics such as gender. This unit is strange, part of my assessment is taking family photo's.

I need a new pc, my video card is messed up. The screen is all yellow and keeps flickering. Does the same thing with every monitor I hook up. Does anyone have an LCD monitor?, are they any better for your eyes?
I've been using my stability ball as a computer chair, its the only thing that doesn't hurt my lower back.

Isaac's Mummy
19-12-2007, 02:50 PM
:yelclap: Vee - that's so exciting!! So glad that you got see your little bubba and that everything is healthy and measuring correctly - and that you found out what you were having. oooh - I do hope I can resist the urge when I'm in there for my scan:laughing: Hope that you're having a better day today :hugs:

Mummajugs and Rynosmum - all this talk about rogan josh in the slow cooker is making me hungry! I love my slow cooker - I got it for Christmas last year, and it's one of the best presents I ever got. Do you think you girls can share your recipes with me? I love trying news things and DH loves rogan josh.

Catalytic - maybe your DP will surprise you with a slow cooker and he's just pretending not to get you one?! I hope that you get something useful for Christmas - nothing worse than something that's nice, but that you're not going to use. I've asked for a steam mop or an overlocker this year - but seeing as DH hasn't bought me anything yet and what he was going to buy me on the weekend was sold out, I'm not holding out much hope :rolleyes: It's not important though - I just want to have a great day with the family - I don't really care what I get. Plus - my birthday's in January - so I'll just hit him up for something doubly good then!

Bel - that's to great that Sienna had a good night. A little bit scary though...hope tonight is another good one for you.

Cdavidson - welcome and congrats on your pregnancy. All the best with the hynobirthing - try not to worry yourself too much about labour - our bodies really are amazing things and are designed to go through childbirth. My first labour was completely drug free - and I loved every bit of it. People think I'm a bit crazy when I say that - but I really felt in control the whole time, and enjoyed the experience - even though it was slightly terrifying! It helped that it was only five hours long - makes for a more enjoyable experience than a 19 hour labour :D

Maddisonsmummy - so glad that you finally got to hear the heartbeat and see your little one. You've got a squirmer, hey?! Hope you're feeling okay.

Yay for everyone feeling bubs moving too. I've had nothing yet - but I'm not 17 weeks yet, and I didn't feel Isaac until about 22 weeks, so not too concerned. I'm definately getting bigger, so I know something's growing in there:laughing:

Hope everyone else I've forgotton to mention is doing well. So - does everyone have names picked out yet? And are we sharing or keeping them a secret?

meegzz
19-12-2007, 03:09 PM
Hi Isaacs mummy - Hope you are well... im really good i shared my names i think, i like Gracie Lee, Ella, Skylar and Layla for a girl and i like Ash, Asher and Tyren for a boy mine aren't secrets!!!!

I hope i can have drug free birth.... im pretty weak but haha:D

I havent felt much movement either i keep getting butterflies but i still dont know if its baby moving or not so you never know but we are the same (not quite 17 weeks) and as ive never felt it it may take me longer!!!

Catalytic - I hope he does get you a slow cooker they are the greatest inventions especially for busy mummies like you!!! He will be the one missing out!!!
My scan is booked in for the 12th Jan pretty excited especially coz its just before i return to work so i will have pics to show off haha.

Maddisons Mummy - Really happy for you!!!!

V8 - How exciting... when are you going to tell us haha umm i think girl have you got names picked oooohhhh how exciting!!! Soetimes it makes me feel like i wanna know - im gonna be good and hold off though!!!

Kayla - its probably too early to tell...At least its growing healthily! isnt it kind of meant to follow the mothers side??? How big were you??? (its probably an old wifes tale) But all i can say is if its true thank god as DP was just under 10 very stocky and came hurtling out very quickley ouch!!! i was 7 pound 3 i think mum said it was a great size not too big and not too small haha.

Muummajugs - Have you got a recipe for roganjosh at all???? I have no idea how to cook it but my DP loves Indian and he always wants takeaway but if i cancook it no need!!!

Hmm hows everybodies day been????

Mine good

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 03:18 PM
Hey All

Well i had a great scan, the baby's heartbeat was 157bpm, the baby kept moving in the opposite direction every time the sonographer wanted a pic bubs would move! haha! Also measured spot on 19w4days.

Ok and so i know i wasn't going to find out. But the guy asked if we wanted to find out, i said, no don't really mind, but you can have a look and see if you know what it is. So he had a look and said 'yep i know what it is', i said, 'well don't say what it is, show me and i'll see if i can guess', so he showed me and i went 'yep i see'. It's a ......... isn't it? And he went yep! :) So yeah, i know what we are having now!

I'll tell ya's all another day! :raspberry: Hehe aren't i :devil:

I better go and check the prediction thread to see if i was right! LMAO!

Haha in that case its a boy its quite clear at this stage to tell if its a boy.. if its a girl its not quite as obvious.. you need to look for 3 lines....

As for my day.. your probably wondering why i come on here so often.. My computer room and toy room is upstairs and when sienna has a nap i stay upstairs for about 20 or so mins at a time.. as i cant be bothered walking up the stairs again... to settle her.. so i sit on the computer chair.

V8
19-12-2007, 03:19 PM
Thanks Catalytic, Isaacsmummy and Meegz :D

Mummajugs was cluey and checked another thread where i spilled the beans. But i'll just tell you guys anyways as i'm so excited!!

I am having another BOY

As i said, i didn't purposelly find out, just wanted to see if i could make it out while looking in the right area, i have to say it was pretty darn obvious, lol! SO for those NOT wanting to know, don't even ask to know what you're looking at when they scan you! lol As with a boy yep you can see their bits quite clearly!

And yeah we have a name picked out, as i said in the gender prediction thread i thought i would be having a boy as that's the only sex i had a name for. So we have decided on Cameron Elliott. :smiliedance: I have told my twin sister and my best friend and they both think the name is great. I am so excited Joshy will have a little brother to play with. :)

I can't wait to find out what everyone else is having now! lol Oh and also equally stoked i don't actually have to go shopping! lol

Bel - you're a clever cookie for working that out ;) hehe

meegzz
19-12-2007, 03:25 PM
CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR BOY!!! WOOHOO :smiliedance:

How exciting!!!!!!! hehe you must be extra happy that there isnt too much shopping to do!!!

