View Full Version : Help blocked ducts, can't clear it!!

06-12-2007, 07:56
Hi girls I need some help!!
bubs is 4 months old and for some reason my boobs have gone into overdrive and now I have blocked ducts under my armpit.
That spot always seems to be the area to get sore if I am a bit engorged, but now it is full of lumps and I cant clear it,despite feeding and massaging constantly.
I need to get it cleared before I end up with masititis.
I have had problems with oversupply leading to masititis in the past ( had for 3months with DS1 before giving up and FF:() but things hve been going so well with DS2 and have only had mastitis once after he was first born.
I need to clear the lumps without stimulating the supply too much as it is the oversupply that causes the lumps oin the first place seems like a catch 22!

So what should I do, I am thinking I should head to the BF clinic this morning, but I have work in half an hour:rolleyes:

the_queen
06-12-2007, 08:50
When you feed, point his nose towards the lump (ATTN OTHER BFers: I am suddenly thinking I'm completely wrong there, someone please correct me - my brain is screaming "no it's teh CHIN it's the CHIN point the CHIN towards the lump") I am not sure if it's chin or nose. I'm sorry, this is not helping you at all! :( Meme would know - PM her. Or go to the ABA forum and ask - they are a wealth of BFing knowledge over there :yes:

You are doing all the other stuff I would suggest. If you can express, could you do that, and freeze it for future use? (you could even use it in cooking, make some mumma muffins YUM!) Could you express off one side while feeding from the other? But then this would stimulate supply :detective:

The phone numbers for the ABA helpline in your area are:

07 3844 8977
or
07 3844 8166

(you're in Brisbane, right?)

:hugs: HUGE hugs to you mate, don't focus on what happened with Xavier - I know that's hard but you need to just concentrate on Ezekiel and think positively, tell yourself you WILL get through this. You need good advice and good support, please ring the ABA and get in touch with a local counsellor. They could also put you in touch with some good local LC's who will also have some good advice.
:hugs: I'm thinking of you :hugs:

06-12-2007, 11:33
Thanks, I am going to see the LC at my local BF clinic soon, just got home from work and it's too late now, but there is an awesome CHN ( pro BF ) at the pharmacy this arvo so hopefully she can give me any tips other than what I already know, and what you have told me.
I might try feeding him in a diff postion next time and see if that helps clear the boob better.
Dont worry, all I went through with Xav has only made me more determined to make it work this time, we have got to 4 months so there's no stopping now!!
Thanks for the hugs, they are needed am sore:crying: