View Full Version : Huggies new nappies
3cherubs
21-04-2005, 21:21
Has anyone noticed that when huggies went to the Winnie the Pooh nappies, that they feel much thinner. I rang huggies, but they of course say nothing has changed.
What are some other good brands of nappies that people use????
sandra
arwen 2/2/04
number 2 ( 21/5/05)
our little treasures
21-04-2005, 22:52
I mostly use cloth nappies, but at night and while out We use baby love. When our dd was born I found she leaked in huggies, :mad: so we switched and have never found a better nappy. These are probably the second dearest besides huggies but I find them better. ;)
We also use baby love or huggies - whichever is on sale and are happy with the quality.
pinkandblue
22-04-2005, 08:07
I didnt notice any change with the nappies when they changed to winnie the pooh. We have tried a few different brands but didnt find anything as absorbent as the huggies nappies. With other brands they leaked and my daughter got nappy rash.
Natalie
Baby Girl
22-04-2005, 09:15
I noticed that each time I started buying the next size nappies they seemed thinner - maybe my head playing tricks on me. I always had my dd in Huggies and never had a problem, even when the nappies seemed thinner they were just as absorbent.
2girls&1boy
22-04-2005, 11:56
Sandra,
I thought it was just me who thought they were a little thinner. Mind you we are not having any leakage problems. We did however have to return a box of the Winnie the Pooh nappies as all the no leakage tape was broken on the first 7 nappies we pulled out of the box????
How strange..
Paula
I also noticed a change in the Winnie the Pooh nappies.Felt thinner,not as soft and also seemed a bit smaller in size! I compared one to a nappy I had left from my last box and it was definatley different. :confused:
we think huggies deinitely smaller.
we stocked up prior to bubs arrival but had to buy an extra pack of newborns- and they were definitely smaller, in fact so small they made imprints in bubs skin and could not be used.
amy
Thank goodness for the forum!!!
I thought that when my DD leaked through her night nappy 3 nights in a row that it was all my imagination or something to do with how we 'strapped her in'! Then I examined the last lot of nappies and found that they were thinner, they stuff in them didn't absorb the same way (seems more solid and hard than the old ones) and basically well..LEAK!!
I will try baby love!
Kat
I only used Huggies nappies when my son was in the newborn size, then changed to using cloth nappies at home and either Babylove or Snugglers when we went out, and at night as he got older.
I have never had any problems with either of them, except the occasional leak at night, but he was over 12mths old before that happened.
If you are finding Huggies nappies are thinner than they were, why not try Snugglers, they are made by the same company and I think they work just as well as Huggies. You also get more in the box for the same money.
I live in Brisbane and get mine from Big W and in the 10-15kg size there is 116 nappies in the box for $35.
I have stocked up on Huggies, I hope my baby isn't too big or I may have a lot of newborn nappies left over! :D
My sister said Babylove are good and a friend of mine used Bi-Lo brand, she said they were made by Huggies and were just as good, I don't know if this is true.
hi i use the coles brand nappies at night they have a purple hippo on the the white bag.
they are great ds wee's all night and still wakes up dry.
they are thicker than snugglers and are cheaper i think dh does the shopping .
:p
Following this thread I have gone and looked more closely at our nappies - the new Huggies are definitely not as thick as the old ones - they are now almost indistinguishable in quality and feel from the Baby Love. And Baby love are a lot cheaper than Huggies (particularly as they are on sale more often at Woolies where we shop), so I guess we will go back to just buying Baby Love. I had started buying Huggies again with a newborn and kept thinking that they felt softer for her new little bottom......but that softness is gone (and we have our Huggies tunnel thing from the latest offer :D ) so we will stop buying them again. Thanks for making me look more closely at them!
I think all the huggies nappies I have must be the old ones even though they have different pictures on them none have winnie the pooh. But after reading this I might have to try a different brand that is when the ones I have run out which will take a while (I think I over did it!) :D
Hi Narelle
One thing that might be helpful for you to know is that Coles (at least a few years ago) used to be happy to exchange nappies that you had bought for the next size up if you found baby grew before using them all. It should be pretty easy, as all the packs are the same price - just a different number of nappies :)
Thanks Samantha!
There's just one teeny weeny problem.....
I cut the barcodes out so I could claim a huggies playmat, oh well!
Thanks anyway! :D
willsmum
26-04-2005, 10:04
We use Snugglers too - no problems so far. But as with Huggies, I tend to buy a size larger than the weight range they advise. If I get the weight range to suit, I find they don;t go high enough around the waist and they leak. We have also used Lullaby brand for my older one - no problems there either, even at night. Lots of home-brand ones are OK too - Bi-Lo and Coles are pretty good.
Personally I'm a bit disillusioned with Huggies. The price goes up, the size shrinks, and the wipes are even getting smaller for the same price. They can get stuffed. We'll stick with the "cheapies" so long as they do the job.
3cherubs
04-05-2005, 16:48
I tried the Snugglers brand and found that the tab at the side stuck to my daughters skin and made red marks ( ouch), so i went back to huggies.
Huggies are good because you can buy them in the bulk box.
I do not particulaly like giving a cooperation like huggies MORE money, they have a huge share in the nappy market already.
sandra
jarrahsmumma
04-05-2005, 21:09
hi guys,
i find the huggies are good for night time and snugglers in the day, my 4month old can go through the night with out a new nappy so that helps him sleep through. The snugglers are way cheaper and work ok during the day, i do find they dont hold as much as the huggies.
this works out a lot cheaper
about $15-$17 for the huggies once a month (30 pack)
$30 for the snugglers once a month (105 pack)
peace
natalie
Jessicasmum
17-05-2005, 06:28
Hi I had to reply after a terrible night with a brand new pack of the newborn huggies nappies. We had to change sheets twice and she woke for attentions much sooner than previous weeks (she is now 7 weeks and has not leaked through in about 4 weeks). I will definately be changing nappy brands, I noticed on opening the nappy it was thinner and after 4 hours it was like she hadn't been changed for much longer. I will buy small bags of a couple of types and try the different ones out, I only went to Huggies because everyone had told me how absorbent they were. I will be happy to find a cheaper brand to do the same job, this is probably the prod I needed to look around.
We've been using My Bear nappies for two months, and no problem so far. They are very good and cheaper than Huggies. I buy it from Oz Discounters.
I've tried Baby Love twice but thought they weren't as soft as Huggies. I bought a box of the new Huggies the other day and for the first time EVER, Eloise woke up with a soaked nappy, pjs and sheets. I still have a heap of the old ones and use the old ones at night and the new ones during the day but I think I'll try another new one overnight and see if it does the same thing. If it does then I'll definitely be contacting Huggies.
I use the Little Wishes (Woolworths) brand of wipes, they're bigger than the Huggies ones and only a little thinner, but at more than a dollar cheaper it's worth it. I've also recently seen a bulk box of 6 x 80 sheet packs for $20 which equates to $3.33 a pack - heaps cheaper than Huggies or J&J.
kamckellar
17-05-2005, 19:44
I CHANGED TO SNUGGLERS A FEW MONTHS AGO FROM HUGGIES AS I HAVE TWIN DAUGHTERS AND WAS GOING THRU A BOX+ A WEEK.I TOO THOUGHT HUGGIES WERE GETTING THINNER WITH EACH CHILD I HAD.IM REALLY HAPPY WITH SNUGGLERS AND HAVE ONLY HAD ONE OR TWO LEAKS THRU THE NIGHT.I CAN TELL U, I TRIED ALL SORTS OF BRANDS AND FOUND VIPs SHOCKING.THEY USED TO BE GREAT FOR MY BOYS BUT DEFINATELY NO GOOD FOR MY GIRLS.
3cherubs
18-05-2005, 09:31
Hello All,
I contacted Huggies, by sending the two nappies ( old / new) ones to them. All i got from them was a pack of 44 nappies and they were in the wrong size, i did not get any explanation from huggies as to the nappies at all.
So, now i have to go into a supermarket and change the wrong nappies for new ones.
I do not think huggies care about the complaints, they are making far too much money already.
But the more people who send in complaints the better and you may even get some FREE nappies..
Sandra..
ThomasMum
18-05-2005, 15:56
snugglers and huggies are came from the same company
onabreak
19-05-2005, 14:23
I have just started using the new Huggies nappies (crawler) and I am very disappointed in the quality of these nappies. For the first time I have found 5 nappies to have leaked. They are not as thick and not as wide around the waist. I have sent them a complaint email and see what they have to say.
clairbear
22-05-2005, 20:58
I have used huggies nappies for their extra absorbency ever since my son was born and never had a problem until now. My son is almost two, we've been using the extra large toddler size for quite a while. Once a fortnight my parents take my son for the night, and this weekend when he came home he had a TERRIBLE nappy rash, very red and sore looking. Mum told me she had used the new look huggies "walker" nappies, which she had noticed seemed to be thinner than usual. I am not sure if the rash is due to the thinness which has caused leakage onto the skin, or a new poorer quality material or both.
