View Full Version : Brisbane Christmas Get Together

Leeny
08-11-2007, 18:49
Well I thought it might be time to start an offical christmas thread, so here we go. Hopefully theres still enough of us interested :reindeer:

Im trying to decide the easiest way to do this. Because a day, date, and place hasnt been decided, instead of doing seperate threads with a poll, I thought it might just be easier if we add our name to a list, with what day we'd prefer, and which location we'd prefer between the botanical gardens (same location as last year), or the roma street parklands.

If someone else has any better suggestions, just let me know, either here or by pm, and people can consider it as a choice aswell. I think its best to keep it a central location, that tends to be the area the dinners are kept, and it seems to be where most people are able to get to:D

I'll tally up peoples responses, and once we have a prefered day, we'll decide on a date. If people are going away for holidays, or have preferences for early or late december, post that as well, and hopefully we can pick a date and location that accommodates most of us :)

I'll start the list - Although I'm very flexible:laughing:
I won't pick a location because I'm fine with the majority vote.

Leeny - Any day

studyingECS
08-11-2007, 18:52
Leeny - Any day
studyingECS- not sure

I am not really sure to be honest, I will see what is decided and then If i cant come I will let you know.

accually now I think about it, I am at the coast from the 1st till the 14th so dont worry about me. if it happens that i can come i will.

I know i am making it difficult LOL

Jeclipse
08-11-2007, 18:53
Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
Jeclipse - Early december before the 21st

Leeny
08-11-2007, 18:56
Oh I forgot something :laughing:

Last year, what did people think of santa handing out gifts? Is it something that people are interested in this year? I dont actually know who dontated thier husband/partner last year, but I cant donate mine. He's too short, looks like a kid at times, and has no wrinkles. Kids would be sus :laughing:

If anyones interested in the whole Santa thing this year, if anyone has a jolly husband or partner that wants to take on the roll, PM me and we'll see if we can sort something out. :xmas:

If people aren't up for it this year, just say so in the thread, and we'll scrap it. Its totally dependant on how many people want it this year.

Jeclipse
08-11-2007, 18:59
lmao:laughing: I reckon that would be fun for the kids to have a santa.

TrulyBlessed
09-11-2007, 00:23
Mum23girls had her wonderful DH play :xmas: last year but thats cause she and a few of us others were involved in organising it. Hope you have a fantastic day and I'll be sad to miss it this year.

Shakey
09-11-2007, 00:56
i'll be interested in comming, if you guys would allow me :D

depending on what day though

09-11-2007, 10:27
I'm interested - so far we are flexible as no firm plans in place

Leeny
09-11-2007, 10:40
Mum23girls had her wonderful DH play :xmas: last year but thats cause she and a few of us others were involved in organising it. Hope you have a fantastic day and I'll be sad to miss it this year.

Thanx! I had a feeling thats who it was :D Oh well we'll see what happens this year I guess!

i'll be interested in comming, if you guys would allow me :D

depending on what day though

Ofcourse your welcome Jo, everyone is :p:laughing:

mollymoosmum
09-11-2007, 16:16
Oww I would like to come :yes: too!

I'm flexable about when and where it is :thumbsup:

sam's mum
09-11-2007, 16:30
Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
sam's mum - any day except 7 December

for a venue whichever has the better parking, I don't have a preference otherwise.

mum23girls
09-11-2007, 20:16
I am free anytime.

Your DH can do it this year if he wants Leeny!!

Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
mum23girls - any

SassyMummy
09-11-2007, 20:23
Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
mum23girls - any
SassyMummy - any date but the 1st December

taliistheword
09-11-2007, 20:39
Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
mum23girls - any
taliistheword- any day

Noah_and_Elijah
09-11-2007, 20:40
I am waaaaay too busy but hope you guys have a fantastic time!! :smiliedance:

madjedjjlill
10-11-2007, 11:20
i woul luv 2 come but depends when this baby plans hes arrival.

filmgirlgail
10-11-2007, 20:26
Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
mum23girls - any
taliistheword- any day
Filmgirlgail - any day

ButterflyMama
11-11-2007, 08:14
We are keen!

Leeny
11-11-2007, 10:09
Do any of you guys have a preference between the 2 locations? Roma street parklands probably has the better car parking. Botanical gardens you'd need to find somewhere near by with parking.

Any thoughts?

ButterflyMama
11-11-2007, 10:11
I'd personally rather Roma St. :)

squiglet
11-11-2007, 12:09
Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
mum23girls - any
taliistheword- any day
Filmgirlgail - any day
Squiglet- any day (just not the 9th dec)

I think the Botanic Gardens would be perfect. They are so beautifull as well.
There are heaps of parks there. Roma street parking is always packed out and sometimes you have to pay a fortune for the undergound parking.

Anyway were ever it's held I would love to come along agian this year!:wave:

SassyMummy
11-11-2007, 13:40
I don't really care about the location. Botantic Gardens are easier for me to get to... but I don't really care either way.

spring
11-11-2007, 13:47
I would like to come:)
Early December would be best for me but not the 7th.
I would prefer the botanic gardens I think there is more shade there but I dont really care.
I hope a Santa will be there:xmas:

Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
mum23girls - any
taliistheword- any day
Filmgirlgail - any day
Spring- early Dec' not 7th

Freya
11-11-2007, 18:31
:smiliedance: If I can find a way to get up there I will definately come!! And doesn't bother me where it is either!

:D Exciting!! There is so many of you brissy girls I want to meet!

TJ
11-11-2007, 18:51
Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
mum23girls - any
taliistheword- any day
Filmgirlgail - any day
oneblessing - any day
TJ - any day

Id love to come along!
I cant see hubby wanting to come tho:rolleyes:

lukaelmo
11-11-2007, 18:59
Leeny- Any day
studyingECS- not sure
mum23girls - any
taliistheword- any day
Filmgirlgail - any day
oneblessing - any day
TJ - any day
Lukaelmo - any day

Noah_and_Elijah
11-11-2007, 19:05
:smiliedance: If I can find a way to get up there I will definately come!! And doesn't bother me where it is either!

Damn! I so wanted to meet you!! :cool:

MrsDribbleDrawers
11-11-2007, 19:22
I'm still up in the air about this - the feeling that I got from the other thread was that it wasn't leaning towards a family friendly sort of situation - in that, I'm not just celebrating Christmas with the baby, but with two big kids and hubby too, so for me, a family function involves hubby, and is a weekend event. I'll keep an eye on this thread, and make a decision a little bit closer to time - that said, december is filling up very quickly, we're not available 8th, 9th or 15th!

Cate

Jeclipse
11-11-2007, 19:25

:smiliedance: yay, can't wait to finally meet you:D

oh and roma street would be the easiest for me to get too

Freya
11-11-2007, 19:28
Damn! I so wanted to meet you!! :cool:

We should organise a meet another time.:thumbsup:

Can't wait to meet you too Cath!!

Leeny
11-11-2007, 20:26
Im glad theres so many interested :smiliedance:

Times flying by so quickly, so I think its best to set a date before peoples calanders fill up completely.

Nearly everyones put any day, which I thought would make it easy but it hasnt :laughing:

What about Sunday the 16th? That seems to be a day that everyone can make it, so no one will be left out. I think it'd be less busy and it'd be less likey to have men kicking around a football near by like last year :D

What do you guys think?

Jeclipse
11-11-2007, 20:30
16th sounds good:thumbsup:

SassyMummy
11-11-2007, 20:33
I'm still up in the air about this - the feeling that I got from the other thread was that it wasn't leaning towards a family friendly sort of situation - in that, I'm not just celebrating Christmas with the baby, but with two big kids and hubby too, so for me, a family function involves hubby, and is a weekend event. I'll keep an eye on this thread, and make a decision a little bit closer to time - that said, december is filling up very quickly, we're not available 8th, 9th or 15th!

Cate

It'll be a family thing... at least, last year's was. There were a few Dads about, as well as a few older kids.

It's not JUST families though... my DP wouldn't come if he has the day off because he wouldn't enjoy it... and I imagine some other people wouldn't have their DP come either... but last year I can remember at least 3 Dads being there. :thumbsup:

Leeny, that date sounds good. The sooner a date is set, the better! :thumbsup:

Leeny
11-11-2007, 20:36
Excellent, no problems so far then :thumbsup: - And yep Staceys right. I sent you a PM about it earlier MrsDribbleDrawers. Deffinately a family event!

studyingECS
11-11-2007, 20:41
Cant make 16th, I hope everyone has an awsome time though:yes:

taliistheword
11-11-2007, 20:46
we will try and get there hubby wont be with us as he has to work, have we picked a place yet?

jessmarty
11-11-2007, 21:27
:thumbsdown: I can't make a sunday

But i hope you guys have a wonderful time!!! :D

spring
11-11-2007, 21:32
Im good for the 16th :yes:

Leeny
11-11-2007, 21:56
we will try and get there hubby wont be with us as he has to work, have we picked a place yet?

Not yet.. I'll suss out parking at both places, wait and find out if the 16th's deffinately a go ahead, and make sure everyone can make it to 1 or another...As long as we get the date set, thats progress :laughing:

Leeny
11-11-2007, 23:55
Alright I've done a lot of looking on both websites for the botanical gardens, and roma street parklands, and I think that the roma street parklands have alot more free parking.

Because it'll be on a Sunday, parking is free, and there is a fair amount there. I looked at the Botanical gardens website and it doesnt actually list any onsite parking at all, so people would have to pay for near by parking, or find a park on the street.

Parking Times and Fee's sheet (http://www.romastreetparkland.com/downloads/parking_fact_sheet.pdf) - Theres a fact sheet off the roma street website, so all parking is free on sundays :D

I've also had a look at the map to find somewhere that'll be suitable for us.

Map (http://www.romastreetparkland.com/downloads/RomaStreetParkland_webmap.pdf) ****I've deleted the map of the exact location where we'll be for safety reasons. I'll pm everyone the map with the exact location on it closer to the date :)****

I thought over near the theatre because it's easy enough to find (last time I went there for a bubhub meet, it took us nearly an hour and asking 4 wrong groups to find the wrong people :laughing:), theres toilets (and disabled toilets), a drink fountain, and a playground close by.

I was looking at the Celebration Lawn area because its so big, but I remember theres no trees or shade there.

So what does everyone think about the Roma street parklands, near the Amphitheatre? I'll stop by there sometime in the next couple of weeks and make sure theres some shade there.

If anyone else has any spots at roma street they know of close enough to toilets, let me know :)

If thats not suitable for everyone, Im guessing our next best option is the botanical gardens, in the same area as least year - near the entry way.

madjedjjlill
12-11-2007, 10:03
16th should be good 4 me bub will be here by then hopefully :fingerscrossed:

squiglet
13-11-2007, 09:31
16 is good for me too:yelclap: I s it a bring your own picknic sort of day?

Leeny
13-11-2007, 09:56
That was going to be the next question. Because theres so many people, and im sure everyone has different dietry needs for thier kids, should we make it a BYO pinic? I think it'll just make it easier. People can bring what food and drink they like, and theres no need to worry if there'll be enough.

13-11-2007, 15:12
Date sounds good for us! DF will be coming too YAY! So everyone bring your partners :D Oh, and he can be santa if you's like he even has a santa suit from last year when he dressed up for our nieces and nephews. Anyways let me know! :thumbsup:

Noah_and_Elijah
13-11-2007, 15:20
he can be santa if you's like

I want to come just to see Karl dressed as Santa!! :p

13-11-2007, 15:21
I want to come just to see Karl dressed as Santa!! :p

He's quite the good looking Santa ;) He even has the belly for the job! :laughing:

Leeny
13-11-2007, 16:51
Date sounds good for us! DF will be coming too YAY! So everyone bring your partners Oh, and he can be santa if you's like he even has a santa suit from last year when he dressed up for our nieces and nephews. Anyways let me know!

LOL I'd asked dh to do it....and he's like :cool: no....But then he said he'd think about it :laughing:... Dont worry, if he had of said yes, the kids would have been suss for sure...He's like 5'6, and gets mistaken for a little brother some times :D:xmas:

I'll send you a PM now :D

GiggleBerry
16-11-2007, 15:33
I'm interested in coming too, can you please send me the details.

Michelle

V8
18-11-2007, 22:48
Hey Leeny -

How's plans going for this party?

Is the 16th set in stone? What location has been decided.

I'd love to go, and would be another that brings DH along.

