View Full Version : When did you know
Hi just a quick question i just wanted to know when did you first get the feeling that you might be pregnant and what were the signs. Im so anxious to know that im going crazy i just thought there might be someone out there that give me some tips.
Baileyjaysmum
22-04-2005, 21:27
When I was four weeks pregnant I started to feel really sick in the stomach but I really knew I was pregnant when my boobs were sooo sore.
Good luck
A week before I missed my first period once I'd gone off the pill I started to feel "oogy" in the stomach -sort of like I was on a wild ride at the Show. My boobs got very "full" and sore, sort of like pre-period, but the timing was slightly off and the fullness was more pronounced then with a period. I told my husband I was sure I was pregnant, and a week later had it confirmed with a missed period and a test :)
Hi Krystal,
I thought i was still getting my period this month, had the sore boobs, funny tummy etc, but then my period didn't come and then i realised i must have been pregnant. We did a urine test and I was positive. EDD 25/12/05.
Good luck
Cheers Pippa
For me it was being super sensitive to smells especially food smells at shopping centres.
Mumof2+1
23-04-2005, 13:20
Hi darl.
Just wanted to share my story with you. I hope you don't find it too long winded. :o
My partner & i had been trying ttc for just over a year when I feel pregnant.
I had my last period the end of August last year and was getting married on 9th October 2004 and was due to get my next period 1-2 weeks before the wedding.
About that time I got realy bloated & when I tied on my wedding dress it was very tight. I thought Ok my period will come soon, great it would be finnished before the wedding day. A week later, with only one week untill my wedding, I still hadn't gotten them, so I did a preg test but it was negative. This got me worried as I didn't want to have my perriod on my wedding day or duering the honeymoon. 2 days later I did another test & that was negative. I did a third test the day before the wedding & that was also negative. Needless to say I used sanitry products on my wedding day just in case. The wedding went well & the next day (Sunday) we headed off for the honeymoon. On Monday morning I woke with a realy itchy tummy and told my hubby we had to get another preg test as I had the same thing when I fell preg with my two other children. I did the test that afternoon and yep It was positive. I'm now 34weeks preg.
Other signs I had were that on both my hens night & wedding it did not matter how much alchohol I drank, it had no effect on me so I stopped drinking.(turns out I'm glad of that one) I also had cravings for red meat.
This was all before the positive preg test.
Sorry if this was too long. :o
With DD1 I knew when I had sore breasts in the shower one morning - did the test, saw the doctor and discovered I was 8 weeks pregnant. (The length of time was because I have PCOS, didn't think my fertility treatment was working and had decided to have a break from trying.)
With DD2 I knew the moment I had ovulation pain - I had just started weaning DD1, I hadn't had a period for 20 months with pregnancy and breastfeeding, my libido had returned with a vengeance the night before, and as soon as I felt the ovulation pain I knew I was pregnant. It took two weeks before we could confirm it and even then the lines on the test were so faint that the doctor sent me for a blood test. (and my libido disappeared again as quickly as it had returned, much to the disgust of both my husband and I!!)
hi there,
for me, the day after period was due I had the strong metallic taste in my mouth that would not go away regardless of what I ate. I did a test the next morning and got a very faint line that is now known as beautiful baby Jack :)
good luck!!
amy
thanks everyone i ovulated 3 days ago and am now getting a funny its not really a pain its like a tightness on the lower left side of my stomach sort of like period pain but totally different (if you know what i mean) and ive never had it before i never get ovulation pains or period pains thats why i have noticed it but i have always thought that you didnt get that sort of feeling until about 10 dpo if you were pregnant has anyone else ever felt these this soon after ovulation before.
thanks you guys are great allways have heaps of handy advise.
With my first I was exhausted about a week before period was due (was exacerbated by jet-lag though) and got very sore breasts the day before it was due. I tested the next day and got a strong positive.
With my second I had no signs other than a pimple (dont usually get) and no period pains (usually get a few days before). I tested 2 days before and got a very faint positive.
Now, with my third had no signs until the day I was due when I noticed the my usual pains hadn't started and I was weeing like crazy that morning. I tested that day and got a very faint positive, although then I tested with another brand, one of those brands that supposedly tell you you're pregnant 10 days after you ovulate, and it didn't come up +ve until 2 days after my period. Funnily enough, the nausea started big time the afternoon I tested. First time it's started this early (usually came at 6 weeks).
So, the signs may be there or they may not. And don't always rely on these pregnancy tests, there's a good chance you might not get a positive until a few days after your period. I recommend buying a few different brands, and not the cheaper ones and if you can stand it, hold off testing until the day you're due or you may get a false negative and they can be pretty discouraging.
melasuras
24-04-2005, 18:16
in resonpons to when did you know, i knew when my allergies went as i am normally latcose intollarent, when i fell preg both times my allergies went thats when i knew and hubby knew i found out when i was 8wks preg with my first and 6wks with my second now i am 28wks with my second munchkin and loven it cos i can drink as much cows milk as i want but as soon as bub is born it back to soy milk for me (YUCK)!!!
Melasurus, thanks for sharing the milk story. It's good to know I'm not alone with that! When I was about 6 weeks pregnant I suddenly desperately wanted a glass of cow's milk, which was really wierd given that most dairy products had made me sick pre-pregnancy. All through the pregnancy I've been having yogurt, cheese, glasses of milk, and even ice-cream and loving it! I'm hoping I don't go back to the pre-pregnancy intolerance once my baby arrives, though from what you've said I probably will. :(
onabreak
26-04-2005, 12:57
I had a feeling in my stomach that I was pregnant, but what gave it away the most was that my boobs hurt for weeks. I thought I was getting my periods, so I didn't think anything of it until I was sick of having sore boobs and did a test and I was pregnant. So when we try for another this will be the sign I am looking for.
2girls&1boy
26-04-2005, 15:13
I actually was so out of touch with my own body that my husband knew something was up before I did. We were travelling around Spain and I could not get enough of the cold beer they had in all the pubs(kind of wierd when I do not usually like beer at all). By then my husband suggested a pregnancy test to which I was so sure was a wast of money, my period was only a little late and that was from all the travelling??. Anyway 4 tests later and it really did confirm I was 6 weeks pregnant. Now we have our beautiful girl who is 9 months old.
I will try and not be so vague next time.. or maybe I will just get hubby to tell me what is going on..
Paula
27-04-2005, 10:13
its interesting to see all of you complained of sore breasts! I'm due on friday for my period, however my breasts are not sore, I dont have PMS, and I'm not bloating like i usually do.
However, my nipples are increadably sensitive, and SORE as!!!! I'm wondering if I'm pregnant first try! :) a couple more days and I'll do a test to find out.
I am getting a small amount of cramping today, so its just a posibility that my body is being kind to me this month, but it hasnt happened before!
When i fell pregnant with my daughter, i just woke up one morning and i felt like i just knew that this time i really was pregnant, i did the test and it was positive i think this was a couple of days before my period was due.
Hi I am new to this wonderful site. I am finding all the information great :p
My husband & I have been trying for 2 months, not long i know but we are just so impatient. I am not due for my period for another week. But have been getting slight pains on the left side of my tummy (down low) different to period pains whick lasted on & off for about 1 day. Do you think this could be my first sign ?!?!
Jaz
Hi Jaz,
My partner and i have been trying for 7 months now and its driving me crazy i have had pains in my left lower tummy a feeling that i have never had before but its been there for about 3 days now. I cant test for about another 6 days and the wait is killing me like you im so impaitent. Hopefully it is good news for both of us ill keep you posted on how i go maybe we will be going through this wonderful experience together.
Krystal.
Jaz and Krystal.
It does sound like your pains are similar to the ones I had, which ended up being implantation pains. They weren't painful, just nagging pains concentrated more to one side and definitely not around the lower belly.
Kathleen, I got cramping also for the few days before my period was due and about a week afterwards, but it was unlike usual cramping as it was everywhere but the lower belly. Apparently the ligaments are stretching, but it really does make you feel like you're getting your period. I still check ever time I go to the toilet!
Please keep us all updated with your outcomes.
R
Chickadee
29-04-2005, 13:54
Before I even missed a period I noticed that my breasts were slightly larger but would have put it down to my period being due except that the veins in them were suddenly obviously visible. Huge blue spiders webs of veins. Happened every time with 2 very early miscarriages and my beautiful daughter.
angcaltam
30-04-2005, 00:01
Just reading all the early signs and was wondering what you all mean about sore boobs. Can you try and describe what the sore feeling is please. My periods are due mother's day weekend and I'm just trying to spot any early signs.
I also have had a funny taste in my mouth for the last few days and can't get rid of it.
I would be greatful for any info. :)
pinkandblue
30-04-2005, 11:09
For me it was going to the toilet alot more. I didnt get sore boobs but I did have the pain on my left side of my stomach.
Natalie
Just reading all the early signs and was wondering what you all mean about sore boobs. Can you try and describe what the sore feeling is please. My periods are due mother's day weekend and I'm just trying to spot any early signs.
I also have had a funny taste in my mouth for the last few days and can't get rid of it.
I would be greatful for any info. :)
Hi Katherine - for me sore boobs was like an ache which got worse if they were touched (like putting on a bra). They weren't dramatically sore but defs a bit tender - almost felt like they were under pressure too. Other than that I didn't have any other pregnancy symptoms in the early days, except extreme fatigue between weeks 8 - 12. I fell pregnant accidentally so didn't notice my boobs until I was 5 - 6 weeks but trying to think back, I think they were sore before my period was due. Good luck!
Thank you to everyone who replied,
Hi Krystal,
Yes please, please keep in touch ! I really hope all goes well for both of us. It would be so great to have someone to talk to who is going through everything with me at the same time, Best of Luck !
I cant test for another 4 Days....fingers crossed.
Much love to each & everyone who is trying :)
For me my boobs weren't even that sore until later on but they were swollen straight away. When they were sore I mainly noticed it sleeping, I felt I needed to where a bra for support. I am a D cup normally though so I'm not sure if it was just a bit of extra sweeling. I also noticed I felt warmer, and had a few pimples which was unusual.
I hope for the best for you.
my sense of smell became really sensitive to the point where i could smell the ink on the newspaper when i was reading it on the table and it was bugging me. being in the supermarket was terrible, i thought i must be pregnant.
then i started feeling really off, and i knew i was right. i left it for a few weeks before testing, test from dr showed 8 weeks, so i figure i knew i was pregnant from very early on, maybe 3 or 4 weeks.
I had really sore and swollen boobs for about 3 weeks before my period was due - usually i would only get that about a week before my period so I was sorta suspicious - the time came and went for my period so about a week or so with still not getting it I got a test from the chemist which showed a strong positive result real fast - went to the docs the next day which confirmed that I was.
My stomach was pretty swollen also - i reckon I was showing real early as its stayed that way (well larger now of course), was getting worried may be twins LOL
Was also a bit quesy but I put that down to other causes at the time - luckily i've had little if no real morning sickness (now 14 weeks).
Hi :D ,
The way i knew was just like small period pains, very large and sore boobs and just a bit of a funny feeling! I was 3weeks 4days, we had been trying for 8 months and were still really shocked! I did 3 home preg tests just to be sure and with a 3 out of 3 score we went to the doctors the next day for a blood test and a scan( just to be really sure! ha ha).
jes :)
Last month was my first month off the pill (been on it for 7 years) - we didn't know when I'd ovulate so it was a lot of hard work! :p But basically my first signs were cramping (not the usual period pain type, but the sort that makes you feel sick rather than pain) a few days after my "fertile" time (judging by CM), and then terrible lower back ache that lasted for about 4 days the following week. I tested on Monday 6 May and it was negative, again on Wednesday negative, then later in the week I noticed my BBs were sore and heavy, and on Monday 9 I tested and it was positive! Tested again on the Tuesday to confirm, and again at the Drs on Saturday. The sore BBs has decreased - the only thing I feel is really really tired (no morning sickness yet!) and irritable. So I am 6 weeks today and feeling pretty good! :D My advice is don't overlook the symptoms - you may think you are going mad but when it comes down to it, it is your body and you know if something is changing!