View Full Version : Calling Brisbane/Qld Mums who’ve experienced the Wesley/Marter Private Hospitals

Emby
01-03-2006, 19:02
Hi Gals,

I’m Kat & a first time mother to be due mid October. I would love any feedback from the Brisbane/Queensland Mums who have had experiences at either the Wesley or the Marter Private Hospitals.

I’ve found a great obstetrician who only delivers at the Wesley. Unfortunately I haven’t heard great things about this hospital & had my heart set on the Marter Mothers Private.

I’m wondering if I’m being silly about the whole situation. Thinking that it’s probably better to go with the obstetrician in favour rather than the location?? :banghead:

Would love any feedback & many thanks in advance!:)

stormanet
01-03-2006, 19:14
Hiya :) I had my lil man at the wesley... all was very good.... even the food!!! I really felt comfortable there. There does seem to be this whole mater/wesley this is better than that rubbish that goes on and I don't really understand it. I believe that if you have found an ob that you like then enjoy the ride at the wesley :)

K

rynosmum
01-03-2006, 19:23
Hi Kat, I'm Kat too !

I had my son at the Wesley and loved it. The hospital itself is bright and friendly, the birthing suites were large with shower, ensuite, recliner, heaps of room for guests :D etc. The staff were wonderful (apart from a couple of graveyard shift midwives although I think that can happen anywhere). DH was really welcomed and we were shown absolutely everything to do with bubs.

And I agree, the food was really good too !:D

loopi1
01-03-2006, 21:24
Hi Kat,

I'm not in Brissie so can't comment, I just wanted to say Welcome to Bubhub:smiliedance:

Michael's mummy
02-03-2006, 05:46
Hi I had my son at the mater private. The Hospital staff were amazing. The food was good. Big rooms. I chose to go to Mater Hospital because it is a mothers hosp.:)

jonesso
02-03-2006, 07:57
Hiya Kat

Congrats on your pg!

I had DS at the Mater Mothers Private and they were excellent. Lovely big rooms with balconies, DH v welcome and he stayed with me three of the nights we were there. I have heard that the Wesley is lovely, but somebody said just to be wary, as the Wesley apparently has a bit of a reputation for being caesarian-happy... I think that this is probably partially true of all private hospitals though... and I know women who have had wonderful natural births at the Wesley and women (like myself) who have ended up having c/s at the Mater, so I don't know how much truth is in it!

At the end of the day, the hospital is just the place where you have the baby. The most important thing is that you have an OB that you trust as he/she is going to be caring for you and monitoring your baby's development inutero for the next nine months.

Good luck with your impending bundle of joy!

x Sonia

2girls&1boy
02-03-2006, 08:29
Hi Kat,

I had my first at the Wesley and am now due with my 2nd in May and will be at the Wesley again. We had nothing but a great experience there, from my ob through to the lady that brings the coffee around. I would highly recommend it.

If you don't mind me asking what was the negative feedback you heard? I guess you get some negative feedback from every hospital, like someone else mentioned if you have found a great ob then go with wherever they deliver.

Paula

rynosmum
02-03-2006, 09:01
the Wesley apparently has a bit of a reputation for being caesarian-happy

I was asking for a C/S at the Wesley when my bubs was becoming distressed but they thought it unnecessary so I think it may come down to the OB, rather than the hospital.

Lovely big rooms with balconies

Oooohhhhhh I wanna go there next time ! That's done it for me ! What about your own bar fridge ? Do you get your own bar fridge ?:smiliedance:

drewid
02-03-2006, 09:04
Oooohhhhhh I wanna go there next time ! That's done it for me ! What about your own bar fridge ? Do you get your own bar fridge ?:smiliedance:

Not ALL the rooms are big with balconies. Some are smaller, with single beds and an armchair and a big window.
But yes, you DO get your own bar fridge :D:smiliedance:

Peaceangels
02-03-2006, 11:33
I don't know about either hospital - sorry!, but I just wanted to say:

Hi & welcome to Bubhub!

Emby
02-03-2006, 17:09
:smiliedance: :D :thumbsup:

Hi Gals,

Thanks so much to everyone for your feedback & also for the lovely welcome’s & warm wishes!! Based on this I’m going with the OB of choice & will be @ the Wesley. Has anyone attended the water aerobics classes @ the Wesley Hydrotherapy Centre?

Thx, K

jonesso
02-03-2006, 19:51
A big YES to the bar fridges @ Mater... and re: balconies... ask nicely and they'll move you from the smaller rooms if they have space... ;)

I don't know about the Wesley's hydrotherapy classes, sorry.

Good luck! Let us know how it all goes!

x Sonia