View Full Version : Gestational Diabets

wktz
06-03-2006, 17:48

I have just found out that my glucose test has come back with an abnormal result (>10 and apparantly it should be < 7.8) and I have to go for the diagnostic test in a few days time.:thumbsdown: My OB says it doesn't mean anything until we get the results of that one back, but I am scared that I do have it because I didnt eat anything which could have influenced the results last time ....although I wish now that I HAD eaten a chocolate bar so at least I could blame that! ;) . I've been told to follow a high carb diet for the next three days before the diagnostic test, and I'm assuming I should also stay away from anything high in sugar.

Has anyone out there been through this before?. Can anyone give me any advice / insight into what it actually means if I do have GD and whether or not it will affect the baby?. :confused:

I don't know anyone who has had GD, and I'm a bit upset about it all right now, so I would really appreciate hearing from anyone else who has been through this.

Thanks very much,
Kirsty

Sarie
06-03-2006, 18:24
Hi Kristy!
I had GD through my last pregnancy and it is really not anything to get too worried about. You should be able to keep it under control by diet and exercise. I managed to keep my readings nice and low so I was able to stop testing before the end of my pregnancy.
I wouldn't get to worried about it just yet, I had an abnormal first reading with my first son but on the second test it came back fine.
But should you have GD you will probably have to start going to the diabetes clinic and they will get you to see a dietician. Basically I was told to stick to low fat, low sugar, low carbs. I was aloud 2-3 serves of carbs (1 serve= 14gms) per main meal and 1-2 serves of carbs per snack. I was also told to exercise for at least 10 minutes in the 2 hours after eating.
I did 20 minutes on our exercise bike after each meal and we also walked 3-4km every afternoon.
If you do have GD you will also have to test your blood sugar levels around 4 times a day. It's very easy you will get a little machine (probably have to hire it from the hospital) and they'll show you how to use it. My readings were between 4-7, I think they like them to be between 5-8.
If you have any questions or need someone to talk to feel free to pm me!
Best wishes!
Sarie

wktz
06-03-2006, 20:38
Thanks Sarie, that does make me feel a little better. Right now I'm just trying to figure out what I need to eat for the next three days before the GTT - the instructions I was given just say to eat the equivalent of four pieces of bread, a bowl of cereal and two potatoes....I figure I'll just include those exact things in my diet each day and at least then I know I'm eating the right amounts :laughing:

Although surely pasta would have to equate to a couple of potatoes do you think, if I had spaghetti one night instead?.

The instructions didn't say what NOT to eat, but I'm assuming I should stay away from orange juice and anything high in sugar. Is fruit ok?. I know that's quite high in sugar, but at least it's fructose which is better than sucrose (I think!). Aargh, if I do have GD I guess I'm about to become an expert in these sort of things ;)

I was actually quite fit and healthy before my pregnancy, and I guess I'm lucky that this is the first thing that's gone wrong. Unfortunately I suffered morning sickness (or should I say, all day sickness :mad: ) for the first 17 weeks though, and I was just too exhausted to leave the house, so my exercise regime came to a grinding halt and the only thing I could stomach was sustagen, so I piled on the weight:o . This will be the incentive I need to get walking again every day - so on the plus side, my dogs will be very happy!!.

My main concern is that nothing goes wrong with the baby, so I will do whatever I can to make sure it stays healthy.

Thanks again for your advice, I will PM you if I have any specific questions, and I'll let you know how the GTT test comes out.

Gribel
06-03-2006, 21:49

I just pm'd you....hope all is ok??

xkwzit
06-03-2006, 22:44
Hi wktz
I also "failed" the first GTT both pg, but the second test cleared me both times. So its def too early to worry.

You can't do anything but following the advice about carbos and fasting before the test. If you do a search, you'll find a few GD threads here.

rynosmum
06-03-2006, 22:52
I also had to take the 2nd test due to an abnormal reading in the first.

Apart from the pain of having to wait a couple of hours and drinking the yummy stuff again, it was all okay.

If it's any consolation, I didn't have any guidelines on what to or what not eat prior to the second test and it still came out okay.

Best of luck !:)

wktz
07-03-2006, 17:41
Hi Rynosmum - apparantly the high carb diet for three days prior to the test is a new thing - the woman I spoke to at the lab couldn't even tell me what it was for ! :eek:

My doctor just said to eat whatever I would normally eat because the fasting will show the true results. I'm going to eat the carbs and stay away from sugary or fatty foods anyway, because I figure if I do have it I might as well start eating properly right away :)

Its good to hear that it's not the end of the world if I do have GD though, and it's very encouraging to hear that some of you failed the first test but passed the second .... fingers crossed it was just the organe juice I had that morning that skewed the results!.

Right now I'm starting to worry about how on earth I'm going to manage to not eat for 12 hours before the test!! :laughing:

xkwzit
07-03-2006, 21:37
Go early, as soon as the place opens, if not a bit earlier and tell them what you're there for and that YOU WILL DIE if they don't see you first. I sat there like a silly goat waiting for my turn, but all those other ppl were out after one test, I had to be there for 3 hours and lunch was 30 minutes later than it otherwise could have been.:mad:

This is the one time where its OK to push in front of the elderly and infirm (just don't be too obvious about it :D )

stellaj
07-03-2006, 23:06
i didn't get told about the high carb eating thing before my 2nd test either, only the fasting from midnight the night before. Don't stress, we'll be alright either way. :kiss:

Sarie
08-03-2006, 09:17
Sorry I haven't replied before now! I've been a slacker I know.
I hope all goes well for your test! I had to do the high carb intake for my second test with PJ not with Nat though. Not exactly sure why though.
I'd also go as early in the day as you can. I went in as soon as it opened so I was able to go and have something to eat asap.
Sarie:hugs:

charlach
08-03-2006, 10:20
Hi, I have just been diagnosed with GD. Its nothing to be alarmed about. But I understand your concern. At first we think that its something we have done wrong, but its not. The diabetes educator and dietician will explain it all to you and you will have nothing to worry about. What they are trying to avoid when it is diagnosed is a large baby. My diet consists of:

b/fast
low fat cereal with low fat milk and banana
1 slice of wholegrain bread with scraping of butter and peanut butter
1 cup of tea

morning tea (is either one or two of the following)

2 sweet plain biscuits
1 tub of low gi yoghurt
piece of fruit

lunch
2 slices of wholegrain bread
with either tuna, salmon, chicken and salad
1 piece of fruit

afternoon tea is same as morning tea

dinner
lean meat or chicken with vegies (at least 4 vegies)
1/2 cup of tinned fruit with 1/2 cup of low fat custard

supper
1 banana or whatever fruit.

Its working and my levels are down under 4.5 consistently.

Dont worry or be alarmed, this is what the test is taken for.

take care ;)

wktz
08-03-2006, 18:07
xkwzit - that cracked me up!. I actually had to ring about 4 clinics before I found one that will do this test on a Friday, but now I have an appointment for 8am so I will make sure they see me right on time!.

charlach thanks heaps for the sample eating plan, I was wondering what sort of things would be involved but that looks quite easy. Apart from the yoghurt bit, I haven't been able to go within 10 feet of yoghurt since my morning sickness :eek: so I think I'll just eat lots of fruit!.

Thank you to everyone for your replies, I guess I panicked a bit when I first got told I had to do the second test but I'm feeling much better about it all now thanks to everyone here. Yay for Bub hub, it's a life saver!! :yelclap:

Sarie
09-03-2006, 09:59
Good luck for tomorrow morning Kristy!!

KiLLaKaZ
09-03-2006, 12:16
good luck for tomorrow! :D

i'm going for my first G.D. test tomorrow... :fingerscrossed:

i totally forgot about the not drinking orange juice thing (my FAVE drink)!!
thanks for reminding me! :D

wktz
11-03-2006, 21:51
Well I had the test yesterday and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. I was there a bit early, so I took your advice xkwzit and made sure I was at the front of the queue :D

I didnt know they took three lots of blood though, I thought it was only two, so I felt like a bit of a pin cushion afterwards.

I was STARVING by the time I got out of there, but luckily there was a bakery next door so I went and bought a roll straight away :laughing: . I'm trying to be good with my diet though in case I do have GD....part of me thinks I should eat whatever I can now while I still can, but the rest of me keeps saying no, it will be bad for the baby, be good!.

Thanks everyone for your help, I'll get the results back early next week so I'll let you know how it goes, but I'm feeling a LOT more confident if I do have it :p

xkwzit
11-03-2006, 22:29
Hi wktz

I nicked across the road for a bacon and egg sandwich after my second one (it wans't on the menu, but I asked if they would make me one :D ). A roll sounds v healthy to me :D . Thanks for the update and keep us posted.

wktz
11-03-2006, 22:42
Ha ha ha - it had cheese and bacon on it, but I wasn't going to mention that!! :D

wktz
14-03-2006, 19:53

Well it's official, I have Gestational Diabetes :thumbsdown: . My results were only 0.2 over what is considered the normal range, can you believe that.

Today I had to go and get a blood glucose monitor (ouch!) and speak to the midwife then my obstetrician about how to use it and what to eat. I've been given a rough guideline by the hospital as to what to eat, but I have to make an appointment to see the dietician and I guess she'll give me some more details. I have to record all my measures and go back to see my OB in another week.

Until I see the dietician, can anyone give me an idea of what I can drink?. I drink mainly water, but every now and then it gets a bit much and I put some cordial in it - is this ok?. I also have been drinking a lot of OJ since I got pregnant...the midwife said it should be ok, but to limit it to one glass a day :(

Thanks to everyone for your comments and help with this!

Sarie
14-03-2006, 20:37
Hey Kristy,
I would stay away from fruit juice, they're pretty high in sugar. There are some diet drinks that are ok, you can get diet cordial and I also drank some diet coke and diet pepsi fan (cafine bad I know, but I am a coke/pepsi adict!).
I also became a big fan of Equal to stick in my coffee and you can cook with it aswell.
Best of luck hon, they will probably have you go and see a dietcian they will have heaps of info for you aswell.!
Thinking of you
Sarie

xkwzit
14-03-2006, 20:57
Wktz

Bugger...but it sounds like you aren't too bad and so it should be pretty controllable. Low GI I think, but check out the other threads, they had diet advice.

wktz
15-03-2006, 14:04
Thanks Sarie - I will go and get myself some diet cordial!

Fortunately I don't take sugar in my coffee, so that is not a problem...although it looks like I may have to give up my morning caramelatte! :thumbsdown:

I have been trying to get hold of the dietician but with no luck, so until then I'm just bumbling along trying to figure out what works and what doesnt. My OB wants my results to be between 3.5 and 6.5, although he said under 7.5 is ok. Last night after dinner I was 6.6 but this morning after breakfast I was down to 5.4 - Whooo Hoooo!!.

I just hope the dietician can give me some ideas about different things to eat, otherwise I"m going to be living on cereal and multigrain bread for the next 10 weeks :laughing:

Sarie
15-03-2006, 14:22
hehehe, if you like to eat rice Basmati is the best to have. I never bothered with pasta, I just couldn't get it to the right amount to keep my readings under.
I ate a lot of Chicken and salad or fish and salad - no bread crumbs though.
Read all your lables and remember your 2-3 carb serves (14g per serve) for main meals and 1-2 carb serves for snacks.
Portions and exercise is everything and if you keep your readings low and exercise you can get your treats in (I managed to have a little chocolate every couple of days and still stay low) your allowance.
As you go you'll get an idea of what your body can handle and if you keep your exercise up you'll find your body can handle more.
One big thing remember to wash your hands right before you test. I did one test that was over 9 then when I went and washed my hads it was 5.4. I'd made DS1 a jam sandwhich and still had a bit of jam on my finger... :o woops.
You'll be fine if you ever want to talk I'm here!
Sarie:hugs:

wktz
17-03-2006, 21:08
Thanks for the tip about washing your hands Sarie...I forgot the other day and got a reading of 8.4 :eek: , freaked out, then washed my hands and did it again and it was under 6... phew!!

I've got an appointment with the dietician next Wednesday, which is not until the day after I see my OB again but she did give me a few tips over the phone. The diet seems to be working though, I've had one reading at 6.6 but other than that they have all been under the target of 6.5 :smiliedance:

One thing I am having trouble with though is getting enough blood out of my finger to do the test accurately :mad: . Sometimes I'm going through two or three strips before I get one to work properly - hopefully I will improve at this because they are not cheap!!. It's also interesting trying to juggle when I need to eat and do the tests with back to back meetings at work...at least I only have 6 weeks of that left though!!

fee's
17-03-2006, 22:57
One thing I am having trouble with though is getting enough blood out of my finger to do the test accurately :mad: . Sometimes I'm going through two or three strips before I get one to work properly - hopefully I will improve at this because they are not cheap!!. It's also interesting trying to juggle when I need to eat and do the tests with back to back meetings at work...at least I only have 6 weeks of that left though!!

I had that problem too. try pumping your hand, like squeezing a tennis ball just before, that seemed to get my blood flowing better.
My OB and endocronologist were mostly concerned with my fasting tests first thing in the am. Didn't matter what I ate the night before, unless I got some exercise the were heading towards the danger levels every time. so as hard as it is as you get further along with your pregnancy keep moving - will make all the difference.
good luck:fingerscrossed:

wktz
19-03-2006, 16:28
I had that problem too. try pumping your hand, like squeezing a tennis ball just before, that seemed to get my blood flowing better.
:

Thanks fee's, I tried that today and it seems to be working much better :)

TracieP
19-03-2006, 22:20
Have had GD now for about 7 or 8 weeks & saw the diabetes educator at our local hospital, she gave me about 2 pages of foods that were ok. She told me that my fasting level should be no higher than 5.5 & have been lower & 2 hours after food no higher that 6.5 or 7 sometimes it's a bit higer if Iv'e been naughty & had some pizza:p. Have found a nice muesli made by Carmens, keeps sugarlevel low, can also have the cups of noodles(Suimin brand) with a couple of slices of grain bread for lunch. Yoplait no fat is very yummy and hardly any sugar. Tins of baked beans & spaghetti are ok too. Hope this helps you a bit. Am only about 2 or 3 weeks away from having my baby hopefully I will not have GD after the birth:fingerscrossed:

wktz
26-03-2006, 20:29
Tins of baked beans & spaghetti are ok too.

I ate a tin of baked beans today and got a reading of 8.1 ??!!! :eek:

JenNT
26-03-2006, 20:46
When i had GD the doctor told me to go to the National Diabetes Assoc (for those in Bris it was at Chermside) anyway you register with them and it entitles you to very cheap strips and pricks.I think i paid about $2 for 100.

Cheers Jen

wktz
28-03-2006, 19:30
Thanks Jen, that's fabulous advice, I'll go and look them up right now and see if I can get to Chermside this week!:smiliedance:

28-03-2006, 21:41
Thanks Sarie - I will go and get myself some diet cordial!

No no no, you should avoid the diet things ie diet cordial diet coke etc as they contain artificial sweetner which you are meant to avoid when pg.

Their is a certain artificial sweetner you can have but I don't know which one so my advice would be steer clear of all!

jessgray
06-04-2006, 08:59
i was right on the line during my first pregnancy and was told i didnt have it.i have since found out that the results can be itterpretted (sorry cant spell) liek at one hosptial being on the line would mean you are high risk of having it but at another they say you dont. does anyone know if i am at risk of being on the line again this time round? or does it change with each pregnancy

Taylors_mum
06-04-2006, 14:35
Hi Jessgray, They do say your chances of GD increase with each pregnancy. So if you were on the line with your first baby you may very well be on or over the line this time round. Although if you stick to a healthy diet and exercise you should be fine.

As for the comment on artificial sweetners... not all are bad during pregnancy. The hospital dietitian should have provided you with a list of what sweetners are safe. If they didnt let me know and i will send you the info i have.

Sarie
06-04-2006, 16:16
Agree on the artificial sweetners front. Nutra Sweet is fine as are a few of the others, I'd have to really try to remember which others are ok, my brain often malfunctions these days;)

jessgray
08-04-2006, 11:01
thanks for that taylors_mum.
well its a good thing i feel ill after eating junk food then isnt it :laughing:

joozi
19-04-2006, 10:28
Hullo
I was diagnosed with GD as well, first time. I didn't have it with my first two, so it's all new.
So far, the things that have made my blood sugars spike are white rice and juice....anything white and refined really....I've since kept well away from these and haven't had any problems. I'm off for an ultrasound tomorrow to check on her size...
I was dreading easter, but did the research and found I could have a tiny bit of chocolate....and I did, and it didn't affect my readings at all....yipppeeee!!!!
Has anyone else been told about what happens once you have the bubby? My midwife told me there was the chance my bub might need a top up with formula should her blood sugars drop after birth, to which I replied NO WAY so now I'm going to start expressing some milk from 36 weeks so I've got a little supply to give her should she need it (on midwife advice). Anyone else had that suggested to them? Also, you many need to be prepared as I've been told they'll be checking her blood sugars and as they don't take the blood sugar monitor for the bubs out of the special care nursery for infection control reasons, she'll have to be taken in there....and unless I'm unconcious, I plan on going with her :)

Jo 34 :smiliedance:
DH 34
DS 11
DD 9
M/C 8wks August 05
EDD 30/5/06

Taylors_mum
19-04-2006, 10:49
Hi Joozi,

Sorry to hear you have GD. Have you tried eating Basmati rice?? thats the best rice as it is low GI. Anything white is a big no no (i couldnt even eat one slice of white bread without getting high readings). Try Soy and Linseed bread, its Low GI and really fills you up. If you have a look in Woolies/Coles in the health food section they have a few sugar free chocolates and it tastes like the real deal to me (big chocolate fan) i think the brand is called Mrs Williams.
I had the same problem with feeding. The midwife told me i only had one hour after bubs was born to get her feeding properly before i had to give her formula (the risk of her sugar levels dropping was to high). She wouldnt latch on so she ended up being formula feed. I was a bit disapointed but in the end all i wanted was for my bubs to be healthy. Once i put the bottle near her mouth she couldnt get enough fast enough. Expressing is a GREAT idea.
My bubs only had her sugar levels checked every 4 hrs for 24hrs and they did it with the same machine as they did mine.
Good luck with your readings... if you need help or advice im happy to help.

Sarie
19-04-2006, 11:29
PJ was in special care for 24 hours, his levels were very low and had to be on a glucose drip for 24 hrs. He was fine after that and has powered on to be a happy healthy 1 year old.
I'm already back on the GD diet and exercise routine I followed when I was pregnant with him as we are TTC #3. I was to minimise the chances of getting it again. Exercise is your best friend!

joozi
19-04-2006, 12:02
Hello again...thanks for the replies...!
I have been having the soy and linseed and it is great...keeping my levels down and filling me up. Sarie--sorry to hear your bub had to be put on the drip, but I guess we're just lucky we have access to such good monitoring and care. It would be great if they'd use my blood glucose monitor, I'd hate for them to take her away anywhere. As for exercise, I'm in a bit of a quandry as any walking sets off very strong braxton hicks and I've been told to take it easy..at least until I'm term in a couple of weeks. Also have to wait to express until 36 weeks as that might start labour too......
Taylors mum - i'll definitely give basmati a try...! What blood sugar level have you been told is high enough to be reported? I was told 8..then they said 7.5...? Wish they'd make up their mind. They're sticking in the fives and sixes now, which is good, but just wondering what you guys have been told?

ME - 34 :smiliedance:
DH 34
DS 11
DD 9
M/c 8wks 08/05
EDD 30/5/05

Sarie
19-04-2006, 12:08
I was told 7.5, but I think they don't worry too much until you get consistant 9's. Mine were all very low though I was getting mainly 4's and 5's, but I was super obssessive about exercise.
Basmati is great, I love it! I don't like eating ordinary rice now!!!

Taylors_mum
19-04-2006, 14:05
I was told 7.

I very rarely went over the 7 mark.... unless i ate pizza then i would get up around the 9-10's... Oops. I think between 5-6 is perfect.

If your a sweet tooth like me... maybe try Milo... thats if you like it of course but i could drink milo as my snack with something else like a peice of bread/toast and still be in the 5's. And it would keep my really ful.