View Full Version : When to start buying
alwaysonmymind
04-11-2007, 06:00 AM
I went shopping yesterday and was so tempted to buy something for the baby. There is a great sale on in target. I stopped myself, but I am not sure how long I will be able to hold out for.
I know they say to wait until you are 3 months, but what do you think? Will you wait?
fludo
04-11-2007, 06:22 AM
I don't have any urges yet, probably because it doesn't seem really real yet. I don't know how long I'll wait, but I'm sure I'll start much earlier than DH would think is normal! :laughing: We actually bought a few things a few years ago second hand (even though we werent' even TTC yet :confused: ) so we have a stroller, and a few clothes I think is all. Geez, don't want to start thinking about all the stuff we will need! It will be fun though when the time comes!
Wy & Deeky
04-11-2007, 06:30 AM
DH and I have put car seats on Laybuy, we sold DS' old car seats about 4 months ago. Hindsight hey? LOL!
It is nice to buy new ones though, the old ones would have been 4 years old by the time the baby was born.
I bought a little jumpsuit set around this time last pregnancy. Couldn't help myself!
Tulip
04-11-2007, 02:26 PM
I probably won't get anything until I'm about 30 weeks. Last time we didn't even have a cot when DS was born.
Yeah I know I'm weird. It's sort of a silly family tradition to be underprepared (my Mum's Irish).;)
Maia's Mummy
05-11-2007, 06:40 AM
DF and I both believe that your thoughts and actions attract things to you. So we dont believe its a bad thing to purchase things for bubs before the second trimester. I actually think its a great thing! We have already bought a few things, my parents have ordered the pram, my mum laybyed a porta cot. And we have bought a few clothing items. I will probably not buy any large furniture items until January, but this is mainly because we are still waiting on our house to be built and living with mother in law we dont have much spare space.
So I think go ahead and buy stuff! :thumbsup:
mummy_to_thomas
05-11-2007, 08:09 PM
I started buying clothes etc when we first started TTC over 3 years ago....so we have a quite a bit already :laughing: I want to go out and buy more stuff now but I'm trying to control my shopping :o
I know that my mum is buying us a bassinet as it is a family tradition and we are getting a porta-cot from my sister. DF wants to build a change table/drawers which will be great cause it will be built to how I want it :smiliedance:
Alisonp
06-11-2007, 09:58 AM
I think its completely up to you when you start buying things. I think with DD I bought a little yellow bunny rug and a white jumpsuit in the first couple of weeks after I found out. I used to go into the spare room and touch the little things imagining what my baby would be like. I think it's normal to want to get a couple of things. Before long you will have cupboards overflowing with all the stuff but those first couple of items are always special.:)
snapcracklepop
06-11-2007, 03:20 PM
I think we are going to wait until after chrissy. That way we are past the 12 week mark and we will have more money.
shereejoy
06-11-2007, 03:41 PM
I have never bought anything early due to my pregnancy complications. I did however last pregnancy buy maternity clothes early and I regret doing it. With Lachlan I didn't buy anything until our 18-19 week scan as he was a very touch and go pregnancy.
monique13
06-11-2007, 05:20 PM
I brought 2 maternity tops today only because i really like them and they were cheap i know if i would of left it until i was bigger they wouldnt be there anymore
but but as for stuff for bub i will until im about 30 weeks until i start buying things for him. As the others have said it really up to the person.
sshellzp
08-11-2007, 05:23 PM
With my daughter I started to buy things pretty much straight away but with this one I will wait till 12 weeks as I have had a miscarrage before.
mummasbubbas
12-11-2007, 06:16 AM
I think it is fine to buy stuff. Your excited! I'm excited!. I have heaps of girls clothes and I have heaps of neutral stuff also as I never found out with either of my girls. If this one is a boy than I won't have anything except a few neutral items and singlets.
We will find out this time around just for something different.
I say don't be afraid to buy items, you deserve it we all do!
~mia&ryan~
14-11-2007, 08:38 PM
I bought the cutest little jumpsuits today at pumpkin patch, I just couldnt resist!!!
alwaysonmymind
15-11-2007, 07:55 AM
I have so far resisted the temptation to buy anything. I did buy my DH the Being Dad DVD which I am going to give to him at Christmas as I will be 12 weeks then. I am going to Townsville this weekend, and I have heard from my mum (she can't keep a secret) that my DH was going to start doing the nursery as a suprise for me when I get back. I think he is more excited than me. He is insisting we are having a boy, so I hope I can put him off doing anything until I get back because we will probably end up with a blue room with trucks and cars all over the walls!!!! God love them.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.