View Full Version : How do you claim immunisations ?
IAdoreYou
03-03-2006, 20:39
at tax time ?
I'm too lazy to look it up.
I just heard you can get some back .. though its free anyway!? don't understand ..
help :eek:
I've never heard of claiming immunisations on tax :confused: They're free...
Maybe they are referring to the rebate-y thing you get at 18 months if your child is fully immunised? Hmm.
IAdoreYou
03-03-2006, 20:50
That must be it!!!!!
MIL kept saying it .. and I was like heyyy?
thank YOU
brizbabe
03-03-2006, 21:05
As per Centrelink website:
You may get Maternity Immunisation Allowance if:
* your child is fully immunised between 18 and 24 months, or
* your child is on a recognised immunisation catch up schedule, or
* your child has an approved exemption from being immunised, or
* your child is stillborn or dies before 24 months, and
* you claim on or before your child's second birthday.
You may get an approved immunisation exemption for your child if you have a conscientious objection to immunisation or if there are medical reasons why your child should not be immunised. Please talk to the Family Assistance Office at Centrelink if this applies to you.
Important: To be paid Maternity Immunisation Allowance, you must claim through the Family Assistance Office. You cannot claim this payment through the tax system.
Call the FAO on 136150 Monday and make sure you've supplied your medicare # for immunisation purposes and assuming you received the maternity payment when bub was born, once the FAO has received confirmation from the ACIR(Australian Childhood Immunisation register) around the 19th month of childs birth, should be paid automatically (also dependant on a couple of other circs-but call and check and while there sign up for Centrelink website access to your own file-makes things heaps easier.
It automatically goes into your account in your childs 19th month(provided all immunisation is up to date or approved exemption). It is around $280?? Use to be around this amount anyway.
Cheers Jen
brizbabe
03-03-2006, 21:53
rate is effective from 1 January 2006. Maternity Immunisation Allowance is a non-taxable lump sum payment.
* This payment is not subject to an income test.
* This payment is not subject to an assets test.
$219.00 (lump sum payment);)
Mine hit my bank account 2 days ago.
It automatically goes through when the child turns 19 months. I guess that gives parents time to get in the last vaccination. Although I've heard they can be unreliable with this (surprise, surprise:rolleyes: ), so I logged the forms you can get off the centrelink website ( www.centrelink.gov.au ).
I got the $219 a few days after he turned 19 months.:)
04-03-2006, 08:02
Yep I got the same as the happy lady lol $219 it was a nice little suprise thats for sure:smiliedance: