View Full Version : What's your way???

Frazzled
26-02-2006, 22:56
Just wondering how you bath/bathed your baby when they grew out of the baby bath but were not big enough to sit up by themselves. Just curious cause i copped it off my mum for the way we have been doing it... oh the guilt the guitl!:shame: :shame: :shame: :shame:

rockabye
26-02-2006, 23:02
being a first time panicky mum I bought a little thing that owen could lay in. I still held him in there but made it easier. Then as I got a little more confident, I just put shallow water in and let him lay in it and sometimes but him on his tummy under a watchful eye.

JenNT
26-02-2006, 23:04
Lucas has just outgrown his bath at 5 months so now I put a few inches of water in the big bath and put him on his belly and off he goes!!!!!....i could chuck his clothes in and they would get washed:D
he loves it.

MissBrightside
26-02-2006, 23:11
I just bathed mine the same way as in the baby bath but in the big one. You can buy things that can support them in the big bath that may help.

WeThree
26-02-2006, 23:13
I find a small towel folded under the head is great when lyeing them in a few inches of water when they are still pretty small.

Frazzled
26-02-2006, 23:16
I find a small towel folded under the head is great when lyeing them in a few inches of water when they are still pretty small.

That's the way we have been doing it too and he just loves it. Oh, don't you love the old school mum's! i love my mum to pieces but....:banghead:

claireandbailey
26-02-2006, 23:40
bailey loves her bat. i just put a couple of inches of water in and put her on her back. i always sit next to the bath and play with her toys with her. But the other night my mum bathed her and she rolled over in the bath and was layin on her tummy. I freaked out and wouldn't let her lie like that. I know she was safe cos my mum was there and she has her head well out of the water but alli could imagine was her drownin. :(

WeThree
27-02-2006, 00:04
lol Kate, what does your mum suggest you do instead? im lucky, my mum is a midwife, so she has stayed abreast of all things baby. :)

Tan-mumof3
27-02-2006, 00:09
i actually used to bath my 2 in the laundry trough until they were about 6 months and sitting up. I used to wash the tub first then fill their "bath" up, i found it so much easier than having to bend down into the bath as i have a bad back and also to dress them as i put the change mat on the washing machine and it was my "new" change table. When they could sit up it put them in the big bath with a small amount of water to splash in.

27-02-2006, 00:38
Bubs was still being bathed in his baby bath till just after New Years LOL !!!
So as you can imagine how much fun that was with such a huge boy ! :rolleyes:
Anyways he sat up in that & had a ball we had no choice as our bathroom still wasnt finished.
Tis all done now & he looooooves the "big" bath ( tis only a half bath lol ) but yeah i put him in like Erin said she does hers & well being a bit older i suppose wasnt such a worry <enter sarcasm here> yep no one told me about fighting to keep him in the bath once he learns how to stand :rolleyes: so bath time now consists of me struggling to kep him in the water to actually get clean where as i get a good soaking LOL !
Honestly hun your right there & if E is happy dont worry about it ! Its good he loves the water & the kicking & splashing does him good !

SassyMummy
27-02-2006, 00:51
Chanel didn't fit in her baby bath from about 3 months. So I washed her in the shower. Then she got too heavy...so I considered one of those little bath-seat things she could lay in. Only...they say "up to 9kg"...and she's well past that.

Even though she's seven months now, and can sit up...she can't sit up in the bath. She wriggles far too much and ends up slipping over. The result? I bathe with her. I don't actually BATHE...but I sit in there with her while she does. She seems to like it...she likes splashing me. lol.

sugar n spice
27-02-2006, 01:04
I used a bath support that the baby lays in and once he got bigger i put him in a seat support for the bath

Kirstlea
27-02-2006, 01:05
We used to lay Paige in the bath with a little water and she loved it, she used to laugh and kick so much.

Quite often though either DH or I would get in the bath with her as she really liked the deep water and it was impossible to hang over the side and keep a grip on her without her going under. She wriggled too much:D

She still loves the water now at almost 3yrs.

pegasus
27-02-2006, 01:28
I got a bath seat and used it in the shower. I put it in the corner of the shower so he didn't get direct spray (which he loves now), and just picked him up when I wanted to bathe him.:)

27-02-2006, 08:40
I bathed MJ the way they showed me in hospital in both baby & big bath, & she always liked it deep so she could float :thumbsup: . As soon as she could sit sh sat in a bath seat (the blue one that someone had for sale recently). Still us it now, or she sits in the shower.

RB

27-02-2006, 08:47
hope im not the only one but i just used to bring them in the bath with me, we'd stay in for 30 mins just splashing around. i started doing it when my lochia had gone. am i just lazy? any way my dd's loved it it was a great bonding sesion for us.

the_queen
27-02-2006, 09:01
When Vally was about 3 months old I started putting her baby bath inside the big bath, and did her in there for about 2months and then started her in the big bath. She's always had showers with either me or DH since she was born too. As a result she's always preferred showers, and now as a 4 yr old she'll have a bath before bed probably only 3 times a week, but she showers every morning!!

zenifa
27-02-2006, 09:02
For the first 3-4 months we used to bath our DD in the laundry tub, but once she got too big, we started to bathe her in our big corner bath. It would be hell on our knees and hard to get a good grip, so DH and I have always gone in the bath with her. The water can be deep, we can splash and play and she loves it!! We have tried the shower a couple of times, but I don't feel confident with her once she's all soapy and slippery. DH and I find that its usually a 2 person job to bath her, in the bath or shower. She gets so excited and is a real wriggler. I am definately wanting to try a bath seat, as it won't always be practical to get in the bath with her.

jacks mum
27-02-2006, 09:09
our real bath is just so stupidly designed that I haven't even thought of bathing ds in it. We still use his baby bath on the kitchen sink. He is so big for it though that he sits and plays and splashes. Dh can get most of him clean while sitting and then he lays him down to finish him off. Lucky for me bath time is also daddy time, so dh baths ds every night.

k&Hmum
27-02-2006, 09:16
i use a baby sling that bubs just lays on but its on an angle so it keeps her head away from the water. i love it.

kellyandben
27-02-2006, 09:33
Ben is only 7.5 weeks old so still fits in his baby bath but he loves taking a shower with his Dad at night. He needs physio on his neck and ankle but we find that he loves the shower so much that he doesn't even notice that he is doing his stretches! (which normally make him scream) His Dad washes him and does his physio and then hands him over to me to dry him off. He still loves a bath but this is more a weekend thing for us now. Does anyone else put their baby in the shower?
Kelly

cobysmummy
27-02-2006, 09:41
my Dps mum bought us a lay back seat thingo that they lay in... u can use it for the baby bath (i never did tho) or for the big bath... he loved it as he could lay there and play whilst we washed him... he used that until about 8 months old even though he could sit up... now he sits up (actually stands up!) in the bath while we try to wash him.. hair washes are so much fun now too!

lukaelmo
27-02-2006, 09:42
Hey kellyand ben, go the shower!!!

The dude hasn't actually ever had a "bath" as such, oo, I lie, he did in the hospital... oo, and for the first week..

Aaaanyway, I got sick of the baby bath after about 5 minutes of it, and up 'till about 6 months, I took the dude into the shower with me. The, when he got too wriggly I popped him on the floor of the shower with a washer under his head. Now he is super roller I put the washer over the drain in the shower, put a few inches into the cubicle and he goes for it! He has heaps of fun rolling and spinning around in there, and there is lots more room than a conventional bath...

I wouldn't mind a nice, long, relaxing bath myself though...:rolleyes:

LittleBoysRock
27-02-2006, 10:58
When DS grew out of the baby bath I bathed him in the big bath.

All I did was run a small amount of water, about 5-6 cm depth and put him in.

Obviously I would sit with him with my eyes on him at all times but he splashes and has a great time. Works well for us :)

Peaceangels
27-02-2006, 12:45
For both bub's we used a "bath mate" (terry towelling cover over a frame that they lay on) - don't have to hold bub, they lie on it and can still kick etc.

It was the best and they are only about $15, so we definately got our money's worth using it for both bub's until they sat up.

You can take the cover off and wash it too!

giggles
27-02-2006, 12:52
We are stll bathing in the laundry trough too. Much easier now that she is sitting up and no bending for poor Mummy with her aching joints :D

Otherwsie A shower with me or Daddy and sometimes in the shower we sit down and block up the plug and have a mini bath there. She loves having the water coming from the shower as well as splashing in the water in the bottom.

KatherineIV
27-02-2006, 12:55
I was given a towel covered bath assistant (I have no idea of real name / brand) Sorry it was second hand.... It also took me 6 months to figuire out what it was.. :)

It means you can lay bubs on their back and it keeps them in the same position.. no rolling etc .. it also inclines so their head is out of the water more than the rest of their body. I did see something similar in Big W awhile back... but I am sure second hand baby stores would have something similar. (that's only if you don't want to buy new of course)

Sorry I don't have a brand / product name... I just thought if I gave you a description it may help

27-02-2006, 13:39
hope im not the only one but i just used to bring them in the bath with me, we'd stay in for 30 mins just splashing around. i started doing it when my lochia had gone. am i just lazy? any way my dd's loved it it was a great bonding sesion for us.

No your not the only one, i love bathing with MJ. We have splashing comps :smiliedance:

RB

ETsMum
27-02-2006, 23:18
I am still squeezing DS into the baby bath (which I sit in the big bath) mostly only to save water. Or I get into the big bath with him or DP takes him into the shower.

I might try the towel under head idea in the big bath - but doesn't the water get cold quickly being so shallow?

Frazzled
27-02-2006, 23:32
thanks gang! Sounds like we are doing an ok job! I might get one of those bath mate things.:yelclap:

dannii
27-02-2006, 23:56
gees them baby baths dont last long huh!
i dont have a big bath to put her in ..i have one of them silly baths .. the little square ones . its hard to put bubs in, so i usually just give her a shower with me, put the plug in and bath her like that.
she still does go in her bath every now and then, but it nearly impossible.

Mum2Lucas
28-02-2006, 13:12
Lucas either has a shower with me or i fill the bath up with 2 inches of water and lucas just lies in it and splashes and carries on for as long as he wants.

BlessedWithBlue
07-03-2006, 23:00
With ods once he got too big for his baby bath i used the laundry sink, and eventually the bath just with a slip proof mat to keep him sliding on the surface of the bath (we have the towelling covered bath thingy too) i used that with both boys until they were sitting up properly. With Kyen i went straight to the bath tub after he had outgrown his baby bath and also used the towelling covered seat, and then i got a plastic one for him which once he got a bit bigger he just wanted to sit in it so now we stopped using that so i will have to go get another slip proof mat for him!!

Ods loved showers when he was younger, df used to take him in the shower with him every night. But for some strange reason he hates them now:confused: