View Full Version : February 08 mums - December chat!

mahna mahna
05-12-2007, 09:19 PM

Just thought we could use a thread to chat about anything & everything!
And (IMO) no need to post personals everytime!

I'm starting to feel really excited (& a bit nervous) about having this baby. I'm quite slim in the hips, & TBH, occasionally I look down & wonder how on earth a baby is going to fit through there! But, I figure my body's built for this, so I'll have faith!

I know we posted it at the very beginning, but we've had newbies join & I've completely forgotten - are there many other Brisbane mums-to-be out there? And anyone else going through the Mater (Private)?

Well, that's it for now! Love to hear how you're all going!

*~alegna~*
06-12-2007, 09:15 AM
Mahna mahna, It's a scary gig the 1st pregnancy but I'm having the "I know what I'm in for.." #2 baby pregnancy worries. I'm having very, very regular braxton hicks & I didn't feel them with Heath (DS) so I'm thinking this time round's gonna be a little different:o

I'm on the count down now, Christmas will makethe time go even quicker then I'm off wrk & can :fingerscrossed: chill for 5 minutes before It all happened. I CAN'T wait to meet this little one though, Its funny I can't picture what she'll look like I just keep seeing Heath's face.....Not long now Feb Mammas:thumbsup:

Cin
06-12-2007, 01:19 PM
I have to say i am thinking the same Mahna Mahna, it is incredible what our body can do and how far it can stretch. I like to think that it is possible for something the size of a watermelon will fit out something that is normally the size of a pea. I like you remind myself everyday that numerous people before me have done this.

We are putting our pram together tonight so that will be exciting and will start on the room over the next couple of weeks.

Hope all are traveling well.

TillieAndBug
07-12-2007, 09:40 AM
I am a bit like Alegna in that it is the 2nd time round know what you in for thing...though this time my experience will be different...I will be going in for a c section at 38.5 weeks not being induced at 41.5, and ending up with an emergency c ;) But I am still terrified...and very nervous but excited about meeting my little bug! I keep thinking he is going to come early too, to outfox all the best plans...just like his sister decided not to budge :)
I also remind myself that millions of women have been doing this for centuries and that amazingly most of the time it is a breeze ... well you know what I mean...
I am having really strong BH too Ang, weird as never really had with Tillie and I know they are them as they feel like my contractions did...I am just wanting to get through Xmas and having the kids for a bit, then I plan to go on wind down!
We havent really done anything for this baby...not even moved my DD yet...mainly cos we havent had the time or energy to dismantle her cot...though her room is pretty much ready to move into...except for a few stikarounds! Our pram has been sitting by my bed for months...I cant wait to put them both in it! Oh and my sister sent us a maxi rider for DD, so we can then put bug in her carseat :)
I am in Perth Mahna Mahna, but I think from memory a few of the girls were Brisbane :) or Gold Coast...

kristi001
07-12-2007, 12:11 PM
Afternoon ladies!! :wave:

Mahna - Great idea Hun!

Anyways, I cant belive Its nearly christmas. :hissy:

This is My second bub so i guess not as nerve racking as you first time mums but i'm still feeling the strain of it being so close!

With Harrison i counted down days from about 22 weeks..

I still dont even want to think about it :laughing:

*~alegna~*
07-12-2007, 02:06 PM
Went to Dr y/day for routine visit. Everything OK re: GTT results so thats good.

Little one is in breach possie at the mo' so we're :fingerscrossed: she's gonna turn in the next 6-8 wks otherwise Ob will turn her for me :dizzy:..I'm sure she's be fine.

Off to Christmas party tomorrow night & DS is being Babysat so it'll be nice to have 5 minutes alone with DH.:cloud9:

BecD
07-12-2007, 05:12 PM
I'm also really excited about meeting my baby and (strange as it sounds) going through labour to see what my body is capable of! Don't worry mahna mahna, we women are built to bring babies into the world. :)

Our nursery is nearly done and we have chosen the pram we want but we probably won't get it until January because money will be a bit tight this month.

The only complaint I can think of at the moment is heartburn but I've figured out what to do to keep that under control so it never gets too bad.

We are having our 4D scan in 6 days so CAN'T WAIT for that!! :thumbsup:

mahna mahna
07-12-2007, 10:02 PM
Gosh yeah, the braxton hicks are fun... not! They tend to start up as soon as I exercise (i.e. get off the couch lol) & are soooo intense sometimes!

I got a shocker of a result for the 1 hour glucose test - 10.5!! (It's supposed to be under 8). But I'm hoping the couple of chocolate chip cookies I ate beforehand influenced the result - they told me to just "eat normally" & I ate the stupid cookies without thinking! I don't normally eat that much sugary stuff but been craving it lately. Anyway, back for the 2 hour test on Monday - :fingerscrossed:

Bubs is in breech position too - hopefully we can convince him to turn in the next few weeks!

carolinec
07-12-2007, 10:41 PM

I am getting pretty excited. I think the next 7 weeks are going to go pretty quickly with christmas to distract me. Only thing is it is starting to get very hot in Brisbane...
This is my first baby and I have have been very fortunate with a good pregnancy.
Still working BUt only have 2 weeks left... yay

Great to read how you are all doing.:sunshine:

JaidevsMum
08-12-2007, 09:43 AM
Hey everyone! I'm finding the BH much stronger second time around too. We havent done a lot to get ready for the bub but we have most of the things we need already from DS. In January I'm going to get out DS's old clothes and wash them so they're ready for this new little one.

I already feel like I cant possibly stretch anymore with this bub but know I will somehow. I dont remember it being like this with DS but it kind of feels like the baby doesnt quite fit - like he's always pressing outwards trying to stretch my belly and make more room or something. I've just started to get him poking under my ribs too. DH was wonderfully reassuring and suggested maybe he's going to be bigger than DS :rolleyes:.

I'm a little down as my DH has left for India now and I'm really missing him. I know it's only two weeks but in my tired and emotional pregnant state and with DS to run after and still waking up during the night it's not going to be easy.

I'm still sooooooo excited about meeting this little one. And really looking forward to the birth.

Anyone getting people touching and even talking to their belly (aside from you DP)? I'm not very touchy with anyone except my DH and DS so I really hate this part about being pregnant - it makes me so uncomfortable.

dormouse
08-12-2007, 01:14 PM
I haven't really had any BH yet. I didnt get them until the very last few weeks with DD so I am not concerned. I will just consider myself lucky!

I'm glad that I'm not the only one who has not yet done anything to prepare for bubs! I did go into the nursery & sort through the cot sheets & blankets the other day so I feel that I have done something now & am a bit more relaxed lol. I just know that this time bub will come early because I am not ready! Ava was 9 days overdue & I had been ready & waiting for her arrival from about 30 weeks. Sods law isnt it?

I havent really had a lot of people other than my mum, DH & DD touch my belly but we went to DH's Xmas party the other night & had so many men rub my belly. It was really uncomfortable! I just tried to ignore it though.

Great to hear that you are all doing well & there are not too many complaints!
Take care!

Mumof6
08-12-2007, 10:09 PM
I am NOT looking forward to getting this bub out... ... I had a hard labour last time, hemoraging etc... so it is very fresh in my mind.. I'm trying not to worry about how HUGE this bub might get... my last was 9 pound 10... and I'm only a size 8 non pregnant ROFL

I have 10 days till I get to see this little one via a scan... We are hopeful bub will fall into the 40% of healthy babies... so fingers crossed :)

Other than that... the general complaints... back is OUCH, legs are black with veins now, and the MS is coming back.

getting a lot of blood nose's... but focusing on the fact I have hit the 3rd trimester YAY

School finishes this week... Thank god... we have eldest DS year 7 graduation on Tuesday... Should be good , and he turns 13 on Friday.

I'm nearly organised for Christmas... about 70% done... but done nothing for this bub at all... oh I have a cot... still in its box :)

Hope everyone is OK, thinking of you all.

mahna mahna
08-12-2007, 10:13 PM
Anyone getting people touching and even talking to their belly (aside from you DP)? I'm not very touchy with anyone except my DH and DS so I really hate this part about being pregnant - it makes me so uncomfortable.

Yep, this is my pet peeve too! It's just one of those things that noone would dream of doing when you're not pregnant, but it's as if the normal standards don't apply when you're pregnant... :rolleyes:

BecD
09-12-2007, 10:40 AM
mahna mahna - Sorry to hear you failed the glucose test but it probably was those cookies. :) I have my test on Wednesday and I'm trying not to worry about it too much.

JaidevsMum - I'm not getting anyone talking to my belly but a couple of people have touched briefly. I think most people don't dare because I'm a quiet/shy/private person. I haven't really minded the few touches but obviously I would prefer people to ask first.

Mumof6 - Your m/s is back?? Oh no!! :no: I'm having enough trouble with heartburn so I can't imagine having m/s again as well.

Well, I did not have a good night's sleep - we had a BBQ at our place so we got to bed quite late and then I woke up with heartburn at 4:30am. :hair: I was planning on cleaning up the kitchen this morning but I can't be stuffed so that will have to wait. :)

I hope everyone is doing well!

kristi001
09-12-2007, 01:12 PM
Ok I'm Hot, sick and really tired!!

I just wish summer was Over!!! :mad:

we applied for a house today ladies so wish us luck!! :fingerscrossed:

MrsO
09-12-2007, 02:20 PM
Good idea Mahna, hopefully this thread will be a little easier to follow.

Good luck with the application Kirsti, it has to happen for you soon.

Everything is going pretty good here. We went off camping in the middle of nowhere last week, it was devine! Even took a hammock and all I can say is yes, I agree Mahna, hammocks and heavily pregnant women don't make for the most dignified of movements, but it was still very nice :sunshine:

My iron levels have taken a massive dive which, combined with my haemaglobin levels, accounts for why I'm constantly feeling faint and/or fainting. Just trying to take it easy, can't stand up for too long but other than that it isn't really too much of a problem.

Bubby is head down which is great and she's wriggling like anything! I reckon she'll be a bub who's one and only goal in life is to get her hands and arms OUT of the swaddling...hehehe :laughing:

In the process of organising everything for the birth, it is very exciting! Ordered our birth pool yesterday, can't wait for it to arrive!

Keep trucking along everyone...we're definately coming to the home stretch!

hayleylea
11-12-2007, 06:47 AM

I havent posted in here before. Ive been posting in the due in march thread but after scans etc my due date is around the 25th of feb so i thought id pop in here and say Hi! :wave:

This is my second pregnancy and everything has been going pretty good (apart from the ALL day sickness at the start up until around 14 weeks) But all is good now....just a bit tired here and there.

My little boy is 2 years old.

Anyway hope to try and keep up to date with this thread and hopefully get to know you all a little better :biggrin:

dingo
11-12-2007, 12:26 PM

All going well here. We had our first class at the hospital Sunday, it was all good, nothing we didn't really know but good to see the bithing suites etc and know where to go when it is crunch time.

Also had docs appointment yesterday and bubs is growing nicely, head down and still dancing like a maniac constantly. Apparently I am having BH, sisn't know that's what they were until I described these pains to my doc and she said that's what they were, but they are not all the time , just every now & then. Other than that & a bit of reflux I am feeling good. Still working, I feel now I may have been a bit adventourous commiting until end of Jan, ah well, we will see how things go.

Nearly finished Xmas shopping on weekend Thank God !! I am so over crowds in shopping centres. :xmas:

Baby's room still not much done, but all the furniture ec from lay-by gets delivered next week so then we can get in there and play.

Have a great week ladies, they sure are flying by..... :raspberry:

mahna mahna
12-12-2007, 09:26 AM

dormouse, may I say that's a fine looking preggie belly in your avatar! :D

mrs o, yes, hammocks are er... undignified, but oh so comfy!

hi & welcome hayleylea! :wave:

well, i still haven't heard the results of my diabetes test, so hopefully that's a good sign! you'd think they'd have rung me straightaway if i had it! trying really hard to lay off the sugary stuff, with partial success... :o

gosh, i feel ginormous & beginning to get really uncomfortable! I'm trying to go with the flow & slow down a bit, get more centred etc. I feel really lucky to have the chance to do so, as i know with #2 it'll be impossible.

I've been cooking up a storm in the kitchen - mostly to freeze for after the birth. I highly recommend doing this!!!

I'm wagging my antenatal class this week... :devil: they're on at 6:30-9pm & I'm exhausted by the end. bloody silly time to have a class for pregnant women if you ask me! most of us are half-asleep by the end anyway.

Hope you're all well!

dormouse
13-12-2007, 11:09 AM
Thanks mahna mahna! That pic was taken 4 weeks ago at 28 weeks. I am going to update it tonight.

