View Full Version : What traditions are we all starting?

Tubbychook
31-10-2007, 18:44
I was just wondering what traditions everyone have or will be starting for their children for christmas.
I brought a cute little set from the christmas cave its a plate cup and bowl on the plate it says cookies for santa the cup says milk for santa and the bowl has raindeer treats written on it its so cute. I also brought a copy of the night before christmas original version and aussie version and the elves and the shoemaker. I plan on letting ds put out the cookies and milk and raindeer treats and then putting his stocking on his door handle and then climbing into bed and reading the stories then it will be bed time. I am so looking forward to christmas this year. My parents used to let us stay up till dark to watch the sky to see if we could see santa we were usually lucky enough to see a shooting start or satallite going accross the sky which we used to believe was santa's sleigh and we would then get out pillow case (christmas printed one) and put it on the bottom of the bed and then put out the beer and cookies for santa then it was off to bed for usthat was until i was about 10 things changed after that because when i was 10 my uncle and grandfather were killed in a truck accident on the 19th of december so after that christmas became a not so happy time of year for us. Last year and this year are so much different with DS around he has managed to bring the joy back into the season for us which means alot.

mollymoosmum
31-10-2007, 18:51
I have brought 10 paper mache tree decos (angels) for my dd and I to decorate together. One a year for the next 10years (then I will have to buy some more). I think I will be doing all the decorating this year though as dd will only be 8.5months!

I thought that is a nice thing we can carry on doing together each year...

I think it's great that our kids can put some excitement back into christmas for us! I can't wait:thumbsup:

*Chels*
31-10-2007, 19:02
Oh I love xmas now I have a kid!!!My mum was sooo arty farty when wewere young-making tree decorations and xmas crackers,so I will be doin the same.I am buying DS a big santa sack,leaving notes and food for santa-all of that.
My mum just sent me some tree decorations in the mail from NZ:kiss:
Bring on XMAS:xmastree:

IAdoreYou
31-10-2007, 21:36
We are gonna start the wishing tree tradition and I'm gonna do the cookie thing this year as well, leave out some biscuits and some milk :thumbsup:

31-10-2007, 21:39
Last year I made Reindeer and Angel christmas decos with Cobes using his hands and feet.. I plan on doing that every year :D

I'm carrying on a tradition, where every year we write Cobey's name, the year and (when he's older) there'll be a picture on a pillow case that he uses as a santa sack :) I still have mine :D

Also, because there's so much to do and so much going on with families on christmas day, we're doing Breakfast together.. much to my dad's dismay.

Lollie86
31-10-2007, 21:42
We are also doing the Wishing Tree this year as well as well as:
Leaving cookies and milk and carrots for the reindeer.
Reading a christmas story on christmas eve.
Im also trying to find some christmas themed bed linen that will be put on every christmas for dd.

Cant wait to hear some ideas to add to our new traditions!

veve
31-10-2007, 21:42
Last year I made Reindeer and Angel christmas decos with Cobes using his hands and feet.. I plan on doing that every year :D

mmm I can just imagine how impressed Cobey will be when he is painting his hands at 12 years old .. :laughing: having said that - they looked FANTASTIC last year nik ..

JAmie and I started a tradition the year we got married - every year .. we buy ONE tree decoration each - and write our name, and the year on it .. so we do the same for JAck .. that way .. when Jack moves out - he can take the decorations with him - they will be personal - and full of memories .. and we will continue to buy ONE new one each year :) its nice to get the special ones out and look at them ..

JEn

mollymoosmum
31-10-2007, 22:56
Oh I forgot to add we are also going to start doing the wishing tree as a family and I am going to buy dd a nice special christmas book each year:thumbsup:

mollymoosmum
01-11-2007, 16:06
every year aisha will leave a vodka cruiser and tim tams out for santa;):p. water bowl and grass for the raindeer. i bought her the cutest ballbull (sp?) says baby's 1st christmas
http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa99/jennifer20au/001-1.jpg
i want to get her one every year. saying _____2nd christmas, ______3rd christmas, etc. except not 'babies' every year lol imagine babies 10th christmas:laughing: also get professional chrissy photos done like from pixie or something and a photo with santa at the shops. a xmas shirt. christmas eve sing christmas carols and/or movie and read her a christmas book before sleep. thats all ive thought of so far:)

I love the tree deco, it's really beautiful..... is it hand done??

LovingMumOf3
01-11-2007, 16:39
I make up Chrissy hampers each year for friends,with fudge ,cookies etc.This year I'm going to get help from DD & DS. We bake and decorate cookies together for Santa on Christmas eve.At some point during the evening DH keeps the kidlets busy and I sneak out and put 2 little pressies at the front door than knock and run really fast (PHEW!!) to get back inside in time to see them bringing them inside to open.In them is a brand new pair of PJs sent special delivery from the North pole and a book.Then into the bath they go,into their new PJs and settle down to watch a Chrissy movie then read new books.Before bed we put out the cookies and milk for Santa and sprinkle the reindeer food on the lawn then into bed to read the First Christmas(book was mine when I was little,it's about 30 yrs old) and then The night before Christmas. This year we are going to make our own Chrissy cards and wrapping paper. Also do the Wishing Tree.When decorating the Christmas Tree we listen to chrissy CD. Oh yeah...I make santa footprints with DHs workboots and some powder and also put some raisins outside for Reindeer poo.Works a treat!!:thumbsup: How much do you love Christmas time with little people in the house.It's the BEST!!

SassyDiva
01-11-2007, 19:24
Christmas was big in our house growing up so love that I can re-create it for my two now..

Xmas carols at Broadie, xmas light touring around the streets, santa treats on the spesh santa plate and santa foot prints are some of ours.

Not long to wait now, bring it on :xmas: :xmastree: :xmas:

meegs
03-11-2007, 12:47
Christmas was big in our house growing up so love that I can re-create it for my two now..

Xmas carols at Broadie, xmas light touring around the streets, santa treats on the spesh santa plate and santa foot prints are some of ours.

Exactly the same here. Was a big deal growing up.

We will be going to our local carols by candlelight, going to the Christmas parade, drive around looking at the Christmas lights, leave out cookies and milk for Santa, putting out the stockings.
Also bought DD a beautiful copy of the book 'The Night Before Christmas' when she was born so we read that on Christmas Eve before bed.

I love Christmas :xmastree: :reindeer: :xmas: :xmastree: :reindeer: :xmas:

Ruby Slippers
04-11-2007, 12:26
I'm sorry for your loss:hugs:
I'm glad the magic :wizard: of Christmas is back have a wonderful Christmas :xmastree: .

Fuchsia!
04-11-2007, 12:29
we spinkle talcom powder on the floor and put on big gumboots on and make footprints so it looks like santa had been :)

our little treasures
04-11-2007, 13:04
Yes for us christmas starts with putting the chrissy lights up a few weeks early as we have sooo many sets
Then we buy the fresh tree:xmastree: and usually the 1st December we have a family night where we will decorate our tree. This includes carols in the background platters of nick nacks like coloured popcorn, pretzels you know chrissy junk. lol

Then it's the wishing tree that we select several gifts and wrap to place under the tree.

We drive around several nights looking at the chrissy lights.

Christmas eve is spent singing carols at the local carols then later at home and eating the same junk that we have while decorating the tree. The kids put the food out for santa:xmas: which is milk and cake and carrot for the reindeer: Put santas key outside the door for him to come in.

My kids go to bed.
Then dh runs around with cotton balls putting them everywhere to make it look like santas snow has been dropped everywhere:D I wrap the gifts and DH sets up anything big like the trampoline this year!:p Then we flake it knowing we will be awake in about 2 hours.

Chrissy day is spent morning at our house arvo at mums Where a huge feast is prepared including TURKEY, CHICKEN, DUCK, PORK and ROAST BEEF lots of vegies and deserts. A huge feast that when you get home you wish you ate more
maybe dads if he isn't doing anything.

Boxing day is at my house with inlaws and sil squeezed in somewhere:o

So thats it!!

I have followed a lot of the same traditions as my family did as DH'S family really didn't have any.:reindeer:

Qube
04-11-2007, 13:19
So inspired now!! We have bought J his own santa sack, just like Mum and Dads! We have also reserved the morning just the three of us (even though both sides of the family are itching to watch him open presents). We are taking him for his first pic with santa after the pageant. Decs go up in my family the weekend after the pageant.
Will do the milk and cookies thing, plus the brewery lights christmas eve.
I have been buying so many decorations for the house. It's gonna be pretty crazy in here!:xmas:

SassyMummy
04-11-2007, 16:26
DP's sister made Chanel a Christmas Sack last year... it's just a drawstring type sack, with little bells on the end of the string. She made them for her girls too. Very cute. We'll be using it each and every year... like we did with our Santa sacks until we were about 18.:p

I'm going to put some treats out for the reindeer, as well as Santa... biscuits and some sort of drink for Santa, carrots for the reindeer. When we were little we used to put out milk, but as we got older, I remember leaving out a stubby of beer (I'm guessing because my Dad preferred to guzzle that down:p ). I remember wondering how Santa could fly his sleigh if he was drunk. :laughing:

Thanks to Sassfras, I'll be wrapping all "Santa" presents in brown paper and using ribbons that match the colour of our tree... so this year it'll be blue and silver ribbon.

I'd like to get an Advent Calendar... or make one. Maybe not this year.... and I'm not talking about chocolate ones either. My mother made one when we were young... it was mostly made of felt. It was just a big banner with a big felt Christmas tree sewn on... with 24 beads on the Christmas tree. There were also 24 pockets down the bottom, with 24 little Christmas tree decorations in there (again, felt and handmade). There was like, baubles and Reindeer, and just Christmas-themed decorations. Some of them had beads and sequins.

I really want that for Chanel.

Maybe my Mum will even give it to us, because I can't imagine me being able to make one myself. :p

I'd like to make up some sort of gift for charity each year... like the Wishing Tree or Operation Christmas Child or something.

I think I'd also like to attend Christmas carols each year with DD.

And we'll be having a roast dinner, just as I did every year with my own family. I might spruce it up a little with a few extras (like cold prawns and some other htings better suited to a QLD Summer), but the roast will be the main thing anyway.