View Full Version : Jan Mums - NOV chat
wild at heart
26-11-2007, 13:52
Heya all just wanting to know how many Jan 2007 Mummies are pregant now and how far????....Oh and if I can ask are you excited about it all happening so soon?
Was it planned?
Yeah it was planned but didn't think it would happen so fast!! I am getting excited now but yesterday I was happy but feeling like it was bizarre!! I did want a winter baby even though August is getting to the end of august here... we don't have a long winter
hey congrats wildatheart...I like the way you started with 'not much is happening'...!!!! I'd call a BFP quite a lot happening!! wow.
Sorry to hear about your BFN Tabby and hope you get a christmas suprise (another one!) instead. Mim, hope you get Josh's ears sorted ok as well. Poor you.
well I'm not pregnant, and I thought I was improving due to all night sleeps from Hamish, but this afternoon I pointed the car keys at the house door and pushed the door open button about 3 times before I worked out what I was doing!! wishful thinking to have a remote front door instead of 3 keys when you're juggling shopping bags, nappy bags, handbag and baby at the same time.
pretty quiet here, I've been on a cleaning frenzy this morning after letting things go to pot while we were all sick. Hamish is standing on his own heaps - can even shake a rattle while standing, or look up at me without falling over. I can just see his little brain contemplating steps but he hasn't made that move yet.
Does anyone else think this is the BEST age yet? I just love how Hamish is interacting with everything, singing to himself, chuckling at things, giving big open-mouth kisses and generally being excessively cute. I remember someone saying once that they thought every age their son got to was the better than the last which is a nice thought.
well I'm in an argy bargy with work over when/how I come back. Have told them my terms at not negotiable though and if they don't like it I'll find something else! (insert gawd! smiley which seems to have disappeared) sent an email on Friday morning and no reply as yet.
well, best finish my cleaning up spree before H wakes up.
Oh yes, one more thing. Sammy what do you use for writing on a cake? We're having a combined birthday party for our mothers' group kids and I'm the cake decorator! its going to be pretty simple though.
kx
Strawberry_Shortcake
26-11-2007, 15:58
Kewlchicmum – I fell pregnant when DS was only 4 months old. A total shock,this pregnancy wasn’t planned but what a wonderful blessing. Will know just over 6 weeks time what its like having 2 bubs under 13 months. Honestly i freaked out when i got my bfp but now can’t wait and wouldn’t have it any other way.
Hiya girls!!
Yah and congrats to Wild at Heart!! So wonderful. :smiliedance:
Yes, I count 5 also..Jacstar, Strawberry Shortcake, LiviesMum, Aries_moon and Wild at Heart. Who did I miss?? WOW!! So looking forward to hearing about how the pregnancies are all going. Strawberry are you due first?? Yah and us Perth girls can give you a Christmas party baby shower too!
Freddie, completely agree, best age so far! Esp for selfish reasons too, much easier to work, as H is happy to entertain himself and gee isn't washing dishes/cooking easier too!? Of course all that wonderful pointing communication, the even greater physical resilience and of course giggles and play and standing and learning. Oh and MUCH easier to put to sleep :)
Yes I also had heard the 'every age is the best age, at the time' and agree, so far. :thumbsup:Good on you about work too!!!! T'is such a boom time here that for once our industry has zillions of jobs if you wanted another..well I think 63 listed when I looked and for real money too! Nice to be able to call the shots for once. Work is much more manageable for me too, worked out a good balance, finished some and also resigned from one..so is all going along well.Be interested in the response you get about your terms. Am sure they'll agree!! :yelclap:
SammyG was v exciting thinking about another beautiful baby..maybe now sooner than later??
Oh meant to write it yonks ago, Tabby, Katie and the Shape-O that is amazing!!! H pushes shapes in to this and his fischer-price thingy, but only when they have made their way to the correct hole via me. He tries to push them in not aligned right and then stops due to being too hard, or too distracted. Good on Katie!! V clever!!
H's favorite toy is a small sink plunger (CLEAN!).
He stands as much as he can, crawls but not with the best style, often one foot-one knee and then swaps..LOVES 'our' bike. Points to everything and is sometimes very insistent about pointing and touching things like DRILL, HAMMER! Need to get some dolls too he hehe .:wizard: Is v active and impossible on nappy table, as they all are or become. Vocab MumMum, DadDad, Cat, Bike, Milk..maybe?? Something that sounds like it. They understand a lot though, don;t they!!
Welcome home MouseBrown and girls and g'day to Kewlchic!! Where is your avatar shot? I know that place, i;m sure!?? Be great to meet you soon.
HI HI HI HI Aries, come back on hon...have you told your folks?? How 're you going?? How's your sis?? And tell us what beautiful Xavier is up to.
Happy b;day to Geoffrey, for Jacstar v v soon!!
xxS ps; yah yah yah for change of government!!
*Sparkles*
26-11-2007, 21:49
Hi girls :wave:
I see the topic is about BFP's? congrats to those who are PG...how exciting! It was a BFN for us last month, but I didn't expect it to happen on the first go. We have actually decided to postpone TTC'ing until after the New Year. We mainly wanted to get back on the program to secure our spot IYKWIM. And now that we have, we can wait a little bit longer. Oh, and enjoy a few parties over Christmas too ;)
Well today Reece is 10 mths old and he is a little darling, such a happy smiley baby and so easy really. He still isn't crawling properly but we do have 2 toothy pegs finally! :smiliedance:
His solids are coming along well, eating more adult type foods and now on 3 meals a day. We also have "mumma, dadda and bubba".
I hope all mums and bubs are well? hard to believe the first birthdays are nearly upon us, especially those who came early in december.
Will catch up again soon.
Hels xx
3Divas&me
27-11-2007, 08:21
Just quick- have to get to work soon, and trrying to watch a pram on ebay which runs out of time soon- currently highest bidder:yelclap:
Yeah Wild at Heart on your :bfp:, that is so exciting- there are a few of us now, 5 is a big number really.
Kewlchic- I fell pg when Bridget was about 5 months- totally unplanned- was never going to head down the track of number 3 but am really happy now it happened and cant wait to meet the little bub. It will be the last though- cant afford anymore- lol!!
Better head, talk soon.:wave:
Mim, im really sorry to hear about Josh. I hope everything gets sorted out quickly for you.
Tabby, thats a shame about your bfn. I think it would be good to start seeing someone. My mum went through menopause early....about 43 i think so it is possible. Good luck....guess you definitely need to uncross those legs now!:laughing:
Wild at heart....congrats on your bfp.
Im considering moving tom to his own bed. We have always co slept but now im craving my own space. Im in a share house so tom and i share a room and i feel like nothing is mine. Im just want to stretch out in my own bed without banging into tom or a bed-rail dammit! He goes into a cot at his dads and he seems to like it. The other night i slept without a top on because it was so hot and tom just latched on all morning. I sat up to get away from him and he was climbing up me...it was full on! I felt like a cow.
kewlchicmum
27-11-2007, 09:52
Morning all just wanting to get some advise my DS who is 10months old has gone off his breakfast cereal which is Mango and apple or muesli and apple or the other is banana cereal.....I have tried him on toast but I want some thing a bit more cause he really just plays with it and onle has a little I have tried fresh fruits as well can you tell me what you give your bubs?
Kewlchikmum, Michael has half a mashed banana mixed with a tbs of fruit puree, 2 tbs rice cereal and half a weetbix with 80mls warmed cows milk. He scoffs it down every morning. I am gradually lowering the rice cereal and increasing the weetbix!
Acacia, Bed is my sanctuary where most of the time I do not want to be touched at all if it's the end of the dat and I'm tired (as per usual) Poor DH thinks it's time to grope but after 2 little boys jumping on me all day I just want to be still! The cot sounds like a good idea to me!
wow michael eats a big breakfast. perhaps i need to increase josh's food intake. he just has a 170g jar of fruit puree, or a mashed banana, sometimes with a little tub of custard or yoghurt. he's only started tolerating anything other than puree in the last few weeks, so i'm slowly adding more foods into his diet.
acacia ... i let josh co-sleep sometimes, when i'm completely desperate for him to get some rest, but i only tolerate him with me for a max of 2 hours cause I love to toss and turn and i just can't do that with my arm around him. I sleep so much better when i put him in his cot.
Strawberry_Shortcake
27-11-2007, 13:26
Kewlchicmum, Talon has fruit (sometimes mashed banana or pureed fruit) with 1 to 1 1/2 weetbix and then he has 200mls of cows milk after that.
Acacia - DS has always been in his cot since 3 months old. I found that he sleeps longer when he's in his own cot. Talon loves his own space.
Katie still has next to nothing for breakfast, a chew on some toast is about all, shes never been keen the cereals, weetbix. Tried fruit but not much of that either so, sorry kerlchicmum, cant help from here.
Hels: All the best new year for TTC then. xx
freddie: Oh goodness me yes! The start of proper communication and lots of understanding giggles and laughs too, not just for the sake of it, but actual do it again mum that was funny!
Also we are getting non stop cuddles and a "aww" from Katie at the moment, love it! Just melts me (and everyone else) to pieces!
LOL @ the keys!!! hahahha
Ill come back later. much to do... been and done about 70% xmas shopping and rushed out early for it, so have dishes and etc and etc!!! you all know the scenario .
back later.
korahblue
27-11-2007, 15:22
Seems like i havent been on here for ages so i've only just skimmed the last page....apologies for the lack of personals
Breakfast - macy has 1 weetbix about an hour after her morning bottle, she was eating nearly 2 weetbix but then went off it when she first got gastro and we are just building back up her food intake atm.
With the gastro, we found out on thursday that Macy has developed lactose intolerance because of it. So the last few lots of diarrhoea have been due to the LI and not gastro.
:mad:I had bit of a run in with her childcare manager again yesterday morning. They sent Macy home on thursday as she had the runs [from lactose] so when I dropped her off yesterday morning the manager goes 'well you know 3 other kids came down with it on Friday after Macy' so I asked her what the had come down with and she replied 'gastro' so i swiftly reminded her that like she was told on thursday by my husband that macy hasnt had gastro the last few times so dont try and blame the other kids on her!!!! :nono: Then to top it off, I picked up Macy yesterday to discover they had given her yoghurt after we had given them very strict instructions that she was to have NO dairy until she turns 1. Obviously they are idiots and think that yoghurt doesnt come under dairy. They are sooo lucky that she only has an intolerance and not an allergy!!!:banghead: I cant wait till we find a house and get away from the know-it-all biatch!!
Anyway, rant over
Just a question - when would you classify your baby as walking? Macy is quite capable of getting around upright by herself but she still prefers to crawl everywhere so I tell people that she is taking steps but not walking and they say that she is walking. I dont know, I guess its splitting hairs really, just curious as to your opinions....
Oh and remember if you want to take part in the Secret Santa [cards only] please send me a pm with baby's name, dob and address. I've only got 2 PM's so far...
Cordelia
27-11-2007, 19:06
Breakfast - Caitlin has that new Rafferty's Garden cereal and then half a piece of toast with a tiny bit of vegemite.
she's been so grouchy the past couple of days... inconsolable. She doesn't appear to be teething. Where should the lump be on the top gum if it's a tooth??
korah - i'm fairly sure I pm'd you my private address with secret santa?? Come on everyone!! It's just a card I think.
Caitlin MAY have had a crumb of chocolate. Just a crumb... she accidentally got it off the tip of my finger but she has gone MAD.. she is screaming around the house. Never seen anything like it. Ewps.
korah - I think standing is different to walking... is she taking steps without support?
3Divas&me
27-11-2007, 19:44
Hi all, how you going- I won my bid on ebay this morn I got a brand new double pram (with pink trimming) for $121- $55 postage. Thats still under $200, and brand new, so pretty happy.
Breakfast- Usually Bridget has 1 weetbix, warmed with hot water and mixed with yoghurt. She normally likes it but lately she has gone off that so she has been eating dry Nutri-grain- seems to like it.
Acacia- funny about the topless incident. we pretty much co-sleep with bridget but getting quite difficult with growing belly. The co-sleeping is not by choice, its just from sheer tiredness and lack of enthusiasm or energy to get her back to sleep when she wakes at night.
Korah- how nasty of that daycare manger- she has been a right prat this year over a few issues.
Anyway have to go, dh is annoying me to go pick up our car that we have for sale- we have it sitting on a corner down the road where alot of cars sit that are for sale- trying to sell it obvioisly- but he does not want to leave it there o/n- esp when the sign in the car says- always garaged!:rolleyes:
Talk soon.
Lol of the bed sanctuary SammyG and others, yes know the sucksucksuck also Acacia. But I got sick of it about a month ago and that ole 'offer boiled water' really does work and after a week no waking. I started on a Friday night and made myself agree to it before going to bed. But before then would co-sleep 3- due to my tiredness. It was getting to 1.30- and that was too much for me. But will be so cute to remember when they're grubby 11yr olds :sunshine:
Hunter has either a banana or grated apple on his oats with cows milk. Same oats I eat. Sometimes has a weetbix instead. Will sound like my Mother..but Nutri-grain has a lot of sugar, so maybe why she's prefering it.
Cordelia, hope Caitlin and teeth settle v soon, Yep would also say teeth, sometimes they just seem to appear for H, no lumps!? He has lumps further back in. Oh and FAVORITE 'toy' now is one of those baby toothbrush packs. Loves holding the toothbrush, offering it to me and also trying to use it!?
KorahBlue, good on you for putting the childcare woman right. You'd think they'd be able to recognise gastro or LI!! The first often has other symptoms too?? Bummer for Macy, but as you say, at least an intolerance, not an allergy.
GReat to hear from you Hels!! Will have to follow yr Feb thread to see the lovely Reece :goodvibes:
Tabby Xmas shopping!! You legend! Wow. Great buying and selling of transport devices LiviesMum!! Love ebay too! Xmas shopping spot for me.:wave:H was asleep at 7pm. Am at lose end! Daylight and don't feel like starting work yet, :smiliedance:
3Divas&me
27-11-2007, 20:31
Hi so excited, thought I would post a picture of what the pram looks like:
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p316/liviesmum_2007/TwinPramPink-galFF5b15d.gif
It is so cute... and Pink!!
Oh charis, did not think of the sugar content in nutri-grain. DD1 is having it for breaky every morning and cant seem to get it past bridget without a tantrum!! Actually cant get any food past bridget without her sniffing it out- she is hilarious- if DD1 has something to eat, bridget has to have one TOO!!- LOL!
liviesmum: What a beautiful pram! Sounds like a bargain too. Good luck with the car sale, hope it happens soon for you.
Charis: Love your avatar! How do you get it to change like that??
Cordelia: I noticed Katies teeth I can see them on the top of gums and they go all white and swollen, Not always the case though, some just pop right out of the blue without any clues they're coming, so hopefully that explains her crankiness and they come soon.
Korah: Good for you telling her how it is!! Ide be angry too. Hope the house hunt comes to a end for you and as you say, goodbye to the silly biatch.
NOW!!!!
GUESS WHAT??????????????
Im engaged!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We just got home a couple hrs ago from picking a ring and it needs size adjustement and pickup not this Saturday but the Saturday after!!
We arent telling anyone untill that day, I told DP I would burst if had to hold it in that long lol
SO he said well tell your mums on bubhub!!
So there you go!
Am so so so SOOOOO Happy!!!! Cant wait till can take a pic and show yous it, its just BEAUTIFUL!!!
Oh and before you ask, no romantic, will you marry me, it was me saying "isnt it about time you at least made half a honest woman of me hun its almost 3 years and katie later..." OKAY!
So of we went to look hahaha
Cordelia
27-11-2007, 22:16
:flowerz:Congratulations Tabby (and Mr. Tabby):flowerz:
Strawberry_Shortcake
27-11-2007, 22:44
Tabby – Congratulations on getting engaged. Woohoo. So happy for you darl.:smiliedance:
Liviesmum – The pram is so groovy. I to love eBay.
Us – Not much is happening here. Talon is standing up on his own most of the time now.:eek: I freaked out this arvo when I had him in the bath and I turned around to grab his towel and yep he was standing up not holding onto anything, laughing at me. :hissy:T ate heaps for dinner tonight. We had shepherds pie and veggies and I gave him heaps and surprisingly he ate it all and then had a 250mls of milk when he went to bed.
Better get going I’m doing groceries tomorrow so I need to do my list. I’m going to try to get the rest of the kids stuff for there stockings aswell. I still have to get hubby a Christmas present, god knows what. Hubby started putting up the Christmas lights today, hoping he’ll finish the rest of it tomorrow.
Sleep well
Kel
aries_moon
28-11-2007, 04:29
CONGRATS TABBY ON YOUR ENGAGEMENT!!!:smiliedance:
That's so exciting for you guys!! I love the way you got him to seal the deal, had a little chuckle! Now hopefully you can top it off nicely with a lovely xmas :bfp:!!
Congrats also to the latest expecting mum, WILD AT HEART! We will have a similar age gap between our bubs!
Yes I agree with CHARIS, guess that brings the # up to 5. Oh and sorry, didn't mean to make myself scarce again....nope haven't told folks yet, but only cuz my mum has been away. She's back tomorrow, so will see her then and tell her the news in person!! Will be so much better as last time had to tell her over the phone. Telling dad on the weekend as he's coming into town to see the grandkids. It's been hard keeping this a secret, but kinda fun at the same time. I'm not feeling well at all this time. Had such a breezy pg with X, no ms, but about 5 days ago started ALL DAY ms, feels like i'm on a boat, can barely eat. Maybe it's a girl this time as it's starting to be such a different pg so far!
Little X is getting into all sorts of trouble.....he's figured out that if he bashes the computer hard enough the keys fall off, he then proceeds to put them in his mouth :nono: Also learned to pull off nappy, even in a cloth with snaps!! The chattering seems to really be picking up, it's so cute when I go to get him out of bed, he bounces on his bum and goes "ma ma ma'' so happy to see me I love it!!
Oh CORDELIA, with top teeth so far, it seems like the lump is at the very front of the gum iykwim? Not exactly coming down through, X is like that anyway, looks very weird until it's actually through.
Will try get on again soon, you are all sleeping when it's prime posting time for me!! Gotta make the most of my break with 2 bubs asleep at same time right now! (watching niece and Xavier!)
bye!
dragonflyblu
28-11-2007, 07:07
Our computer is having a spat so this is the third time I have tried this… arrgghh
Had a bad week last week. Clea got Gastro. Poor little thing. The first time she vomited I thought “okay this is bad but it will pass’ the second time, then the third time…. Well it went on for about 5 hours on and off till we decided to go to the hospital. The childrens hospital in our town was not what I expected. We thought we were in the wrong place. The foyer was empty, one lady at reception. A nurse came down and spoke to us and then went away for a few minutes. Then sent us to another level to see a doctor. They put us in a room with a cot, sink change table etc. Basically a private room. The whole floor was private rooms and it was quiet even though everyroom seemed to be occupied! We waited about an hour for a doctor and then they examined Clea, took blood, and put a drip in her head!!!! (I fainted at this point) Anyway, broken English conversations, not knowing exactly what was happening, all very stressful. Then a nice sister came and asked me what I would like for breakfast. Hmmmm we must be staying here overnight…. They then showed us to a room much like the first room but it had a single bed as well. We stayed 2 nights. First night on the drip all night with regular checks by nurses, and second night just for observation! They would only let us go home when Clea did a normal poo and wet nappies without the drip, they estimated it takes about 12 hours to determine this. The care was amazing and it makes me so angry to think how bad our Australian health care is. I should add that this was all PUBLIC, not private. Anyway the next day a sister explained that Clea had gastro. Blood tests were fine, nothing serious. Bad thing is that I got it and DH got it as well. But Clea is fine.
Okay now off to read the posts if the computer cooperates.
dragonflyblu
28-11-2007, 07:41
Im considering moving tom to his own bed. We have always co slept but now im craving my own space. Im in a share house so tom and i share a room and i feel like nothing is mine. Im just want to stretch out in my own bed without banging into tom or a bed-rail dammit! He goes into a cot at his dads and he seems to like it. The other night i slept without a top on because it was so hot and tom just latched on all morning. I sat up to get away from him and he was climbing up me...it was full on! I felt like a cow.
Ahh Acacia I am starting to think about this as well! I have started sleeping with a top otherwise Clea uses me like a dummy. We have a king sized bed, but over here (germany) the beds are like 2 singles pushed together, the base is one big base but the matress is 2, so I always sleep on a crack! getting pretty sick of it.
:geek: just found this. this is how I feel tonight!
:flowerz: Tabby congratulations. Will Katie be the flower girl?
kewlchicmum Clea doesnt really eat breakfast. I give her toast, sometimes cheese on toast. An egg. and sometimes yoghurt. She just plays with it all. Tried her on fruit and a few other things but her first main meal is her midmorning snack where she might finish about 2 tbs of food (guesstimate because she doesnt eat mushy food).
Congratulations Tabby! Wonderful news :smiliedance:
Dragonflyblu - So glad Clea is ok, poor liitle thing. Hope you and DH are on the mend.
I've been meaning to post in here for ages, I start to read a few pages and usually get sidetracked. I generally just skim the 'new posts' I keep telling myself I'll keep up with this thread, but it just doesn't seem to happen. :o
Lots happening in here...sorry..I will try and do personals later.
Now for a bit of a gloat lol.. Koby is walking!! He has been cruising and standing by himself for weeks and taken a few little steps, but last night he just started walking across the room. He'll be 10 months on Friday. He's so cute, he stops and steadies himself with a big grin and claps his hands.
Breakfast- K has Heinz Organic Apple & Mango cereal and some toast. He has 8 teeth (4 top and 4 bottom) and wants everything I eat. So I have to break little pieces off of whatever I'm eating and feed him too :rolleyes:
He is finally sleeping better. He still wakes a few times a night to be re-settled and I'm down to one feed a night! Still breastfeeding, he doesn't look like giving it up anytime soon.
tired*mummy
28-11-2007, 07:51
HI everyone
Tabby - CONGRATULATIONS thats fantastic! :hugs:
LiviesMum - Love the pram! I love ebay too, i'm looking for a few things for the girls b'days.
WildAtHeart - Congrats on the :bfp: :hugs:
US - Sierra can stand now without holding on to anything. Wont be long before she takes a few steps without holding onto stuff. She will walk holding only one of my hands, so dont think it will be much longer. She still doesnt have that 4th tooth yet but its not far away... been a little bit of a grumpy bum cos of it though. Shes eating really well. Has her 3 meals a day plus bottles & little snacks. I started giving her 50ml of cows milk in her 200ml bottles last week & now i have increased ot too 100ml of milk & 100ml of formula. She has had any reactions i dont think. Shes had stinkier poos & abit more than usual but not sure if thats cos of the milk or her teething. Shes starting to have a few tantys too :laughing: The other 2 didnt start that until they were about 18mths-2yrs lol.
I have'nt done any Christmas or B'day shopping yet. Hoping to get MIL to watch the kids on the weekend so DH & i can get out & have a look. We want to buy the girls a trampoline & probably a swing set or a cubby house... something like that anyway cos they love playing outside but dont have much. DD1 wrote a letter to Santa at kinder yesterday & wished for a cubby house lol... so maybe a cubby house as well as a trampoline. DH has wanted to get a trampoline for ages... secretly i think he really wants it for him :laughing:
Have a great day!
Strawberry_Shortcake
28-11-2007, 09:31
DFB – Sorry to hear little Clea had gasto, nothing worst i reckon. Glad she’s better.
Jenko – Great to hear from you. :smiliedance: for Kody walking.
Tired*Mummy – We brought one of those round trampoline with the nets around it and T loves it. Big w has a special on swing set. That special finishes today. We layby one the other day.
Talon is 11 months tomorrow. I’m going to try and get T weighed today while out shopping. No much happening T slept from 7 till 7 last night so happy with that :yelclap:. Better go have some washing to hang out, and need to get Talon dressed and hit the shops.
Have a great Wednesday girls
Kel
kewlchicmum
28-11-2007, 10:11
TABBY Congrads:smiliedance::yelclap:
kewlchicmum
28-11-2007, 10:12
Sorry first time trying to change font and colour didnt really work the way I wanted.......:confused:
3Divas&me
28-11-2007, 10:42
Wow, Crongratulations Tabby:smiliedance:- Finally hey? Good luck keeping it under wraps for the next 10 days- that will almost kill you!!:flowerz:
DFB- Sorry to hear about the gastro- amazing clinic visit though- how weird!! Sounds top notch though!
Congrats on walkers and standers- Talon, Koby and Sierra- clever bubbas! Bridget stands for a few seconds by herself then looses it, thought she might walk before xmas but putting that back a bit now- maybe before 1st bithday.
I feel like a complete zombie today- not quite midday and I have already had a nanna nap!:sleeping: I just hate the pressure feeling in the belly, bum and Va G-G! TMI, sorry.
Bridget is actually sleeping- I am scared of her waking up as it will be so full on!
Better go and make the most of my ME TIME!
Congrats Tabby on your engagement!! Excuse for a big party? :party:
Congrats Wildatheart on your :bfp:. Very exciting. I can't believe there's 5 now. Actually quite a large proportion of the Jan mum's group.
Charis, Cameron and Hunter still sound similar in many ways. He gets so excited too pushing shapes into his tupperware & fisherprice shape sorter once mum or dad have put it in place.
DFB - poor Clea. She's had a rough trot lately. Have the coldsores all cleared up at least?
Breakfast - usually farax apricot porridge or farax apple muesli. Made up with water then stir through yoghurt for creaminess. Lately eating about 3 tablespoons worth.
Sleeping - a good night last night, 8pm - 6am but first sleep through for a little while. He'll sleep through like an angel for up to 3 nights in a row and then not again for up to a week. The last few nights it was becasue he was absolutely soaked through, had to strip sheets twice. A side effect of how much he loves his water I think. Oh and massive naps yesterday. Almost 3 hours in the morning and another 2 in the afternoon. I thought getting older meant less sleep, not more!
Walking - not even close, just starting to try and pull himself up on things now. At his Kids in Harmony class yesterday a little 7 month old came up to me and held my hands to pull herself up to standing. Absolutely amazes me how different they all are. Got to witness a friends 14month DS take his first steps the other day which was pretty cool. Apparently no repeat performances yet though.
Hmmm. I'm sure there was much more to reply to but didn't take notes today.
Could be MIA for a while. We are moving end of next week followed by trip down to Sydney and Melb over xmas so lots of moving & travel preparations as well as work to be finished as well as bridesmaid dress to sew. Yikes. Better get to it.
Korah, will PM my details for Secret Santa (if it's still going ahead?).
kewlchicmum
28-11-2007, 11:37
Hey every one thanks for your breakfasts ideas I gave DS weetbix this morning he ate 1 whole one and also toast woho he is eating breaky agian :smiliedance:
Crawling So how many bubs are not crawling full on my DS is comando crawling every were and getting up on his knees and rocking and stuff just not crawling on his knees.
Well better get going we are off to bubs swimming lessons have a great day if I dont get back on here later.:wave:
Thanks everyone!!!!!!!!! Im so over the moon. :cloud9: Its so hard to keep it in lol
kewlchic, Katie is still only commando crawling. Loves to stand and "attempt" to walk but no way near ready. Be a while yet for her I think.
Liviesmum: Weve been together 3 years this march, not that long really.. Wedding might be a couple years yet...Might figure on the following anniversary of our getting together..march 2009.
Hope your feeling better soon xxx
Cat: We are fairly quiet people and real home bodies so a romantic dinner would be more our choice than a party.
DFB: Oh so happy to hear the lovely Clea is okay!!! Hope your all feeling better soon.
So many posts since last night!!
Will have to do a general for the rest..SORRY!
Congrats to walkers and standers and Hi to everyone, must run! DP ( soon to be DF awwww!!! hehe) is a early day today and havnt done a thing! Not that he cares but I do like to try to at least look like Ive not sat on my butt all day or visiting ppl lol
Oh and the ring cost a "few" dollars more than agreed upon limit, his reply when saw the ring was .."oh yer thats the one".."price?" : reply the lady tells him and.... He says.."ah well its only money hun and it is beautiful, so yer its okay". I almost cried there and then.
YES this is why Im making this one legal, hes not getting away!!!! Valentine
oh and yes Katie would be a flower girl, awww never thought of that part yet and I think It just melted my heart just thinking about it..
Massive Congrats Tabby! Your non-proposal sounds much like mine. I was 31wks pg with DS1, we were driving home from the coast and I basically said "Are we going to do it or not because we have to book it now?" We were married 5wks later and had DS1 exactly 4wks after that. Missed out on the engagement ring though!!!!! Got a very pretty Diamond wedding band instead.
Congrats to all the walkers and those standing. M is now being a pain in the a$$, standing in his cot every 10 secs instead of lying down! Trouble is he has no trouble getting up but can't get down!
Wish blardy AF would hurry up and arrive, I have been spotty (face) and crampy for days (was due mon)
Liviesmum, love the pram & I'm a big fan of ebay too!
Sammy; You reminded me of how have been asking dp to put Katie's cot level down for last 3 days as knew she was close to standing in it, 1 knee and 1 leg up. Yep this morning she was up, and same as Michael she cant get down lol.
Lucky hes off early today, he has a cot to lower!
thanks xx,
yer "will you marry me" part hmm.... if I had left it up to him it would be like my getting flowers..... ..easy going and sometimes too easy going but that said he wont do something he doesnt want to either iykwim same as yours??? Sounds like it hehe
argh men hey! As they say behind every great man lays a woman and no wonder why..they need someone to put the fire cracker up thier butt to make em move LOL
Hes a good man and as Long as we get there in the end is what counts. Hes mine, thats all that matters..Oh did I say how I think I am the happiest I have EVER been so far in my life..I have the daughter I thought I would never have and a beautiful and wonderful Man beside me. Never thought I would have this again
oh jeez I hate it when I go all soppy LOL
Just thought i would finally get my bum into gear and say hello to all you January mummies. I have tried to come in and say hello before but just get too shy and not known what to say.
Anyways my name is Carly and i have a 2 year old named Madison and my Jan baby Kaylee who is almost 11 months now. We live in Darwin, i have been here since i was 5 hubby got posted here about 4 years ago.
Hello again and hope to get to talk to you guys abit more.
Cya.
hi carly ... welcome!
tabby ... congrats!
DFB ... sorry to hear that clea & you & your dh have all been sick.
liviesmum ... love that pram!
wildatheart ... congrats!
I got Josh's ears checked on Monday and they were fine, so I don't know what was going on Saturday night when he got up 6 times, maybe he missed his daddy. I certainly did!
I must admit that I'm struggling with this stage. As much as I love hearing mum, dad, ta, bub, etc and seeing all the things that josh can now do, I'm finding time management and daytime sleep routines a hassle. I think it's cause he's still getting me up overnight and I'm losing at least 1 - 2 hours of overnight sleep each night. But, during the day he's now up for as long as 5 1/2 hours in a row (I remember when 2 hours was a long time) and then only sleeping for 1/2 hour, then going for another 5 hours. I'm exhausted when he finally gets to sleep at night (which is usually 8 - 10pm) that I just watch a little bit of tv, have a quick chat with my dh and then go to sleep. Only to start again before 7am the next day. If he was happy to play and let me do things (other than sit within 1 metre of him) it would be ok. But, for 80% of the time that he is up he wants me really close and keeps rubbing his eyes and grizzling on and off. But, if I try and put him to bed, the mere act of going into his room seems to give him energy from nowhere and he wants to play again. Currently I gave up and put him in his cot to see if he'll put himself to sleep. No, he's giggling and talking and having a ball ... just realised why - I bet he's peaking over the top of the cot and looking in the mirror! He has no toys in there.
Anyway, enough whinging, should go make the most of having a happy baby.
Whooohooooo! Tabbycongrats on the good news and bad luck on the BFN. Remind me when you come over I've got a PG test sitting in the cupboard you can have.
Great to hear we have some walkers (I'm happy it's not TJ yet!:laughing:) and crawlers.
Congrats on the BFP Wild@Heart (Wild@Heart)
Welcome M&Ksmum, no need to be shy amongst us.
mouse: singing twinkle twinkle!! HOW? That's amazing!!
We've got the hand action going and she just chatters and I think I can pick out 'tar, tar, tar'
Heya Tabby yes I have spoken to MouseBrown we have not meet but have talked on and off in the FIFO thread....its been real quite in that thread of late.....mmmm:detective:
Sorry kewlchic, haven't had the time to get down the to FIFO threads lately.
Us....Our flights home went really well with no dramas ffrom either DD. We've had some cr@ppy nights since returning home with TJ waking every hour or so and not settling without a drink. Last night was the best with wakes at 11.30, 12.30, 1.30 (paedemon), 5.30, 6.30.
Can't remember who else's bub is lactose intollerant, but I can understand your frustration with the daycare and their inability to understand what lactose intollerance is.
Had better go, and at least pretend to do some work today,
Lisa
Charis; LOL Love the email, very funny and quite true for much of it. thanks for the laugh.
Mouse: Welcome home!!!! Nice to go away but also nice to be back home?
Mim: When Katie is having a bad day with short naps and very cranky I push her round in the pram when I need to get up and move and do something. Popping the clean clothes on her to hold while we travel to her room and sit beside the pram to fold and put away, all the while chatting to her including her, helps to get at least some things done BUT Suppose youve tried that..Hope it gets better soon for yous.
back soon, ds1 here for a visit
o wow this thread has gone bonkers overnight - I think its your fault Tabby.....CONGRATULATIONS!!!! wow, doesn't matter how it happened, as you said, they wouldn't do it if they didn't want to!! I remember when my (now) DH asked me, I was so shocked as I thought it was never going to happen for me. I think I blew it by not responding positively enough! Poor darling got a ring out of my jewellery box as a substitute before he bought me one but unbeknown to him it was my parents' engagement ring. As they separated when I was about 9, I refused to put it on! It has made me happier than I ever had imagined anyway so I really hope the same for you. Valentine
Well to lower the tone slightly, I had a horrible poo experience this afternoon. Hamish was straining a bit at lunch so I thought maybe a bit constipated. Anyway, changed his nappy after a small poo (tmi I know) and as it was 35 degrees today I let him have some nappy free time. Well, caught him after doing the rest of the poo on the bedroom carpet. eeeuw. cleaned it and him up reasonably easily but as I was doing so he did another one which got smeared into the carpet, all over him, and nearly made it into his mouth!!! I just grabbed him and plonked him in a bucket of cold water left over from last nights' bath that was in the bathroom! Must have been a bit of a shock for him but he was pretty cool about it. Quite excited maybe as he didn't do his usual afternoon sleep at all!
Sorry I can't remember all the posts there have been so many but Mim it sounds to me like Josh could do with some 'sleep training' to get him into bed earlier and give you a bit of a break. It was hard, and Hamish was labelled 'difficult' by two sleep nurses I saw (one at 4 weeks and one at about 7 months) but my once terrible sleeper is now close to text book so I know it can be done! The worst is that I really think you have to go through the controlled crying. I found that much easier once I knew the crying was 'angry' rather than 'upset' iykwim...sorry if this is preaching what you already have heard a zillion times before but I so know what its like to try and get by on too little sleep. I lay in bed last night from about 2am to 3.30am thinking about all the christmas and birthday presents I have to buy in the next two months! What I was going to say was, Hamish doesn't always look tired but I find if I get him into bed after 2.5 or 3 hours up he is easier to get to sleep than if he is up for longer. This afternoon he didn't get a sleep and hardly showed it but I know he needed it. Does this make sense?
There was a good article in the Australian magazine last weekend about sleep and how school aged children these days just aren't getting enough and its affecting their progress at school. I'll copy and send to anyone who pms me if they want? Very worth a read I think.
Sorry for this mammoth post, got a bee in my bonnet!
kx
Oh WOW WOW WOW WOW Tabby WONDERFUL NEWS!!!! I love Cordelia's congrats to Mr Tabby too! Congratulations!!
I love how Freddie, you moved from the profound emotions of marriage to poo! Of course makes perfect sense here +to all of us. Oh ick the Number2 number2! Yes they are dangerous in close contact with carpet! Glad you had the bath water handy.
LiviesMum, very lovely pram, girls will look so v sweet in it! Hope you're feeling better.
Welcome Maddy&KayleesMum. Great to hear fromyou and looking forward to hearing about your DDs.
Great on the flight home MouseBrown, but what was with that waking!?? ECK. Past tense, past tense hopefully now.
Mim1 your description of J is one we all know, I reckon. The stay up for 5hrs and only sleep for 1/2hr. Yup, had one of those I think here! They get so 'horribly' excitable and over tired don't they. H has a particular v naughty looking grin and clambering action then. Nights, to bore everyone again, we're just on water and it works, he doesn't get up at all and wakes up rarely now. Days, if he has a 1/2hr sleep then I always try to put him back to sleep. Of course sometimes give up and head off to do what I want to do, makes it easier to tolerate, doesn't it! I have a friend who insists on some cot time, at least, when her DS is supposed to be asleep. H whinges a bit, but then starts 'wrecking' his cot, with much happiness, I think he thinks its 'work', pulling up the sheets, standing and looking around, reaching anything he can..all while he can hear me washing dishes etc. Its a good break for us both.
DFB Great that Clea is all well now, and amazing treatment that your German hospital gave. WOW! Have you read Stasiland? Great book, v interesting, and so recent!
Aries_moon! YAH YAH YAH, let us know how telling the folks goes?? How wonderful. Can you link some videos or shots of X?? Love to see his smiley wake up happy face!! xx
KewlchicMum, Had about 3wks of commando and then the knees came into action. Then the next day pulling up, yikes. Now H trys to climb over the door barrier!? The playpen came just in time.
Well night night. Wonderful wonderful news Tabby!!!!
aries_moon
29-11-2007, 01:57
[QUOTE=Charis;2141396]
Aries_moon! YAH YAH YAH, let us know how telling the folks goes?? How wonderful. Can you link some videos or shots of X?? Love to see his smiley wake up happy face!! xx
[QUOTE]
Yep new pics in the other thread!
dragonflyblu
29-11-2007, 02:43
tabby i do that with clea as well. I have 2 prams, one outside one which is a huge 4 wheeler for the snow! and one buggy that is easy to push around the flat. Doesnt always work but at least I can shower most days
:goodvibes: took me ages to work out what this emoticon was!
mim1 aww he sounds like a happy chuckly baby. how exhausting! I'm not sure how to say this but just in case you consider control crying do some research on it first. It is a bit controversial. Clea is a bad sleeper as well. but i am not very good with routines. my friend uses sleep cues, like objects that are associated with sleep, a certain blanket, a certain toy. but this is her second and she did this from day one... might work now.
Thanks everyone. I think he's just hugely overtired and not been able to put himself to sleep. Yesterday afternoon he was awake for 6 1/2 hours, then slept for only 1/2 hour. We tried everything after he woke up from that sleep and still had nearly an hour of hysterical screaming. And I mean hysterical ... he was sobbing, coughing, nearly vomiting, over and over again (despite being in our arms). Nothing we did or said settled him. So, we decided to take him for a walk. Of course, the walk kept him quiet, but he didn't go to sleep. When we got home he was talkative and happy, then played for an hour, did a poo (that must have been the problem), fed and went to sleep. He woke twice overnight, resettling in seconds, and went for 10 hours between feeds. I think I should whinge more often - it makes him have good sleeps!
Oh and this morning, while we were waiting for mum to pick him up he was sleepy in my lap, but I needed to pack his stuff so I put him in the pram with a toy. He wasn't interested in the toy and still looked sleepy so I tucked a blanket around him and within 10 minutes he was sound asleep ... and no crying or anything before sleep.
So, I do think that I just have to try harder at the 2 - 3 hour mark to get him to sleep as freeddie suggested and I will try the cot time as a time out.
Oh and I do need to add that he's probably got gastro or something at the moment and he had about 10 poo's yesterday, which is probably why he was so grumpy.
Anyway, he's off with mum at the moment (she took him in the pram for a walk instead of waking him), and I need to do a million things. Sorry for no personals.
yay Josh!! I had exactly the same last night. Was complaining at MG and on here that Hamish seems to be creeping from a 5.30 morning BF to a 4.30 BF and last night he roused at 4am, self-settled and then slept until 6! It always helps to get it out there! Anyway, I was just going to say that the other very good piece of advice we got, as Charis said, is to use the cot as 'time out' even if they don't sleep. It gives you a break and them some down time. It often takes Hamish half an hour or so to go to sleep during the day, usually more like 15 minutes but yesterday he was chatting away for over an hour! (unusual). Even though he didn't sleep he wasn't all that grumpy for the rest of the day. It sounds like poor Josh has other troubles too which make it difficult for you though. good luck!
kx
ps yes, also we use 'sleep cues' so Hamish gets excited about saying good night to all of his teddies before bed now. its really cute.
3Divas&me
29-11-2007, 12:08
Hey guys, how are things today? I am feeling much better I had a nanna nap yesterday morning followed by a big 3 hr sleep after lunch. I was so exhausted and almost in tears. Luckily Dh had no jobs on and was home- I looked at him and said I cant cope I need sleep please watch Bridget so I can do this, so he let me sleep. Felt so much better when i woke up!
Mim- totally understand about this age- it does get more strenuous when they have less sleep as they are more active and in to everything too!! And until they really understand the meaning of NO- well....
Freddie- horrible but hilarious poo story- for us mums not experiencing it yet. I must admit was lucky enough not to have the poo experience with DD1 and touchwood- not yet with dd2- poor sil has had big bad experiences with all 3 of her children- I think you are lucky if you can escape without one!! LOL.
I have just read so much I have forgotten what people have said- sorry if I have misssed something important!
Bridget is going well- had my friend come over with her twins this morning that are 7 months- bridget just loved them! She was so funny she just wanted to jump all over them- she was really excited to see them.
Better go and have some lunch and get ready to get some groceries!!
Talk soon.:flowerz:
liviesmum: :hugs:, hope the extreme tiredness passes for you soon, Yay that DH let you catch up and hope your feeling better.
freddie: Yep agree on the cot time out, Katie is doing that right now, she was showing tired signs but 1/2 later still nattering away in there, should drop off eventually. Same here that even if she doesnt nap she seems to feel better.
mim: good luck with cot time out, :fingerscrossed: it works and he goes to sleep eventually with no problems.
hmm alls quiet in there now so took 1/2 hr but now shes out for the count. hehe
dfb: oh goodness yes! the shower time, I cant function wihout one and waiting for DF <--FIRST TIME USED haha) to come home is not a option, so into the pram , strapped in and she watches me shower lol. I play peekaboo with the curtain if she gets grumpy.
Aries: Will check out the pics soon as done here.
Glad you got some up for us xx
freddie: thanks xx Am sure I will have the happiness for ever, same as you by the sounds of it, he sounds adorable too. :hugs:
Okay, update on our ring..I changed my mind!! and im glad I did, found a even better and nicer one. Half price so still cost us the same as original one. I cant wait to get it on..OH and Tuesday pickup not a week later like other, so now I only have to hold it in till tues and not the saturday after YAY lol
The original one was only on hold ( no obligation ) till we went back the next day..of course we canceled that.
Its so beautiful its just a lone diamond, no side ones and no fancy patterns, its a dazzler all by itself, becuase of its cut and quality it needs nothing more if you know what I mean.
I keep getting teary today...Overload of happiness?? :goodvibes:
Tabby ... you're allowed to be happy! Being newly engaged gives you that right. I remember being very happy that dh finally asked the question! :yes: We got engaged on Australia Day and I was due with Josh on Jan 27th (6 years later), we were really hoping he'd wait that long. It was a disappointment when I had to be induced 10 days early. Oh well.
liviesmum ... I love it when I can get an afternoon sleep without having to worry about what josh is doing. I'm glad it refreshed you. Josh is thankfully getting better with the word 'no' ... yesterday I heard this clicking noise and wondered what he was doing. Then, I realised he was flicking the switch on the powerpoint that is next to his playpen. I said a firm no and he stopped. He is yet to do it again.
freddie ... :yelclap: for hamish's sleep!
mum's been in charge of josh all day. I joined them for an hour or so at lunchtime, but it's now nearly 5pm and he's still at my parents house. I talked to dad (and Josh) a little while ago and it's so funny to hear dad talking about crawling around on the floor with Josh and having lots of fun. My dad loves his grandchildren.
Better go do something. Apart from sleeping (which was great!), watching tv, and eating lunch I haven't done much at all today. I should at least get the wet washing out of the machine.
Congrats Tabby!Valentine Thats so cool!
Im glad you got some reprieve mim. I hope Josh stays settling.
We are going well. Last night was a good one, although Tom has picked up his midnight feeds again. I'm guessing i have to work on that. I think i will try the water in the bottle.
Sorry im feeling pretty tired, so not much to say!
kewlchicmum
29-11-2007, 22:50
Heya all thanks for your advise on breaky its been a hit of late Lachlan is eating 1 and a half weetie and toast woho I am so excited he is eating breaky again.:smiliedance:
kewlchicmum
29-11-2007, 22:52
Oh and before I forget Charis the background pic was taken down South a couple years ago now ummm not to sure were abouts will have to get back to you on that one.....lol
Another good night! :smiliedance: He fed at 9pm, then didn't feed again til 6am. He needed resettling at about 11pm and 2am, but both times only took a few minutes. He was only up for an hour at 6am, so I now have time to myself again :)
Bread ... do your bubs play with their bread, more than actually eat it? I have only been offering Josh bread for a couple of weeks and he loves it, but most of it ends up on his highchair or the floor. I find it hard to know if he actually eats any of it. Is toast better than fresh bread?
Mim, glad Josh is sleeping better. There really is nothing worse. We went through extreme sleep deprivation a few months back (both him and me!). I would spend up to an hour trying to re-settle him after a short day nap because he was so obvioulsly tired, but he would just fight it. It was sooo exhausting. I would end up in tears all the time and so emotional from it all.
Koby sleeps pretty good now. A short 30-40min nap in the morning about 8 or 9am (depending on wake up time 5 or 6am) then has another sleep around midday or early arvo. He wakes up 30mins later, like clockwork. But I can re-settle him and get another hour out of him (ususally) Sometimes he has 3 short naps of a day.
Night time is bed at 7-7.30pm and he wakes about 3 times a night for a quick re-settle and I feed him once. Somewhere between 12-4am. Then awake between 5-6am.
Oh Freddie that poo story sounded like fun, not! A good story for when he's older.
kewlchicmum, good to hear Lachlan is eating brekky again. Koby is going through a non brekky stage atm, just preferring a bit of toast.
liviesmum, go the nanna nap. They always used to get me through the dinner stage much more refreshed and tolerable.
Tabby your ring sounds lovely. You'll have to post a pic when you get it
korahblue
30-11-2007, 09:24
Congratulations Tabby
That is awesome news!! I hope you both live happily ever after with your gorgeous family.
Last reminder as today is the final day to send me a PM to get in on the Secret Santa [card only] So far we have 5 kiddies on the list
Just a quick one as Im at work. Enjoy your day ladies
Just a quick one, have heaps to do today
Mim: YAYAYAY for the good night!!
Katie has been having both toast and bread for ages, Shes only just now started to actually eat a fair bit more than ends up over the side. If not toasted then day old bread is better imo, not so cluggy and less like play dough when chewed on lol.
Oh and a fav of Katies, grilled cheese, either one sided under the grill, or in the pan sandwich one.
Depending on how much ends up in the high chair ill top her up with some yogurt or something if I think shes played with more than eaten.
thanks for ALL the congrats, You are all like best friends on here and to be able to share it with yous is really wonderful xxx
back later
Good boy Josh!
Bread....Tom eats it a lot. He has 2 pieces of toast with vegemite for breaky...crust removed and a banana, or orange. He eats it all.
Hi Everyone, thankyou for the welcomes.
Firstly Tabby congratualtions, it's so exciting when someone gets engaged. Have you set a date yet? It's so cute that your DD will be your wedding. We had our DD's in our wedding too they looked so cute.
Mim - I'm having the same problem with Kaylee at the moment. It's so hard to keep her entertained when she so tired but won't go to sleep.
Freddie - Very funny story, i haven't had that happen to me yet :fingerscrossed: it doesn't lol.
This morning i found Madison in my room drawing some lovly pictures on my walls with one of my lip sticks :hair:. She had gone in there when i was changing Kaylee. It's almost impossible trying to change Kaylees nappy she absoultly hates it. Anyways now i don't know what to do, i've tried getting it out but it's staining the walls abit. I think i'm going to try those magic erasers things, apparently they work really well.
Sorry that i haven't said something to everyone but there are so many of you lol. I will get there everntually i promise.
just a VERY quick one as I have heaps to do...Maddy... be careful with the magic eraser. I had an email recently about a case in the US where a child liked to clean the walls himself after drawing on them. the eraser has some chemical in it and he ended up with really bad chemical burns. So don't let the kids touch it!! Not that you probably would anyway but just in case.
Yay for Josh's sleep too. Oh, and Hamish has bread or toast but I find normal sandwich bread gets claggy too so I give him the same bread as I have which is a spelt wholemeal. he likes bread or toast and I add avocado or ricotta or sometimes spread baked beans into it so he gets his protein in the morning. One weetbix this morning but he'd only eat the second half if he could put the spoon in his mouth himself. At least it was sticky so didn't make too much mess!
blah blah blah again...gotta go.
kx
Cameron is just starting to eat more of his toast or bread than he plays with. Mind you it still gets dragged all around the house before making it into his tummy. I've discovered that he is not actually a fussy eater or small eater, just a SLOW eater. Since I've been letting him take more time with his food, even if it means he plays around with it, he has been eating so much more.
He has wholegrain toast in the morning with a little butter & jam and sometimes wholegrain bread spread with avacado & cottage cheese at lunch.
On sleeping, I find it funny how relative it all is as to what we call a good or bad night. If I describe C's sleeping patterns to one person they say "OMG, you poor thing" whereas another may say "sounds pretty normal" or "that's great". All depends what you expect I guess!
wild at heart
30-11-2007, 11:02
What I was going to say was, Hamish doesn't always look tired but I find if I get him into bed after 2.5 or 3 hours up he is easier to get to sleep than if he is up for longer. This afternoon he didn't get a sleep and hardly showed it but I know he needed it. Does this make sense?
My sleep angel people told me recently that at this age it's better to get them sleeping at regular times than watching tired signs (unless of course they are falling asleep!!). I don't know if that helps... but I agree with Freddie about getting some help with sleeping.. is there someone who could look at the whole picture? I know that the sleep clinic I went to did full diagnostics on kids to rule out allergies and intolerances as they see a strong link between allergies/ medical issues etc and sleep.
I wish you all the best MIM!! I think we can all relate to how you feel even if we haven't been through it to your extent (you poor thing !)
freddie, we had the same experience here with the weetbix this morning! Last night she started with the wanting to spoon feed herself, again this morning..oh dear and we thought it was messy before!! lol.
After the breakfast talk here I realised I really needed to get her to eat breaky ( more than nibble toast) as its such a important meal. Last two days half a weetbix and today almost a whole one. No idea what changed to get there though lol.
maddy&kayleesmum: Ah we all have that to look forward to again soon too!. Hope you get the stains out.
The boys didnt do much at all like that, I think DS2 drew on a hallways wall with texta when he was 3 was about it. lucky? I would say yes! No poo stories there either *whew*! So far....
wild at heart
30-11-2007, 11:22
TABBY... congratulations.. so happy for you!!
Welcome Maddy and Kaylee's mum- you have two bubs close together.. you will have to share your experiences with us!!
Early morning wakeups:
Does anyone have any helpful hints I can try to stop the early morning wakeups (which have started in the last week... maybe from teeth but i'm over them!! he he
Normally sleeps from 7pm- 6am but waking up by 5am, and 4.25am this morning. I am trying re-settling til 6 which I am happy to do, but can anyone think of a reason why he would be waking up so early? Putting him to bed later is not the option as it didn't work last night.
I can't feed him and put him back to bed, I don't think, as he doesn't want a bar of it, and I don't want him in our bed as he chatters and giggles to dh and I may as well be up with him..
He gets tired too early in the mornings if he wakes early which puts the whole day out..
I should go back to do more work... i'm working from home and alex is asleep
I am starting to feel really dizzy and fuzzy in my head :dizzy:.. but not:barf: yet.. but expect it won't be long.. had worst ms last time then it stopped for a while then I had vomiting from reflux til the end.. :fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed: i really don't want to be puking at christmas... yay.. NOT !!
wild at heart ... no suggestions sorry for early waking
I don't know about getting lipstick off walls but it sounds tricky. Let us know what ends up working!
I tried josh on toast this morning and it was much worse than bread. For some reason it went more gluggy (sp?) and icky ... and of course he didn't actually eat much, instead he smeared it over me, himself and the chair (yeah, he found a bit he'd dropped from his highchair and ate it during playtime).
Any suggestions on getting josh to take formula? I'm trying to start weaning him, but he still won't drink from a sippy cup of any kind and he spat the bottle out. He drinks water from a cup (normal cup), but it's tedious and slow. He just spat the formula out that I put in a cup. Of course, he's blowing raspberries almost constantly today - it's his new trick and that made feeding him apple this morning challenging too ... and dh got covered in formula this afternoon.
Mim: Have you tried a few different temperatures?
I find Katie likes hers just with the chill taken off now.
Luckily Katie is sleeping well this morning, have so much school work to catch up on with EDU visit due Tuesday!! eek, its getting harder now with Katie actually needing more attention as gets older. Will be glad when its all over, hes looking for work as of now.
Early morning wakeups:
Does anyone have any helpful hints I can try to stop the early morning wakeups (which have started in the last week... maybe from teeth but i'm over them!! he he
Normally sleeps from 7pm- 6am but waking up by 5am, and 4.25am this morning. I am trying re-settling til 6 which I am happy to do, but can anyone think of a reason why he would be waking up so early? Putting him to bed later is not the option as it didn't work last night.
The coming teeth are probably the reason for the sudden early mornings, but you might just have an early riser, DD1&2 was/is one.
Another good night! He fed at 9pm, then didn't feed again til 6am. He needed resettling at about 11pm and 2am, but both times only took a few minutes. He was only up for an hour at 6am, so I now have time to myself again
Bread ... do your bubs play with their bread, more than actually eat it? I have only been offering Josh bread for a couple of weeks and he loves it, but most of it ends up on his highchair or the floor. I find it hard to know if he actually eats any of it. Is toast better than fresh bread?
:smiliedance:for a good night. TJ slept well last night too. She woke at 11 (Dh was still up so dealt with her) then slept 'til 5.
As for bread/toast, TJ devours hers, unless she's not hungry, then she plays with it. If I'm going to offer a sandwich for lunch I'll offer it before anything else, then she's sure to eat it all.
Probably won't find time this weekend to get online, so have a good one.
Lisa
Wild...all i can think of is to put him to bed an hour later...day light savings stuffed Tom up a bit for a while. I have also tried feeding tom and hour later and that got him to sleep a bit longer. Is bubs in cot? Maybe chuck in a few toys and ignore him!
Thanks Freddie, i might try a few other things first then. I might call my grandmother tonight she had 7 kids so i'm hoping she will have a solution for me.
Wild at heart, Kaylee has been doing the same. I am getting use to starting my day at 5am, i have been putting a couple of toys in her cot the night before which keeps her amused for abit in the morning. I can sometimes stay in bed for another half hour.
It can get hard with the girls so close in age but apparently the 1st year is always the hardest. Now that Kaylee is walking it has been easier because her and Madison seem to be interacting alot more. Kaylee just follows Maddy around which Maddy always thinks is funny.
I know what you mean Tabby, i'm studing at the moment too. I have 1 week left till i finish my course and only half way through my major assignment. Kaylee just gets into everything and with Madison being able to open doors they can end up any where in the house. I try and only study when they are asleep which is mostly at night by then i am so tired. Sometimes during the day i'm lucky because they will sleep at the same time so i will try and do as much as i can then. I will try and do some at work too but thats only 2 days a week.
wild at heart
30-11-2007, 14:19
thanks for the advice.. maybe i might put toys in his cot as a last resort.. but i'd love him to sleep til 5.30, just so then if he woke 30 min early it would be 5 not 4.30.. eek!! Today I kept him up for a while this am to try to get his rotine back- when he was yawning at 8 I thought it as a bit ridiculous.. I put him back down at 2 without a peep so :fingerscrossed:.. but things could be worse.. he does sleep at night (gee sound like a whinger when so many bubs don't sleep at night).. you know mim, we would all help if we were closer.. thank good ness for your mum.. otherwise you might feel like :banghead::banghead: or going loopy..:dizzy:
Maddy&kaylee's mum- glad that both gals sleep at same time- that's what I am hoping for here!!
wild at heart
30-11-2007, 14:22
It can get hard with the girls so close in age but apparently the 1st year is always the hardest. Now that Kaylee is walking it has been easier because her and Madison seem to be interacting alot more. Kaylee just follows Maddy around which Maddy always thinks is funny.
I know what you mean Tabby, i'm studing at the moment too. I have 1 week left till i finish my course and only half way through my major assignment. Kaylee just gets into everything and with Madison being able to open doors they can end up any where in the house. I try and only study when they are asleep which is mostly at night by then i am so tired. Sometimes during the day i'm lucky because they will sleep at the same time so i will try and do as much as i can then. I will try and do some at work too but thats only 2 days a week.
What a superwoman.. uni, work and two little girls.. :wizard: WOW :wizard:
wild at heart
30-11-2007, 14:28
Any suggestions on getting josh to take formula? I'm trying to start weaning him, but he still won't drink from a sippy cup of any kind and he spat the bottle out. He drinks water from a cup (normal cup), but it's tedious and slow. .
What are you wanting to do? Just cut out one feed then gradually drop another one by the time he is 1 or do you want to do it more quickly?
I don't know about these things (so I should shut up, I s'pose) ... but is is the formula itself? I dunno if its the done thing but can you mix EBM with it? Will he take a bottle of expressed milk?
What a superwoman.. uni, work and two little girls.. :wizard: WOW :wizard:
It's just a night class that i'm doing on basic accounting so it's not as stressful as Uni but thankyou lol.
What are you wanting to do? Just cut out one feed then gradually drop another one by the time he is 1 or do you want to do it more quickly?
I don't know about these things (so I should shut up, I s'pose) ... but is is the formula itself? I dunno if its the done thing but can you mix EBM with it? Will he take a bottle of expressed milk?
I was thinking the same thing and maybe just gradually reduce the amount of EBM. I don't know too much about weaning as i FF both girls pretty early on (thats another long story which i'm not going to go into). I hope you find something that works for you and Josh though.
tired*mummy
30-11-2007, 15:21
HI everyone
Maddy&KayleesMum - :wave: & welcome!
Cant think of what i was gonna type or what i've just read lol. Mid afternoon blank lol.
WildAtHeart - My DD1 & 2 are 12mths apart. DD1 on Christmas Day & DD2 on Boxing Day. Now when i look back i dont know how i coped but just did lol. I think one of the hardest things is being pregnant when you have other children or child to look after. My girls get along great though so we dont have too many dramas.
Mim - I have no ideas on how to get Josh to take formula. I'm trying to get Sierra to have water or juice but she wont drink it out of a sippy cup or bottle. She will drink it if i hold a normal cup up to her mouth. With formula she is quite fussy though... she has to have it really warm otherwise she spits it everywhere & cracks it.
Us - Got the girls trampoline today... not putting it up til their b'days, so its hidden away in the garage. Have to do the rest of their b'day shopping sometime over the weekend. I have no ideas what to get Sierra yet though. She already has heaps of toys. Shes so much closer to walking..... been trying to encourage her but spose she will do it in her own time. Cute to watch though & exciting.
Well better get some things done & think about what to make for dinner. Have a great weekend all. Cant believe its December tomorrow... :eek: This year has gone so fast!
Cordelia
30-11-2007, 15:53
Wow - there has been so much action on here in the past couple of days I don't know where to start!!! (I had to write notes along the way!) It's all good tho.
Early morning wakeups - yes!!! ME TOO!! Mostly it's around 6:15 but if you take daylight savings into account that is actually 5:15!!! No thanks. I know that putting bub to bed later will not help.. they actually will sleep longer the earlier you put them to bed. Which is what DH and I plan to start tonight... putting her to bed at 7:00 (maybe even earlier) rather than 7:30. Let you know how it goes.
Weaning onto formula: Mim, could you let Josh get hungrier? It mightn't work the first time but eventually he might realise that if he doesn't take the milk then he won't get anything else. And also, I was thinking, you can put them onto cows milk at 12 months so maybe it's worth doing that? I was lucky with Caitlin - she took to it really quickly. Oh, and I agree with taking the chill off it too - Caitlin doesn't like it cold.
OH AND!!! mim - heinz is really good formula to come off breastfeeding with - been really successful with BF mum's at playgroup - the other brands have quite a strong taste.
And water: Caitlin's just started drinking this. She would always go from a glass (coz she liked putting her hands in it!!) but a friend from playgroup lent me a take n toss cup and Caitlin LOVES it. I don't know why it's any different to the couple of $16 sippy cups I bought but hey - very happy!!
Thanks for reading if you got this far :P
jacstar31
30-11-2007, 16:31
wow - can't believe how much has been happening here.
I offer my congratulations to you too Tabby - I had to go back a bit and find out exactly what all the congrats were for...lol!! if you need any help on budget ideas for weddings, let me know, I did ours on a shoestring!:smiliedance:
we have got Geoffrey's 1st birthday party tomorrow, combined with DSS 9th birthday party. Geoffrey birthday is actually the 12 Dec, but we had to have it earlier due to a number of other family birthdays etc.
Geoffrey drinks water with juice, but LOVES drinking water from my water bottle, will drink heaps like that!!
gotta go, have a baby trying to get my attention...come back later xx
Yeah, this thread has gone nuts today!
happybirthday Geoffrey - our first bub's birthday party!! Have a great day Jacstar!
Thanks for the suggestions on formula. I might get some of the heinz formula and I think I'll heat it up. It doesn't seem to matter what the liquid is though, he just won't take it - EBM, formula or water. Mum's tried formula at her house with no success at all. I do wait til he's really hungry - it was 7 hours since his last milk feed and when I BF him after the failed formula he had a big feed. I am going back to work in 2 months and he will be weaned by then whether he likes it or not ... somehow :rolleyes:
I'm impressed by those of you who manage more than one, especially with a small age gap. The other night Josh was playing with my nephew (2 weeks younger) and I put them both on my knee for a cuddle and I thought "oh, so this is what twins would be like ... it's not so bad" ... no sooner had I said that to myself that they both tried to get off my knee at the same time, in opposite directions! They are both over 10kg, so they won - they got down! :)
Mim, Michael has been on formula for 4 months now and barely takes 500mls per day. I visited the clinic today for a quick weigh in and they said not to worry at all as long as he was having 3 serves of dairy a day. That's a yoghurt, cheese stick and a custard. M now weighs 9.6kg. His first bottle of the day is his best - he finishes 200mls. And as long as there is water during the day (in food is included) he will be fine!
Sorry no more personals, off for our MG Xmas celebration with partners - a real night out!!!:smiliedance:
Strawberry_Shortcake
30-11-2007, 18:42
Gee its been busy in here today.
Maddy&KayleesMum - Hello and welcome. Not to sure if i’ve already welcomed you. Looking forward to chatting to you.
Mim – I had Talon on Heinz Gold formula before he went onto straight cows milk and i must agree with the other ladies, best if its warm. T loves his milk very warm. As for sandwiches I cut T’s into finger sizes and give them one at a time and he eats them all.
Jacstar – Wow 1st birthdays already. Happy b’day party Geoffrey.
Wild at Heart – I have some toys and a book in Talon’s cot, so if he does wake up early (which is very rare) he can play for a while before calling us.
Us – Got Talon weighed today and he’s 11.3kgs. Was told his weight and height was above the 90 percentile. Must admit i don’t usually go by that but very interesting to know. Brought T some new shirts today. Got him size 2's :eek: as size 1's hasn't got much room for him to move in. Had my midwife appointment today and all is very good. Next appointment is a couple of days before xmas. Thats when the dr will book me in for my c section.
Hubby finally put up the xmas lights outside the other night. Girls are bugging me to put up the :tree: and i've told them not till the 1st December so they are excited as tomorrow is the day. I love this time of the year.
Better get going, T has made a nice big mess of his toys in the play room and he's got dvd's and the playstation stuff everywhere. Better get it cleaned up before hubby gets home.
Have a great weekend ladies
Kel
dragonflyblu
30-11-2007, 19:23
ahh christmas... we havent had a tree for years and this year i am making a point of getting one!
Clea lives on bread. I try to give a variety of grains, rarely white as I figure that its most of her food. In saying that we dont have the 'enhanced' white breads over here like inAustralia.(you know calcium, iron etc)
mim1 Clea is fully BF and I have tried formula as well. I give her camomile tea from both sippy cup and bottle and a normal cup but she just wont take formula from anything! Good luck.I am going to try Clea on cows milk inthe new year. I know this has come up before but how do I mix cows milk and formula? Do I make up the formula and then put half cows milk? I wonder if it the thickness of formula that turns BF babies off?
Just a quick post. I need to go eat. I have been loosing weight and I cant work out why! so I am going to go eat a curry, yes it is only 10.30 in the morning! But I need a meal.
3Divas&me
30-11-2007, 19:26
My god it has been busy in here, I am not even going to try to respond to all of you- cant keep up- it has been like 3 pages since I posted yesterday... are you all bored?- lol!
WildAtHeart - My DD1 & 2 are 12mths apart. DD1 on Christmas Day & DD2 on Boxing Day. Now when i look back i dont know how i coped but just did lol. I think one of the hardest things is being pregnant when you have other children or child to look after. My girls get along great though so we dont have too many dramas.
Okay Tiredmummy- you now have me scared!! Bridget will be almost 14months when the next little one comes and I am freaking out- dont know how I will cope either- I am definately finding the pg a lot more tiring too.
Korah- did you get my pm- never done one before!!
Bridget slept through last night in her own bed!!:smiliedance::flowerz::smiliedance: Will try again for tonight.
She is in bed screaming atm better go get her before she bursts a lung!:crying:
Hi everyone - I have been missing in action for months I didn't even try to catch up with whats been going on here but I can say I am so happy I am not pregnant as I was this time last year :bee:
Anyway Billy is still a really fat boy! and only recently starting gliding along the floor (I think he was too big to move)
I think he weighs around 11kg but he's short!
I breastfeed til about 2 months ago when I increased my hours at work, talk about dramas he didn't want the bottle (only if it had water in it). Childcare tried for at least 2 months and he would wait for me....so I finally found the answer. One night for his 10pm feed (before he woke up himself) I just stuck the bottle in his mouth - he was too tired to fight back and took it. I did the same thing for about 3 days and it worked, although within 2 weeks he no longer wanted the breast. I was hoping he would have 2 bottles 12 hours apart and 2 breastfeeds - but NO!
Other than that single life is great but very busy, the house has been finalised but the kids don't see their dad much - he is still really angry at me.
I have also found the answer to weightloss - I am on the Cohens diet and it is the best thing in the world - unlike any other diet I have tried. Its based on blood tests and hormone responsible for fat burning. I have lost 9 kilos in just under 4 weeks! :flowerz:
So life is going great! Imani starts school next year and I go back to fulltime work then too
I also started bellydancing which is great fun.
Well thats the update girls hope I haven't missed out on too much since I have been gone
Strawberry_Shortcake
30-11-2007, 20:58
Karrina its so nice to hear from you. I love your avatar. Good to hear you and the kids are doing well.
Oh I just did a bit of reading and thought I'd give you the update
Sleep - Billy is a great sleeper, goes to bed at 6pm after a bath and dinner, wakes at 10pm for last bottle and generally sleeps through til about 6am. If he does wake generally its around 1am so I give him his dummy but he doesn't get a bottle....hmmm wonder if thats ok? I was really keen to cosleep with him but when he was about 4 months he was driving me mad with his waking so I put him in the cot - he loved it and sleeps really well in there. If I bring him into the bed with me now ... he thinks its playtime. Imani still cosleeps with me!
He also has 2 day sleeps one in the morning for an hour and another in the afternoon for 2 hours although today he slept for 3 1/2?
Teeth - only 2 bottom ones
Food - eats like a trojan! sandwiches, eggs, fruit, baby food, weetbix, toast
Bottles - generally 4 in 24 hours, Heinz second step
Movement - like I said not weight baring, just gliding commando style accross the floor
Language - dadadada, mamamama, and lots of squealing and laughing
Siblings - Imani and Billy are so close, its fantastic, she has never been jealous of him and helps to entertain him and care for him and she is 5 in Jan
All up - he is the best little boy in the world and a completely different baby to Imani. He is cruisy, happy, content and rarely whinges for anything.
Liviesmum, my girls are 14 months apart too. It's kinda scary at first but you adapt pretty quickly. After about a month i couldn't really remember what it was like just having the one child. The first year is usually the hardest but it also goes really quick, i still can't believe Kaylee will be 11 months in a few days. I found being pregnant the second time round really tiring as well but going swimming helped alot with that. It's relaxing and with summer here it will keep you cool.
Jacstar31, I hope Geoffrey has a fantastic day tomorrow happybirthday
Strawberry_Shortcake, Kaylee weighs about the same if not more then Talon, she is a big girl lol. I really don't think that there is much difference between her and sister except for Maddy's height. I have Maddy in size 2 and they are loose on her because she is so skinny but when i put one of Maddy's tops on Kaylee they just seem to fit better then her size 1 tops. I'm not worried as Maddy was just like Kaylee at the same age, my DH is really quite tall and the girls seem to be taking after him in that area. The CHN tried to tell me when Maddy was 6 months old that she was too big for age and blah blah and now she prob sits just below the 75% in weight and at 100% in height. Kaylees right up there with weight and height at the moment, she's my little budha baby lol.
Here are a couple of pics of Kaylee if ya want to see them.
http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w28/maddykaylee/DSCF1519.jpg
http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w28/maddykaylee/DSCF1522.jpg
dragonflyblu
01-12-2007, 03:52
karrina great to hear from you. sounds like your new life is coming together well.
maddy&kayleesmum she is so cute. those eyes have such a cheeky look in them.
yay tommorrow we put up our xmas decorations. we bought a small potted pine tree. not really a christmas tree but it is so nice. we are decorating it with chocolates!:tree: and tomorrow we are buying an angel for the tip.
Cordelia
01-12-2007, 10:47
Nice to hear from you Karrina! :) Glad Billy is such a good baby for you - it must make things a lot easier for you with everything else going! And esp. Imani getting along so well with him! Perfect family! :P
Yayyyyyyy!!! Christmas!!!!!! We have ripped our garden out [literally] and are replanting the whole thing before the IL's get here! What kind of idiots are we ... anyway and then we're putting up our outside lights for the first time in a few years. We make it a tradition to buy 1 extra light each year (hate to think what it will be like when Caitlin's 18!!) So exciting!!!! (except for the impending IL's visit who have just rang and said they're coming a week earlier now - WHAT THE)
Caitlin's been so cute the last couple of weeks.. she crawls across the mat at swimming towards me and then sticks her backside up in the air and looks behind her to the teacher through her legs. Obsessed with being upside down. Thinks it's hilarious. And she's cruising around on her rider/walker... pushes everything around. Loooooves the high chair.. speeds down the hall pushing it. So funny!!! Maybe not long til walking!! [maybe!]
Caitlin's still only about 7.5kgs! but still following the curve and actually exists on the chart when you modify her age coz she was early. Have just decided she doesn't eat much. That's cool! Will give her as much as she wants.
9kgs in 4 weeks!! Looking this diet up....... need to lose weight before TTC :P
Cordelia - the diet was invented by Dr Cohen who is an infertility specialist. Apparently the diet makes you super fertile so you need to be careful not to get pregnant on it - or maybe you do! You can find the info at
cohens
(links removed by moderator)
you loose heaps in the first 4 weeks and then around 1.5 - 2 kilos per week
Good luck with it - you will love it, and you feel really healthy on it too!
korahblue
01-12-2007, 12:13
Only two quick announcements to make.
#1 Today I am proclaiming that Macy has joined the walkers. The past couple of days she has really improved and will attempt to walk somewhere first as long as she can before she gets lazy and starts to crawl.
#2 At around 4:30 this morning I did a HPT and it was a :bfp: :smiliedance:The past week I have been spotting which I've only ever had before when I was pregnant with Jozef. So I've been off to the doctors to get a blood test and should have the official results this afternoon plus I went to the shops and bought another HPT and got the same result. I havent told hubby yet as he is at work so shhhhhh.
Now I get to start planning the homebirth I wanted with Macy :cloud9: Im sooooo excited
Oh and I will send out PM's to those girls involved with the secret santa right now!!
Hope everyone's day is as fabulous as mine
Congratulations on the :bfp: Korah :yelclap:.
So now there are 6!
And also meant to say welcome back Karrina before I got distracted with Korah's news.
I have often wondered how you've been doing so I'm glad to here that things are going well.
Strawberry_Shortcake
01-12-2007, 16:02
Korah - Congrats on the :bfp:and yay for Macy walking:smiliedance:
Congrats Korah! On both counts, your :bfp: and Macy walking!
How did it go telling DH?
Oopsie, December now, Ill go make a Dec thread!
see yous there.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=139455