View Full Version : Does anyone listen to JJJ?
mellybean
06-03-2006, 12:56
Hi there.....just wondering if anyone out there listens to JJJ.. also wondering if anyone knows if Mel Bampton who did the Mel In the Morning progaram had her baby and what she had. I thought she was due around the end of 05 but never heard anything......just curious is all!! I really liked listening to her show... a cool chick!
MrsMiggins
06-03-2006, 16:50
Yep! Me! Love the J's!!!
I can't believe you haven't had any other replies to this thread yet!
Unfortunately most of my radio listening was done on the way to work, so I don't listen to much these days - just in the car here & there.
I think Mel Bampton has only gone on maternity leave last month???? I may be wrong, it could have been someone else, but I'm pretty sure it was her.
mellybean
06-03-2006, 17:13
Looks like we are the only ones with good taste in music!! :D Hee hee!!
MrsMiggins
06-03-2006, 17:24
lol! :D
I can't even listen to other stations now! It's all just complete & utter rubbish!
Funkychicken
06-03-2006, 20:08
No no, wait for me. I read this thread earlier today but small ones prevented me from replying. I'm a JJJ fan also. Cannot stand commercial radio. It drives me insane having to hear all those darky ads. No wonder we're a consumer society. Sorry, I get carried away when it comes to bagging modern media. Back to JJJ. Before children I knew every part of the daily program and was in touch with most bands. These days are a little different, mostly because I don't get the chance to listen in as often and scary as it is to admit, I feel a bit out of touch with new bands. I used to listen to Sarah McDonald in the mornings when I was pregnant with DS#1 and after he was born, when I had it on he would go still as though listening to the familiar voice. I miss her on JJJ. In fact I miss many-Paul McDermott, Mikey Robbins, The Sandman, Adam & Will. I ebven miss Merrick & Rosso (traitors though that they are). So there are more of us out here.
Do you also watch Spicks and Specks? I love this show and it would be about the only TV show I plan to watch. And maybe Black Books when it is on.:yelclap:
MrsMiggins
06-03-2006, 20:34
When I first started listening to TripleJ, Mikey, Sandy & some chick (can't remember her name ..... Jen possibly?) were doing the breakfast show. I loved Adam & Will (Adam more so than Will) and even grew to not mind Jay & the Doctor. I loved Merrick & Rosso before they became complete sell-outs! I miss listening to super request on my way home from work! I like "hack" which I manage to catch from time-to-time. And I love Dr Karl!! Myf Warhurst's giggle cracks me up!!
I felt a bit sad that I was so out of touch I hardly knew any of the songs in the TripleJ Hottest 100 this year, but am still very proud to say that I have never heard any of the songs in the top 10 charts (in fact, I'm just assuming I haven't, I never do know any! I couldn't even tell you what's in the charts at the moment! My friends were recently horrified that I had never heard a certain J-Lo tune.... apparently "everyone" should have heard it a million times....)
Have you checked out their website lately? It's very good! (Ps: I just left a message for her on the guestbook asking about her baby!)
I'm a big JJJ's fan also. There was a public holiday in Perth today and DH was home, so I haven't been on line.
There was a thread on here a couple of months ago on this same subject, so there's a few of us out there...:thumbsup:
I think I started that one Pegasus. It was ages ago though.
You can put me on the list, although I don't really get much time to listen anymore.....I even missed the Hottest 100.:(
Hack would have to be my favourite segment.:thumbsup:
Does this include people who listen to JJJ because they have to? Every morning at 6am I am assulted with the loudest horrid music. On the hour long drive in to work I have to listen to the stupidest inane chatter and more horrid music. It is only on the hour-long drive home that I get to listen to hack. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind JJJ, I listened to parts of hottest 100 voluntarily, but Jay and the Doctor and their taste in music is off! The only good thing about their show is Space Goat. I think I'm still pining for Adam and Will! Myf is great, Hack is surprisingly interesting and informative, but I am going round the twist because DH listens to those stupid morning boys! Can't think of anything worse to wake up to! I'm actually looking forward to a crying baby waking me! No, seriously!
Well... guess that said it all. Hope you got a good laugh out of my rant.
mellybean
07-03-2006, 10:31
Good to see some more JJJ fans out there!!
Kacey - Jay and the Doctor's tatse in music is a bit more old school grunge than what Adam & Will used to play, but it's good to know at least they are playing what they want and not what the Top 40 trash record execs dictate to commercial stations. Glad to see you enjoy other aspects of the J's tho!
Fiona - I started tuning in the J's when Mikey & Helen Razor did the mornings. Remember when Judith Lucy was on too? She was great too.
Sal - i love watching Spicks & Specks too...Mfy rocks, she's really good at it
it is hard to keep tuned in as often as we did as free n' easy kid-less gals...we should listen online while we are bubhubbing!!
Rock on ladies!:p
My DH and I are both JJJ listeners. I used to listen everyday on my way to and from work but find that now I am not working I am getting to listen to JJJ much less:(
Also we now have childrens CD's on in the car so even less chance. Still a bit dissapointed with Jay and the Dr in the am compared to Will and Adam, but they certainly do have their good bits.
MrsMiggins
07-03-2006, 12:26
You know, I am actually quite surprised to see a lot of us J listeners are over 30! (Or getting ever nearer - sorry gals in your late 20's!!;) ) Maybe we're still "cool" after all!! :cool: lol :laughing:
I ocassionally catch Spicks & Specks. What I've seen of it is very good. DH loves it.
I'd love to listen online, but my stupid computer is so old & slow, it just doesn't happen! I tried it yesterday. I really wish we had broadband here out in the sticks (because apparently Telstra considers 2 minutes out of town "the sticks"....)
I have to say I didn't like Jay & the Doctor at first, but I got used to them. They're still not a patch on Adam & Will & I think they need to grow up a bit. I hate annoying men who think they are still teenagers & still think things like fart jokes are funny!
The only host I really can't stand is that god-awful Irish guy who is just incredibly lame & extremely un-funny who thinks he is the best host ever. I have no idea what his name is (I'd probably remember it if I heard it) because every time he comes on after the first time I heard him, I just flick the car stereo over to cd & listen to whatever I have in there (the very un-JJJ "Best of ELO" at the moment!!:rolleyes: )
shinebrite
07-03-2006, 13:12
I would just like to say Jay and the doctor ROCK! they are so cool! Dh and i remeber when we saw them supporting a band now they r huge! i thinkits great what they do and just KAK at there bad songs!!
Im a j listener but Dh hasnt fixed my radio in the car so i only listen to it at home on the weekends...
I also LOVE dooles... he is SO funny....and I LOVE adam and will!!!!
MrsMiggins
08-03-2006, 00:00
Did anyone catch Hack today? I managed to hear a bit of it on the way to pick up the dog food I forgot to buy when I was out earlier in the day! (Ahh! The duties of a housewife!!)
There were a few good stories! I forgot how much I really enjoy listening to Hack!
jarrahsmumma
08-03-2006, 00:28
Go TripleJ!! Love their work, hate Clone Radio and Cash FM.... I do reckon the Js was better when the Ladies Lounge was the afternoon show, 204 Bell St was on in the morning, and it was called Request Fest instead of Superrequest.
MrsMiggins
08-03-2006, 00:33
"204 Bell Street, Big Hill. It was a share-house, it gave me a thrill; To live at 204 Bell Street, Big Hill...."
I LOOOOOOOOOOVED 204 Bell Street! I never used to miss it! Even to the point of getting to work late because I'd delay having my shower in the morning til after they'd played it just in case I missed it! They should do re-runs of it!!! And yes! I am also a fan of the now defunct Ladies Lounge & Request Fest! (Such a better name than Super Request!)
Okay - note the theme here - we're (most of us) 30ish women lamenting the fact that we miss Sandy, Adam, Will, Mikey and Helen, 204 Bell St, Ladies Lounge...Paul McDermott - are we getting over the hill?
I'm glad to see Robbie Buck coming into his own finally and the people I'd like to hear more of are Terri Psiakos and Ross Noble.
I do think Damian Callahan (the Irish bloke) is fine, and I'm least enthralled with Jay and the Doctor (maybe I'm getting old, but I agree with HL - grown guys doing fart jokes doesn't do it for me).:ecomcity:
sopolicha
08-03-2006, 08:21
If you are pining for Helen Razor, she often appears late at night on your Local ABC radion station. She has definately mellowed.
I reckon Steve Cannane is great and I really miss the Morning Show that he used to do, after Jen Aldershaw and Sarah McDonald did it.
MrsMiggins
08-03-2006, 10:40
Jen Aldershaw!!! That's who I was trying to think of!! She used to do the breakfast show with Mikey & Sandy!! I knew it was Jen something-or-other!
I have to admit, I'm starting to get a little worried about some of these new smilies.... someone is having a little too much fun! :barf:
shinebrite
08-03-2006, 12:49
I was shocked to see that smiley!!! OMIGOODNESS! what a KAK!
Funkychicken
08-03-2006, 13:18
Okay - note the theme here - we're (most of us) 30ish women lamenting the fact that we miss Sandy, Adam, Will, Mikey and Helen, 204 Bell St, Ladies Lounge...Paul McDermott - are we getting over the hill?
I'm glad to see Robbie Buck coming into his own finally and the people I'd like to hear more of are Terri Psiakos and Ross Noble.
