View Full Version : please help
mum_2_be3008
28-02-2006, 18:19
Im 18 and im expecting my first in may im still working full time, but im really really ancious and scared i have no idea what to expect cause this is all so new and was after any advice that you's can give me.
LittleBoysRock
28-02-2006, 19:19
My advice would be to read up as much as you can and become educated about your own body and your growing little baby.
I reccomend a book called "What to expect when your expecting" it has a month by month break down of what is happening with you and baby. It even tells you what you might be experiencing emotionally and physically.
Also attending the antenatal classes run by the hopsital you are to give birth in.
I found it very helpful to know what to expect. I watched some birthing video's too which was scary but is a good idea to prepare.
If you ever need a friend or some advice, PM me. I have a 7 month old bub and I am 22 myself so I know what it's like to be a young Mummy. :)
Goodluck with everything, pregnancy and birth is totally worth all the hard work! :)
claireandbailey
28-02-2006, 19:23
i bought that book "what to expect when your expecting" and i found it made me more paranoid that something was going to go wrong wit my baby, but i found another book calld "up the duf" by kaz cooke and i found it brilliant. they tellu wek by week wat is happenin to the baby and you and she even makes it humerous. i liked it that much i bought the next book called "kid wrangling" which is really good too.
Definately read as much as you can about your changing body, the life growing inside you, birth, care of bubs, etc. Do you have a good support network of people around you?? This helps alot, especially if they are experienced mums.
Talk to your Ob. about concerns, doubts that you have, and trust your own instincts...this is your body, you know it best.
I really don't think any amount of replies that you get to your post will completely cover what you are/will experience. Do as much of your own "research", talk to professionals and other mums.
You are entering a challenging but rewarding experience. Congratulations!
squirtle81
28-02-2006, 19:30
I was also very scared when i was pregnant and had no idea what to expect. I found reading a lot helped and asking people with experience questions that i wanted to know.
You will be fine. I never thought i could do it, but now i have done it i can't wait to have another one. I'm sure you will be fine.
Good Luck!!!!
3SPUNKRATZ
03-03-2006, 13:37
every week you get an email about the week of gestation you are in. i have found it heaps helpful. i also have 'what to expect when your expecting & what to eat when your expecting' its a double book. its pretty helpful to.
i agree with bec though. whatever you do..... TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS!!
good luck and take care.
jess
Briannabear
03-03-2006, 13:56
The best advice I could give you is to be well-educated on the whole pregnancy/childbirth /and beyond. Read everything you can!
As someone already said 'What to expect when you're expecting' is a good all rounder book. Kaz Cooke 'Up the Duff' is an absolute must have!
It helps you to relax and have a laugh about it all!
As for the birth and everything that happens afterwards, TRUST YOUR INSTINCT! Thats so important!!
JanetF will be able to give you lots of info on the birth - is she around anywhere?!:D
Good luck, and I hope you have a very happy healthy pregnancy! :hugs:
rockabye
03-03-2006, 14:00
Hi There!!
I was really nervous my first time around too.
As everyone has said, read, read, read.
I also made an appointment to see a midwife at my hospital, asked if i could sit down and talk to her. She was great, alleviated all my worries. She ended up being rostered on when I went into labour, i was sooo grateful.
Have a good support around you. Have someone in the room who makes you feel good.
Good luck!!
You can do it!!!!
Jo
every week you get an email about the week of gestation you are in. i have found it heaps helpful.
Forget them - sign up to bubhub's 40 week pregnancy emails!!!!:D
My advice is to not listen to too many people - the doomsayers that is. For some reason many people will feel it's their right or their duty to tell you all the bad things that "might" happen. Ignore them.
I recommend reading too, but not just on the physical aspect of pregnancy. My absolute must have book is "Magical Beginnings, Enchanted Lives" by Deepak Chopra. I didn't read any books on pregnancy, but read lots on the internet as it was appropriate. Don't fill your head with stuff you don't need or which may only serve to make you worried.
Look into hypnobirthing too. My DH is a hynpotherapist and we used relaxation techniques in the labour. I loved every minute of the birth, had no drugs (forgot they were there, didn't even think to ask for them!), and it felt like I was 16 in sick bay with period pain. Piece of cake!!
Fear can create pain or make it worse. Address the fear from the source and you'll make it a much more positive experience.
Also remember that medical staff can only advise - they cannot force you to do anything you don't want to do. Even induction. Women are made to feel like they HAVE to be induced if bubs is a week or so overdue, even when there is no sign of foetal distress. This is just an example. You don't HAVE to do anything. Do what feels right, stand your ground, and let them know you won't be bullied :)
That said, we had great midwives through the birth centre who empowered us to make decisions that were right for us - not just for the medical industry.
Good luck :D
Some great advice :) It's really important to empower yourself to be a proactive consumer in the health system. Midwifery care is safest so find somewhere you can access that. Read lots of birth stories, investigate hypnobirthing, and always ask as many questions as you need until you feel comfortable and understand exactly what is being said to you. No one has the right to make decisions about your body or your baby. Here are some really interesting articles about birth :) Also, if you must birth in a BC or hospital, you MUST MUST MUST have a doula to support you!
Congratulations on having a birth to look forward to! :smiliedance:
What is natural birth? (http://www.joyousbirth.info/articles/whatisnaturalbirth.html)
Hospital birth information (http://www.joyousbirth.info/hospital.html)
mum_2_be3008
04-03-2006, 16:22
The reason for me being so scared at the moment is because we forgot all about the antinatal classes and its becoming really difficult to find any. But seen my ob yesterday and he said that me and bub are doing fine and shes 29cm at the moment so that put alot of my wories to bed. And im hoping that i'll find antinal classes soon,
But thank you for you advice :)
If you do hypnobirthing classes, many actually work in place of antenatal classes, and are a lot more empowering than a lot of the fear-driven, drug pushing classes that are held at hospitals.
Don't stress about it - just think how many women have done this over thousands of years, without pain relief, without doctors, without fear. And most of them have gone back for more... It's the most natural thing in the world. Listen to what your body is telling you first and foremost and you'll do wonderfully. :D
I wish for you to enjoy your labour and birth as much as I did. I'd do it all over and over again if I could - it was energising, exhilerating, empowering and liberating!!! There were times that it even felt orgasmic after I'd ridden a contraction :smiliedance:
Fear can create pain or make it worse. Address the fear from the source and you'll make it a much more positive experience.
ABSOLUTELY, ABSOLUTELY, ABSOLUTELY!!
For me, this got me through, too. I found reading too much stuff confused the heck outta me! Fear causes pain to be far worse. I addressed my fears by reading my Bible & taking strength from what I read, but I realise this may not be for some!
My labour was awesome!! No drugs, no worries. :thumbsup: And I hope yours is too. Enjoy it and EMBRACE the positives instead of listening to all the negatives.
Love,
Nan. xx