I just got back from my 32 week appointment. I saw a different OB as mine is on holidays but she was very nice & it was good meet her as she will be the one to deliver my baby if my OB isnt available for some reason.
Bub has now turned around & is lying with its spine against mine. I think that changes though, because I often see what looks to me like a little bum poking out the front. Main thing is that he/she is in position to come out.

I think I spoke too soon when I said that I havent had any BH because they have been coming hard & fast lately! I remember getting them at the very end of my pregnancy in the evening when I was relaxing on the couch last time, but this time is very different with mild period like pains across the bottom of my tummy & back usually when I am walking around.
I have also been feeling big drops in my blood pressure sometimes when I was walking around the shops etc. OB said that is normal & remember getting this last time too. I am taking DH with me this arvo to finish the christmas shopping so I will be able to avoid the shops for a while now.

Otherwise, I am feeling pretty great! Still not prepared for the bub at all, but not worried about it any more. I figure everything will get done eventually so I am just going to relax & enjoy christmas with Ava & then sort it out.

Mahna, I did the frozen meals last time & it was a great idea. I will start again soon. I usually just cook a double meal in the evening & freeze half for later. DH thought it was great to be still getting home cooked meals while I was in hospy too.

I hope you girls are all well & ready for christmas! Once that is over we will all be well & truely on the home stretch! How exciting!!

PS, just wondering of anyone was interested in doing an SMS buddy list for when the bubs start arriving...

MrsO
13-12-2007, 11:31 AM
PS, just wondering of anyone was interested in doing an SMS buddy list for when the bubs start arriving...

I think that is a great idea, we should definately organise it!

ofiona
13-12-2007, 12:11 PM

I haven't posted here before so hope I don't come accross a bit voyeristic!

I am 29 weeks tomorrow with number 3. I have been having BH since the 20 week mark so most of you are lucky they are just starting. Oh and the heartburn, I hate it! Zantac is my best friend at the moment and sometimes even that fails so I start guzzling milk.

The bubba's room is organised only due to the fact it will be sharing with it's older brother. Most of the rest of the house seems to be a shambles though. God only knows where we will fit girl toys if we get a different model this time!

And it can't possibly be Christmas in less than 2 weeks can it? I'm not ready, we all just have to postpone it. :hair: I wish I was organised enough to think about cooking double meals but to be honest, I want my DH to have to deal with the organised chaos of daily life in this house while I am in hospital. I am sure he thinks I sit around filing my nails watching Oprah all day.

Oh well, off for a diabetes test, I think, I just show up and they jab me at will.:ecomcity:

Hope all is well with everyone, I plan on checking in regularly.

Cheers.

dingo
13-12-2007, 01:56 PM
I think the SMS list is a great idea too !! :)

mahna mahna
13-12-2007, 04:13 PM
Me three! How should we organise it?

dormouse
13-12-2007, 06:22 PM
Maybe I will post another thread & get everyone to reply if they are interested in being a part of it. Then we can work out pairs from there. I think it might work better if we each have 2 SMS buddies just in case one can't get online etc at the time.

dormouse
25-12-2007, 02:40 PM
Just wanted to pop in & say
:tree: MERRY CHRISTMAS:tree:
to all the February Mummies! I hope you all have a wonderful, relaxing day & keep cool in this hot weather!

Mummi2Be
25-12-2007, 08:36 PM
Merry Christmas all Feb mummies.
I cant believe that this time next year im going to be celebrating the holiday for the first time with my own family, I cant wait.
Hope every bodies day was great and they got all they wanted from santa.
Merry christmas

ofiona
27-12-2007, 08:42 PM
Hey Everyone,

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year for next Tuesday. I got lots of wonderful pressies and hope you all did too. Best one was from my OB who told me people are wrong, I am NOT having a huge baby (phew!) this one is normal size like the last 2 and it is already engaged with 9 weeks to go. Woo Hoo! Mind you, by the 3rd I think they are almost conceived in an engaged position. Anyway, knowing my OB like I do, he wouldn't mention that this baby might be a week or 2 early unless he truly believed it. Fingers crossed ladies, I won't be having this baby on the 29th of Feb.

Anyway, back to my leftovers... it seems such a shame I massively over catered for desserts!