View Full Version : OK-I asked for this!
I asked Bubhub for this new forum topic not knowing if there are others out there in Bubhub Land that this relates to.
If there is I'd love to hear from you. I'm in the North East of SA on a sheep station, not too far from Broken Hill, but it is a forum I think that goes over state borders.
(I don't mind how long it takes for someone to reply to this topic- in case there's someone out there that looks at this message in a months time!)
MrsMiggins
12-03-2006, 15:28
I think that's a great idea!
I am not in a particularly isolated area, but we may be moving to a very, very small costal town in NSW toward the end of the year.
If we do, I will definitely be keeping an eye on this thread! ;)
Hi Kazza,
This was a great idea. I come from a farming background. (but currently live on a house block - Can't afford a farm right now) But would love to find out about how really remote people deal with a new bub. I live in a country town - only 3 hours from brisbane. And there are things here that I can't get. It must really take some forward planning for you. Or are you just a big ebayer??
Looking forward to hearing about your challenges and triumphs.
Stacy
13-03-2006, 07:03
Hi Stacy, i just read you're in the South Burnett region, whereabouts?...I'm in Chinchilla.....
Sorry Kazza....didn't mean to hijack....:o We lived in Baradine, NSW for 6 months in 2000....a VERY small town.....i don't know how you manage, especially with a bubby!Good on you! :yelclap:
ButterflyKisses
13-03-2006, 07:15
Hi Kazza, I don't live in a remote area but popped into your thread for a sticky beak.
I just wanted to say you're obviously made of something that I wasn't. When I was 24 I was briefly engaged to a wheat/sheep farmer who lived in between Dubbo & Narromine NSW. At the time I lived on the coast near Coffs Harbour and we meet when he was on holidays with his family.
I had been to visit him and his family on the farm a couple of times and then realised that it was not the life for me.
so I just wanted to say you must be an amazing person to be able to live that kind of lifestyle and if you don't mind I'd like to from time to time pop back into your thread to see how you are going.
take care and congratulations :yelclap: on your new category on this site and I hope you get lots of replies and are able to make some lovely friends me included.
You girls got me all excited when I logged on this morning thinking I'd finally met some people as crazy as me!:laughing: But thank you for your very supportive comments.
I love living out here, no neighbours to wake me up! I get to live and work with my husband which I think makes us closer but you could see how some couples it could do the opposite.
We live in a great community, just don't see each other that often. We've been given a portacot, a rocker, 2 baby floor gym things and a stroller so far and were offered a cot, we already had one. But then that's the way in lots of small towns all over Australia.
Stacy, you're right it's a combination of lots of forward planning and lots of internet shopping, including ebay. Even then it's hard as our mail service is very slow. We are lucky we get it delivered twice weekly though.
The worst part for me will be when I move closer to Adelaide at week 36. My husband can't have 4-6 weeks away so I'll be with my family but without Angus until the baby comes.
Hi Kazza,
I live in the Pilbara of WA, don't now if that counts being Remote for you? I LOVE living in the outback, the hills, red dirt and the gorges! :smiliedance: I was born in Paraburdoo, but moved to Tom Price 7 months ago as my DP lived here.
We spent a month away waiting for DS to come, we went to Karratha 500 kms away. What a very expensive trip that was!
:smiliedance: Mel :hugs:
MrsMiggins
13-03-2006, 10:41
Iluka on the NSW far north coast.
My IL's live there & DH wants to move there, but I don't! We're currently in negotiations......
I have no real issue with the IL's, I am just happy where we are now. I've lived in a small coastal town once before, so I know it's not really for me. I prefer to have the mod-cons within a convenient distance!
Where we are living now is perfect! Just the right blend of busy & quiet!
MrsMiggins
13-03-2006, 11:09
They have moved here only fairly recently. Originally they were in Canberra & this is the first time we have lived in the same state or territory for nearly 10 years!
14-03-2006, 10:48
fiona i love iluka, so beautiful. have friends there. me and dh meet in wooli, bit further down.
MrsMiggins
14-03-2006, 11:15
It is very lovely there! We love going there to go fishing. We go a few times a year. I don't think I am all that keen to live there though!
One thing I hated about living in a small town once before is that I tend to want to blend into the crowd & just go about my own business. When I lived in Merimbula (which was proabably a little bigger than Iluka population-wise when I lived there), everyone always knew what everyone else was doing! I love some things about living in a small, close-knit community, but not all!
Not a lot of people have heard of Iluka! Whenever I mention it, more often than not I am met with blank looks!
misskittyfantastico
14-03-2006, 11:55
Scuse me for just jumping in:p
I live in the wheatbelt in WA in a town of about 500. We're currently in the looonng process of moving from town out to the farm (about 20km away). At the moment DH just drives out there everyday but as soon as his parents move out of the farm house we'll be there :smiliedance:
I love the country life but it was a pretty big adjustment for a city girl! I've been here 3 yrs now and wouldn't want to be anywhere else.
It's nice to have a thread for the country chicks...I look forward to talking to you all some more:)
Great to hear from you Steph!
You sound like you're looking forward to moving out on the farm. Are you originally live from a farm? Sounds like your in-laws are reluctant to move.
I too moved in to my mils house (my fil passed away a long time ago). It's not too bad now as it does feel like our own home but to start with I found it really awkward. My mil went to live with her partner and took nothing with her so it still felt like her house! I couldn't fit any of my things in. But eventually we got her to have a clean out and it's not too bad.
I think the crunch came when she gave us white paint she'd had sitting in the cellar she'd bought ages ago to paint the kitchen with. I was really annoyed as I didn't want a white kitchen- have way too much dust for that! So my DH put his foot down and said "we're going to be living here, not you, we'll pick the colour":yelclap:
It is strange when Angus's brothers come to stay too as they tend to regard it as their home still-which it is to an extent, but if we lived somewhere else they'd never do some of the things they do. One of his brothers thought he'd come up over Chrissy with a few mates and stay. We were away but it would have been ok if he'd bothered to actually ask us first. I got wind of it and had a big spew about that idea! How rude!
Good luck though with it all!
misskittyfantastico
14-03-2006, 12:29
HI Kazza,
No I'm a cit girl originally so farm/small town life has been an eye-opener!
It's a funny thing with the IL's moving.....I think they are pretty reluctant to move (even though they say they're not!) I spose it must be hard - my MIL has lived there for her entire life.
I can so see us having the same issues with trying to make the house feel like our home. I have put my foot down a bit on a few things...I'm making sure that ALL their stuff is moved out (could take years!) before we move in and I'm painting the house and getting new floor coverings. Hopefully this will help me feel a bit more at home - It's a weird thing to be moving in to my MIL's house....
Gotta run Bub's having a grump!:rolleyes:
misskittyfantastico
14-03-2006, 13:22
Back again...
Babies are so inconvenient LOL!
Anyhow, I just want say thanks again for starting the thread Kazza.
Good luck with your lovely bump:smiliedance:
ButterflyKisses
14-03-2006, 14:58
Iluka on the NSW far north coast.Beautiful part of the country - but hey I'm biased - I was born and bred in Maclean - lived there for 25 years. My first job was working at the Clarence River Fisherman's Co-op at Maclean where I use to do the Iluka, Yamba & Maclean fisherman's pays. Yamba is great and has certainly grown since I left Maclean in '87.
Lovely beaches at Iluka. We use to go to Shark Bay with the 4WD and drive from there right through to Jerusalem Creek near Evans Head. Not sure if you can still drive 4WD on the beach. Have a lot of great memories from all our beach BBQ's and bonfires on the beach of a night. Still know some people that live at Wombah just before Iluka.
I hope everything works out for you when you move and that you are able to make friends easily.
14-03-2006, 15:42
all this talk about iluka makes me want to go on holidays there.
ok dh just came in and were going this weekend :yelclap: .
ButterflyKisses
14-03-2006, 15:57
all this talk about iluka makes me want to go on holidays there.
ok dh just came in and were going this weekend :yelclap: .Hey Fiona when you get all settled in how about you have a house warming party and invite us all!!!!! :smiliedance: :yelclap:
14-03-2006, 16:30
yeah party.:smiliedance:
if you do make in in october so i can get trashed, pg at the moment.:D
we can harrass the locals and get you run out of town:laughing:
MrsMiggins
15-03-2006, 22:31
Hey Fiona when you get all settled in how about you have a house warming party and invite us all!!!!! :smiliedance: :yelclap:
OK! You're all invited!! BYOG!! :smiliedance:
Don't worry bronny-jane, it won't be til around Xmas time!
So Kazza
What are your sheep's names?
ButterflyKisses
17-03-2006, 07:27
So Kazza
What are your sheep's names?Rainbow, Rainbow and Rainbow - baa baa!!!!!!!! :laughing: :laughing:
Rainbow, Rainbow and Rainbow - baa baa!!!!!!!! :laughing: :laughing:
No, there are no, am I allowed to say it?, black sheep here.
Our sheep's names are Scotty, was found at Scot's bore, and Harold, was found near Harold's dam.
We've also had a Charlie, found near Charlie's paddock, and a Jimmy, one our neighbour Jim's sheep.
Obviously we won't be using this naming strategy for our baby. I won't be coming home with a Burnside, the name of the hospital I'm booked in to!
ButterflyKisses
17-03-2006, 16:22
No, there are no, am I allowed to say it?, black sheep here.
Our sheep's names are Scotty, was found at Scot's bore, and Harold, was found near Harold's dam.
We've also had a Charlie, found near Charlie's paddock, and a Jimmy, one our neighbour Jim's sheep.
Obviously we won't be using this naming strategy for our baby. I won't be coming home with a Burnside, the name of the hospital I'm booked in to!great way to name your sheep - disappointed they aren't all called Rainbow though :laughing:
my DH & I called our palm tree Russell because we won it in a raffle at our local RSL club a few years ago and I must say Russell is still doing fine given he's in a pot.
Burnside is definately not a good name to call your little one. We'll maybe if it's a boy perhaps you can nickname him "Sideburn" :laughing:
I'm only letting you off for this really bad joke cause it's Friday arvo!:laughing:
ButterflyKisses
17-03-2006, 16:38
It is Friday isn't it?gee they certainly do work you hard on the farm. Yep it's Friday and St Paddy's Day to boot - sorry about the bad joke I guess my Irish step-dad's (this is true he's Irish all the way from Ballymena Nthrn Ireland) bad sense of humour is rubbing off on me being St Paddy's and all :laughing: :laughing:
I think i fit in this catergory somewhat:)
I was a city girl now living in the NT. Whilst I am not so remote at the moment (Katherine) I have just come back from 2 years in a remote aboriginal community in Arnhem Land in the Gulf of Carpentaria. I considered our 'driveway' to be a 3 hr drive off the highway.We had mail once a week,no shops just a little shed that sold really expensive items,like milk for $6 for 2 litres and $5 for a loaf of defrosted stale bread:barf: I had to drive through 2 rivers to get to it and also to get back to the highway! These rivers flooded for 6 months of the year cutting us off. I had to do bush orders through Woolies that got freighted out there once a fortnight.We got no papers,couldn't have grog as it was a dry community.
I spent my days playing with my kids and teaching them early childhood, I also had to read the weather for the Bureau of Meteorolgy 3 times a day.Dealt with snakes and wild pigs, buffalo, turkeys and but caught some lovely fresh barra everyday! I don't miss that way of life, just a little bit maybe, it was so peaceful.
Now I'm in Katherine, reasonably sized town of 8000, made up of mainly idigenous familys and RAAF.
Hope to chat soon, cheers Jen
Go Jen!
Wow it must feel really strange now living in civilization. I take my hat off to you, I don't have to deal with anything that bad! I did nearly step on a snake on Friday but it was pretty small and non-venomous. And I only have to drive through creeks, no rivers, but that's only when it does actually rain, not that often!
Being in Katherine I'm guessing that you do have to put up with Imparja? That's what we get and we see all the ads for businesses in Katherine, don't think I'll start shopping there though, lol!
Hahahaha Imparja....what his name...Yamba...:banghead: eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek! We have Austar on now, no more YAMBA!!! Other free to air is 7 central, abc, sbs. Not much...i miss channel 9 and 10 (QLD)!!!
I hate watching shows 4 hrs after everyone else, even then its a hit and miss,eg reality shows, we get 10% of what is actually shown interstate, you get eviction shows of Big Brother but not the weekly shows WT? Why why..........:confused:
Needless to say why I'm on here so much:D
River crossings, yes they were fun, There is a concrete 'bar' /slab under the water about 8 foot across. I was sitting on the riverbank one afternoon, nice and peacefully when a car full overloaded with a family crossed the bar and drove straight off the edge! Right into the drink,now me being a city girl was like HOLY COW now what? I was sitting next to the police car as hubby had gone up the river in the boat, and they are looking and yelling at me to help them, obviously thinking i could create miracles because I had was near the blue red flashy lights!I went to help but there is only so much you can do yourself with little kids. My hubby saw what had transpired and come down and towed them out but I will never forget them all piling out the windows with their car half under the water!They weren't in danger...other than the crocs that could have been in the water. Speaking of which, I have seen one as wide as the bar trying to slither across, and many salty's sunbaking on logs whilst we are in the boat...:eek: National Geographic LIVE!
doin'mybest
24-03-2006, 14:56
I asked Bubhub for this new forum topic not knowing if there are others out there in Bubhub Land that this relates to.
If there is I'd love to hear from you. I'm in the North East of SA on a sheep station, not too far from Broken Hill, but it is a forum I think that goes over state borders.
(I don't mind how long it takes for someone to reply to this topic- in case there's someone out there that looks at this message in a months time!)
Hi Kazza. Which station are you on?
I'm not exactly remote, but definately outback. I'm in Leigh Creek - quite a nice little town, although I would love to be on a station!
Howdy doin'my best, great to hear from you!
Yes I certainly think you come in the outback title!
I'm going to send you a private message so watch out for that!
misskittyfantastico
26-03-2006, 11:42
Hey doin'mybest,
It's nice to hear from another bush girl!
hope to chat to you some more:)
misskittyfantastico
26-03-2006, 21:51
Hey Karen,
I see your on here tonight
How's it going?
Hi there Steph!
I've not even spent my first night home alone and I'm bored!! Only 5 more to go.
My only female neighbour's coming over at some stage this week for a coffee!:smiliedance:
Funny how when you're home alone you hear little creaks and things you'd never hear any other time!
misskittyfantastico
26-03-2006, 22:05
Yeah, being alone does fuuny things to your brain! I've often spent nights alone but I've never been isolated like you are...How far away is your closest neighbour?
There is a single guy who is about 10 kms away, pretty close for out here! But my neighbour Jen is about half an hour away. She's lovely.
She's a Mum to 3 and used to be a midwife so she's great for info! She also reads heaps so we swap books.
We are very lucky as all our neighbours are fantastic. They would all come over if I needed a hand with something.
I will also be getting a visit from my toothless mailman on Monday arvo and Thursday morn. Wow- I'll see 2 different people this week!
Saturday we're off to the races in Broken Hill. I've 2 girlfriends flying up from Adel. So I'll more than make up for my week in isolation by the time I do the rounds at the track and the pub! Not to mention all the bushies you catch up with in Woolies on Sunday morning, with sore heads, hahah, not me this year!
misskittyfantastico
26-03-2006, 22:24
I find station life so interesting...how far away from a town (ie hosp, supermarket, school) are you?
Sometimes I feel like I'm a bit alone but we have a great GP, school etc...and we're only 3 hrs from Perth!
Sorry to take so long to reply to your question, just been texting back and forth to my gf about her hat for the races and checking my outfit all put together. I bought a new maternity dress ages ago on ebay. It fits the bump perfectly but the bust area's pretty tight! Not restricting my breathing though so it'll do!
We're only about 25kms to the nearest town but there is only about 2 lived in houses and a pub there, which as you know, may or may not be open. They do a great pub feed though with yummy salad even! The closest major centre is Broken Hill and we're very lucky as it's only 1 and a half hours away. Of course it has everything you'd expect in a major centre.
When I told you that time I was so annoyed we couldn't go to the pub for tea we ended up jumping in the car and going to BH. Had dinner, caught up with some friends in 2 pubs then come home! I think we were doing it will we still can, no passengers!
doin'mybest
28-03-2006, 14:26
It's nice to hear from another bush girl!
hope to chat to you some more:)
Hi Milliesmum, how's it going?
What town are you from?
misskittyfantastico
28-03-2006, 14:38
I'm from Bruce Rock, about 300kms east of Perth. We have about 500 people in town so everyone knows everyone else (and generally everyone elses business!):laughing:
Hi Steph, saw you were logged on so thought I'd say hi.
That whole everyone knows everyone's business thing- don't you just love it!
Although, having said that, when something bad happens people do rally to help you out!
I'm just going to get my road map out to see where Bruce Rock is.
I found it. My bil would have been through Merredin heaps as he works out of Kalgoorlie, Kambalda West, and is often going to Perth on his time off.
misskittyfantastico
28-03-2006, 15:41
it's a small world isn't it? I'd love to have a chat but wouldn't you know it, Millie's just woken up...and she don't sound real happy!
Hopefully I'll catch you another time:)
Cause Angus is away I thought I'd better slip out and check the sheep and the watering points. Well I got bogged!! About 30 kms from home, and in a low lying area where there is no radio service so I couldn't call my neighbours!
I walked for about 45mins, lucky it wasn't too hot!, then climbed up the side of a huge hill. Would you believe it I had my phone and could get service from the tower on the highway!:smiliedance: It'd be about 60 kms away but I was high enough up that I was above all the other hills. So I text my neighbour, lucky she wasn''t at home or she'd have had no service to get a text, she then called her husband who came and picked me up on his motorbike then got me un bogged!:smiliedance: Told you I've the best neighbours:thumbsup:
misskittyfantastico
29-03-2006, 19:27
Geez Kazza...you're like a real life McLeod's daughter!!:laughing:
I'm glad you're okay:thumbsup:
doin'mybest
29-03-2006, 20:18
Gee you're lucky it has cooled down alot! How much rain did you get? You must have got a reasonable shower to get bogged. Thought we might have got some rain here Monday, but we didn't get anything. Cradock got a good rain. Don't know how much it was, but all the creeks ran. Hopefully we might get some rain from that cyclone that's off WA at the moment.:fingerscrossed:
Geez Kazza...you're like a real life McLeod's daughter!!:laughing:
I'm glad you're okay:thumbsup:
:laughing: Thanks Steph, not quiet as glamorous maybe at 29 weeks! Although isn't one of them preg too? My dogs are probably cuter!
Doin'mybest we ended up with only 7.5mm here at the house and 13.5mm (nice!) about half way down. I was on my way down the very bottom to check the guage when I got bogged. It wasn't that wet in the paddock but the watercourse I was "parked" in had had a lot of water run through it off the neighbours place. Angus had the nerve to ask "well how much rain was there at Canewood"?! :banghead: MEN!
misskittyfantastico
30-03-2006, 20:13
Hi Kazza,
I noticed you were logged on so I thought I'd say Hi and see how you're getting on.....no more adventures I hope?!:D
Hi Steph,
no, thank goodness, today was pretty boring really!
Had a great chat to a man from Telstra and ended up getting a new mobile! Yes, I'm really desperate for company!:laughing:
Hope things are good in the west Steph.
misskittyfantastico
30-03-2006, 20:26
Hi Steph,
no, thank goodness, today was pretty boring really!
Had a great chat to a man from Telstra and ended up getting a new mobile! Yes, I'm really desperate for company!:laughing:
Oh god! you know things are bad when you start doing that:laughing:
I once had someone ring to do a survey during seeding and I wouldn't let them hang up
Things aren't too bad over here...lots of wind from the cyclone so we've had a few fires around the place. The blokes seem to have got them under control but god I hate it when the fire alarm goes off in town:thumbsdown:
Oh I meant to say with the smoking thing...I found that mantras/little sayings written down everywhere really helped too:)
lots of wind from the cyclone so we've had a few fires around the place. The blokes seem to have got them under control but god I hate it when the fire alarm goes off in town:thumbsdown:
Oh I meant to say with the smoking thing...I found that mantras/little sayings written down everywhere really helped too:)
I'm hoping you can get some rain come down too!
Thanks for the advice on the smoking issue.
misskittyfantastico
30-03-2006, 20:32
Yeah, hopefully we'll get some showers in the next day or so:)
I've just come up with a brilliant idea, like you do at 12.30 am! IGJAM!:D
My lovely sil wanted to have a baby shower for me back home but I felt a bit guilty as it doesn't feel like that long ago all the folks back home gave us engagement presents then they all came to our wedding party, with gifts! So I didn't want people getting baby shower gifts too! But Shel's like everyone keeps asking me how you're going and want to catch up when you come down to have the baby.
So my brilliant plan is I could have a morning/afternoon tea and ask people to just put a gold coin donation towards buying a Doppler for my RFDS clinic. I'll make up the rest easily. They don't have one and through a Bubhub thread I've found some good ones over the internet pretty cheaply.
doin'mybest
31-03-2006, 14:57
Gee i would have thought the RFDS would've had a doppler. That's a great idea.:thumbsup:
Thanks double u!
I was pretty pleased with my idea. I woke early this morning to ring my sil and Mum to tell them and they both thought it was good too.
You'd have thought it's such a basic piece of equipment and so cheap they'd have one in the plane atleast! My obs could not believe they didn't have one. She's like "What do they do then?" I'm like "the Dr tries to hear something but can't" especially since the placenta's anterior. Scary isn't it!
doin'mybest
31-03-2006, 16:08
You'd have thought it's such a basic piece of equipment and so cheap they'd have one in the plane atleast!
Yeah i would have thought it would be standard equipment!
I'm in the North East of SA on a sheep station, not too far from Broken Hill
Hi Kazza,
Im going to Broken Hill soon for a wedding! My friend was born in Broken Hill but moved to Victoria when she was 1 and now lives on QLD on the Gold Coast. We grew up across from each other and then both moved our lives to the Gold Coast. Her Grandparents and some family are still in broken Hill so she is getting married up there, the wedding is in Silverton and then photos with red dirt in the back ground! Very outback!!!
Im so excited, going to be such a different wedding!
My son is 5 months old so this is his and my first trip to outback and since Im in the bridal party I get to see all the beautiful outback when we go out to get pics done while Hubby acts as mum for a day LOL!
Leanne:laughing:
I'm going to Broken Hill soon for a wedding!
the wedding is in Silverton and then photos with red dirt in the back ground! Very outback!!!
I'm so excited, going to be such a different wedding!
That sounds really nice Leanne. I was in Silverton yesterday actually, for the St Pat's Races recovery day- not that I was in need of recovering!
Silverton's such a gorgeous little town, and yes, you're right all those amazing colours will be in the background.
Do you know where you're staying? Sing out if you'd like some recommendations- we always get motels when we have to stay for a weekend.
Broken Hill is a pretty different place but has some great things to do and see, pm me if you want some names of places to eat and things to see.
Have fun!
Hi ladies, hope you and all the bubs are well.
I've finally got a day home, even then we went to the neighbours this morning to pick up some escapees that turned up in their musters.
We were off again to Broken HIll yesterday which was busy and tricky as a lot of the streets were closed to allow for the extra traffic and people for Pro Hart's funeral. But we got everything done eventually.
We're off on Friday morning to inspect a property my b-i-l wants to buy. It's way out of our league so he wants to sell here to fund it:thumbsdown: . I love my home and my neighbours and don't want to move. But we'll need to sort something out, I guess we'll get there in the end. My b-i-l thinks off himself as a bit of a Sir Sid Kid! Especially since he's taken up polo!!
doin'mybest
06-04-2006, 15:48
Hi Kazza. How's it going?
Good luck for Friday. Hope you don't have to sell your property :crying:
I've been having a laugh this morning at my husband's expense!
He finally got his new shed built after it'd been laying in our yard in pieces for over a year, very exciting. So he's been building a huge work bench to put in it. We went to Broken Hill last week and got this massive piece of steel to go on the top and this other stuff to make the legs and shelves. He's been welding away, putting it all together and getting all excited about it as he goes.
So I went out for a look today. It's good but it's too big!!:laughing: It's on it's side at the moment and it's too heavy for him to turn over and most definately too heavy to move to the spot he wants it!:laughing:
Poor Angus, one day he'll have a win!
diamonds22
12-04-2006, 16:14
awww reading all these posts makes me want to move the country!!! I'm a city girl, soon to be a beach girl....but lol I want to be a country girl!! The only thing that would worry me is everyone knowing your business....is it really like that ??(on tv..they tend to show country town people as people that like to know everything about everyone!) I would imagine people live to far away to worry about all that gossip **** don't they? so whats it really like? all that space must be sooo relaxing!
misskittyfantastico
12-04-2006, 16:22
awww reading all these posts makes me want to move the country!!! I'm a city girl, soon to be a beach girl....but lol I want to be a country girl!! The only thing that would worry me is everyone knowing your business....is it really like that ??(on tv..they tend to show country town people as people that like to know everything about everyone!) I would imagine people live to far away to worry about all that gossip **** don't they? so whats it really like? all that space must be sooo relaxing!
Where I live everyone really does know everyone elses business (I thought I had landed in Wandin Valley when I moved bush:laughing: )....but they are also ready to drop everything at a minutes notice to go and help someone.....there are ups and downs to country life, just like city life I spose.
Open spaces are a real bonus, but I never imagined how demandind and stressful farming would be....we'll start putting the crop in in a week or so and I literally won't see my husband for 4 weeks - they work round the clock:thumbsdown:
Funny though....I've been here 3 years now and I never want to live anywhere else:D
It's a bit like everyone knows your business, but that does have advantages too when things aren't good.
My toothless mailman is the biggest gossip queen and as we don't see our neighbours that often unless we tell him something it usually wouldn't get out without our permission. Mind you he told me congrats on our preg cause he'd seen the ultrasound pic on the fridge! :eek: What else does he read on our fridge when I'm not home?
But when I lived in my hometown, a town of about 1000 people, everyone knew what everyone was up to, and if they didn't they'd make something up! But I think like I said out here we're too far from each other and everyone's too busy to bother! (And there aren't many women, don't know if that makes a difference?):laughing:
misskittyfantastico
12-04-2006, 16:26
BTW kazza....too funny about Angus:laughing: poor fella
Funny though....I've been here 3 years now and I never want to live anywhere else:D
I know how you feel Steph. I love it here, I've the best neighbours!
My neighbours have already given me so much stuff for our baby, an advantage of having one after everyone else!
I seriously doubt that my neighbours when I lived in Adelaide would have done the same- had enough trouble getting a hello from them!
BTW kazza....too funny about Angus:laughing: poor fella
Ah yes it's all happening here today!
Our little terror, my baby, terrier has been escaping out the yard by climbing through a gate with mesh on it and he's ripped his toe nail. He seems happy enough running around on 3 legs! It's all drama here!:laughing:
diamonds22
12-04-2006, 16:39
its sooo different in the city...lol god if someone says hello here you hold on to your purse tight and wonder what the hell they want! We live in apartments in the city...and I couldnt even name one person!!
The flats I lived in were pretty good as our neighbours were also from the country so we'd actually do stuff with them, ie go out and share cabs, have barbies, my neighbour gave us one of our dogs!
But I used to catch the bus everyday with the same people and I was too scared to say hi 'case they sprayed me with mace or something!:laughing:
ToTeenyTots
16-04-2006, 23:03
I was actually searching for a thread to help me keep my 15 month old entertained inside the house when I saw this thread. I live on a station in WA. It is a great place for a kid except when it rains and she cant spend all day outside. We have had an extreme amount of rain this year and inside games are becoming more of a challenge. The next little one is due at the end of June so I will really know Im alive if we have a wet winter! Cant play inthe mud when its cold (supposedly) But it has been a wonderful season so far and the cows are loving it.
Hi Tashie's Mum!
Welcome on board. Glad you've found us on this thread! :smiliedance:
I've found Cue on the map and yes I understand you have had a lot of rain this year.
I too have a baby due in June. Where will you go to have your baby?
Anyway, I'll pm you.
misskittyfantastico
17-04-2006, 10:19
Hi Tashies Mum!
Welcome to yet another country chick! I know what you mean about the rain! (although we (in the wheatbelt) haven't had nearly as much as you guys! It's all good though....keeping my DH happy anyway:D
Hope to chat some time:)
Hi Steph,
Hope all's well in the west.
It's a really windy and foul day here today so I'm really putting off wrestling with the washing! It is meant to rain but we'll see.
Sorry, I'm going to sound unashamedly like a cocky's wife here but I don't care- I saw on the weather last night a huge cloud band over WA extending in to SA, are you under that? Let's hope so!
misskittyfantastico
17-04-2006, 10:46
Hey Kazza,
Yeah we are "supposed" to getting some rain in the near future....but it all looks pretty blue outside:thumbsdown: Oh well, maybe we'll get a surprise. John's started seeding...just sheep feed so far, by the end of the month they'll be well and truly into it.
I hope all's going well in your neck of the woods:D
Yes, can't complain today. Apart from being really windy it's not too bad.
Highlight of my day though has been, this is so sad!, when I took the 4 dogs for a walk this morning one poor bush copped 7 wees on it!! 3 from the same dog!! I was laughing but like I said it's pretty sad and maybe I really need to get a life! :laughing: And get out more!
doin'mybest
17-04-2006, 11:08
Hi and welcome to Tashiesmum:)
How was everyones Easter? Did you get plenty of chockies?
Mitchell had his first taste of chocolate by helping himself! I wondered why he had gone quiet for a while and i found him in the dining room, he'd pulled a box of little easter eggs off the table and was quite happily munching away - foils and all! Chocolate EVERYWHERE - including all over his white tshirt!:eek: Thank god for nappysan! Oh well at least he had good fun!
doin'mybest
17-04-2006, 11:20
Kazza that poor little bush wouldn't have known what hit it! It's amazing what we find entertaining when there's no one else around to talk to! ..... you actually counted .....:laughing:
misskittyfantastico
17-04-2006, 13:19
Our Easter was pretty good doin'my best, very quiet but lots of choccie:D Dh and I took Amelia to church and she slept in my arms through the whole thing!! All the old ladies told me what a "well behaved" baby I had (if only they knew how sleep deprived she was!)
Did you find any foil in Mitchell's nappy yet? My SIL has me in stitches telling me about all the stuff she find in her bubs nappy.
I'm with you on the wee thing....my little yapper (jack russell/maltese) Hugo has a weeing comp going on with the other farm dogs (kelpies) they go to the same three drums continuously (although after about 3 leg lifts Hugo's out of juice!-so he just goes through the motions:laughing: )
Hi Doin'mybest, sounds like your Easter's not too bad. You weren't a missing bush walker I heard was found around Quorn were you??
Lucky boy Mitchell! I'd already eaten the chocolate in our house before Sunday!! Actually there is a chocolate chicken and another little box with an egg and some wrapped chocs in it sitting in the pantry I realllly want to eat but I'm being sooo good.
I bought them for our neighbour and his daughter as they came over last weekend to feed our pets while we were away. I haven't caught up with them yet. I told Angus it'd be silly to give them to them now by the time I do see them Easter'll be over, and I should just invite them for dinner instead. He still won't let me eat it though.
Steph it is my little terrier Sav who is usually the wee leader but today it was Angus's dog Willy who went 3 times! It's ridiculous, with 3 males they don't let up.
doin'mybest
17-04-2006, 20:28
Mitchell has had some lovely 'rainbow' nappies for the last couple of days :laughing:
I did get quite a bit of chocolate for Easter, but DH has eaten most of it on me :mad: Oh well, maybe he's doing my figure a favour!
I'm glad i've only got 1 dog!
Kazza that bush walker wasn't me! I'm not that energetic at the moment! I did hear about it though, don't know who it was - must've been a tourist.
Hi Steph, noticed you were around the place.
Hope all's well. We ended up getting only about 3mm of rain, oh well better luck next time!
I have decided I have the best neighbours!:) They asked if there was anything they could get for us yesterday in Broken Hill so I met them on the road and gave them my winning x-lotto ticket (:smiliedance: $59) and asked them to cash it in and get me some chocolate. Well, Jen came over to deliver it today- they bought me a special pack with 2blocks in it!!:thumbsup:
misskittyfantastico
19-04-2006, 14:57
Hey Karen, Sav and Hugo could be twins:laughing: ....Is Sav a "typical" terrier ie ummm spirited! Poor old Hugo was number one until bub came along and he's not enjoying his demotion!
And yes, you have excellent neighbours....anyone with chocolate is good as far as I'm concerned:thumbsup:
Savvy was actually a wedding present from the neighbours in question. Angus thinks we got jipped! They did also give us some towels, but Sav is meant to be a snake dog. He has a massive dose of small man syndrome and I think he has ADHD too!
He loves nothing better than growling at our big brown Kelpie- the biggest blooming kelpie I've ever seen anyway!- Barney and bossing him around!!
misskittyfantastico
19-04-2006, 15:11
No doubt about it...they must be related:laughing: Anyway I have to go:( Amelias kicking around in her cot ...and now she's singing:D
Catch ya later
Just indulging in some purely selfish venting, excuse me!
My mailman rocked up today in a Subaru car and not his usual ute. I was outside and in my really tight t-shirt, 3/4 pants and slippers! when he got out of the car with some tourists!! He then tells me he's showing them around stations! I was so embarrassed, wouldn't have been if just mailman as he has no teeth so figure I can get away with slippers!
But European tourists! They'll go home with this horrible thought of people in Australia being very daggy!:laughing:
He normally barges in to the house but thank goodness I met them outside so stopped them from going in. The house actually looks half reasonable at the moment in anticipation of mil's visit but that''s not the point- I don't need tourists coming in to my house!!
misskittyfantastico
20-04-2006, 13:47
Sorry Kazza, I know I shouldn't but :laughing: :yelclap: :laughing: I just have the funniest mental pic in my head!
:p
i know, I was telling my mil on the phone before and she was laughing too.
I was really cranky though! I've never been to my mailman's house but I certainly wouldn't take all my friends who visit BH in there!
misskittyfantastico
20-04-2006, 13:57
Maybe you could organise a tour - I for one would be up for visiting a nosy, toothless mailman:D
I don't even know what to say to that request!!
I am getting excited though cause in a couple of weeks we've BH Field Days and a guide thingy arrived today so I'm just working out what I'm going to look at.
As I'll be nearly 35 weeks think I'll give the free bungey trampoline a miss!
Giving Angus's old school a miss as we always visit their site and get our photo taken. The photo gets published in their Old Scholars mag and once we were described as "Angus & friend" (me the friend, not fiance they met for drinks the night before!!) and last year at differernt field days we were described as "Angus with wife" (wife me, women they met yet again!)
I fear this year might be described as "Angus and mother of his child"!!
ToTeenyTots
20-04-2006, 21:14
I understand what you are saying Kazza bout the mailman. We get a lot of prospectors in the cooler months and they wander in at any time to ask really silly questions and yes usually I've either got half my PJs on still (as I got distracted by Tashie at a crucial moment or due to the fact that I have baby brain at the moment I dont realise until they have left). Alot of places around here have gone into station stays and I know for a fact that it would drive me insane.
I think you may have jinxed me too, My MIL is coming on Monday. I am off to Newman for a wedding tomorrow and I will be back Monday. House is a shambles but hey! Not looking forward to the trip at all alone with Tash. She gets really cranky after about 3 hours (Newman is about 7 hours ) as that is our usual mill run time and she figures that we should be home by then. But hey its an outing. One day soon in about ohhhh 5 years I may even be able to have a drink or two at a social function. I couldnt even drink at my own wedding as I was breastfeeding at the time and Tash has always refused the bottle. But hey I get to show Tash of to all the rellies and let them chase her around for a day or two.
Anna:smiliedance:
Yes, if we wanted to include tourists in to our business, we'd do it ourselves!! Although, Angus's big dream is to build a motor cross type park here!! :eek:
Have fun at the wedding Anna.
Will your hubby meet you there or are you doing the whole thing alone?
Hope it's all good whichever.:)
Ok everyone, the mil has gone home so I'm back!!!
I can now stop pretending I have a spotless home and all I do is housework all day and go back to my usual cruisey life of a neat but a little dusty house and, most importantly, get back on Bubhub! :laughing:
Hi girls, hope everyone's well.
Is anyone else getting rain? We've had 20mm here at the house, our house dam has had a top up which was nice as it was very close to empty. I suspect we may have had more rain down the bottom of our place too.
We were supposed to go to a meeting today, got up at 4.30am to get organised and do our lunches etc, but we got 2/3 of the way there- mostly on dirt- and decided to turn around as it was just too wet. We were making a bit of a mess of the road too. So we ended up home at 2.30 which meant apart from hour and had stop at Angus' cousin's we spent 5 hours traveling to get nothing done!
Have a great weekend everyone!:smiliedance:
ToTeenyTots
02-05-2006, 21:46
I know how you feel Kazza my MIL left this morning and I am absolutely buggered. I thought that you were meant to have a break when the grandies were there to look after the grandkids. Apparently not
Wedding went well. For a little girl who doesnt come across many people let alone a large group of people at once Tashie is most certainly not shy. It was really cute watching her trying to mix it with the big kids. By about 930 at night I had tired of chasing her and therefore all the kids around the house yard. But I was out voted and we continued for about another hour till she finally collapsed in the pram for a kip. I used to think it was full on taking her out before she could move! Heaven help me after I have the next one! I take my hat off to all the mothers of twins and families of more than 1!
Good to see you getting some rain. None here but we arent complaining....yet! We always want more though we have definately had our fair share.
Anna
doin'mybest
03-05-2006, 19:02
We got a little rain here the other day, about 10mm i think. It's been beautiful days since then though, but the nights are pretty cold. DH was on night shift last night and i was so cold in bed! I'm gonna be freezing when winter sets in properly!
misskittyfantastico
03-05-2006, 19:05
Hi girlies,
We have had no rain and have started dry seeding, so any wet thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
BTW Kazza - I hope all ia good with you, I haven't heard from you in a while!
Yes Steph, we were away again!! We're never home and off again this weekend.
I had hairdresser and obs appts Tues so we went down to Adelaide Monday night and had a look at 2 2nd hand LandCruiser utes on the way, nothing like packing 15 things in to one trip to town. We then went over to my family's place Tues night and had a look at a couple of more utes on the way home. Nice to be home. And I think I'll stay here to week 38 instead of 36. Whatever I do will be the wrong thing I guess!
Tomorrow we're off again to the Broken Hill field days, Friday and Saturday. I was looking really forward to that but I was asked to be a maternity model:eek: in 3 fashion parades over the 2 days. I'm beginning to get very nervous about it all now!
Doin'mybest you sound like my DH. He hates winter with a passion! He's going to stock up on fire wood later today if he gets time. Thought you might have had some rain. Like I said we had 20mm here and most of our neighbours had 60 or 70 pts. Our other neighbours were away so we went over to feed their dogs and do their waters. We checked their guage when we got there and they'd had 4 measly mm! Poor Jim, he was getting so excited, Angus had to ring him to say sorry but that's all you got. I even decided to put their sprinkler on the lawn it was so dry!!
I've got quiet an essay here! But I hope everyone's well, and Steph I'll try as hard as I can to get you some rain. Oh that reminds me, Angus was on the Country Hour Tues when we were in Adelaide, talking about the rain and the season. He did the interview on the phone Monday morning. I was getting fitted for some maternity bras and friends were ringing to say they heard him. Then yesterday on our way home we heard him again on a little radio promo for the Country Hour.
Hello out there ladies!:wave:
Well the field days were very tiring and my feet are still killing me now, but the fashion parades went really well. I only had to wear one outfit for each show and I had 3 different outfits for the 3 shows. They were all lovely and I ended up buying one of the tops I wore, which I got discount for. I got free entry for me and who ever else was in the car both days and some beautiful hand locally made chocolates as a thank you too so even though it was a volunteer thing I did alright.
Angus came home with a pressure cleaner so he's happily outside washing something as we speak. His mother has always said no to one in the past but this year he's like this is stupid, I'm just getting it!
Where is everyone? I feel like I'm talking to myself :ecomcity: :laughing:
Had another busy celebrity day today, this time with the film crew from Totally Wild. They came out to our RFDS clinic to do a story.
I was filmed having a drink and a biscuit while chatting to the locals and then had my blood pressure taken 4 times in a row while they got the shots they wanted. Didn't matter as when I originally had BP taken by Dr earlier in my appt it was up a bit but by the time they got around to filming it was back to slightly above normal.:) Did wonder if my arm was going to fall off though.:laughing:
Hope everyone's well and the season's looking good!
ToTeenyTots
12-05-2006, 22:06
Hi Kazza
I am not sure how far you are from shops or chemist. I am only 40 kms from town (admittedly not a very big one ) but the nearest chemist is about 500 km away which makes it hard to grab the little things you may need after Bub is born. I wish I had had some more of an idea of what I might need before I brought Tash home. I was and still am a bit of a greenhorn when it comes to kids. Anyway my point is I have been trying to think of things you may or may not have thought of. All I have come up with so far is Fess (saline drops for blocked noses) and infacol (wind drops). Maybe others can suggest a few more things.
I see that you havent got far to go. When do you head to town permanently? I am still working that out myself. Next one is due on the 4th of July but I am being induced on the 26th June cause they dont want me to got full term. The doctor that comes once a month and my OB want me gone by the end of this month but I cant see that happening. I dont expect Mick back for another week or so, and I would like to be home while he is for awhile before Tash and I head South.
Anyway if I think of anything else that may be a lifesaver I will let you know
i will waffle off now
Anna:ecomcity:
FourAngelKisses
13-05-2006, 07:11
Hi, thought I'd add myself to the list. I live in a town halfway between Bathurst and Cowra in NSW. It annoys me living here as we have to travel so far for anything, but we can't afford to move and DH can't afford to get another job that pays as well, so he is stuck in a job he hates. :(
We are in an area with no school bus, and no public transport, so if we don't have a car, we are up that creek without a paddle. I have to make a 27km return trip to take the kids to school each day, it really sucks in a way, but there isn't much I can do about it. Actually, I don't mind driving that far, it's just the cost of petrol I hate. We are up to 147.9 here now and when I am driving a stationwagon 270km a week just for school, it REALLY adds up. DS1 has asked me if he could ride his peewee 80 to school.........it gets really tempting at times, let me tell you, lol.
We are in a town of 3000 people, but the little villages bring the population up to around 5-6000. We only have 1 GP for all those people, she is fully booked out for 3wks in advance. DS2 is sick ATM with tonsilitis and I can't get him in to be seen. He has had tonsilitis 7 times in the last 8mths and he has only managed to see a Dr twice because I have made a 90km return trip to see one. As long as he has panadol and nurofen, he does okay. But it's not right that I can't get him in to be seen. Once when he had it, he wouldn't crawl or anything, he would just lay on the floor crying. He would fall asleep for 30secs and wake up crying, only to go and repeat the same thing for the next 10mins. he wasn't eating or drinking, so I called the Dr only to be told I couldn't get him in. He was 13mths old then!!!!! In the end, I took him to the ER.......in Bathurst.
Medical things out here really suck. Transport out here sucks. And the people, don't get me started on the people. They are all up themselves, they can't accept new people. Only people who were born here, or who have lived here for 50yrs +. I've been here since 1994, so I have a few years left before I will be classed as a local. I've got no friends here, I have one in Bathurst and one in Young, both who I met online and are lovely people. It doesn't bother me though, I'm a homebody, so I'm happy with it just being me and Matthew during the day.
ToTeenyTots
13-05-2006, 20:43
Hi Angel kisses
I hope the little tacker is feeling better. Thats alot of tonsilitis. Even though the town nearest me is tiny (probably 150 people) we have a nusing post and a doctor that comes once a month. You can always get in to see the nurse and I have never had a problem getting a Dr appt. We also get visiting specialists that come through. Tash has a pediatrician appt this week that they sent me a letter in the mail for saying that they had booked her in. I didnt even no that the pediatrician was coming and there is nothing wrong with Tash but I figure its all bulk billed so I may aswell take her for a checkup. So I think Im alot luckier than you. I come from Newman originally which is about 7-8 hours away and its pop is about 3-4 thousand and you can never get in to see a Dr there or any of the visiting specialists either.
Fuel prices are getting ridiculous. Would have been nice to see a break ther in the budget We are currently looking into bio diesel. My father has been using it in his machinery for about 1.5 years now and all going well so we have organised to collect fat and oil from all the roadhouses etc within our immediate area. The upfront set up cost is reasonable so time will tell.
Anyway once again hope little one feeling better and you get some sleep
\Cheers
Anna
:wave: Hey ladies,
Hope everyone's well. Guessing everyone's busy. We've been busy too- what's new?
I have been trying to get my freezer stocked with frozen dinners for Angus as I'm off tomorrow to my parents. We've a contract musterer here this week helping Angus bring some goats in so they will have to make do with my frozen selections, frozen pizzas and chops! I'm sure thay'll both survive. I wanted to stay another week but with Angus out mustering all day, thought just in case better not be here alone.
So here I am with only 3 weeks to go! Getting scary now! Tashie's mum you can't have much longer than that yourself? Take care everyone anyway and I'll try to keep in touch from Mum & Dad's and will let you all know when something happens!
ToTeenyTots
27-05-2006, 15:10
Your are doing better than me Kazza. I leave on Wed/Thurs for Perth and I havent even begun to sort out food for Mick. I suppose he will have to deal with it mainly on his own which should be interesting.
I am really ready to have this baby now but I am not looking forward to the drive to Perth at all. Tash can be a little minx in the car and just driving for that long should kill me, let alone all the set up and stuff when I get there. But I shouldnt complain because next time I do the trip I will have two little minxs in the car.
All the best and let us know how you are going
Anna
Pssssssst! :smiliedance:
Where did everyone go?
misskittyfantastico
05-07-2006, 22:10
Kazza was our champion!...How are you Emma?
alanandemsmum
06-07-2006, 17:23
I supose where we are is classed as remote I live in a small mining town called Pannawonica with a population of a 1000 and we are 200kms from a big town and 1600ksm from Perth.
We have lived here now for 3yrs on the 17th July
Would love to chat to other who live remote
doin'mybest
07-07-2006, 12:25
Hi guys, great to see some new people in here :yelclap:
I live in a mining town too - Leigh Creek. It's only a pretty small town though, maybe 600 people, I'm not really sure. We're about 600km north of Adelaide.
Hi guys just thought I'd drop in and say hi!:wave:
I live in a small town - though not as small as most of you, 3 hours west of Brisbane.
Hello ladies!!:smiliedance:
How lovely to come back and catch up with everyone and see some new faces:) .
All's well here, lamb marking starts Thurs, Fri, Sat, or when ever the contractors turn up really. Makes life very easy to plan!:laughing:
My mil and bil will be turning up Mon and Tues. Have heaps of book work to do, June books, tax, BAS, stock return report for pastoral board etc. So will be very busy so excuse if you don't see me for a while.
I'm good thanks :)
I'm not from a small or remote town, I was just reading the thread and asking myself how I think I would cope living in a remote town lol
Here's a stupid question lol - do you ladies have broadband or dial up internet connection?
Take Care :wave:
Hi Emma,
We are very lucky to have broadband which is supplied through our satellite phone system. My parents live on a farm only 1 hour and a half or so from Adelaide and they don't have access to broadband!
Thought I'd fire up this thread again.
The MIL's gone home and it wasn't too bad!:smiliedance:
So I'll be back Bubhubing full time!
Hope everyone's well. Have a great weekend:wave:
misskittyfantastico
21-07-2006, 15:10
awwww love the new avatar!!
Well, we had 6mm of rain overnight, so DH is happily out spraying today...hopefully there is more coming on monday:fingerscrossed:
I'm pleased to hear that you're MIL free Karen (so much nicer for you)
I'm so excited. I'm going to be having a tele link up chat with some other new mums across Outback SA. I can't wait.
Bearskin
31-07-2006, 14:42
Just thought I would drop in and say hi :)
We are not outback/remote but are in rural Victoria; only about 3 hrs north of Melbourne with a small farm at home, a bigger farm 15 kms away that we lease and a livestock transport business. My DH and I looked at some bigger (and drier) farms up near Warren in NSW; I was keen but he said he couldn't cope with the pub being an hours drive away and mail twice weekly. LOL
Kazza - First of all congrats on the new bub and hope all is going well. I had to smile at your post re. lamb marking and June BAS. Couple of weeks ago we spent the whole week shearing, marking lambs then drenching the lot. When I was bub free I would work in the shed, get the sheep in and out, cook smoko and lunch, pen up, the lot but its a darn sight harder now with 8 month old bub! BAS was due, invoicing for June had to be sent out and DH wonders why its steak and mash every night for a while.
During lambing I spent many a morning and afternoon with bub in sling while on 4 wheeler checking the ewes; she loved it but I was terrified and ended up putting a car seat in the ute. Much easier :)
Emma - we have satellite broadband here which was subsidised by Telstra. About the only bloody good thing they have done lately!
Better go - DD awake and tearing the office apart!
Hello again Bearskin!
Wow, you sound like a very busy couple. Just the transport business sounds like a lot of work, let alone the farm work.
Our pub has just closed here. It used to be 25km away, so now the closest will be an hour away. Unfortunately for Angus it closed the week I went to Adelaide before Hugh was born. So he was batching for a month with no pub. Saying that, the pub is the only place he could really go if he wanted to see anyone or didn't want to cook dinner(or have one of my frozen sensations). Pretty lonely. And our mail is twice weekly.
I'm pretty lucky things have died down here now. So nice to have our house back to ourselves. The next big thing we have on is goat mustering at the end of Aug. Angus's 2 bros will be here for that. Won't be for long though.
ToTeenyTots
01-08-2006, 14:06
Hello Bearskin
You do sound extremely busy, thankfully my DH wont read this he thinks I should be able to do everything with an 18 month old and now a newborn. We too have a business as off-station income and I find that that is sometimes the straw that breaks the camels back. Just keeping up with the paperwork is a nightmare let alone the filing. Well truth be told I havent actually filed anything for a long time now. Makes for a very messy office.
Kazza
Hope the little fella is still sleeping for you. I am so jealous. We have two fencers coming next week that I will have to cook for. I hope they like my 1 pot specials.
Gotta go number 2 is demanding attention and if not seen to will wake number 1
Anna
Bearskin
03-08-2006, 22:37
Just thought I would share my exciting day with you all. DH had to leave at 9am this morning with cattle going to Camperdown; he got our wethers in first thing as I had to work this morning (bookwork for other farms). I met the stock agent at 1pm and sold all the older wethers - thank god as we are running out of feed here. Mum brought DD out to the farm and we ran the wethers back down the road (boat not until Tuesday) then penned up a ewe that had twins and rejected the first born; here I am hooning around on the bike chasing this poor ewe up to the yards then picking up her lambs and locking them in. It was just like the old days before bubs!
Then got to sit down and tell DD all about it - it will be her job in a few years time :)
I lived my whole life in Melbourne before meeting DH and moving up here - never thought the best part of my day would be selling sheep to an export agent and chasing a first time ewe to get her to mother up. I am such a softie though - most blokes around here would have just left the lamb and if it lived, it lived and if a fox got it, well that's life. As my DH tells me, "If you have livestock, you have dead stock."
I guess its easy for me; we only have 1600 sheep and lambs on 2000+ acres; you guys probably have 1000's of sheep on 10,000's of acres. DH and I drove to Longreach one year and there were heaps of dead stock off the sides of the roads - I naively ask, "Don't the farmers up here check their stock every day and feed out hay?" and DH replies, "I don't think the 4 wheeler would do 30,000 acres in one day." I had no idea....I had to be told 2 summers ago to wear boots when riding around the sheep. A neighbour sprung me riding around in short shorts, singlet top and thongs and rang DH; someone had to tell me that 1) There are brown snakes in stubble paddocks and boots might help me out one day and 2) Dress more appropriately or the blokes will talk about me at the pub....
But I have learned heaps and welcomed the changes that life bring; nothing like getting sheep poo down your back when climbing up the outside of a stock crate unloading lambs from WA. Gotta get a pair of overalls!!!
Hope all is well and you all get a laugh or two from my life :)
Great story Bearskin! I was cracking up and had to read it to Angus.
You're a good girl getting on a bike. My mil does, she'll muster and drove, and hates it that I won't. Angus doesn't care. My neighbour told me not to go out in the paddock as I have my own work to do at home and I'll never get it all done then! So I'm sticking to that story!
Kazza
Hope the little fella is still sleeping for you. I am so jealous.
Hey Anna, this is really going to annoy you, but, he's making a habit of having an 8 hour sleep, 8pm-4am
I'm sure the fellas you're feeding will be fine and like what you serve. In all my cooking experience I've learned blokes generally aren't fussy. All the best with it though. Hopefully they'll get up and help with dishes too!
ToTeenyTots
12-08-2006, 11:44
Kazza
All I can say to both your replies is "in my dreams". :laughing:
Anna
Oh Anna, I hope you're coping alright.
I was very spoiled over lamb marking (I think??) when my mil did the bolt to Adelaide leaving me with 6 to feed for breakfast, lunch and tea plus Hugh who was 3 weeks old, my bil shocked me by getting up and doing dishes after tea. He NEVER does dishes. I was so impressed. He must have felt really sorry for me.
ToTeenyTots
16-08-2006, 15:12
I think the hardest thing is not being able to get out and about more. I do as much as I can with the two kids now but it is definately limiting with Rebecca being so young. I have always worked outdoors and except when I was mining I have always done physical work. Some days cabin fever rally kicks in.
Anna
don't worry Anna, it won't be too long and the girls will be outside with you!
Bearskin
20-08-2006, 21:43
Just thought I would catch up and say hi to all; its very dry here and everyone is praying (in vain, I feel) for rain. I feel sorry for the farmers who have sown canola after the first rain in May and now is starting to flower due to the unseasonal warm weather. Most farmers around here have irrigation to part of their farm but allocations have been reduced. How is a dairy farm supposed to continue without green feed and reduction in water allocation? Where is Australia going to get their milk from if we don't start supporting the industries that feed out nation?
Okay, that was my little vent :) And to think I used to be a Greenpeace member and vegetarian; now I'm out there with the gas knife cutting lambs tails off! But I've treated anough fly blown sheep to convince me that docking and mulesing is a good thing.
Here is another city girl/farming tale to make you all laugh; last year, during lambing (my first season), DH was away in the truck for a fair while. I was 4 months pg and mum was staying with me. First thing in the morning, I had a ewe down in the paddock next to our house and flew down on the bike in my jammies. Mum was watching from the gate (thinking 'She's gonna slip that baby if she keeps riding the bike like that'). I got to the ewe and the lamb stuck; tried to ease lamb out and no good, get down on my bum with a foot either side of her bum and still cannot get the lamb out. Lamb was gone anyway and ewe struggling. I couldn't get any purchase as the lamb was slimy so I whipped off my jammie top and wrapped it around the lambs neck. I hear mum shouting and look up; there I am topless in the paddock and the school bus goes past....
Yep - the high school boys in town had all had a distant but embarrassing look at me topless. Great. Never did that again...ever. And avoided going into town for the next 3 weeks! Had to get my neighbour to come up and show me the technique with baling twine and a ute. Mum had to go inside the house - she was horrified :eek:
And a month ago, the farmer I do bookwork for sprung me in the channel fishing out a couple of blind sheep that were stuck; as he arrived with his 2 boys in the back I am climbing out of the channel with my wet jeans sliding down my bum and showing some classy plumbers crack. The bright spark decides to get his camera phone out and takes a photo of me - what a p***k!!!
Anna - hope all went well with the fencers and they took their plates to the sink and did their own dishes?? Maybe? Hope you are getting to spend a little more time outside, even if its just working in the garden for an hour? I still spend more days inside than out - it does send you stir crazy
Kazza - have you started goat muster yet? How many do you normally bring in each year? It must be a huge job; maybe the BIL can give a repeat performance and help clean up?
Better go and look like I'm doing some office work! :laughing:
Michelle
Michelle, I love your stories!!:laughing:
The goat muster was supposed to be next week but it's been postponed now. Angus decided that since we had that big rain last month, they've really scattered and would be too hard to get.
We generally get around 600 a year in say 2 musters. So we don't have that many that they are trashing the place but we've enough that we'd make prob $20,000 a year. That's a lot of money for this place. Very handy extra income.
ToTeenyTots
30-08-2006, 14:42
Michelle your stories are great.
Fencers have all gone and believe it or not I am up to date with my accreditation paperwork so other than stressing about the state of my house I am calm in the face of the auditors arriving tomorrow. Wonders will never cease.
Kazza we are catching up! Bec is sleeping like an angel. :sleeping: Well in 3-4 hour lots anyway and I got to spend 2 whole hours in the "garden" the other day. Life is good! I use the term garden loosely as we have a "new house" and there is nothing but sand as far as the eye can see except for my sprigs of grass and tiny little trees and creepers that I put in last summer. This year they should take off. Tash makes me put her shoes on if we go anywhere that has grass and wanders around happily barefoot on the dirt.:laughing:
Anna
Tash makes me put her shoes on if we go anywhere that has grass and wanders around happily barefoot on the dirt.
That's so cute! Glad to hear things are getting better for you.
We've been very busy here and about to get busier.
Off Sunday to our nephew's 1st birthday party then Monday to obs for my 6 (!, It's now 11 weeks) post natal check, bring back Angus's Gran for a holiday. Tues my telelink up morning and Angus's bro coming to help him put in some poly pipe. Wed to Broken Hill to do shopping. Angus's Mum coming up too at some stage.
Angus was out doing a water run last week before he went away to work for a few days and he came across a small mob of goats. He mustered them, although he said it was droving really they were so quiet, and brought them to the house then got them up to Broken Hill. Nice arvo's work and earned $1200 for them:thumbsup:
ToTeenyTots
31-08-2006, 15:33
I know the feeling I am going to book my 6 week check up next week. A few weeks late but hey I never got around to having one at all with Tash. Off to town to see the health nurse for Rebeccas shots. I hate it but its gotta be done! They rang me this morning to see if I could come in this arvo. Too bad I made a trip to town for stores yuesterday. $ 1.60 at the bowser here!
Anna
$ 1.60 at the bowser here!
Makes you feel really confident doesn't it!
I say to Angus perhaps just leave being on the land and buy shares in a public transport business!
Bearskin
05-09-2006, 01:08
Anna - i'm jealous you have a garden (of sorts)! We built a new house last year and still have our 'rock' garden around the house. No water so no point buying in soil and ending up with most of it in the house for me to vacuum up :) Hope the audit went well...
Kazza - good work on the goats; that would be handy!
Its so dry - we celebrated on Saturday night as we had 20 points! We are trying to hang on to our lambs rather than sell them for next to nothing but will wait and see.
$1.60 - that awful. We pay $1.50 for diesel at the moment; nothing like a $15,000 fuel bill each month - bloody trucks! They are a lifesaver as income comes in every month but they can chew through some fuel!
Took DD to see my horse tonight and she loves him! She was grabbing him on the nostril and hanging off his whiskers and he just stood there like an old donkey and loved it. So glad DD is not afraid of animals - she loves the dogs as well. Horse is a 6yr old TB; they take some feeding at the moment. DH is a true farmer and keeps telling me, "Bloody horses, they cost too much. Get another motorbike!"
She has a new pet - we picked up orphan twin lambs last week (1 died) so she comes for the bottle feed at the lamb pen. She makes this 'suck suck' noise when we feed the lamb. It is so cute, esp. as she has never had a bottle herself. Lamby's not to keen on her though hehe.
Better go to bed; have SIL and kids here tomorrow as they are getting their house sprayed. SIL is hard work!
ToTeenyTots
05-09-2006, 14:07
Now I'm jealous! I have always had horses but we had no yards near the house when we got here so my old boy is still in Newman. I convinced Mick we needed to put a paddock around the house to put the heifers into keep the mulla mulla down for fire etc. Sorry fellas but we had a really good summer season, a dry winter but still plenty of feed around house. Anyway now I have a horse paddock so the old boy will be heading here soon. Hmm must mention that to Mick soon. He is an appaloosa but very old now so I will keep him for Tash and have to get another one for me (damn shame). Tash loves animals too and they seem to tolerate her. The heifers are absolutely enthralled by her. Mick brought me home some little orphan kids last time we trapped but I didnt keep them long as they are very destructive pets.
Most of the surface water will have dried up soon and we should start trapping in Oct I think.
We have been spoilt as the trucks working on the minesite had fuel supplied and now that we are doing some work for the shire we have to supply our own. It is in the price but you still got to pay for it while they dawdle along paying you. But dont get me started on the trucks. They have been a godsend for income but boy the cause some headaches. Thats not including the drivers!
Anna
Anna, my great sleeper has woken up in the middle of the night for the third time. Some girls on here are suggesting teething or growth spurt. He's at a wonder week too so hopefully he'll be back to his old self soon.
My whole house sinks as our dogs found parts of a dead feral goat and brought them home. Feral goats absolutely reek (let alone a rotting one!) and between the 4 dogs there's plenty of fights over the bits so they've stashed pieces all around our yard!.
Oh and I'm going to make you ladies so jealous. We have lawn, well about 4m x 4m out the front- currently covered in goat bits!
Hugh went to his first barbie in the bush yesterday. Was perfect weather, but had heaps of shade. We were at our friend's place up the highway, a place on their property that they never used for a barbie til Tom Cruise camped there with his kids while making a Mission Impossible film (2 I think), a few scenes were filmed on their place.
He ended up with dirt in his hair- I don't know how?- but loved it, as he does just love being outside.
ToTeenyTots
18-09-2006, 14:07
Gotta love the smell of Billy goat. It is horrible. We only get roos for our dogs cause I just hate the smell of billy let alone rotting. We eat a fair bit of nanny goat though and I really enjoy it. Hopefully the rain you are praying for will wash the smell off your lawn.
Hope the littl fella has gone back to sleeping for you. Rebecca was doing so well (for her anyway) but she has returned to horror night sleeper again so i am asuming it is a growth spurt.:fingerscrossed:
Snake season is well and truly on us here. 4 in two weeks which doesnt sound like alot but thats only what we have found in the houseyard. It is pretty tricky to make sure that all the kids dogs etc are safe while keeping an eye on the snake till you can find shovel/gun to deal with it. Trying to explain to Tashie that they are bities and to stay away. She now kills all shoelaces with her little broom. Quite cute really. Her bashing away singing out bities bities MMUM DAD bities. Hopefully she will stay away. Thats one bonus of having no lawn. I do a snake track check in the sand every morning on the way to the chooks.
Enough of my waffle
Anna
4 in two weeks which doesnt sound like alot but thats only what we have found in the houseyard.
Anna, that sounds like a lot to me!:eek:
Bearskin
29-09-2006, 23:57
I agree with Kazza - 4 snakes in 2 weeks is 4 too many! I haven't spotted any snakes around the house yet, but a few dead on the road so just waiting....but I know they are out and about as we no longer have mice around the outside of the house :eek:
Must be something in the water - my DD is not sleeping great either. Waking a couple of times in the night now - just when I had gotten used to sleeping through. Bugger! She has new teeth though and they have all cut through for now so hopefully I can get a reprieve soon...
DH has been away heaps in the last 2 months; I reckon last month he had 5 nights at home out of the whole month. I feel so bad for him; he misses out on some special stuff with DD but its just so dry he has no choice but to work harder in the trucks as no tucker to punt sheep :( DD is going through that clingy stage too and it just breaks my heart when DH comes home and Zoe clings to me when DH just wants a cuddle. She gets better if DH is home for a couple of days in a row but that is rare.
Yuck on the dead goats - my old kelpie finds dead sheep (not in our paddocks, the neighbours!) and brings back the head and leaves it at the back door for me sometimes...glad she wants to share her spoils! Gotta love how the dogs find a dead sheep or roo in the padock and roll in the carcass, get right in the ribcage then come running up for a pat!
Planning Zoe's 1st birthday at the moment; DH wants a huge party of mostly adults with a camp oven lunch and, in his words, "Get on the p!ss." Hmmm....and who gets to do all the work! LOL One thing I have had to really get used to is BBQ's around here; all the men group up around the fire/BBQ and talk farming, weather and footy and all the women flock in the kitchen and mind the kids.....but not at my house!
Better go to bed; going for a ride in the morning! Zoe had a sit on one of the mares last week - she loved it, was squealing and laughing...can't wait until she is old enough to have her own pony and we can ride together :)
we hit the big smoke for a wedding Sat, which was beautiful! But depressing at the same time- all the men there are pretty much farmers from my home town, my bro works my parents farm while my Dad has a business that sells farm chem and equipment and my other bro works for a contract spraying company. Here we're pretty much used to dry and crappy times but where they're from it's traditionally a very reliable area, this is about the first really dry and terrible year they've had in decades!
They were all so stressed- but with diesel prices going up and grain prices coming down I would be too.
..can't wait until she is old enough to have her own pony and we can ride together :)
That's so cute.
ToTeenyTots
05-10-2006, 14:45
The bungarras are awake! So that should keep the snake numbers down. For some reason they seemed slower to start in the warmer weather than the snakes this year.
We had friends up for the AFL grandfinal last weekend so I know all about the women in the kitchen scene. Unfortunately I was the only one in the kitchen.
Gotta love em
I know all about the women in the kitchen scene. Unfortunately I was the only one in the kitchen.
Gotta love em
I know that wasn't meant to be funny Anna but I'm laughing!:laughing:
Clesthaven
14-10-2006, 14:35
:wave: Hi, I'm Madeleine. We are in a reasonably remote location, Broome, Western Australia. The town is getting larger and there are socialising opportunities but both husband and I are pretty low key and we have mainly always just socialised within the family and nobody else in our family lives up here. Though we have made some friends!! We came from Perth a year ago as I got a job up here. Husband Jamie stays home and looks after our daughter, Jessica and I work as a Library Technician at the local TAFE. Jessica was born on the 16th of February 2005 and our second baby, a boy, who we have already named Martin is due on the 16th of February 2007.
Bearskin
15-10-2006, 00:17
Welcome to the thread Madeline :)
I have always been told the Broome is beautiful; lucky you! Congrats on your pregnancy too - Martin is a great name.
Been a bit quiet on here lately; had to finish the BAS for farm and truck companies plus I have 2 clients that needed their BAS done too - thank god for mums who come up and play with their granddaughters all day while I sit in the office.
Had a busy week; the owner of the farm where we agist most of our sheep has decided to cancel our lease without warning and run his own sheep since his crops failed - thanks for the loyalty! Luckily we have clients (from the truck business) who offered us long term agistment so whilst DH was away in WA, Me, DD and MIL moved all the sheep to their new paddocks. Chicks doin' it for ourselves! Took DD for a little ride on the motorbike - she is a brave chickie. She'll make a great farmer one day (NOT a truck driver, I keep telling DH).
Anna - that's nice of everyone to leave you in the kitchen to do all the work for your GF day.
DD is trying so hard to walk at the moment; she is so close but just doesn't have her balance right. She gets frustrated and throws a little tantie; tell me this, how can an 11 month old have a tantrum? They are tantrums too - throws herself on the ground, kicks, throws her toys...I don't look forward to when DD is 16...
Better go to bed; DH, DD and I were coming home from our neighbours 50th and there were care lights at IL's stockyards over the hill. We followed the car and tracked them all the way back to their house (about 15 kms away); people are known theives and have been in jail for stock and property theft....DH was hilarious; telling me to chase this car down dirt roads. He is such an investigator :D
hi Madeleine:wave: , and welcome
You lucky girl living in Broome. My husband and I got married on Cable Beach! We love it, although we did notice a huge difference over our first trip in Aug 03 to when we got married in Jan 05. Much more yuppie and commercial. But still great! We often say we should just move there ourselves when things are going wrong here!
I can't believe I lowered Angus down a well yesterday on a rope!
God only knows what Workcover would say about it.
The cover on a shallow well near our house fell in during the really high winds we've been having and then a poor wether fell in and drowned. So Angus wanted to get them both out.
We had a rope tied to the ute and Angus on the other end with his radio in his pocket to tell me what to do. I was very nervous but it went very well and didn't take long for him to go down and tie chains and ropes to the items floating down there and for me to bring them all back up eventually.
He didn't even get his feet wet! Man he must trust me though!!
Bearskin
18-10-2006, 11:57
Oooh Karen, bet you didn't give Angus a big kiss after going down that well! That sheep would have been pretty ripe...sorry I cant help but have a little giggle :D
Lowering Angus down a well - that would have been pretty scary :eek: Its amazing what you do on your farm with such a little bubby; they must breed them tough out your way!
Its amazing what you do on your farm with such a little bubby; they must breed them tough out your way!
Says she who's been moving sheep and chasing rustlers!!:laughing:
Hugh was laying on some towels on the floor of the ute with his toy dog and the a/c on, prob better than being at home!
ToTeenyTots
19-10-2006, 14:04
Kazza I had to have a bit of a giggle aswell withy lowering Angus down the well. I hope yo took the opportunity to get him to promise to do a few things for you before you let him up. I dont think Mick would trust me to bring him back up somedays:laughing:
Bearskin I ,like my mother before me, tell both my girls daily not to have anything to do with trucks or truckdrivers. I never listened to my Mum and I dont suppose they will listen to me.
Mick is away at the moment for about 6 weeks with the watercart on a minesite to help pay some bills. I miss him already. He is a great Dad to the girls with endless patience.
Bec has started to roll and is pushing herself forward on her belly by bringing her legs up and pushing with her knees!:eek: I have explained to her she is too young but she doesnt care. But gets very frustrated at getting stuck in places she should be able to get to!
Anna
Bearskin
19-10-2006, 22:19
LOL Anna; DH tells me yesterday that when Zoe is older, she can run the trucking business :eek: Does he think were are a trucking empire or something??? Lindsay Fox we are NOT!
I can see Zoe now at 18 yrs at the saleyards chasing stock agents for loads of sheep and cattle and all the sexist pigs perving on her instead...that got DH to rethink his grand plans for his trucking empire!!
Its a bugger when they go away for so long; truck drivers make great dads as they get home and are so keen to spend time with their kids. DH got home from WA and took Zoe all day (apart from feeds); went round the sheep, checked water and crops. But it is bloody tough when you do almost all the parenting on your own; there is no-one to chat to at night about your day, have a beer/wine with or share the dinner/bath/bed routine. Still I would rather have my job; Dave does miss out on so many special times.
Anna, those 6 weeks will fly by and Mick will be home before you know it. Have you got someone staying with you? And the girls will be so excited to see him too - I know the look on Dave's face when he gets home and sees Zoe is priceless. Zoe hears the truck pull in and stands at the back door, banging on the glass saying "DADADADAD!".
ToTeenyTots
20-10-2006, 22:48
Tashie is just the same when Mick gets home ! Her face lights up and she runs from door to door trying to keep him in sight as he goes around the house to park.
Even Becky lights up at her age when she sees Dad ( I might be imagining that bit - not sure)
I do miss a chat in the evening and definately a help during the dreaded bath/tea/bed stage of the day but Mick is generally out till dark when he is home so he misses that time anyway. I really feel for Mick being away all the time. It can be hard not to mention draining doing as you say most of the parenting on your own but I too wouldnt change places. I know when I was in hospital after Bec they wanted me to stay longer due to a bad birth but I hated that someone else was doing all those jobs I usually whinge about ie tea/bath/bed for Tashie. Crazy I know but thats Motherhood for you.
Just me and the girls he while he is away so millruns r us. Summer is here. Bec gets really windy /whingy after a car ride so I try to do a run each day but for as short a time as possible. Unfortunately it still means a good hour for the shortest run and four for the longest. Poor thing had to come all the way home form a mill today without her dummy because she had spat it out and I had just finished fishing 2 very dead and soft emus out of a cattle trough and I didnt want to put my hands on her dummy because being the good mother that I am I had forgotten the soap I usually carry for just that reason.
I had to get the neighbors in to help last week as I found a dying cow and a dead cow on a mill run just after Mick had left and we are assuming it is Botulism. We had to innoculate them all and move them paddocks just incase it was poison. Joy!:rolleyes:
Havent seen a snake lately but saw 5 repeat 5 tracks in the yard this morning! Gotta be happy bout that.
Anyway I should be in bed. Woke up grumpy this morning because I went to bed late last night and Bec is still up a few times.
Anna
Wow, you girls are amazing being home by yourself-+kids-so much. I'd be hopeless.
Next year Angus is going to go back to doing more contract mustering work but he'll make sure he's home every 5 days for a day or so.
I'll have to do water runs but that's ok. There are no contract musters around here anymore, it's really hard to find staff so Angus will have plenty of work! It takes the pressure off our station too if his wages are coming from somewhere else and we'll have bugger all money to spend here next year replacing fences and yard building so it'll just be general running of things to do.
You prob saw my big winge about the shearing/crutching team that was here and left such a mess in the quarters, well they did a terrible job with the wool too!! The numbers on bales didn't match the specification sheet, the brands didn't match species, some was branded wrong, 2 number 31 bales, no number 37 bale, one bale was inside out!
But our Elder's wool rep come out and spent the morning with Angus and I getting it sorted, atleast makes you feel like you're getting something from them for all the money they make out of us every year! Some may now have to be re classed! Like this year we can really afford that!!
Bec has started to roll and is pushing herself forward on her belly by bringing her legs up and pushing with her knees!:eek: I have explained to her she is too young but she doesnt care. But gets very frustrated at getting stuck in places she should be able to get to!
Anna I laughed at the thought of you explaining this to Rebecca! She must be strong- Hugh can't do anything like that!
ToTeenyTots
23-10-2006, 21:30
Hi Kazza,
I think Bec's strength is a second baby thing. Just because you have to they are left to their own devices alot more than the first. Plus they have the first to watch running around. Tashie never moved at all till she was at least 6 months and then I dont think she was evn rolling till 7. But she fast tracked it after that. Now if I could just get her to sit still I would be laughing:laughing:
I imagine Angus would be flat out doing contract work if its like around here. There arent that many workers around and the ones that are, are not that flash. With money being tight all over you dont want to spend it getting jobs done that you have to go and redo yourself.
Just spoke to Mick on the phone and it is pouring at the mine he is working on so he is going to come home tomorrow and pick up a ute. He will go back tomorrow night but hey. I am glad he is coming home but it makes a long day for him as he will stay here for as long as possible and then drive the 4 hours back to the mine really late which I hate. Poor bugger will be tired at work the next day.
Gotta go
Anna
ToTeenyTots
26-10-2006, 22:12
I have had one of "those" days so instead of going to be with the kids I am sitting up tryingto motivate myself to do some paperwork that I couldnt get done today. As you can see Im doing really well!
Mick came home for an hour and picked up his ute so Tash was most distraught poor little thing.:mad: I printed off a photo of her and Mick on the motorbike for her to stick up on her wall. She seems to like it. Except she now wants me to take her on the bike and thats not gonna happen anytime soon!
Been really stormy here this week and we have managed to get 9 mm in two storms which is better than a poke in the eye.:D
Anyway I am just wasting time here waffling on so I will head off
Be good
Anna
Lucky you Anna getting 9mm! We've had a couple of spots today, so atleast we know it is still capable of raining :laughing:
I had an interesting weekend, I went bore pulling with Angus- he just could not get someone else out here to help. It was one in 10 foot lengths- most of our other bores are continuous so a new experience for me.
We started Sat morn but Hugh screamed in his pram for nearly the whole time we were there so we canned it. He'd had a temp the previous nights after having his 4 month shots on Thurs and was just pretty miserable all round.
Out again Sun morn, Hugh much happier, and we got it all up, replaced the damaged piece of poly and put it all back down. It started pumping straight away so job well done!
ToTeenyTots
01-11-2006, 00:01
I remember the first windmill Tash and I did with Mick. Pretty much the same sort of reaction from her.
I have to have a whinge here sorry but it will make me feel better. I ordered 20 20 kg lick blocks from Elders the other day and went to town today to pick them up. I had done my shopping before so the girls were ready to go home. When I get to the roadhouse to pick them up both girls are screaming in the car ....joy!
Anyway I proceed to start loading the licks. One in car...replace dummy One in car ...replace dummy pick up doll for Tash...one in car... replace dummy pick up waterbottle for Tash... you get the picture Im sure. Then this tourist walks past among the many people that have walked past while all this is going on and tells me that I should let the big one out to stop her yelling (good plan on the roadhouse forecourt) and possibly I should tend my children not leave them screaming in the car. I was unable to say anything in return for fear of bad language and violence. do these people really think that you would get any joy out of hearing your kids upset but as noone saw fit to help me, then these things have to be done the only way possible, as quickly as possible.
I find with alot of the things that I have to do with Mick away that the girls do have to put up with a bit and I hate it but what can you do? The stock need water food etc The calf needs milk The motor needs fuel. I have to clean troughs.. once again you get the idea. Anyway it upset me but hey maybe Im just tired. Once again sorry for the whinge.
Wishing you all an inch of rain
Anna
Oh Anna- you were very restrained!
I think the violence and bad language would have been acceptable in this case!
How rude! What an ignoramus.
I know what you're talking about though, it is exactly what I was saying with Hugh screaming while we we're trying to fix Elephant- the very exotic name of the windmill and paddock it's in.
We had to stop as I was concerned cause he was a bit off after having his shots but the next day he was grizzling as we were putting the columns back down but he had a clean nappy and had just been fed so he just had to wait.
It might sound cruel but so does 500 sheep in that paddock dying of thirst!
Bearskin
02-11-2006, 22:33
Hi Guys;
Thanks for the wish Anna; we got our inch of rain today! Dams were getting very low (let alone the tanks at the house) so it was handy to get some rain although the groung is so dry and hard the rain seemed to run straight off. Hopefully the rain will improve the prices of the wether lambs we have at the moment as the farmer we lease the farm from has decided to go ahead and run his own sheep so our verbal contract for a 3 year lease is now null and void - mental note - get things like that is writing! And he was Dave's best man for our wedding - thanks friend :(
Zoe had gastro last week (thanks SIL), Dave away in the truck, vomit everywhere and trying to make the shearers smoko and lunch...for the first time my MIL actually gave me a hand and helped make the smoko and did the veges for lunch so I need to retract all my evil thoughts about MIL and mentally thank her!! And we got the ewes shorn, so now I dont have to get on the bike twice a day with DeadMag and treat them for flystrike :) I tell you now, I would rather drag a dead sheep out of the channel than treat a sheep with flystrike...the smell, the poor sheep...yuk.
It is awful when you have a job that has to be done and your child(ren) just get so wound up...Dave and I were drenching sheep in Jan and Zoe was only 2 1/2 months and she screamed in her pram. I felt terrible; cuddled her for a bit and she went to sleep...got the drench pack back on then the bloody dog came running through the shed and woke her up. At least I could just take her for a walk and leave Dave to it - not like you guys!
We have employed Dave's (older) brother to drive our other truck so now I have to get organised with QBE, payslips, TFNs, Super etc. Its funny how life changes; Dave's brother was always the 'eldest' son IYKWIM, farms my IL's farm lease free and expected to be the successful son of the family and now we employ him. Its nice as Dave has always felt second best, as the 'second' son so its given Dave such a confidence boost that we can make our businesses profitable.
Must go; Dave has rang and just decided to come home for the night to eat and sleep before going again at 5am and he wants some dinner....
Hey BearSkin-
nice one scoring some rain.
It tried really hard to rain here, think we might have eventually collected a mm after a night and a day.
Yes our dam is now dry so we're on bore water. It's better than dam water to wash whites in as they come out white not brown- but it also kind of eats away at them!
That was nice of your MIL. :)
I hope all's well.
We're good just very busy. Angus has been working on a neighbouring property contract mustering so it's been nice he's home of an evening but he's exhausted. Been leaving here around 5 every morning to get home around 7 and turn around and do something here. Last night he went out to check some waters at 9 to get home at 10. I've been really hesitant about going out in the paddock with Hugh in the ute as we've been having 40 degree days- and I just know I'll break down or have a flatty!
ToTeenyTots
23-11-2006, 23:15
Its been realy hot here this week aswell with thunderstorms all around us. None for us though. Mill runs are getting really vital. Most of our cows in one paddock are watering off one mill which is putting alot of pressure on the supply so I am going to check it each day. So ontop of all the other runs we never seem to be out of the car and both the girls are sick of it. They have two other watering points in the paddock but they wont budge. I spent about an hour today at one mill trying to catch a calf who has lost its Mum, probably to Botulism ,with no success just alot of swearing. Thankless bugger!
Mick was meant to be home this weekend but now he wont be home till next weekend. Bit of a bummer bet hey what can you do..
Bec is growing all the time and has weaned herself off me to the bottle which wasnt my plan as bottles are a pain. But she just refuses the breast. If Tash doesnt watch it she will be taller than her soon. Tash is nearly a midget!
After 3 months without a TV and Mick being away all the time I finally splurged on a new LMB for the Satellite dish so I can watch some mind numbing shows on the box!!
Are you staying home for Chrissy or going to Rellies? We will be home, its just the wrong time of year to be going away and we havent been together for Christmas for about 4 years so it will be nice
Its hard when they work away from home but are close enough to come home but only for a few hours sleep. They are always so buggered. I usually tell Mick to only come home every second night but he never does. he has to know everything is ok at home and he misses his girls!
Enough of my waffle
Anna
Anna, you are such a hard working Mum!
I imagine bottles in your situation would be such a pain, unless you have a car fridge and cart a generator around with a microwave, lol.
We'll be home for Christmas, my bros, SIL & nephew and Angus' bros coming up. We've had a family meeting with Angus' family and my family desperately need one as my bros weren't talking so there will be very strict "no business talk" rules in place!
ToTeenyTots
28-11-2006, 23:31
Its true.... Bec is commando crawling from one side of the room to the other! For the last week I have been hesitant to say she is crawling as it is not a textbook movement but today she made it from the lounge room to the kitchen quite quicky !! A lot quicker than I thought possible. On one hand I think its great the other hand its gonna keep me on my toes keeping Tashies stuff out of her reach
Just had to share that. Its 930 and my interest (which was never great) in filing is waning so Im off to bed
Anna
ToTeenyTots
17-12-2006, 23:33
Just thought Id send a Merry Christmas :xmas: to everyone as I probably wont have time again for awhile as Mick finally comes home on Wed and I never get near the computer much when hes home.. A real live person to chat to instead:ecomcity:
We are not doing anything fo Christmas just a quiet one here. First time in 3 years we will be together so looking forward to it.
May you all have a wet one ! (rain and beer that is....only bonus about bottles!!!):laughing:
Anna