View Full Version : February 2006

chillifly
26-02-2006, 17:36
Greetings!

Looking for other mums out there with bubs born in Feb 06.....

My DD was induced and born on 02/02/06, so she's about 3.5 weeks now.

Despite some initial feeding problems and her taking offence at being forcibly ejected from her mum's comfy womb , we are settling in well.

Love to hear stories from other mums and maybe start a regular chat to talk about our beloved offspring as they grow (she's already changed so much!!!).

Amy

DH - David
DD - Lucy Anne Kate 02/02/06

TeenyT
13-03-2006, 12:04
Hi Amy

We recently welcomed the arrival of our little bub Erin on the 25/02/06, two weeks earlier than expected.

After much speculation from friends who suddenly became experts on delivery options and were adamant I would have to have a Caesarian due to my height (5"1), I had a natural birth and was almost drug free which I was adamant I didnt want!! God, it bloody hurt like hell though...

Erin must have known she was a little early as she decided to develop jaundice and subsequently didnt feed well. She ended up becoming quite dehydrated which made me feel like the worst mother in the world and spent 2 weeks in special care in an incubator hooked up to drips and having so many blood tests she her little arms and heels were constantly covered in sticking plasters. Thankfully, she is now home and settling in reasonably well. I just love those 2am wake-up feeding calls though! :sleeping: Oh well, at least she is finally feeding of her own accord and putting on weight again.

How is your little one going? Have you settled into a routine yet or are you still negotiating?

chillifly
14-03-2006, 20:08
Hi Trish,

Congratulations on the birth of Erin!! :yelclap:

Good on you! Did you just have the gas? Labour wasn't anything like what I expected, although I was induced via membrane rupture and syntocin drip - not a nice way to go. Went from 0 on the pain scale to 10 in the space of 15 mins and was in constant pain - no break inbetween contractions, ripped off !!!:mad: Didn't get to use the jacuzzi like I was promised and had to deliver in the 'tv position'. Labour was only 4 hrs 45mins... grease lightening!! How 'bout you?

How big was Erin when she was born? I imagine she must have been a littilie if you are only 5"1.

I'm so sorry to hear your first few weeks were so traumatic!! It is so heartbreaking to see them that way isn't it? Broke my heart when I saw Lucy like that.

Lucy had jaundice too but she was only 220 - apparently bub has to be above 250 to need light treatment; I'm guessing Erin was above this?

Lucy had the cord wrapped around her neck when she was born and was put in the special care nursery at first too. She wouldn't take to bfing and her sugars dropped too low (I had gest. diabetes) so she went back into the nursery to be fed via a nose tube. Had to teach her to suck on the bottle because no suck reflex (she was 9 days early - funny how when they're early they think they still don't have to do any work) and then we were able to take her home. Took another week to get her from the bottle to the breast, but we got there.

I had no idea that feeding was going to be such an issue!

Are you demand feeding bottle/breast? I am, unless I have something on in which case I wake her to feed her and get her into a 3hour feed routine for the day. Unfortunately it never lasts more than a day! :rolleyes: I can't complain too much though. She usually has her last feed about 9:30 then one at around 3am, then again around 7:30 and now takes about an hour to feed - it's just the settling that can sometimes drive you mad :banghead: Does Erin settle/sleep well? Lucy fights it all the way.

I like how you said negotiating lol! You think they could compromise a bit with the sleep/settle thing given all we do for them......

So, how are you finding life as a mum?? A bit surreal??

Anyway, Lucy has finally konked out on my chest so I will attempt to put her down and then I can have some tea!!

TeenyT
20-03-2006, 12:29
God, labour was so different to what I was expecting!! I knew it was going to be painful but had no idea contractions were THAT BAD! I had written up a birth plan and wanted to give birth leaning against a bean bag or similar or even have a water birth as i had heard that lying/sitting on your back can make you tear more easily. I was asked did I want get in the bath to ease the pain and I refused to move apparently. So I gave birth in the semi-upright position screaming firstly for an epidural, then a Caesarian, then for someone with some REAL drugs as the ones I was given werent working (or so I thought). In the end I went through labour with just the gas and a shot of Pethidine early on. (Was it just me or did the gas taste and smell disgusting!). All up labour went for 10 hours from start to finish. I prefer your times!!

Things have started to settle now with Erin thankfully! I know what you mean about bfding and settling. I almost gave up several times and switched to formula but have now compromised. We bought a breast pump and I express once or twice a day and have some "reserves" in the fridge for those times when Erin is really unsettled and/or sleepy and wont feed well. If we have followed the check list (Nappy, hot/cold, wind etc) and she just seems hungry, I usually give her about 20ml top ups just to settle her and it seems to work. Figure since she is only tiny and was relatively underweight small extra feeds couldn't hurt. She was born 6pd 5oz but lost her 10% birth weight on the first day of discharge so we had to feed her on demand to bring her back up again. On the last weigh in she checked in at 3kg and jaundice seems to have gone so all is well for now. There was question of a milk allergy and I had to go on a dairy-free diet for 2 weeks then re-introduce dairy to see how she goes. So far so good.

As far as settling goes, we have our off days where nothing seems to work and she can scream on and off for half the day, usually from lunch time to midnight, but she generally settles really well after that till the morning. I might be speaking too soon but the last few days have been great and she has settled straight away after all but two feeds (lunch time and late afternoon). As much as i hate them, we ended up buying a good dummy to use for late at night screaming sessions, mostly for our own sanity. Luckily ERin doesnt like them much and spits them out after a while but they seem to settle her until her next feed is due, providing it is reasonably close of course! I agree with you though on the feeding/settling routine. Don't you feel sometimes like you've only just fed them and then you have to start all over again. I find on days when Erin is really unsettled that those rare moments of "spare time" when she does sleep have to be rationed and I have to choose which task is more of a priority to get done. Do I have a shower, eat something or sleep? Or if Im really lucky can I fit in all three?
And housework - lets not even go there.... Are you the same or am I just really disorganised? :(

Uh oh, speaking of screaming sessions!! She is still on 3 hourly feeds and is now due so better run. Glad to hear Lucy is starting to feed well. Think we may need to have a word to these young 'uns about sleeping though!!

BabyJoy
23-03-2006, 16:16
Hello Trish and Amy!
My first daughter Laura was born February 26 and wow, what a learning curve motherhood has been!
I'm loving breastfeeding and letting her decide when she wants to be fed... at the moment it's almost every two hours, though she does have a good long sleep in the mornings. She usually feeds for about 20 minutes on each breast (though sometimes she just has one breast then a big sleep, and then wakes up later for the other breast!). Her grumpy time is from about 6pm onwards and some nights I manage to settle her by 9.30pm, but other nights she just won't go to sleep till after 1am. Then she wakes for a nappy change and feed at 3am and then 5am but it's really irregular. Last night was a shocker... wouldn't settle at all, and I pulled out the dummy for the first time with much regret, but I had tried everything I could think of. It seemed to do the trick, but by that stage it was 1.30am. She then woke at 2.30am for a feed, then again at 4am, and then again at 6am. I'm soooo tired today! The best nights have been when she goes to sleep at 9.30pm, then wakes at 3am and then 6am, and then we sleep in till 8.30am. I manage to get longer stretches of sleep which sees me through the day.
I'm also struggling to keep up with the housework, but really don't care too much. It will get done eventually, and I know that my dear hubby will help out when he gets home from work. :)
I'm also feeling traumatised from labour. I still can't get over how painful it was... nothing can prepare you for it! :eek: Laura was two weeks early which was a big shock because she was tiny and everyone thought I would go right to 40 weeks. She was 6lb 3oz at birth. I had a 12 hour labour which included 4 hours of pushing!! I went without any pain relief except for heat packs. I really wanted to have a water birth but because my waters had broke 24 hours previously, they were worried about infections (plus there wasn't any midwife on staff at the time authorised to do water births). My contractions were coming and going which really held up the whole last stage and making me exhausted. In the end the doctors gave me synto to get the contractions going longer and stronger and they had to use the ventouse because she was coming out with her head turned sideways. I also ended up on my back with my legs in stirrups -- NOT the way I had imagined giving birth! I think I was lucky to only have a couple of stitches because it really felt like I was being ripped apart! I honestly don't think I can face having another child yet... the memory of it all is still too strong, yet I do admit I feel really empowered by it and proud of myself!
Laura also had jaundice and her level was 310. They told me she was borderline, so they didn't give her phototherapy, just kept us in longer for observation and I had to give her regular 3-hourly feeds. She perked up and got her colour back very quickly. I don't know why she has now chosen to be fed every two hours because I know I've got plenty of milk so it's not like there's a low supply. I've also expressed milk when I've felt engorged but I won't feed her any of it in a bottle yet because she is still getting used to the breast and I don't want her to attach in the wrong way. I hope I don't have to use the dummy very often for the same reason.

