View Full Version : 40+ Parents/Parents to be (November Chat)
WOAH, where has the year gone?
Welcome to November ladies.
Ys_Woman
01-11-2007, 20:58
*Wipes her feet on the November welcome mat*
Hey hon. How went your day? Did you get your vac back? My floor looks the same as yours did but only because I cannot find it in me to do the vacuuming at the moment. Hubby has tomorrow off so I might get him to do that for me..and wash the floors too..lol.
I went shopping with a friend today, then off to the school fundraising fair, then a walk home and another one back to pick up the kids at 3.
I am so tired and so sore. I am sore low down in the pelvis too but hope that a shower and good night's rest cures that. I have the middy coming in the morning for my 34wk check so I will get her to make sure all is well. Hubby even said tonight that I have never been this big before. I feel so big and tight and the braxton hicks are beyond what I have had b4, yet my hands and feet are not swollen and I haven't gained weight anywhere other than the belly.
Hope I can hold out a few weeks longer if the baby wants to come early.
I had best off into a warm shower and then bed.
Hugs,
Amy:)
hi Amy,
Hope your resting by now after a lovely hot shower!
They do say the more you have the worse the bh's so might just be that. :fingerscrossed:
Yes i went and grabbed my vac back and should see my house!!!!!!!!! I started vaccing and went nuts, the lounge and dining room are all changed around and all floors mopped!
Matt was not impressed to "helping" me move furniture lol. but hes used to it, I do that about every 6 months, it gets rid of my itchy feet that i got from my dad, always moved house and I the same until this house here, 7 years here now, a record for me but matt needed a stable home so here I am...still.!
anyhow I feel great when the house is so clean, and the gardens. all worth it.
am pooped now though lol
have already lined up the back massage ;)
hope you have a great sleep!
nini
matthewsmum
02-11-2007, 13:44
Hi Girls.....wow you both make me seem lazy....I vacuumed last night and didnt get around to mopping the floors...and its so muggy now I cant do them (tomorrow is another day!). And I have a pile of ironing to do. After 40 it has all been down hill for me and of course 30 likos heavier. Well thats my whinge for the day....Talk soon Shaz xhttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/smiliedance.gif
Afternoon ladies!.
Well Im having a lazy day today though..
All ive done is general clean and planted 3 plants.oh and moved the bird cage around a bit lol.
Im trying to keep busy to keep my mind of the time till I can test to see if we conceived. Makes the days go quicker if im active.
Whats the plans for the weekend?
We have a air show in the cbd near the river over the weekend and as Katie loves looking at planes we are off to visit that..other than that I plan to get DP and DS2 in the garden to help with whats left to tidy up and im done! It will look even better than before the pup attacked it :laughing:
weather is just right here at the moment.
Hope that humidity clears soon for you Shaz xx
Ys_Woman
02-11-2007, 17:00
Good afternoon lovely ladies,
I can relate to the laziness after 40 Shaz..everything feels more of an effort. Hopefully I will regain some energy after the baby is born.
I dream of moving everything around Vicki. I too have a dad with gypsy feet. He is about to move yet again! When I moved to this house it was move 41 for me. It was great seeing so much of Australia as I was growing up but being the new kid in 14 different schools and having to leave old friends behind wasn't always fun. I want somewhere to settle but I don't think Canberra will be it in the end. Great for now though.
The midwife came today and I was dating three weeks ahead this time. She said the baby is going to be big but they said Selia would be well over 9lb and she was only 8lb 3oz in the end (and she was my biggest so far). I am still hoping to keep this one just under the 9lb mark and to have it come just a little early. She said if I make it to the 40wk appt I can request to be stirred up, which I would. I so don't want another one to go ten days over..it would mean having a Xmas day baby..agghh.
I managed to vacuum the lounge and clean the bathroom and toilets today but that is as far as I got. I so want to do everything but just have no energy.
We took the car to get two new tyres..I was horrified when the bill came to nearly $500! I am out of the loop when it comes to the price of tyres. Hubby and I went and had a cuppa while we waited to get the car back. Gee it was nice to spend that time alone with no interruptions from children..must do it more often.
No plans for the weekend..just washing (which hubby does anyway) and maybe a bit of mopping. Sounds fascinating huh? lol.
Ok..best away..kids will be getting hungry soon.
Hugs,
*wonders where Rita got to?*
:wave: hi girls,
thought i'd pop in for aquick chat. dh still away , 9 weeks now! it is starting to p**** me off a bit!!
i am trying to be patient....however this is what i call too long!!!!!!
however, geting things done while he's away i spose.
very hard to ttc without the main ingredient!!:no:
kids are ok, i'm busy preparing ex place for open inspection this sat.:fingerscrossed: dh is due back 20 december.. almost forgot what he looks like!
hope you're all well. amy , sounds like not too long to go ....hope all goes well for you!
good luck tabby with ttc, at least you have what you need to help you along!:babydust2:
ok , better go
will stay in touch.
tracey.
Ys_Woman
05-11-2007, 05:08
Hello Tracey,
Yes, I guess it must be difficult ttc with dh away..but then again..a Xmas-made baby does sound cute.
Glad to hear you are still around. Hope the house sells well.
Hugs,
Tracey! Good to hear from you.
I agree, a xmas made baby would be wonderful :thumbsup:
Hope those last few weeks till hes home come quick for you xx
Due back on DS1's birthday, 20th.
Amy: Oh gawd yes tyres are SO expensive now..Not that long ago could get all 4 for that price.
Hope bub is under the 9lb for you..Never gone over 7lb6 here..boys both 7.06 and Katie 5.03, Though they do say the size really doesnt make that much of a difference?
Getting very edgy here, HATE the two week wait lol. I wanna know now * stamps feet* lol
Rita: Where are you hun!!!? Hope your well, do come let us know xx
Hi Shaz! Hope you had a good w.e?
anyhow school work to get to for ds2, yep hes eagerly waiting! (<-- lol yes that was in MY ideal world not his ) :laughing:
Ys_Woman
07-11-2007, 18:32
Vicki: oh yes, the ugly 2ww..ought to be a law against it! Hope it pays off though :)
Nothing much going on here. I am shortly going to start packing the bag but really need something to birth in and some nighties that I can b/f in.
I had issues b/fding with the other kids due to returning to work, moving house, and having ppl stay with us while I was trying to get the feeding right (three solid months of guests that needed to be fed and entertained!). This time I am locking the doors to interstate visitors for the first few months!
The middy said she and the others would bend over backwards until I get it right this time..even doing home visits for as long as it takes. How wonderful is that? So I have no excuse to comp feed with this one..lol.
Am still tired but was able to get the housework done over the weekend. I am starting to get bored with the pregnancy and excited about actually having the baby, and all that entails.
I didn't have a flutter on the Cup. Did anyone have a win? I did however enjoy having the family home for the day.
Hugs,
Hope everyone is well out there.
Hey, Im here! Been a tad busy with this baby making stuff.... I had egg pick up Wednesday, we managed to find 5 eggs, cycle was really fast and I had a few cysts as well, but all in all, for a 43 year old chook, I did pretty good.
Got a call today, I have 4 perfect 4 cell embryos, quite amazing really, so they are going to culture them to day 5 blastocyst and I will have transfer on Monday (all being well....) I may well still have it in me!
Kyra has her third tooth thru now, and her poop has been phenomenal, her butt and fanny are red raw, she poops each nappy and the last poop was mucuos stringy clear stuff...her temp is 39, gave her some panadol, she has had 3 sleeps already today! Poor little chicken...I hate it when babies are sick.....
Sabrina is getting her tonsils out finally! She has been so ill these last few months with tonsilitis.... December 7 is tonsil day!
I am still quite sore from the egg pick up, but getting better and bouyed by my best ever results with IVF (as far as embryo quality goes)... fingers crossed they continue to be good little embies over the weekend and turn into lovely blastocysts for us by Monday!
babe calling.....bye for now.................
Ys_Woman
10-11-2007, 07:16
***********RIPPER RITA!!!*******
I was jumping up and down with you. Go The Four Blasto's! You've still got it baby! lol.
All the best for Monday's implant. Do you then have to continue taking injections or meds?
How was Kyra's christening? Oh yes, the dreaded teething fevers/colds etc..and the nappies..ewwww.
That is great news about Sabrina getting the green light to have her tonsils removed. Seems for years the medical profession went the same way with tonsils as they have with circumcision but are now turning around and realising sometimes they really do need to come out. How is she feeling about her upcoming trip to hospital?
Glad you came in and posted hon. Let us know how it goes after Monday. Will be thinking of you.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
10-11-2007, 07:21
*Wonders where Tab has gone?*
All is clicking along nicely here. 35 weeks and counting. I have been ultra tired these past few days and looking down I believe I have dropped a fair bit too. Another mum at the school picked up on that too..so hopefully it means going a little early *please please please*.
I finally managed to buy the kids new beds and storage cubes to straighten up their rooms. It was the one thing I really wanted done b4 the baby comes..so woohooo. Still so much to do though. I had a box of baby clothes arrive yesterday through an Ebay purchase. I had forgotten how tiny 000 singlets are..awwww..too cute. Can't wait to have a little one to fill them :) (and for that little one to get out and stop kicking me senseless. Some nights are so painful).
Hugs to everyone. We are putting the kids rooms to rights today..wish me well..lol.
the longer they stay inside, the quiter your life is...even with the kicks..... I know you are fed up, but its not long at all now!
OK, todays update...I have 3 in the running still...1 didnt budge overnight.... but the other three are looking quite attractive (so Im told)... lots can happen in the next 48 hours though, so hang on to your hats!
My transfer is set for 9.45am Monday morning, lets hope for the worst news of there being only one and even that will be fantastic.... I will be transferring two if two are still in the race..... if none made it, it isnt the end of the world, I have my two sweet cherubs and Im thankful beyond words.....
Oh Rita, have everything crossed for you to get through to Monday with at least two lovely ones.
:fingerscrossed:
Amy: Not long now hun, am sure will pass quickly, baby will be here before you know it.
Just a quick one, been out for lunch and then Miss decided she wasnt going to nap, maybe the icecream she had? LoL. shes finally down early though 530ish so hope she sleeps through till a decent time.
Ill catch up more tomorrow xx
Ys_Woman
11-11-2007, 06:15
Rita: I am in there rooting with you hon. Hoping all is well at the Monday appt.
Vicki: Yay! Glad to hear you are well. Hope Katie has a big big sleep for you.
Well, bedrooms are done now. I kind of overdid it to the max though and thought I would be going to the hospital last night. I had an hour of the most horrendous braxton hicks..but a warm shower and a rest slowed it all down again. I still have so much to do though and am really keen to get it done. Might take it easy though and plod next time.
Hugs to everyone. Hope you are having a great weekend.
have tried cornflour for the nappy rash, no more bleeding but dry and red raw...
SHe has slept really badly and I hope she gets better today cos tomorrow we have to drive 2.5 hours down to sunny coast and then the same back for "the transfer"...
Might "dial an angel" today, see if they have someone to stay home with Kyra, may make the journey less painful for all of us!
Take it easy with that cleaning, whaddya trying to do to yourself!!!!! Baby needs to grow some more, get those last fat stores piled on and lungs ready for action, so he can deafen you with his wails!
Ys_Woman
11-11-2007, 09:53
I hated that teething nappy rash..poor Brittany used to be on fire. I always trusted my kids bottoms to Bepanthen ( I can even smell it just saying the word). This new little poppet will get to know the smell too.
Enjoy your trip to the coast.
I will try to slow down but I have the nesting bug going on and there is much I want to achieve before baby gets here. I so want a new lounge suite and new chests of drawers for the kids..which means moving rooms around again..with hubby's help of course.
Hugs,
return trip will be all the easier if I have my babies on board..... Kyra can cry her heart out, I wont need to travel that distance again for some time (fingers and legs crossed)....
hiya!
amy; wow, you sure are nesting !!:thumbsup: steady, steady.........remember to keep your strength up for labour.dh had the brilliant idea of taking me on a marathon walk to get the baby to hurry up. when we got home he promptly fell asleep, while i totally exhausted (heavy and 42 weeks) went into labour and was worn out before it all started!! no sleep for days after that!!:( good luck, hope all goes well for you.
rita; :fingerscrossed: for monday, will be thinking of you and hope the trip goes ok. i really liked your comment of the trip home being so much better , with your babies on board.. that was so sweet.:hugs:
not a lot going on here. finally got house ready for open inspection ... not much interest tho.
we went to an 8th birthday party today. the girls had a great time.
ok better go.
take care,
tracey.
ok, Im done! Im back and I have two potential babies on board, so I am PUPO, pregnant until proven otherwise, which will be Friday week...day before election!
Im friggen sick to death of that drive down to Sunny Coast, its long and tedious when you ahve to do it frequently...glad Im not a travelling sales rep, Id shoot myself!
Tomorrow the lab will call and tell me if the other one that looked like a goer will be frozen or if it just got worse and is looking no good...
In any case, Im happy where I am...I have my two gorgeous girls and life couldnt be better.... well, if I was 40kgs lighter it would be, but hey, one thing at a time I say! And if our new puppy would stop crapping all the time...am sick of looking at and smelling dog poop... the baby is enough I say! At least I can put a nappy on her...I was seriously thinking of strapping on a baby nappy on the puppy! So over c- r-a-p!
WOOHOO! 2 beautiful bubbas for you hun!!!
AM so excited for you.
Katie gets realllllly bad bum rash when teething, literlally burnt. My fix has been Bepanthen also but followed up with curash baby powder. works a treat
Hi Tracey: lovely to hear form you and glad alls well xxx
AM going to buy some tests tomorrow, some good ones, not cheapos, so start :fingerscrossed: ladies. :D
:bfn: for me, AF is only a couple of days away and having the cramps so dont think that will change
oh well...
Hi guys, I just joined up here thought I'd introduce myself here as I think I might fit in here?
I'm 41 and subject to a blood test result (this afternoon) I think I'm pregnant for the 5th time. 3 wee tests all pos, and late, I pretty much think it's a goer!
Anyway, I know there's a long path ahead with tests and stuff, my last was 5 years ago and we only did the nuchal fold thing?
So, yeah, any advice you guys have would be most welcome :)
iheartj; firstly! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!
and welcome. Hope youll hang around, there is only a few of us but we are more than happy to share it all with you.
I had Kaitlyn just 11 months ago at the age of 43, all I had was nuchal and diabetes test, that was about the only thing different for me since my 2nd son.
So if you have a good nuchal result you may not have to have the needle in the stomach type deal? That's the thing I'm most frightened of. I also don't want to announce yet, cos, well you know, stuff. Don't want to get the kids all hyped, or me either. I'm still trying to get over the fact that we conceived naturally when I thought I was in early menopause! I suppose I don't want to jinx myself by getting excited yet. That sounds horrible doesn't it?
Correct, if your nuchal scan comes back with good odds then there is no need for the amniocentesis. It also depends on what you would do with your result, for me it made no difference had our odds been lower, I still wouldnt terminate so therefore had decided I wouldnt be having it regardless of NT results.
