View Full Version : Recommend me a stroller!
ButterflyMama
24-11-2007, 18:35
I'm after a stroller than can be used on public transport.. it has to..
Have a reclining seat
Good enough storage
Rain cover and hood
Be able to hold a bub til they're 3/4
Light weight
Easy to transport and maneuver
So any recommendations? :idea: Thanks!
Hi Butterflymama!
We got the Valco Navigator stroller. It's great, does all of those things you described, and is fairly inexpensive, only about $140.00. We tend to use it for going to the shops and such. We have a larger Valco Tri-mode pram which is good for jogging and that, but I highly recommend the Navigator as far as "stroller" goes.
It also has a tray for parent drink as well as a separate toy bar and tray for child drinks which are removable.
Valco Urban Ultralight. It's about $180 and I used it on public transport for a few years. It lays back (not flat but almost) It has a great big storage basket. Comes with a raincover and weighs about 6kgs.
I did alot of research trying to find something light for public transport and this was the best in this price range (i think)
If you can afford a maclaren, they have some great strollers too. The vogue xt is light one, but cost over $300. They are worth it though.
I had a maclaren quest, great light weight stroller at 5.5kg, but it didn't layback flat (it's reccomended for bubs from 3 months) and it was so light that with one bag hanging on the handle it would tip quite easily. I know your not suppose to hang bags but I do. It was the best steering stroller I have pushed.
What about the Maclaren? I reckon they are the best stroller out.
24-11-2007, 19:19
I have a Valco Rad and a Valco Prism.
I LOOOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the Prism which is an umbrella fold kind of stroller with a similar design to the Quinny Zapp - except it lays back almost flat (but flat enough) and is half the price.
I also have a Valco Rad which is TERRIBLE. I hate it. It is a similar wheel base to the Bugaboo, but the front wheel always gets stuck sideways, the rubber on the right hand side of the bar has just started coming off and its just - BLEH! I hate it.
But - I cant recommend the Prism enough - its my car and shopping stroller and its just fantastic!
Hmmm I must have a look at the Prism, not heard of it but sounds pretty good.
I have a Maclaren Vogue and it is awesome. I keep it in the car and use it for friend's houses and shopping trips. It is lightweight, has great recline and is suitable for newborn. My bub sleeps in it no worries. I brought him a sheepskin or whatever it is thingo to sit on and it's real comfy. VERY happy with it. I also have noticed that there are some around (with the cherry stripe) reduced to $299 - must be a new model coming out. They are pricey for a stroller but I shouted myself one for having bubs - perhaps I should have brought myself something more luxurious but I tell you what, a good stroller makes shopping a whole different experience!!
Good luck - look forward to hearing what you choose.
Alice xo
I have a Maclaren Techno XT and I love it, it is pricey but I reckon its worth it. Its easy to fold 1 handed, great to steer 1 handed, lies flat etc. I love it, the only thing I don't like is when it is laying flat you can't get to the basket underneath, but I am used to that now. Good luck
ButterflyMama
26-11-2007, 10:23
I ended up buying the Steelcraft Phoenix. I chose it for it's compact design, large storage, swivel wheels, reclining seat and light weight. It should arrive tomorrow. Review to come!
Ohhhh i am looking at buying one of those!! I cant wait to hear your review!
ButterflyMama
29-11-2007, 15:44
So it arrived today. I am in love! It is so light and easy to manouvre, I love the colour (we got Seaspray) the recline is wonderful, comfy for DD, huge storage basket and great swivel wheels. I am really glad I got this one! :thumbsup: