View Full Version : Need some stimulation for me and bubs (Hobart area)!

LoopyLyndaLou
03-03-2006, 21:16
OK, so I have been here a little over two weeks now, the two older ones are settled at school with loads of new friends, dh is settled at work and gets to speak words of more than two syllables regulalry to someone who can reply with an equal number of syllables but where does that leave me?!

Well it leaves me at home with my rather delectable little man of 16 months. Despite being gorgeous our conversations are very one sided, he is getting used to having me all to himself and getting what he wants and when his brothers are around he plays rough and tumble with them.

I am worried on a number of counts - one being that my brain is turning mushier than it previously was and secondly my previously gentle little boy is turning in to a monster as all he does is wrestle older kids or smack them round the head with various implememnts (most recently a spade and a saucepan!).

So my question to you is where do I go to meet other mums of similar aged children? (I promise if I meet any of you I will not let him have a spade or a saucepan :rolleyes: )

I have the application for Gymberoos thanks to a bubhubber already but are there any mums'n'tots groups? I am in South Hobart but appreciate it is not a long way to get to anywhere?

I look forward to reading your replies.

Lynda xx

LoopyLyndaLou
07-03-2006, 19:12

I had heard there is a parent and child group in Sandy Bay on a Wednesday morning, does anyone know about this and if so where is it and what time?

I would love to hear, thanks in advance

Lynda x

busylizzy
07-03-2006, 19:17
Have you tried contacting "Playgroup Australia"? They have a website and should be able to give you information on any playgroups in your area. Goodluck:fingerscrossed:.
Liz.

MammaMia
07-03-2006, 19:19
At the risk of hijacking your thread, I have to ask: why Loopy?

And I love Tasmania!

Father lived there for many years.

Love visiting there, but regrettably, I am unable to assist you with your request.

jembelina
07-03-2006, 20:57
You could try getting in contact with your local Maternal & Child Health nurse. SHE should have heaps and heaps of recources for you and may even be able to put you in contact with other mums in your area. In Tassie, look under 'Healt and Human Services Dept of' in your phone directory.
Also, your local council might be able to help out too.
You could head to your local library for story time, chatting to some mums there might give you some info about what else you can do.

Good Luck - have fun exploring!!

LoopyLyndaLou
07-03-2006, 21:31

thank you for your ideas, I shall definitely try them out, it is just total lck of local and national knowledge of where to turn for stuff. Some times I feel so overwhlemed I forget the obvious things like libraries etc!

Mammamia

Yes tasmania certainly is beautiful, as you will ahve erad we have not been here long but already i can appreciate it has so much to offer. The reason I chose loopylyndalou, is firstly my name is Lynda and a child one of my nicknames was lyndylou, but that name was taken on another forum I use so I added loopy on the front as a mother of 3 young boys and a dh who is always at work and 2 dogs I spend my life chasing my tail and have to be totally loopy to survive.

The trouble is when I typed it in I am so used to typing lynda I wrote loopylyndalou rather than loopylyndylou - so as you can see I am loopy!

Thanks again everyone!

Lynda xx

MammaMia
07-03-2006, 21:33
Hee hee!

Thanks for satisfying my curiousity!

I love the name!

Best wishes settling into the delights of Tassie.:)

Have a German Sausage at the Salamanca Markets for me.:D