DP will not let me know but i have days where im happy not to know but then others like these when others are finding out that makes me want to know!!!! :D

Im sooooo happy for you!!!! Im really glad that your scan went so well!!!!!!

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 03:30 PM
Thats me clever cookie... girls are too hard to work out that quickly.. unless you are a professional...

Yay for the BOY

Nice Name

catalytic- I can do assignments hehehe

Gender identity

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia Gender identity (or core gender identity) is a person's own sense of identification (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Identification) as male (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Male) or female (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Female). The term is intended to distinguish this psychological (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychology) association, from physiological (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physiology) or sociological (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sociology) determinations of gender (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender).[1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_identity#_note-0) Gender identity was originally a medical term used to explain sex reassignment procedures to the public.[2] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_identity#_note-GID) The term is also found in psychology, often as core gender identity.[3] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_identity#_note-Psychoanalysis) Sociology (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sociology), gender studies (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_studies) and feminism (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feminism) are still inclined to refer to gender identity, gender role (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_role) and erotic preference (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sexual_preference) under the catch-all term gender.

Gender identity is affected by "genetic, prenatal hormonal, postnatal social, and postpubertal hormonal determinants."[4] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_identity#_note-1) Biological factors include the influence of testosterone (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Testosterone) and gene regulation in brain cells. Social factors are primarily based on the family (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Family), as gender identity is thought to be formed by the third year of life.[3] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_identity#_note-Psychoanalysis)
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diagnostic_and_Statistical_Manual_of_Mental_Disord ers) (302.85) has five criteria that must be met before a diagnosis of gender identity disorder (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_identity_disorder) (GID) can be made. "In gender identity disorder, there is discordancy between the natal sex of one's external genitalia and the brain coding of one's gender as masculine (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masculinity) or feminine (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Femininity)."[2] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_identity#_note-GID)

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 03:34 PM
V8- oh i didnt get to put in my guess :laughing: i was guessing boy, Congrats on another little boy woohoo how exciting. Joshy will love a little brother.

Meegzz- I was 7 pound 6 so wasnt a big baby my mum has never had big bubs one of my brothers were 5 pounds 4 thats at full term not even a perm he was tiny aww and my ex wasnt big born he was 8 something but he is a big soild guy now thats why my sister thinks ill have a big bub,

I think im having blue! but found out today my dad wants me to have a girl. Sorry dad lol but im so sure its a boy.

Isaac's Mummy :wave:

hey lauren, chatter box!

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 03:36 PM
Kayangel - size of the parents i dont think means too much these days...

I was 5.5lb and my Sister was 3.5lbs sienna was born 6lb5oz and my neice and nephew more then that again and as i said my sister was only 3.5lb

Just think small.....:yes:

By the way does any one have msn???

mummajugs
19-12-2007, 03:37 PM
well it seems everyone wants the recipe... well, ill tell you all a little secret- if you go into coles usually near the meat section or near the yoghurt there is a packet roghan josh- medium heat(i dont usually like packet stuff but its really nice) its made by 'the curry makers' it will be in like a clear and green packet!

i usually use about 750g of blade steak(it doesnt matter what meat you buy because in the slow cooker you cant tell the difference as its so tender. so you can get the cheap stuff.) i picked up a kg of it and it only cost $6.60 (oh and be sure to cut of any fat)

peel and cut up 4 medium size potatos into quaters and 2 carrots cut down the middle and into 4 bits.(peas optional) (nuke them in the microwave so they are only just cooked. usually 3-4 mins on high.)

cut a medium sized onion into 8s

brown off your meat in slow cooker, doesnt have to be cooked all the way through, add your onion cook until slightly softened add roghan josh packet and 2 small tubs of natural yoghurt.(dairy farmers is what i use not the light one though it tends to separate) put on the lid of your slow cooker cook on high until it starts to let off steam then turn it down to low for roughly 30-35mins. make sure all steam is out and then take lid off. add in your softened potatos and carots. simmer until majority of the liquid is gone.
serve with rice and a salad of your choice.
(i like to make a cucumber salad because it tames the heat)
half a large cucumber- pealed and diced
add 1 tub of natural yoghurt
1/2 teaspoon dried dill
salt and pepper to taste.
serves 4(depending on how hungry you are!:laughing:)

i hope you all understood that.
anything else you need to know just ask!

oh a question for you all- am i allowed to drink coffee? ive been avoiding it, but i really really want one! do i have to keep avoiding it? :p

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 03:41 PM
Yes you can drink coffee just not too much as i said at the begining ages ago.. sienna ended up in emergency when she was 1 week old and her paed asked how much caffine i drunk as he was going to put it down to caffine withdrawals i checked with my Ob about the amount of coke as Sienna's GP had never heard of this... My Ob said its fine as long as i cut down....

Mine you i was drinking a 2 litre bottle of coke a day at one point...:laughing:

As i said people eat roghan josh to go into labour.. so yes coffee is fine.. how much do you drink???????? thats the main question

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 03:42 PM
Lauren- I think u should keep away from coffee and coke.

The recipe sounds yummy! might have to make that up.

Bel- I didnt think it meant anything wheneva my sister tells me im having a big bub i just think to myself how do u no? she might same it cause her daughter is so little that i will have a bigger baby then her.

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 03:45 PM
Guys your stuck with me until... grumpy goes to sleep as i cant be bothered walking downstairs i need a lift!

Kayangel - how big was her baby????

meegzz
19-12-2007, 03:47 PM
Bel - Your sister was tiny wow!!!!!

Kayla - I have a fear of bubs being big haha but i think i should be all good!!!! I think you will be fine too we are girls and we were built for it anyway as scary as it is!!!

Mummajugs - i drink coffee everyday and my bubs is fine i didnt know i had to watch it heaps... i knew i had to cut down as office jobs usually means a lot of coffee haha i think its in the job description!!
But i just got told to cut it down a bit and i never really thaought about it i hope its ok!!!

I actually had a V the other day as i was craving one so i drank it... afterwards it says not suitable for pregnant or breastfeeding women oops i hope that that 1 didnt cause any troubles i still feel fine and i had my doc appointment after that and the heartbeat was all good so i guess it was ok.... silly me though i hadnt even thought of the gurana in it.... i wont drink it again until after i stop feeding although it is my favourite thing ever!!!!

Thanks for the recipe!!!!

Much love to ya all speak tomorrow xoxoxoxoxxo:hugs:

mummajugs
19-12-2007, 03:51 PM
V8- i was cheeky :D i couldnt help myself because i knew you had posted in the gender prediction thread not so long ago!
so ill say a big congrats here.
cameron elliot is a beautiful name! i love the name. im excited for you!

bel- 2ltrs a day! wow! i used to be like that but now ive cut down to about 2 cans a week. its hard giving up totally! im going to go make a coffee! :D

kayla-im not a chatter box, just in a good mood the las few days. m/s hasnt been so bad and its great. oh i founf out one of my good friends is due in june! so excited! shes wonderful. she lives in tweed head though like ages away. but all her family live in sydney near me. so she is thinking of moving back down here. :D

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 03:53 PM
Bel- my niece is pregnant 3 weeks behide me and she is really short and also her bf is tiny nothing of him, where i am tall 5'7 not fat tho and wouldnt say im not a normal height.

ur sister was ting omg! was she full term?

Meegzz- I have heard having bug bubs can actually help the labour along as big bubs can push down more then little bubs but i think im having a normal sized bub even if i had a 8 or 9 pound bub it wouldnt worry me i wouldnt love him or her any less.

Lauren- That is great news about ur friend, congrats to her! aww not fair behide, how lovely. I hope she moves back down to sydney that would be fun for u and her and ur bubs could grow up together play togerther it would be wicked. Im gald ur in a good mood, so u should be!

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 03:55 PM
My sister was in hospital for about 6 months no she was 3 months early and from what i have been told.. my mum had to make her clothes as they couldnt get any small enough...... and her kids were 7lb or so i think....

I was full term at 5.5lbs.

My Ob thinks my mum may have had the same blood condition...

These days they have premie nappies in hospital i hadnt seen them until sienna was in emergency they were so tiny..

Im editing this to protest!!!!!!!!!!!!! joking.. kayangel you stalker i just noticed you joined my other webpage..... haha

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 04:13 PM
Bel- wat other web page?? where?? when?? i honestly dunno wat u mean.

I thought ur sis must have been a prem! her kids are good sized bubs.

u were small same size as my brother.

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 04:15 PM
Did a certain person recently join mums meeting????? i left you a message

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 04:16 PM
sorry bel i do no what ur talking about just got ur pm, i didnt even no u were on that site my sister is one of the moderators on there so i joined.

mummajugs
19-12-2007, 04:22 PM
meegzz- no problem at all! my pleasure im glad you asked while i was in the mood to write it all :D. i have been staying away from all energy drinks and such. just been sticking to lots of juice, water and occasionally coke! i still drink other softdrinks too! not too much though.

kayla- yeah its great. i hope she does too! oh my mood, i dnt know why im like this hey.

am i allowed to eat ham straight off the bone? my step mum just came home with a big christmas ham, and i want some for dinner. is this ok?
does anyone have myspace? if so... let me know!

cindye
19-12-2007, 04:26 PM
Hey girls- sounds like everyone is in fine spirits! Only 6 more sleeps until Santa comes!!!:xmas:

I have to admit that I had a big coke fix on Saturday - we had fish and chips for lunch and i think i had close to a litre of coke. On sunday, the bub wasn't moving quite as much as usual and DH said she probably needs her caffeine / sugar fix to get going in the morning!:laughing: The midwife at our early pregnancy class said that up to 2 cups of instant coffee is fine a day and coke has way less caffeine than that so i'm not going to feel bad about it. It's not like i have coke everyday...

Had another OB appointment yesterday and heard the heartbeat for the first time. Because my OB has an ultrasound in her office, we've had scans at our previous appointments to check the heartbeat. It's so lovely to be able to hear it. She also had a quick look with the ultrasound to double check bub is a girl. (We got a 90% certain at our 18week scan) and once again, our little one was being very modest and keeping her legs tightly closed. But our OB said she's 95% sure it's a girl.

Also, our 18 week scan showed that my placenta was low-lying, which means another scan at 34 weeks to check it's moved high enough up. Otherwise it's a caesarian for me!:hissy:

Ok - as far as names go, DH and I are pretty set. We LOVE Isabella Violet (Violet was my grandmother's name), and then in the sunday paper, they printed a list of the most popular names for 2007, and you guessed it - Isabella was top of the girl's list. Do we need to rethink? Need some advice, my friends...

mummajugs - thanks for the recipe. I've got a slow cooker and have only used it a few times because i don't know what to cook in it. I've done silverside, a lemon and oregano chicken and a beef in red wine. Thanks for the inspiration - i think next winter it will be getting a work-out.

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 04:27 PM
About to add you.. but one of the rules is no advertising other webpages i would remove it as i have had a warning about putting a link to a webpage before

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 04:30 PM
adding u now.

PrincessJasmine
19-12-2007, 04:31 PM
catalytic- I can do assignments hehehe

LOL come write it for me! I found that too, but we're meant to talk about how gendered identities are represented in popular media. I have use quotes from some of the readings I've got in my book.

well it seems everyone wants the recipe... well, ill tell you all a little secret- if you go into coles usually near the meat section or near the yoghurt there is a packet roghan josh- medium heat(i dont usually like packet stuff but its really nice) its made by 'the curry makers' it will be in like a clear and green packet!

I know the one you mean, we get that all the time too. I have a recipe for it from a Madhur Jaffrey cookbook, happy to scan and email if anyone wants it.

That's great Vee, and a great name too!

Just got a call from a friend I barely see these days, I feel guilty now, it was her birthday the other day and I forgot.

mummajugs
19-12-2007, 04:32 PM
bel- thanx for that. i didnt realise that that was a form of advertising :confused: fixed!

cindye- its no prob, honestly you can cook anything in a slow cooker! they are very versitile. anything from a roast to a stroganoff to a stew. they are awesome!

V8
19-12-2007, 04:34 PM
Ohhh Cindye i love the name Isabella Violet, but i also just really love Violet. :D

I have tried to avoid coke this pregnancy and most bad foods, when i was pregnant with Josh i ate so much **** as i was staying with friends for the most part and visiting DH in hospital, so it was either takeaway or hospital food for the first half of my pregnancy, oh and i ate a lot of Krispy kremes and hot chocolates! lol

Glad i don't drink coffee or i'd have to try and avoid that too.

cindye
19-12-2007, 04:36 PM
Mmmm... Krispy Kreme!!! You should know better than to mention them to easily suggestible pregnant women V8!

Might have to go for a drive....

cindye
19-12-2007, 04:39 PM
Oh, and mummajugs - sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but ham is definitely on the no-no list! :no:

What are we all going to be eating this Christmas?!!!:confused:

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 04:40 PM
catalytic-

BOOK] Media, Gender and Identity: An Introduction (http://books.google.com/books?hl=en&lr=&id=Vhc60-bJGQsC&oi=fnd&pg=PA1&dq=gender+identities+represented+in+popular+media&ots=TfFs-9HF39&sig=DWSbGcCfCtIoZTaFjAMt19bqL_g) - all 5 versions » (http://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&lr=&cluster=5673517749777792830)
D Gauntlett - 2002 - books.google.com

Search this its a whole book printed online...

Good night all.. not only did i get any thing done because i couldnt be bothered walking downstairs.. sienna is awake now.. so its bath, dinner and bottle then bed time and i havent made dinner for my husband opps :geek: i wasnt here you didnt see me....

Kayangel
19-12-2007, 04:40 PM
I love donut king!! better then Krispy Kreme!! yum yum yum

V8- forget to add love the name u picked.

cindye- Love the name u have picked too very nice!

Bel1978
19-12-2007, 04:41 PM
Mmmm... Krispy Kreme!!! You should know better than to mention them to easily suggestible pregnant women V8!

Might have to go for a drive....

I have a 2 for 1 card at KK's..

As for xmas Turkey, Ham, Chicken lots more ham and ham did i mention i love ham...... cake.... and all the added extras

mummajugs
19-12-2007, 04:45 PM
what if i cook the ham? if i glaze it and cook it? it should get rid of any bacteria right?

please tell me yes! theres no such thing as christmas without a christmas ham!!!!!!!!
ahhhhhhhhhhhh im going to go insane!

V8
19-12-2007, 04:50 PM
Sorry for mentioning KK! lol They are nice though! And yeah actually Kayla donut king has gotten heaps nicer, i haven't bought anything of late, but it does look lovely!

Bel - i didn't see you here! lol Better go and make some dinner for your DH! lol

Mummajugs - hmm not to sure on the ham at all? I would have thought it was ok if it was cooked, but i don't eat that so haven't found out. It sounds yummy though!

I am cooking boring sausages and vegies for dinner tonight! lol

mummajugs
19-12-2007, 04:54 PM
v8- i think im going to ring my hospy ad talk to a midwife about it.. i shall let you know how it goes later tonight!

take care till then.

V8
19-12-2007, 05:03 PM
v8- i think im going to ring my hospy ad talk to a midwife about it.. i shall let you know how it goes later tonight!

take care till then.

Cool, hope it's ok to eat. :)

PrincessJasmine
19-12-2007, 05:57 PM
Search this its a whole book printed online...

Thanks Bel I'll check it out.

As for ham, I've been eating it all along, and I did through my last pregnancy as well. You'd think ham off the bone would be better anyway as you are cutting it and storing it yourself. I stay away from deli meat unless it is fresh cut.
I think its the same as the coke in small quatities its ok. Who knows, to be honest I don't want to know as ham is all I eat in sandwhiches.

Here's the recipe I use for Rogan Josh, I put it all together then transfer it to the slow cooker ( I have one its just really small and old. I think it was my grandmothers)

Ingredients:
5cm piece of fresh ginger, chopped
7 Garlic cloves, chopped
6 tablespoons of olive oil
10 Cardamom pods
2 Bay leaves
2.5cm piece of cinnamon stick
900g of boneless lamb (from the shoulder is best) cut into cubes
200g onions finely chopped
2 teaspoons ground cumin
2 teaspoons ground coriander
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 1/2 tablespoons sweet paprika
2 teaspoons tomato puree (paste is fine too)
1 1/4 teaspoons of salt
300ml of water

Method
1. Put ginger in garlic in food processor and add 4 tablespoons of water to make a paste. Put the oil in a wide pan medium heat. When its hot put in the cardamom pods, bay leaves and cinnamon stick. Quickly put in the lam pieces only as many as will fit in a single layer, brown on all sides. Remove the meat
2. Add the onions to the oil left in the pan, cook until they brown at the edges. Add the paste from the blender and stir for 30 seconds. Then add the coriander, cumin, cayenne and paprika stir once then add the tomato puree. Stir for 10 seconds.
3. Ad the meat and any whole spices still clinging to it, plus the salt and water. Cover and simmer for an hour or until the meat is tender. (this is when I put it in the slow cooker)

Enjoy! I'm having tuna and tomato pasta bake tonight.

rynosmum
19-12-2007, 06:05 PM
I hate the idea of being paralysed through the whole thing and not being able to walk around afterwards.

I had a relatively good labour - about 5 hours of active labour but at the end, needed the venthouse to bring bubba out because he wasn't engaged (although I was already 10 cms). I did ask for an epi then, had it for about an hour and then had it turned off after delivery. After they had 'stitched everything back up:o', I could get up and walk around perfectly as the epi had already worn off. It was lovely as I could go and have a shower etc.

