View Full Version : Would This Be Ok?
Chicco25
11-12-2007, 11:22
Ok, as of Sunday I have gone from being "I'll try a couple and see how I like it" to "I'm definately doing it", so now I need you lovely, experienced ladies help to make sure I'm doing the right thing and have the right idea :D:
First thing - so far I have purchased 5 AIOs and was wondering if I added a booster would I be able to get through 2 nappy changes without having to actually change the nappy, just the booster? ifykwim, or will I have to be changing the whole nappy at every change? or could I just add a liner and just change the liner at 2 nappy changes?
I dont mind having to change the whole nappy at every change, but if I didnt have to it would be even better. So, only going through maybe 2-3 nappies a day instead of 5-6.
Any tips or advice?
p.s - please be patient with me. will probably be throwing heaps of questions your way. have to prove to dh that this is going to be the best thing to do :o
punkbaby
11-12-2007, 11:34
I would change the whole thing thats just me though not sure why i do it and i do get where your coming from, its like sometimes indies boosters are wet but the actual nappy isnt. I still change it though :) The only thing i do is reuse the cover, most of the time i can get away with it for a few changes :)
I reckon you would still need to change the whole nappy.
Well i personally would anyone.
If you bought AI2's such as Itti Bitti's or Berry Plush that have the snap in inserts, you could just change the inserts at each nappy change so long as the cover wasnt soiled.
Chicco25
11-12-2007, 11:42
yep, thats what i meant. If the booster was wet but the actual nappy was dry, then i could get away with just changing the booster for 2 changes then changing the whole nappy on the third change. Is it better to just change the whole nappy?
punkbaby
11-12-2007, 12:27
I wouldnt re use it thats just me though, even if it was dry i just wouldnt and i am sure that you can re use it if the nappy itself isnt damp. I just like e fresh one each change i guess :) i think its personal preference really
AIO's should always be completely changed. The only nappy you could get away with doing that is an AI2. These are a separate cover than inserts snap into. You can just change the insert.
However, from personal experience, I find I still have to change the whole nappy as the cover part gets quite wet and smelly.
Chicco25
11-12-2007, 13:13
well lucky I have gone mad on nappies then :o because I have more than enough to change at every nappy change.
also, do any of you use the flushable nappy liners? are they worth getting?
Anita, i went to spot light and bought some fleece and cut it up myself and use it as liners.
It was only about $9/m so you can imagine how many i got out of it, prob with them is that you still have to scrape the poo off and wash them out.
I have thought about getting the flushable liners while im out and about tho, but havent got around to it
Tam-I-Am
11-12-2007, 14:20
We use the Eenees flushable nappy liners. They're fantastic, but my DD has a cow's milk protein intolerance (and something else too, that we haven't figured out yet, I think) that leaves her with diarrhoea a lot of the time. The liner catches the majority if not all of her bowel movement, and if she's got a nappy rash its okay to use creme with a disposable liner, too, whereas I found that the creme would seep through a microfleece liner and leave the nappy greasy. Yuck.
Chicco25
11-12-2007, 15:43
ok probably a stupid question - but do yo have to use some sort of liners in your nappies? or does whatever the nappy is lined in act as a liner? :confused:
:thumbsup: Thanks for the that TJ - was going to buy pre made ones but you could get so many out of a metre!!! Is it just called fleece or is it like polar fleece??
tam-i-am - my dd still has soft mr whippy type poos and the thought of scrapping them off of a liner or nappy really didnt appeal to me :barf:. The good thing is she goes every 3-5days, so I can use the fleece in between those days and flushables when she's due.
Tam-I-Am
11-12-2007, 15:50
You don't HAVE to use a liner - but it sure makes life easier.
Also, with the 'MrWhippy' poos (love the description, BTW! :D) a little squirt has been invaluable to us. Worth looking into ;)
Chicco25
11-12-2007, 16:10
yep, did think of the little squirt, but hoping i can just get away with flushable liners for now.. ;)
bilbymum
13-12-2007, 00:03
Chicco
most AIO's will be made with an inner lining of either microfleece or suedecloth - that is the stay day lining - so you don't need another liner technically.
sewn inside the AIO is the absorbent layer (micofibre soaker, body layers of hemp or bamboo)
the outer of the AIO is usually PUL, or malden mills fleece, or double polar fleece - the waterproof layer.
You need microfleece liners if using fitteds and covers, or prefolds and covers etc.
Spotlight sells a brand of MICRO polar fleece called Little Additions. the plain blue, pink or lemon version cost $9 per metre, you only need half a metre, just cut up rectangles. e.g 30cm x 10cm or whatever suits your baby's size and their nappies. No sewing, just cut them up and go.
I totally heart the LIttle Squirt, could not stomach all that scraping.
i don't know how old your bub is, mine is one year and we change her at least every 2.5hours. Part of that, is to avoid nappy rash. To assist future toilet training, i never let her stay in a soiled nappy, as soon as i see her grunting, i change her. This will make it easier when TT comes along.
Chicco25
13-12-2007, 09:14
thanks for that bilbymum, didnt realise mcn were so much more than a cloth nappy and a cover. Just want to make sure I'm doing it right and that she isint walking around with a soaked bum everytime she wees, ifywim
so far I have purchased 19 nappies :eek:, wow didnt realise how much until then, a combination of pockets, AIO and AI2s so I have more than enough nappies to change her nappy at every change.
I'll be heading to spotlight this morning for the fleece, thanks for the Brand name - would've been walking round for ages trying to find the right stuff otherwise :rolleyes:
bilbymum
13-12-2007, 11:09
you're more than welcome CHicco
it's a steep learning curve when you start to find out about MCN, i had alot of kind and patient people online who helped no end, so i am happy to "pay it forward".
joining the ozclothyahoo group and nappycino has been invaluable, hiccups crop up, but i know i always have somewhere to ask, always gets responses.
Just a word of caution...
Most AIO's won't last that long anyway.... they tend to go 2 maybe 3 hours.
If you want to do that.. you could just use AI2's or just covers with a prefold laid in.
But believe me.... once you get a good stash, you want to change regularly.. coz butts just look SO cute in different MCN's :p
(And once you realise how much bubs actually does wet, which you can't really tell in sposies, you'll want to change regularly... you won't want your special little bubba sitting in his own wee for a long period of time. If anything cloth makes you MUCH more aware of your own child's 'wetting rhythm' ... when they wee most and stuff. )
If they do a poo at the same time each day you could always prepare for that by putting in a booster and liner, so that the nappy isn't soiled and you can keep using that. Pitty to change a nappy 10 minutes after putting it one because bubs has pooed.