View Full Version : oooh noooo :(

metalhead713
04-11-2007, 20:48
DD has to go get her 4 month needles tomorrow...:( I got such a shock from the way she cried last time I just hope this isnt the same. How did others 4 month old bubs go with the shots? And is there anything I can do to help it be a bit better. Ive heard of elma cream but i dont think it can be used on infants under 6 months and i dont have any on me and probably wont be able to get out before then to get some.
She never really had any side effects last time, was just all upset about the needles and was all like 'mum why would they hurt me like that':crying: (maybe im just being silly lol I cant help it)

punkbaby
04-11-2007, 20:50
Are you BF? Put bubs on the boob why they give the needle it helps heaps,i found that bubs was so much calmer doing it this way

Otherwise if you arent i cant think of anything else you could try the bottle though :)

Good luck with them

metalhead713
04-11-2007, 20:55
im not breastfeeding unfortunatly, I tried the bottle last time but she just spat it out and spluttered on it :no: I guess ill just have to grin and bear it and give all the cuddles I can muster.
Im a bit torn on what to do, wether to hold her while they are done to comfort her, or then would she associate me with pain instead of being safe and protected? Or get someone else to hold her so she can come to me afterwards and get cuddles:confused:
*sigh* the things we put our babies through:hair: :(
Or maybe she will surprise me and be fine with it all (to a degree):rolleyes: I wish heh

punkbaby
04-11-2007, 21:04
Lots of cuddles :) alternatively you could lay her on the bed and then give her cuddles but i would opt for the cuddles

KatiesMum
04-11-2007, 21:06
My experiences with needles have been mixed .... the first ones she was absolutely awful, the 4 momths ones she was fine, the 6 months ones were the worst for her, and the 12 month ones she was perfectly normal and went to sleep in the waiting room afterwards (they tell you to wait 10mins to see if there is any reaction.....)

Some Dr's suggest if they get really upset to give panadol before hand (which kind of makes sense) but others say dont do that as it may mask any reaction (which also makes sense) so I never have given panadol before, and only after the 6 month ones had to give it after.......

Not sure if this helps any - but :hugs: for you. It isnt nice for Mummy

metalhead713
05-11-2007, 09:15
yeah ive thought about the pros and cons and ive decided ill keep going on with the vaccs even though they are a crappy experience, i know its not compulsary here in aus, BUT if you happen to be on a parenting payment from centrelink (which I am, and rely a lot on) they cut your payments if you dont vaccinate. Not many people are aware of this, and i cant afford to loose the payments.:banghead:

prideNJoy
05-11-2007, 09:18
yeah ive thought about the pros and cons and ive decided ill keep going on with the vaccs even though they are a crappy experience, i know its not compulsary here in aus, BUT if you happen to be on a parenting payment from centrelink (which I am, and rely a lot on) they cut your payments if you dont vaccinate. Not many people are aware of this, and i cant afford to loose the payments.:banghead:

just wanted to let you know that they dont cut your payments at all! :no: And if they have told you that, they are lying!!!

forbetoel
05-11-2007, 09:18
KJsMUM, I know the feeling, I always dread the day of the needles, hate seeing my baby cry, but it is over in a few minutes, my DS4 only has his 18 month needles and then the 4 year old ones and I am done, no more needles for my kids.

Noah_and_Elijah
05-11-2007, 09:22
I always give my little one panadol about 15 minutes before hand and then lots of cuddles during and after the needles, he is usually good and only sometimes lets out a little whimper.

Noah_and_Elijah
05-11-2007, 09:23
just wanted to let you know that they dont cut your payments at all! :no: And if they have told you that, they are lying!!!

This is correct. They just make you sign a consciencous objection form and you still get the immunisation allowance.

UmmInayah
07-11-2007, 16:11
Bub was fine with hers.. I made sure the nurses held her, cos I couldn't handle it.. but the last shot she had was the worst and she screamed a little until I showed her her toy and then she was fine!

moonblossom
07-11-2007, 16:17
They do not cut your payments if you do not get the needles, dont know where you heard that, but it is a complete lie. Do not be swayed by lies, research for yourself,