I do think Damian Callahan (the Irish bloke) is fine, and I'm least enthralled with Jay and the Doctor (maybe I'm getting old, but I agree with HL - grown guys doing fart jokes doesn't do it for me).:ecomcity:
When I made my first post in this thread I did notice I was mentioning past JJJ presenters and thought...Hhhmmmm...Am I going to be the old chick posting here?
Good to see I'm with my age group here!
Funkychicken
08-03-2006, 13:20
I was shocked to see that smiley!!! OMIGOODNESS! what a KAK!
Even my DH said eeewwww at the projectile vomit smilie!
Long time triple j listener here. I really can't listen to commercial radio- it drives me insane all that Billy Joel and Delta Goodream!!:barf: (Sorry I just had to use the much talked about smilie!)
I used to absolutely love Mickey and Helen. Mickey shares my birthday and I remember talking to them on the radio once about my surprise 21st party! My love for Tex Perkins I think came from brain washing from Helen!!
I also remember talking to Sandy and Flacco one Saturday arvo they were allowed to host the radio. Do you remember Sandman's advice every morning, what was it called again?
I did enjoy Merrick & Rosso when they were on there, not such a huge fan now. They used to have Tightarse Tuesday and Choice Bro TAFE which I loved!!
Long time triple j listener here. I really can't listen to commercial radio- it drives me insane all that Billy Joel and Delta Goodream!!:barf: (Sorry I just had to use the much talked about smilie!)
I used to absolutely love Mickey and Helen. Mickey shares my birthday and I remember talking to them on the radio once about my surprise 21st party! My love for Tex Perkins I think came from brain washing from Helen!!
I also remember talking to Sandy and Flacco one Saturday arvo they were allowed to host the radio. Do you remember Sandman's advice every morning, what was it called again?
I did enjoy Merrick & Rosso when they were on there, not such a huge fan now. They used to have Tightarse Tuesday and Choice Bro TAFE which I loved!!
Oh yes! I so agree with you over commercial radio! My DH listens to triple M and it is ghastly:barf: (I am a sucker for this smile too as nothing else sums it up better)He has it on in his car and it grates. I rev him everytime I get in his car LOL. Of course B105 is worse and neither if us listen to that. Nova FM was bearable for a while but not so much now. And their recent TV advert did not do them any favours "We really, really love Brisbane" Was that a send up that did not work or was it just genuinely bad without any excuses?
But for my Triple J listening, I used to listen to them on my commute to work for 3 years (3 years ago now) and when I was at Uni prior to that and it was great. I remember those that you were talking about. I started to dislike it with that Charlie Pickering who was Mel's original sidekick in the afternoons. He was an arrogant prat. But she was great. But when I have tuned in more recently, I am not overly wrapped in Today Today and The Hack. It grew on me a little, but they really need a female host in the afternoons. The two guys get a little bland. I miss a female announcer in the afternoons. Bring back Mel or some funky gal in the afternoons. :D
I started to dislike it with that Charlie Pickering who was Mel's original sidekick in the afternoons. He was an arrogant prat. But she was great. But when I have tuned in more recently, I am not overly wrapped in Today Today
Oh yeah I remember that Charlie, he was pretty unfunny if I remember correctly!
But I do love Today Today, but then before Chris and Craig were on the radio I loved their TV show CNNN and I'm currently enjoying Chaser's War on Everything. I find them very clever but you need to be up with your news and current affairs to get a lot of their stuff.
I loved Today Today:thumbsup: I like Robbie Buck but he's really got nothing on those boys. Can anyone tell me when the Chaser show is on. I caught the end of it one week but have no idea what night it was. So does anyone know if Mel had the baby? I thought it was last year she went off on Maternity leave.
So, you reckon it is worthwhile sticking with Today Today? I might give it another go. It was growing on me and I did love CNNN too. Chasers is on late one night during the week I think. It is about a 10.30pm timeslot I believe.
I guess I just miss hearing a female announcer with female observations. They have to get a woman in :)
But yes, Charlie Pickering annoyed the heck out of me. He was just trying too hard to be a smart ***. He was just rude and arrogant and not remotely humourous.
mellybean
08-03-2006, 15:47
Rosa..... looks like noone 's got the goss on Mel's baby. The website doesn't mention anything, which i thought was odd but surely we will find out somehow. :detective: ( couldn't resist trying this smiley out!!) It's good to know that funky mamas like Mel are breeding!!
Kazza... I must say Tex Perkins is a sex god!!!!!! I saw him in a cafe once in Byron Bay and nearly choked on my scrambled eggs! :p
It does look like we ladies are of the same era doesn't it ? It does make me feel a bit old when Video Hits is on tv and my DH and I joke at how we don't like all the "young peoples music" ie: R & B ****e!! At least we can get the Hottest 100 on DVD!
