View Full Version : Hi Everyone

Carls79
07-11-2007, 15:05
Hi Everyone, :wave: my name is Carlie and I just joined last night. We have been in Darwin for almost a year now and will be here for at least another two. DH is in the Army and we have 3 kids, Emilie 10, Thomas 5 and Jack 2.

Looking forward to meeting everyone and having a chat, Carls

Bree3
07-11-2007, 21:53
Hi Carlie my name is Carly too hehe. My DH is in the Army too and we will be posted here for another year or two also. We have 2 daughters age 2 and 10 months. Nice to meet you and hope to talk to ya some more.

EandN
08-11-2007, 06:06
Hi Carli,

Nice to "meet" you. My name is caitlin. I don't live in Darwin anymore, i moved to Sydney 2 years ago. Before that i lived in in Darwin for 18 years. I still come and use this forum sometimes though. Carly (maddy&kayleesmum) is my good friend and i love her :kiss: .
I have 2 girls, Elora is 3 and Natalia is nearly 11 months.

My DH is in Darwin now instructing on a course, so lonely at home alone.

Which suberb do you live in?

Carls79
08-11-2007, 14:14
Hi Guys, thanks for making me feel welcome!

We are living at Coonawarra, which is good for the security but the houses are pretty ****. We tried to move out of this house cause we have had so many things go wrong with it, but DHA weren't too keen on that idea.

How long is your DH away in Darwin for? Not too long I hope. My DH has not long got home from bush for a month and this weekend goes away on course for another. It's never ending. Do you know many people in Sydney? My DH only joined the army 18 months ago and we came from Wollongong before that, I didn't think I would miss it, but I get so homesick and miss family.

Does anyone have any suggestion on which playgroups are good? When we moved up here I was planning on taking Jack (our 2 yr old, nearly 3) but have just never gotten around to it.

Bree3
08-11-2007, 15:19
We are on the RAAF base and same sort of housing here. Once your in one of these houses it's impossible to get out, most people just stick with it till their next posting. Talking to DHA is like to talking to a brick wall, well thats the way i feel.

I'm not sure about play groups as i haven't actually gone to any. I usually meet up with a few friends and their kids once a week. There is one near Casuarina that was alright it's on every tuesday and thursday mornings i think. Oh there is also the funbus which i always hear really good things about, when DD2 gets a bit bigger i plan to take both girls on it.

sweetbub
09-11-2007, 09:23
Hi Carlie, welcome to the darwin thread can be quiet in here at times. My Dh is in the army too, but we are not here for much longer he has a transfer in also his discharge.

How are you liking Darwin and the heat? We don't like it here that a reason why we are trying to get out. Hope you have better luck here.

Kirsty

Carls79
09-11-2007, 09:33
maddy&kayleesmum - do you have an ant problem over at the RAAF? we can't sit still for 2 mins without those little black ants getting on you and there are always green ants on the front gate latch, don't know what is so attractive to them about it, but they seem to always be there. A friend in here actually had ants coming out her powerpoints and shorting out their bathroom light and then they nested in their laptop. Their house has been sprayed several times but it hasn't made a difference.

I might check out the funbus, I saw a ad for it the other day and it looks pretty good. DS2 goes to earlycare in the city one day a week so I just wanted a couple of things to do with him each week to keep him amused. I have heard the playgroup at the RAAF is good too, have you heard anything about it?

sweetbub - thanks for the welcome! the darwin heat, what else can you say except it is soooo uncomfortable. It hits you as soon as you step out of the airport. We seemed to cope better with it last year, I think this year the novelty of living somewhere new has worn off and we have given in and had the air con on. Not looking forward to the power bill at all. We like darwin itself but don't think we could be here forever, the kids and I miss the family, DH doesn't cause he's off here and there all the time and isn't here on his own, but we don't have much say in it (or none at all) so trying to make the most of it. Goodluck with your move, where are you off too?

Bree3
09-11-2007, 13:13
Yes the ant's are terrible arn't they, we get them to spray our house every wet which is ment to work for about 4 months but within a month they are back again. Just be careful because last wet season the little buggers started biting the girls, DHA of course did nothing.
Darwin isn't too bad once you get past the heat, i know easier said then done but i've been here for nearly 20 years now and i don't ever want to leave but my parents are here which makes it easier.

I haven't heard about the RAAF base playgroup but i drive past almost everyday and it looks ok. Don't know why i haven't gone before i guess i'm abit shy about waltsing in there on my own.

AJ3
10-11-2007, 11:21
Hello Carlie and all! I am still just working this whole site out and I finally found a Darwin department!! I knew you were all in here somewhere... although I am feeling a little left out, my DH is a fire fighter so I can't really make anyone feel better about their housing.
We have been here for 2 years from Victoria and never want to leave. We are in Palmerston but want to go rural in a few years when kiddies are bit bigger

As for ants, it's a good idea to get some surface spray from super market and spray electrics and engine of your car as they can chew through almost anything and it gets expensive... we have more troubel with disgusting ticks on our doggies, which I wash them with tick rinse weekly which does control them but I still hate hate hate them.

I am at a total loss as to what I can do with my 20 month old though. He starts Monday in defence child care centre up the road just to give him something to do! He must be so bored with us at home but I just don't know of anything entertaining+safe+close to do with him, plus I don't know any one here with kids around his age.

Anyway, glad to know Darwin mummies are in here!:smiliedance:

sweetbub
11-11-2007, 10:55
Welcome AJ3. Hows everyone been this weekend? We have been looking at houses in brissy and DH is deciding what to do if his transfer doesn't go through and his dischagre does. What job's would your hubbies do if they left the army?

Wow a fire fighter your DH must be very fit for that.

What has everyone got planned for xmas?

Carls79
11-11-2007, 11:57
Welcome AJ3, I am still working this all out too!

I hadn't thought of the ants getting into the electrics of the car, what a disaster that would be. We spray our dog for ticks but there always seems to be a few on him, I pick them off with some old eyebrow tweezers. We panicked when we first got up here and saw the ticks on the dog, in NSW if ticks get on them they are paralysing ones and there would of been at least 50 on him.

Do firefighters get moved around at all or are you able to stay put if you like where you are?

When we first moved up here I planned on going to the playgroup at Coonawarra, but lazy me never actually did it and now I'm too shy to go down there by myself and say that I've been here a year already.

Brissy, you lucky thing sweetbub! That's the next posting we'd like to get. Has DH considered the police or customs? Both still government jobs which are secure.

Well DH flew out to Vic last night for a month. So now of course the kids are already into their 'dads away mood', thinking they can get away with anything. (and crawl into my bed at night)

DH put in his leave app last week so hopefully we will be going to family in NSW for xmas, can't wait. The only thing is getting the pressies from santa down for the kids without them getting suspicious.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend ladies.

Bree3
12-11-2007, 08:51

Hope everyone had a good weekend, ours could have been better. We were at the hospital for about 9 hours yesterday because DD2 has been really sick. They couldn't figure out what was wrong with her so they had to do some xrays and blood test. The blood test was the worst as they had to hold her down, it was so horrible watching my little girl like that. They were going to admit her but she had a bit of a turn for the better and finally started drinking and eating so they let us go home. I was so scared and upset because we spent a good 6 hours with DD2 screaming non stop in pain. She is now ok, still a bit sooky but at least she's keeping her food and water down.

Carls79 - I was the same with the playgroup on the RAAF, always was going to go down when DD1 was little but never did. Now it's 2 years later (in the RAAF house) and i have 2 DD's and am too shy to go down.

Sweetbub - Oh wow i hope it all works out in Brissy i would love to live there. Don't really know what DH would do if he left the Army, he doesn't really have any other qualifications outside of the Army. He hates the Army though and was looking at joining the police and then he was going to work in the minds. I don't know he changes his mind every week.

AJ3 - Wow a fire fighter what a great job, maybe my DH could be one :laughing: no he is so not fit enough to do that. I don't know what you could really do with your DS except to go to some playgroups or even the play shack which i'm pretty sure is in Palmerston. Sorry i couldn't really help but some of the other girls might have some better ideas.

Caitlin - I got a message from you on MSN about bingo??? not sure what it was about haha. How are the girls? and how have you been?

We are off to Melbourne for Xmas which is so exciting for us as we haven't seen our families for Xmas in a few years and most them will be meeting DD2 for the first time. I'm a bit worried about the plane ride though, think the girls are going to make it really hard for us.

