View Full Version : My update

LilliS
06-12-2007, 11:52 PM
Just a quick post to let everyone know what is happening.

At my last appointment, can't remember if I posted this, my Ob wanted a scan done as he was concerned about the size of bub. We had one booked for the next day and so they said yes she is small but didn't seem overly concerned. They did however say we would probably have to another scan. Anyway....today...my Ob called and said to come straight in.....A_N_D...

I will be having bub at between 34 and 36 weeks via a C-section.

She is only 1.4 kg - should be 2 kg.

He said this can be caused by something is wrong with her chromosomal wise (a small chance) that wasn't picked up earlier, she is destined to be (very) small or the placenta is just not working as it should. Either way he wants to keep a very close watch on her. He is also concerned as the amniotic fluid is low/ borderline.

I have to go in every week for a scan and if he sees she is not growing at all then he will be taking her straight out. Otherwise he will wait until 36 weeks and take her out then.

I have monitoring every second day too and they have put me on steroids to develop her lungs so she has a better chance when she comes out.

Sorry for my badly written post but I/WE are still trying to get our heads around this - it all came as a shock. I walked out of his rooms blubbering like a fool today and probably scared all of his other patients off.

So - guess I know what I am getting for Christmas.

Better go to bed and try and sleep.

cmd'smum
07-12-2007, 12:58 AM
Hi, sorry to barge into the Due Jan thread, just wanted to wish you and your beautiful baby girl all the best!!:babydust2::goodvibes::flowerz:

Ky
07-12-2007, 01:18 AM
First of all :hugs:

I know this is the last thing you want to hear, but please, don't be too worried!

I was told basically the same thing when pregnant with my dd - low fluid levels, slow to no growth, small bub with the need for induction at 36 weeks.

I went in at 36 +2 and after 5 days of trying to induce me, finally went in for a c/section at exactly 37 weeks and delivered a very healthy baby girl weighing 8lb 7oz.

All along they said she was going to be very small and were worried that my placenta was failing etc. They were wrong :)

I'm not saying that there is nothing to worry about and that you will be exactly like me, but please ... trust that this beautiful little girl is destined to have a strong, healthy start to this life and that she will overcome any adversity that is thrown her way. She couldn't have picked better parents, so I know that everything is going to be OK :yes:

Take care, rest up and enjoy the extra attention - all will be well in the end :hugs:

07-12-2007, 04:49 AM
i hope she does some growing:yes:
and that what ever the outcome your both safe and healthy... there could be a plus side... you get to have bub earlier:yes:....

some babies are small though... might just be that, my sister was 9 days over and had a 6 pounder:yes:...

good luck for you both

LilliS
07-12-2007, 05:18 AM
Ok - can't sleep so hoping the time difference is going to help me out and someone else is up.

Last night we basically got our best friends and inlaws over and explained to them what was going on. Apart from my MIL saying "you should eat more" (Italians??!!!) and SIL (due in 3 weeks) saying "you always have to beat me", both of which I ignored an bit my tongue - they were quite good. We're going out on the weekend to get my hospital clothes packed and all those little things. Also going to pick up a few premmie clothes. My MIL also took home all my bub washing to get that ready for me. My poor mum got the scare of her life as she copped me bawling down the phone so she is called a friend who is a travel agent and will be coming over earlier - before Christmas. I feel sorry for her as she wants to hugs and help but she is over the side of the country so feels useless.

Apart from that I somehow managed to sleep. I am going to stay at work as there are only four days left and I figured better to keep my mind on things rather than sit at home and sook. Now I am just trying to keep my mind off the OBs words that there could be soemthing wrong with her. I know he said there is only a small chance but it is just ringing through my head. I wish he never said it but I guess legally he has to look at all options now that she is soooo little. He didn't mention in until he has called the hospital neo natal paedatrician to check if I could deliver there so hopefully that is a good sign. It seems ironic though that when we got our results back for the 12-13 week scan they said that our risk levels were not only low risk but VERY low risk and they were the best results they had seen all day. He said we can have an amnio to tell if there is something wrong but I guess we really don't see the point now as it is not like we would or can do anything differently. It will only introduce risk to the baby.

He also rang another OB at the public maternity hospital to check if my thyroid levels had anything to do with it - which they think is not the case, and if he pretty mcuh agreed with the diagnosis and treatment. Which he did

Even though I said to the midwife in labour ward I was open minded - I realised after thinking I really had talked myself into a normal birth. But now I guess I need to get used to that she will be going into the nursery, C-section and we may not be able to hold her. That's what set me off last night because I just want to put her in my arms but am scared she is so little.

Goodness me I can :ecomcity:. Definitely cup of tea time!

Widget
07-12-2007, 06:38 AM
Lilli, I didn't see this thread (I go into Jan via my subscribed threads)...

:hugs: I hope you are doing well otherwise!!

The nursery isn't as scary as what you may be thinking. And although I haven't experienced being told before the birth that there could be something wrong, I think that would be a little bit better than finding out that there is def something wrong after they're here!!

You have been blessed (I know it doesn't feel like it right now) with a forewarning, you have time to get your head around things and you know that she'll be in the best hands possible (next to Mummies) to make sure all is ok!!

You should still get to hold her before she goes to the nursery... When Annabelle was born, DF held her at my head and I got to look up at her, it's not the same as having that first hold, but you can request it I think...

Chelle123
07-12-2007, 07:32 AM
Lauren - you're making me cry. I'm so sorry you have to go through this. And as V said, its probably better that you are forewarned as you have time to prepare yourself.

I'm glad your mum can be there for you too.

:hugs::hugs::hugs:

justme77
07-12-2007, 07:46 AM
Hey Lauren,
Oh mate, how scary for you. I dunno what to say.
Hopefully shes just gonna be a tiny little chicky, and all is well.
And Im sure youll have all of us thinking of us at the time, and in the future.
Youve still got a few weeks worth of her rolling around in there, so hopefully shell realise her time inside mum is nearly up, and have a growth spurt.
I'm thinking of you mate.

Take care hey, get these couple of days of work out of the way and then rest up.

Jay xo

pinkandblue
07-12-2007, 08:00 AM
Just wanted to let you know that the same thing happened to me and my baby was fine.

They noticed at 34 weeks that my baby was small. I was on weekly ultrasounds until 37 weeks when I went into labour naturally. They also told me if bubs wasnt growing that they would take him out straight away. Reason for my bub not growing was my placenta wasnt working properly.

My DS was born at 37 weeks weighing 1900grams. He was tiny but there was nothing wrong with him. He was in the special care nursery for 2 days and then he was allowed in the ward with me. We didnt have any problems breastfeeding but he did have some jaundice so was on the bili bed for a day or two.

They also thought there might be chromosomal problems but I wasnt told this to later. Reason they thought this was because he has a single crease in his palm but all blood tests came back ok.

My DS just turned 2 a few weeks back and you wouldnt be able to tell that he was that tiny, he looks like any normal kid.

Try not to stress, just enjoy your pregnancy. And make sure that you have plenty of 00000 clothes because thats all my DS wore for the first 6 weeks (Pumpkin Patch PREM size will be too big so dont bother getting any of those for the first couple of months).

If you have any questions, just ask or PM me.:hugs:

ETA: When my DS was born he was checked over first and then we were allowed to hold him straight away and spent the next 30 minutes holding him until he had to go to the special care nursery so please dont try to stress too much.

LilliS
07-12-2007, 10:15 AM
I didn't even know about 6 x 0. Where would I get those?

Good to hear a positive outcome of a similiar story. Thanks for that. :thumbsup:

Were you told you would be having a c-section or they would wait and see?

Bo0tifuL
07-12-2007, 10:47 AM
Keep your chin high hunnie!No matter what your going to be the best mummy ever! Just take things as they come,As scary and sad you may feel, just remember your baby is coming and she needs you :)

sairpaul
07-12-2007, 11:22 AM
hey Lauren Big BIG big:hugs: I have just got back from my ob and my baby isn't very big either have to have a growth scan monday. Baby will be here a couple of days after x.mas or before. I kind of know how scary it is for you please keep :)ing and talk if you need to

pinkandblue
07-12-2007, 04:57 PM
I didn't even know about 6 x 0. Where would I get those?

Good to hear a positive outcome of a similiar story. Thanks for that. :thumbsup:

Were you told you would be having a c-section or they would wait and see?

5 x 0's should be fine, but I think you can get 6 x 0's in Target but they dont stock many. Also if your baby is in special care they provide clothes there and also tiny disposable nappies because the cloth nappies are too big.

I wasnt told anything about having a c-section. I was told if DS stopped growing then they would be inducing me straight away (but he was my second baby so dont know if that makes any difference).

MissSookyLaLa
07-12-2007, 05:09 PM
hey lillis, big :hugs: to you, be strong and im sure bubs will be fine, even if a little on the small (and cute!) side!

hope you are doing well, do you know when they will do the csection yet? You will have bubs for christmas so thats exciting!

Crazy Monkey
07-12-2007, 08:00 PM
Hey Lauren,

so sorry you're going through this, but keep a positive frame of mind... I'm sure your little girl will be fine... My niece was born at 35 weeks weighing 1900 grams and is doing so well now.. At first we thought she'd be in hospital for 3 weeks but left with her mum a week after she was born...

Doctors do get it wrong, so stay positive and rest up...

Take Care

LilliS
08-12-2007, 06:17 AM
Thanks everyone for your support! :hugs: It's funny how I keep checking for advice on here rather than all of those stories people keep trying to tell me.

I hope we will no more on Tuesday after the - steroids, monitoring, and scans so :fingerscrossed: for some more positive news. Not that my news is the worst around but definitely not what we were expecting. Has jump started us into choosing a middle name, packing bags and getting all organised. :doh: And guess what we have overlooked - nappies!!! Poor bub.

Haven't been told a date for a c-section yet as we will discuss more on Tuesday. He said I will be having one at before 36 weeks though because he has to play it safe and use the information he has available but we did ask if it would change and he said very unlikely. It will only be earlier if she shows she is distressed or growth slows more. He has given me the steroid injections to help her if she has to be pulled out early - 34 weeks.

Widget
08-12-2007, 07:18 AM
Hey Lilli, what is the date for 34 weeks?? Just curious!

:wizard: Let's hope she's grown enough to stay in there a little longer!! :babydust2:

You're more organised than me and we have MAX 4 weeks left!!

LilliS
08-12-2007, 07:26 AM
I am 33 weeks this weekend, so....

34 weeks will be - 16 December
35 weeks - 23 December
36 weeks - 30 December

For some reason I thought the week of Christmas was 36 weeks but guess not. I may be able to go after Christmas then. :fingerscrossed:

Do the steroids just do her lungs or will they help her grow a bit too?

Widget
08-12-2007, 07:35 AM
I don't know Lilli. I only know one person who's had them IRL but he was also 2 months early so she probably won't know (he's supposed to be a day older then Annabelle)...

I hope she's grown enough to stay put just a little bit longer not being selfish or anything but I'm supposed to go first - on the 17th LOL

You're the one with the M name in mind aren't you??

Middle names are beyond me at the moment, have nothing for bag except pjs, don't even have a cot mattress for bub!!

LilliS
08-12-2007, 07:42 AM
PJs - oh bugger!! :doh: Only have a nightie but not a button down one.

Nope no M name - first name starts with C but hubby did like Madison for middle name but I'm not sure. We sat down last night and I liked Alexandra, Olivia, Nicole, Emily and a few others I have forgotten (must write down!!!). He likes Jennifer, Jessica, Tiffany... so we're going well. LOL

I am more than happy for you to go first!!!! Is that the date you think bub will come?

Widget
08-12-2007, 07:53 AM
Surely is the date I reckon she'll join us... 37.1 weeks!!

My nightie (I don't actually have PJ's) which I used for Annabelle's birth isn't a button one, I just slipped the shoulder strap off...

DF won't even discuss middle names with me... Musta been Sair with the M name then... :detective:

sairpaul
08-12-2007, 11:59 AM
Sure was me Widge. Still going with it but changed the spelling.

Hey Lauren i love the name alexandra. My parents asked for my opinion when my sis was born I was 13 i liked jade but they liked Alex for boy or girl so we all decided on Alexandria Jade. I think its nice.

MissSookyLaLa
08-12-2007, 03:31 PM
Alexandra is beautiful!

jas08
09-12-2007, 07:25 PM
alexandra is a nice name. My friend has it picked out for her little girl. My eldest son is an alexander.

pinkandblue
14-12-2007, 08:38 AM
LilliS, so what happened on Tuesday?