Mine with DD was something like 300/1 so I didnt have any worry there, we were happy with those odds.
I dont think it sounds horrible...There is always that extra worry for us as more "mature" mothers on top of the usual worries that come with pregnancy anyhow, we will always find something to worry about :laughing:, its only natural.
Youll be fine :hugs:
TY Vicky :) Got the blood test back, + as I thought. So now, organisation!!! I have an impacted wisdom tooth which I think is going to have to come out. Will have to discuss with the doctor how to manage this with as little drugs as possible. I also had surgery to remove a lump from my breast 4 weeks ago, but my GP said that wouldn't have any impact as I was not pregnant. I dunno. Anyways going back to see him tomorrow to sort out ob's and hospitals and stuff.
I did the Nuchal FOld + blood test combined and it came back with pretty good odds, in my favour, so I didnt go for anything more intrusive... I felt it was ok and it was...
But, if it had come back dodgy, I would have done further testing..... I am too old and hubby is too old to have the burden of caring for a child that is challenged, we wont be around long enough to take proper care....
I was 42 at the time of the Nuchal test...
If this one sticks, Ill do the same, nuchal and if dodgy, amnio or CVS, whichever will give me the most accurate result...
I hope it never comes to that for any of us..... one would assume that natural selection would fileter out the ones that arent perfect,but that donst happen, as we can see everyday... they are still lovely people, but I dont have it in me to care for them forever, and to worry on top when Im gone who will look after them....
Same as I, at 41 and with four other kids and hubby working full time, I really doubt I'd cope, I know that sounds selfish, but it's the truth. I have learnt now NOT to google pregnancy after 40, it's all doom and gloom and by some sites reckoning I shouldn't even BE pregnant.
I really wish you good luck with the pregnancy, I HATE this early on, I'm always running to the toilet every time I get a cramp expecting the worst. Last pregnancy I had a huge bleed at 11 weeks, I went by ambulance to hospital where they told me I had lost the baby. In the morning they did an ultrasound and there was a strong little heartbeat, turned out my daughter had a twin, man, I hope nothing like that happens this time, I'm going for a six week ultrasound to check how many I've got, my hubby is an identical twin, so, yeah. Spooky :)
haha yes stay away from google!!!!
I learnt the hard way too.
Oh I also had huge bleeds with Katie, 2 actually, VERY scary arent they.
Hope you dont have any this time so there are no scares for you and a wonderfully smooth pregnancy xxx
Rita: Dont forget to share any symptoms will you hehe.
todays symptom:
Im really ****ty with the world! Sabrina leaves mess all over the floor, Im too tired!
I piddle more so, but thats the extra progesterone pessaries and stuff....
THe puppy yelps and craps all over the joint! Over picking up newspaper with poop on it...
I think thats why I'm crabby today...sick of dog poo and my other dog, the one Ive had for years growls and snaps at the new puppy and I have to keep them seperated!
I dont know what else to do!
Oh man a puppy! No way, you poor thing. I'm looking around my house thinking yeah I should REALLY get up and like CLEAN or something, but then the evil me says NO! Wait til' Master 13 comes home and BRIBE him :) I like that option. My daughter had started bringing all her toys down from her bedroom and I seem to have a Fisher Price Dollshouse emerging in my lounge room. Under the coffee table there is a kitchen, the dining table a lounge room, I'm finding rooms all over the place.
But I feel for you with a puppy, poos and wees everywhere and that look they give you wshen they are peeing on the carpet "Yeah, I know this is wrong, but I kinda forgot where I'm meant to be doing this? Sorry". LOL!
matthewsmum
15-11-2007, 19:13
Wow a lot has happened since I haven't been in here you are all busy ....hi iheartj and congratshttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif
:thumbsup: to you and your family........and poor amy how are you going hun??? http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/hugs.gif
:hugs: I wish you all well..,..nothing much here is happening...I gave up my pp (party plan work) as it wasn't doing as good as I wanted so now all my energy is going in to being a mum. I will be going up north next Thursday to tuesday to visit a girl and her 3 yr old ...I met her in Trisilian 2 and a bit yrs ago...it should be fun just us mums and kids then 10th dec to 17th dec we will go on holidays wwoooohhhoooo i can't wait....just us 3 and my g/f and her little girl should be fun....we are going to Smugglers Cove...a family resort......anyways I will pop back later good luck to you all...love Shaz
Shaz: wow lots of holidays for yous, have fun! Sounds awesome.
Missed you msn, was out side with Katie gardening and by time she was bed your gone :(
iheartj: LOL at your bribery..does it really work??! It would take way too much bribery here so figure cheaper to do myself lol
hahaha have I got the dolls rooms everywhere to look forward to have I? After two boys I may have to make her a bit of a tomboy, like her Mum hehe.
Rita: Sorry your feeling a bit overloaded hun, is it the meds they have you on? Wouldnt help am sure.
Hopefully babies are settling in and that would also explain your crabbiness and all worth it :hugs:
Hope tomorrow is better for you xxx
AF is due in a couple of days, bfn yesterday though. :(
AF is actually due today! Though no sign of her coming so thats good.
Major cramps that are way to much for AF and lower than usual so all :fingerscrossed: and toes are still crossed.
Hoping that i just tested way too early. :D
Rita: When do you find out if successful?
Amy: hope your just quiet because your resting?
Still no AF and no signs :thumbsup:
Sorry you think it hanst worked, at least u are having fun trying, unlike us, we arent evenin the same room!
Is crabbiness part of maybe pregnancy? I had heavyness in the abdo area today, bit of lower back pain, tender breasts and of course Im knackered! But, its too hard to tell cos Im taking progesterone support and my ovareis are revved up from the stim cycle...so, not reading anything into it. Test is next thursday, results friday, but I will POAS WAYYYYYYYYY before then! Im a serial POAS'er... But I have only one in the medicine cabinet..... so Im going to hold out to Monday morning.... that should be 12 days post ovulation, surely something eh, one way or the other!
OK, Im off to bed, 8pm and all, need my kip!
Night all!
Ys_Woman
16-11-2007, 21:31
Hello lovelies,
So much to catch up on.
My darling gorgeous IT hubby decided early in the week to 'tweak' the modem since we have recently moved to Broadband 2 after a few years on Broadband 1. This all sounds really easy but unfortunately the data he played with got lost in the next reboot and suddenly we had a modem that wasn't working. Our ISP were less than helpful as our modem was too advanced for them and they don't support it. After a few days of trying different things we eventually caved this afternoon and bought a whole new one (which remarkably our ISP doesn't support either!). Hubby is on strict instructions NOT TO PLAY WITH THIS ONE..lol.
It has been so frustrating not being able to get online to find out how Vicki was going and how Rita's eggy implant went..plus the fact that I am running a parcel swap in the Dec forum and couldn't check to see how it was going..aggh.
Vicki: I am still waving the pompoms around but have decided to forgo the splits for now. I really hope AF stays away and that you just are not showing enough HCG at this early stage. If not, don't worry, I might be able to manage the splits next month providing junior comes before your 2ww..lol. HUGS and more HUGS.
Rita: Congrats on a beautiful transfer. I would be POAS at every available moment..lol. I wonder if any women actually hang out for the official test? The suspense would be awful.
Commiserations on poopy puppy.
I am with you on the Downs Syndrome discussion. I still have days when I fret about if all is well with this one but frankly I didn't want the amnio due to the risk of miscarriage.
I do feel that hubby and I are too old to have a 'permanent baby'..but I guess if we end up faced with that situation we will muster up all the love and care at our disposal. I figure there are no guarantees in this life and 'perfectly normal children' can have accidents and end up brain injured and requiring lifelong care. I still hope that our little one will be as healthy, bright and vibrant as our other children though.
Shaz: Hello hon. Enjoy your trip away. Smugglers' Cove is such a cool name for a place. Don't forget to come in and post when you get back.
iheartj: CONGRATS on the BFP and welcome to this forum. We don't number as many as the younger forums but as you can see, it isn't that unusual to be pregnant in your 40's these days. So give the 'googling' a miss on that topic and just come in and share with us.
Like you, I was flabbergasted to find myself pregnant both last year (sadly a m/c) and again this year..but then my grandmother had her 4th at my age, so maybe genetics played a part *shrugs*.
My gp reckons I could likely keep this up for a few more years..hence the reason hubby is having a little op in the new year..lol.
Can't wait til you have your scan and find out how many are on board.
Hugs to everyone.
I am off to bed.
Today is day 11 post ovulation, I POAS :bfn: , did it with early morning wee, so did it right, has been 3 hours since test, and not even an evap line!
I tested at this point with Kyra and saw a faint positive, ever so faint..... I havent given up hope yet, perhaps this one is a bit slow, perhaps its nothing too
Either way, I am fine with it, there are always two sides to a golden coin, one side, end of an era, no more babies, other side, yay, can get off this mad IVF rollercoaster ride and start living a normal life (which I have to find out what that is cos we have been doing IVF since we got married 9 years ago....)
Iwill know for sure on Friday, so then the truth will be known!
THe money we will now save from IVF can go towrds a really cool holiday in a couple of years, somewhere we can go for a few weeks, not a 3-4 day break to surfers:rolleyes: ....
Hawaii or Thailand sounds nice...I hvae been to Hawaii, Tom has been to Thailand, but Im scared of Thailand and the bombs u know..... Hawaii is awesome! WHo else has cool ideas for family holidays that dont take 20 hours to fly to???? I would like to have different thigns to do, not just snorkeling or diving... with kids, its gotta be variety!
Hope you guys have a nice weekend.
Ys_Woman
18-11-2007, 13:25
Will you give it a few days before re-testing Rita? I am in awe of women who can get any results before 4 or 5 weeks..lol.. Fingers crossed for the next testing date hon.
As to holiday destinations..probably not a good idea to ask me at the minute. It is incredibly stinking rotten hot here today AGAIN!!..so I would be voting for Antarctica or the permafrost level on a high mountain in NZ right now :snow:
Cheers..back to lay in front of the fan.
*who is reminiscing through avatars on when her children were babies* Today's selection: Lachie around 18mths*
So how is everyone going? I just had a quick read up, I only got a really faint line when I was like 4 days or so over, so yeah, don't trust those tests much! I had a miserable weekend, went to have a tooth removed on Friday, the dentist botched the job and snapped the tooth off leaving three roots and all the nerve endings dangling out. I went to my GP, who put me on Endone, like morphine, but seemingly OK for bubs at this stage. Not that they touched the sides, ended up having to go see a dental surgeon on Saturday who expertly and quickly removed the roots in a matter of minutes, I was in the chair on Friday with the shonk for an hour! So now resting comfortably, tired and I FEEL pregnant, but don't have the symptoms, except for a couple of enormous pukes which may have been related to the tooth and the antibiotics. I don't need to pee often, breasts are fine, OK I'm bloated, but meh, I dunno. I might look up pregnancy symptoms and see if I have any :)
You give me hope iheartj! AF is still not here after the negative the other day, am going to test again Friday if no show for AF by then( if I can hold out that long lol) Im 4 days late now
Have a headache and slightly constipated..both things i never get! Also a bit nauseas! so :fingerscrossed: those cramps last week were implantation ones.
ill let you know how it goes if anything new.
OUCH on the tooth saga!!! Im cringing just thinking about it as have the biggest dentist phobia here..:eek:
Hope your feeling better soon xxx
Rita hun, ALL fingers and toes crossed for you still. :fingerscrossed:
Amy: Your new avatar is just adorable, hes a cutie
HI Shaz! Hope your well
Ys_Woman
20-11-2007, 22:23
Just a quick one before bed. It is so darned hot here tonight. We took the kids down to the river to have a swim this evening and it thundered and lightening'd all over the place but only six drops of rain..so disappointing. I wish we could have a cool change.
Vicki: Things are looking really hopeful if you are four days past due. Hanging out for your test results on Friday. "Give me a B...Give me a F..Give me a P..put them all together and they spell BFP..:bfp:".
iheartj: Ouch to the tooth debacle. I hope it rights itself quickly.
Rita: Are you still doing the testing on Friday? Hope you are feeling well..nah, actually..hope you are getting morning sickness..lol.
Ok..best get off here and back in front of the fan.
Distant hugs to everyone in this very unseasonal weather.
:bfn:
Got my period yesterday, will get confirmed blood test results today...
THe fat lady has sung...its over for me and making babies is a ting of the past....
Feeling sad...feeling releived???
Feeling a little bit lost, but I will find my way....
OFf for a cuppa, will elaborate later when I can get my thoughts in order...
matthewsmum
21-11-2007, 08:04
Hello lovely ladies.......yes it has been hot here too.......we are contemplating moving as we have no air con upstairs we bought a/c for downstairs last Dec, and the owner wants to put up the rent yet again....he only did it in Feb and Oct this year........but we are having a rent crisis as there isnt enough properties out there so owners are having a ball........Hubby doesnt want to move as it is too close to our holidays as we leave 10th Dec so doesnt leave a lot of time.......so he says anyway it would be ok for me im multi talented......as we all are......all my love and best wishes to you ladies who are and want to be pregnant I hope you all go ok with this heat.....I would like to send christmas cards to you all as I have come to like you all so muchhttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/xmas.gif
:xmas: ( I know whats not to like...) I was thinking of doing a secret santa if your interested......it would be nice to have it just for us as we are always focused on everyone else but ourselves.....we are doing one on the pp site im on and then a few of us girls are having a girls night out from there as there are a few of us who live quite close so it will be so much fun........and we are doing a secret santa that night too....so if your up for it let me know....shazhttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/tree.gif
:tree:
THe fat lady has sung...its over for me and making babies is a ting of the past....
Feeling sad...feeling releived???
Feeling a little bit lost, but I will find my way....
OFf for a cuppa, will elaborate later when I can get my thoughts in order...
oh hun and sorry to hear that, massive :hugs:
remember we're here for you
Katies awake so back later, when she naps
Okay Katies down for the arvo nap and alls quiet.
Shaz, Hopefully you can turn hubby around and get another place soon, as you say we are more than capable multi task, lol the males in this house would probably ask what multi task even means!
Im really not feeling well today, somethings up.
Woke like I had been run over by a bus, the only other way to describe it would be hungover like when I was 18 :laughing: cept no booze involved.
Now playing with my head wondering if this might be that extreme tiredness some feel in early days of pregnancy, never felt it before though...Some nausea as well too, somethings happening, either im UTD or getting sick :(
please be no1. :fingerscrossed:
I'm hot, I haven't been sleeping properly, my daughter has just vomited on me 4 times. I've just managed to put her to sleep on the lounge but she won't let me turn on the A/C or "wind" as she calls it.
I'm living kinda near Blacktown too, I think? Kellyville, or McMansionville, lol. Prices are through the roof out here and it was a farm 15 years ago!Strange. I just want to know if lack of sleep and anxiety are part of early pg, I can't remember a THING. I found myself eating fruit lately which usually I abhor - hubby said he noticed a week ago I was eating fruit and that's what I do when I'm pregnant, fruit and rare meat, weird.
