View Full Version : Games you play with your kids when no-one else is watching!
MrsMiggins
06-03-2006, 17:00
Isn't it great that we're not afraid of embarrassing ourselves in front of our small children?!
My DD loves it when I'm making up her bottle of formula & I dance around the kitchen shaking her bottle & throwing it around like Tom Cruise out of Cocktail, singing "Hippy-Hippy Shake"!
What do you do around your kids you wouldn't be caught dead doing in front of any other living human? :smiliedance:
Ruby Slippers
06-03-2006, 17:27
Isn't it great that we're not afraid of embarrassing ourselves in front of our small children?!
My DD loves it when I'm making up her bottle of formula & I dance around the kitchen shaking her bottle & throwing it around like Tom Cruise out of Cocktail, singing "Hippy-Hippy Shake"!
What do you do around your kids you wouldn't be caught dead doing in front of any other living human? :smiliedance:
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: That's so funny and cute , well i sing a song while making toast ok i do the actions to lol i'm a piece of bread and i'm in the toaster
and i swat down and then pop up lol, they seem to love it. from Kylie.
jembelina
06-03-2006, 17:43
:laughing: :laughing:
I don't have one specific thing I do...........I'm pretty much crazy all day long! I sing the most ridiculous songs, dance like a loony and make silly faces. Ds loves it!! Runs in my family........both my nanny and my mum do it too. My little sister thinks we're crazy - little does she know it will catch up with her when she has kids too:laughing:
My DH and I do bunny hops over to them and tickles when we get there. It will stop any tears!
I dont act any different if Im alone with DS or if there are a million people around. :D I am constantly making up silly songs, dances, voices and different games to play. I would say our neighbors think I am a runaway from a mental hospital:p , but I dont care, I love to watch DS's face when we are being silly!!
I dont act any different if Im alone with DS or if there are a million people around.
Same here, I will be in the middle of the shopping centre singing da gloomph went the little green frog one day or rock a bye bear by the wiggles! And of course always with the actions!:D :smiliedance:
hayleylea
06-03-2006, 20:13
:laughing: fiona! i do something similar with DS's bottle i shake it up dancing round the kitchen & singing "shake shake, shake your bottle" (instead of shake shake, shake your bootie) lol how embarrasing :o DS also loves when i blow rassperies to him, the embarrasing thing is i can be walking round the shopping centre now and i just blow a rasberrie out of the blue....:rolleyes: wonder if anyone wonders whats the craZY lady doing! :laughing:
MrsMiggins
06-03-2006, 20:27
Same here, I will be in the middle of the shopping centre singing da gloomph went the little green frog one day or rock a bye bear by the wiggles! And of course always with the actions!:D :smiliedance:
Claire loooooooves "Rock-a-bye Your Bear"!!!!! I have been singing it to her since she was a few weeks old, including all the actions and she has been able to recognise it within the first word or two for months! She beams the biggest grin you ever saw! So cute!!
Hayley, I also blow raspberries at Claire when we go shopping! And I sing shake your bottle!!! That is so funny!!!!!
hayleylea
06-03-2006, 20:29
Claire loooooooves "Rock-a-bye Your Bear"!!!!! I have been singing it to her since she was a few weeks old, including all the actions and she has been able to recognise it within the first word or two for months! She beams the biggest grin you ever saw! So cute!!
Hayley, I also blow raspberries at Claire when we go shopping! And I sing shake your bottle!!! That is so funny!!!!!
how funny! great minds think alike! hey fiona why arent you on messenger anymore!!?!?!:confused:
hayleylea
06-03-2006, 20:30
oh and fiona i sometimes blow rasberries now even when im doing the shopping by myself just out of habit! lol :o :laughing:
Baby Girl
06-03-2006, 20:53
Whatever crazy things we do at home we also do in public. We jump in puddles, we walk on brick walls, we jump over the cracks on the footpath, we sing, we dance.
It is not unusual to see me and DD1 hopping down the aisles at the local supermarket or dancing or twisting or spinning (only in an empty aisle for that), you get the picture :D The people who work at our local Woolies used to look at us very strangely but now they all say Hi when we get there!! We have even had the shelf stackers dancing with us if we go very late at night :smiliedance: DD2 is amused as long as I am making silly noises so generally she is in the trolley being whirled around while DD1 and I dance and make funny noises as we go!!
