View Full Version : Have YOU voted yet???

AM
24-11-2007, 11:46
Well, have you? :D

(pretty funny coming from a Kiwi who can't vote) I'm relying on all of you to come up with the goods...

GO....(censored)!!:thumbsup:

Roxy
24-11-2007, 11:47
:yes::yes: sure have - just back from the polling booth!

Noah_and_Elijah
24-11-2007, 11:48
This nerdo was down there at 8:00am sharp!! :sunshine:

prideNJoy
24-11-2007, 11:49
Nope....Im a kiwi too! But i've just sent DP off with DD tagging along to vote!

lavenderpegasus
24-11-2007, 11:50
done... nearly voted for the other guy, because there was this really nice representative that walked me to the front of the line!!! It was hot and I was in the sun with my little man in baby carrier...how nice... I wish i could of voted for the representative:yelclap:

:yelclap::yelclap:for nice people:yelclap::yelclap:

lp in wa

SassyMummy
24-11-2007, 11:53
Nope!

But it's only a very short walk down the road to vote... so I'll be doing that sometime shortly.

LovelyRita
24-11-2007, 11:54
Yes! Just got back. I spent the morning handing out How to Votes for the Greens, then voted when I'd finished. Funny, the only nastiness I got was from the Liberals, even the Nationals were nice! :eek: Smelly hippies obviously not welcome. :p

QTB
24-11-2007, 11:55
Surely have :D

DH cant vote (Kiwi) so i voted for him with my preference :D (although it was who i wanted anyway!)

Lastcenturymum
24-11-2007, 11:57
Yes!! Had to stand in the sun for 20 mins to get in the door, but didn't get tempted by the snags and soft drink....

TeamAwesome
24-11-2007, 12:09
Yep I sure have but then I voted on Wednesday to avoid the lines and other dramas (plus it was the only do I could be garunteed someone to watch the kids) I was in and out within 5mins of pulling up. I plan on voting this way for all future elections.

ETA: am glad I did it just poured down here!

donna-maree
24-11-2007, 12:10
Yep I walked straight up to the Labor guy and took his how to vote and ignored the rest. This is the first federal election that I haven't had to stand out and hand them out:laughing: This pregnancy is a blessing

Tam-I-Am
24-11-2007, 12:12
Yep, sure have ;) :)

veve
24-11-2007, 12:13
Yes! Just got back. I spent the morning handing out How to Votes for the Greens, then voted when I'd finished. Funny, the only nastiness I got was from the Liberals, even the Nationals were nice! :eek: Smelly hippies obviously not welcome. :p
gosh .. you stood there and handed out stuff .... well done!! I admire people who give up their hours to do that stuff ...

I voted - it rained (bless the school where we vote - lots of undercover walkways for the queue!! we got a sausage (and I was SMART .. I packed a lollypop - a RARE treat for JAck .. so he was quiet in the stroller while we waited and voted :laughing:)

Jen

shed
24-11-2007, 12:16
Another non-voting kiwi with an opinion here :D.

DP is going to vote this afternoon and he is putting in my vote with his preferences.

naiwen
24-11-2007, 12:19
Me, Dh and DS went to vote, but I can't as I am from the UK,
I stood next to the Labor lady holding DS and lots of people came up to us as he is so cute!

andie_pandie
24-11-2007, 12:31
Add me to the Kiwi List as well (can't vote), DH has converted so he is off to the booths shortly.

He is not sure which way yet, I have been here now for 12yrs so definately have a opinion on which way I would go. Maybe by the next vote I may have converted, will have to wait and see.

~Bec~
24-11-2007, 12:35
Yep I voted and I remembered to thank the suffragettes as always do (nerd I know).

Suprisingly the Libs weren't my last preference as I couldn't bring myself to put anyone below Family First!!!! :laughing:

Freya
24-11-2007, 12:36
I wish I could vote! :banghead:

Go Labor!:smiliedance:

24-11-2007, 12:40
I sent in a postal vote this week thinking I would have a newborn & wouldn't want to take bub up :hair:

DH voted this morning on the way to the shops :D

the_queen
24-11-2007, 12:51
DH has converted ....... Maybe by the next vote I may have converted, will have to wait and see.

:laughing: I love that terminology!! :laughing:

*ahem*
Yes I voted first thing this morning!

And I made my own little gentle political protest - when the family first people came up to say hello and hand out a card I said "no thank you NOT AT ALL" and went over to whom-I-thought-was-the-Greens man....... who turned out to be a Nationals man..... :o :laughing: Ah well, at least I voted Greens!!

And, did anyone else see the booklet outlining each parties preferences?? Am I just blind, or have they not had that at previous elecctions?? It helped me a lot - I knew the Greens preferences already but I thought I might vote below the line anyway (GO NICK XENOPHON!!!) but with 2 children running amok whilst I voted :rolleyes: I just voted above the line and got out of there. I got them a treat before hand , I thought I'd be smart too Vevey! I guess mine are just genetically pre-dispositioned to be trouble-makers (who, me?? :D)

moonblossom
24-11-2007, 13:05
VOTE!!! When do we have to do that? :laughing:

RainbowStars
24-11-2007, 13:14
Just voted :fingerscrossed: GO KEVIN! :yelclap:

24-11-2007, 13:19
We did ours all on Wednesday :thumbsup:

forbetoel
24-11-2007, 13:41
Yep, all done
Go Kevin and Greens for the senate :fingerscrossed:

Pippi Longstocking
24-11-2007, 13:43
Yay, my vote is in. And my own little protest amused me greatly - I used my 5yo as a minion and got him to say to the liberal dude "I'm a bweeding heart wefty and pwoud" :laughing::devil6:
It cracked me up.

forbetoel
24-11-2007, 13:48
Yay, my vote is in. And my own little protest amused me greatly - I used my 5yo as a minion and got him to say to the liberal dude "I'm a bweeding heart wefty and pwoud" :laughing::devil6:
It cracked me up.

That is awesome!!!
My 1 year old walked in with me, both of us wearing our KEVIN07 t-shirts. We had to put a top over the top of it to vote though. :thumbsdown: So I put a black shirt over the top right as I got to the front door of the hall, and then with my first foot out, I took the black top back off, to once again display my awesome Kevin07 tee.

Roopee
24-11-2007, 14:02
That is awesome!!!
My 1 year old walked in with me, both of us wearing our KEVIN07 t-shirts. We had to put a top over the top of it to vote though. :thumbsdown: So I put a black shirt over the top right as I got to the front door of the hall, and then with my first foot out, I took the black top back off, to once again display my awesome Kevin07 tee.

Why did you have to cover up?
I have made special t shirts for the kids- hope they can wear them.

forbetoel
24-11-2007, 14:20
Why did you have to cover up?
I have made special t shirts for the kids- hope they can wear them.

You can't wear any slogans or anything that advertisers a party. I know it sucks, but I knew this before I went down to vote, so I had my black top ready. Even my baby had to have his t-shirt put on inside out.

prideNJoy
24-11-2007, 14:21
Yep, all done
Go Kevin and Greens for the senate :fingerscrossed:

These two are a very popular choice amongst DP's family and mine...:D:goodvibes:

Phyllis Stein
24-11-2007, 14:32
We voted first thing this morning (Greens with Labor pref's). And I picked up a rather fetching vintage handbag for 50c from the Church jumble sale - all in all - a very productive morning! :D

Now, about to send DH up to the shops for some Election Night supplies to keep us going to the wee hours - this will be a close one.

Roopee
24-11-2007, 14:35
You can't wear any slogans or anything that advertisers a party. I know it sucks, but I knew this before I went down to vote, so I had my black top ready. Even my baby had to have his t-shirt put on inside out.
Well that sucks!
All that time turning my children into political tools............. for what?:laughing:
Oh never mind- i'll take a spare each...

wonder what would happen if i didnt take a spare? Its cold here and many would see it as neglect to not provide my children with the basic need of warmth?:nono:.................:o
Im kidding by the way:thumbsup:

Bron
24-11-2007, 14:40
We've just been. Very lucky we were too - the polling booth was at a local rec centre, and the line was inside in the air conditioning. What a relief. It's something like 37 degrees here.:sunshine::sunshine:

metalhead713
24-11-2007, 14:53
yep got back an hour ago, after storming through the swarm of flies trying to hand me liberal pamphlets and swatting them away :laughing: then getting into the rediculously hot gymnasium at the school I went to vote, in, out, run back home:rolleyes: thank god thats all done lol.
Go labor:fingerscrossed:

Roopee
24-11-2007, 15:39
All done!

Goooooooooo Johnny!:wizard:

Meemo
24-11-2007, 15:51
Yes I did, (i did have an issue too!!!)
I"m not going to say who I voted for though...

But as my 4 year old said:
"I hope Mickey Mouse wins"... And I have to agree with her, He'd be a hilarious Prime Minister, and such a great Leader!!!!
:devil6::p

pinkishbunny
24-11-2007, 15:58
Yup did it this morning....Over it now lol :rolleyes:

purplefairy
24-11-2007, 16:04
I cant vote they said i dint register in time. :hair:
I have voted in past elections but they took me off the electrol role because we moved and then i had to update and re register i did but missed out for this election:hair:
Can they fine me? I have a letter to say I cant vote in this election but I tried to enrol in time.
I dont really even understand why they take you off the role in the first place:confused:

Starlet
24-11-2007, 16:08
I did mine this morning at around 9.30. Had all 3 kids in tow(ugh. Dp is away at work). We went to DS1's school and he started walking off to kindy, had all the line laughing when I called out to him and said he didn't have kindy today!

I had bribed them before hand and if they were good when I was voting they would get an ice cream from maccas afterwards.

We were in and out in about 15 mins.

Oh and I couldn't help smiling when I was thinking that this will be the last time I will vote with this name because I'll be a MRS in 3 months time LOL....yes, I'm a dag.

SassyMummy
24-11-2007, 16:46
Okay, all done. :thumbsup:

subaruforestermum
24-11-2007, 17:15
I went at 8.45am to get it out of the way on the way to DS's swimming lessons.....

I am soo peeved though at the amount of fliers they give out! Even the Greens, who say they care about the environment!!!! (I know paper can be recycled, but most of it is just dumped on the bench just before you go inside to vote, no recycling bins around anywhere!!!)

A lady asked me if I needed one or wanted one and I said to her "No thanks I dont want to contribute to the useless waste of resources, and the destruction of trees for NO reason, as they serve no real purpose!" (which of course is just MHO), she was quite shocked but polite about respecting my desicion!