Sadly Today Today finished last year:crying: Because Chris and Craig where going off to do the Chaser's new show.
I know what you mean mellybean about "young peoples music" I can't stand R & B I was up early with dd one Saturday morning a while back and thought I'd watch a bit of rage but it was horrendous.
On a postive note a mate of mine was up with his baby one saturday morning about a month ago and they were playing re-runs of Recovery. Ahhh the memories those were the days. Love that show. Must remember to check ABC website and see if it's still on. Do any of you ladies get out to see live music anymore??
Sadly Today Today finished last year:crying: Because Chris and Craig where going off to do the Chaser's new show.
I know what you mean mellybean about "young peoples music" I can't stand R & B I was up early with dd one Saturday morning a while back and thought I'd watch a bit of rage but it was horrendous.
Time does fly when you are having fun. That may have been the last time I remember listening to them. :o
And, oh yes! R&B, Hip Hop or whatever the heck it is called is just awful:thumbsdown: . I know what you ladies mean about 'young peoples' music being bad. It is unbearable. I sound like my mother, but "where is the melody and the meaning in the lyrics" LOL.
MrsMiggins
08-03-2006, 23:51
Do any of you ladies get out to see live music anymore??
lol! :D Do you know the last great live band I saw was Everclear (~sigh!~ my absolute FAVES!!!!! I am so in love with Art Alexakis!!!) in ..... OMG, I think it may have been 97!! aaarghhhhh!!!! :eek:
I have seen Killing Heidi since, and they were all right (it was right at the start of their popularity - about 5 years or so ago) but not a patch on Everclear!
So sad! I have not seen a live band since!
Also, just getting into the whole "today's music" debate, I hate Rage now too! Unless you are keen enough to catch it at 4am (like the "good" old days, when you'd just be getting in.... if it was an early night!) then you might get a guest programmer doing some good stuff. Actually, I might be more out of touch than I realised - do they still have guest programmers?!
The stuff that passes as R&B nowadays is just woeful. I have to admit that 'Gold-digger' song by Kanye West is catchy, but in general, I can't stand it. And the fact that it is just saturation (with a few Delta Goodrem/Guy Sebastian/Shannon Knoll :barf: tracks thrown in the midst) is the worst part!!
Maybe we are all getting old if we hate all this new-fangled music?! LOL
I actually heard "Buy Me A Pony" on the J's yesterday & I got all nostalgic!
I thought I'd heard Today Today this year but I only get Triple J now through our tv black box so only tend to listen through the day to Mif. Usually the guys come back after doing the tv bit.
I went to an Everclear concert, but I think it was 98.
Yes, I love Tex Perkins- wanted to call baby Tex but my husband knows the only reason why and wasn't happy!! I love Beasts of Bourbon, who I've seen live, the Cruel Sea, I've seen live more than a few times, and Tex,Don &Charlie, who I'd really like to see.
The last live music we've seen was Big Day Out last year. I hadn't been since 01 so was good, bit big for my liking now but wanted to take my husband. First one I went to was 94! Man, I feel old. There was Def FX, TISM, Cruel Sea and Soundgarden. Brings back memories!
mellybean
09-03-2006, 09:27
morning ladies who like to rock.....!
Ah , live music, sadly something i'd like to do more often!! I would have liked to go to the Big Day Out this year but my baby bump was a little too big for such a big crowd. Maybe next time.... did catch a couple of gigs last year...Mia Dyson who was great, and Diesel , who was the first live act I ever went to when I was 15 and he was with the Injectors. Fifteen years later and he still was just as good ( better probably!) and just as hot!! Ahh the memories! Am going to see Harry Manx , a great Canadian blues guy in 2 weeks if my bub doesn't decide to enter the world before then!:D
I used to go to live music all the time, then somehow when we started paying a mortgage - the priorities somehow changed...
Anyway - we're going to a concert in June (when I'll be about 36weeks), but a bit more mellow than some of the concerts I've been to in the past! Split Enz. Evermore is supporting so maybe I should start listening to easylistening:rolleyes:
Only joking - Tim and Neil Finn are still great. I know it's not a J thing, but for the people who like Spicks and Specks - Do you watch Rockwiz on a Saturday night on SBS? I'll video it if I don't think I'll be home.
Oh and the stuff on Today Today is that it is a Chris and Craig thing, so it hasn't been on this year as Robbie Buck has that shift.
sopolicha
09-03-2006, 12:24
I much prefer Rockwiz to Spicks and Specks.
mellybean
09-03-2006, 12:36
I don't mind Rockwiz but that chick who hosts it , Julia? kind of annoys me :thumbsdown: .... love how they get the guests to do a cover duet together tho!! :thumbsup: