View Full Version : Christmas BBQ for July 06 Bubs

Rachael
12-11-2007, 09:32
Lets discuss here ladies. :xmastree:

2nd weekend is good for us and would be able to get to Brisbane or Gold Coast for it, Sunshine coast would be a push sorry :(

Mother Duck
12-11-2007, 12:21
Thanks Rach for starting this thread, would be awesome if we come up with a big Christmas meet up.

I realise that it is a drive up to the Sunnie Coast for you and Mell, but in fairness it is a huge drive for me to you guys, especially with bubs only four or five weeks due at that time.

I have to come to the Gold Coast on the last weekend of November (Sunday to Wednesday) but I won't be with the little ones, and another trip that far would feel pretty huge for me

Ordinary I never 'ask' for the meets to be changed in my favour I just try and make it when and if I can, this time I really would like to make it if I could.

Anyway - thus my suggestion about getting a place to stay the night, to justify the drive a bit more.

What about if we made it on a Friday night rather than a Sat? or does everyone work on Fridays - I know that might mean it was just us girls and not the fellas but does that make it easier at all???

Anyway - having said all of that I will now 'duck out of it' and let you guys decide

As I said - I apologise for asking such alot, and I of course will go with the flow in the end!

love J

Veritas
12-11-2007, 12:38
2nd weekend in Dec would be great for me too... ;)

Angel'sCandy
13-11-2007, 11:11
Ducky - i understand where you're coming from and i'm happy to go to Sunnie Coast :hugs: it's gonna be a drive for alot of us no matter where we go. Sunnie Coast is closer than Gold Coast for me but it's still about an hr's drive away (depending where on the Sunnie Coast). Gold Coast is about 1.5-2hrs (again, depending where). i think we will all have to be aware that we will have to do a bit of a drive. i know the girls who live on the Southside will have a long drive too, no matter where it is.

Kaz - WOOHOO!!! :smiliedance: does this mean you will be here too?!?!

Rachael
13-11-2007, 12:34
:o forgot you are due soon :o

Friday is no good for me will be working.

If we make it 2nd saturday afternoon or sunday mid morning in dec then I am sure I can talk DH into a overnight stay on the sunshine coast.

1st weekend is out think we will be shifting that weekend or the weekend prior.

Veritas
13-11-2007, 12:58
[B]Kaz - WOOHOO!!! :smiliedance: does this mean you will be here too?!?!

Maybe.... well if its Fri 7th or Sat 8th then maybe... :p

13-11-2007, 17:36
Im happy to go anywhere. If its at the sunny coast, we should be able to stay at my dads unit. if its the gold coast, then can only do a day thing. I would prefer it on a weekend though, with Fridays, Brianna will still be at school, and Cris works.

supa_star323
13-11-2007, 18:54
Do I qualify to join in? DS was born July 10th 2006. We live in Byron Bay, Northern NSW. But would be prepared to drive up the coast as we do that all the time anyway. It's cool if I don't fit in, just curious.

Mother Duck
14-11-2007, 15:32
Supa - yes of course you qualify!

Please don't take it personally but we will just have to check out who you are etc for security (exactly the same for anyone that we don't know) as sometimes in the past we have had unwanted guests turn up at these events posing as members!

OF COURSE as a mummy to a Jacob we know darn well that you are legit!!! :p - as I said it isn't anything personal, and it would be awesome if you can join us!

Im happy to go anywhere. If its at the sunny coast, we should be able to stay at my dads unit. if its the gold coast, then can only do a day thing. I would prefer it on a weekend though, with Fridays, Brianna will still be at school, and Cris works.
Your Dad's unit would be great (will this be at mates rates ;) )

When it comes to meeting up with you ladies I don't mind forking out a bit of dosh though, so if there is another place that is fine for me too!

Thanks so much for understanding about the drive, as I said, I will do it - it just feels a bit much is all!

Re the dates - more to confirm that from 'our' perspective later

Mother Duck
14-11-2007, 15:43
:o forgot you are due soon :o

Friday is no good for me will be working.

If we make it 2nd saturday afternoon or sunday mid morning in dec then I am sure I can talk DH into a overnight stay on the sunshine coast.

1st weekend is out think we will be shifting that weekend or the weekend prior.
No worries Rach, I really didn't mean to make it extra work for you guys - thanks for understanding, and it would be awesome if you can talk hubby into a night on the Sunnie coast!

Just to clarify re dates - the 2nd Sat in Dec is the 8th - this is perfect for me (and for a guest that you might have guessed by now!)

I know I am putting on my bossy take over hat here (sorry :o )
But....
Here is my two bobs worth for the moment

- Maria could you please pm me with the details of how many can be housed at your dad's and if it is available on the 8th
- if the dates are OK for Maria - those what want to can stay at HIGA's dad's (if on the 8th will be two July lasses, two July bubbas, and one mischievous toddler at least!)
- those that want more space can plan their own accom
- can we all tap in here and give a definate OK or 'neigh' for the date asap pretty please

Once again sorry to sound all bossy britches but I am actually very much in work mode (which is good seen as I am working!)

Speaking of which
T'rah for now :wave:
Love J

14-11-2007, 15:49
I wish i could make it up there. It would be nice to have a weekend away up the coast!!:yes: Maybe ill have to talk to DH about it! :fingerscrossed: :yes: :D

Mell
14-11-2007, 16:00
I can't do the weekend of the 8th, but if everyone else can do that week end, go ahead and i will try and catch up with everyone before Christmas.

It is Bodhi's birthday on the 9th and we had Sean's work Christmas party on the 8th and since he is the boss, he has to go, hehe.

But please go ahead if everyone else can do this weekend, i won't be offended.:D

Mother Duck
14-11-2007, 16:03
Ohhh that would be GREEAATTT!

Fares can be cheap - check out jetstar and virgin, both fly to the Sunnie Coast, and be sure to check happy hour specials noon - 1pm

Right, seriously now .... back to work for this little "Migaloo" duck

I wish i could make it up there. It would be nice to have a weekend away up the coast!!:yes: Maybe ill have to talk to DH about it! :fingerscrossed: :yes: :D

Mother Duck
14-11-2007, 16:06
Mell - just saw your post

Wouldn't be the same without you

What about the following weekend Sat 15th - I might be able to convince DH to come with me then too :yes:

How is that for everyone else (apologies to old guesty!! Maybe she can catch up with some of the Brissie girls seperately as she comes through that way anyway??)

I can potentially do either weekend

RIGHT BACK TO WORK AND THAT IS THAT!

14-11-2007, 16:18
I can't do friday nights - it's the end of my working week and I tend to be dead on my feet, but am free all weekends of December.
Cobey has his swimming lesson Saturday morning, but it's nice and early so we're free after 9.30.

Anywhere is okay with me :)

Mell
14-11-2007, 16:32
Jessie, i am not sure about that weekend yet, it is my Nephews 3rd birthday on the 12th and my sil is having a party for him on that weekend, just not sure what day yet. I have emailed SIL to find out, so will let you know.

But please don't organise it around me, we are so booked up from now till Christmas it isn't funny.

14-11-2007, 16:32
Mell, it wouldnt be the same without you, im happy to make it the following weekend.

karrie, could you come the following weekend?

As for my dads unit, I havent checked with him yet, but its seriously only a small 2 bdrm unit :o

Veritas
14-11-2007, 18:11
karrie, could you come the following weekend?

Looking like I won't be up that way until around New Years now.... so count me out at this stage chickys!!

Mother Duck
14-11-2007, 21:45
Either weekend is OK for me but the 13th is probably best

Mell - truly it wouldn't be the same without you - can you get in early with SIL and let her know that day/night is out for you?

Re accom - no worries Maria - I will leave your pa's abode for your lovely self and someone else

It would be great if it was the 13th as I would very much like Scott to be able to come!

Maria - could you pm me where your dad's place is so I can look for some accom near there

Night night beautiful women

Oh and someone remind me tomorrow to phone Jayney and let her know about this thread!

:sleeping:

14-11-2007, 22:05
13th is a Thursday?

Mell
15-11-2007, 01:38
Mell - truly it wouldn't be the same without you - can you get in early with SIL and let her know that day/night is out for you?

Just waiting to hear back from my SIL and i will let you know :thumbsup:

Rachael
15-11-2007, 08:20
8th is now out for me.

Got guests checking in on the 8th in the middle of the day.

Not too sure about the following weekend either the guests are checking out then and I will have to be cleaning for the next lot ugh.

Mell - Maybe you & I and the bubs and DHs can catch up at harbour town for a couple of hours?

Don't plan the :xmastree: bbq around us though girls if we can make it we will!!!!:thumbsup:

Angel'sCandy
15-11-2007, 17:11
anytime is fine for me :thumbsup: just let me know the date and i'll be there. Ady works on Saturdays but we will come up after he gets home. we'll be there early arvo and stay for dinner then come home. i can't wait :smiliedance:

Jess - Jayney said something int he thread about wanting the link for this. i don't know if she's seen it yet, but did you remember to ring her?? :kiss:

15-11-2007, 20:15
Re accom - no worries Maria - I will leave your pa's abode for your lovely self and someone else

the someone else comment made me :gloomy:
The we that I was referring to in my previous post was for the family. with the 5 of us its crampy :o

I will let Jac know the dates also, as she still isnt connected.

Mother Duck
15-11-2007, 21:29
13th is a Thursday?
Funniest thing is - as I logged off and realised that I had put the 13th rather than the 15th - guess who I thought of as being my 'corrector' for sure - tee hee, Seekie!!! Oh and while I think of it - sorry to hem you into it but I would be devastated if you changed your username!!

Rach - is there another time that would be better for you? We are sorta getting very close to Chrissie after the 15th

Yes Maria - of course let Jac know, I am such a ditz I just assumed she would have read this thread!

Jess - Jayney said something int he thread about wanting the link for this. i don't know if she's seen it yet, but did you remember to ring her?? :kiss:
Nope - have just breezed in to catch up with this thread after a very very long day! Will try tomorrow - feel free to flick her the link

the someone else comment made me :gloomy:
Oh no Maria, really don't feel bad! I have had vast experience in my 'younger' days at sleeping in the gutter, it isn't so bad if you sprinkle a perimeter with flour so the ants don't get to you

;)

Just teasing!

It's my fault lovely - I misinterpreted - and yes it would be a bit squishy with more!

Haven't checked my pms - and got to go to bed so will tomorrow but just make sure that you pm me the area you will be in so I can check the accom nearby

15-11-2007, 21:30
Someone gave Jayney the link today :)

So the 15th? And a day thing.. families at a park or something? Yeah? :D

Mother Duck
15-11-2007, 21:43
Awww come on Seek, you barely even nibbled at my wind up comments!

(just as a completely different bit of trivia - this baby is now so strong plus still laying transverse that when it kicks my whole belly goes from one side to the other like a plate of jelly! - tis kicking as I tap!)

If we do the 15th Scott and I are in for sure!! Anything goes for us really - although our little ones LOVE the beach (don't get to go there much!) We can either stay the night before or on the Sat night, whatever works out best for everyone else. Wouldn't mind a few mins catching up with you girls in the evening just for a girls tipple (all beit minimal for me!) if it works out that way, maybe a bit of time just with the girls at sunset or something, I am sure Scotty will be OK with that but I will just need to know which night y'all staying over (if you are) so I book on the same night

babble babble babble

think I will go and snuggle with my just returned hubbie now (innocently of course!)

Night all

15-11-2007, 21:45
:p

I don't think I'll be staying o'night or anything... so I don't know if I can do a night thing, sunset MAY be okay... just that Chris and Cobes won't have anywhere to go/do after dark. iykwim. :)

Rachael
16-11-2007, 08:38
At the moment I have people checking in on sat 8th and checking out on sat 15th, so going to be difficult either day.
Sorry :(

Mother Duck
16-11-2007, 09:17
:p

I don't think I'll be staying o'night or anything... so I don't know if I can do a night thing, sunset MAY be okay... just that Chris and Cobes won't have anywhere to go/do after dark. iykwim. :)

I am probably more thinking of me being without my little ones than you guys, it would be great to have a few mins around that time, I find it too hard to 'focus' when I have the little ones under foot at the moment

Rach - that is a bummer about the dates for you. And once again I apologise for making it further away from you and by the sounds of it not possible for you.

It isn't too late ladies, if you want to do it at the Gold Coast, then really that is fine.

Also if it is the 15th Scott will be with me anyway so the trip wouldn't be nearly as tricky

Either is fine

Should we do a poll?

Rachael
16-11-2007, 09:49
No no I think you should take it easy at this stage in pregnancy.

From 4 weeks before my due date I refused to go anywhere more than 20mins drive from the hospital and I think that is the way it should be.

You guys make all the plans etc and PM me the details please, If we can make it then we will definately be there.

We can always have a Easter BBQ down here ;)

16-11-2007, 14:17
Ive seen Jac, she is unable to do that weekend. They will be away in Mackay

18-11-2007, 11:06
*poke poke poke*
So what day can I pencil into my calendar? :p

19-11-2007, 12:22
Im needing to know also. Need to check if its ok with my dad, and a few things to organise.

Mother Duck
19-11-2007, 22:26
I am fairly keen to know too - that time of the year is full on

I was under the impression that the 15th was the weekend that we were talking about

Have been full on with work so will try to keep an eye out here tomorrow but prob won't have a chance to get in to our chatty thread!!

Hope you are all well!

Night all
Love J

20-11-2007, 06:11
15th it is. :p

Now the wheres and the whats...

Mother Duck
20-11-2007, 23:07
Rach couldn't make it (from memory) - Mell are you OK to come that weekend and if so are you OK for it to be at the sunnie coast?

Mell
21-11-2007, 06:03
Yep the 15th should be fine and yep the sunnie coast is fine too. I won't be able to do an over nighter tho.

21-11-2007, 06:10
Nah, I can't do an o'nighter either Mell... Lunch time BBQ and afternoon muck-abouts sound good?

21-11-2007, 07:11
yay 15th sounds good to me. I will have to ring my dad to see if I can even get the unit :fingerscrossed: have we decided which park it will be at? theres only one I can think of atm :confused:

21-11-2007, 07:13
I quite liked Kings Beach... it has some water play for the kids and a big playground - unsure of amenities though.

What beach are you thinking maria?

21-11-2007, 07:20
I quite liked Kings Beach... it has some water play for the kids and a big playground - unsure of amenities though.

What beach are you thinking maria?

thats the one nikki. :sunshine:

Mother Duck
21-11-2007, 09:50
Sounds awesome!!!

I think that Scott and I will stay somewhere on the Friday night rather than the Sat (particularly if you guys aren't staying) - it is much easier for us that way

Then I will have a nice romantic night with husbando on the Friday - which is always good!

Maria - please tell Jac I am sorry we are missing her this time (assuming you will be talking to her sometime soon)

Mell and Rach - any chance I can catch up with you ladies while I am at the Gold Coast this week coming?

I would very much love to
:yes:

I should get there sometime on Sunday (late afternoonish) - I have a dinner thing on the Monday night and my talk is on Tues morning so in an ideal world (*crosses fingers and toes for good luck :fingerscrossed:*) Tuesday evening would be a perfect time for me to catch up with you lasses

Let me know

T'rah

PS - please say hello from me in July thread - I should be back in there sometime soon-ish!!

Love J

21-11-2007, 10:57
Alright, should we make that all official then? :)

Rachael
21-11-2007, 10:58
Mell and Rach - any chance I can catch up with you ladies while I am at the Gold Coast this week coming?

I would very much love to
:yes:

I should get there sometime on Sunday (late afternoonish) - I have a dinner thing on the Monday night and my talk is on Tues morning so in an ideal world (*crosses fingers and toes for good luck :fingerscrossed:*) Tuesday evening would be a perfect time for me to catch up with you lasses

Would love to. Whereabouts are you staying?

Angel'sCandy
27-11-2007, 15:17
yep that would be great :smiliedance: oohhh i'm so excited!! we need to make the date official and also are we just gonna bring something and share??

KapowSchazam
27-11-2007, 15:39
Is my sissy-poo allowed to be my date???

27-11-2007, 16:19
yep that would be great :smiliedance: oohhh i'm so excited!! we need to make the date official and also are we just gonna bring something and share??

I thought it was already official? the weekend of the 18th?

Nay, I have no problems if you want to bring your sis as a date.

KapowSchazam
27-11-2007, 16:34
The 18th is a Tuesday?!?!

27-11-2007, 16:56
The 18th is a Tuesday?!?!

meh, the weekend of the 15th then :p

27-11-2007, 19:21
Weekend of the 15th at the beach Maria and I were talking about? :p

My sister has shown interest in coming too - if only to spend her day lying in the sand

Angel'sCandy
28-11-2007, 10:40
what time??

28-11-2007, 14:22
Umm.. lunch? I have something on until 9.30 and will be coming up straigth away, so we should be there by 11... so let's say that.. 11ish? :)

I'll send through a PM later tonight..

28-11-2007, 15:48
not sure if we are driving up on friday night or early sat am. Mid morning sounds good though :bee:

Mother Duck
28-11-2007, 22:23
Well I am home - safe and sound!

Mell and Renee - LOVED seeing you ladies and your cheeky (and rather adorable) bubbas again today

Rach - you gorgeous lass, thank you so much for a wonderful dinner, it was great to meet you AT LAST - now stop hiding your lovely self from us!!!!!

Jayney - you are such an angel for understanding about me piking on you! Can't wait to see you again :yes:

Anyway - I am shattered but just qucikly - pretty darn certain that I will be there for this one too with old mate Drake!

I am planning to stay on the Fri night

Night night
Love Jess

Rachael
29-11-2007, 11:32
:o lol.

Was great meeting you to Jess, I had a fun time. Not hiding just always busy busy. Really looking forward to Christmas hols.

Send me a PM with the details too please Nikki, we may be able to make it. Bout a 20% chance atm.

Mother Duck
29-11-2007, 16:24
Don't mind me Rach, I'm just pressuring you coz I know the 'others' would LOVE to meet you too!

Love J

Rachael
07-12-2007, 11:17
Will not be able to come :( Sorry ladies we were looking forward to meeting more of you.

We have guests checking out & checking in on that day so will be busy all day cleaning etc.

Would you all be happy to come to the Gold Coast for a Easter BBQ?

Mother Duck
10-12-2007, 22:22
We will be there!

BUMP!!!

:tree:

10-12-2007, 22:25
We won't be :(

Mother Duck
11-12-2007, 12:01
That's a bummer Seek - I always love seeing you and yours! Still we will no doubt catch up sometime in the New Year

Have a lovely Chrissy

:kiss:

11-12-2007, 16:17
for the millionth time we will be there:D

Mother Duck
12-12-2007, 22:43
Hey Maria

Are you coming on Sat???

KapowSchazam
13-12-2007, 08:58
:devil:

13-12-2007, 17:42
Hey Maria

Are you coming on Sat???

smarty pants! hmmmmm

Mother Duck
14-12-2007, 14:46
OK - Please can I ask for CLEAR directions on where we are meeting and at what time

And can I suggest that we pm this info one t'other - never know who is lurking!!

Will hop on later to get my clear directions!!

Love J

Mother Duck
14-12-2007, 22:31
*taps microphone in empty hall*

Hello - anyone there??

OK so I am guessing it is the aforementioned beach - we will be there at a time that I will pm to Maria and Kel

Looking forward to it
Love J