DP won't come to do groceries with us anymore - I don't really know why :rolleyes:
Chickadee
06-03-2006, 23:29
Like Schmell, there's not much I do with DD in private that I won't also do in public. It started with singing to her at the grocery store when she was a baby (and you really don't want to hear me sing!) and has progressed to pretending to be monkeys - complete with noises, jumping around and scratching armpits. :yelclap:
SassyMummy
06-03-2006, 23:31
Chanel loves it when I sing...especially some songs more than others.
I do a "Village People Medley" which she can't stop laughing at (that kind of laugh where you end up making no noise...lol). It involves YMCA, Macho Man and In The Navy. She especially loves the "muscle pumping" of the Macho Man bit, and the "salute" of the Navy bit. :yelclap:
I also just sing songs around the house...when she's getting a nappy change, I sing that 80s song "Ring my Bell" to her...but change the words to: "You can change the bum...you can change the bum...".
She also likes a bit of Beyonce booty-shake action...she laughs so hard that tears come out. Maybe it's just my big fat bum? I dunno...
Arrr I am another Mummy who is just as crazy in public as I am in private and my DD loves it:p
I have even had some people say WOW you have a great voice:laughing:
MrsMiggins
06-03-2006, 23:39
I do a "Village People Medley" which she can't stop laughing at (that kind of laugh where you end up making no noise...lol). It involves YMCA, Macho Man and In The Navy. She especially loves the "muscle pumping" of the Macho Man bit, and the "salute" of the Navy bit. :yelclap:
lol :D
I help Claire do the arm movements to YMCA and it makes her giggle! I love it!! I also sing "In the Navy" to her - I'm not sure how that one started, I think it may have been in the bath!
Hey, I grew up listening to those songs in the 70's - what's your excuse?! :D
:laughing: I love this thread!!!
I'm not the only one who is crazy hey??? My ds thinks that I and his dad are the maddest people ever but loves us for it!!!! We sing silly made up songs all the time, and isn't it funny how everything you do you seem to make up a song about - making a bottle, changing a nappy, feeding, etc - at least it makes things fun!!!
Every time we're going shopping we sing our "we're going to the shops" song to him and do a little funny leg dance and he seems to know that we're going out as he gets so excited. We sing Fruit Salad, D.O.R.O.T.H.Y, and any other Wiggles song to get a laugh (he's a huge Wiggles fan).
I usually host a cooking show for him when he's in his highchair and I'm making him breakfast - he thinks it's great! It's nothing for me to dance like a mad woman in the rumpus room with the radio on just to get a giggle... Sometimes I get a strange stair and it brings me back to reality - who's the child here??? :laughing:
I don't really remember my Mum doing that many "funny" things when I was little but geez how I loved when she danced on the bed with me.... These are the things that I want one my lo to remember - the fun times! We laugh at how CRAZY we are with him at times and love the fact that we can be like this - isn't it amazing how kids can bring out the child in us?
I sing at the top of my lungs in the car with him and he now does the same (in his own little baby babble)... Australian Little Idol - here we come!!!
Mummy's always been an entertainer (loved the spotlight and still does) and Dad should have been a clown (but never found a circus that would take him LOL) so our little man has no choice but to be insane with us and be a show pony... At least I know he'll grow up with confidence, hey? :laughing: He's first night out with us at 4 weeks was to a Karaoke restaurant and loved it - we're getting in early!!!!
:laughing: Me again!!!
Just thought of a song that we sing to our AJ... It's playing on the radio now... But we've changed the words to suit us...
It's called "Run It" by Chris Brown and we sing...
"Put your bum on the floor
Gotta change it or we will know
Gotta see if it's runny, runny
Better hope it's not runny, runny"
Thought this might be funny if anyone knows the song!:D
07-03-2006, 00:00
I sing & dance all the time ! :o
I make up all sorts of things have done even with my animals LOL so bubs is no different !
One example is singing to him when changing nappies as this is a major drama nowadays. Going to totally embarass myself here but i sing " Clean clean duds whos got clean clean duds " to the same tune of "TNT - ACDC" :o
I also sang his name like " M I C K E Y - M O U S E " hahah im such a dag !
