View Full Version : Costello not contesting..Breaking News

charlen49
25-11-2007, 11:54
Costello declines to drink from the poisoned chalice.
The 2007 Federal Election - the gift that keeps on giving.

says he would like to see a fresh new generation leading the libs..how familiar does that sound!

forbetoel
25-11-2007, 11:58
Damm, was hoping the arogant so and so would foolishly do the ALP a favour and lead the Liberal party.

charlen49
25-11-2007, 11:59
Damm, was hoping the arogant so and so would foolishly do the ALP a favour and lead the Liberal party.
yeah right..he's getting out of the big job whilst the going is good..run little piggy run!!!!:laughing:

LovelyRita
25-11-2007, 12:36
Peter Costello has announced he will step back from politics, saying it is time for fresh blood to move through the ranks of the Liberal Party.

Mr Costello said he had decided not to stand for the position of opposition leader, but would continue to serve as the member for the Melbourne seat of Higgins.

"I've discussed this with my family and my wife Tanya, who is here with me today, and we have decided that in fact the time has come for me to open a new chapter in my life," Mr Costello told reporters in Melbourne.

"I will be looking to build a career post-politics in the commercial world.

"As a consequence of that, I will not seek nor will I accept the leadership or deputy leadership of the Liberal Party.

"I want to spend more time with my family and do something for them."

Mr Costello said he told John Howard his plans last night after deciding last year the party needed "generational change" if it lost this year's election.

"I was very upfront about it, I put it publicly, I did it on TV, I did it to individual colleagues," he said. "The majority didn't agree with me."

He would not be drawn on who he thought should be the next opposition leader but said they should be part of "the next generation".

Costello, 50, was the longest serving treasurer in Australian's history and handed down 12 federal budgets.

He said he made the decision after discussions with this wife, Tanya, and family.
Here is the link:
http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/national/costello-wont-seek-leadership/2007/11/25/1195947541212.html

I think it was a wise decision for Peter Costello to make in terms of rebuilding the Liberal party. Good luck to him.

melwallace24
25-11-2007, 12:48
Pretty out of the blue isn't it? In a way (a very small, itsy bitsy way) I feel sorry for him...such a bridesmaid. Does that clear the way for Turnbull?

~Emmylou~
25-11-2007, 13:38

Everytime I think this just cannot get better.......it DOES!!!

I was happy to see Howard go, but even happier to see the back of Costello.

Oh happy day :party:

~Chick79~
25-11-2007, 13:55
Hmm while I wish him all the best in his new adventures I do have to wonder if he still would have done this if the Coalition HAD won last night... For so long we have heard about how he wants the top job...

As for my two cents on who should be the new leader of the Coalition, I reckon Joe Hockey would be a great leader and think He should get the role!

Mahjong
25-11-2007, 14:00
Which goes to show, he wanted someone else to do the work getting into power again, and then handballed the position.

Jow Hockey would be a great alternative to Peter Costello. Anyone else but Turnball or Downer!

RedPanda
25-11-2007, 16:34
I think he did it out of accountability. Voters made it clear they didn't like the Howard/Costello rule - by stepping down he probably thinks he's doing the party a favour. Out with the old and all that!

charlen49
25-11-2007, 16:43
Jow Hockey would be a great alternative to Peter Costello. Anyone else but Turnball or Downer!
:iagree:

Odessa
25-11-2007, 17:19
I personally think Turnbull isn't very popular within the party room - someone kept leaking stories to embarrass him. I think he's a big of a egomaniac and I don't think he's a good choice for leader.

But they haven't got many people to choose from!

Aquamarine
25-11-2007, 17:36
I personally think Turnbull isn't very popular within the party room - someone kept leaking stories to embarrass him. I think he's a big of a egomaniac and I don't think he's a good choice for leader.

But they haven't got many people to choose from!

He isn't popular with many people.:no:

rynosmum
25-11-2007, 18:24
I think it's a shame. The media hit Costello hard in negative press. Just this morning, the Courier Mail finally admitted that he had done a great job over his career as Treasurer. Of course, being a non-Coalition supporting publication, they only accept this AFTER the election loss.

"When Labor lost office in 1996, it left a government debt of $96 billion, a $10 billion budget deficit and an 8.2 per cent jobless rate. By contract, Mr Costello has bequeathed Mr Rudd robust growth and record low unemployment.

The only major blot on his economic copybook will be the six interest-rate rises he presided over during the Coalition's last term". Sunday Mail 25/11 Page 4.

I don't think the guy has been given a very fair opportunity to represent himself and that is a shame because he is a great economic manager.

It is his choice though and personally I don't blame him for walking away.

Mahjong
25-11-2007, 18:24
Turnball is not popular with me either LOL!

Ive noticed though, Costello grabbed the first headline on the Channel 10 news tonight, it's a shame, he took to shine off Kev and his party win.

He could have waited at least another day... wouldn't have hurt.

IAdoreYou
25-11-2007, 20:43
I think he did it out of accountability. Voters made it clear they didn't like the Howard/Costello rule - by stepping down he probably thinks he's doing the party a favour. Out with the old and all that!

I agree.
I really liked him, he looked SO tired as well, the poor guy. I'm a bit lost today after hearing his announcement :(

BabelFish
25-11-2007, 21:50
**snort** Comedy gold :yelclap:

IAdoreYou
25-11-2007, 21:54

:thumbsdown:

forbetoel
25-11-2007, 21:57

:thumbsup: So true. I am so glad to see Costello go. He has been nothing but arogant for the past 11 years, and now in defeat he is all quietly spoken. Maybe if he had shown this personality during his political career, he would have been more popular. It is a shame the pain of defeat has shown us his best.

IAdoreYou
25-11-2007, 22:01
:thumbsup: So true. I am so glad to see Costello go. He has been nothing but arogant for the past 11 years, and now in defeat he is all quietly spoken. Maybe if he had shown this personality during his political career, he would have been more popular. It is a shame the pain of defeat has shown us his best.

You girls are harsh tonight! :rolleyes: HE was very popular in parliament with a wicked sense of humor!

Costello hasn't retired either .. he is just gonna sit back and train up the young pups in the Liberal party ... good on him!

MariaO
25-11-2007, 22:03

says he would like to see a fresh new generation leading the libs..how familiar does that sound!

You brought a big smile to my face - very funny Charlen49. I think the Liberal party will have a period of rebuilding, I would guess they will go into a real funk for the next while......
Maybe it will help them sort out the useless state level Libs and reenergise the whole party. Maybe decent dudes like Petro Georgio et al will have a bigger voice now.

Costello will do his 'mentoring' for the next three years and then probably make loads of cash in Macquarie bank or some such place, and why not. He was quite funny, sometimes very funny but a patronising arrogant git to boot.
I hated when, on the seven thirty report say, he would talk to people as though they were so stupid that they would need watering. Still, He has been very disappointed in the last couple of years - I sort of feel a little sorry for him.

A fab weekend.

forbetoel
25-11-2007, 22:10
You girls are harsh tonight! :rolleyes: HE was very popular in parliament with a wicked sense of humor!

Costello hasn't retired either .. he is just gonna sit back and train up the young pups in the Liberal party ... good on him!

I would disagree, they lost a lot of votes purely because a lot of people didn't want him to be our next PM. Sure he had some fans, but was far from popular.

IAdoreYou
25-11-2007, 22:11
I hated when, on the seven thirty report say, he would talk to people as though they were so stupid that they would need watering.

It sounds alot better then "scum" Keating was famous for calling everybody in parliament "scum-bag" :laughing: who said it was boring!!! :goodvibes:

IAdoreYou
25-11-2007, 22:12
I would disagree, they lost a lot of votes purely because a lot of people didn't want him to be our next PM. Sure he had some fans, but was far from popular.

*shrugs*I serioulsy liked the guy!

BabelFish
25-11-2007, 22:16

I said in another thread that he is the only member of the Liberal party I feel sorry for. I think he's done a good job under a greedy, selfish leader, and he never got enough credit for it from Howard. All he got was a regular slap in the face.

Having said that, I would never, ever have voted for him as PM. I can't see him leading the country.

IAdoreYou
25-11-2007, 22:20
he never got enough credit for it from Howard. All he got was a regular slap in the face. I do agree.

Having said that, I would never, ever have voted for him as PM. I can't see him leading the country. I could have.

Labor is in, I'm prepared to support! I'm done here for a while in this section girls, see you round the boards.

Lisa ;)

jenkinsdakota
25-11-2007, 23:55
Turnbull is supposedly very environmentally progressive, so that might take away some votes from Labor and the Greens.

I think Turnbull would be the best now that Costello is gone. Downer is a whining sook, and Abbot is mad.

charlen49
26-11-2007, 07:50
It sounds alot better then "scum" Keating was famous for calling everybody in parliament "scum-bag" :laughing: who said it was boring!!! :goodvibes:comeon Lisa...you know other pollies such as Pete have had there fairshare of gutter talk..thats what (according to df who is a dag and loves to listen to and watch q's time) makes parliament interesting..thats what they alllll do!

charlen49
26-11-2007, 07:57
**snort** Comedy gold :yelclap:Thanks*bows*

:thumbsdown:aw thats not nice..your just in a bad mood because your fav polly has dumped you all!

You brought a big smile to my face - very funny Charlen49. I think the Liberal party will have a period of rebuilding, I would guess they will go into a real funk for the next while......
Maybe it will help them sort out the useless state level Libs and reenergise the whole party. Maybe decent dudes like Petro Georgio et al will have a bigger voice now.

Costello will do his 'mentoring' for the next three years and then probably make loads of cash in Macquarie bank or some such place, and why not. He was quite funny, sometimes very funny but a patronising arrogant git to boot.
I hated when, on the seven thirty report say, he would talk to people as though they were so stupid that they would need watering. Still, He has been very disappointed in the last couple of years - I sort of feel a little sorry for him.

A fab weekend.I thought he was very arrogant..thats the main reason i couldnt stand the man!but im sure they will find someone just as arrogant to fill his arrogant boots fom the liberal party!

Pippi Longstocking
26-11-2007, 08:17
A fab weekend.

Heh, you summed up my feelings in three words! :cool:

Mamaduke
26-11-2007, 08:17
Golly gee, you're all very bitter. I would hate to think what would have happened had the Libs won! :eek:
I like Costello and even though I'm sad to see him go, a man with such talent and intelligence would have been wasted sitting in opposition and he's probably realised there are easier gigs in town than being in politics.
The figures speak for themselves and companies will be falling over themselves to secure someone like him on their books and good luck to him.
:yelclap: Thanks Peter, you brought this country out of financial disaster and gave me countless hours of entertainment with your quick wit and banter. Good luck.

charlen49
26-11-2007, 08:27
Golly gee, you're all very bitter. I would hate to think what would have happened had the Libs won! :eek:
ha lol..we'd be winging as much as the libs are and drowning our sorrows too!

Susan Mac
26-11-2007, 08:33
At first I thought 'ha, he realised he was never going to get a chance and got out while he could', but then I thought again and actually think it was a wise move on his behalf - sacrificing his own political agenda for the sake of his party. He has realised that the country isn't that keen on him being leader, and so he is willing to step aside for someone more 'popular' to take his place.
I might be romantising it a little, but that's sort of how i see it.
The thought of Costello being next PM was the one thing that nearly pulled me to the dark side... but I didn't want the labor candidate here to get in!

forbetoel
26-11-2007, 08:37

No bitterness from me, I have never hidden my hatred for the Howard government and that hasn't changed now just because they are gone.

BTW.....How bad is the eek guy? No shock value at all!