View Full Version : Do you get annoyed with apathetic voters?
FishFace
20-11-2007, 17:56
My sister is sending me mad...
She is enrolled to vote but says she could not be bothered..she doesnt want to know anything about the election.
I have asked her what means something to her and she says..I dunno..I dont care.
Its driving me mad shes 28 and she should take an interest in who will run our country.
She has said shes not going to go and if she does she will just do a donkey vote...
Does anyone else get annoyed by this or I am just overly involved lol?
Ooh yes I do:iagree:
It drives me nuts when people complain about things ie taxes and then do not care about politics. I especially feel this when women do not care as we had to fight so hard to get the vote.
Sorry, but I disagree.
I might come across to some people as uncaring - but it's because I simply do not understand. And I have no interest in learning about it.
I don't 'dumby' vote - I vote the same as my husband, because I trust his judgement.
It's not such a bad thing... :)
FishFace
20-11-2007, 18:10
Ok.
But dont you want to have YOUR say??
I love that I have the right to vote my say in.
There will always be a percentage of people who just don't care about politics and are happy for the rest of us to decide who governs.
There are also those who think that any real power is not controlled by voting.....insert suitable conspiracy theory here - the 'If voting changed anything, they would abolish it' position.
To tell you the truth , it does not bother me at all, while I would encourage people to take an interest, if they really don't want to then so be it.
FishFace
20-11-2007, 18:14
yep..and I guess there are some people who will be annoyed by it..LOL each to their own..
To be honest i dont really care about Ziggie not voting..but when its my sister I do.
Weird huh
forbetoel
20-11-2007, 18:15
I guess that is the bad side of democracy...in that the majority of voters are really not making an informed decision, yet they decide the fate of who governs us.
yep..and I guess there are some people who will be annoyed by it..LOL each to their own..
To be honest i dont really care about Ziggie not voting..but when its my sister I do.
Weird huh
If it was my sister I would probably be giving her a bit of grief as well - that might be a bit close to home.
If you want to talk about sibling interference though, one of brothers really did something terribly bad to the other one election time.
They were arguing about who should win the election, on election day, and brother 1 ran up to the polling booth and voted for brother 2. How shocking is that.
very naughty indeed.
OOOHHHHHHH!!!!!:hair:I get cranky too. I am no expert when it comes to politics but I value my right to vote and thank my lucky stars I get to have a say in who is running my country.
Mamaduke
20-11-2007, 18:20
There are some types of people who think it's 'nerdy' to take an interest in politics and elections, and think by saying they don't care or they're going to vote for the Easter Bunny that it somehow makes them 'cool'. :confused:
The thing that irks me it that they still feel entitled to have a sook about things.
If you're not an informed voter than I don't believe you have a right to complain about the way the things are run.
My Ex Boyfriends parents were like this. Did nothing but whinge and ***** about the government that was in power before the elections. Yet, come polling day, all they did was get their names marked off and walk out!!
Used to **** me up the wall!
They were informed, just didn't vote, so it was a waste there unfortunately.
I vote, Im certainly not a person that lives and breathes the election though. Im incredibly over the whole thing. I do take note of each side and their policies etc... but I dont sit and think it 24/7.
jenkinsdakota
20-11-2007, 18:40
She is enrolled to vote but says she could not be bothered..she doesnt want to know anything about the election.
I have asked her what means something to her and she says..I dunno..I dont care.Voting is compulsory, so she has to vote or else she'll be fined.
If she is just not interested in politics and just votes randomly, then I think many people are like that. An apathetic population is a sign that people are content with their leaders.
The problem with compuslory voting I think is that these apathetic people are forced to vote, so many votes many not be informed votes.
Many apathetic voters in the 2004 election I know said things like, "Everything's fine. I don't care. I'll just vote Howard." They didn't research or study anything. Then Workchoices came and many people lost their jobs or had wage reductions. If people had known that Howard and Costello were militant anti-unionists this mess would have been avoided.
SassyMummy
20-11-2007, 18:44
WHINGING apathetic voters get me the most... they don't put much thought into who they're voting for, but whinge about things if it doesn't go their way. I feel like screaming, "SHUT UP! YOU COULD HAVE MADE A DIFFERENCE BUT WERE TOO LAZY TO CARE! YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO COMPLAIN!"
I don't know everything there is to know, but I put in some effort to understand. It's not that hard to learn. Just going on the websites and reading each parties policies would be enough to keep me happy.
DP didn't enroll to vote, and I'm happy about this. Not because I think it's okay for him to take his right to vote for granted, or because he would have voted Liberal (though part of me is happy he won't get the chance to send a vote their way...:D), but because he was going to vote Liberal because he doesn't really care either way... and figured he might as well just keep Howard in.
If he had a REASON why he thought it was good to vote in Liberals, I wouldn't agree but wouldn't have much of a problem with it... but the fact that he was just going to vote without reason annoyed me. He wasn't even following what those close to him are doing, he was just voting blindly.
Bothers the hell out of me!
Luckily, like I said, he's not voting this election. :thumbsup:
Phyllis Stein
20-11-2007, 18:47
It's not apathetic people themselves that bother me... it's more why they're apathetic...
I think if it's ignorance, then it's an indictment on our democracy, and perhaps an indication of how young Australia still is. I know from friends that people in European countries for instance, are much more politically savvy than we are. With their histories, they have more motivation to be politically aware. They better know the dangers of apathy.
I believe we have a responsibility to stay reasonably informed. Think about climate change for instance. If we vote in a party that has no real commitment to climate change, then we are responsible when nothing gets done about it! We can't just sit back & say, "well we just trusted the government would do something about it - it's their fault", despite the fact we voted them in!
Essentially, the people are the democracy. Without a politically informed public, democracy is largely symbolic.
Ok.
But dont you want to have YOUR say??
I love that I have the right to vote my say in.
Yeah, I love that my vote will count too... I just think it's a better decision for me to vote the same as DH.
Weird huh Not weird :). If I was passionate about something that my sister just thought "Meh", I'd be annoyed too.
There are some types of people who think it's 'nerdy' to take an interest in politics and elections, and think by saying they don't care or they're going to vote for the Easter Bunny that it somehow makes them 'cool'. :confused:
I'm not one of these. Never was.
WHINGING apathetic voters get me the most... they don't put much thought into who they're voting for, but whinge about things if it doesn't go their way. I feel like screaming, "SHUT UP! YOU COULD HAVE MADE A DIFFERENCE BUT WERE TOO LAZY TO CARE! YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO COMPLAIN!"
I don't know everything there is to know, but I put in some effort to understand. It's not that hard to learn. Just going on the websites and reading each parties policies would be enough to keep me happy.
DP didn't enroll to vote, and I'm happy about this. Not because I think it's okay for him to take his right to vote for granted, or because he would have voted Liberal (though part of me is happy he won't get the chance to send a vote their way...:D), but because he was going to vote Liberal because he doesn't really care either way... and figured he might as well just keep Howard in.
If he had a REASON why he thought it was good to vote in Liberals, I wouldn't agree but wouldn't have much of a problem with it... but the fact that he was just going to vote without reason annoyed me. He wasn't even following what those close to him are doing, he was just voting blindly.
Bothers the hell out of me!
Luckily, like I said, he's not voting this election. :thumbsup:
Alot of the time it's not laziness, Stacey. Some people just genuinely don't understand. Try as they might, it doesn't sink in. For example, I may be extremely advanced in maths and physics, but when it comes to politics, it's like mumbo jumbo.
It's not apathetic people themselves that bother me... it's more why they're apathetic...
I think if it's ignorance, then it's an indictment on our democracy, and perhaps an indication of how young Australia still is. I know from friends that people in European countries for instance, are much more politically savvy than we are. With their histories, they have more motivation to be politically aware. They better know the dangers of apathy.
I believe we have a responsibility to stay reasonably informed. Think about climate change for instance. If we vote in a party that has no real commitment to climate change, then we are responsible when nothing gets done about it! We can't just sit back & say, "well we just trusted the government would do something about it - it's their fault", despite the fact we voted them in!
Essentially, the people are the democracy. Without a politically informed public, democracy is largely symbolic.
Good post. Maybe if they made it a mandatory subject in schools (especially as they make it mandatory to vote) less people would be apathetic.
~Emmylou~
20-11-2007, 19:34
My brother donkey votes - we had a huge "discussion" a couple of days ago at the end of which I "bought" his vote for two beers :rolleyes:
So on Saturday that little turd had better vote Labor or there WILL be trouble!
But yeah I hear your frustration, I get that some people have no interest or don't understand or whatever...that's fine but I don't want to hear them whinge about anything the government does or doesn't do afterwards :banghead:
mummy2sophie
20-11-2007, 19:49
Yep apathetic voters really really irk me....:thumbsdown:
Even worse are the ones who don't vote at all.
There are many many countries where they do not have a democracy (Burma, Tibet and Pakistan are prime current examples), and the people there fight (sometimes die) for the right to vote and have a say in their government.
If we didn't have democracy in this country I'd fight for it. I'd even die for it if it meant my children could vote for a government. Sure, it isn't perfect, I still think that people are not educated enough to be able to make an informed decision. But democracy is the best option out there.
It's sad that our government had to make voting compulsary to get people to vote.
:no:
Phyllis Stein
20-11-2007, 20:12
My brother donkey votes - we had a huge "discussion" a couple of days ago at the end of which I "bought" his vote for two beers :rolleyes:
Wow, that opens up soooo many options. I can see it now - all the apathetic people could just auction their votes on ebay... hmm, more thought needed me thinks... :detective:
~Emmylou~
20-11-2007, 20:22
Wow, that opens up soooo many options. I can see it now - all the apathetic people could just auction their votes on ebay... hmm, more thought needed me thinks... :detective:
Start saving your pennies Tia....maybe if we pool our funds we could swing this thing our way! ;):p
The apathetic people could deliberately spoil their votes - that apathetic dream might be that the spoils would win.
I still think there are a percentage of people that will never engage with the politics of the day, that can only deal with issues that they feel they can directly relate to. I don't have a problem with this (which is why I don't really agree with compulsory voting)
20-11-2007, 20:49
That's my sis :rolleyes: Needs to impress her drunken stoner bogan friends :rolleyes:
... and this is what I feel like saying too :yes:
Actually, I really like that voting is compulsory. I like the idea that everyone has a say (sure some choose to waste it, but I don't think that many do). I don't think that there is a huge majority of ppl out there who dont' care at all, I think that most ppl, even if they aren't all that interested at any other time, invest some effort at deciding who's policies they find most attractive
I think it is better than the American system of optional voting where only ppl at the extremes can be bothered to have a say. The middle majority ROCK!! (in my mind anyway :p)
sockstealingpoltergeist
20-11-2007, 20:58
So on Saturday that little turd had better vote Labor or there WILL be trouble!
Well maybe thats what I should ask for for christmas from some people lol.
It does make me mad that people waste it and don't bother trying to understand, I agree that it should be taught in schools. My daughter has been learning some of it recently.
As others have allready pointed out we are soooo very lucky to have the vote when other people don't have it and would do anything for it. I think of what women went through in recent history to give us the vote and I hate that people don't value that.
RainbowStars
20-11-2007, 20:58
It really annoys me too. I wish people would take more of an interest to learning about politics. Yeah it may be dead boring to some, but voting is what effects our whole country. I could never sit back and just let everyone else take control. I love having my say.
If i had my way i'd be standing out the front of the election venues asking people to let me vote for them if they are only going in to do a dummy vote :laughing:
Ana Gram
20-11-2007, 21:02
I used to donkey vote. But I thought long and hard about it. I looked at each candidate and what they stood for, if I didn't agree with any of them, none of them got my vote.
TeamAwesome
20-11-2007, 21:06
I am like Ziggie, I eve studied Legal Studies in school and didn't sink in then and I'm feeling rather hopeless about the whole election atm.
I'm going in to vote tomorrow a that's the only chance I'll have to do it with out all three kids as my DH is away and due to personal beliefs I'm finding it hard to chose WHO to vote for. I have to find a party with a policy which I feel fits best for what I want for the Australia I want for myself as well as my family and how I want to bring up my children (I've been trying but have a newborn and two toddlers my time has been severely limited to looking into it and attempting to make sense of what's just a promise and what's likely to become reality.)
Before you all jump on me and say vote Rudd or whatever I've only found going through this forum even more confusing as it's all Howard and co bashing and Rudd praising, the actual policies etc from what I've seen are largely ignored.
I want to find out on my own, as this is my second major vote and want to make as a informed a decision as I can (I moved around a lot before I got married and wasn't able to vote because of it)
I probably come off as apathetic to some, however politics do mostly go over my head.
Phyllis Stein
20-11-2007, 21:40
I never understood politics either. It just never made sense & I couldn't imagine anyone actually being interested in it! But, I was passionate about the environment, studied ecology etc, and through that, I worked up a passable understanding of politics, that eventually led to a degree in it! :eek:
I think almost anyone can come to understand it better, if they can find an 'in' IYKWIM...
well yes, but that 'in' will happen at one stage or other in your life. I am all for encouragement rather than force - story of my life really.
subaruforestermum
20-11-2007, 22:06
I guess that is the bad side of democracy...in that the majority of voters are really not making an informed decision, yet they decide the fate of who governs us.
I hate voting, only enrolled when I was 21, as I didnt want to vote....
This quote for me represents me, I make an uninformed decision! WHY, because as past parties no matter who is governing they are full of empty promises, they end up introducing things that they say they wont, they bully small businesses!
I think they are not worth my time, as we are not going to be better off, which ever way it goes!
And there is not enough laymans termed info regarding the elections and who is up, as its not just JH or KR, you vote for all these people who you have never heard of!!!!
I guess I am one of these people you all get annoyed at, but thats ok, take in my stride:goodvibes: lol
Noah_and_Elijah
20-11-2007, 22:08
I studied political science in my last 2 years at high school as one of my electives and it was only then that I took a real interest in politics.
I'm now trying to educate my sister on the importance of an educated vote...
Leaning toward Labor... of course!! :p
I'm one of those apathetic voters I'm afraid... I really couldn't give a toss about politics....what will be, will be IMHO.
Usually, I get my name crossed off the list and then chuck away the ballot paper. This time though I might actually vote for for Kevin Rudd because he seems like a nice enough guy :)
In my opinion, it should be my democratic right NOT to vote. If only that were an option.
charlen49
21-11-2007, 09:32
Im just glad its mandatory to vote(weather donkey or not)..id hate to think we'd end up like america, one of the super powers of the world,..where less than 20% of the population vote a popular leader and a 'donkey' like George. W(anker) Bush gets in!..please dont let our country become like that!:thumbsdown:
RedPanda
22-11-2007, 03:20
Sorry, this may be off-topic but I just had to share this story. Many moons ago when I was a uni student, I was working the day after state election day when a man claimed that his favourite brand of biscuits had gone up by four cents. The man behind him in the line helpfully told him that it was because of the "new president". So not only do we have a new "president" (who was actually a state premier). but apparently, he had the power and motivation to lift the price of crappy wafer biscuits by four cents the day after being elected!
I had a little chuckle, but also sighed when I thought about this man's vote cancelling out mine!
Pippi Longstocking
22-11-2007, 06:20
Sorry, this may be off-topic but I just had to share this story. Many moons ago when I was a uni student, I was working the day after state election day when a man claimed that his favourite brand of biscuits had gone up by four cents. The man behind him in the line helpfully told him that it was because of the "new president". So not only do we have a new "president" (who was actually a state premier). but apparently, he had the power and motivation to lift the price of crappy wafer biscuits by four cents the day after being elected!
Oh dear! :laughing: I think that an interest in politics should be sparked in high school. People don't understand the importance of becoming politically involved - they don't realise the impact on day to day life.
We have taken it upon ourselves to interest our kids in political matters because we want them to understand the importance. On our recent month-long journey around Australia, we took them on tours through parliament house and they were fascinated. We talk about political matters and politicians. We tell them how laws are made, we discuss the election etc.
Erm...I forgot where I was going with this ramble. I really ought to get more sleep! :o
RedPanda
22-11-2007, 06:35
That's a good ramble Guv, and I couldn't agree more. If you're tired, I reckon I must be too!
forbetoel
22-11-2007, 07:40
I had a little chuckle, but also sighed when I thought about this man's vote cancelling out mine!
I had a friend who only last week says that she will be voting for Howard because he got Sadam Bin Laden killed, and he deserved it after what he done on September 11. :eek: WT?
I set her straight, told her the facts...and well that is one less liberal voter!!!
Pretty scary what some people base their votes on, and I am talking about both sides of politics.
It's very scary. Like that girl on the Chaser last night who said that she didn't want to vote for John Howard - because he's just going to hand over to Kim Beezley. :rolleyes:
I agree that there needs to be more interest sparked in school. I studied Modern History in year 11 and 12 and we never learnt a thing about Australian history or politics. I had to learn about it off my own back.
Knowing some of the history of Australian politics helps to inform my knowledge of today's politics, IMO.
Sadly, many people are just too lazy to care about something which impacts nearly every facet of their lives. :thumbsdown:
sockstealingpoltergeist
22-11-2007, 08:43
I had a friend who only last week says that she will be voting for Howard because he got Sadam Bin Laden killed, and he deserved it after what he done on September 11. :eek: WT?
I set her straight, told her the facts...and well that is one less liberal voter!!!
Pretty scary what some people base their votes on, and I am talking about both sides of politics.
This is sooo funny:laughing: this thread is actually starting to crack me up. But it is also sad:(
I Was talking to a friend last night who said it didn't matter who you voted for because Individuals should look after themselves and take care of their own health and green house gasses and so on and so forth - then apparently we wouldn't have a problem, and that this would fix everything. So I said you must be voting liberal then? lol.
No seriously i explained how these things may help- however bla bla bla bla. By the time I'd finished I think he saw a bit more sense.
It's very scary. Like that girl on the Chaser last night who said that she didn't want to vote for John Howard - because he's just going to hand over to Kim Beezley. :rolleyes:
I agree that there needs to be more interest sparked in school. I studied Modern History in year 11 and 12 and we never learnt a thing about Australian history or politics. I had to learn about it off my own back.
Knowing some of the history of Australian politics helps to inform my knowledge of today's politics, IMO.
Sadly, many people are just too lazy to care about something which impacts nearly every facet of their lives. :thumbsdown:
Yeah I didn't know whether to laugh or cry at the chick on the Chaser...
I think political studies should be compulsory in high school. I never did Legal Studies, but did do a bit of govt at uni. I think much of the apathy of voters stems from not understanding the system. Sometmes I think the govt. doesn't want people to understand....
forbetoel
22-11-2007, 08:57
The chick from the Chasers???? Maybe she just woke up from a coma? (a drug induced coma!)
Noah_and_Elijah
22-11-2007, 09:04
My 18 year old BIL informed us last night that he isn't enrolled to vote yet therefore isn't eligible for this week's election.
I told him that he was a fool and that his vote is just as important as the next person and he needs to be pro-active with things like this...
His reaction.... "who gives a sh!t about politicians and elections. we don't need 'em"
:hair: :banghead: :nono: :doh:
Phyllis Stein
22-11-2007, 09:50
To put it's importance into perspective - I truly can't think of a single aspect of our lives that politics doesn't impact on in some way...
Yes I do get annoyed. Especially when these are the type that whinge and complain about how the country is run. To me, if someone donkey votes or refuses to vote, then they don't have the right to complain about any issues because they chose to not have a say about them.
I also read some of the stories of some people on here and it truly amazes me. This type of Australian history should definitley be taught more.
bubs_and_us
22-11-2007, 12:02
I don't 'dumby' vote - I vote the same as my husband, because I trust his judgement.
It's not such a bad thing... :)
my hubby turned to me yesterday and said "who should i vote for on saturday?".....
he has no interest in politics, or who runs this country, but he trusts my judgement, and will vote for who i'm voting for.
at least its not a dummy vote