When i start singing now bubs actually pulls himself up on the lounge or the likes & starts dancing :smiliedance:
It makes me so proud :D
oh and fiona i sometimes blow rasberries now even when im doing the shopping by myself just out of habit! lol :o :laughing:
Don't you just hate that :laughing:. I catch myself doing stupid stuff that I would normally do with Thomas when I am alone in public places. People must really think I'm from the funny farm:o.
It's crazy what you'll do to get a smile or a laugh. My mum and I were even playing hide and seek/peek a boo with Thomas in Big W a few weeks ago. He was in histerics, the three of us running around the store - it was even making other shoppers laugh.
I lie on the floor next to Elysha and wiggle with arms and legs in the air and she'll try to copy the movements , my BF will also do this LOL
I also have the "hiccup" game as i call it which started when she had hiccups once. I do a hiccup noise and bounce her up in my arms against my chest- she'll sit and watch my face with a smile as she waits for the hiccup/bouce when bounced she'll do a big grin and wiggle lol If she has them i try to time it with her Hiccups LOL
We also do the head and shoulders knees and toes song a bit now and she gets sung "I'm a happy little vegemite" a bit lol
MumsieMel
07-03-2006, 07:08
KYE
Thats a great song interetation!! LOL :laughing:
I love this thread, we often dance around the lounge room to songs and make silly faces at each other! I love those real belly laughs, PRICELESS!! :thumbsup: :yelclap: :smiliedance:
Baby Girl
07-03-2006, 22:21
ooohhhh Monkeys, MarthaM, I might have to add that one to our repertoire :laughing: :yelclap:
Kirstlea
07-03-2006, 23:10
DD and I love to dance around the house to music - one of her favourites is Eifel 65 "Move Your Body" and boy is that a hoot as we shake it around.
We play Matador with her blanket up and down the hall way with all the noises and shaking etc. I guess we should be doing that outside but I kind of save that one for rainy days.
When she was much younger I used to sing that song from Animal in the muppets b num num a num do do do do every time she was crying.
She stopped crying every time and laughed. I did this anywhere though even in the super market as it was better than listening to her cry.:o
Does anyone remember the muppets?:p
MrsMiggins
07-03-2006, 23:15
Does anyone remember the muppets?:p
OMG YES! Why?! Are we that old?! (Now, if you remember Fraggle Rock, you might be in trouble! ;) )
Would you beleive it, I am actually watching The Great Muppet Caper on my computer as I type :o !
And I guess I am in reeeaaal trouble, because we nicknamed our unborn child after Fraggle Rock.:eek:
MrsMiggins
07-03-2006, 23:19
Oh, and I just thought I'd share with you all a new song I've added to our repertoire today.
To the tune of The Village People's "In the Navy" (not sure why this one keeps popping up!):
In the car seat;
We have to put our seatbelt on!
In the car seat;
Just in case some-thing goes wrong!
In the car seat;
Come on and get your arms in there!
In the car seat;
In the car seat.
(Repeat as often as is necessary to stop the tears when putting the seat belt on!)
:D :smiliedance:
MrsMiggins
07-03-2006, 23:22
Would you beleive it, I am actually watching The Great Muppet Caper on my computer as I type :o !
And I guess I am in reeeaaal trouble, because we nicknamed our unborn child after Fraggle Rock.:eek:
:laughing: Do you know, I was actually going to say - I'm sure there's someone on bubhub named Fraggle something-or-other! hee! hee! :laughing:
That's Fantastic Fiona, I'll have to remember that one!
Yeah, my husband and I were remeniscing about child hood favorite kids shows, and that was both of ours. I Don't know, it just kind of stuck:D
Kirstlea
07-03-2006, 23:25
Yep I remember Fraggle Rock - good grief:o
Do you all remember the song I sing to Paige?
b num num a num do do do do
MrsMiggins
07-03-2006, 23:28
ummmm.... yes! I actually had it as one of the ringtones on my old mobile phone! :o I was a bit disappointed it wouldn't work on my new phone!
MrsMiggins
07-03-2006, 23:29
It's also the theme song in the "Banana Boat" sunscreen ad!