Well I'd better get back to bubby girl, got to try and get some fluids into her or it's a trip to the hospital tonight.
I'm sorry about AF Rita :( I'm not gonna say anything corny, I wanna punch people who say that kinda stuff. Hope you feel a little better tho.
matthewsmum
21-11-2007, 20:56
Hi girls......sorry to hear that Rita, but I dont understand didnt they take????
iheartj...wow how cool that is close to me....ooohhhhh we must do coffee at maccers soon (do you have small kids) thats why I said maccers as I have a 3 yr old.....I havent been to an adult coffee shop for 3 yrs..... that sounds promising Vicki good luck with that hun.....and yours too iheartj....well chat soon girls...bye for now shaz xhttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/flowerz.gif
iheartj: Hope your having a better day today :hugs:
matthewsmum: Thanks for the good luck xx
Nothing really to say, rather boring here at the moment..Bed at 830 last night! I was so tired my eyes hurt to keep them open. feeling better after a good 10hrs sleep though.
Still no AF :fingerscrossed:
testing tomorrow..
Ys_Woman
22-11-2007, 20:16
I didn't want to say anything until you had the blood results back as bleeding early in pregnancy does not always mean it is over.
How are you Rita? Are you ok?
I still have my fingers crossed for you hon.
I am so sorry if the bloods came back negative though.
We are here when you are ready to talk.
Amy
Ys_Woman
22-11-2007, 20:29
Shaz: I might opt out of the secret santa as I have just participated in an online baby shower. We open our gifts tomorrow but it looks like a few who received them are in hospital tonight being induced!
Vicki: Hope you are still feeling yuk and tired..lol..as these are all good signs. I am still hanging out for your post tomorrow.
iheartj: sorry to hear about your daughter. Seems like the gastro is going around at the moment. I hope she is much improved today and the rest of the family avoid getting it.
Lol@fruit eating. That is exactly how I knew I was pg with dd#1 even though three doctors had done urine tests in the first eight weeks and told me they were negative. I had a secret inkling that the tests were wrong as I had bought and eaten a whole bag of oranges...I hate oranges!
Well, tonight I am feeling a bit odd. Maybe because the moon seems to be a bit full or something but I have been having tons of braxton hicks, bearing down feelings, and niggly pains, but nothing substantial and the pains aren't regular or peaking and fading. Will go and have a warm shower and get into bed me thinks. I am carrying really low at the moment..seems like it happened really quickly that the kicks have gone from upper belly to a mid-belly point, and my beach ball has dropped that far too.
With my luck though I will still be sitting here posting in three weeks time with no sign of the baby..but you never know your luck in a big city;)
Hugs to everyone.
Back later, when Katie naps
Ys_Woman
23-11-2007, 12:49
Back later, when Katie naps
Thinking of you.
Amy
Thanks Amy, still no AF though, I did have a month a few back where it was late but not this late, very annoying, so will go to gp and get OB/FS referral on Tuesday see whats up and hopefully speed things up again. Do hope its not early menopause like mum suggested today :(
Hey guys, aarrgghh, well the vomiting girl has stopped, now we are fighting about her use of pullups. She's going to school next year and she has an intense fear of the toilet, I blame nemo. So. Yeah, she's a strange child, smart and very OCD like her mum ;) I have a sneaking suspicion that she may be even aspergers, but hubby and I have agreed not to have her pigeon holed just yet. She is nearly reading and writing at a 1st grade level and she is super great at maths and stuff, she's going to be a bit disappointed with school I think lol! Her 9 y.o. bro is having problems in the reading dept. so they just read together and help each other it's great. She's gonna send me bonkers tho I just know it :(
I'm getting full of happy hormones, it's great, I didn't think these kicked in so soon, they should learn how to synthesise this stuff really, bugger antideppressants, one spurt of the pg hormones and we'd all be walking around with stupid grins on our faces! I've also started becoming bovine, I am watching TV, glued to the Sci-fi and Crime channels all day, which annoys DD very much due to her missing Number Jacks and various other Nick Jnr shows.
Last night I decided to eat the first meal in 8 days, I prepared and cooked Salmon Fillets for me and hubby, 2 hours, cooking and preparing vegies, I ate about two bites and heaved. $10.00 worth of Salmon down the drain, cats had a feast. Ex came to pick up middle son for the night so I asked him to come in and cut a mango for me (I don't eat these things, have no idea how to cut then and segment them neatly like he does).
Vicki don't worry about early menopause, I'm almost certain I was IN it, I was having episodes of "flooding" which sent me to the emergency room twice, seriously. Docs tested for pregnancy even though I knew I wasn't (This is before we started trying, 4 months ago) I was irregular when I used to be on a strict Lunar cycle even started visiting menopause sites! GP wanted to give me the blood test, to see how much of some hormone or other you have which can be an indication of pre-menopause but it's in my handbag still. Don't forget, menopause isn't until you haven't had a period for a whole year and from what I'm told that can be like years and years! I was thinking about having them take my ovaries out and have an elective ceasar, my perinium (sp) won't manage another natural birth I'm positive, all my babies have been over 8 pounds and I'm 5 foot nothing and small. I've had major tearing with each and even a reconstruction after no. 2 who was a melonhead :) So we are thinking, might put the BB toward surgery, what do you reckon? Has anyone had a ceasar before? Is it too terrible?
Anyway, Stargate is on soon :) I'm so bad! I'm supposed to be moderating another forum but, you know it IS Stargate!
Hope you lovely ladies are all feeling great - Oh I can sympathise with the late baby syndrome too, never gone into spontaneous labour with any of my four, none have engaged either. I'm always stuck there with the drip and the gel, lol! Once I drove to Windsor on unsealed roads at 43 weeks to try and bring labor on, didn't work and so I was admitted that night yet again for the gel! Good luck for an EARLY labor!!!
m
Ys_Woman
23-11-2007, 15:44
Thanks Amy, still no AF though, I did have a month a few back where it was late but not this late, very annoying, so will go to gp and get OB/FS referral on Tuesday see whats up and hopefully speed things up again. Do hope its not early menopause like mum suggested today :(
I don't know hon but five years ago I was tired and my MIL suggested I could be peri-menopausal. I raised the issue with the doctor next time I saw her and she laughed hard and said that I had only recently had a baby so there was no way..*shrugs*.
Does seem strange that you are so late when you are usually spot on time but maybe the Clomid is upsetting the balance of hormone? (sorry, clueless).
I hope you get an answer next week. Hopefully the gp will give you a blood test for pg while you are there too.
Hugs,
Amy.
Ys_Woman
23-11-2007, 16:27
iheartj: Hey hon. Do you have a first name we could call you by?
I too am a Foxtel addict. The only show I watch on Sci-Fi though is Mysterious Ways at 11am. Most of the time I live on CI channel, Health, Lifestyle or Arena. I find myself addicted to Maury Povich ..you know the shows: You ARE the father of my baby! lol.
Our young ones seem a bit similar. All mine have been confident readers before 4yr old preschool. My youngest is in kindergarten (prep) now and was offered to be put up at the start of the year but I elected to keep her with her peers as she is a really sociable kid. She is capable of producing work years ahead of herself but has chosen to dumb herself down and is very hesitant to do the extension work asked of her. It is frustrating the heck out of her teacher, but if she is threatened with a punishment (like not going out to play), she will knock over the work in a few mins. I don't get her but I am not willing to turn it into a battle when she has only just gone six. I figure she should be allowed to be a kid at this stage..but then again I could be really wrong. It is hard to know what to do frankly.
She exhibits some of the classic ADHD signs that my eldest daughter has but I am not willing to go the medication road with this one. I can't see where almost 13years of Dexamphetamine has really helped my eldest daughter.
My youngest wears pull ups to bed. She may only have one accident a fortnight but I can't be guaranteed which night so I keep her in them every night. She has recently started waking and going to the toilet in the middle of the night so :fingerscrossed: we might not have to buy them for much longer.
When she started school this year I put a spare change of clothes in her bag because she was having a daytime wet once a fortnight too but somewhere around the third month of school that seemed to stop entirely. She can still have a bad day here at home on the weekend though where she gets lazy and wets herself up to five times in the day, but again it is only once in a blue moon now.
In some ways she is the most mature six year old you could meet. Her vocabulary and her thought processes are so advanced, and yet she still has the oral fixation of a 2yr old. The teacher asked us to buy special pencils just for her and paint them with Stop'n'Grow because she was eating the class pencils/paint/paste/crayons etc. Her teacher told me yesterday that she hasn't done that for the last two months now so here's hoping that phase is over.
Conversely, her 7yr old brother who is quiet, never had toileting or oral issues, and was considered a bit above average but nothing spectacular, suddenly this year in Grade 1 'got it' and has run on to be the top of his class, requiring extension work from the Grade 2 level. He is a plodder though and will pay attention and buckle down. Even though I think Selia is capable of genius, I think Lachlan will go further in life because of his 'stick-to-it' nature.
Sorry for venting so much...but it is nice to find someone experiencing a bit of the same who perhaps understands. I still don't know if I do..lol..but I love her and want the best for her.
I had best away to start dinner before the troops revolt.
Have a lovely weekend.
iheartj: Thanks for the info, interesting, might put the blood test to the gp this week, just out of curiosity..
I had a emergency c-sec with Katie ( breech footling, tried VB but stalled at 9 cm). After having two vaginal births personally I hope I can VB again, the recovery time for me was the worst part with the c-sec, soooo long as well I got an infection ( OB said was rare I might add ) so took me longer. 6 weeks before you can use arms above head and lift anything too heavy. It hurt like hell to be honest. With ds2 I was up and showering 15 mins after the birth. The c-sec..well..its major surgery so should give you a fair idea.
With the VB I also love the fact that if all is well with mum and bub that your not separated right after birth but you are with a c-sec, no popping baby on your bare tummy to breast feed right away either.
There are a lot of pros and cons of each, which one is right for you depends on each individual.
Also might be enough to have your tubes tied..not removed? which on request can be done in a few minutes after c-sec.
Hope that helps somewhat, ask me anything if you want to know more. Had both so think I might be able to help more xx
Glad your little one is feeling better.
Thanks Amy, sounds good what your gp said too, gives me hope, probably just the clomid yes. anyhow gp and Ob soon will clear it up, unless something good happens before that lol
sorry for your negative..... its not easy and I sympathise..no I empathise...
I cant try anymore, I can only fall with IVF and Ive just had enough of the whole thing.
Im happy with my two darlings (one who is sick again today with an ear infection, the other who's nappy rash is so bad I cant get a handle on it to make it better)...
YOu can alwayyas try again, at least its fun for you....Valentine
Ys_Woman
24-11-2007, 15:20
I am sorry for your disappointment Rita. How are the rest of the family taking it (ie: your hubby and Sabrina?). These past years of IVF must have been emotional for you all.
Rotten too that the kids are not well. It never rains but it pours, as the expression goes.
Hugs to you.
Amy
hi girls,
thought i'd pop in to check on the latest. sorry rita to hear of your disappointment.
just wanted to say i'd avoid c-section unless you are totally over v birth (which i can understand), if you do decide to have a c-section . it is really important to have lots of support after for quite a few weeks. you will need help.
the thing that helped me alot was using the anti inflammatory suppositries after. i tried to go without them and i couldn't move, it was just too painful. so if you have them you can get back on your feet quicker/ recover quicker. then wean yourself off them.
the pull up thing is a huge problem for myself and dd2 she is totally dependant on them (security). she was doing without them when she was 3 for a while. but wont go anywhere or do anything without them. she is terrified of the toilet (dunno why - maybe a rugrats video called decade in diapers).... got no idea what to do mil said just stop buying them, which makes sense ,however she goes crazy at the supermarket to get them off the shelf.
she's always with me when i shop (home delivery might work)...???
so amy maybe you'll go soon by the sounds of things!:fingerscrossed: you never know!
tabby, good luck, i wish you all the best:babydust2:
well, dh is due home 9th december now (dh who???lol)
will be so weird after 3.5 months!!!!!!!!Valentine
dd1 has so many things on from now until.....feb. swimming for two weeks with school . excursion. carols singing in the choir. etc.etc.
dd2 knows the sounds of some letters and some numbers. both knew their colours early and spoke really well early.but read yikes!! i probably havent been doing enough by the sounds of things!!help. any suggestions???
anyway, better go
:tree: merry christmas everyone!!
tracey.
I had c-section for both my children. I cant compare, but I have heard horror stories from vaginal births also where ladies have been torn or cut so much that they struggled with mobility for as long as a lady who would have had a c-section. I was up and around the next day, they make you get up same day if you have yours early in the morning...Im glad both of mine were at 1pm and 4.30pm, gave me a night to just rest. The first time you get out of bed is ...no lie..... excruciatingly, exquisitly painful! Ive never experienced anything worse... NO... I LIE, the drip they stick in your arm to make your uterus shirnk back is worse than any life eperience Ive had... but I think you get that sometimes even with a vaginal birth. Look, if it has to happen, you do what you gotta do, I had NO CHOICE, first was an emergencyh cos I dilated only to 3cm and Sabrina was 6 weeks early and I had preeclampsia pretty bad. WIth Kyra, it was a choice I made early on and just as well, she came early and it was a semi-emergency c-section, she was breech anyway and just had to come out early too... pre-eclampsia again!
ITs not so bad... I survived both and wanted to go back for a third which I KNEW would be the same again... so what does that say???
Rita
Ys_Woman
24-11-2007, 22:49
Tracey: Good to see you!
LMAO when you said: dh who? Have you organised a babysitter for the first night or ten while you get re-acquainted? ;)
I bet you will be totally wrapt to have him home. More strength to you doing what you have been doing alone.
We ran out of pull-ups the other night and..touch wood..have had dry nights since. I really would like it to be the end of them. She is the only one out of the three who has ever had an issue, but then dh and I both were bed wetters til age 7 so it might be par-for-the-course.
As to kids reading..I don't know how to steer you on that score.
I didn't formally teach any of my kids when they were young because I wanted school to be interesting and fresh to them and give them something to strive for. I did read to them though, particularly before bed (somehow the two book limit was always pushed by them to 4 or 5..lol). I sometimes took them to story time at the library too. I guess they see dh and I with our heads in books and get curious.
I know I let them watch far too much tv/dvd's etc for what the experts suggest, but heck, tv is so fantastic and I am an addict..lol.
Glad to hear life is interesting for you with the girl's activities. My two youngest have thoroughly enjoyed the first week of the school swimming..one more week to go. I think I will put them into weekly lessons from now as they are feeling a lot more confident around the water.
I had best away to bed. Seems we have a new government..hope that will work out well..time will tell.
Take care.
Ys_Woman
24-11-2007, 22:58
ITs not so bad... I survived both and wanted to go back for a third which I KNEW would be the same again... so what does that say???
Rita
Sorry to throw my two bob in but I reckon it says you got two gorgeous girls out safely and there's no shame in that..and that you would do it again to get the same result under the same circumstances.
Well, I truly am off to bed. These BH contractions are bizarre to me. I have been at it now for days and they are really strong and make me feel like I am bearing down right into the nether regions. Never had them with the others like this. I just went outside and showed the full moon my belly and said: "Ok moon, do your thing. Bring it on!
I don't think it was listening though..lol.
Sleep well.
Amy, it really sounds like your getting close. :fingerscrossed:
Tracey: Ah not long now, the way the days are flying by it will be the 9th before you know it!
Just quickly as Katies not settling for a day nap.
AF has arrived, finally I can get back to it rather than be in limbo, another round clomid but will also get the ball rolling for a specialist OB in case no luck for a crissy bfp. least that way come new yr we will be ready.
Ys_Woman
27-11-2007, 11:40
Hey lovely ladies,
Nothing much going on here..just playing the waiting game. Tired all the time. Still a bit to do to prepare for Christmas but the Chrisco arrived yesterday so at least the food is covered.
Hopefully this little precious poppet will be laying in a basket watching us tuck into the turkey..not still in there waiting to be born! lol.
Hugs,
Well I think I'm like 6 or seven weeks so all good I spose at my age, lol. Still not a lot of morning sickness, not that I'm complaining really, just weird. I don't have an appetite at all tho and I've lost 10 kilos which is probably as much as I'd like, I'm 55 kg now and at my height that's about average. My tummy is still there tho, I think maybe that's because I've been pg before so my body just cuts out the middle man and pops out before it needs too, well I read that somewhere so I'm sticking to it!
I'm stressing over the tests I'm gonna have to do, unless the nuchal thing is spotless we ARE gonna do the needle in the tummy thing. So it's hard to enjoy the pregnancy at the moment, I'm a little depressed and even scared about the whole thing really. Hormones I suppose?
This pregnancy is pretty much top secret, can't tell family or friends until we are in the clear so to speak, and I frequent a few forums on the 'net, mod a few and have some stalkers believe it or not (me AND hubby, lol) I don't want to be googled iykwim. So call me Emma (M-a ;)) That should be cool.
I've read the ceasar stories and yeah, sounds really painful, I'm too much of a wimp to have it done with an epidural too, all of my bubs were born with the aid of that wonderful, wonderful invention the last didn't quite kick in tho, so for the first time I experienced transition for real and I was not at all happy about that, with the ocytocin (sp) drip the pain was quite unbearable and they left the bloody thing in for like an hour after dd was born so I was still getting hideously painful contractions and didn't really want her anywhere near me poor thing! Luckily daddy was not really interested in giving her up to me anyway, so I ended up bribing the doctor to take it out or I wouldn't feed her until he did - remember every time they feed for the first few days you get those after pains? I thought that would be painful enough without the drip and I was right.
Amy woot! You are SO nearly there! Are you going to have an induction if bubs isn't on time? My Drs finally realised that if they didn't induce me, they wouldn't see a bub, so they have decided to induce me pretty much soon after my due date.
Yay for Chrisco too, we are getting ours on the 11th, can't wait :)
Well I need to do some housework now, so I'll quit the scroller! Hope you are all well and excited about Christmas, I'm still waiting - every time I go into a shopping centre and hear Christmas carols I feel like lobbing potatoes at the speakers until they explode :)
M-a
Just a quickie as am in a whirl here at the moment!!
BUT
GUESS WHAT??????????????
Im engaged!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We just got home a couple hrs ago from picking a ring and it needs size adjustement and pickup not this Saturday but the Saturday after!!
We arent telling anyone untill that day, I told DP I would burst if had to hold it in that long lol
SO he said well tell your mums on bubhub!!
So there you go!
Am so so so SOOOOO Happy!!!! Cant wait till can take a pic and show yous it, its just BEAUTIFUL!!!
Oh and before you ask, no romantic, will you marry me, it was me saying "isnt it about time you at least made half a honest woman of me hun its almost 3 years and katie later..." OKAY!
So of we went to look hahaha
Ys_Woman
28-11-2007, 06:40
*Wiping tears from her eyes* Oh Vicki, that is FANTASTIC NEWS!!! Congratulations hon.
Ys_Woman
28-11-2007, 06:44
:smiliedance::party::hugs:
Forgot to add these little fella's to the last post.
Ys_Woman
28-11-2007, 06:52
I still rib hubby about his lame-o proposal. We were walking back to the train station in Melbourne after work one day when he stopped outside a news stand and asked: "What do you think about marriage?".
I wondered if this was the start of a philosophical discussion..lol..but the look on his face said it all. I think I replied: "Well yes, I am all for it". Or something just as banal. We were married six weeks later.
Romantic expression is so not his strong point :doh: Thank goodness his actions speak louder than words.
Ys_Woman
28-11-2007, 07:15
Well I think I'm like 6 or seven weeks so all good I spose at my age, lol. Still not a lot of morning sickness, not that I'm complaining really, just weird. ...
I'm stressing over the tests I'm gonna have to do, unless the nuchal thing is spotless we ARE gonna do the needle in the tummy thing. So it's hard to enjoy the pregnancy at the moment, I'm a little depressed and even scared about the whole thing really. Hormones I suppose?
... So call me Emma (M-a ;)) That should be cool.
Hello M-a *wink*,
Are you pushing for an early u/s?
I seem to avoid morning sickness. I did get a bit queasy once-in-a-while in the early stages but no throwing up thank goodness. I think I must have a cast iron constitution.
I had the nuchal scan and did the triple test but when the numbers were crunched my doctor said that at my age the results showed a very low risk. She said 1:188 was great but the lady who did the nuchal scan told me anything under 1:300 should be investigated further. I was so confused but my doctor was adamant I would be ok and I did worry about the 1% risk of m/c due to amnio. As a result I didn't bother with the amnio.
After the 18wk scan, which was very thorough, I sat down with the specialist and he ran through it all and told me there were no obvious signs of DS showing in that scan and that with such a good result it bumped my odds up to 1:372.
At the 31wk 4D scan we got to see the baby's face and I was studying it hard for any signs of anomaly but didn't find any. I still do worry a little though, only because of age. I will be so glad to deliver and actually see the little munchkin in the flesh and know for sure.
As to induction..I have been overdue by more than a week with all three *sigh*. Nothing was done with dd#1 but I was scared into labour with the threat of induction...lol. With ds I was given the strip-and-sweep treatment by a dr the day before I delivered and threatened with induction as well, and with dd#2 I only had an internal exam on the Thursday as I had plans for the weekend, but was booked for induction on the Monday morning. I delivered on Friday morning..lol..there go the plans!
I am humming and hawing about asking for a strip-and-sweep this Friday. My midwife did say she would do it at the 40wk appt but I was going to try to convince her at this 38wk one. I am not completely sure though. I keep backing away from the idea and hoping to just go early by myself.
I had best get the kids breaky and dressed..I have been on too long and time is getting away.
Hugs,
Congrats Vicki, that's lovely news! I've been "engaged" for ummmmmmm, 7? years now? LOL! Too poor for a wedding and I didn't want one while I was overweight. I hope you guys tie the knot soon and have a glorious time!
I want an ultrasound asap, might go see Dr tonight get a referal to have one. Haven't got an OB yet, don't even know where I'm delivering! All the rest were spat out at the San (Wahroonga, Seventh day advent Hospital) The most excellent place in the whole wide world I reckon, but I'm uninsured so unless I pay for the birth and stay now I won't be able to go there, so I'm going to try for Westmead Private and they can take it out of the BB or something?
Hopefully, with all the surgery and stuff I've had this year on the breast side will bring me up to the safety net and I might get away with only paying nominal fees for the OBG, I have no idea, never done it without health insurance before.
AARRGGHH, oh well, yeah I'll go see my doc tonight and let you know what the go is. Definitely get an ultrasound next weekish, when they can see more. I'm just so in the dark about all this, I honestly didn't expect to fall so quickly, I definitely wouldn't have wanted all this stress around Christmas, but Amy has the most stress poor thing! I've had a 14th december bub and a January, erm, something baby, Feb 22 and a July, I'm bad at planning!!!! It's SO hard to be heavy around Christmas, everything is 50 times harder, shopping is a disaster and all my Christmas spirit dwindles when I have so much more on my mind than shiny things, wrapping and travelling hours to see rellos. Bugger them, they can all come here to see me this year or I'm staying put ;) Oh, hubby isn't driving due to a fine, so it's all me, we may have to move in a couple of weeks as our lease is up and we will have no funds for a new bond, things are just so WONDERFUL I might go have a lie down and sob for a while I think, I'll be fine later, we do an internet radio show on Wednesdays so that always cheers me up a bit :)
See ya's later :)
M-a
xxxxxx
Hugs to all!!!
CONGRATULATIONS
VICKI!!!!!!!!!!!!:yelclap::smiliedance::party::hug s:
ENGAGED!!! WELL DONE..................
I WISH YOU BOTH LOTS OF LOVE AND HAPPINESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LOVE FROM
TRACEY.XX
Thankyou everyone !!! :kiss: Forgive me if I seem a bit self absorbed at the moment, Just cant get my head out of the clouds! Im sure Ill be back to normal soon?
I actually get my ring Tuesday now, changed my mind and got a different one, and this place resize by then ( and at no extra $ )which means also that dont have to hold it in longer and can tell family sooner LOL
Oh and my this one was a bargain, out for half price ( same as other full price) and a bigger diamond hehe. anyhow will show yous Tuesday night or wednesday.
CD2 for me, spotted for the first 2 days and now full AF, have decided last round of clomid and ttc end april. nothing by then, then thats okay too.
Im happy! If I can have another then great, if not then I also wont be devastated. It will just be a added blessing, iykwim?
iheartj: How did you go with a scan referal?
amy; LOL had to giggle at your "lame-o" proposal. I think as long as we get there thats all that matters, like you say hes not romantic but counts in other ways, DF ( YES typing DF for the 1st time :smiliedance: )
anyhow! DF im still training in the ways of romancing a woman, were getting there lol.
Just needs a shove now and then hehe.
argh got to run, EDU here next week and way behind school work ds2!
xx all
matthewsmum
29-11-2007, 19:43
Hi Girls how are we all??
Well CONGRATS Vicki love thats so good to hear much love and hugs for you both.
Don't plan on having an expensive wedding though...we spent $20,000 ......and although it was wonderful and fantastic it would of been better in our pockets.....but hubby disagrees.......
OMG Amy you are getting so close ..... you should of had bub by chrissy yeah???
Well girls last night was the most I have been disappointed in my life!!!!! Hubby went to the trouble of securing us tickets to see Elton John ( a late anniversary pressie) well I know he has turned 60 but what a boring show I thought I would be singing along to his songs and dancing in my seat....well!!!!! let me just say the lady next to me and the guy in front of me fell ASLEEP!!!!! He sang about Aids and some **** in another country that has been going on for 34 yrs....now I'm sorry that stuff is happening ...but blimey charley hubby paid $165.00 a ticket and I wanted to sing and dance Dammit!!! There was over 40 50,000 people sitting there like we were watching an Opera. The highlight of my evening was beening interveiwed by the radio station Vega at the end of the show.....they got to know how much I liked that show.....I have been listening to Elton since 1973....well thats my ***** ....sorry girls but I had to say it.....
I am making a list of everything to take away with us....only 10 more sleeps.....my girlfriend and her little girl will be arriving on Wed ...which will be great as the two littlies will have a great time together....talk to you all soon Shaz xhttp://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/smilies/tree.gif
:tree:
Thanks Shaz!
Ah im a simple woman really, no need for extravagance for me, DF feels the same so our wedding would be simple but elegant , probably a garden type of thing with dinner and drinks after somewhere. Honeymoon probably just a couple of days over east in some lovely hotel too. thats my ideas though, not sure of DF, but knowing him he would just say as usual "yep sounds good" and leave me to it lol.
Sorry to hear of your disappointing concert! Shame isnt it. Time he gave it up maybe?
Oh not long now till hols! getting excited?
Back later, katies not going down to nap..think shes pooped which she always! does when put down, lol talk about regular at 11 months
Ys_Woman
30-11-2007, 15:36
Shaz: how disappointing about the concert. I would have thought, like you, that it would be a blast. The papers are hyping it up but perhaps the journalist is speculating just because it is Elton John.
Yes I should have the baby b4 xmas. I saw the midwife today for the 38wk appt and she said it is too early to stir me up but will have a go at the 40wk appt for me. Hubby has been driving me over bumpy roads and feeding me spicy foods but I keep telling him; it didn't work when I was a week overdue so why does he think it will work when I still have 2 weeks to go? lol.
Wow a $20K wedding! It must have been gorgeous. How cute that your hubby didn't regret the expense. Most men are watching every penny.
Vicki: How exciting to be planning a wedding :) Congrats again and again hon.
I am dull and boring and not at all foofy. Our wedding cost $300 back in 2000. We had a church wedding but reception was at a friend's house catered by her son and his wife. I guess the fact that none of our families could travel down to the wedding on such short notice allowed us to have the more casual wedding. It was so relaxed though. We spent the night in a motel with a spa bath and were back to work by the Monday..lol. One day we will have a proper long honeymoon when the kids grow up.
As to regular bowel habits and children...Brittany would always go in the car on the way to the Family Day Carer's house. I felt so embarrassed handing over a stinky girl and then dashing off to work. I am sure she thought I had saved it up just for her to change..lololol.
The midwife came today and suggested long walks up hills and eating pineapple (but I am allergic..eek). She is also wondering if baby is posterior and suggested I do some crawling on all fours each day. Sounds like fun. It isn't the getting down that bothers me, but the getting back up again..lol.
Hubby has just arrived home from work so I am off.
Tomorrow we put up the :tree: and decorate the house..I am so excited. I have been cleaning all day in readiness.
Hugs to all.
*waves to Rita and Tracey*
Ys_Woman
01-12-2007, 04:47
Post script: well all that cleaning served to do was make my knees and heels throb all night..lol..so here I am up at the crack of dawn because I can't find a comfortable position to sleep in..doh!
I did have a revelation though last night..you know the expression: you can't teach an old dog new tricks?..well you can!lol.
After twenty years and three kids I never did get the breastfeeding thing right. I think because the first try I had was awful. A nurse had been watching me try to attach Brittany in a gentle fashion...teasing her with the nipple to get her mouth ready. The nurse obviously wasn't impressed so she came over and roughly grabbed Brittany's head and my breast and forced the two together. Suffice it to say Brittany screamed the place down.
With the other two I just never did get it right and try as I did, never truly understood the workings.
At the 34wk appt a month ago the middy suggested I press in on the edges of the areola and try to express some colostrum (I had been using an old book that suggested a different way that wasn't working). Well last night after my shower I decided to try her method and ended up dripping colostrum!! (something I had never been able to do previously). It has increased my confidence that I will be able to breastfeed this one a whole lot more successfully :fingerscrossed: I really hope it works.
OK..I am off to see if I can rest a bit til the family wake up. The kids are so thrilled about decorating the house. They have tidied their rooms in anticipation..woohoo! lol.
Hugs to all.
Off to the December thread, cyas there! :wave:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=139419