Anyway, I am very disappointed and feeling sorry for my little boy who has quite sensitve skin as it is, none of the creams or lotions I tried did much (bepanthen, sudocreme, zinc and castor oil, paw paw lotion) so I had to resort to using a mild cortisone cream which I don't really like to do.
I will keep searching for the old toddler x large on the shelves if there's any left, then I'll be trying other brands. I bought some Baby Love nappies which I will wait to try once the rash is totally cleared up.
Anyone else had a similar experience? Would love advice on the best nappies people have used. Maybe we should do a nappy survey?!
Wow what a rave about the topic of nappies!! :p
The Huggies Team
26-05-2005, 12:46
Firstly, we would like to say thanks to all the Bub Hub members for all your valuable feedback on the new Huggies nappies with Winnie the Pooh.
Some of you have mentioned that you feel the Huggies product itself has changed with the introduction of Winnie the Pooh on the nappy. We are really sorry if this has caused a problem for anyone and will obviously investigate any complaint that has been received by our consumer advisory department. We'd also like to reassure you that the new product featuring Winnie the Pooh is a change to the design graphics only. With this launch, there has been no change to the way we manufacture Huggies nappies in terms of overall size, shape or absorbency. As such, we are a little puzzled to hear what some of you are experiencing.
Our number one priority is to ensure that we continue to provide you with the highest quality product that you have come to expect from us. We take every complaint very seriously, which is why we ask that you contact our Consumer Advisory Centre with your feedback on 1800 028 334 (or via email at the Huggies Australia website). By providing us with the details of your concern, we can get to the bottom of any issues that arise.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards,
The Huggies Team.
jarrahsmumma
29-05-2005, 16:10
hi all,
how typical of huggies to say that, like they would say "yes our nappies have changed cause we want to make more money from you struggling parents and frankly we dont give a crap about customers cause we are a faceless multinational" then they laugh and sip on their brandy. Well maybe a little extreme but i know you have all thought it.
but really, i have used Baby Love this past week and found they work well in the day as well as Cosies a very cheapo brand absorbed well but no resealable tabs, i am still able to find old huggies nappies (boys crawler) at a few supermakets in perth, just in the smaller packs though (Coles at Claremont, Coles Morley, Supa Valu at Nedlands, Coles Femantle).
peace
Natalie
3cherubs
29-05-2005, 20:28
hello,
My thoughts exactly. Huggies ( kimberley/clark) would never admit that they have changed their nappies, that would be suicide for their company. They Kimberley /Clark also make the Snugglers and VIP Nappies too.
I am still having problems with the nappies, my daughter is now getting a rash that she never got from the old ones.
Well off i go to hunt for new nappies
sandra
sopolicha
31-05-2005, 05:53
Kinberley Clarke can tell me what they like but I am absolutely certain that the Huggies nappies have changed since the introduction of the new packaging, they are nowhere near as good as what they once were.
I have used them exclusively on both my daughter, who will be 4 in August and my son, who was two in January and never had any worries at all with them. I have since experienced all of the problems mentioned on this thread plus lots of leaks and it really annoys me. Hurray for daytime toilet training.
Anyway, I am having number 3 in September and I am going to try to use fitted hemp nappies this time and if not, I think BabyLove is a far better product when you take into account cost per nappy etc.
Thank you for my rant but I was woken up very early with a soggy son, and multi-national companies like Kimberley Clarke are really starting to annoy me (especially with the shrinking wipes etc.)
By the way on the weekend I noticed that Big W are stocking rather larger boxes of BabyLove nappies. I am sorrry I did not take much notice of the price at the time.
3cherubs
31-05-2005, 13:34
Yes, i saw the babylove Bulk packs too, they are about $36 for 100 nappies i think. Except i could not find the toddler size at all, they might be the most popular size.
I am now starting to try Babylove and so far my daughter has had no rashes and is now okay changing her nappy.
Huggies can take a flying leap....
sandra
cchinnery
31-05-2005, 15:26
I logged onto Bubhub intending to post a question asking for help about my leaking Huggies Winnie the Pooh nappies, only to discover 4 pages of messages about the topic already! After having tried putting the nappies on tighter and looser and anything else I could think of I was beginning to wonder if I was doing something wrong (first baby, only 3 1/2 weeks old) but beginning to get a bit desperate after changing sheets and baby's clothes nearly every time he woke overnight. This forum is a lifesaver - i'm off to buy some different nappies - does anyone in Perth want a half empty packet of Huggies?!!
onabreak
31-05-2005, 20:24
I sent an email to Kimberly Clark the makers Huggies. I complained about the nappies leaking and was not impressed. They emailed a week later and want me to send them one of the nappies from this packet so they can send me some to replace the ones that leaked. Bugger I used them all up as I had spent $20 on the packet and was not going to waste them.
Went to Woolies a few days ago and they are still selling th old ones and I am having no problems with them. I will have to send them one from the next packet I buy. I have tried a few other brands but I just keep going back to Huggies.
Does any one use the Snugglers brands as they are a by product of Huggies and are they just the same make and quality as Huggies? I don't to spend the money if they are no good.
Maybe if I wasn't so lazy I would use cloth nappies, but you just have to change them too often compared to disposables. What to do!!
hi,
I hate baby love! jess has thin legs so she leaks. we use bi-lo & i love them even through the night when we have run out of huggies, & they have been finejust have to change earlyerbout 6am instead of 7:30. i have been told that aldi brand mammi nappies are just as good as huggies.
I've been disappointed with the new design Huggies too (as I said above) but last night I used the next size up (of the new design) overnight and it was fine. I've been using the new design during the day and the old design overnight since the last leaky one.
Who knows? Maybe Eloise just did a lot of wees that night?? :confused:
I don't really like Babylove either - too rough, and I haven't tried any of the others.
I am also disapointed with the new design huggies nappies, they don't seem to hold enough. The old design seemed to be much more absorbant.... maybe it's just me :confused:
I've just bought a pack of snugglers so we'll see how i go, i think that i'll only use them throughout the day to start with.
VIP kimbies are another really good brand, which i found to be just as absorbant as the old design huggies, if you can still buy them i'd recommend them, they stopped selling them here in Adelaide. Well in woolies, coles, bilo, big w and target they have anyway.... oh and they are much cheaper than huggies at only around $8 for a pack of 16.
I hate to flog a dead horse here, but I have also experienced dramas with Huggies.
In three years I have used nothing but Huggies and justified the cost by saying they were the best and that neither of my kids have ever had even the suggestion of nappy rash.
Three times in the last month my 6 month old has had really nasty cases of nappy rash - hence I also spend 3 times as much as normal in creams lotions and potions to make my dd comfortable.
I know this is nothing new and I am, as you all are, shopping around for something different.
The thing that really irks me is on refilling my Huggies wipes container, from a bulk packet, I find that they are a good inch shorter than the previous, for no lesser cost.
I can no longer justify the money because the product is inferior, I also resent being treated with disdain and being told that there is nothing new and nothing different.
pommybutnice
20-06-2005, 12:38
yep me too! almost every nappy in the box had broken tabs... we emailed Huggies and are hoping for a free box! By the way, another nappy related question... our son felix is very keen on his willy (I presume all little boys are!) and has a habit of pulling his out of his nappy at night, thus weeing all over himself and bed. Any tips?
by the way, this is my first posting and I've just moved here from the UK - loving it and this forum!
Kate
I was horrified when I opened a box of Huggies nappies and put the new contoured shape on my boy and was thinking where the hell is the rest of the nappy... ?? They are absolutely terrible :no:, they leak badly and have had to change my son the last three nights. I have only ever used Huggies BUT that's gonna change now.
I love the way the Huggies Team respond about the pictures on the nappy... well hey we don't give a toss about the pictures we want value for money. The pictures are covered in shorts or pants for heavans sake!
Wakey wakey Huggies!!! :hissy:
yep me too! almost every nappy in the box had broken tabs... we emailed Huggies and are hoping for a free box! By the way, another nappy related question... our son felix is very keen on his willy (I presume all little boys are!) and has a habit of pulling his out of his nappy at night, thus weeing all over himself and bed. Any tips?
by the way, this is my first posting and I've just moved here from the UK - loving it and this forum!
Kate
Wow Huggies have just worked so well for me. I haven't had a problem with them at all. I'm very very very fussy about how I do them up though. The side have to match in height and join up. Having said that I only use them of a night and for shopping trips. Otherwise I use MCNs.
Just wondering Kate have you tried a PUL nappy cover over Felix's night nappy? They are breathable and stretchy enough that you can do them up nice and snug. BabyBeehinds have some cheap ones. Will help with not only the willy problem but if you experience leaking nappies it will trap the liquid in.
HTH
Danni
Lil Bugs Mummy
08-09-2009, 07:21
i find the coles girls nappies better than huggies and half the price YAY worth a try :yelclap: