View Full Version : have you got a large family like me

mummy2many
02-03-2006, 16:07
howdy,

just found this site and am trying to find other australian family that have above the norm in kids

we have 5 girls Jessica almost 13, Coral-lee almost 10, Shyanne 5, Briony 3, Ellalese is 16 months but was born at 30 weeks and is our mirical baby

and we have one boy Glen who is 11

we also lost a baby we believe was a boy just 2 weeks ago on valentines day

we plan to have at least one more, but hay another 2 or 3 would be great

I am married and live in NSW,

looking forward to getting to know some more people

Linda

mumof8
02-03-2006, 20:28
Hi Linda,
Yes I cannot belive how alike we actually are, I have six girls & 1 boy & lost a little girl at twenty weeks as she had severe spina bifida..I have had two miscarriages & am expecting a baby in June!!!! That is very exciting...Our son is our oldest at 12 yr down to our youngest girl 2yr old & we have a daughter Breony !!! ....I am married & live in NSW.....My hubby promised me six children BUT thank god we have the others...So sorry to hear of your loss as I know the heart break involved, BUT like me you would know that with all those gorgeous kids you know everything is worth while, they dont let us greive for to long do they ?????
Am going to do the chore of packing lunches now so take care .....

rockabye
02-03-2006, 20:42
Dear Girls,

First of all I am sorry to hear of your loses.

I don't have lots of kids, only one (so far). But i grew up in a family of 6 kids, and I loved it. Thought you might like some feedback from someone who has been there.

You both must be so proud. Good on ya!:thumbsup:

SAVINA
05-03-2006, 08:56
im a mum of 3 and would love 4 . dh says if we had a bigger house and a bigger car this wouldnt be such a drama1
THIS DOES UPSET ME A BIT as id love to have 1 more!
u are lucky to have a large family i praise u !

hopefully i to will be joining u !

im only 26 so give it time!:smiliedance:

Michele Crocker
05-03-2006, 11:49

Sorry to hear about your losses and lots of hugs. :hugs:

I have five kids three boys and two girls. Their ages are Christopher who is 12, Luke is 9, Melissa is 5, Jayden is 3 and Ashleigh is 4 months. Hoping to TTC again some time next year. Hoping to have another girl, but if it is another boy I won't be disappointed.

I live on the central coast of NSW, and I love it up here, I have lived here since I have been married which is nearly 15 years ago. I would not go back to Sydney again, even though mum wants us to move back.

Michele:o :hugs:
Mother of Christopher, Luke, Melissa, Jayden and Ashleigh(4 months old)

moonblossom
05-03-2006, 11:55
Hey guys, include me :)

You just gotta love big families hey :)

lukaelmo
05-03-2006, 12:00
Hello there,

Linda I am sorry about your little angel baby...

I only have one tiny little dude, but I have always dreamt of having a large chaotic family. Hopefully one day I will be able to join you all here :laughing: . DP and I had better get cracking :D .

CJJHRA
05-03-2006, 13:59
Hi there, I have 5 boys, then our lucky last is a little girl, making it six.

We had an oops and was going to have number 7, but when baby was 14 weeks and I went for my first scan, no heart beat was found. I believe that it was a little girl, as I felt the same m/s and was off meat like I was with my daughter. I didnt want to find out what happened and the sex, as there will be no more children for us.

Jem
05-03-2006, 14:12
I have 3 littlies at the moment, hoping to ttc number 4 soon :thumbsup:
not sure how many i would like? My dp wants to beat his mums record of 12:eek:
i dont know about that :D

my babyemmy
06-03-2006, 10:14
I have 4 kids but still have 20 frozen embryos waiting for me in the IVF department so i will try & have as many kiddies as possible:D ,
My youngest DD is only 8 months but i already want more:)

Pippi Longstocking
07-03-2006, 13:32
I have 5 wee ones - Venus is 11, Jake will be 8 next month, Skye-Ann is 6, Luke will be 4 next week, and Shine is 5 months.
I want 7 kids but my husband doesn't want anymore :( . I am still young (28) so there's still time to convince him :D .

amelias mum
13-03-2006, 18:45
hiya
dont forget me im a mum of 4girls and 1boy my eldest being 13 and my youngest nearly a month old i would like 1 more in 2years time.im in brisbane

20-03-2006, 11:53
ohhh I would love to have a family like all of you have! We may have a 5th but will depend HUGELY on my health because I have terrible pregnancys and my doctors have advised me to have my tubes tied this time for that reason. If this bub is born after 32 weeks hopefully we will have one more but I'll have to make sure my health is to the best it can be before even THINKING about TTC.

