View Full Version : Leaking Disposable Nappies
Cheeky Little Monkey
28-02-2006, 22:53
My DD is 14 weeks old and 6.5kg.
I am currently using Huggies Infant Size Girl Nappies for her at night time but am finding most nights she is leaking through them with the wet patches being high up at the sides. Did anyone else have this problem and if so did you find an alternative brand that stopped the leakage? :confused:
rockabye
28-02-2006, 22:58
sorry, not much advice here I found huggies to be the best for us.
Is she close to going up to the next size?
I am usually out the the size by a couple of kgs.
hopefully someone else has better info....
goldcoastgirl18
28-02-2006, 22:59
my boo had the same problem i just make sure i change him every 2 to 3 hrs other wise everything gets wet! although i have found that bebees are really good there nice and cheap but are as good as a huggie but at night will not leak like huggies do.
goldcoastgirl18
28-02-2006, 23:03
mabye buy a pack of the boys huggies for the night time as when u read the packs for boys it says about being more absorbent as boys tend to wee more than girls!
28-02-2006, 23:27
Hi i had the same problem with the huggies nappies you have to make sure the tummy and leg part are snug other wise they tend to leak and usually if they are too big they will leak.Also like some1 else said change them as often as u need to.:thumbsup:
kyannas*mum*
01-03-2006, 08:28
hi,
my lilltle girl is just on 6kg now and i am using the infant huggies through the day and the next size up at night the 6-11kks ones and i find them to be really good just make sure they are firm on and you should be good i have been using them for a few weeks now and bubs was only 5.3kg when i started, we have never had leakage yet and she sleeps from 10-7am i dont need to change her in the night
hope it helps...:smiliedance:
I had the same prob with huggies.
As soon as my bubs were out of the newborn huggies, i put them in the good ol homebrand nappies ;)
Call me cheap if you will, but they are effective and they do the job quite nicely :D
LittleBoysRock
01-03-2006, 10:30
A girl at my Mothers group is using the infant girls huggies for her DD and she was complaining that they werent great quality. A few of us have boys and couldnt understand as we think Huggies are great.
We compared them on the spot and the boys ones are MUCH thicker. She is now using the boys ones and hasnt had a problem.
Maybe this is an alternative??
I have found Huggies the best by far. Every time I think they are not holding enough and starting to leak, we graduate to the next size and there are no more problems.
I do however, prefer this to happen at the end of a box rather than the start. :rolleyes:
Hi I had the same Huggies problem with my son when he was a newborn, I checked with other mums at Mothers Group and the boys Huggies were more thicker than the girls but we also noticed that Huggies we had brought earlier on in our pregnancies were also alot thicker than the Huggies on the market now, I personally recommend the Aldi Supermarket brand Mamia nappies they are fantastic, we tried almost every other brand on the market from the cheapies to most expensive and they have been the best for us, worth a try, good luck.
I found newborn Huggies leaked heaps with my DS, tried a few different ones - the best by a long shot were Aldi Mamia nappies. Great value for money too.
I've heard a lot of reports that Huggies have deteriorated in quality over the past 12 mths.
lovemybub
01-03-2006, 22:19
I had that exact problem. Frustrating isn't it? :banghead:
My problem was that my DD has these nice chubby thighs which meant that the nappy didn't fit around her legs properly which allowed the nappy to leak. I have switched to Woolies "Select" brand and haven't had any problems. They fit much better around the chubby thighs. I also tend to use cloth nappies quite a bit (fitted and the terry squares) and have to say that they beat disposables on the leakage front, even if you do change them slightly more often.
So anywat, if your bub has chubby thighs this could be preventing the nappy from fitting properly, hence the leaks. Otherwise I found Huggies to be very absorbant.
If you don't think chubby thighs is the problem, then trying the boy nappies sounds like a reasonable suggestion.
Good luck.
KatherineIV
01-03-2006, 22:43
I have to say I swear by Huggies ... but after reading posts seems like it's the girls ones that don't seem to be staying dry ... and I have a DS
I know alot of the women in my mothers group (mainly ones with girls) were having the same issue... Some of them have chosen to put a cloth nappy over the Disposable which seems to work for them.. I'd also give the boys nappies a go because they are definitely thicker.
I did stray of Huggies ONCE... I bought a box of 100+ Snugglers because they were on special... 4 nappies later.. everyone of them had leaked... so after one day I gave the box away to a gf of mine... as she swears by them.
Back to the Huggies and smooth sailing since!!
Best of luck :smiliedance:
Cheeky Little Monkey
01-03-2006, 23:32
Thanks for all your suggestions ladies. I think I will try the boys huggies and the woolies select ones too. I use Aldi ones during the day and have to say they are great. :smiliedance:
moonblossom
01-03-2006, 23:39
When mine started leaking through the night, I would always use a folded cloth nappy inside the disposible. Never leaked then.
mamabear
29-03-2006, 22:43
AGree with most pf the other mums, it sounds like you might need to use the next size up.
aardvark
29-03-2006, 23:21
Two weeks ago, my little DS was 7 weeks old, and just shy of 6 kg.
I was given a bag of Huggies Crawler size by a friend whose grandson had outgrown them. They were fine on him and did not leak, even though the sizing said they should have been way too big.
SassyMummy
04-04-2006, 00:40
Huggies are pretty good IMO, but the ones I choose to use are the Woolworths brand. I find them to be very absorbent, and they are much longer (have you noticed that when huggies get full, sometimes bubs butt-crack hangs out a little? lol). I also get 10 extra for the same price as a bulk pack of huggies.
Everyone's suggesting Aldi...so I might have a go...
I also want to say that IMO, Baby Love are shocking...they are very plastic-y and you have to PEEL them off your child...ew. Snugglers are THE WORST I've tried. They're really THIN (you just feel it when you first pull one out) and leak so much. I bought a pack because I was poor and wanted lots of nappies for cheap...they may have many more nappies but every one of them leaked, so not only did I go through a whole massive pack in less than ONE WEEK, but I also had lots more washing to do...
I am a Huggies gal. Never had a leak and sometimes they get pretty full. I have also used them (when I didn't have swimmers) in the pool and was amazed at how much liquid they held! (Jade's bum looked like a bee had stung it! lol)
I haven't noticed a difference in the quality though, but maybe I'm just not that observant.
I agree that Baby Love and Snugglers are not right for me... BL being the worst IMO.
Mums in my mothers group use Cosifits and Wollies brands without problems too.
A tip - if you are getting close to the end of a size and still have a packet of nappies in the smaller size left: I have always taken them back to the store, unopened of course, and they have always been happy to swap the nappies with the next size up or give me a credit note for the store.
anna&oli
04-04-2006, 12:51
Hi i had the same prob with huggies newborn nappies. Oli just kept wetting through. I put him in the boys infant ones- were a bit big but worked a treat. Ended up swapping my 3boxes of newborn for infant size. A friend has a girl with the same prob and she tried oli's nappies on her and has since bought the boys ones. She does feel a little silly at the supermarket though buying boy nappies for her little girl:thumbsup:
therealsunshine
06-04-2006, 17:30
Has anybody tried the big w dymples brand of disposables? They are only$23 for a box of 96 in the crawler size features cloth like an grip tabs. P.S iam a new member!
I have bought huggies since DD was born simply because i thought they were the best out there. Iv come to realise theyr'e not.
Nearly every nappy leaks. I change her abouty every 4 hours but everytime she does something, even number 2's it all leaks out!!
She is 11kg and i use the toddler size so i am using the right size. I think i might switch to boys huggies, see if that makes a difference.
I do think huggies have gone:thumbsdown: recently. I wonder if that's why they have started doing these give away things (the blue car).
Edited to say.......Welcome therealsunshine! Havent' tried that brand, sounds brilliant value for money though!
My DD is 14 weeks old and 6.5kg.
I am currently using Huggies Infant Size Girl Nappies for her at night time but am finding most nights she is leaking through them with the wet patches being high up at the sides. Did anyone else have this problem and if so did you find an alternative brand that stopped the leakage? :confused:
At 4.45 this morning I had to do the whole bubby & bed change thing beacause the nappy leaked once again.I use huggies as well they are usually great but when they leak they really leak !!
i have been using the woolies select as well they are really good value not a bad nappy either.
I was acctually thinking that I may have been putting the little "garden hose " to close to the edge but I make a point of watching where it is, I change him sometimes 4 times in a night but sometimes it just still leaks through.
It makes a nice mess to clean up doesnt it :rolleyes:
Natasha, I change Matthias every two to three hours and Huggies doesn't leak out the back or sides but does leak crystals. I'm sure if I left him four hours or more it would leak though. And I make sure that the back and front are snug and that all the ruffles are out. He's very good at filling a nappy, he's always done a wee when I check and at least two times a day he's done a big poo.
BabyLove were a lot worse with crystal leaks and worse, they gave him a terrible nappy rash. It was a nightmare. If you saw the pictures I'm sure you'd freak. I think they just couldn't keep him dry enough and it started mild and just got worse.
I want to try the ALDI nappies and Safeway brand now. Huggies are okay, but I want to find a nappy that doesn't leak crystals or cause a rash.
Oh I forgot to say which ones I used. Currently Huggies Crawler Boys. Did also use Huggies Newborn when he was first born, and then BabyLove Infant because he soaked the Newborns, and they were getting small.
I have found Huggies the best by far. Every time I think they are not holding enough and starting to leak, we graduate to the next size and there are no more problems.
YEP, same here.
But just a little thing, I used to make sure I pulled out the sides a little more too, so they caught more, as sometimes I found they werent really up high enough to stop the leaking... iykwim?
CrazyBeautiful
09-04-2006, 17:47
Huggies at night are the best. I find that Babylove nappies are ok for the daytime. Snugglers are absolutely hopeless. MY DS wees once and they leak terribly. But I do think that Huggies aren't as good as they used to be.
hayleylea
09-04-2006, 17:59
Has anybody tried the big w dymples brand of disposables? They are only$23 for a box of 96 in the crawler size features cloth like an grip tabs. P.S iam a new member!
I use the Dympal brand nappies by day and huggies by night. My dympal brand dont have grip tabs though, only sticky tabs?
jessgray
12-04-2006, 10:13
my DS has started leaking out of huggies nappies and he is in the 10kg size. its only happened on nights where both me and DS sleep all night and he doesnt get a change during the night