View Full Version : Any lesbian's pregnant at the moment?

mumtobemay28
04-11-2007, 08:58
Hi There,

I'm expecting my first bub on May 28, after many years of trying, fertility treatment etc.

All is going smoothly, but I was wondering if there were any other lesbians pregnant and accessing the forum at the moment. If so, lets talk!

punkbaby
04-11-2007, 09:11
Not in your situation but just wanted to say congrats on your pregnancy and welcome to bub hub:)

EmsMum72
04-11-2007, 09:47
Not in your situation but just wanted to say congrats on your pregnancy and welcome to bub hub:)

Me too ...... feel free to join us in the Magic May Babies thread. You and I are both due on the same day :yes:

dimity
05-11-2007, 14:24
Congratulations on being pregnant.

I am a lesbian and pregnant at the moment but not for much longer I am 41 weeks with twins so it should all be happening for me soon.

I am the birth mother to our other 3 children as well.

Feel free to PM me if you want to talk more.

karmalunar
06-11-2007, 12:06
Hi there, my dp and i are expecting our first bub together on April 26th :smiliedance: . I have a son who has just turned 7 from a previous relationship. I have sent you a personal message... Congrats on your pregnancy!!

Emya
11-11-2007, 08:31
Conratulations! My girlfriend and i are currently 25 weeks pregnant. Due 24th Feb and we are having a boy. I am the birth mum and thisis our first so both exciting and a bit scary at the same time!
How have you been feeling? How is the reaction from friends and familly?

Take care!

mumtobemay28
11-11-2007, 12:49
Hi Emya

Congratulations - this is my first and it is so exciting. I'm just starting to get feel better thank goodness because I have exams at the moment.

Most of the people we have told have been thrilled - we have been trying such a long time. Some people are just completely startled and go weirdly silent.

Only close friends and colleagues know at the moment, we are waiting until the nuchal fold scan on Tuesday when we reach 12 weeks before it becomes general knowledge. It is getting pretty hard to hide though- I am getting big quickly.

The thing that makes me laugh most is when straight people want all the nitty gritty details about how we did it. I don't mind talking with other lesbians about it, but colleagues and others can mind their own business! No one would ever ask a straight couple how they went about making a baby, even though they may well have used fertility services.

How is your pregnancy progressing? How are people reacting to your news?

cheetah2805
13-11-2007, 10:20
hey chicki,

Im not a lesbian however just wanted to say congratulations and yr bubs due on my birthday
:smiliedance: good luck... :hugs:

Emya
17-11-2007, 18:50
reaction from friends and familly has been good. Suprise all round but good. Telling people at work has been strange. The women are fine,excited and no questions asked. But the men go all quiet and you can see them thinking, "how on earth did they do that" ! One guy told me he googled it as he could not work it out....

baby has starter moving around now which is a great feeling. Although he goes still whenever my girlfriend puts her hand on my belly!

good luck with your scan!

katiana
20-11-2007, 11:45
congrats on ure preg. im in a lesbian relationship and am trying to fall preg.. ive had 6 transfers with no success,
people at work are just getting wind about me and its not going well, im trying not to be involved, i dont need to waste my energy on negativity i need to focus on positive energy for my future baby.
random talk.
again congrats i cant wait to be in ure shoes, so to speak.

mamma0f3
31-12-2007, 14:53
im a lesbian, my partner and i are expecting our third child in august! im hoping for a girl we already have 2 boys
congrats on your pregnancy!
its so exciting!
Andy

angel12
19-01-2008, 22:19

Congrats on your pregnancy. I'm a single lesbian currently 31 weeks pregnant. My partner ended the relationship 2 weeks before we found out. I'm booked in to have this little angel on 12 March 08.

Please feel free to PM. Would love to chat some more.

take care

mummyto281
20-01-2008, 21:34
Congrats to you :)
Every women deserves the right to be a mother.
Hope the pregnacy goes well for you.

mumtobemay28
22-01-2008, 12:14
Just a note to let you know that I am now 22 weeks and all is well.

We had our scan last week which shows all is well and we are having a little . . . boy!

We were a bit startled initially but can't wait to meet him now.

I'm busy baby shopping and planning.

For those still trying - hang in there. We spent so long trying to get pregnant that I thought we would never get to the cot buying stage. Now we are finally here we are spending WAY too much money!

singlemum
16-09-2008, 14:37
Hey i am a bi mum. and would ove to chat to you some more. I have mns if u wanna go there

jodyu_6969@hotmail.com

Milktini
16-09-2008, 20:38
Just wanted to give you a big congratulations, make sure you keep us posted. I have a little boy too :)

ontheway
22-09-2008, 13:20
We are pregnant!! Going for our first look and see :wave:(scan) tomorow.

Anyone else out there??

Shades
05-12-2008, 21:12
Hmm - I'm single, and not pg yet (but trying VERY hard)... but I am a lesbian - do I count?:laughing:

MissM
26-12-2008, 20:24
I'm pregnant also, we are expecting our baby girl in 6 weeks time. I'm due on the 5th February. I am carrying my partners baby (she donated her eggs) and we are getting very excited.

MissM :wave:

jael72
28-12-2009, 17:17
hi there,
I am pregnant too..I'm due the first week of June. Whereabouts are you? My partner and I are in Melbourne Victoria.

Leeee
28-12-2009, 19:00
[QUOTE=MissM;3366453] I am carrying my partners baby (she donated her eggs)

we considered doing that.. the thought of money turned us off pretty quickly.
there are so many of you i'm so jealous!!!! we started trying in august and STILL aren't pregnant. it's really frustrating and depressing. skipping this month but trying to find a new donor for next one. not too happy with the old one. really not happy that we could have been halfway through a pregnancy right now but we haven't even concieved yet. it's doing my head in.
anyway congratulations to all of you hopefully i'll be joining you soon..

fickwalker
06-01-2010, 13:38
Just dropping in to say we're 6 weeks along today. My DP is pregnant, we used donor sperm via Xytex in the US and our amazingly wonderful clinic, Fertility First in Hurstville.

Will spend some time today reading through this thread. Wishing you all the very best.

Nurse27
06-01-2010, 20:54
Congratulations Fickwalker - We will be keeping fingers crossed for a happy and healthy pregnancy for you both :flowerz:

Amelijah
12-01-2010, 00:13
Hello ladies :wave: . Congrats to all of you, it is nice to know there are so many of us :D. We are 36 weeks pregnant with a little Girl and also have a 7 yr old son. We are in Melbourne and would love for our kids to meet and befriend children who also have 2 mummies. anyone from melbourne? feel free to add me if you have facebook :flowerz:

chloe_froozipops@hotmail.com

fickwalker
12-01-2010, 07:23
froozipops - Oh wow! You guys are so close now! I'll be thinking of you. :)

riotmumma
13-01-2010, 10:19
My lady and I are 22 weeks pregnant- having a girl! first time mummies :)

I don't have any other friends that have had babies so I felt so alone for a while but we've just had some news that some friends in Melbourne are expecting which we are thrilled about.

I get all the probing questions too, most assume we used IVF- I always say "my bits work its just that my partners don't!" hehe :)

Amelijah
14-01-2010, 13:09
Riotmumma - Congrats to you guys! :flowerz:

It's amazing how people feel like it's their business to know how we concieved isn't it. I get all kinds of questions like 'is the father going to see the baby?' grrrr seriously they need to back off and mind their own business.

Sorry rant :o

astrogal
20-01-2010, 19:36
My DP and I are expecting a boy in June 2010... This is our first and we hope to have at least another 2 more in the future :)

fickwalker
03-02-2010, 14:21
Dropping in to let you know some bad news... Scan on Monday showed no heartbeat and that bubs stopped growing a week or so ago.

DP is having a D&C on Friday.

Leeee
03-02-2010, 20:04

ontheway
05-02-2010, 09:52
Thinking of you today:hugs:

Quinne
31-05-2010, 13:00
Congratulations! I'm a Melbourne-based lesbian mum-to-be doing it solo after fertility treatment and years of trying, due late Jan 2011, online here too!

katiana
07-06-2010, 12:48
Dropping in to let you know some bad news... Scan on Monday showed no heartbeat and that bubs stopped growing a week or so ago.

DP is having a D&C on Friday.

been thinking about u guys.

fickwalker
22-06-2010, 09:29
Thanks katiana. We still haven't tried starting again. I think DP is ready to give up. :(

ontheway
22-06-2010, 10:03
Thanks katiana. We still haven't tried starting again. I think DP is ready to give up. :(

fickwalker-Sorry to hear about your loss.
Be kind and look after yourself's :hugs:

Jessandmeltrappel
05-07-2010, 10:57
hey. I was just reading that your partner donated her eggs and your carrying her baby.
I thought that this was impossible to do.
We have been wanting to do it but thought that the fertility clinics wouldn't do it as they never get back to us when we email them or ring them.
I would really like to know more. We live jn newcaslte and have tried hunter Ivf an Sydney ivf ( Newcastle).
They just seem to not care at all. Or they told us last year that they " ran out of sperm " when we told them we were. same sex couple. I found the way they treat us discriminative and take offence to it.
Are you living in nsw ??
I spoke to one in bondi in July last year and they were by far the best. They said that the new laws coming into play won't allow us to use donor sperm from their clinic and that we would have to find it ourselves.
Basicly we are overwhelmed to find Some one else who has done this and although we know it's gojng to get into the $10 000 price tag, still wanna know more

Thanks heaps.
Jess and Mel

I'm pregnant also, we are expecting our baby girl in 6 weeks time. I'm due on the 5th February. I am carrying my partners baby (she donated her eggs) and we are getting very excited.

MissM :wave:

Lisa0707
07-07-2010, 12:12
Hey Jess and Mel,

Just saw your post and thought I'd let you know of Fertility First in Hurstville. My partner and I are from Vic but were travelling to Sydney for treatment. They import from the States so I think they're pretty well stocked in terms of donors. I know they have a lot of lesbian clients and have overheard other clients discussing one partner carrying the other's eggs and they seemed open to it.

---------------------------------------------------------
:smiliedance: we finally got our BFP, due Dec 1st 2010

Jessandmeltrappel
08-07-2010, 09:37
Hey lisa

thanks for the reply. Yeah I know I was reading another post on another topic yesterday and someone else suggested it. So I emailed them and they said they can do it. So thanks heaps. It seems like the place to go at the moment.

Thanks again.

Jess and Mel

kiariel
13-09-2010, 20:25
Hi all.
I am a lesbian who is currently pregnant with bub #3! I have DD age 9 and DD age 5. I have been on my own for a number of years, and decided to have another baby. My second home insemination attempt was successful, and EDD is 23/05/2011.

The irony of the whole situation is that two days after my second insemination, I went out with some friends and met the woman of my dreams!!! She is amazing... and it's all perfect....although I am not sure how the pregnancy is going to affect everything. She is 11 years older than me, and has one DD age 18. She knows I am pregnant, and how it all came to be, however she isn't sure it's what she wants. I didn't actually find out I was pregnant until after her and I got together

so yeah, there's a bit of my story! Looking forward to chatting with you all!

Quinne
14-09-2010, 19:11
Hi Kiariel

Nice to meet someone else who's doing the (kind of) single queer Mum thing! Where abouts are you? I'm near St Kilda in Melbourne & in a similar position - though without the woman of my dreams, unfortunately!

Quinne

kiariel
10-11-2010, 17:07
Hey everyone.

Thought I would jump on to share our horrible ultrasound story with you. I'll paste the letter of complaint I sent them here to give you an idea of what happened.

To whom it may concern

I am writing to inform you of the horrible experience I had at my ultrasound scan at your Hove branch yesterday. I left your establishment feeling quite upset by the whole experience, and will be asking my doctor to refer me elsewhere next time.

I began by explaining to the sonographer that I had had some bleeding early on in the pregnancy, and was anxious to see how my little one was going. At no point was I offered a print out of any images of my baby, and in fact was only permitted to see the screen for approximately 20 seconds at the end of the scan, where babies head, arm and back were pointed out to me. The sonographer attempted to show me the heartbeat (which I could see quite well myself), however was pointing into babies abdomen telling me to look closely for something flickering as it was hard to see! In fact, the heartbeat was easy to see when looking in the correct area!

Whilst having the ultrasound, the door to the examination room was left open, and there was a gentleman intermittently standing outside the door who entered the room on two occasions to hand things to the sonographer (One can only presume he was a doctor or employee as the conversation between the two of them had nothing to do with me).

When my female partner and I disclosed to the sonographer that this would be our fourth child, she proceeded to tell us about a program she had watched recently on child abuse, and how it generally occurred at the hands of a family member. I am a little stumped as to what this had to do with my partner or myself, and was quite offended that our lifestyle would prompt her to tell such a story, not to mention I really don’t believe this is appropriate conversation to be having with an expectant mother, regardless of her lifestyle.

I was also told by the sonographer that I had “terrible tissues” for ultrasound. She explained to me that it was generally the case in larger women, that the ultrasound waves found it harder to get through all the tissue and therefore the image wasn’t very clear. After a minute she corrected herself, saying “Not that you’re in the category of larger women, you just have terrible tissues”. I have had numerous ultrasounds with my other pregnancies, and indeed had one at 5 weeks gestation with this pregnancy and I have never before had a problem with any of them.

All in all, I left feeling very belittled and offended, and wasn’t even given a single image I could take home to show my other children. Next time, I will be requesting a referral elsewhere, and I will certainly not be recommending and family or friends attend there for any scans.

Thank you for your attention in this matter.

bridgeedidge
05-12-2010, 07:43
Gday everyone, My partner is currently 13 weeks pregnant with our first little one and due in june 2011. We are from Brisbane, it would be great to seek other lesbian women that are pregnant .:yes:

Have a great day~!

2mummies
15-12-2010, 22:05
Hi my partner & I are pregnant & are looking to connect with some other same sex parent families in Sydney. Would love to hear from anyone! :)

RubyDooby
31-12-2010, 13:10
Gday everyone, My partner is currently 13 weeks pregnant with our first little one and due in june 2011. We are from Brisbane, it would be great to seek other lesbian women that are pregnant .:yes:

Have a great day~!

Hi my name is Danielle. My partner and I had a baby last June. If you want to chat send me a message.

RubyDooby
31-12-2010, 13:24
My lady and I are 22 weeks pregnant- having a girl! first time mummies :)

I don't have any other friends that have had babies so I felt so alone for a while but we've just had some news that some friends in Melbourne are expecting which we are thrilled about.

I get all the probing questions too, most assume we used IVF- I always say "my bits work its just that my partners don't!" hehe :)

Congratulations. My partner and I have a 6 month old girl through IUI. We are in Brisbane and you?

RubyDooby
03-01-2011, 08:01

Have a great day~!

Hi my name is Danielle. I just had a baby girl in June and would like to start a playgroup of some kind for gay parents. One it helps us make friends with other gay mums and two kids get to play. My email address is daniellegrills@hotmail.com if you would like to add me to facebook. My partner is taking her turn now with the same donor to try for a baby! Fingers crossed.

Danielle x

Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub

mumstobe
17-01-2011, 17:21
Congratulations.. My partner is 24 Weeks pregnant, due May 11th.. Looking to meet others in Sydney area :)

ontheway
18-01-2011, 08:51
Congratulations! Try-
http://www.rainbowbabiesandkids.com.au/ (http://www.rainbowbabiesandkids.com.au/)

2mummies
19-01-2011, 22:09
Congratulations.. My partner is 24 Weeks pregnant, due May 11th.. Looking to meet others in Sydney area :)

Hey I noticed u were in Sydney due a few weeks before me. Where abouts r u? We r in Quakers hill & interested in chatting with other families who have to mummies. Im due june 30 Julie

Bubba2in2011
20-01-2011, 19:31
Hi my partner and I have a 6 1/2 year old daughter and we became the proud parents of triplets on boxing day! :noel: We now have 2boys and 2 girls! They are still in hospital and will be for at least another 3weeks.

Congratulations to everyone expecting bubs and to those who have received their special bundle!

mumstobe
21-01-2011, 09:08
Dont go on here much, but looking to meet others who are pregnant. Im from Sydney and my partner is currently 24 weeks..Feel free to add me on facebook karingreen01@hotmail.com

riotmumma
24-01-2011, 11:41
Congrats on the triplets!!!

Bubba2in2011
26-01-2011, 03:26
Congrats on the triplets!!!

Thanks. They are such a blessing and so very cute!