View Full Version : Nappy Brands....
LoopyLyndaLou
04-03-2006, 22:23
We have just moved to Oz form the UK and I was wondering what disposeable nappy brands you have. I see you have HUGGIES which I am not a fan of and also BabyLove which from experience over the last couple of weeks seem as if they don't cope with getting wet and need changing often which obviously means more waste.
In the Uk I used to use PAMPERS which were great as very absorbant and I only ever needed two in a 24 hour period most days, although mostly I used some called NATURE which were made out of recycled, biodegradeable products and there was also a range of wipes and nappy sacks that went with them.
I have used cloth nappies in the past but he has grown out of them and I am reluctant to go and buy a load more but at the same time I am also very aware of environemtal issues. this is why i used to use NATURE as they fitted my lifestyle perfectly.
Do they stock this brand over here or any disposeable equivalents?
Lynda
Hi Lynda.... Yay for me, I get it right this time:D
I use Huggies mainly and ones from Woolworths..not sure what woolies is called down there...safeway or rolfe something :confused: They are called Woolworths Select...like a decent homebrand at $19.95 a box. Not much cheaper than huggies though.
I looked up this link for natural disposables....bit exy at 29.95 for 40 odd nappies.
http://www.natureschild.com.au/products/seventh_generation_disposable_nappies/1996/1
Hope that helps, cheers J.
whatwasithinking
04-03-2006, 22:56
I never thought I'd say this but I swear by the BLACK AND GOLD brand (no-name branding) costing $3.99 for 20. Have bought 2 packs so far and not one problem. No more Snugglers or Huggies for me anymore!
wow missunderstood thats so cheap...what age baby are they used on?
I have heard of the bio-degradable nappies but unsure of what they are called, sorry!
As for us we use the Woolworth's brand. They are called 'Select' and we find them fantastic! :p
05-03-2006, 08:05
Yup, i use the Select ones too now, used to use Huggies. The Select are soooo much better. I've also seen a natural brand of disposables at Coles i think? They're only new onto the market i think...I have to go tomorrow or Tuesday, so i'll check the name out if i remember....
Imogensmum
05-03-2006, 08:11
I use the babylove as i haven't had many issues with them- i tried select nappies but found that Imy constantly smelt of urine- even with constant changing? Has anyone else experienced this?
I had a friend who swears by the Homebrand nappies from woolies but as yet i haven't tried them!
Sorry don't know much about biodegradable nappies- although i think i saw some in coles(?) one time??
rynosmum
05-03-2006, 08:34
We have always used Huggies but this week decided to try Snugglers as they were so much cheaper.
I'm completely disappointed with them. Two mornings in a row, DS woke up completely wet. Yesterday I put one on him at about 7:30, he had a long nap and got up at 11. He was standing in the lounge room and I was cleaning up some water on the floor (so I thought), the Snugglers was already so full that it was running down his leg !:eek: and they dont seem to draw the liquid away either.
Back to Huggies !
ButterflyKisses
05-03-2006, 09:12
If you live near an Aldi store try their Mamia brand. They are just as good as Huggies and are heaps cheaper. They have newborn right through the various sizes.
at the moment my DS uses x-large Aldi have packs of 44 for $16.99. They also have great wipes Mamia brand pkt 80 for $2.99 - swear by both of these products.:thumbsup:
I agree with the Aldi nappies they are very good. Most impressed with the quality and price.
I'm pretty sure I have seen new biodegradeable nappies in Coles.Not sure of the name though sorry.
And I also think Aldi nappies are GREAT! Never had a problem,and good value for money.And Woolies home brand (not select) are great too.:)
ive used the coles brand "savings" nappies for all my kids. no probs with them for $7.99 a pack :thumbsup:
Mum2Lucas
05-03-2006, 13:55
I use either huggies, or nature babycare from coles. They're an all natural brand. or cloth nappies too.
whatwasithinking
05-03-2006, 16:09
wow missunderstood thats so cheap...what age baby are they used on?
I use 2 sizes - one for about 6kg age and junior which is 16kg - there is one or two in between but don't know what exactly those sizes are. I don't know but I would assume they would also have newborn sizes. I'll have a better look tommorrow at my local IGA and get back to you with more solid info.
mariafresnel
06-03-2006, 09:12
Lynda,
I've only just read an article in Coles Baby Club Magazine introducing the names you've talked about. When I finish the next lot of Huggies I have in stock (they have been the only ones I've liked), I will try these. The article says that they are in Australia at last! They are 70% biodegradable and use far fewer chemicals, making them infinitely kinder to the environment and our children benefit, as they are not as bulky.
They are fragrance and chlorine free, covered with a 'breathable' film made from maze and natural tree pulp. They are made from 70% renewable and biodegradable materials. They also contain fewer petro-chemicals than regular nappies, which helps reduce greenhouse gas emissions during the manufacturing process.
They are available in four sizes:
Newborn (rrp $10.00) = 28 nappies and are for 2kg -5kg
MIDI (rrp $19.98) = 38 nappies and are for 4kg - 9kg
MAXI (rrp $19.98) = 34 nappies and are for 7k - 18kg
Junior (rrP $19.98) = 30 nappies and are for 11kg - 25kg
LoopyLyndaLou
06-03-2006, 15:33
oooh thank you everyone,
after reading all your replies I went to visit Coles and found them! The ones I used to buy in England! I always prefered 'pampers' in how well they fitted as the Nature ones are quite wide on the gusset (I blamed them for Toby walsking like a cowboy but he still does even without these nappies...lol).
I didn't buy any as I had Toby in my arms, and my two older boys with a shopping basket full so didn;t have enough hands/arms/space, but I shall go back as soon as my current packet of nappies runs low.
I am not sure if the do the sacks and wipes as I didn't get a chance to look (you can imagine that with 3 boys in tow it is ESSENTIAL to get out of the Supermarket as quickly as possible).
I really appreciate all your advice as well, I am sure I will eventually have a go of all these brands. Does anyone know if there is an ALDI's in Hobart?
Lynda xx
hayleylea
06-03-2006, 20:27
I use the DYMPLE BRAND nappies you get 96 nappies for $23! BARGAIN! i havent had a problem with them yet!! Cheap but good!!
They are the BIGW brand.
Don't know about the biodegradable ones, how good they are, price etc but I see them @ Woolies and Coles, so check them out there.
For normal disposables, I have used:
HUGGIES - + great absorbancy ; - very expensive, bub outgrows sizing quickly
SNUGGLERS - + value for money, same maker as Huggies, good fit ; - thinner, can spontaneously leak, grip tabs can be dodgy and tear off
BABYLOVE - - leaked very quickly, produced lots of absorbancy crystals
ALDI "MAMIA" - + value for money (50 nappies for $15.99), good fit, thick and absorbent, cool designs ; - none so far.
So I am an Aldi girl all the way now. Their wipes are good too (80 for $2.99).
P.S. Welcome to Australia!
Happyamy
05-04-2006, 18:26
I always use huggies for my daughter. Huggies can hold more and no leaks. I have tried other brand, but not good as huggies.
Amy
mamabear
05-04-2006, 22:37
Huggies for me.
Just an FYI for LoopyLyndsLou, the Huggies in AUS are different to the Huggies in the UK. IMHO they are better than the UK.
Good luck with your search.
sweetvanilla
06-04-2006, 10:15
If you live near an Aldi store try their Mamia brand. They are just as good as Huggies and are heaps cheaper. They have newborn right through the various sizes.
at the moment my DS uses x-large Aldi have packs of 44 for $16.99. They also have great wipes Mamia brand pkt 80 for $2.99 - swear by both of these products.:thumbsup:
i recently went to ALDI and tot I'd try their Mammia Training Pants for toddlers. I am so pleased with the quality. So much better than Babylove Training Pull Ups.
Unfortunately, they are wee bit too small for my growing todd eventhough it says it fits between 16-25kg. Hmm.....
But overall, I am very happy with it. Use it it night time as well and no problem.
Babylove leaks and need constant change. Huggies is good but can be costly.
Briswegian
08-04-2006, 07:22
I used snugglers during the day as they are fairly cheap when bought in a bulk box from big w and huggies at night as I found them more absorbent.
I will be trying the aldi brand though one the huggies run out.
I use huggies and have tried baby love but DD gets a rash around her waist,I do like the safeway ones but they just don't sit right on DD,& I have never bothered with snugglers.
I really believe each nappy is different for each bubs make up, DD just fits huggies really well.
I do remember many years ago we had Pampers & my SIL is Swedish and she used Pampers over there.
I use to love V.I.P(made by Huggies I believe)but they stopped making them:confused:
Anyway hope you find a nappy you like,it's all about trying a few till you find the one for your bub.