View Full Version : Brisbane and Surrounds: SE Qld meet for Oct-Dec 2007 mummies!!
Okay ladies, the West Australians and the Melburnians have led the charge, now its time to see which Oct-Dec 2007 mummies from Brisbane and surrounds such as Sunshine & Gold Coast (Toowoomba too!!) are interested in meeting up in Brisbane in early 2008.
I think we would need to let the dust settle after the excitement and busyness of Xmas :tree: and New Year :party:, so maybe a meet sometime towards the end of January?
I'm posting this to see who is interested in meeting up (& where you are from) and any suggestions for a firm date and location?? All ideas are welcome. Then once we've decided we can PM the details to those interested.
i'm keen :smiliedance::smiliedance:
i'm on the goldie too, you'll just have to let me know ages in advance where it will be, so then I can plan how to get there lol
TeamAwesome
08-12-2007, 09:32
Count me in!
I'm on the Sunshine Coast though we maybe in Caboolture area by end of Jan so even closer for meets but will also need a bit of notice to get myself organised.
I would love to meet up with the October mummies, so count me in too!
I am in Brisbane (northside). Late January sometime sounds great :thumbsup:
I'm in!
It would be great to meet you all :thumbsup:
Okay, how about Wednesday 30th January??
Now to decide on a good location.........any ideas?
I guess we could make it central given that people are coming from north and south??
TeamAwesome
16-12-2007, 09:02
Sounds good Zenifa... I have no idea where's "central" bar the city and I don't think we really want to go there with our small ones. lol. I've not been to Bris socially really since having Ty. Is Southbank still as family friendly as I remember? Then again this may not be suitable again as I've only been with families with older (7/8+ yo kids)
There are places like Roma Street Parklands and Southbank which are both family friendly, depends on the weather, and if people want to meet at a park, where there is a cafe too. By then most of our bubs will be 3mths+, so depending on heat people may opt for something indoors and airconditioned, so that could be a child-friendly cafe or playcentre.
I'm interested to hear what people's preferences are!
TeamAwesome
16-12-2007, 09:17
being end of Jan probably best to arrange for an indoor meeting place in case of (either stinking hot or possible rain) as then there isn't a last minute change for those who already don't really know their way around the area. My older two will be more then happy to run riot in a play centre while I chat.
I've been to Sunny Toys playcentre at Coopers Plains, and Lollipops at Cannon Hill and Springwood, they are all good, depends on the age and abilities of the child and it may be less noisy as our meet will be when school is back.
Has anyone recommendations for playcentres on the Northside?
TeamAwesome
06-01-2008, 09:49
Just giving this a bump and will go post the link so all the SEQ mums can come join us too!
Quincybaby
06-01-2008, 10:29
Okay ladies, the West Australians and the Melburnians have led the charge, now its time to see which Oct-Dec 2007 mummies from Brisbane and surrounds such as Sunshine & Gold Coast (Toowoomba too!!) are interested in meeting up in Brisbane in early 2008.
I think we would need to let the dust settle after the excitement and busyness of Xmas :tree: and New Year :party:, so maybe a meet sometime towards the end of January?
I'm posting this to see who is interested in meeting up (& where you are from) and any suggestions for a firm date and location?? All ideas are welcome. Then once we've decided we can PM the details to those interested.
Hi there, I live in Brisbane and was wondering if you would be able to help me. I am due in July 08, it's my first baby so very new to this. I'm currently trying to find some feedback on other opinion on the reputation of either Redcliffe or Caboolture Hospital as I was unable to get into the Royal Brisbane due to living too far so my only options are the above hospitals. Not sure which one to be referred to. Any advice would be really appreciated.
Quincybaby - It might be worth posting this in another thread....I'm pretty sure there is one for maternity hospitals, as you will get more feedback that way.
By the way, congrats on your pregnancy and good luck with the birth!!
So are we still planning to meet on 30th January?:confused:
Where shall we meet?
Any one know of a possible indoor playcentre that is central to the city?
Once we decide on that I can PM those interested the details of the meet!! Looking forward to meeting you all and seeing your beautiful bubbas (& terrific toddlers too!)
i dont really know anywhere in the city but could we make it some where near public transport? hehe i'll have to take a train from robina to brisbane:yes:
TeamAwesome
18-01-2008, 07:01
Just wondering am I the only one from the North of Bris or is there someone else? If I am the only one I'm more then happy to go more south side than central if that helps as I have a friend I was hoping to visit that day also who lives in Holland Park so would be heading a bit further down anyway.