Was thinking of making a thread about it, but then i saw this one. :D

V8
24-11-2007, 14:10
Just bumping to see if this is still happening.

lil miss
25-11-2007, 20:16
any day is good for me... but it wouldbe great if the time was during the day (i have no car rely on public transport- i don't like being on the trains at night by myself). let me know the final details and i'll be there with bells on :xmas:

Jeclipse
30-11-2007, 10:16
Has a venue been decided yet?:)

TJ
30-11-2007, 21:23
I was wondering the same thing as Jeclipse :)

sam's mum
01-12-2007, 09:10
I have to admit to not having read the entire thread, but do we have a date, time and venue yet?

TyBean
01-12-2007, 20:31
If I am back in Brissie by then I would love to come.....:smiliedance::thumbsup:

squiglet
02-12-2007, 08:49
I would love a pm too, don't whant to miss out!:xmastree:

taliistheword
02-12-2007, 08:59
same there

02-12-2007, 09:34
I just read the whole thread and the 16th at Roma St was being mentioned by Leeny. Is this still the go Leeny?
If so we will be there!!:thumbsup:

03-12-2007, 09:34
If it's the 16th then I am out :( I have a wiggles concert that day. I think it's that date anyways, I will double check just in case!

ETA- Does anyone know the date of the concert? I am not at home lol and I want to know now!

Pink73
03-12-2007, 12:59
Yes the Wiggles are the 16th We are going to.:smiliedance:

06-12-2007, 17:27
Oh yep it is the 16th. Well in that case me & Santa are out :hissy:

Leeny
10-12-2007, 19:17
So sorry ladies!! I've been so busy.. My brothers been in hospital so I've hardly been home :eek:

Anyhow, for those who've asked, yep, its the 16th, sorry you can make it Krissy and santa :(... Look's like we'll be having a santaless christmas party this year. Oh well, I did try!

I'm going to send everyone a PM with the place, time, and location, and if everyone whos a deffinate could please add thier name, and kids names to a list in this thread. I hope we still got some numbers, I've been missing in action for a bit, so I havent been on it much! I'll start sending some pm's shortly.

Leeny
10-12-2007, 19:47
Ok I've been looking at the map, and the location that was picked before, although it was near a playground, toilets, and drink fountain, it was a fair way to walk from the car park. So If its ok with everyone else, I've picked a new location, I'll put a link to the map in the PM so people can take a squizz. The main problem being that there is no playground close. There wasnt one last year and that didnt seem to be a problem :)

I guess it'll be down to majority, so if people just want to pm me with their preference. Either close to playground, or closer to parking. Let me know:biggrin:

spring
11-12-2007, 10:15
We will be there :)

Renee & Azalea-(2)

ETA- Can I bring my Mum & brother? (brother is 5)
ETA again lol- I think it would be nicer near the playground.

Leeny
11-12-2007, 13:53
Ofcourse you can... Just let me know your brothers name :)

So far, im afraid its just you and me though :eek:... A few have the wiggles concert and other stuff on, and so far, people just cant come!

spring
11-12-2007, 15:40
Maybe we could try for Saturday or Monday instead?

Leeny
11-12-2007, 18:08
Well, Im very flexible... If people would prefer saturday the 15th, please say so now, if anyone else is even checking the thread anymore :D

Theres the 22nd or 23rd aswell, but thats probably a bit too close to the big day for most people.

taliistheword
11-12-2007, 18:17
sorry ladies we can't make as we are moving on this day so sorry

spring
11-12-2007, 18:20
Im flexy too I can do any day up until the 19th then Im going away.

Leeny
15-12-2007, 19:10
Due to the lack of response, Im sad to say that the brisbane christmas meet for this year is cancelled. Thank you so much to the 4 or so ladies out of 25 that actually responded at all, wether they could come or not.

studyingECS
15-12-2007, 19:13
I am sorry I didnt reply When I opened it I was in a rush and forgot to get back to it so I am so sorry:o

I would have come just it was hard to get to that location

spring
17-12-2007, 19:59
Sorry it had to be cancelled Leeny, as it turned out I wouldn't have been able to make it either becasue my wisdom teeth have been playing up & I got an absess:dizzy:

The same thing happened last Easter too:rolleyes:
Maybe we can try for Easter next year:D

Leeny
17-12-2007, 20:19
Well im really glad I cancelled, there was one other person and if they didnt show, I would have turned up alone :D

Oh well, next year.