AJ3
12-11-2007, 09:27
Well, on firefighters... you have to be fit to 'get in' to the fire service but once your in there you can let your self go. My DH is not over weight or unfit or anything but 'fit' is quite a funny term. He wanted to know what I was laughing at when I was reading you all say that he must be fit to be a fire fighter (I didn't tell him though, would break his little heart). In the NT they have the recruit process once a year, for anyone who wants to apply, no exp. at all needed.
DH was a fire fighter in Victoria but it is mostly contract work down there and not a permenant job, that's why he tried to get in up here. Now that he is in we can stay here forever, or move to Alice if we want.
FF's work 2 day shifts then 2 night shifts and then 4 days off, so he only works 2 days out of 8. So he is home alot. He looks after kids when I work so it works well for us.

As for taking kids on the plane... phenergan is fantastic. Get it at chemist without perscription, it helps with travel sickness, upset stomach, alergies and also is a sedative. They will sleep all the way... :sleeping:

Going to organise Xmas presents today...

DS2 in first day of c/care today, the place is like a ghost town. Bless his noisy, messy little heart.

I take Jack to play shack some thursday mornings, but not every week, it is so very LOUD and the coffee's not that good. Recently got an espresso machine at home, i love it, and DH just made me a cappucino (must want something).

Sorry to hear about sick kiddies. We all had some gastro/viral thing a few weeks ago and DS2 ended up in hospital. They said there is a terrible bug going around. Starts off with cold symptoms and ends in vomiting and runs, not pretty.

Anyway, you are all so friendly! That is what I meant to say at the start.

Carls79
12-11-2007, 11:46

Maddy&Kayleesmum, sorry to hear about sick DD as well. Did they give you any idea of what it might of been?

That virus thing went through our three kids too, DS2 just getting over it, by the time the 3 kids had it it lasted about two weeks. A neighbours daughter also had it and was told it is a virus mimicking meningitis. Might be a similar thing? Our kids would have a high temp and be sick, then would be fine and so on for days.

AJ3, enjoy your xmas shopping.

I would love my hubby to be home that much, before he joined the army he was a self employed plasterer/carpenter and worked around the family needs, it was great, but no guaranteed income every week which was hard.

When flying home we get the red eye around midnight so the kids will sleep and we take snacks incase they decide they aren't going to. We came back here on virgin last time and it was horrible. Qantas is more comfy and the service is better.

We've only been to playshak once, by the time we paid for the 3 kids, then they want drinks and something to eat it gets pretty expensive. Our kids love going to Leanyer water park, but we don't have really little ones, our youngest is 3 in December so it is slowly getting easier for us to go out and do things like that.

I can recommend getting a box, we got a new vaccum on Friday and DS2 hasn't stopped playing with the box since, it's been a rocket, car and boat so far, hehehe.

amandariley
12-11-2007, 20:50
Hi everyone, just posting a million gazzilion relplies to anything I can find to kill some time while bub sleeps!

Im moving up north in december, but i am afraid of the weather. Is it just common sense to stay inside during the day? I'm only going as far as Katherine (the RAAF base) but the weather is pertty much the same?

Looking forward to the move

amanda

EandN
13-11-2007, 11:09
amandariley. Sorry to break it too you, but its hotter in katherine, but it also gets cooler sometimes too.
Lots of the time people will stay inside during the day, and night, lol. But we used to tsill go out places all the time really, i guess you just get used to the idea that its going to be realy hot no matter where you go. (you never get used to the heat i dont think).
as long as your have air con while your home you will be ok.

Maddyandkayleesmum. You will be fine on the plane, You will have blake too, so easy. Maddy will be fine, as long as she has heaps to eat she will sit and everything will probably just entertain her.
The bingo thing is because Elora is obsessed with the "noooo bingo" guy and wants me to push it all the time. Now blake wants to be a cop, wow it really does change everyweek. What happened to coming to canberra? i'm waiting.

AJ3, the first day if day care is odd hey, i was so lost all day with my daughter elora (3) started 2 months ago. Natalia crawled around the house looking for her all day too. Poor thing. Im getting used to it a little bit now. But its only one day a week.

Bree3
13-11-2007, 12:34
Eloranatalia - The cop phase was ages ago and just an example he is still trying to get to Canberra. Just needs to finish his physio first before they let him do the BFA.

amandariley - Until the Dry comes back (around June) you will proberly stay inside because you are not use to the heat. I've been in Darwin for 20 years now and i still sometimes don't go out because it's too hot and like Caitlin said Katherine gets hotter then Darwin. You will be alright though, hopefully you will get lots of rain.

Carls79 - We are flying Qantas thankfully, i'm not a real big fan of the other airlines when i've got the girls. We are flying during the day so hopefully they will be right but last year i booked the midnight flights for that exact reason. I was 6-7 months pregnant and DD1 was only about 10 months old and had to sit on my lap so i prayed that she would fall asleep.
As mch as i don't want the girls to get older i kinda wish they would sometimes just so we would have more places to take them.

AJ3 - Thanks i might ask the chemist about it, do you know if it helps with their ears as well? Your DS sounds like he had what Kaylee just had because hers started off like a cold aswell. How did the first day at child care go yesterday?

I'm not doing much today i have DH at home sick again with food poisioning as it turns out. So it's like i have 3 kids at the moment.

AJ3
14-11-2007, 10:39
Hello everyone,

Sounds like there is lots of sick kids around at the moment...

For ears on aeroplanes there is drops you can get from the chemist especially for that or there is ear plugs for kids also from the chemist especially for kids going on planes. None of my boys have ever had trouble on the plane, although they have had lots of ear infections at home, but I had a burst ear drum from flying last year and it was so very painful and I couldn't hear for a month afterwards.

I understand totally about DH being like another child, somethimes I am sure I have 4 boys. People keep asking me now that I have 3 boys when I am going to try for a girl...

DS2 first day went well at day care. I always wanted my boys to not be the crying type when I left and not harass me when I got back from some where, so far it has worked. He couldn't have cared less when I left and was about the same when I picked him up, and had a wonderful time in between. Totally exhausted after wards and went to bed at 4pm! Only one day a week though so won't wear him out too much.

Sounds like I will have to go out and buy something big and expensive (for myself he-he)so that I can get myself a really big box for kids to play in.

Now that it is getting warmer we will take them swimming quite a bit at the McCaulay centre pool, nice and quiet and covered.

Xmas shopping didn't go too well because DH was with me and he seems to think he knows what our children want better than I do, so we disagreed on each others ideas. I will just have to go without him so I can do it properly.

DH is also a butcher, at the moment he is at a freinds house who has cows and DH is cutting one up for him. Disgusting. They wanted to do it on Sunday so that me and the kids could go, DH couldn't understand why I didn't want to go and why I didn't want the boys there.

Hope your all enjoyed yesterdays storm. How does you kids and pets go with the thunder? My dogs don't usually mind the thunder but yesterday they were plastered to the windows and one of them was so scard she even tried to go DH when he went to work. No black outs so far this wet, it's been great.

Anyway, hope you all and your fams are well...:wave:

Bree3
14-11-2007, 13:43
Loved the storm yesterday afternoon, we live in one of those elevated houses so we all went down stairs to watch the storm. We were under the house so nice and safe, the girls have a little slide and swing set up down there and had so much fun playing down there during the storm.

Since you brought it up AJ3 are you planning on having any more kids? What about everyone else, are your families complete yet? I might wait another year and see how things are then but at the moment i'm really quite happy with 2. I know DH would like to have a boy so maybe one more is on the cards.

Carls79
14-11-2007, 17:07

AJ3, thats great you had no problems with your son going to daycare. It's so much easier that way. Our 10 yr old daughter still sooks when I leave her, she has always been really clingy, it's horrible.

What is the Macauly centre pool, I haven't heard of it before?

My Dad does their own meat at a friends farm and it stinks so much afterwards, I don't blame you for not going. I've never watched it be done though. He did take me through the abbatoirs once and it was absolutely revolting.

The storm was great, cooled us down heaps. The kids and I got caught in it, I thought I had enough time to get to the bus stop and back for the kids but it started pouring on our way home, so we were all drenched. It was ok until I went into the boys room and realised they had thrown their wet shorts onto DS1's bed. Little terrors!

Our family is complete, DH went in to hospital for a change, and we put a permanent end to it after our third was born, IYKWIM. I had miscarried four times between our first and third so we didn't want to go through that again and we both felt our family was complete.

sara1
15-11-2007, 11:49
Hello to all the new people and to the old girls, I don't live in Darwin anymore but stil pop in for a hello.

Not long now to baby arrives, he is breech at the moment so :fingerscrossed: he turns.

Gran is still with us and hopefully will get to see rory but she can go at anytime.

Well i'll keep you all posted

sara

EandN
16-11-2007, 19:21
Hi Sara, long time no hear. Good to see you are going well, and bubba is coming soon. When are you due? You may have a december bubba like me.Thats really nice that your nan is still here. I hope she makes it to see her great grandson, that will be special.

sara1
18-11-2007, 13:10
yes i am due in dec but might need a c-section cause bubs is still breech, so may be nov waiting as long as we can.

how are your 2 girls going?

EandN
18-11-2007, 13:21
We both could still have december bubs. Natalia was dec 12. I hope your bub turns for you. Try squating all day. It seems to work if you can get down that far lol.
I'll really hope the bub turns and you dont need a csection. I loved both my births allot and would do it any day again. If you do have to have a csection just hold it off as long as you can or as close to your bubs due date as possiable. They still can turn.

My girls are good. Natalia is atempting to walk. I cant see if happening for another couple of weeks though, hope not as her dad is away and will be really upset if he misses it.
Kaylle (maddyandkayleesmum) is already walking and her bday isnt till jan, she is so clever. maddy walked at 10 months, but kaylee was only 9 mnths (correct me if im wrong carly).
Elora is same as always, a devil child one min and then suddenly an angel. She is missing her dad heaps again though. only on more week till he is home. I can't wait too. he has only been gone for over 2 weeks but it feels like forver.

have you finished work yet?

Bree3
18-11-2007, 14:26
Hi Sara, nice to hear from you again. Sorry to hear about your Gran i hope she gets to see bubs.

Wow not long to go at all, you must be getting excitied now. It is really common for first babies to come late so you still have a bit of time for bubs to turn. I heard the squating thing works too.

Yeah Kaylee was about nine months when she started to take her first steps, she's know about 10.5 months and walking heaps. I thought i would hate it because i'd have the two of them to run after but it has so far been really good. She has been alot happier and doens't want me to pick her up as much. Maddy was about 10 months when she started walking and that was when we were in Sydney visiting you Caitlin.

Maddy is abit of a late talker though still not saying as much as other kids her age. I still think back to when i saw Elora in Sydney and she would have been around Maddy's age now proberely abit younger and talking in full sentences. I always think of her as being much older but she is older about a year, so clever she is.

EandN
18-11-2007, 16:12
She always was a really early talker. She was the only one i knew at 1 year old saying so many words. She didnt walk till 11.5months unlike maddy. Natalia does not say heaps yet though compared to Elora at the same age.
Can you believe its only 3 and a bit weeks till Natalias 1st bday and then 6 weeks till kaylees :eek: . Where did it go? i must have been sleeping or something because i cant remember this year.
Maddy will catch up with talking, all kids reach about the same leval by 5 years. So school age.
It can make life easier with the talking but it can be hard and embarrising too. Elora would always say innopropriate things at innoporpritae time lol. I have had a few red faces. And once they start talking, they never ever stop, no such thing as peace then :hair: when they work out they can sing ba ba black sheep from front to back lol. 30 times a day!

What has everyone been up to this weekend, we have had a quiet one with mum staying and helping me with the girls and entertain me. It has been hot so i filled the little pool up and elora has been in and out of that 20 times a day. natalia sits in her swing eating mango after mango, i have some cute pics i might post later on.

missb
18-11-2007, 17:52
ive just moved to Darwin,(well 6 months ago) and just wanted to pop in and say hi. Dh works for AFMA and has been away for 2 months with 1 to go? I HOPE:fingerscrossed:

EandN
19-11-2007, 20:44
Hey missb, welcome to the darwin thread, im not even from darwiin anymore but still hang out here sometimes lol.

Hope your hubby comes home to you fast. Only 4 more days till mine is home! yay

Hey maddyandkaylees mum i have an old pic of you and romi! when me and your first met Valentine

lol wanna see?