Did you have a preference the first time round? No, not really. We both referred to bubs as a boy but secretly both thought we were having a girl. It's only the amazing, incredulous and extremely proud Dad yelling out 'Honey, it's a BOY!' when he was born which told us what he was. Needless to say, he remained unnamed for a couple of days, but is, as he was then, such a perfect addition to our family.

i have mine with rice, papadums and cucumber salad(diced cucumber with natural yoghurt and dill) its really yummmmyyyy.That's funny, I just stopped by the shop on the way home to get some papadums and fruit chutney to have with it. I've already made the raita dip (cucumber and yoghurt and mint) and will do the rice when DH gets
home:chef:

V8, Congratulations on the perfect scan!! I hope mine goes as well on Friday!. Congrats on another gorgeous boy too:thumbsup:
Hey All

oh a question for you all- am i allowed to drink coffee? ive been avoiding it, but i really really want one! do i have to keep avoiding it?

Try to avoid shop-bought brewed coffees as they are full of caffeine although 1 or 2 instants aren't too bad. If you are at a cafe though, decaf is always a good optioin. I have moved from coffee's altogether but still do have a bit of a Coke craving every little while as well...sometimes I just hafta' have it!

I have a 2 for 1 card at KK's..

See, now that's just nasty:laughing: I love KK's but we don't have them here - I have to bring back a box every time I go to Sydney. We do have Dreamy Donuts though which are similar but are filled with gourmet ingredients or covered in Lindt chocolate etc. I get Donut King for DS but I'm a KK convert.

what if i cook the ham? if i glaze it and cook it? it should get rid of any bacteria right?

please tell me yes! theres no such thing as christmas without a christmas ham!!!!!!!!
ahhhhhhhhhhhh im going to go insane!
If you cook it and eat it whilst it's hot you should be fine. I bought a little ham but then wondered the same thing. It'll be a no-ham Christmas, with no-rum rumballs :laughing:

Pixie
19-12-2007, 06:11 PM
Oh congrats Vee.....How exciting!!! People are going to have to lock up their daughters!

mummajugs
19-12-2007, 06:46 PM
ok everyone... here is the verdict on the ham dilema!

YOU CAN EAT CHRISTMAS HAM!!!!!!!!

my midwife has said that it is fine to eat as long as it has been smoked or cooked in an oven above 100 degrees celcius! to kill off any bacteria! if its not been baked or smoked you can have it on like a toasted sandwich or in your cooking. but if it hasnt been cooked in anyway... avoid it.
i want to make a pea and ham soup when im done with the bone.... anyone have a recipe?:D mums is too complicated!

im so excited about being able to eat ham!

mummajugs
19-12-2007, 06:52 PM
If you cook it and eat it whilst it's hot you should be fine. I bought a little ham but then wondered the same thing. It'll be a no-ham Christmas, with no-rum rumballs :laughing:

well good news is you can have your little ham... as for the rumballs... we are all in the same boat. i made rumballs last christmas. my aunt asked me to make them this year... and i had to say 'im sorry i cant' because i wouldve been too tempted to eat them and its just unfair on me and bubs haha! i think she understood why i said i couldnt though, she knows how much i love them
HAHA:D

Bel1978
20-12-2007, 08:19 AM
I love my christmas ham im not missing out... ham and cheese toasted, ham on its own.. pea and ham soup... xmas ham yum

I eat it not cooked any way no way im missing out on xmas ham.. Ive been pregnant since Nov 2005 think of all the ham i would have missed...

mummajugs
20-12-2007, 08:26 AM
goodmorning everyone,

sorry to have to start the morning with a bit of a whinge. but i need to let it out. im a little upset this morning after recieving a text that woke me up from my best friend this morning who is 31weeks pg saying that she was in prem labour and bub is very distressed, something is also wrong with bub and she will need immediate surgery as soon as shes bought into the world!:crying:
its so upsetting because you never think that it would happen to someone so close to you. ive known her since as long as i can remember(3yrs old i think).
its so heartbreaking, please keep her and her bub in your prayers!
so if im a little quiet today, you know why! pm me if you want to talk and i dont reply on the thread!

take care everyone!
:(

meegzz
20-12-2007, 09:00 AM
Ok Girlies....

Im going on holidays soon at like 12pm to be exact... well not away but off work for 3 weeks :yelclap: im very excited... but im going to miss you as i wont be on very often i will pop in every chance i get so make sure you leave me some love!!!

I hope you all have wonderful christmases and i hope santa brings you all you want/need!!! I hope you have great new years and i hope that you all be safe and your pregnancies thrive haha. And if you go on holidays i hope you all have a great time and come back with a nice tan!

For everyone who has ultrasounds i hope all news is good!!!!!

Well guys love yous heaps cant wait to eat ham and turkey and some potato salad haha its my fav my mummy makes it!!!

Love you all a heap have fun

Mwah xoxxoxoxoxo

mummajugs
20-12-2007, 09:11 AM
Have fun on your holiday meegzz!
dont eat too much over christmas :D

take care!

Bel1978
20-12-2007, 09:36 AM
Meegs- have fun.. oh we are going away in Jan how will i cope!! oh i know my husband has a laptop and mobile internet connection.. smart thinking 99

Oh mummajugs thats so terrible... at 31 weeks they have a better chance of survival... what hospital?? do they have a good NIC unit??

Can i just say...................

Kayangel - i know we havent gotten along as well as we should have in the past and i know our comments clashed!

But guys i had no idea i knew her sister they are the nicest family and after getting to know Kayla a little better i know we are just as stubborn as each other and have strong oppinions... (thats why we clashed) but you are the nicest person!

Merry Christmas sweetie and i hope you and your sister have a great xmas....

By the way guys i know this as she was stalking me!!! jokes kayla is on another page i go to as her sister is the Mod....

Isaac's Mummy
20-12-2007, 10:22 AM
Have a great holiday Meegzz - I hope you really enjoy your time away from work. It's nice just to have a break, even if you don't go away. I hope you get to sleep in lots, eat lots of food, and have the time to buy lots of baby stuff :D Have a wonderful, safe Christmas.

Oh Lauren :hugs: to you sweetie. I hope your friend and her precious little bubba are okay. Bel's right - while 31 weeks isn't ideal, their chances are greatly improved. And thankfully the doctors, etc, know of her condition and know she needs to be treated straight away so they are prepared for it. I'll keep them both in my prayers. Try not to worry too much though, it's important for you to look after yourself and your bubba too.

Vee - congratulations on another little boy! How exciting. And I absolutely love the name you have picked out for him. We're having so much trouble trying to come up with a boy's name we agree with this time around :hair: Still, plenty of time to find one we're both happy with I guess!

catalytic - thanks for your rogan josh recipe. I'll be trying it out once we get back from Christmas - DH will be rapt!

cindye - I love, love, love the name Isabella:D We had Isabella Cate picked out for a girl if that's what we're having this time around. Then I saw the article in the weekend's paper too - and now we're so upset. We so love the name, but don't want our little girl to have three other girls in her class with the same name as her :crying: So I don't know what we're going to do if it's a girl. It's a name we're both really, really happy with, so AARRRGHHHHH!!!!!

Bel - how did Sienna go last night? Hope you got some sleep as well! That's the trouble when they start sleeping through - isn't it, you stay awake waiting for them to wake up! Hope she had a good night for you. And I don't believe you're stubborn at all :laughing:

All this talk about ham has me wanting it for lunch now....off to make myself a ham sandwich. Yum! I can't wait until Christmas!!!!

Oh - does anyone know - are prawns okay if they're cooked? I don't know if we're having them this year - probably not as I'm pregnant and the family is good like that - but if we do and they're cooked on the bbq is that okay?

amandaw
20-12-2007, 10:36 AM
Gone for 2 weeks and nobody misses me :(:laughing:
All now in our house...not totally unpacked but it's certainly habitable! So nice to actually have the extra room....is amazing that it all used to fit into our old house!!...come back to me in a minute

I can't believe Christmas is next week, Dad came to visit last night and told me and i was like, what?? Next week!! OMG!! I had no idea, i am just living in a bubble!

This was soooo me - Went to Chermside yesterday and managed to do all of my christmas shopping in one hit (I never do that!! I'm usually the buy through Nov/Dec type, but have just been preoccupied elsewhere this year)...now I just need to find the 2 presents I had prior to moving....put them into a box that I was SURE would be unpacked first, but haven't found them yet!!

... i also heard the 2nd can be faster lets hope so.. sienna was only 8 hours but shorter is better and as for pain i hate pain too...
Yep - this has me worried too...Charlotte arrived just and hour and a half after my water broke (I was already at the hospital...thank goodness...would have hated to be dealing with that mess at home :p ...this time we live about 45 mins away from the Wesley, and it might not decide to arrive so conveniently (last time was a Sat...Ekka week, so DH had a student Free Day and Public Holiday so plenty of time to spend with me before his leave started)...just hope we get there!!

IsaacsMum- This is starting to get spooky...we will both have Aug06 and May08 bubs and I was born in January too!! What date's your birthday???

they printed a list of the most popular names for 2007, and you guessed it - Isabella was top of the girl's list. Do we need to rethink? Need some advice, my friends...

You're the one who has to love it...and they won't necessarily have anyone near them the same name! I had this issue with 'Charlotte' as one of the teachers in my staffroom also has a Charlotte, but it is all good...had to be talked around a bit by DH though

It's only the amazing, incredulous and extremely proud Dad yelling out 'Honey, it's a BOY!' when he was born which told us what he was. Needless to say, he remained unnamed for a couple of days, but is, as he was then, such a perfect addition to our family.

i didn't even remember to ask for about 5 mins last time...just too amazed at the whole process. C was unnamed too for 4 days as w etried to settle on one...it's funny because Mum jumped the gun and let a few people know that we were looking at Chelsea (with Alyce/Elise the middle name) and so Charlotte has a couple of welcome to the world cards with Chelsea Elise on them...totall wrong ...we'll have some explaining to do when she's older:D

How's your dad going??

Mummajugs - thinking of your friend today!! Just think that at least in this day and age there is lots of technology to support her and I have everything crossed for her. My Dh's cousin didn't make it to our wedding because of a premature water breakage....at 31 weeks...she managed to hold on to 32 weeks and birthed a perfectly healthy son. The 2nd arrived at 29 weeks and while he's still small for his age, he's perfect otherwise....lots of :hugs: otherwise

HBP - they'll probably change your dates 5 times over the coming weeks. Be assured that bubs will come when it's ready :D

V8 - Maybe you're not feeling a lot of movement because of where the placenta is placed??? I'm 21 weeks and feeling a lot less than last time (though still the pings down low in the evening) and the scan showed my placenta at the front....no issues with that - will just be later in feeling the really solid movement

So onto us...had my scan last Thursday and placed exactly on 20 weeks (which is where i thought) so fundal height and everything is measuring up perfectly with growth. As said, placenta is sitting out in front and bubs head is down (had a small victory dance there...I know A LOT can change over the next 20 weeks, but Charlotte didn't turn till 3 weeks before hand, so now I'm being very conscious of posture etc to do everything in my power to keep bubs that way!!!) Has 2 arms, 2 legs, very healthy heart beat and capacity, brain cavity etc, no cleft palate, spine well formed (a little phew here because I always worry after not getting the DS test), long limbs (to be expected if it follows my lines ha!) and ana bove average head size (here we go again...that's DH's trait!!) and we're having a .........

You'll have to find out when we do in 20 weeks or so!!!! (sorry just had to do that). So all in all prognosis is very good...had a few happy tears becuse all of a sudden it seemed more real - there's been so much less of a focus on this bub, because Charlotte is the obvious one, but made me actually stop and think about it too which was great!!

Anyway...enough of my blab...just had to catch up on nearly 30 pages. Hope everyone is well and looking foward to Santa coming !!!

Isaac's Mummy
20-12-2007, 11:12 AM
I missed you Amanda:yes: I was just thinking yesterday that you should be moved and hopefully settling in to your new place. Glad that everything with the move went smoothly and things are almost back to normal for you. You don't realise how much cr@p you accumulate until you have to move - do you?! And with a baby/toddler - the stuff that you have seems to multiply by ten:laughing:

So glad that your scan went well - that's soo exciting. Over half way now - not too much longer to go. I know what you mean about the scan making things seem so much more real and putting the focus on the new bub to be. I sort of feel like we forget about this bub a bit chasing after Isaac all day every day - but with my belly growing at a rapid rate and the 20 week scan booked in for a couple of weeks it's making it all feel so much more real and exciting again.

My birthday is Australia Day - the 26th of January. When's yours? We certainly are spookily similar:D

amandaw
20-12-2007, 11:34 AM
Hey Isaac's Mummy :wave:

This is the first time that we've (as in DH and I) been in a place longer than 18 months so there was certainly a lot of garbage..and because he was at home, DH did a lot of the packing (a godsend...don't get me wrong I'm not complaining about this!) so as I've unpacked, I managed to St Vinnies about 3 garbage bags full and throw out about 2 big bins full...we'll see if we can keep the cr@p down this time!! Seem to have baby stuff coming out of my ears (because at least while I was packing it up as C grew out of it and putting it in the Shed I had no real idea of how much there really was!) but at the moment, it's all just going in the cupboard in the soon to be nursery - will unpack it at nearer to easter so it's fresh in my head what we actually need

So you always get fireworks for your birthday :laughing: I'm the 9th...hated the fact that it was so close to christmas, but at least I never had to go to school on my birthday!! Birthdays are (and will be ) well spread in this household - Me in Jan, Bub 2 in May, C in Aug and DH in Nov - works well for us!

Okay off to do something constructive now :wave:

V8
20-12-2007, 01:11 PM
Oh congrats Vee.....How exciting!!! People are going to have to lock up their daughters!

:laughing::laughing: Thanks hun, that made me laugh so hard!!

V8
20-12-2007, 01:27 PM
Amanda - How funny is it when moving i couldn't believe we moved into our own 4 brdm house when we were living in my parents garage and it seemed like we had soo much stuff! Couldn't believe it fit in the garage! lol Good job getting your chrissy shopping done too. Was just at the shops today man, way to busy to get anything done. How crazy will it be after chrissy when all the sales are on too?

Isaacsmummy - Thanks for the congrats. I love the name too, good thing is Dh didn't protest so i pretty much got to name him what i wanted. I also used my sister's initials which are C.E (Candice Elizabeth) to name bubs, so she thinks that's pretty cool. But yeah, it is hard to pick names, specially if your DH doesn't agree. Also yeah, not sure where the placenta is, but i am feeling bubs more now, he was pretty active at the scan, but yeah not so much that i am feeling it heaps.

Rynosmum - ohhh you just reminded me about Dreamy Donuts, omg they are delicious waaaay nicer than KK come to think of it! hehe

Meegz - Have a good holiday off work, will miss reading your threads here, hope you have a lovely chrissy and new years and see you when you get back.

Mummajugs - oh sweetie, i hope your friend is ok, i bet it must be very worrying for them all, i will keep them in my thoughts.

Bel - You're so funny i had to laugh as yeah i seen some clashes with you and Kayla and think that's hilarious that you actually know eachother! Very trippy indeed! lol

Kayangel
20-12-2007, 01:47 PM
Bel- aww thanks hun :hugs: thats so sweet of you to say! im so sorry we have gotten off on the wrong foot. The more we talk the more i understand ur views and belifes. I look forward to getting to no you. My sister thinks very highly of you.

Meegzz- U will be missed in here, I hope u have a wonderful chrissy and new year take care and stay safe. I cant wait till u get back.

Lauren- I am so sorry to hear about ur friend breaks my heart to hear things like that please let us no how ur friend and bub is going as soon as u hear anything.

V8- How u feeling today? im always thinking of you. Howz ur little boy is he moving around lots and kicking??

V8
20-12-2007, 01:58 PM
Thanks Kayla, that's very sweet of you. Bubs is moving a bit, i think he keeps headbutting my bladder though! lol Feel twinges every now and then that are a bit 'ouchy!' lol

Looking forward to your scan next week, it's only a week away now yeah?

mummajugs
20-12-2007, 02:30 PM
thanx so much guys for all your kind words.:yes:
well my mum has spoken to her mum and apparently the problem is that bubs stomach and bowel arnt conected!:no: and because of this condition bub now has a 20% risk of downs syndrome.

bel- shes in westmead hospital, i dont know hat they are like there?

isaacs mummy- you can have prawns in small quantaties and as long as they are still hot when you cook them. ive had garlic prawns a few times! yummmyyyyyyyy. alot of people say not to,but my middie said it was ok!

im going to see her in the morning and see how shes going. gosh i hope everything is going to be ok :)
just trying to keep a smile on my face, i know i shouldnt stress about it, but when its someone sooooooo close to you. its very hard. i can only imagine what its like for her.

Kayangel
20-12-2007, 02:47 PM
V8- I cant wait till my scan! i havent seen bub since 7 weeks 6 days so it will be very exciting! Im convicted im having a baby boy tho.

:laughing: bubs headbutting ur bladder thats funny! i wish i could feel strong movements.

PrincessJasmine
20-12-2007, 03:00 PM
I can't keep up with you all today!

I just walked to and from the doctors, and I'm absolutely stuffed. I asked to get my blood test report for my midewife and the GP said "why didn't you just call me?" duh because I wanted a referal as well. Everytime I see him he make some comment like that... at least he tested my urine and it came back with some white blood cells which suggests and infection. Now I have to wait for the results on Monday and may need some anti biotics.

Lucky I missed the downpour thats about to happen, it's so muggy out there. That sky is black!

I just booked my scan for the 2nd of January, yay! :smiliedance: only 13 more sleeps until I find out the sex of my baby! I can't wait:D I also asked about DVD copies of the scan, they said they've just got it up and running and as far as they know its free!

Oh yeah 17 weeks today! Its going so fast.

Kayangel
20-12-2007, 03:04 PM
catalytic- yay not long till ur scan :smiliedance: how exciting!!

I hope ur tests come back clear and its all fine.

Its ****ing down rain here!! i love it! storms lighting everything woohoo.

Congrats on 17 weeks!

becskids
20-12-2007, 04:51 PM

Havn't been on for a while, so how are you all doing?

Just have a question for those of us that are about 17 - 18 weeks, Baby movement? I can't really feel it,:( is this normal? It is our 4th baby and when i was a the hospital last week, my midwife said that i have a low lying bub, (mostly because its my 4th) heart beat was 145bpm,

Can someone help, just concerned?????

Kayangel
20-12-2007, 05:02 PM
Hey becskids, im sure one of the experinced mummys in here will be able to help you when one comes online or you can post in general chat where im sure everyone will do there best to answer ur question.

All i can do is give u a hug :hugs: and hope u dont worry too much, im sure your bub is fine, he/she has a good heartbeat between 110 and 170 is normal.

You could always call u midwife too.

mummajugs
20-12-2007, 05:18 PM
hi becskids im 17 weeks at the moment and only started feeling flutters a few days ago. its my first child though. sometimes bubs are more active than others and when bub is low lying sometimes this means bub is still behind the pelvis. bub usually starts moving u into the area between the belly button and the pelvis at around 16-19 weeks depending on the person when you should begin to feel movement. so im sure movement isnt too far away for you. try not to get yourself worried. bubs heart rate is fine and healthy.:)
goodluck! hope this eases your concern.
Lauren

Daviegirl
20-12-2007, 06:07 PM
Hey girls- sounds like everyone is in fine spirits! Only 6 more sleeps until Santa comes!!!:xmas:

I have to admit that I had a big coke fix on Saturday - we had fish and chips for lunch and i think i had close to a litre of coke. On sunday, the bub wasn't moving quite as much as usual and DH said she probably needs her caffeine / sugar fix to get going in the morning!:laughing: The midwife at our early pregnancy class said that up to 2 cups of instant coffee is fine a day and coke has way less caffeine than that so i'm not going to feel bad about it. It's not like i have coke everyday...

Had another OB appointment yesterday and heard the heartbeat for the first time. Because my OB has an ultrasound in her office, we've had scans at our previous appointments to check the heartbeat. It's so lovely to be able to hear it. She also had a quick look with the ultrasound to double check bub is a girl. (We got a 90% certain at our 18week scan) and once again, our little one was being very modest and keeping her legs tightly closed. But our OB said she's 95% sure it's a girl.

Also, our 18 week scan showed that my placenta was low-lying, which means another scan at 34 weeks to check it's moved high enough up. Otherwise it's a caesarian for me!:hissy:

Ok - as far as names go, DH and I are pretty set. We LOVE Isabella Violet (Violet was my grandmother's name), and then in the sunday paper, they printed a list of the most popular names for 2007, and you guessed it - Isabella was top of the girl's list. Do we need to rethink? Need some advice, my friends...

mummajugs - thanks for the recipe. I've got a slow cooker and have only used it a few times because i don't know what to cook in it. I've done silverside, a lemon and oregano chicken and a beef in red wine. Thanks for the inspiration - i think next winter it will be getting a work-out.
Cindye - sorry to hear your news about the placenta. They gave me the same news at my 12wk scan and I have to wait till 8th Jan to find out if its has moved and I will be over 20 weeks by then!! Did they say whether there was much chance of it moving?? I am really hoping for a natural birth so hopefully for the both of us we have movement by the right time!

becskids
20-12-2007, 06:28 PM
Kayangle & Mumajugs: Thanks for your :hugs:, just a little worried cause i felt my other 3 by now.

To Cingye and Cdavidson: My placenta is low lying and at my 12 week scan they told me it is very hard to predict where it will end up. She said put a dot on a balloon, and then blow it up. Noone can predict where it will be.

My thoughts are with you all. Don't worry I find out on the 18th Jan if they will give me a C section but for other reasons.

BEC

Bel1978
20-12-2007, 06:33 PM
thanx so much guys for all your kind words.:yes:
well my mum has spoken to her mum and apparently the problem is that bubs stomach and bowel arnt conected!:no: and because of this condition bub now has a 20% risk of downs syndrome.

bel- shes in westmead hospital, i dont know hat they are like there?

isaacs mummy- you can have prawns in small quantaties and as long as they are still hot when you cook them. ive had garlic prawns a few times! yummmyyyyyyyy. alot of people say not to,but my middie said it was ok!

im going to see her in the morning and see how shes going. gosh i hope everything is going to be ok :)
just trying to keep a smile on my face, i know i shouldnt stress about it, but when its someone sooooooo close to you. its very hard. i can only imagine what its like for her.

Westmead is the very best sydney can offer... :fingerscrossed: for bubba..

Bel1978
20-12-2007, 06:37 PM

Havn't been on for a while, so how are you all doing?

Just have a question for those of us that are about 17 - 18 weeks, Baby movement? I can't really feel it,:( is this normal? It is our 4th baby and when i was a the hospital last week, my midwife said that i have a low lying bub, (mostly because its my 4th) heart beat was 145bpm,

Can someone help, just concerned?????

I think they say 22 weeks and then worry regardless of how many kidlets you have... let me research that.... as for heart beat i think sienna was in the 130ish mark she is perfectly fine....

becskids
20-12-2007, 06:41 PM
We go for our 20 week scan on the 2nd Jan, its an early on, so hopefully all will be ok. Thanks to all for your kind words.

BEC:flowerz:

mummajugs
20-12-2007, 07:18 PM
Westmead is the very best sydney can offer... :fingerscrossed: for bubba..

:Dwell thats a bit of a relief. im glad shes there then, she got transfered from blacktown.

im going to see her tomorrow morning so i will let you all know how its all going sometime tomorrow night.
take care ladies!

Bel1978
20-12-2007, 07:27 PM
Blacktown Miss diagnosed my FIL and he died... we would never send any one to blacktown....

Westmead as i said for children is the best... you cant be in better hands then there.. if theres a problem with our bubba. :fingerscrossed: hope not then Nepean Public have a NIC unit its attached to the private bubba goes there if its very serious then they go to westmead or the city...

Do you live local to me???

mummajugs
20-12-2007, 07:46 PM
oh ok!
im going to blacktown birth centre :rolleyes:
i have heard nothing bad about it.

i went to westmead childrens when i had a minor op. and they were very good, just havnt heard good things