Oh and .... have to see how we go with the 4th first :D I'm sure its going to be great (bit of a stress initially with all so close in age) but once we've settled bubs in it will be fantastic :D

Maghan
21-03-2006, 20:50
Hi there we have 6. Two natural and four inherited children.

Goes like this:
Nephew 12
Niece 10
Nephew 9
Niece 7
Son 5
Daughter 3

I would've liked one more, but the Hiace van put me off a fair bit, coupled with the fact I couldn't afford to be sick for 9 months, as a family it would put a big strain on us!

CJJHRA
03-04-2006, 00:11
I have seen a couple of 9 seater taragos around... :o they have three in the front, 3 in the middle, 3 in the back

Ruby Slippers
03-04-2006, 08:53
My Mum and Dad had 8 children i loved my childhood they are great parents ,
I have five sisters , and two , brother's one of my sisters died on 22/3/97 she was walking across the road and got hit by a truck she was only 15 years old ,
i love Christmas day i don't know how santa did it but the lounge room was soooooooo full , we would line up at the lounge door like a tour group :laughing:
i still get to see them i love my family ,

well i have two girls so far i think one more will do it for me , but i think it's wonderful that you can do it :yelclap:
i go nuts with two :D

i'm so sorry for you loss , you have so much love to give good on you :yelclap:

Maghan
03-04-2006, 16:20
I have seen a couple of 9 seater taragos around... :o they have three in the front, 3 in the middle, 3 in the back

OMG, truly? I might have to give hubby a wink and see what happens!

Destiny
09-04-2006, 07:17
Hey ya

I have 4 kids and currently preg with #5.

I have 3 girls and 1 boy to my exhusband and am preg with my new partner. Very exciting :)

StormAngel
07-05-2006, 14:54
We have 4 & hopefully it'll be 5 in the next 12mths or so ;)

mbrbbt
09-05-2006, 14:30
Hi everyone, we're expecting our 5th due early September but dr has told me hoping to get to 35/36 weeks (thank god that's far enough for me). This will be our last, just found out we're having a little boy so will be 3 boys and 2 girls.

It's so sad now that I'm pulling out my gorgeous baby girl clothes thinking these will never be worn again:crying:

Do you find people are absolutely shocked about the number of children you have? We recently went to the Sydney Parents expo and when we were filling in any details we were getting lots of comments like oh my god, we even had one lady say to my husband it's about time you had the snip.

TTannyaa
11-05-2006, 14:05
Hi everyone, we have 2 beautiful girls, 1 tomorrow and 3 1/2. I would love 1 more but can't convince hubby. I am the youngest of 8, I loved my childhood and grew up with my nieces and nephews because there was a 12 year age gap between me and number 7. Big families are fantastic although not so common now. Good luck :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

CJJHRA
11-05-2006, 14:45
my kids were all "oopsie" kids LOL

I have told DH if he doesnt want more, he HAS to do something about it, but he wont :no: so if we have another ooops, its his fault entirely! :D

defaipe
13-05-2006, 21:46
Hi everyone, we have 2 beautiful girls, 1 tomorrow and 3 1/2. I would love 1 more but can't convince hubby. I am the youngest of 8, I loved my childhood and grew up with my nieces and nephews because there was a 12 year age gap between me and number 7. Big families are fantastic although not so common now. Good luck :smiliedance:

:smiliedance: happy birthday simone:smiliedance:

(for yesterday :D )

FourAngelKisses
14-05-2006, 08:06
I'm a mum of 3 and I just want to say I really envy you ladies who have large families, I don't know how you do it. I'd love to havwe 6 but I can barely afford 3 so it's out of the question. We were 4mths short of paying off our Hyundai Excel when I fell pregnant, so we have to go and put ourselves in debt for another 5yrs. We'd have to do the same if we had a 4th baby and we don't really want to get another new car, lol.
You're an inspiration to me, keep up the great work.

15-05-2006, 08:20
We have 3 but are planning for 5 or 6
We don't have a lot of money but we aren't
materialist
We have made having a family a priority
My heroes are mothers of 5 children or more
My mother told me that having 3 children now is considered
LARGE...
Does that mean we get the large family supplemnt?

FourAngelKisses
15-05-2006, 08:23
Yeah, we do get the large family supplement now, as of July 1. I think it's an insult though, a lousy $9.70 or whatever it is.

We aren't materialistic either, all our money goes in petrol, car payments and the mortgage. :( I am definately going to work on talking DH into having a 4th baby though............I'll tell him I'll get my tubes tied if he says yes. :smiliedance:

15-05-2006, 08:31
I thought it was $40!
less than $10
that will get everybody conceiving a #3 for the country!

CJJHRA
15-05-2006, 10:30
a whole whopping 248$ for the year, for the third child and each child after, wow, we are all going to be rich hey!! MIght start planning that overseas trip to DisneyLand now.

FourAngelKisses
15-05-2006, 10:32
lol...........we couldn't do that, we can't afford the petrol to get to the airport.

CJJHRA
15-05-2006, 10:35
yeah, the extra a week, hardly covers the extra fuel costs.

15-05-2006, 11:11
why not make petrol cheaper for families
that is definitely important for bigger families

FourAngelKisses
15-05-2006, 11:13
It's also important for people in rural areas who have to travel further and are paying $1.46+ per litre.

15-05-2006, 11:26
do they get a supplement for living r ural?
how do you make it fair?
i wouldn't want to be in charge of Budget...

familyof6
26-05-2006, 11:11
Hi linda,
I have also just found this site and am a mum of 4 wonderful busy boys aged 10,7,5 and 2. I just recently fell prgnant to our suprise only to lose it at 9 weeks..My husband and i are now thinking we would really like another one and were ready for a new baby even though it was a suprise.

I find there is a stigma attached to large families, i get oh are you really going to try for another one,dont you know what the tv is or when you take them all shopping(not often hehe)people say are these boys all yours.. I love them and wouldnt have it any other way. We have 5 acres and have a vegie garden,fruit trees and chooks and the boys love to help with all these things.

So heres to all those people with large families hats off to us..Good luck linda in trying for another child..

Kylie..:

motherof4
04-06-2006, 21:24
:) i have 4 children and would love to have one more and hope soon i will be. so i think that if you can handle lots of kids and have lots of love to give a say go for it its great to have big familys the children grow up so fast these days so enjoy them as much as you can :yelclap:

04-06-2006, 21:28
They grow so quickly!
I think that is why i want more!

FourAngelKisses
04-06-2006, 21:31
They grow so quickly!
I think that is why i want more!

It's only since my youngest turned 2 that I have decided I want one more. I'm enjoying him so much and he's growing faster than I can enjoy him, lol.

04-06-2006, 21:41
It's only since my youngest turned 2 that I have decided I want one more. I'm enjoying him so much and he's growing faster than I can enjoy him, lol.

Clucky too?

FourAngelKisses
05-06-2006, 07:11
Very much so, I'm trying to talk DH into going back for one more. He is almost convinced. :D:D:D:D

05-06-2006, 13:50
I am clucky but I definitely can wait.
I like having a gap.
Hubby would be happy to have another right away.:yes:

tommylu
10-06-2006, 12:40
Hi There, We have a large family too. 4 boys aged 10,5.3 and 10 months and you know what?? i have started to think that i might want one more ! but SSSSSsssshhhhh !! havent told DH yet !!! LOL:laughing:
As much as it is hard work,i would not change a thing ! I love my kids and love the chaos they create everyday :)

Cheers !

mumof8
10-06-2006, 13:32
As much as it is hard work,i would not change a thing ! I love my kids and love the chaos they create everyday :)

Cheers !

:yelclap: I could not agree more !!!!!:thumbsup:

Littletreasures
13-06-2006, 14:12
well i would love a big family 6 or more would be great, but DH said 3 is his limit...
My nan has 16 brothers and sisters and
my mum has 14 brothers and sisters and
i have 5 brothers and sisters....

I really would love more then 3 babies, any tips on how to convince DH

FourAngelKisses
13-06-2006, 14:23
Wait till your 3rd is around 2, then tell them that you really, really, really want another baby. Everytime your youngest does something cute, ask them "doesn't it make you want another one?" Or mention that you think you might be expecting because you are a few days late and that you've done all the sums and you think it's do-able, only to have a false alarm.

My DH is considering it now. :D

13-06-2006, 14:29
OOOH, is it working for you now, angel kisses?

FourAngelKisses
13-06-2006, 16:18
OOOH, is it working for you now, angel kisses?

Yeah, kind of, lol. I think he is 90% convinced now. :D

mumof3sons
13-06-2006, 17:03
Hi I think having a large family is great, Im a mum to 3 boys who are 5,2 and 6mo. And we are going to ttc again next year. It deffinetly is chaotic but at the end of the day i wouldnt change anything.:yes:

FourAngelKisses
13-06-2006, 17:07
It is very chaotic here ATM. I have the boys throwing a ball to each other in the living room....which has cars, textas, pencils and skipping ropes scattered around. Brooke is sitting at the table drawing, DH is trying to make dinner and I'm chasing a 2yr old with a smelly bum around trying to change him..........while trying to post on here at the same time. The tv is blaring too, so it's pretty noisy. but I love it, wouldn't change it.

Now if they were all fighting at once, that I would want to change, LOL.

15-06-2006, 13:03
I don't think I would feel right with only the average 2 kids.
I think I like the chaos!
I have three wonderful, beautiful children who I wouldn't swap for all the world
or even the money in it.
And I always think about the next challenge!
Hubby likes even numbers- 6
I like the odd- 5
Other than that he needs no convincing.
Who knows, whatever will happen, happens!

KLTN
22-06-2006, 12:19
Hello all you lovely big families!:wave: :smiliedance: :yelclap:
I am mum to 3 daughters and angel son Noah and a bump due early Oct (looks like another female for the ever growing harem at our place).
It is funny really, but when I am out and about and I see women with 4 or more kids i tend to go 'wow, that is fantastic to see a large family!' I forget that I am probably one of those woman that are looked at by others and thought 'wow' of. I guess I just love the chaos and don't really consider our family to be 'large'.
My DH and I only ever planned to have 1, we both had 'careers' but DD2 wqas a complete surprise and there has been no looking back. After each baby is born we keep waiting for the magical feeling of completeness (other people assure me it exists) only to find ourselves thinking that perhaps another would not be soo bad (already talking about #5 and #4 is still baking :) )
If you love kids, have heaps!! I don't think anything in the world can equal the joy that children bring into your life. (OMG did I just say that - shoot me!! must be having a 'good' day)

22-06-2006, 14:46
Hello all you lovely big families!
If you love kids, have heaps!! I don't think anything in the world can equal the joy that children bring into your life. (OMG did I just say that - shoot me!! must be having a 'good' day)

That's awesome--I so agree too....:thumbsup:

22-06-2006, 15:03
I don't have a big family, but I would love one! I'm from a family of four, although y mum swears she wanted more, but for medical reasons she couldn't. She was from a family of 15 :eek:

22-06-2006, 19:12
Hey Kylie! Congrats on the twin pregnancy and hope all goes well.
I am sure it will be a huge adjustment for you and the family.
Its good to have family support
Just remember we are always here to listen :yes: :thumbsup:

Mummabear
22-06-2006, 19:25
Oh how I envy and admire all of you :yes: :yelclap:

I would love a large family. We have an 11 month old son at the moment and another on the way, due January. I'm a very lazy person though and need to work on that before having anymore :laughing:

DH initially said only 2, then I managed to work him up to 3 and now he's open to the idea of 4 - with any luck (if I get my lazy bum into gear) I can push him up to 5 or 6 :fingerscrossed:.

I'm really interested in the day to day logistics of large families. If anyone is willing to share how they do it I would be most interested in hearing. What sort of car do you have, what are the sleeping arrangements for the kiddies, how do you manage to keep up with the housework, what sort of things do you cook for the whole family, etc.

22-06-2006, 19:39
Mamabear there is a great site for large families.
-Large Families Aussie Style-

If anyone wants the link pm please

tommylu
23-06-2006, 12:12
Hi there,This isnt a Aussie page(i think) but it has some funny stuff on it,check it out.;)

http://www.plomp.com/largefam/comebacks.htm

23-06-2006, 12:21
thx tommylou!

here is the link for LFAS....

http://www.s8.createphpbb.com/largefamiliesau/index.php?mforum=largefamiliesau

*hope this link works...*

KLTN
23-06-2006, 12:45
I'm really interested in the day to day logistics of large families.

I have three girls and another baby (sex unknown) due in Oct and I an still trying to work out the logistics :laughing:
I think you just have to have a love of chaos and not be too much of a control and clean/tidy freak otherwise you could send yourself crazy!

23-06-2006, 12:59
I an still trying to work out the logistics :laughing:
I think you just have to have a love of chaos and not be too much of a control and clean/tidy freak otherwise you could send yourself crazy!

Well said!:thumbsup:

Merlion
23-06-2006, 13:24
my grandmother was from a family of 15 (early 1900's no tv, no electricity and nothing to do after the kids went to bed ewwwwwwwwww. - My granny's words not mine and all the kids shared one bed) and her mother would have had more if she didn't die during childbirth giving birth to her 15

she had 3 children, her oldest had 6, my other uncle has 2, i'm adopted but my biological mother had 6 at the last count.

I want 3 max but you never know

little mermaid
24-06-2006, 19:23
Wow! Think you are all pretty amazing people to have all have pretty decent sized families and still have time for Bub Hub!! You must be so organized. LOL.
I am a nanny to 4 kids aged 7, 5, 4, 17 months and I think it is so full on but in saying that I also come from a family of 4 children but I can never remember it being as crazy and caotic as it is with the family I work with.

Maybe we were just angel children. :p he he

skyejax
29-06-2006, 11:27
I have 5 wee ones - Venus is 11, Jake will be 8 next month, Skye-Ann is 6, Luke will be 4 next week, and Shine is 5 months.
I want 7 kids but my husband doesn't want anymore :( . I am still young (28) so there's still time to convince him :D .
hang in there, my step dad said now more to my mum after the 5th but then he was the one that asked for more not long after. so u never know what will happen. they now hav 8 together plus me and my 4 fullblood siblings. that makes 13 and they r trying for number 14( my mum doesnt like uneven numbers) they hav to wait a bit though cause mum just miscarried. i hav only to at moment my self would like 2 more...see how we go. :D

JasmineLouise
29-06-2006, 12:43
Ohhh... i just loooove large families.

"The more the merrier" i say...:yes:

I have a few siblings of my own, an EXTREMELY large step-family, and ill tell you what... i had an incredibly fun childhood... they kept me amused for hours on end.

Gotta love a large family!

iamstephyc
01-07-2006, 10:35
Gosh, I feel like an amateur to most of you guys!! Awesome! :yelclap: :smiliedance: :yelclap:

I am currently pregnant with number 5. I always wanted a big family, but due to some health issues ( an little heart problem that seems to happen when I'm up the duff), and money concerns (it's already quite expensive...) We decided that we would stop at number 4. It took me a while to get used to (and be happy with) the idea that there would be no more, I even gave everything away as it was outgrown.

Now, along comes number 5. I'm finding it hard to get excited about it, I think because I finally got used to the idea of 4, but it will come. I am about 6-8 weeks (not very sure) and have already had an episode with my heart (2 days ago, the worst one yet...:thumbsdown: ). But fingers crossed for the rest of the pregnancy.

My kids are: Bethany (6 in Oct), Samantha (Just turned 4), Joseph (3 in Oct), Matthew (9 months) and number 5 (Due Feb sometime)

KLTN
01-07-2006, 11:15
I am currently pregnant with number 5. I always wanted a big family, but due to some health issues ( an little heart problem that seems to happen when I'm up the duff), and money concerns (it's already quite expensive...) We decided that we would stop at number 4. It took me a while to get used to (and be happy with) the idea that there would be no more, I even gave everything away as it was outgrown. )

Firstly congratualtions on number 5 ! Wow. I am pregnant with #4 and #5 and beyond is still up for discussion around our place, so who know where we will stop.
I hope this pregnancy is smooth sailing for you (well as smooth as it can be anyway).
Welcome!!:yelclap:

LosAngelesMom
01-07-2006, 19:09
Congrats, iamstephyc, on #5. Parents w/more than 4 amaze me.

We never thought we'd have our 4... or even 1, as we were infertile the first 8 yrs of marriage. Instead blew our money on toys & vacations!
Quite the opposite today.

The mobility factor is my only issue w/many children. As I love to get out & do things, but its such a 3-ring circus most of the time.

How do you manage?

Beatrix (4/06)
Lucy (3/05)
Spencer (2/04)
William (1/03)

Dh & me ('94)

mich71
02-07-2006, 13:43
nice to know your out there ive got 5 kids and twins on the way so by xmas 7kids help what causes this prob :laughing:

allidancer
02-07-2006, 17:23
Hey people i relate to! i have 4 and #5 due in Jan 07.

I never knew how many i wanted. Fell with my first just weeks after meeting my hubby. #2 was planned. #3 was a big shock (concieved when #2 was just 3 months old) and #4 was a surprise after losing 4 before him. And this one? Definitely not planned! Still very much loved and wanted though. My dancing was just starting to take off too! Being treated very differently by my choreographer now although she seemed very supportive to begin with. Oh well, i know what's more important to me... my beautiful big family!

malinda84
04-07-2006, 00:26
Hi, we have 2 of our own, 4 foster kids and my brothers son. My brother is in the army and his wife passed away so we have my nephew here while he is overseas. We also do foster care which i love doing, we get so many great kids and it gets hard to give them back, we are also hoping to have another early next year. I love all the kids and would not change a thing. my hubby wants 12 of our own and still do foster care. my main problem is keeping enough milk for them all. I cook big bowls of heaps of different foods and put them in the middle of the table and all the kids grab what they want i find this works. i have 2 fussy eaters at the moment so it works for them because they pick there food. they only rule is they have to have a vegie/ salad, i have never had a problem.

Malinda- 1/84
mum of-

Andrew- 25/03
Kaitlyn- 10/05
nephew- 4/04
foster 1- 04
foster 2- 02
foster 3- 00
foster 4- 97

hubby= 10/84

04-07-2006, 11:07
I look forward to dinners where its just help yourself!

FourAngelKisses
04-07-2006, 12:07
I do a lot of those here. Chicken nuggets, eggs and veggies, macaroni & cheese, nuggets and veggies (I always give them veggies which they hate, lol). Whatever they want, as long as it's half - healthy on days when I don't feel like cooking.

04-07-2006, 12:32
My husband loves when i cook a lot of different dishes.
He feels spoilt!
But I am not a keen cook even on a good day.

FourAngelKisses
04-07-2006, 12:40
I don't know how to cook which is 90% of my problem. If it doesn't come in a jar or packet, I have no clue, lol.

malinda84
05-07-2006, 08:16
most of the time we just have like a meat or pasta and then i have some peas, corn, baked beans, tomato, packet pasta, etc nothing exciting, but i find it helps if you have melted cheese or gravy. I love cooking but don't have time which all the extra kids and there activities.

08-07-2006, 15:37
I don't know how to cook which is 90% of my problem. .

I think that is 100% my problem!
I am not very domestic but my children are #1:thumbsup:

iamstephyc
09-07-2006, 19:40
Hey, it's been a little while since I stopped back, I've been a tad busy...:D

The mobility factor is my only issue w/many children. As I love to get out & do things, but its such a 3-ring circus most of the time. How do you manage?

I don't really know how I manage, it just seems to happen! My oldest daughter is in school (grade 1), and I have my two next oldest in day care 2 days a week, so I get those 2 days with just my 9 month old. those are the days I try and cram everything into,so sometimes they are worse than the days with all the kids!

wiccawife
17-07-2006, 10:39
We have 5 children, son 15, 2 miscarriages, daughter 9, daughter 7, daughter 5, miscarriage, son 21 months. We too have not felt that feeling of completion. We hope to be pregnant again by christmas but we don't really have an exact figure in mind of how many we want. We drive a tarago but will have to upgrade to a Hiace (not as attractive but as long as it does the job). I love seeing large families and even when our household is at its most hectic I still love the thought of having more. To those who criticise I say :eek: :thumbsdown: .
Here's a great site full of comebacks for those stupid comments about large families
http://www.plomp.com/largefam/comebacks.htm

Baby due June 07

Cheers and keep on procreating