Natalie
I am only new to bub hub, but I have just joined the Nov 07 bub forum. Not sure that I would be able to come on 30th Jan, but would definitely be keen to meet some of you at another stage. I live out at on the Bayside in Cleveland so only about 30 mins from the city.
Anyway, just wanted to let you know that i think it is a great idea to meet up. I am pretty lonely out at the bayside and don't know many people.
TeamAwesome
27-01-2008, 09:55
Hi Krixly! Welcome and congrats on being a new mummy! I used to live in Clevland area (Capalaba) about 12 years ago. What a lovely area to raise a bub in!
Unfortunately I don't think I'll be able to make it now :( My lovely girls are both sick Libby has croup and Angelina has a cold and both are just completely miserable and
I seem to be getting the flu. I'd hate to pass any of that on to any of you lovely ladies and your bubs so we'll have to give this week a miss I'm afraid hopefully we'll make it to the next one!!
Natalie
Don't think we can make it this week either.
Perhaps we should try to fix a date next month in Feb, and we can decide on a location too.
Keep me in the loop on dates and I'll try and make it.
Another Northsider here too Antlmummy!
It turns out this week isn't going to work for us either, but a February catch up would be great - look forward to meeting all the other mums and bubs! :p
TeamAwesome
28-01-2008, 14:03
oh good I don't feel so bad now. Feb should be much better for all it would seem!
Keep me in the loop on dates and I'll try and make it.
Another Northsider here too Antlmummy!
I'm actually on the Sunshine Coast but will be :fingerscrossed: moving closer to Bris (or at least midway) in another 6months or so.
Hey guys, I don't think i'll beable to make it this week either, i'm not too well, and this week is pretty full on, well the later part of it anyways
If you guys are thinking of a feb meet, unless its in the first half of feb I probably won't beable to make it, cause i'm going on holiday till the first week of march, i'll keep a eye on this thread anyways too see when ya's decide on another date
Hi there all! I'm another new Mum from Brissy and would be interested in a get together. Have just emerged from the bleary-eyed first 6 weeks and haven't looked at bub hub for a very long time. Hopefully now I might get more of a chance to pop in from time to time.
Krixly - I'm not too far from you! I'm at Wakerley. Hopefully we'll get to meet at a future get together! :yes:
Okay so this week is out, maybe we should try to make it in a couple of weeks time? Does Mon 11th Feb suit people?
If not suggest another date!!
Also we need suggestions for a location, I have a car, so I can travel if needed!
monday sounds good to me
can we have a south brissie meet? I have no car so will have to train it (if I can afford it) unless I can convince hubby that he doesn't need the car for half a day
TeamAwesome
29-01-2008, 21:05
The 11th should be fine for us Zenifa.
I too have a car so not too hassled where we hold it so long as it's easy to find on a map and there's somewhere for my older two to play then I'm pretty easy.
Natalie
OK since you guys have got cars I think ya's should come to the Gold Coast :laughing:
JK wishfull thinking here :D
Monday 11th would be good for me. Just depends on where it is and how my bub is coping travelling in the car!!! It can be a nightmare!
Kobie - Congrats on your new bub. I am pretty new to this forum so don't even know anyone here (in text). Nice to have someone close by! :)
Anyone have any other suggestions?
Jo - do you want us to come to your place? :laughing:
Hello everyone,
Sorry to hear this week is out!
Well I won't be able to make it on Feb meet, unless it's on weekends....have to start working next week.
Anyways.....if any chance you guys are meeting up on weekends, please let me know!
Otherwise, have fun ladies on Feb 11!
Jo, I could always pick you and the kids up from the train station - I think Kuraby is the closest station (I have got car seats for a toddler and little bub :D).
Anyone have any other suggestions?
Jo - do you want us to come to your place? :laughing:
sounds like a plan, I won't have DS with me cause its his preschool day, so will be just me a bubs, how come you've got lots of carseats?????
and lol at comming to my place, only if ya's like being squished up like sardines :laughing: this place is too small, we'll be shifting soon so will beable to have people over :smiliedance: can't wait
Hey Jo!!
If we are meeting at ----------- (deleted for privacy), PM me for details, my parents live near by so I can leave my DDs with them, while I pick you up and transfer you to the playcentre, then I can pop in and get them, its close and not that big a hassle (& I can do it, for going home too). I have 2 carseats, to fit a toddler and infant (which is what I thought you may need if you bring both DS and DD).
I was just kidding about having it at your place - do you really want a bunch of bubhub mums and all their kids at your place ?:D
The playcentre is a good idea, because its airconditioned, there is stuff for older kids to do ie play and their are refreshments available. Now that school is back, it shouldn't be too busy.
TeamAwesome
30-01-2008, 15:12
Zenifa- I don't have a problem with a play centre. As I said not too hassled where so long as it's easy to find.
Hey girls
when is the meet? lol im so behind... i will try to make it just will have to see hoe im feeling after my op but if i dont make it have a great time and i will definately be at the next meet!!!
TeamPage
01-02-2008, 16:38
Is the meet still set for Mon 11th Feb? If so, what time will it be for?
I've only just found this thread, but Springwood sounds good - nice and close.
Yes we are planning at this stage to meet Mon 11th Feb, was thinking around 10am?? not too early as some mums are coming from gold and sunshine coasts.
TeamAwesome
02-02-2008, 06:27
Around 10 sounds good to me! Though seeing as I'm coming from the sunny coast we maybe a little late due to traffic and not knowing exactly where I'm going.
Should we try to work out that we all wear something PINK? (being the BubHub colour) I'm sure I have my bubhub ribbons somewhere. Oh wait I know, I have a Pink sling coming next week so I can wear/put bub in that, much more obvious than the bub hub ribbbon would be on my bag.
Yes, that is a great idea Nat, we can wear something pink - shirt, shorts, skirt, dress, shoes, socks or something in our hair!!
So maybe we should start a list of who is planning to attend, as its only 4 days away.
I will start
Zenifa - plus my DDs of course!!
lol Love the pink idea,
hey I don't think i'll beable to make it now, I won't have any money to train it up there, cause I have to go up to brissy tomorrow now for Alexis's appt, so all my money will be used up on carparking (I hate parking at hospitals, they always take heaps of money from me, so expensive)
its a bummer we didn't organise it for tomorrow
well I could possibly do something tomorrow, as DD1 will be in daycare. Where will you be and what sort of time?
Pm me if you want
TeamAwesome
07-02-2008, 11:41
Zenifa - plus my DDs of course!!
Natalie(antlmummy)- plus 3 kids.
:( I can't use my pink sling now as it's too big and I have to return it so won't have a new one for Monday (bummer) but I will wear a pink shirt and Libby will as always be in pink of some sort probably her Dora shirt which I have to drag off her to wash and of course Angelina will be in pink also.;)
SO Ladies THINK PINK!:smiliedance:
PS Zenifa you need to edit your previous post to the one you edited and Jo needs to edit her quote of you too.
TeamAwesome
08-02-2008, 07:26
found out last night Aden is coming home tomorrow (he's my DH for those who don't know) Just wondering does anyone have a problem with him tagging along on Monday? He's very respectful of mummies BFing or bottle feeding for that matter.
He wants to go to GameDude for some computer part which is near by and will probably also play with our two toddlers so he won't be sitting down too much with us girls apart from to have a drink or a snack (although he is yet to hear of my plan for meeting up as it kept slipping my mind oops)
Anyway just wanted to check with you girls as I wouldn't want to offend or upset anyone by bringing him along with no notice. I promise I won't be offended if you say you'd prefer him not to come. I'm sure he'd love an hour to himself at a computer shop, lol (feel free to pm me if you don't want to write in here)
Natalie
Thanks Nat, I have edited that post!!
Bummer about your sling.
Of course I have no problem with Aden coming along, he's more than welcome, and I'm sure you'll appreciate the extra pair of hands and eyes with your little ones.
Looks like it could just be us meeting up.
Hey guys! Next time you meet I would love to come along, I have a 2 yr old DD and a 10 week old DD.... I am on the Nth side but don't mind travelling. WOuld be great to meet some more Brissy mummies!
TeamAwesome
10-02-2008, 18:38
Hi Zenifa,
I sent you an email (hope you don't mind) but thought I'd put it here too just checking to make sure we're still meeting up tomorrow?
Nat
I was looking forward to meeting everyone today, but I think I am coming down with something (sore throat last night, feeling worse this morning) so I think I will have to give today's meet-up a miss. I don't want to risk making any other mummies or bubs sick :no:
Hope you all have a great day. :fingerscrossed: I can make it to the next one!