View Full Version : How are the Townsville mums?
How are the Towsville mum's going?
Mummyof2; how did your move to Townsville go? Have you met some other mums yet?
Melissa1983
27-02-2006, 22:29
Hey PMS
The move was good, but when i got my house and gear it was horrible, i had gear go missing and things damaged.
I haven't met any other mums yet, as i am still unpacking, and have been sick and so has the girls... :crying:
If you organise a meet sometime please let me know, and i will try and make it!
Hey Mummyof2; sounds like our move from NSW. Who was your removalist?
We used Nuss removals; shocking!:thumbsdown:
Hope you're all settled in now. Sorry to hear the girls and yourself have been sick.
You and I are really the only Townsville mums on Bubhub.
If you would like to meet for coffee sometime let me know.
Cheers, PMS
Melissa1983
28-02-2006, 14:12
Hi PMS
Coffee sounds great just let usknow when you are available... I had wridgeway do the move and never again i would use or recommend them!
I thought their were more Townsville Mums on here...
Hi. No; it is just us. All the other mummies are gone; though I am still in touch with one. I normally have the car on Tuesday, Wednesday and thursday.
Thursday we go to playgroup and most wednesdays we try to go to story time at the Aitkenvale Library. Monday and Friday we are stuck at home. It depends on where you want to have coffee. Did you end up getting a house in The Willows?
I am at Annandale; about ten minutes away if you take the ring road.:ecomcity:
Anyway; we are fairly flexible.
Cheers, PMS
Melissa1983
28-02-2006, 20:50
I ended up getting a house in Deeragun. Just around the corner from my parents which is good.
I will most likely work every day through the week (find out about a job this week and start next week), so are you available on the weekends?
Maggie&Lewis
28-02-2006, 22:54
hi, i'm in townsville and have just moved too... only across town though but had similar experience with removalists. just thought i'd say hi to some other townsville mums.. i have a 10 month old boy and am looking for a playgroup to take him to if you have any suggestions...
Hi Maggie, where abouts across town are you? If you go to the playgroup australia website/or qld ; you can find the local playgroups there. Hope you can find one that is not full!
Mummyof2- sure we could do coffee/brunch on Saturday or Sunday.
Melissa1983
01-03-2006, 08:53
Hi Maggie. Welcome to Bubhub. Where abouts in Townsville are you?
PMS: Will let you know when i can make it! Wanna finish getting the house unpack and organised. So maybe in 2 weeks?
Maggie&Lewis
01-03-2006, 10:54
i'm in aitkenvale.. thanks for the tips on finding a playgroup. my husband is away a lot so its just lewis and i for a good portion of the time.
Mummyof2- Sure; two weeks is fine. We can work out a time and place within the next two weeks.
Maggie- Have you tried story time at the Aitkenvale library? My nine month old loves it! You are welcome to have coffee with us anytime as well!
Maggie&Lewis
01-03-2006, 21:22
hey thanks for the invite.. coffee sounds good.. i've just gone back to work for a few days a week but mostly available.. would like to meet some other mums and lewie loves playing with other kids
Melissa1983
01-03-2006, 21:56
Hey PMS and Maggie&lewis
Maybe we can go to McDonalds, so the children can play?
Have you been to Maze Mania? Lily loves playing there; you have to pay to play but it is usually pretty good. It is across the road from Castletown Shopping centre.
Hey Maggie, is your hubby in the army? Did you used to go to the DCO group at Annandale?
Melissa1983
02-03-2006, 20:41
Hi PMS
Yeah thats good there, Mikayla loves it. Last time i was there Abby wouldn't leave my side.
But that sounds like a plan...
Maggie&Lewis
02-03-2006, 21:38
yeah my husbands in the army.. never been to dco group though
Mummyoftwo- Great! Will that be the 11th or 18th of March?
Maggie- Sorry; thought your names sounded familiar but obviously not!
Will you be joining us at Maze Mania?
Melissa1983
03-03-2006, 19:00
Mummyoftwo- Great! Will that be the 11th or 18th of March?
Maggie- Sorry; thought your names sounded familiar but obviously not!
Will you be joining us at Maze Mania?
is the 18th okay?
You will have to remind me though :o
Maggie&Lewis
03-03-2006, 21:55
would like to come however have to work on saturdays. Im at work until 2.30 so depending on what time your going then sure we'd like to come.
Melissa1983
04-03-2006, 19:45
i'm sure we can make it after 2:30 so you can come!
Mummyof2- The 18th sounds great!
Maggie- We can definately make it an afternoon thing so you can come too.
Hi I live in Townsville, been here the majority of my life. Thought I would come in and say hi! So Hi!
charlach
13-03-2006, 14:26
I live in New South Wales, but my MIL lives in Charters Towers, I love Townsville and you imagine living there, we even support the Cowboys. Love to talk to some north queenslanders.
littlepickle
13-03-2006, 14:30
I am from Townsville, although we are living in Brissy at the moment. bub number 1 is due in August, and we are thinking of moving back home after she is born. Anyone have any idea on removalist costs from Brissy to Townsville?
Hello. Townsville mummies popping up everywhere!
Littlepickle cant help you with removal costs as the Defence force pays for all removal exspences for us.
Love to chat to you all some time. :smiliedance:
~Chick79~
15-03-2006, 09:51
I am from Townsville, although we are living in Brissy at the moment. bub number 1 is due in August, and we are thinking of moving back home after she is born. Anyone have any idea on removalist costs from Brissy to Townsville?
It has been so long since we actually had to pay for any of our removals (Defence paid for most of our moves) but I remember when we moved from Brisbane back to Townsville (back in 1997 I might add and before DH joined the RAAF!) we actually got a backload.... Maybe when you are ringing for quotes ask if there are any backloads going back up that way....
I miss Townsville... all my family is there (my mum & dad, my sister - Mummyof2).... Still Mackay ain't that far away...right!!!!
Melissa1983
19-03-2006, 13:46
omg... more townsville Mums... Yippee....
PMS: Still right for Maze Mania on Saturday? If so what time? I have the girls booked into swimming lessons at 11:30... so i am available after 2.. If you other mums would like to come please feel free to add what times you would like to come and if Saturday suits you!
StusChick... your nieces miss you too... oh yeah so do i! :kiss:
Hi, I came in here gatecrashing a few days ago and I didn't really do a great intro so I thought I would come back and do it properly ;)
Name: Leighanne
DH: Troy
His Age: 25
Child/ren: A 3yo son & twins due in July
Suburb: Kelso
Bio: Ok my & DH started our lives together (6 yrs ago in 6 days) in T'ville, then moved down to Blackwater, then to Emerald, then found ourselves back home in May last year. :smiliedance: We live with my parents who were kind enough to allow us to live here to help get us back on our feet - which we're really grateful for. Oh and I am the eldest of 7 (I have 4 brothers and 2 sisters)! I think that's it if not maybe a little TMI? :o
Ta for now
Melissa1983
02-04-2006, 16:32
Hi Lollie
Welcome back!
PMS and i are trying to organise a get together at Maze Mania sometime if you are interested!
Hello Mummyof2! Sorry I havent checked this thread in a while. We will get together if we can organise a date and time to suit us both! And anyone else who would like to come along of course :D So let me know when is a good day and time for you.
Melissa1983
11-04-2006, 19:26
Hey PMS
Well i am only available on the weekends now, but that depends on work if i have to work a saturday... Hmmm, maybe sometime after easter?
That would have been good Mel but I am going to Brisbane for three weeks after easter. Will be back near the end of May. If you are still interested in getting together would love to do it when we get back.:)
Melissa1983
12-04-2006, 07:49
Yeah that would be great. So you just let me know when you are free.
Sorry I haven't checked in here, I sort of keep forgetting that this is here - damn preggo brain :shame: . My email address is lollieangell@bigblue.net.au in case you guys plan on meeting up later on in the month or if you want to get to know me on a more private note. :D
Hey lollie; will definately let you know about any townsville meetup!:smiliedance:
:thumbsup: awesome thanks Peta. Hope everyone had a great easter :)
Pasty legs
03-06-2006, 08:32
Hope you don't mind me joining in. My name is Sara and I am from England soon to be living in Townsville. I have two little girls aged 2 and 3 and have decided to emigrate! Never been to Townsville before. We haven't yet decided where to settle in Townsville but will be there early August. Just starting to realise that I will be totally on my own when hubby goes to work. Any good playgroups or coffee meetings. I really want to get Eve and Maddie settled in quickly. Probably hard to have a conversation with the time difference but will be checking over the weekend! Hope to chat soon x:fingerscrossed:
Well hello evryone! Have been very busy since we got back from our holiday. I hope everyone is well.
Hi Pasty Legs! Townsville is a great place to live. It will probably take you a while to get used to the humidity so make sure you get a fully airconditioned house!
Do you know what area of Townsville you will be moving to yet? If you go to
www.playgroupaustralia.com.au you will be able to search for playgroups in the various suburbs of Townsville. If you have any other questions please feel free to PM me.:D
Pasty legs
20-06-2006, 02:08
Thanks for your reply, thought I was being ignored!!! Then started to panic!
I have heard that the humidity can be pretty hard to take but hey ho, we will give it a good go!!!
Not sure where we will be living yet, DH's job is putting us up in Marina North for a month until we find somewhere to rent. Any suggestions? We thought Annadale looked quite nice.... We arrive from Brisbane on a Friday and DH starts work on the Monday so will be on my own almost immediately. Got to go - starting to hyperventilate thinking about it!!!:D
hi Pasty Legs. Im from the UK as well and my hubby wants to tranfer to Oz Navy and thinks that Townsville could be where he would be posted. Would love to know how you get on when you move. Is it a permanent move?
Pasty legs
20-06-2006, 06:31
Hi Ukmummy
We are going on a four year visa, but if we like it we will apply for PR (that's if they will have us!). To be honest it was quicker doing it this way. Never been to Australia before but have always talked about visiting, so we thought the children are young enough to adapt, parents will come to visit regularly and what the hell!!!!! Life's too short to be worrying about what you could have done.
Talk him into Townsville then, we can meet for coffee!!!
What part of UK are you from by the way?
Hello again Pastylegs!!! Annandale is a great area; I'm not just saying that because I live in Annandale:D . It really depends on the amount of rent you want to pay! If I can help you out at all let me know; I'm very happy to.
Hi UKMummy; my hubby is in the Airforce here. If you do end up coming to live in Townsville then make sure you contact DCO once you get here and get as much support off them as you can.:)
I spent 4 months in Oz ten years ago and thought then it would be a great place to live. We even got married in Cairns, loved it. I would just miss family and friends really. Im a Dorset girl, Hubby is from Hull, he has no roots and would have transferred years ago if it wasnt for me. Starting to feel its time for an adventure though, have not been to Townsville, mainly NSW. Both were great places.
Hi PMS
Thanks for the advice. Whats it like being a forces wife in Oz?
Hi UkMummy. Well I think I have the easy life for a military mum. My hubby has never had to go to any of the war zones, he rarely goes away at the moment. He actually works in Defence Recruiting at the moment so the furtherest he will travel to is Mt Isa I think. Maybe have a read of the threads in Army/defence wives. It depends on where you go as to the amount of support you get from DCO; all the offices are different. The same goes with other military mums; some are very welcoming and some groups are very tight knit and cliquey. Most of my friends are mums from playgroup or mums I have met through various parenting forums. I dont think you will have a problem adjusting in Townsville. It is a very friendly place to live and you will also have a fellow uk mummy to chat to in Pastylegs.
Well good luck with your move if hubby does decided to in a career change!!! Chat soon, Peta:yes:
Pasty legs
23-06-2006, 02:05
Totally agree UK mummy - could do with a friend! Just look for the person wondering around aimlessly!!!
zephsmum
20-07-2006, 11:15
Hi Townsville Mums and Townsville Mums-to-be
Thought I'd drop in and say "Hello". My name is Tanya and I have twin 10yr old (nearly 11) DDs and a 7 1/2mth old DD and we live out at Woodstock. It will be nice to chat to you all, though I can see that the thread hasn't been visited in a while, hopefully that will change:)
Hi zephsmum!:wave: Ummm; where abouts is Woodstock?:o I have been in Townsville for nearly two years and still do not know all the surrounding suburbs.
~rambox~
24-07-2006, 06:36
Hi girls, My name is Rebecca and I am also from townsville. I originally come from Sydney, I moved here when I was 15 and love it. Now married with 4 boys.
I live in Kelso where do you guys live?
I am also a Tupperware Demonstrator if anyone is interested, but that is also the last time you will here me mention it as I will not be one of the pushy ones everybody hates. Got to go Saxon is getting close to wanting his bottle.
Bec :wave:
Hi there - I'm still around too.........I had to change my login cause I forgot the password to my old one and changed email address....OPPS:banghead: I know PMS and we live near to each other - so if anyone wants to meet up - I'm keen!
Pasty Legs - how exciting for you - make sure you let us know where you settle once you are here and we can all get together and hopefully welcome you to your new home. This is a great time of year to arrive in Townsville - gives a lovely false sense of security with the weather...LOL :devil6: We arrived this time last year.
Hope everyone else is well? Been out to the new Riverway at Thuringowa yet? Unfortunately the childrens playground isn't finished -so bit of a letdown for us - but should be great when finished........all that water though in the pools?? Seems pretty dangerous -there were tons of kids in it yesterday even though it was cool and I wondered how on earth the lifeguards could possibly safely keep an eye on things when it's midsummer and chocca's with kids??? Seems a bit "out there" to me...........but maybe I'm just a paranoid parent :o ??
Tannie
Hello Tannie! Nice to see you back.:D Yes; I think we are due for a Townsville meet up; have been slack lately!
I haven't been to the Riverway yet but have heard heaps about it. I hope those pools are fenced. Don't worry Tannie I am a paranoid Mum too!:eek:
Hi Relvy; I have seen you some where else but cant think where! Anyway; welcome to bubhub.:wave:
~rambox~
25-07-2006, 06:19
PMS - you could have seen me on either hienz or huggies site. Thank you for the welcome.:smiliedance:
Hi again Relvy; it was the huggies site. I went to "check" some one out as they sent me an email out of the blue; I had totally forgotten that I'd posted my email addy for a meet ages ago..........
Anyway; I will have a chat with Tannie and we'll see if we can organise coffee or a play in the park. I will keep ypu updated!:)
Nah - the pools out there are all completely open - no fencing at all and the lifeguards look to be a long way from parts of the pools........looked pretty dangerous to me actually and I wondered how they got away with doing it like that :confused: There also doesn't look to be much in the way of "warning" signs or the like, so we sort of thought "gees - this is a disaster waiting to happen :eek: "
Still - it all LOOKS bloody fantastic - groovy and modern;) But I can't believe there haven't been more complaints about it.........just have to wait for the first accident to occur and all hell will break loose I guess!
I'm actually a bit keen to meet up this weekend? I'll be "home alone" and dont' have much on.......so planning something on Sat or Sun arvo would be good.......where do people like to go? Strand play area is always good cause it's enclosed, but there are lots of other good places too if everyone is "over" going there. I lack a bit of knowledge in the local parks dept as my older girl is only just getting into going to play areas and parks now and with the little one, it's still hard for me to go alone to places in case older one runs off and younger one starts crying and needs me.....kwim? Oh - another good park is that one near Nathan Bridge on northern side.....near the dog offleash area............??
What do others think?
Bye,
T
:wave: Hello!
My name is Miriam, I'm from Townsville and I've been looking for the past ten months for other mums to chat to and playgroups to go to! I'm really excited to find bub hub! I'm 22 years old and I have a little boy called Callum whose ten months and has just started really enjoying spending time with other kids. I was wondering if anyone has a playgroup happening - i've just heard about a defence playgroup (my hubbies in the army), so I'll have to check that out aswell!
Bye!
~rambox~
25-07-2006, 11:56
Hi Miriam,
My name is Rebecca and i am also new to this site. I go to playgroup every Friday at 9.30am We have our own area at the Willows Skate rink. If you would like to come along you are more then welcome to. I have four boys and my youngest is four months.
Cheers Bec
P.S. - Peta it would be great to meet for coffee one day!!!
Hi Miriam; welcome to bubhub :wave: My huuby is in the Airforce; but I haven't attended the defence playgroup so I cant reccomend it! Unfortunately I think our local playgroup in Annandale is full but you could always still ring and find out. PM me if you would like the contact number.
Hey T! This weekend would be great to meet up; either day as we never have much planned. Do you mean the park off Leopold Street? Will chat to you at playgroup if you're still going.
Relvy and Miriam; are you up for a meet at the park? Yetti or I can give you the info once we have sorted a good place.
Chat to every one soon!
Hi Relvy,
The skating rink sounds good... I don't usually function before 10 o'clock but I'll make a special effort! Where do you meet in the park? I'm not familiar with it at all
PMS - I won't be able to make it to a park meeting this weekend as I'm going to the races on the Saturday and have relatives coming to stay on Sunday. But I should be able to come next time you go!
I've booked my ten month old into Kids in Harmony... has anyone else been there before?
zephsmum
28-07-2006, 09:13
Hi PMS,
sorry about the slow reply but came down with the dreaded flu. Woodstock is about 40km out of town toward Charters Towers. We have about 35 acres and a very old Qlder we are hoping to renovate:eek:
Hello to all the other Mums too,
once the weather warms up I am hoping to take Zeph to swimming, has anyone got any suggestions as to where to go and what sorts of things you do with bubs under 12mths?
Hope everyone is doing well:) :wave:
Tanya
Hi zephsmum. Hope you are feeling better. You know; all the times we have travelled from here to Mackay I have never noticed a sign for Woodstock!
Enjoy your swimming lessons. Do you have a local PCYC? If you do contact them and see if they run kinder gym. I took DD and DS when we were in Mackay and they loved it! Also picnics at the park are good...
HI - still here - just incredibly busy atm with bubs that have decided that sleeping is one of life's "optional extras":devil6:
meeting up......with bubs my age, I dont think a skating rink would be very good for me! Funny place to have a playgroup?? Do tell more! Curious.
Probably not good for me to commit to a meet up until I get my sleeping issues sorted out as I am a Zombie half the time atm and kinda unmotivated due to sleep deprivation...........:gloomy:
Usually I'm pretty "social" though and happy to go out and about and meet up. I would prefer to meet at the park off Leopold St, Aitkenvale.....have been there a few times and it's really nice + can take the kids down to the water to feed turtles etc! Kinda fun.
T
~rambox~
28-07-2006, 10:40
We are actually in a little court yard that is conected to the skate rink. It is all completely fenced with Sand pit and grass area for the kids. However if you have a child over 3 that would like to go for a skate they can.
Hope that helps
Bec:wave:
zephsmum
29-07-2006, 07:18
Good Morning Ladies
What a foggy morning! Not sure if its like this in town but its really thick out here. I can't even see to the front fence.
Hi PMS, LOL, I think you'd be lucky to find a sign indicating Woodstock coz its really just a dot, or more like a name given to an area with a few properties scattered over it. Its actually on the Flinders highway so you would miss it if you were heading to Mackay. Have you ever been for a drive out to Charters Towers? If not, its not bad for a bit of a Sunday drive especially if you like a bit of history and old Qlder houses. You would go past Woodstock then, but be sure not to blink or you'll miss it:D As far as the swimming goes, unless it rains and the creek is running;) we have to go to town I'm afraid. I once saw babies (and their Mums:p ) doing a class of some sort at Trobruk pool on the Strand. It looked like fun so I might check that out and the PCYC as you said might be worth a look at too. Hope you have a great weekend.
Hi Yeti, I couldn't help but notice the words "sleep" and "deprivation" in the same sentence and I can completely sympathise. Zeph is a shocking sleeper made worse by me taking her into my bed to feed, so now I have a not-so-small-anymore-almost 8mth old permanently attatched to my boob ALL night (just wonderful for the back:rolleyes: ). I have finally admitted defeat and have booked in for a day stay at IMPs in a couple of weeks-although they have told me that they won't be able to change her in one day..........hmmm sounds like its going to be quite a challenge. Fingerscrossed something works! Hope you get some sleep over the weekend
Hi to all Mums - Have a great weekend
Tanya
Hey all, just moved here (have lived here before though). PMS are you from Mackay?
Hi kelli79. No sweets Im not from Mackay. I am originally from Mt Isa. But DH has family in Mackay; we go there fairly regularly for visits........
Are you from the Huggies website? I have seen that nick somewhere!:D
Doh:banghead: I have seen it here! Quite a while ago before you had DS and you were still living in Mackay!
PMS - Yeah, i know the Highway from here to Mackay fairly well! Have just left all my family (again) so am sure we will be travelling quite a bit! (they'll never forgive me).
Love your DS name - i've got a Jack Alan William (Alan was his fathers choice :rolleyes: )
Loving townsville, its hard though to meet people with bubs still young! Last time we were here we were the only one in our group of friends with kids, and i think we still are! I know i should ring a playgroup, but i've been to a couple and they just don't seem for me :( . But am more than happy to chat on here (does that still count for adult interaction?:D )
Hey kelli79. :yes: Jack William is a great name! He is actually named after my grandfather.
If playgroup is not for you have you tried story time at the library? It is on Wednesday's and Friday's at 10.30 to 11.30. Lily loves it!
Hi all - still here and battling the 4.30am wakeups :banghead:
Want to arrange some sort of meetup next weekend? (12th-13thAug) I'm feeling if I don't get organised to do it - never will and I will continue to be tired for a while..........so what the heck?! :ecomcity:
Has to be somewhere "contained" for us - older bub takes off and has to be fully supervised and little bub requires me to have eyes on her all the time too..............
Suggestions?
T
Hey Tan; wish I could help you with those wake ups. At the moment Jack has joined the club too and isnt sleeping!
Anyway; what about a picnic in the park? The park off Leopold street?
Let us know what you think girls!
sounds a good idea! I think it's called Rossiter Park and it's actually on Kimball St (I checked as I went past the other day)
Afternoon or mornings better for everyone? Saturday or Sunday? or a weekday best?
T
Sounds good - where abouts is that? Aitkenvale? Tuesday and Thursday are great for me - my DD is at preschool, but let me know what you decide and i will try to make it...
milanamoo
08-08-2006, 12:17
hi Im Amy.... soon to be living in Townsville (magnetic island)... im from northern nsw and apart from the weather... i love it in north qld lol
ive got a cousin moving up too at the same time with her DH and her little girl (2 in sep) and her 2nd bubba due in oct... ill have to get her on here too! shes 23 and atm is looking at places near castletown sc..
anyway,my DD is Jordyn,shes 18mths old.... single and only child (for the forseeable future anyway) and im a single mum... im 29 btw lol
anyway i look foward to getting to know u all!
Amy.. and Jordyn.. :)
Hi ! Sorry about the late response but this is the first time I have been able to actually get on bubhub for days!!!
Kelli; we will probably be getting together on Saturday or Sunday (12th or 13th).
Yetti will be on later to post all the details!!!
Hi Amy:wave: Welcome to bubhub! Goodluck for your move to Magnetic Is.:D
Hi - at the risk of being too bossy........how about i make a decision and "date" for us!! and we can go from there?
Sunday 9.30am-11"ish" at the Park on Cnr River Park Drive & Fairlight st, Annandale. It's at Aplins Weir (so if you were on the other side at Aitenvale, could just walk across the Weir instead of coming all the way over to Annandale if you like?0...........)
Thought this would be a good one cause it has swing for little and bigger kids as well as play area. The park at Aitenvale I mentioned earlier does'nt have swings in the enclosed area unfortunately.
Okay - well - we'll be there anyway at this time - I have a bright red P & T E3 Pram, with 2 little girls.........18 and 6 mths. Short dark hair and pushing 40yrs!! :eek: :laughing:
Bye for now & hope to meet some of you on Sunday perhaps.
T
Am I bad for thinking that maybe i could leave my DS at home? ;) He usually has a sleep then, but would love to come and will bring my DD (who is 5 and will show everyone a thing or two about being bossy!!!:rolleyes: )
Am at Mt Louisa, so have no idea where that is, but will find it... Hopefully :laughing: Might decorate my DD in Bubhub ribbons!
Hopefully see you then,
Kelli
Hey T! It's a date :D
Kelli; no not bad for wanting to leave DS at home. Better to have a happy, settled bub than a grumpy one! If you know how to get to Stoklands then you wont have trouble finding Annandale from there.
Anyway; I have dark,curly hair and you shoul recognise the kidlets by my avatar!
We had a lovely time at the park - sorry that no one else made it.......thanks PMS & A! :hugs:
T
Melissa1983
13-08-2006, 19:21
Sorry i havent posted here in a while.
If you have another get together please let me know. I am available only on weekends. But would love to get meet you all.
Hey T! Yes; Lil,jack and I had a great time as well. Thanks :D
Mummyof2; will gladly let you know about next meet.:yes:
Sorry i couldn't make it, both the kids have had colds and Jack had a shocker last night, so DH thought he'd be sweet and let me sleep in. :o I don't know if i'm getting it as well (hoping not) keep getting that stuffy feeling (will wait and see before i spread all my germs around :laughing: )
Kelli
Not a problem Kelli. We will let you know when the next meet is.
Hope you all feel better.
zephsmum
14-08-2006, 21:45
Hi Guys
so sorry that I missed out on the meet. Last week seemed so hectic! The week before last Zeph actually slept pretty well for a change but this week she went back to sleeping on me again and one of my older daughter's who suffers from juvenile arthritis, has had quite a bad on-going flare-up, so I haven't been able to get much done let alone find time to socialise.
All that said, today Zeph and I spent the day at IMPS and it was just great! I can't thank them enough for just giving me some of the confidence back that I have lost over the years since my girls were born. If anyone is having any sort of issue with their bub, no matter what age or problem, I cannot reccommend them highly enough! Absolutely fantastic! I now feel confident that I will be able to deal with the sleep probs without feeling as stressed out as I was. Its amazing how "normal" I feel now instead of feeling like a freak because my 8mth old wasn't sleeping through:smiliedance:
Are you planning another meet up? I'm keen:)
A big "HI":wave: to the other Mums who have popped in!! Hopefully we'll be able to meet up soon:)
Hi Tanya. I did have sleep troubles with DD at that age but I muddled through and finally got her sleeping through. Would have been great to know about IMPS then!!! Glad you have everything sorted and are feeling "human" again.
I'd say we will organise another meet. I'll have a chat to Yetti and see when she wants to do it again. If I remember I'll PM you or you can watch the thread for updates!!!
Take care, Peta :)
Hello ladies, sorry to hijack your thread, but I really need some info and advice.
My DH often travels up to Townsville (from Brisbane) for work and for his next trip in the first week of October, we've decided that DD and I will join him.
I was interested in finding out what your suggestions are in terms of things to do during the day for a 1yr old (she'll be nearly 14mths when we are there) and her mum ? We'll have 2 days on our own while DH is working, so I wondered, aside from shopping, what else is there to do? We are planning on taking a family day trip to Magnetic Island on one of the other days. Also in case I can't get car seat from the car rentals or cot hire from the hotel, is there anywhere there I could organise that (its only for 4 nights)? Also, how hot is it in October? Are the nights cool? Sorry silly q I know, but I've never been up that far north (except Hamilton Island).
Also, let me know if there are any meet ups with Bubhub mums on in the beginning of October, as it might also be nice to meet some of you!!
Thanks for reading!! Z
Hi Zenifa. You can hire from- www.babytown.com.au
Which hotel are you staying at while here? They should provide you with a portacot; maybe give them a call and ask? There are parks up and down "The Strand". You have Reef HQ (the aquarium if you want to spend that much!) If you think DD is old enough there is Maze Mania. Ummm, story time at the library on Wednesday's and Fridays; 10.30 am-11.30am (That's the Aitkenvale library). I cant think of anything else; maybe some of the other mums will have other ideas. October the weather is starting to get hotter; I dont think the nights will still be cool.
If there aren't any meetups organised then maybe we can have one just for you.
Hope this helps!
Take care, Peta
Hi Peta, thanks for your reply. I'm pretty sure the hotel can provide a portacot, and the car rental people should be able to provide a car seat, but its good to know about babytown just in case. DH's work is organising the accommodation - previously he has stayed in the AQUARIUS-on the beach and the last time it was 'Water's Edge' I think. If you have any recommendations that would be great!! How much is the aquarium? If its not too expensive I might go with DD, as she would love it!! How much is Maze Mania? Is it a playcentre type thing for kids? Is the Aitkenvale library really far out of town? DD loves storytime at our library, so we will try to get to the Friday session. Sorry they may be dumb questions??
If anyone is interested in meeting up let me know, or if possible I will just tag along to one of your get togethers!! Thanks again Z
I cant reccomend any accomodation. Ive only stayed in the Quest Apartments when we first moved here. Ok; it is $21.50 for you to get into the aquarium and DD is free. Maze Mania is an indoor play centre and I think it costs about $5 for your DD's age range. If you're staying on the Strand then the Aitkenvale library is probably 15-20 minutes drive from there depending on traffic. We could probably organise to meet at Maze Mania if the other mums are interested?
I'm always happy to meet up! We can organise something closer to the date.
Oh there is a great waterpark on the strand & play area + like PMS said - lots of things to do there. Also - if you have a vehicle, Thuringowa has / is just in process of opening up their answer to teh sTrand out near Willows Shopping centre - end of Ross River Road, beside the river. By the time you are here they should have finished the kids play area (wasn't finished last week when we were there) and there are 2 big swimming pools and a cafe etc. Could spend a few hours out there no worries.
Do you have a stroller you can bring?
Did you find out about the Portacot? I would be happy to lend you both a small, lightwt stroller and a portacot if you are having trouble. I have a spare stroller cause I have to use a double now and had this one when I just had 1 bub! :thumbsup:
should be quite hot by October - def shorts and T-shirts only (unless there is some bizzare cold snap.........UNLIKELY!) In any case - again - if it was to suddenly get cold - I have 2 DD's and would happily lend you a few things to get you by.
Keep us updated - always happy to help out a fellow "mum".
cheers,
Y
Zephs mum - is weekday or weekends best for you?
Lets arrange something for next week if we can eh?
Hope your week has been better & you little ones arthritis has settled down?
I too have had hectic week & have "sleep issues" with DD # 2. Will be calling Imps next week.....our problem is frequent waking o/n - she goes off okay & even will resettle once we go in to her okay.......but she won't do it herself or stay asleep after bout 1am..........then 5am is bout latest she is wide awake :confused:
Spoke with IMPS a few weeks ago & they wanted me to take her to paed to get checked out to ensure nothing wrong with her 1st......did so & she is fine.....just opinionated like her mummy methinks!!! :laughing:
bye,
Y
Hey T great idea. I have the car all next week. Only day I cant do anything is Wednesday; I have my first appt. at QFG for ED.
Good luck with IMPS; hope they can sort out your sleep problems with DD.
Catch up soon!!:D
zephsmum
22-08-2006, 09:25
Hi Yetti
how does Friday sound? I'm free all day as long as I get home in time to meet the school bus :)
I hope things go as well for you and your DD at IMPS as they did for me! Zeph has been sleeping heaps better, however she has been a bit unsettled lately due to her first little toothypegs coming through! I was supposed to move her into her own room this week but haven't had the heart to do it. I think I'll miss her too much:crying:
Kiah's arthritis is still giving her a hard time. I had to take her to the physio yesterday to get some exercises as she has lost quite a bit of strength and her muscles have deterioated a bit. But other than that she is very brave and keeps on smiling.
Anyway, hopefully I'll hear from you soon and good luck at IMPS.
Haven't been to IMPS - am trying our own thing using Tizzie Hall techniques.......so far seems to be improving.
I'm okay for Friday........suggestions for where and when??
T
zephsmum
23-08-2006, 09:14
I'm happy to meet up anywhere thats suits you guys as I have to come in from Woodstock anyway. The weather is beautiful at the moment and I haven't checked out the new Thuringowa Riverway thingy yet.....maybe thats close for you? Or even the Strand? Oh and somewhere nearby to get a caffine fix is probably a priority too for those of us not getting much sleep (last nite was a bit of a shocker!):D
Anyway just give me time and a place and I shall be there with bells on:smiliedance:
Okay - not sure that the childrens play area at Riverway Park (or whatever the proper name is?) is finished yet? Does anyone know? If it's finished, then I'm fine to go there, but if not, it wouldn't be great spot with my 18 mth old. I really need somewhere that has fenced area or I can't enjoy it at all :devil6:
Strand is fine - the play area there? Morning or after noon best for others? 1030 is okay for morning for me or about 2.30pm? Whichever suits others.
I can bring thermos of coffee if you like ;) But there are places to get fresh coffee nearby too........there's a nice bistro / cafe place at Riverway too - if we go there, so either place is good.
What do you think PMS? anyone else interested?
Y
zephsmum
23-08-2006, 16:40
10.30 at the strand ok then? Is that the 'pirate ship' playground up near the waterpark?
Sounds good to me!! Pirate ship? is there a pirate ship? Never noticed!!! :o But yes - the fenced one up near the WAterpark.........I'll send you a PM with Mob # just in case we get wires crossed or something.
YOu okay with that PMS???
Y
zephsmum
24-08-2006, 09:06
Excellent! Will see you there tomorrow.........
Hope I don't have a night tonight like last night!! Must have only got about 4 hours sleep....poor Zeph, her teeth must be really hurting:crying:
Hi T and Tanya! Yes; tomorrow is good for me. I will see you both at 10.30 at the Strand park. Tanya I will be sure to flaunt my bubhub ribbons if not look for the mini Shirley Temple and that will be my Lily!!!
See you tomorrow girls!!:D
here_we_go
24-08-2006, 11:16
Hey girls I will be new to Townsville very soon, either Kirwan, Condon or Rasmussen and would love to be able to get to know some mums and bubs and make new friends.
I dont know anyone in Townsville but its where we are having our seachange and touch wood starting my business!
Hi here-we-go....yeah - drop in here when you arrive! Happy relocating.........:devil6:
Silly me - tomorrow is the day my older bub goes to daycare - but that's okay - I'll come with little one only.......does her good to have some dedicated "mummy & Monique" time :kiss:
Looking forward to meeting you Tanya.
Y
zephsmum
24-08-2006, 18:11
Looking forward to tomorrow Yetti and Peta!
Thanks for your mob# Yetti, I'll put it in my phone "just in case". I may have to bring Kiah along with me as her knees are quite puffy and sore.
Will keep an eye out for a cute curly-haired "Shirley Temple" and a bright red stroller manning a pirate ship lol! I'll be the one looking like a zombie dosed up on coffee beans:D
Hi T, hi Tanya! Thanks for your company today.:)
Tanya it was great to meet you :yes: . We'll all have to get together again soon!
Cheers, Peta
zephsmum
26-08-2006, 10:01
Hi Peta, thank-you too for a very enjoyable day, it was lovely to finally meet you and Yetti:) I will be looking forward to meeting up again!
Have a nice weekend:wave:
Yeah - we had a lovely time too.......can't believe bub was SO well behaved (she usually screams her way up and down the strand like a champion) and can you believe.......it seems to be continuing??!!!:yelclap: She slept really well last night, naps today and has gone to bed without any fuss tonight.......
shikes, I dunno what I'm going to do with myself if this continues?? Was just saying to hb that if i'm not doughy due to lack of sleep all the darn time, I'm actually going to have to DO something with my time....:D The obvious would be to cook beautiful meals and keep the house spotless..???? but............NAH.........think I'll try be a bit more creative and actually ENJOY myself :thumbsup:
But if I don't have anything to whinge about anymore......I'm gonna get REAL miserable cause whinging is what I do best :devil6:
How often do you come into Townsville T? Let us know if / when you might be coming in and perhaps we can meet up again??
P - one of my other internet friends told me about how to increase appetite in kids........I'll find the name and let you know for L.
Y
zephsmum
30-08-2006, 13:19
Hi Peta and Yetti
I have finally found a chance to get online! This week seems to have got away on me abit with taking Kiah to hydrotherapy and dealing with a cranky bub with sore toothypegs. It seems every time I sit down to have some "me" time lately, I hear a little whimper coming from bubs room, and then slowly the pitch increases and the volume goes up until the desperate wailing is like a jackhammer in my head and just can't be ignored.....and "me"time is over before it even began:banghead: Oh well like you Yetti, I wouldn't know what to do with myself if Zeph was actually a sleeper:D Glad to hear that your little one has settled down and is getting some sleep. I hope things continue that way for you. I usually manage to get into town at least once or twice a week to shop and to do any other things that need doing (usually things that involve handing over money:( ) but I'm usually pretty free through the week.
Oh theres that little whimper........nope she's gone straight into 'scream the house down' mode....better go...
will catch up soon.
Tanya:wave:
Hey Yetti, hey Tanya!:wave: Haven't been on for a while. I've had my sister and my new neice staying with me!!! Hope you are both well. We'll have to make arrangements to meet again soon! I'll be at playgroup on Thursday T so hopefully will see you there!!
milanamoo
13-09-2006, 08:15
oops
ive only just returned from townsville.... didnt get to meet any of you.. :(
ill be there again middle next month-so i have to make sure i give my details to someone and meet some other mums!
amy
Howdy - yeah - sorry - have been busy with bubs and have had a rotten headache for days and days and days...........:thumbsdown:
I've reverted back to my old username - they combined my Yetti and Tannie into Tannie.....sorry for confusion!
PMS - don't think I'll be making it to Playgroup.......
Tanya - hope all is well and girls okay? coming into town in the next week or so? If so, let us know and perhaps we can meet up again?
Bye,
T
zephsmum
16-09-2006, 20:54
Hi Peta and Tannie
good to hear from you guys! I have been pretty busy myself. Zeph now has two bottom teeth and is crawling! OMG!! I forgot how hectic it gets once they're mobile:eek: She is into absolutely EVERYTHING!! We are still having sleep issues, but I've gone even softer since she's been teething:rolleyes:
Hope you and your families are are all well.
School hols are coming up and I'm looking forward to having my girls home except they are at a stage where they constantly squabble like a pair of cockatoos which inevitably ends in me losing the plot at them!! I'm blaming pre-teen hormones aaaghh!!! I'm thinking a meet up in the next few weeks would be a lovely distraction if you guys are interested.
Take care and catch up soon:wave:
milanamoo
29-09-2006, 19:48
HI mums...
well im FINALLY happy to report ive found and been approved for a property on Mag Island! as of end of october... ill be there...
id love to meet everyone.... tannie knows me from another forum she can vouch for me being sane.. lol
amy
I am new to bubhub but have lived in townsville for 15 years.
I live at Bushland beach and would love to meet anyother mums from the area. I am in a playgroup that meets every friday between 9am and 11.30am at willows on wheels @ kirwan.
I have Keegan 10, Riley 5 and Charlie 8 weeks (all beautiful boys)
~rambox~
10-10-2006, 12:01
I know it has been a while since i posted here. I have been so busy packing my house as we are of to Bowen to live in a few months. We are also going to sell the house we are currently living in. By the way Welcome to Kelbar to the townsville thread.
Hope to catch up with you real soon.
TeamAwesome
22-10-2006, 13:31
Hi,:wave: my name is Natalie I've just moved up here two weeks ago with my Hubby and two children. Ty who's 27 months and Liberty who is 10 months. Hoping to meet some new people. We live in North Ward so we're kind of close to everywhere.
