View Full Version : Breastfeeding Necklaces
Has anyone used or is anyone using a breastfeeding necklace/pendant? I've been reading they're good to keep babies interested but not sure if it would be too distracting. Just wondering for myself and for my sil for a pressie.
Also has anyone used or is anyone using a feeding bracelet to keep track of number of feeds and to keep up with which side you're up to? Just wondering again if they're worth it or just a pretty gimmick.
I saw them in a magazine recently and thought - sheesh! the things they'll think of to part a fool with his money.... :rolleyes:
Mamaduke
01-03-2006, 15:47
Also has anyone used or is anyone using a feeding bracelet to keep track of number of feeds and to keep up with which side you're up to? Just wondering again if they're worth it or just a pretty gimmick.
Yikes...if you needed one of these you'd have to seriously re-evaluate whether or not you're mentally capable to have had a child in the first place!!!!:eek:
the_queen
01-03-2006, 16:06
I used to have a scrunchie for my wrist, kinda like a netball umpire. To keep track of which side I was up to, I mean. Others may disagree but I feel I do have the mental capability to be a parent:rolleyes: . But being sleep-deprived, stressed, expressing plus feeding, etc etc, it was good to not have to think "what side do I need to start on".
The necklace - I've seen them advertised too, but I think I'm going to wait and see if bubs needs something like that to keep him occupied during feeds. I haven't experienced breastfeeding an older baby yet. If I do see the need for one, I'm going to get Vallerie to make me one, I think that will be a great way to involve her in the whole thing.
But it would make a nice present! Maybe you could do a home-made one for your sister? :)
lukaelmo
01-03-2006, 16:15
Ooo I actually think both are a good idea... I am always forgetting which side to feed from, although most of the time one side is heavier than the other... so I can tell.
The necklace I think is a great idea, I give the dude something to play with now when he is feeding, otherwise he drives me barmy whacking me with his free arm... I didn't know such necklaces existed... how much are they?
jarrahsmumma
01-03-2006, 16:21
Don't rubbish the idea! The theory behind it is for the child to have something to focus on while breastfeeding, and the same familiar thing for consistency. Baby is placed in feeding position, and then sees the necklace/item which they associate with a feed. It's a great ides, not necessarily a marketing ploy...
Mamaduke
01-03-2006, 16:24
So when your child is eating solids would you then purchase toys to have on the table so they can focus on something while they're feeding?
I would think that seeing a boobie coming at you would be a pretty good indication that a feed is near!:confused:
I"ve heard that they are a great idea... a few mums I know use them... the kids find fiddling with them during a feed quite relaxing (imagine yourself with a stress ball or stress beads :D ) - at the moment Jack just grabs hold of my shirt/ bra for comfort and stability - but I am expecting the novelty of that to wear off soon...
I think if I do get one/ use one I'd probably make it myself... I love bead making... (just have to use something really tough and unbreakable!!!) ...
lukaelmo- I'll find an internet link for you ... or maybe I could hunt around for beads and make you one (for a small fee :laughing: )
I would think that seeing a boobie coming at you would be a pretty good indication that a feed is near!:confused:
Thats exactly what I was just thinking....
And I remember when Andrew was a newborn that he usually fed with his eyes closed too...
Having said that, I had a necklace I used to wear all the time...a regular necklace, and Andrew pulled on it so much it broke :crying: So no more necklaces for me...
01-03-2006, 16:35
So when your child is eating solids would you then purchase toys to have on the table so they can focus on something while they're feeding?
Can I ask if you have ever breastfed a baby past 6 months!
For alot of mum's out there as soon as or not long after bub reaches 6 months they begin to pinch you really hard or grab handfuls of your breasts whilst they are feeding, and let me tell you it really really hurts. I have a breastfeeding necklace and let me tell you it was worth every cent when Ozzy was going through that stage!
lukaelmo
01-03-2006, 16:38
lukaelmo- I'll find an internet link for you ... or maybe I could hunt around for beads and make you one (for a small fee :laughing: )
No worries miss veve, I still haven't charged you for the visit today, I'll pop it onto your account shall I?:D
Let's see, that's visit from ali... sighting of the dude... holding of the dude... Oh and I believed he smiled at you, that's always a bit extra... ooo it all adds up doesn't it :laughing: ...
O used to get really distracted when feeding and would play with my necklace all the time. It was especially good when we would go out as he wasn't as distracted by all the goings on around him.:thumbsup:
I'm increasingly grateful that Andrew feeds too quickly to get distracted..
I can see the benefits of the necklace as a distraction/focal point for an older more restless bub, but still not sure on using it as an association thing for younger ones...:confused:
01-03-2006, 16:45
but still not sure on using it as an association thing for younger ones...:confused:
Do ppl use it as an association thing for younger bubs?????????
Harmony83
01-03-2006, 16:47
When I was breastfeeding my little one, he used to get distracted all the time, the chn suggested I wear a bright scarf for him to look at and play with! I think the necklace is a good idea!:thumbsup:
Let's see, that's visit from ali... sighting of the dude... holding of the dude... Oh and I believed he smiled at you, that's always a bit extra... ooo it all adds up doesn't it :laughing: ...
hmmm jolly jumper riders $10 each :laughing: this could go on for EVER!!!!
note- there are necklaces on ebay - for $46 each :eek: how expensive!!! the kid better not break it!!!,... but some SAHM sites make them too - I found one for $15... but it looked a bit childish... you wouldn't wear it unless you were in the process of feeding :rolleyes:
OscarsMum, I was making a reference to this post...
Don't rubbish the idea! The theory behind it is for the child to have something to focus on while breastfeeding, and the same familiar thing for consistency. Baby is placed in feeding position, and then sees the necklace/item which they associate with a feed. It's a great ides, not necessarily a marketing ploy...
I have never even heard of these necklaces, strange considering how much baby-related stuff I have read!
Andrew tends to just cuddle up these days...a hand under my arm and another on my chest, very peaceful. Aww I'm getting all mushy now. Off topic a bit, but I never really expected to still be BF at 12 months...and now I can't imagine stopping, its so lovely :o
01-03-2006, 16:51
Most of the necklaces have leather ties instead of a chain and clasp so all you do is just tie it on your neck so if it should break well no problem with bub being covered in small pieces of necklace!
I found the necklaces/bracelets through websites in the Bubhub shopping directory. I've noticed that you can also win a feeding pack, including a feeding bracelet, at the moment on Bubhub's home page.
jacks mum
03-03-2006, 23:44
I've never heard of these necklaces but I wear a fob chain that I never take off and ds always plays with it or he's feeling my face.
I think they seem a good idea or something similar. I personally wouldn't be spending to much money on something.
Mother Duck
03-03-2006, 23:57
As for the bracelet - I had a huge time remembering which booby was the last one in the gob! :o And to think that I normally consider myself to have a great memory!
Mind you - I would probably forget to change hands with the bracelet! :rolleyes:
And the necklace - DH had two greenstone pieces carved for me over in NZ - I wear them on a leather strap and bubba Loved them! I think it was something in the gentle chink that they made - also I would wear my wedding band on a necklace and she just loved hanging on to that too!
Rather special I found!
my bottlefed bub also pulls my hair, scratches my face, pulls my chain....so the issue about breastfeeding past 6 months is irrelevent. I would rather him play with my gold chain then play with a beaded(?) chain that could break. At least with my everyday chain, it will always be on me,24/7.Thats more familiar to him to play with....not that he needs destracting, if he is hungry, he eats:)
J.
jembelina
04-03-2006, 08:12
Yikes...if you needed one of these you'd have to seriously re-evaluate whether or not you're mentally capable to have had a child in the first place!!!!:eek:
ummmmm...........maybe it was just me who has been sleep deprived for a good part of 12 months!!! I take my hat off to you if you could remember at every feed which boob you were up to! I personally had to pin a nappy pin to my bra to keep track! Even now I sometimes forget and ds is only having 3 feeds a day!
Certainly NOT a sign of being an mentally incapable parent!!!!!
I wish I had have had the bracelets when my two where new. I have to remember which babie was on which side, as they needed to alternate breasts for each feed!! Try remembering that at all hours of the morning with two newborns!! A blue one and a pink one would have been great!
If you got the homepage of bubhub there is currently a competition where you can win a pack including the bracelets - they look pretty groovy to me - and would have been useful in those early days when I was in a daze!
I have to say that I needed some help in those early baby daze when both breasts were ENORMOUS to remember which side I was up to. I would just turn my signet ring around so that the little diamond was on the side I had to feed from next. I know other women who used safety pins on their bra, or bracelets that they'd swap from one side to the other. I bet I looked a bit funny, before I would feed DD I would have to look at my ring to see which side to get organised.
I prefer to think that my brain so chock - a - block full of so much absolutely useful and facinating information that I can't spare the space to remember which side to feed off (when it so easy to use a simple memory aid) :thumbsup:
05-03-2006, 19:26
I would rather him play with my gold chain then play with a beaded(?) chain that could break
As I mentioned previously they are leather straps not beaded!;)
mummycloud
05-03-2006, 22:30
ummmmm...........maybe it was just me who has been sleep deprived for a good part of 12 months!!! I take my hat off to you if you could remember at every feed which boob you were up to! I personally had to pin a nappy pin to my bra to keep track! Even now I sometimes forget and ds is only having 3 feeds a day!
Certainly NOT a sign of being an mentally incapable parent!!!!!
I agree :)
I don't need to remember though, because he feeds on both sides anway.
Wouldn't like to be told I'm an incapabale parent for having a bad memory :rolleyes: I have really bad memory probs ATM I can't even remember words alot of the time, so holding a conversation is a tad embarrassing :o but I am still more than capable of looking after my kids!!!!
I don't think spending over $40 on a bit of leather strapping and beads is very justifiable though, the necklace is a good idea, but you can make one yourself for under $10.
squirtle81
05-03-2006, 23:59
There is a website www.freshmums.com that sell the milk bands, they
are $8.95 and come in different colours.
I don't know if this was a joke comment or not but i don't think it was a very nice thing to say if it was a serious comment. Just my opinion.
I think that the bracelet and necklace is a good idea Kazza. I wouldn't spend too much on it but i think it would be definately beneficial to try it. :)
abbynmonique
08-05-2006, 09:22
i used to plait my hair and when my son would breast feed he would clutch the plait , it was really cute , he never pulled but it was a part of our bond.
sounds lovely to have that necklace bond
though my kids have the horrible way
of pinching and pulling only:thumbsdown:
Maybe you could do a home-made one for your sister? :)
Took your suggestion Queen for myself.
Thought could be my big project while I was away waiting to have Hugh.
Big project?! Took all of about 30secs to make and $3 to buy the beads and leather strap.
I haven't used it yet though as Hugh's too small.
kadownie
14-08-2006, 14:26
I discovered feeding necklaces when my bubbies were about 6 months- decided around 10 months to make one (life is busy with twins) was easy peasy- cost under 5 dollars- bought a length of leather and cheap wooden beads- they love it- it wouldn't break. Unfortunatley I introduced it too late- the pinching and kneading of my boobs continued on- next time I will be making another one and using it from the beginning.
Ocean-Lily
19-08-2006, 10:44
Can I ask if you have ever breastfed a baby past 6 months!
Oscar's Mum,
I am having that exact problem right now and was going to post something to get some advice. My DS is 6.5 mths.
I made a breastfeeding necklace out of coloured wooden beads, as a BFC told me they were a great idea for older bubs. I have been slack at using it, although DS does love to play with it.
My problem is that he just doesn't want to drink from the breast anymore, this has caused me to have to either rock him to sleep and lye down carefully and feed, or wait until he is asleep in his cot and pick him up gently and feed. The only time he will feed of his own accord is in the night when he wakes for a feed.
DS is a very active little boy, already crawling and pulling himself up on things and very easily distracted, if i try to feed him in public or even away from the bed lying down he will bite me, lucky he hasn't got teeth yet.
My Mum said to me, 'how can you let a little baby dictate to you how to feed', :shame: well obviously when i was breast fed i was well behaved and she didn't have the problem of a very fast letdown and an overactive milk supply that caused me to resort to lying down in the first place.
I know i have gone a little off track from the necklace and bracelet debate.
Sorry, but is there someone out there that has some sort of magic cure for this distraction problem?? :banghead: