View Full Version : you wanna see a gap!!!!
i have 3 kids my youngest is 10months. my middle child (also a boy) is 11. my oldest child (who is a girl) is 15 years old
... how that for a gap
p.s. im only 33 and have learnt. that having much older siblings is a great help:smiliedance: and even though the middle years and teenage years can be quite tough i wouldnt have it any other way
Cheers Jo_Jo
mellybean
07-03-2006, 11:01
My DS is 7 and have bub no 2 due in 2 weeks. Feels a bit like 1st time round again. My son is excited about having a brother or sister but is a bit concerned about it playing with his toys and imposing on his Playstation time! I have assured him it will be quiet a while before he has to worry about that!!
oh yes the playstation... may i say, boys with their toys. all my 10 month old wants to do is be with his big brother. and play with the playstation consouls. so you only have until new bub starts crawling then LOOK OUT!
...but big brother is a good boy and to my suprise is very patiant with his little bother and to see bubbys look when he comes home from school each day is amazing, you'll love it!
-Jo_Jo
jasminesmum
07-03-2006, 11:14
I have big gaps too.
My dd is 10 mths old. Next ds is turning 8 in April and my oldest ds is turning 16 on friday.
Yea definately makes life interesting. :rolleyes:
Mellybean I would tell your ds not to worry to much about his playstation. Ours is such a well used thing in this house that my dd hardly notices its there anymore although it probably wont be too long before she wants to join in.:D
oh thats great its good to see some big gaps lol. you just have it the other way around. my oldest daughter often wonders what it would of been like to have big brothers.
my mum had an 18 and a bit year gap between me and my brother
wow now thats a gap!
jasminesmum
07-03-2006, 11:27
Do you get comments like, "Oh I thought you had finished having kids."
no not really i think me and my new partner (Ethans father and Larissa and Codys Stepfather) were exspected to have kids by our friends and family :laughing:
mellybean
07-03-2006, 11:51
How cute!! Niece & newphew going to school together!
It just made me go all warm n fuzzy thinking of my bub getting excited when DS comes home from school..... I'm so excited!!! Personally i reckon i'd go bonkers having a toddler & a baby at the same time....don't know how so many people do it! Snaps to them!!:D
aardvark
07-03-2006, 12:13
I'm all for big gaps, too.
DD#1 is 15, DD#2 is 5 and DS is six weeks.
I was under SEVERE pressure from family to hand all my baby things over to my cousins for their use when DD#1 was 6 or 7 and there was no sign of #2, but I stood my ground, because there was no way we were finished with it.
LilShenanigans
07-03-2006, 12:20
hehehe top this one...
My DD and her uncle(my brother) exactly same age (minus one day!), My eldest brother is turning 2 this year, I'm turning 22 and my sister is 25 this year lol
Biggest gap, 23yrs :p
Sometimes not always good for the older ones, even though I'm used to changing nappies, I won't go anywhere near my dirty brothers LOL
my babyemmy
07-03-2006, 14:11
the age gap between my 2nd youngest & youngest is 13 1/2 years:)
What a happy family you look too.....:smiliedance:
There 14 1/2 years between baby ethan and my oldest larissa and yes they too get sick helping out as well so i make sure they get the space they need
but bubbies big smile always sucks them in to play more so with my 11 year old cody they love boying it out together:ecomcity:
well my gaps arent that big my eldest ds is 8
my dd is 7
and my baby is ds 14 mths old
theres almost 6 yrs between my dd ans baby!
who knows what the gap will be next time!:D :rolleyes:
bjandthomsmum
21-03-2006, 18:27
I was a single mother for 9 years, then met my now husband, and we've just had a baby boy who is 6 months old now, so his big sister is 11 years old. People said to me all the time when I was pregnant, BUT YOU"VE JUST FINISHED all the baby stuff, why do you want to start all over?? I wouldn't have it any other way though. Now my husband and I are looking to have another one, with a very small age gap.
People have said the same thing to me as I have a 10 1/2 year gap between my 3rd and 4th. Most people (family and close friends) are very positive about it though as they always knew I wasn't finished.
I have 4 children oldest is 19 years, 2nd is 14 years, 3rd is 11 years (all boys) and my 4th is 8 months and a darling little girl. It's the best thing I've ever done. I'm absolutely loving every minute of it. You have such a different perspective on the baby years when you've got older children. Especially with my big 19 year old that I can still remember cradling in my arms - the time really does fly by so quickly, so I cherish every moment.
