View Full Version : Recipe Share?
Bewitched
07-03-2006, 03:39 PM
I was just wondering if anyone has submitted a thread asking if everyone wants to share their fave recipe? Sounds a bit old fashioned perhaps, but i really am sick of cooking the same thing over and over, so thought perhaps a 'family favourites' could be interesting? If so, leave your recipe here :thumbsup:
O&GMUM
07-03-2006, 03:50 PM
OK
All time favourite lamb
(you need a big cassorole dish)
I usually use a half leg of lamb, put it into the cassorole dish
you need to add liquid stock (i use chicken) pour it in until it is 1/4 of the way up the lamb, then white wine until you are half way up the lamb..
Then throw in a few garlic cloves, half a lemon cut up into a few pieces, fresh oregano(have used dried and was fine) and black pitted olives (optional).
Put lid on and bake at 180 for 6 hours
It just falls off the bone YUM
Nice with mashed taters and honey carrots
~Chick79~
07-03-2006, 03:51 PM
Sounds like a fantastic idea Lisa! :thumbsup:
Here is one of our favs.... We came across this delicious pizza receipe while I was pregnant last year and suffering with Gestational Diabetes....
Pizza for the Diabetic :yelclap:
ingredients:
* 8 Portabello mushrooms or large field mushrooms
* 8 slices low fat mozzarella
* 4 ripe tomatoes, deseeded and chopped
* 1 tsp dried oregano
* 1 tsp dried basil
* Freshly ground pepper to taste
* 2 tablespoons chopped kalamata olives
* Olive oil and garlic spray
optional extras:
* ham
* pineapple
* capsicum
* cabanossi
* salami
directions:
1. Preheat oven to 200c
2. Clean mushrooms, remove gills & cut off stems so they are flush with base.
3. Place mushrooms gill side down, spray tops with olive oil and bake for 25 mins
4. turn mushrooms over, place a slice of mozzarella in each mushroom, divide tomato between the tomatos then sprinkle with herbs, pepper and olives
5. return to the over and bake for a further 7-10 mins, until the cheese has started to bubble and go brown.
Nutritional Information
Cal - 100
Protein - 8g
Carbs - 3g
Fat - 7g
Saturated fatty acids - 4g
Fibre - 2g
Sodium - 0.3
Yum yum! :chef:
Bewitched
07-03-2006, 07:09 PM
Thanks Ladies! We are off to a good start then. Here is my absolute fave meal to prepare for my family - this is just DELICIOUS :)
Chicken and Bacon in Seeded Mustard:
500gms chicken breast sliced (stir fry sized slices)
1 cup chopped bacon
1/2 an onion (optional, as my kids don't like onion)
500mls thickened cream
3 heaped teaspoons of seeded mustard
*And large voluvants for serving chicken in.
Cook the chicken in one tablespoon oil until light golden brown, drain and set aside. Sautee' onion and bacon together in pan, then add chicken, seeded mustard and cream (Add cream slowly, stirring constantly - although the recipe states 500mls of cream, you may need more or less....basically it should be a stroganoff consistency).
Pour mixture into voluvants and drizzle over the sides of the cups so the pastry will be nice and soft - YUM!! It's hard to find large voluvants at times, so you can do this mixture in puff pastry as well. Enjoy :) :p
~Chick79~
07-03-2006, 07:11 PM
Thanks Ladies! We are off to a good start then. Here is my absolute fave meal to prepare for my family - this is just DELICIOUS :)
Chicken and Bacon in Seeded Mustard:
500gms chicken breast sliced (stir fry sized slices)
1 cup chopped bacon
1/2 an onion (optional, as my kids don't like onion)
500mls thickened cream
3 heaped teaspoons of seeded mustard
*And large voluvants for serving chicken in.
Cook the chicken in one tablespoon oil until light golden brown, drain and set aside. Sautee' onion and bacon together in pan, then add chicken, seeded mustard and cream (Add cream slowly, stirring constantly - although the recipe states 500mls of cream, you may need more or less....basically it should be a stroganoff consistency).
Pour mixture into voluvants and drizzle over the sides of the cups so the pastry will be nice and soft - YUM!! It's hard to find large voluvants at times, so you can do this mixture in puff pastry as well. Enjoy :) :p
Do you need to cook the voluvants?? Sorry I have never used them before! But i was just about to post and ask what I could make for a lunch on friday (I have a new friend coming over so I didn't want to make sandwiches if you know what I mean!) and well this sound yummy so I might give it ago!
I have more receipes to share to - I will post them soon! I love this idea - thanks Lisa! :yelclap:
Bewitched
08-03-2006, 04:29 AM
Hey Leisha!
Sorry bout that - um.....up to you.... i found its so easy to overcook/burn voluvants, so i just pour the fresh hot mixture in them and it makes them nice and soft. However, there's nothing nicer than crisp hot pastry, so if you want to, the recipe suggests a few minutes in the oven or microwave at a mild temp (perhaps 100 degrees), voluvants are SO EASY to burn so watch them like a hawk :laughing:
Glad you want to try out the recipe, hope it all works out beautifully! I have more recipes to add too so chat soon and enjoy your lunch Friday ;)
MonkeyMum05
09-03-2006, 03:47 PM
One of our lazy-day favourite meals is mini pizzas!
I just use mini wholemeal Pita breads, spread a mixtures of tomato sauce, garlic and herbs over it... then add whatevers handy. Usually, we have cheese, anchovies, sundried tomato and olives... then a salad on the side to balance it out a bit!
Another good combination is Feta, broccoli and pumpkin. Yum!
Hmm... that's not really a 'recipe' is it?!:rolleyes:
I'll have to think of one and come back!
razzle
09-03-2006, 06:19 PM
I made this last night - quite easy and enough leftovers for dinner tonight!
Oven Baked Risotto with Italian Sausages
INGREDIENTS
500g spicy Italian style sausages (I just used some beef ones with sun dried tomato through them)
1 litre (4 cups) chicken stock
1 tablespoon olive oil
40g butter
2 large brown onions (400g), chopped coarsely
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 cups (400g) Arborio rice
¾ cup (180ml) dry white wine
1 cup (160g) drained semi-dried tomatoes
¼ cup fresh basil leaves
¼ cup (20g) coarsely grated parmesan cheese
METHOD
Preheat oven to moderate.
Heat flame-proof dish on stove top; add sausages and cook until browned all over and cooked through. Remove from dish; slice thickly.
Meanwhile, add stock to medium saucepan; bring to the boil.
Heat oil and butter in same flameproof dish; cook onion and garlic, stirring, until soft. Add rice; stir to coat in the onion mixture. Add wine, bring to a boil then simmer, uncovered, 1 minute. Add stock, sausages and tomatoes; cover with lid and cook in moderate oven about 25 minutes or until liquid is absorbed and rice is tender. Stir once during cooking.
Stir in the basil and cheese.
Bewitched
09-03-2006, 09:42 PM
Yum , that sounds beautiful boomtish! I shall try that on the weekend, ta heaps!
Veruca
09-03-2006, 10:22 PM
OOOOOOH, I luv finding new recipes. Here's one which we all love plus it's real cheap
Chickpea Curry
3 cups chickpeas (organic in a can are best)
1 tbs oil
2 onions
1 tsp chilli powder (optional)
2 tbs tomato paste
2 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp ground coriander
2 tsp chopped ginger
1/2 tsp ground cardamon
2 cloves garlic, crushed
500g tomatoes chopped or 420g tinned
salt, pepper
1 tbs fresh coriander
Heat oil in a large pan. Add onion and fry until softened. Add spices and garlic and cook for further 2 minutes. Add tomatoes, tomato paste, chickpeas, 1 cup water and season to taste. Cover and simmer gently for at least 30 mins. Sprinkle with coriander and serve with basmati rice. Simply delicious:D
razzle
10-03-2006, 07:44 AM
Yum , that sounds beautiful boomtish! I shall try that on the weekend, ta heaps!
Well it's even nicer second time 'round - we had the leftovers last night and it was so yummy!!
~Chick79~
10-03-2006, 08:44 AM
Here is another favourite.... It is one of those quick and easy put together meals!
Tuna, Semi-Died Tomatoes & Rocket Pasta
500g Pasta (I normally use the fresh Latina fett... but any pasta is good)
1/4 cup olive oil
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 small red onion, halved & thinly sliced
125g semi-dried tomatoes, sliced
2 x 185g cans tuna in spring water, drained & flaked
1 bunch rocket, trimmed
1. Cook pasta in boiling water for 12 mins or until tender. If using fresh pasta follow their instructions as this is normally a shorter cooking time.
2. Meanwhile, heat a frying pan over medium-high heat until hot. Add oil, garlic, onion & semi-dried tomatoes. Cook, stirring often for 1-2 mins.
3. Drain pasta, reserving 1/4 cup of the water. Return pasta to pan. Add reserved water, tuna & semi-dried tomato mixture. Season with salt & pepper. Toss gently over low heat for a minute.
4. Add rocket leaves & toss until wilted. Serve immediately.
NB: To make semi-dried tomatoes, place halved roma tomatoes on a baking tray skin side down. Sprinkle with salt, sugar, olive oil & herbs. Cook in 150*C oven until roasted. Or you can do what i do....go to your local woolies and buy them from the deli!!! :o
Boomtish - I love your receipe!!! I reckon we should put together a Bubhub Cookbook!!! :chef:
Bewitched
13-03-2006, 11:00 PM
Stuschick, i was just wondering, how did the chicken go? :fingerscrossed:
~Chick79~
14-03-2006, 12:34 PM
I didn't get to make it! :crying:
My friend had to cancel on me as one of her kids were sick.... but the consolation prize is my hubby is home this weekend so I will get to make it for him!
I couldn't really see the point in making a yummy meal just for me.... the joys of being a mine widow!
~Chick79~
25-03-2006, 07:20 PM
Stuschick, i was just wondering, how did the chicken go? :fingerscrossed:
Finally got to make it!!! All I can say is..... YUMMO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :yelclap:
Bee and boys
30-03-2006, 10:29 PM
One of our fave meals is our chicken stirfry
You will need chicken breast as many as required depending on how many people eating I usually use 3.
Hokkien noodles
Vegies any ones you want mushies,brocc,carrot,capsicum, onion
Garlic
and the most important part of the meal the sauce
Sweet chilli sauce, the best tasting sweet soy sauce in the asian aisle its ABC in a bottle with a yellow lid and res and yellow label and thickened cream.
You simply prep all the chicken and vegies
Fry onion, garlic and cut up chicken
once browned add vegies to fry then add sauces to suit your taste
Lucky last add the noodles and serve Mmmmmmmmm :chef:
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.