Hope to chat soon!
Natalie
Melissa1983
22-10-2006, 19:12
I am new to bubhub but have lived in townsville for 15 years.
I live at Bushland beach and would love to meet anyother mums from the area. I am in a playgroup that meets every friday between 9am and 11.30am at willows on wheels @ kirwan.
I have Keegan 10, Riley 5 and Charlie 8 weeks (all beautiful boys)
Firsty hi to all the Townsville Mums. I haven't posted in this thread for a while.
Kelbar- i actually live at your way. My girls are turning 4 and 3 this year.
~rambox~
23-10-2006, 06:17
Hi Mel,
How are you?? Hello Natalie and Welcome I hope to get to know you better.
Kellie Hi sis :wave::wave:
Melissa1983
23-10-2006, 19:21
I know it has been a while since i posted here. I have been so busy packing my house as we are of to Bowen to live in a few months. We are also going to sell the house we are currently living in. By the way Welcome to Kelbar to the townsville thread.
Hope to catch up with you real soon.
Hi Bec
My sister is actually off to Bowen to live for a few months as well. Leaves this weekend i think. They are moving from Mackay.
TeamAwesome
24-10-2006, 06:17
Hi Townsville Mummies,
Thanks for such a warm welcome!!
I guess a few chit chat details are required as I didnt get too long last time as my Liberty my 10 month old woke and wanted a feed. well I'm 23yo SAHM as previously stated I have a 27mo boy Ty his full name is Tybalt (for pronounciation think Romeo and Juliet) though we chose cos it means "boldest of the people/bold leader of the people" who is the energiser bunny in human form and although he only started talking about 4 months ago he definately has caught up on those months that most other kids seemed to be talking for and more and 10mo Liberty which obviously means "freedom" - (which is kind of ironic cos she had to be induced and was extremely comfy while I was in labou)r.
My husband is a rigger (which is the reason we moved to Townsville) so he works 6.30 til 5 pm Mon-Fri 6.30 til 2pm Sat so Sunday is kind of our family day try to go to a park or if the weather is right go jump in the pool in our unit complex (one of the must have if we were to move here too!)
Ty is huge Bob, Hi-5 and Elmo fan to the point that some nights we have huge melt downs over bed time and not being able to watch them. story time on hi-5 is good for before bed (all our kids books are still on Sunshine Coast)
I enjoy scrapbooking though I've resided myself just to cards for the moment as actual pages take too long, as every time I stop workng on something it all needs to be packed up so the kids cant get to everything. I also enjoy a good book, light hearted "fluffy" books are good for going to bed though a good mystery novel is generally a favourite, although I must confess as a once read-a-holic I've barely looked twice at a book since a couple of days Liberty was born.
Any way I'm I'm also a bit of a compulsive babbler I'm afraid although I gues this comes from being around children all day then finally having some adult "conversation"
Anyway Bye for now I hope to hear from you all soon!
Melissa1983
01-11-2006, 20:56
Do any of the Townsville mums have guinea pigs?
Mine passed away about 3 weeks ago and i have a massive cage for sale, with accessories.
If your interested or know anyone that might be please let me know.
TeamAwesome
01-11-2006, 22:02
Hi does anyone know a good dentist?
Have an very bad tooth ache:( , would love to hear any recommendations or dont go there's. It doesnt really matter where it is, close to North Ward would be preferable but hey so long as they do the job whats the difference!
THanks
Natalie
TeamAwesome
03-11-2006, 08:06
Never mind found one thats seems nice
Natalie
youngmumof1
05-11-2006, 19:28
hey ladies,
my family and i are moving to townsville in 2 weeks, so im looking to meet some other mums as i no no one else at all. I have a 6 and a half month old son Ethan. Im also looking for a play group or a place where mothers get together also as i am a young mum too.
TeamAwesome
07-11-2006, 10:37
hi there I'm going to PM you some info but feel welcome to PM me back to... do you know where you are going to be living??
I'm pretty much a newbie up here as we just moved from the sunshine coast four weeks ago.
Natalie
njbrandi
13-11-2007, 08:35
Hi! :wave:
Haven't checked these forums in months, loads of new names to catch up on! We moved to Townsville almost 2 years ago & love it here! So much to do for little kids (especially for me, I moved here from the north of England where you rarely get to venture outdoors!)
My daughter is almost 2 1/2, and little boy is 12 weeks old today!
I'm on maternity leave til June (yippee!) so open to playdates any day of the week, my daughter usually goes to kindy Weds-Fri so Mondays & Tuesdays are best for toddler get-togethers.
Hope to meet some of you soon!
Nicky
Hi guys I replyed in one of the townsville threads a few weeks back about us moving up there.
Well the time has finally come :smiliedance:
The removalist came yesterday and i'm leaving brissy next thursday DP is there already working and we have just been approved for a house in deeragun (near my mum) its in the new part and a beautiful house.
So we would love to meet up with you guys in 2-3 weeks and i don't mind hosting at my new place as well maybe around the 16th i could do a xmas meet. If there is not one planed already.
Cant wait to meet you all
I NEED FRIENDS:laughing:
Don't no anyone but my family up there.
BTW I'm 24 (on dec 5th) and have a boy who is 6 on dec 10th and a baby girl who is 9 1/2 months
Leashie
conorexnz
30-11-2007, 12:27
Hi, I'm 26 wks pregnant and moving to Townsville next week with my partner. We've been living in the outback for the last seven months or so. I know no-one but am starting work on the 10th Dec for a short term. Would like to meet with other mums/mums to be...
Also, some ideas on suburbs that are not so great to live in so we can narrow down where to get a place to rent (I think our hopes of somewhere partly furnished might be a tad too high)...
Cheers, Conor