View Full Version : wanting baby but can't

Erin1980
10-12-2007, 20:33

I'm currently going thru extremem depression because i depseratley want a baby but having trouble and been trying for a very lonng time. I am currently on anti-depresants because of this, its called Esipram and my husband told me today it causes defects in children.

A bit of history.....in the last year i have had 14 new babies around me and its been excrutiating. i can't deal with it without the anti-dpressant. however now i am very worried anit-depresants cause birth defects. i know i'm being too paranoid as the point of getting pregnant is the biggest issue i've ever had to deal with.

can anyone offer any advice?

misskittyfantastico
10-12-2007, 20:44

I'm currently going thru extremem depression because i depseratley want a baby but having trouble and been trying for a very lonng time. I am currently on anti-depresants because of this, its called Esipram and my husband told me today it causes defects in children.

A bit of history.....in the last year i have had 14 new babies around me and its been excrutiating. i can't deal with it without the anti-dpressant. however now i am very worried anit-depresants cause birth defects. i know i'm being too paranoid as the point of getting pregnant is the biggest issue i've ever had to deal with.

can anyone offer any advice?

Without knowing you and your story, all I can say is talk, talk, talk. Talk to your GP, your psych, ask questions and ask them again and again.

I'm not familiar with the drug you mentioned, but I'd be going on more than a google or someone else's word before making any decisions.

I think the greatest gift that you can give another being, is yourself - a whole and happy person.

Blueberry Crumble
11-12-2007, 01:41
I would get another opinion.

I was on Effexor all the way thru my pregnancy and I was fine, and baby was born as healthy as can be and still is thriving to this day. My best friend also was on Effexor through her pregnancy and she was fine as was her bub.

I saw a doctor before TTC and asked about it. She rang the Childrens Hospital and they agreed that it was safe to be on this meds and it would be much more detrimental to my health and that of my babys health if I tried to wean myself off them. They said that stress would have a much more damaging effect.

So I would see another doctor and get a 2nd opinion.

Erin1980
11-12-2007, 20:13
Hi Jbelle

I am currently taking one tablet of Esipram a day and my husband and i have been trying to get pregnant for 18 months now.

I spoke to my GP about this today and he advised there are different categories of anti-depresants, which are used for different situations. My doctor said I was on a category C, which meant there are little evidence of side effects. However, the drug hasn't been around for too long, so the question is; is the drug safe? or has there simply not been enough testing on it yet?

However my GP agreed that stress levels were just as important, if not more. therefore another question is asked; which is more important, stress levels of not taking ant-depressants or the level of dossage you are on. And if you were to stay healthy whilst pregnant, ie no smoking or drinking and getting enough exercise with a clear mental happy view is far more important whether you are on anti-depressants or not.

I'm glad I had this chat to him as it has made me feel more at ease. However I have also made the decision to cut the dosage in half (ie half a tablet a day) and slowly wean off them prior to getting pregnant (if it ever happens!!). But I'm going to see how i go, fingers crossed I won't hit rock bottom again. :gloomy:

Oh and for all those of us who have hit rock bottom - don't you just hate those who judge you for it. :thumbsdown:

livnjulesmum
12-12-2007, 10:08
I had severe post natal depression with my first baby and then accidentally got pregnant again. I was taking zoloft at the time - high dosage, and psych said it was more dangerous for me to come off the drugs than to stay on them! My baby girl was born absolutely 100% perfect with NO problems. I am now pregnant with my 3rd and have been on Zoloft for the past 6 years. I am now on a lower dosage as my depression is much more manageable and my obstetrician said it is absolutely fine - No worries! Good luck with it all, but I would say that your mental health is very important and you need to be well and look after yourself.

Tam-I-Am
12-12-2007, 10:44
Most antidepressants fall with the pregnancy category C or D.

Esipram (its more commonly known as lexapro in Australia :)) is a Category C medication - here is some information on pregnancy categorisation:

It basically means that the safety of anything below a category A just hasn't been established.

There are some older antidepressant medications that are saf-ER than, say, lexapro - but unfortunately nothing above a category B3. In pregnancy with depression, it really is a case of making a decision based on what's best for all involved. Its no good for a developing fetus to have a mother who is so disabled by depression that she can't eat or exercise or look after herself in anyway - therefore sometimes antidepressants are necessary. With ANY medication in pregnancy, its always a matter of weighing the benefits up versus the risks.

I personally would be seeking out a psychiatrist who has a special interest in pregnancy - or an obstetrician who has a special interest in psychotropic medications and their use during pregnancy - and go from there.

HTH :)

macca27975
17-12-2007, 17:33
OMG I know what you mean, this is a hard road we are travelling and they keep telling me stress doesn't help, but what can you do. I have been on this ride now for 7 years and during this time I have had two m/c. It is so hard to see others get what you have been working towards for so long, it hurts but you put a smile on your face and try and be happy for them, but with each friend or family member or co worker or someone who knows someone, it is harder to hear, but I keep in the back of my mind that one day, I will be the one telling friends our happy news and having that baby shower or what ever and I am hoping 2008 will be a new year with new beginnings.

I am not on any meds, but the Dr suggested it and I tried but they made me feel worse, so I am see a psychologist and talking is the first step they say, plus other stresses in my life don't help matters, I can deal with one stress at a time, but the last few months this is not how things have happened, they say when it rains it poors. So now I am trying to occupy my mind with other things other things I use to enjoy outside of TTC and it is hard, but I need it :)

I wish you all the very best and I reckon as long as your Dr knows what meds you are on, they can keep an eye on you and things and I am sure when the time comes your little miracle with be AOK.

Take care and Bubhub is a great place for advice and support and if needed please PM me, it is also nice to chat to someone travelling the same road.

Miracles happen ever day and our miracle is waiting for us :)

mykids1974
21-12-2007, 09:01
Hi Erin
I understand where you are coming from although I had 24 babies come into the world when i wanted to get pregnant. I was told by specialist that it wouldnt happen for me unless I did IVF and then there was no guarantees. I was trying for 5 years and I just got sick of being depressed and wasting the life that my mum and dad gave me and so I thought that we would foster children instead. We have 2 beautiful boys that are with us long term and this week I found out that after 5 years of trying, I am pregnant (naturally).
You never know whats around the corner but there are plenty of kids that need a home in the meantime. maybe thats an idea.
I wish you all the best and merry christmas.

mumkc
21-12-2007, 16:27
Hi Erin. I can't give you advice on the AD's, but the other girls' advice seems wise. I can advise that you do something about not being able to get pregnant, if you haven't already, as it may be treatable - whether your DH or you are the "problem".

Don't give up!

Good luck. :goodvibes:

BabelFish
05-02-2008, 10:40
Not all anti-depressants are dangerous in pregnancy. I am on an anti-psychotic medication called Seroquel (it's also indicated for bipolar disorder as a mood stabliser, which is why I'm on it) and I'm also on Prozac. Both of these drugs are a Category C and I have been on them throughout my pregnancy and well before, and will stay on them while breastfeeding. I am part of a study on Seroquel in pregnancy, too.

They are not `completely safe' - no drug is - but my psychiatrist has been through the risks and issues absolutely thoroughly with me and I feel safe and secure knowing that I am as safe as I can be, and so is my baby. I'm starting to feel a bit blue and shaky this week, and am very grateful to be on my medications because they definitely help keep me stable - particularly during pregnancy which is a real upheaval anyway. I'm on small doses that can be increased if need be, too.

So I wouldn't stress so much about this! There are lots of good options out there for you and a LOT of support, and getting pregnant and breastfeeding on medication is not the `no-no' it used to be. There have been a lot of advances and my advice is that you talk to your doctor and research and make sure you get as much information as possible - because there are a lot of options for you.