Bree3
20-11-2007, 08:33
Really haha, yeah i wanna see it. That was so long ago. Maddy is only 2 years old but my life before her seems like a life time ago.

Hi Missb welcome to the group. How are you liking it up here? I hope his last month doesn't drag on for you. My DH hasn't been away at all this whole year but thats because he's abit broken. Last year he was away heaps, i hated it.

missb
20-11-2007, 09:01
thanx for the welcome guys, I love Darwin (surprisingly), There is so much to do and when the family come to visit I can shaft them off to do heaps of touristy stuff AND seeing as it is expensive to fly here,that wont be too often :thumbsup:

EandN
20-11-2007, 14:55
I love Darwin, Probably more so now i have left and have been living in Sydney. I don't like it here and after 2 years i'm still homesick as ever.
It makes me more home sick now my husband is there with out me :( only 3 more sleep! yay

What sort of places does your hubby go to when he goes away. I am really lucky that DH had hardly ever been away since we have been together, before we were together he was only back for a couple of months of the year.
He has only been away a few times and just either on courses or running them so i get to talk to him lots still.

So how old are your kids? names etc?

I have Elora who is 3 and Natalia who is 11 months.

missb
20-11-2007, 16:36
well atm dh is cruisin around the southern ocean,antarctica is lovely this time of year, lol.
we've been here for 6 months but hes been away for more than 1/2:thumbsdown:
i have 4 yr old twin boys and a 6mnth daughter.
When he does come back.... HOLIDAY... and pressies, i hope?

AJ3
21-11-2007, 10:05
Hello all!

Hope everyone is well... we all have colds at the moment, all I seem to be doing is wiping runny noses, yuk.

The Macaulay Pool is at the Police and Fire head office and place where recruits stay sort of place.

missb... I hate to sound stupid but what is AFMA?

It must be horrible having all your DH's away like that all the time. Although, sometimes I quietly wish mine would go to Antarctica for a few weeks. Although not today as he just finished the ironing and just got the baby up.

Christmas is coming too quickly, I still haven't gone and done that Christmas shopping. I do love this time of year though.

Anyway, a quick hello. Hope your all well and happy and your DH's come home soon.

missb
21-11-2007, 17:34
AJ3 AFMA is australian fisheries management authorities, so just protecting aussie waters from illegal fishing... Hope the colds finish soon!
I cant wait anymore the tree is going up tomorrow!!:xmas:
:tree:

Bree3
21-11-2007, 19:18
Hello everyone, How have we all been? I'm all on my own tonight :( Hubby is in Hospital tonight with some sort of throat infection. Hopefully he will be able to come home tomorrow.

We arn't putting our christmas tree up this year, we are off to Melbourne for Chrissy so i just don't see the point. Besides DD2 will have so much fun trying to pull it down haha. I love doing the tree though it's so much fun, i'm gonna go all out next year.

sara1
22-11-2007, 10:32
yes i am trying to hold off as long as we can.

Sorry this thread has picked up a bit and i haven't read it all. welcome to the new ppl in Darwin I was there till earlier this year now back in tassie.

sweetbub
24-11-2007, 14:43
hello everyone and welcome to the new ppl. cool about going to melbourne for christmas your family will be excited about that. we will be in Brissy for christmas which should be fun.

We are leaving darwin for good on the 10th Dec so not long to go.

How is everyones bub coping with the heat?

carly sorry to hear ur hubby was in hospital so he is feeling better and the girls are being good for him.

I'm feeling a bit:barf:today don't know why must be something iv'e eaten mixed with how hot it is today.

missb
24-11-2007, 20:24
hello everyone and welcome to the new ppl. cool about going to melbourne for christmas your family will be excited about that. we will be in Brissy for christmas which should be fun.

We are leaving darwin for good on the 10th Dec so not long to go.

How is everyones bub coping with the heat?

carly sorry to hear ur hubby was in hospital so he is feeling better and the girls are being good for him.

I'm feeling a bit:barf:today don't know why must be something iv'e eaten mixed with how hot it is today.
I grew up in Brisbane.... i'm missing all my friends heaps... if ur ever going to the Paddo for a drink... cause a ruckous 4 me pls!! :devil6:
Hope ur feeling better...I hope EVERYONE is better for whatever reason.

ps. I love ur sons name sweetbub!!

Kaileesmum
25-11-2007, 12:45
:wave: It's been months since I have been on here, were do I start. well got married back in August and it was such a wonderful day.

The reason I am back on here is because we are TTC again, and going to chat in that thread. We are still currently in Darwin well sort of we are between here and Vic but will be moving there in Jan.

Kailee is nearly one and boy has the time flown.

I'll pop back in from time to t ime to say hello to you old folk that know me. Not many off you around just carly and caitlin??? What happened to the rest have they moved away?

Bree3
25-11-2007, 15:12
Hi Lee,

Glad to here your wedding went well, i wonderend what happened to you. Thats exciting that your TTC again, i would love to TTC number 3 but am going to wait another year i think.

My Kaylee is nearly one too, she's walking now so it's keeping me busy running after her and Maddy. This year has just gone by so fast with the babies being born then all the weddings we had in here.

Anyways good to hear from ya and keep comming in and tell us when you get your :bfp:.

sara1
27-11-2007, 12:42
Well it looks as though i will have to have a c-section. bub's is due in 2 weeks and he has not turned so booked in for friday so may not be a dec bub caitlin depends if they have emergencies come in. looking forward to it.

EandN
27-11-2007, 12:50
Oh damn little boy! He is showing that he is trouble from the begining. Lol
I do hope he magicly turns for you during the night before your csection. have you ever thought about atempting a natural birth even breach?
Either way as long as he comes healthy and you do too. Shame about the recovery period after a csection.

I'll keep my fingers crossed for you, for a dec bub so heis on time not early and a natural birth so he turns for you
Let us know how it all goes! cant wait to see pics

sara1
27-11-2007, 12:53
thanks caitlin

Bree3
27-11-2007, 14:39
Hi Sara,

It will all be fine, as soon as you see your beautiful baby boy it won't matter how he came into this world. You will just be so smitten with him that everything will have been worth it.

You might have a really good recovery anyways, i had VB with both my girls but with Maddy i was in so much pain for about 8 weeks after her birth. I couldn't sit, stand or even walk properly. I know a couple of people who have had C-Sections and they recoverd quite quickly from it.

Goodluck with everything Sara and let us know how it all goes.

EandN
27-11-2007, 15:39
OK Don't scare her off Carly! lol

sara1
27-11-2007, 16:19
I don't mind how he comes out either. Better go get hubby to put the car seat in I have been telling him for ages now to do it. Weather has been great here so bubby won't freeze in the tassie cold.

Bree3
27-11-2007, 16:28
You know i thought the same thing about your post Caitlin lol.

Sorry Sara if i scared you it wasn't my intention. Didn't think i came across that way but obviously i did.

I was just trying to make you not stress too much about having a CS. My VB recovery time with DD1 was my own fault and doesn't normally happen to everyone.

EandN
27-11-2007, 17:13
a csection is scarier than a VB for sure. But any hows. either way it will hurt, just differently! lol I love the pain of child birth though! thats because im crazy too.
I bet carly is thinking :iagree:

How was your recovery your falt carly? you shoudnt blame yourself for it

Sara i would hate the cold there. I see on the weather sometimes how cold it is brrr :rain: (there is no little smiley going brrr im cold so i used this one lol)

Its so hot here in sydney for half the year and then its frezzing cold, i cant win!

sara1
01-12-2007, 16:04
it's sara's husband Dean she asked me to let you know that our baby boy Rory Edward arrived yesterday at 11.51am he was 3.23kg and 51cm long. mother and baby are doing well. sara will post some pic when she is back home and settled in.

dean

Bree3
01-12-2007, 18:30
:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:

Congratulations to you both, Thanks for letting us know that everything went ok. Hope to see some pics of your beautiful baby boy soon.

Take care and congratulations again.

EandN
02-12-2007, 16:54
it's sara's husband Dean she asked me to let you know that our baby boy Rory Edward arrived yesterday at 11.51am he was 3.23kg and 51cm long. mother and baby are doing well. sara will post some pic when she is back home and settled in.

dean

Congratulations Dean and Sara.
How exciting for you.
Rory Edward, nicename guys.
Can't wait to see photos of you all.

:cloud9:

sara1
11-12-2007, 10:46
thanks for your messages. We are back home having a bit of trouble breastfeeding but sticking too it for now.
Pic of roy in my avatar but not keen on putting pic's on here so won't keep it there for long.

He is sleeping well at night wakes every 3-4 hours, bit unsettled around late arvo but i think that's normal with all babies.

hope everyone is well.

sara

Bree3
11-12-2007, 10:52
Hey Sara,

He is beautiful, glad to hear everything is going well. My girls were abit more upset late afternoons too, still are sometimes lol.

Congratualtions again.

EandN
11-12-2007, 13:07
Congrats, glad your home and all well.

Try and keep up with the breastfeeding, it will be worth it in the end. If yourstill stuck give a midwife a call for a visit or call the australian breast feeding asscoiation.

I missed the photo of Rory. I will have to see next time. Do you have my email address? I can't remember.

How is Dean going with being a new dad?
Helping out heaps i bet as they always do with new bubs.

Did your nan make it to see him?

sweetbub
16-12-2007, 15:40
Congrats Sara and Dean on little Rory.

Was just wondering what size clothes everyones 18 month old was in or is in? jaxon weighs 12kg and is 83cm he is starting to go into size 2 is this normal?

Hope everyone has a great christmas.

Oh and one more thing about cleaning mum has been staying with us and say's i don't clean enough. I sweep 2 times a week and vac once a week. dishes are done once a day. wash sheets once a week, dust every 2 weeks. i think this is enough she thinks otherwise. I wash the towels every 3 days.

littleboyblue
19-12-2007, 13:47
MERRY XMAS EVERYONE:noel:

Just poping in to wish you all a safe xmas I don't get on her anymore but thought I was pass through to say a christmas cheer.

Congrats to Sara and Dean hope all is going well and the breastfeeding is looking up.

Sweetbub Kaleb is 18 months and weighs 10.7kg and I think he is about 80cm will check when he gets his injection on friday. So clothes wise he is still in size 0 for pants and tops are 0 with some size 1.

As for cleaning I have a swivel sweeper which is excellent that I use 3 times a day ( k is a messy boy) the dishes get done twice a day. Vac once a week, mop once a week, dust one a week. Wash sheets once a week unless it been really hot. Towel change every 3 days.
Cleaning is different for everyone my 2 boys are very messy I say 2 meaning my husband as well, and boys will be boys and get so dirty.

Once again merry christmas and a happy new year.

sweetbub
22-12-2007, 06:59
Thanks for your response littleboyblue. Kaleb is little compared to jaxon

merry christmas everyone

Kaileesmum
23-12-2007, 17:08
Merry xmas Darwin:tree:

MissDior84
24-12-2007, 21:19
Hey Carlie and everyone else ofcourse!
I'm Silvia, my partner is Navy we have been living in Darwin for year and a half now, from Perth originally, we are expecting our first baby on July 5th 08' , so i am 3 months pregnant!

I live on the RAAF base, (im not liking it since we moved from the Carey st towers in the city (the street dha is in the city), to here and its alot different. Im having trouble with ants, termites and SPIDERS!!! I am really bad with bugs, i have a phobia of spiders so i made a complaint today with dha and they came and had a look and basically told us to 'keep spraying'. I am so angry. arghhh.
I guess we will have to stick it out, as we have our new posting to Perth in 7 weeks! Cant bloody wait to be back with the family!
Anyways it will be great chatting with you guys, and if anyone has a meet up be sure to let me know! My msn is princess_silv@hotmail.com to anyone that wishes to chat!!
Silv xxxx

Bree3
27-12-2007, 18:32
Hello Everyone,

I hope you all had a fantastic christmas, ours has been great here in Melbourne. It's been so good seeing our families i don't want to leave. The girls have had so much fun here, we have taken them everywhere and we even got a video camera so we could tape our holidays.

Hi MissDior84 :wave:
My name is Carly and we live at the RAAF base too. I hate it there as well the houses are horrible. At the moment we only have a problem with ants, they are really bad especially at this time of year.
I'm going to have to leave it there as i'm needed for something but i'll be back when we come back to Darwin.

Take care and talk to yas soon.