A lot of people think I must have remarried and thats why I had my daughter. So they're even more surprised when I tell them I've been with my husband since I was 13, got married at 18, been married for 20 years in May!:yelclap:
browniebear
22-03-2006, 12:40
There are five in my family. i am the eldest at 28, my brother is 26, next brother is 23 and my sister is 20, the baby of the family is only 11 (change of life baby as mum puts it!). Owen goes to school with his Uncle as he is in year 6 and Owen is in Kindergarten. i was 17 when my brother was born and I didn't like being on my own with him in public because people assumed he was mine. Funnily enough, when I had Owen, my sister was 15 at the time and she didn't want to push his pram for the same reason!
Geez I am the eldest of 7 (yes 7!) I am 22 and the youngest is 3. Me (22), Bro (19), Sis (15), Bro (14), Bro (13), Bro (4) and Sis (3).
I have a 3yo son who is 3 months older than his aunty :eek: and now she has a neice and a nephew on the way - 4 yr age gap isn't too bad. There is only 4 yrs between me and my youngest uncle
munchkin05
23-03-2006, 12:27
i have 9mth old ben and my partner has to other children a 7year old boy who comes to us on weekends and a 15year old boy who lives with us
its sometimes a great help having the 15year old around cause he intertains ben while i have to do stuff
moonblossom
23-03-2006, 12:53
will be 25 years between my first son, and my last son :):smiliedance:
JasmineLouise
13-04-2006, 18:10
My sister is 4 (just), and i am 19 (almost 20) so it has been a great contrast. My sister loves coming for drives to 'McCafe' and by DP and myself even took her on a one week holiday to the beach...:yelclap:
I also have another sister (dads side) who is 14 years younger... the funny thing is my stepmum (her mother), is 14 years older than me... talk about consistancy.
I can say with honesty that i really enjoy having younger siblings... :smiliedance: and i'm sure it will be great practice for my own children too...
im 24 and my sisters are 22, 13 and 9.. and my mum is thinking of another :D
Tristans_Mum
14-04-2006, 09:56
im 20, then sister 14, brother 8, sister 2 and brother 7 months!
i am not going to have a very big gap between my kids... there will end up being 17 months between the two of them.....
kyannas*mum*
18-04-2006, 09:31
well im 23 nearly and im going to have a lil brother or sister in november so 23 years apart,
my lil bro or sis is going to be closer to my daughter than to me there own sister cute hey:kiss:
My aunty had her three kids 10 years apart so now they are 23, 13 and 3!!
Bit of a shock three years ago when she told me she was expecing again!
My mum had me when she was 22 and my brother when she was 40, my brother became an uncle at 3 wich we all thought was kinda funny. having seen these posts though its way more common than i thought to leave big gaps between kiddies, personally i love having a little brother and it also means my mum has someone to baby sit !!:)
RaryGirl
15-05-2006, 09:35
My DD was 8 in Feb and my next child is due in December - so there will be nearly a 9 year age gap. DD thinks it's great she's going to be a big sister - she just doesn't want to change a nappy!! (lol).
Hmm my mother had me at 19 (I was the eldest of 3, before my sister was born) and then had my sister when I was 21. 18months after my little sister was born I gave birth to my daughter.
One time when we were at Macca's my sister was 2 and DD 1, my mother said to my sister 'where is your neice?' She stopped in her tracks looked befuddled and pointed to her knees 'here they are mum' lmao. Not quite ready to take on the role as aunty ;)
Although they dont live together my DD and sister have grown up as sisters due to their being so close in age. Now at the age of 7 my sister is an aunt to a 6yr, 2yr & 5mnth old lol.
There DP is 18 years & 6 months older then his sister ... its so cute though !!
hi guys,
this is my first post, ifeel a bit nervous lol,
well i have been looking for other mums in the same situation as me.
i have a 16 yr old and a 14 yr old and an 8 month old baby. Im 36, so i've experienced both young mum syndrome and older mum syndrome.
20-06-2006, 12:04
theres 18 and a half years gap between me and my brother
20-06-2006, 13:26
how do u find it?
I love it :)
I think its great having a younger brother
Hi, my sister and i have a 12 year age gap with no siblings in between-its just the two of us.
BUT my kids are close in age 5, 3, 15mths and another due early february. My little (or actually large) family wasnt planned this way, it just happened and while some days are hell on earth for the most part its great.:D
hi all,
what do u think, should i have another baby just to give my baby a brother or sister closer to his age?
how old is your mum?
well im 23 nearly and im going to have a lil brother or sister in november so 23 years apart,
my lil bro or sis is going to be closer to my daughter than to me there own sister cute hey:kiss:
jasminesmum
21-06-2006, 12:45
Hi mummybl and welcome :wave:
I have a 16 yr old ds, an 8 yr old ds and a 14mth old dd.
We aren't having any more children. My dd adores her older brothers and they love to play with her. We go to playgroup occasionly so she can play with other little kids around her age.
hi jasminesmum
thanks for the reply,
i've decided to give myself 6months to decide and then that will be my final decision. (maybe) lol
lol, Im the opposite, we have 4 kids aged between 8 and 3! thats, 8 (only just this month), 6, 5, and 3.... we will have our next one and last when the youngest is in kindy, so there will be a big gap for me, 4 half years!
Jodie
ooh, yes, it is very hard having 4 under 4!!!!
jada3019
26-06-2006, 21:09
I have a 13yr old son and a little girl 9mths. I must admit it is great having a big helper. My daughter just adores her big brother and he loves her. For the first few months it was very hard for anyone to get close to her he was always right there beside her. He does get annoyed with her when he is on the computer. She has to stand at his chair and hit him, it is very funny. I have seen how quickly they grow so I think I appreciate the time so much more this time around. I am in no rush for my little girl to grow up.
me 32
(still my) baby boy 13yrs 30/11/92
little girl 9mths 19/9/06
I feel so much happier having read this. I was panicking. Mine are 9 and 11 and the baby is due in January :D
Me to.Its great to hear others have a big gap as well and find just as much fun and frivolity as I do.
My age gaps are 14,11 and 11 weeks
Me to.Its great to hear others have a big gap as well and find just as much fun and frivolity as I do.
My age gaps are 14,11 and 11 weeks
OMG! :eek: How are the older ones coping?
ForeverMine
15-07-2006, 01:07
There is a 13 year gap between my brother and me, a 11 year gap between my sister and me... and then a 5 year gap between my other sister...
I only talk to my sister that is 5 years older... she also is my best friend which is great.
semazani
16-07-2006, 00:24
My older sister is 35, my older brother is 34, I am 32, my little brothers are 18 and 4. My dad is planning another in the next year or so.
Elijahsmama
16-07-2006, 11:38
My oldest sister is 34, brother 33, sister 30, me 22 and half brother(dads) 13. I get along with my sisters great now that im older but always felt like i was a only child when i was young. i actually have more in common with both of my sisters than they do with eachother. I plan to have atleast 5 years before my next one.
I think my mum wins in the big gaps stake! I'm 24 yrs older than my brother!
Pippi Longstocking
18-07-2006, 17:15
I think my mum wins in the big gaps stake! I'm 24 yrs older than my brother!
Nope! My Dad wins, I'll be nearly 30 years older than my sibling when s/he is born in January '07.:D
rubymay92
16-08-2006, 04:10
My older sister is 25, I'm 13, one of my younger brothers is 11, one of my younger sisters is 8, my other younger sister is 2, and my other younger brother is 6 months!
I have a 14 (nearly 15 year old) boy a 6 year old girl and I am now pregnant with number 3 due Feb!
My sisters are 17 & 13 years older than me - I also had a brother that I never knew who was about 20 years older - I get on very well with my sis 13 years older and have a great relationship with her kids (who are only 6 & 10 years younger than me) they are also like sisters so it works well for us!
BubbaNoogie
01-09-2006, 11:52
My #1 turns 11 next week and #2 is 5 months. Its great because I have a little helper and she is not jealous at all, she adores her little sis!!
House full of Princesses
01-09-2006, 12:04
I'm one of 6 kids, aged 36, 34, 26, 24, 17, 14.
My youngest sister, who is 14, has an 18yr old nephew! LOL!
My poor parents have had at least one kid in school EVERY YEAR for as long as they can remember!
I absolutely love hearing these stories, I am still trying for #2 and my son will be 17 or 18 when and if this happens.
My 2 SIL's had their third babies with a gap from 8 to 16 years and they were telling me about the comments like - "your insane having another baby", "what were you thinking?", and "it will be like starting again".
This is also the reason why I stopped telling everyone I was still trying. Dont get asked anymore when am I having another baby as they assume we have given up, I do feel better when not talking about it now as it just makes me want to burst into tears.
I will be embracing the large gap with open arms, who cares what the "norm" is, our family will simply be unique.
Xavier's Mumma
02-09-2006, 15:22
Hey all Im 24 and i have 5 younger sisters aged
13 AND 12 ( My mums second marriage)
and 3 AND 2 AND 3 months ( my dads 3rd marriage)
I have 6 half brothers - the youngest was nearly 18 when i was born
luckie_me
04-09-2006, 09:58
In My family
30 bro
26 bro
24 bro
20 ME
9 sis
21 years between my sister and my oldest brother!
Sister has a nephew 7 weeks older than her
Finally some positive comments on big ages gaps! We'd like to wait about 5 years before thinking about the next, and I'm sick of people telling me it's best to have them close together and that I should rethink the big gap. I want to be able to enjoy each of my kids seperately.
Cheekychops
19-09-2006, 18:16
I think that kids close is great!!! But that's cause that's what I have and what I wanted, but now we are wondering if we left a big gap between those two and another how that would go......we just aren't sure whether to go again or not....