Well, she's a bit niggly now, so I'd better go... hope to chat to you ladies again soon! :hugs:

Ponyboy
26-03-2006, 19:25
Hi Ladies!

I'm a first time mum to baby Anaki, born 4th February 2006 approx. 6 weeks early much to mum's shock!!

Long story but my hind waters broke and 5 days later she was born - meant I had to spend 5 days prior to her birth in hospital and then 4 days after it - 3 with her in Special Care Nursery.

She was born weighing 2.5kg and was very mature and healthy for a premmie so we got to go home much earlier than some. Other than constantly feeding (I figure this is normal), she is going well, she know weighs around 4kg.

Look forward to talking/foruming with you all and sharing the interesting things that happen - being first time round for me I may ask some "silly" questions!!

Sharon

BabyJoy
27-03-2006, 08:38
Hi Sharon and Anaki! :hugs:
Your little one sounds like my daughter... perhaps babies are more hungry when they are born before their due dates! :laughing: And don't worry about asking silly questions... I'm also a first time mum so everything is new to me too!

Laura is one month old now and I can't believe how fast that time has gone... she is growing before our eyes and I'm really noticing her development. Yesterday she followed a rattle with her eyes when I moved it around, and she also seems to respond to our voices a lot more. She is having longer sleeps at night now and her feeds have dropped to every three hours.

At the moment I'm trying to buy a cheap baby carrier on ebay but the bidding wars are crazy!! I had my eye on a mei tai yesterday and right in the last ten minutes of the auction, the bids went crazy from about $20 to $50! Must be a lot of mums out there wanting baby carriers/slings!! :rolleyes:

Ponyboy
27-03-2006, 13:58
The secret to e-bay bidding is to wait until the very last minute to make a bid - better if you have broadband too so you can keep checking/refreshing the page. My husband is somewhat an e-bay addict. He just got me a rocking chair for breastfeeding - done wonders for getting Anaki to sleep.

On a side note, I'm currently using flat cloth nappies during the day when at home and disposables (babylove) at night and when out. I'm looking to turning my flat cloth nappies into fitted nappies as they are so bulky on Anaki and no clothes fit over them. Has anyone successfully done this??

As for sleeping and feeds - as mentioned in my first post, Anaki feeds pretty constantly from 6-11pm (although this is getting better and there are longer breaks between but never 3 hrs). Then feeds at around 1-2am and then again at 4-5am. Then we get up around 7am and feed then go for a walk (if she's not crying for another feed), then another feed when we get back and then feed on and off until lunch and then long sleep (2-3hrs) and then feed around 3-4pm. Very exhausting.

Also she has a small nappy rash around her bum. I am currently using PawPaw ointment.

And yes, I can relate to the growing in front of your eyes. She has grown so much. Will be doing weigh in at the community health centre tomorrow to see how much she's put on - with all this feeding!! She's moving out of newborn nappies to infant size too. And she spends some time talking to herself and talking to us when we talk to her. Tummy time is ok - she moves her head from side to side but does this with a bit of frustration. It's all very exciting watching her do this even though Im' so tired.

~Kimmy~
27-03-2006, 17:12
Hi Amy, Trish, Shannon and Sharon.

Matthias was born on the 28th Feb, so he'll be four weeks tomorrow. :yelclap:

We had a little bit of a scare this afternoon. Well mummy was scared, baby Matthias didn't really seem fazed at all. Then he's not a worry wart like his mum. His cord fell of about a week after he was born, we were still in hospital at the time. Anyway, my mum told me to keep it as a chinese tradition. Meant to symbolize the hold and influence the mother will have forever...

Anyway, it was a little bit bloody (with transfer spots on this clothes) for a week or two, and then just went to oozy stage. It wasn't oozing a great deal. The site was just sticky. Gradually, I noticed that is seemed to be coming out more. Till this afternoon when it just popped out entirely, with a gooey big that looked to be coming loose in the middle. I freaked. Cleaned and dried it with water and cotton wool. Stuck a band aid over it. Whacked a new nappy as fast as I could and bundled him into the car. Twenty minutes later the Doctor was attempting to soothe my frayed nerves. I think my worst thoughts were he was going to burst open and started leaking blood profusely.

The Doctor assured me that it was just a big of the cord that hadn't dried up and fallen off like it was supposed to. Hence it was disturbing the healing process. He said it should fall of eventually (two weeks) or he could tie it off, and it would dry up and fall off. Since it's already been three weeks, I opted for the tie off. The whole time I tried not to look at it. Matthias is braver than me, the whole time he didn't cry or squirm, he was an angel for the nurse and Doctor.

Off to our four week MHCN check tomorrow. Let you know how we go.

Shannon, you poor thing. We both didn't get our bath time. I am positive it would have made such a difference to my labour experience. I don't know why but I thought you had such a good labour. I think it might have been the smiling, radiant photo I saw of you holding Laura. Maybe I should ask how long after the labour that was taken. I can tell you, I was pale as a sheet for at least three days after. And then got worse before better a few days after that. And venthouse, what an ouchy. If I wasn't so stubborn, they would have used forceps on me. Assisted births are so much more painful, and intrusive. Ack!

Matthias started out a K2, went to a K4 by the time we were back in hospital and is now a K1 (eyes and face). I breastfeed him regularly, less than three hours, so the nurse isn't concerned about it still being around yet. He was back at his birth weight after a week and 4.628kg by the time we saw the MHCN at three weeks. Like most mummies here, I feel like a cow with a drain constantly attached to my boob. Little on feeds every 1.5- 2 hours. On the occasion it can stretch to nearly 3 during the night. But night feeds generally go midnight, 2 or 3 am, 4 or 5 am and 7 am (Daddy's alarm clock goes off and we all wake up).

Mei Tai. I have one and I find it really fiddly to use. And it seems really unsecure for an infant. I have only used it once to try it out. I made my own Maya Sling, but he doesn't like to be curled up too long. He likes to stretch out and there's not a lot of room in the sling, it's very snug. Bigger children can have their head out and there's more room, but he's way too young for that. So I'm looking at a Infantino Smart Rider. It looks really comfortable and easy to use. Anyone have it, or recommend a brand?

Also, thoughts on baby monitors. Matthias never cries very loud, unless you've missed all his cues and he's cracked it with you. It'd nice to be able to go outside without worrying I'll miss something.

Nappy rash. I had to be on antibiotics for two weeks. IV in hospital and oral when I went home. It played havoc on the poor guy. The angry red spots have only just disappeared after I gave him nappy free time for the last two days. But it's still a bit blistery in the crack and around the anus. I was using PawPaw but it didn't seem to help. I think it was too far gone by the time I started using it. The best remedy I found for the moment, is nappy free and as dry as possible (blow after wet wipes or pat with cotton pad).

chillifly
27-03-2006, 17:14
Ladies,

There is another thread for Feb mums that I only found after I posted this thread. There's heaps more mums over there too. Did we want to head over there and stick to one thread and close this down, or want to keep two open?

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=237952#post237952

BabyJoy
27-03-2006, 17:21
Sharon, & Kimmy, good to hear from you!
My daughter had bad nappy rash for about two weeks and I put it all down to Babylove nappies. I had tried every ointment, cream and powder on the market and nothing worked, then I put her in Huggies for a day and wow!! It cleared up overnight! I'm also using Woolies Select nappies and they haven't given her a rash.

Everything you said about your Anaki with tummy time and chatting sounds just like Laura. Isn't it amazing how their little personalities start to blossom!

I sympathise with the constant feeding from 6-11pm... Laura has had days like that and I seriously think my nipples are going to be ripped off! She's so tired, but hasn't learnt to go to sleep yet, so she gets frustrated and takes it out on my breasts! :eek:

I'm also going to use flat cloth nappies. I didn't even know about fitted ones until after I'd bought all the flat nappies and a stack of disposables. I don't think I'll bother buying them because she'll just grow out of them anyway. The disposables are really convenient at the moment, especially while she is still tiny, and I think once she has grown a lot more her bigger clothes will fit over her cloth nappy (I hope!) Are you using pilchers as well?

I'm still looking for a bargain on ebay... I have tried the "last minute bid" on a number of items and been successful, but the baby carriers are going well over my price limit... there are some mums out there who are really giving their credit cards a bashing!
:laughing: Thanks for the advice on the mei tai Kimmy... I was originally looking for a second hand Comfy Carry which is made by a company in Cairns but retails for about $100. I figure a secondhand one will be just as good as less of a strain on the budget! I've also considered hiring a Baby Bjorn carrier, but I really don't know. Laura is still tiny and doesn't mind being wrapped up, so we'll see. She really wanted to be held today so I tried making a wrap out of a sheet but it all went haywire and she nearly fell out! I ended up laughing my head off at how ridiculous we both looked with this big sheet wrapped around us!

BabyJoy
27-03-2006, 17:36
Oh, forgot to say with regards to the baby stump... I also would have freaked out if that had happened to Laura. I didn't know what to do with her stump when it came off (it dropped off in the bath after five days) and I ended up burying it under my favourite tree in the garden. DH thought I was being way too sentimental, but it was a part of her and once was a part of me and it just didn't feel right throwing it out with the garbage!
Did you keep your bub's placenta? I have a friend who had a small ceremony where they took it out to sea and she prayed that her child would always be safe swimming in the ocean. DH and I had a good look at Laura's placenta and then looked at each other and said: "they can have it". We just didn't feel any urge to keep it!

chillifly
27-03-2006, 20:40
Hi all!!

Sorry, got caught up while trying to catch up and time just does disappear on you doesn't it??

Had gallbladder surgery on Tuesday afternoon - keyhole was no good, so they ended up doing it through a 7 inch incision :eek: MIL & FIL are up from tassie at moment and are helping out; can't really lift Lucy, just breastfeeding her is painful enough :(

Ok...

Trish - no one can tell you about labour can they? Contractions :eek: And the tv position is so not good is it? I was in that position the entire time and wonder just how different it would have been if I had of been able to move around. How did you treat DH? When I got to the pushing stage (I'd been in my own world the 4 hours up to this with all the constant pain), and came back, he kindly pointed out where I had been digging my nails into the soft bit between his thumb and knuckles. What did he have to complain about I ask you?!?!? Do you think the birth plan was worth it? We weren't given the option of anything really and I was too far gone to think about what pain relief let alone ask for it. They had to keep telling me to use the gas and how yuck is it?!?! Settling/feeding is just so hit and miss isn't it? I think I'm starting to figure out when she's tired and when she still wants more food. She pulls off constantly when she's had enough; it's like it's still there so she thinks she still wants it, but doesn't really and doesn't know how to knock it back. yay on the jaundice. How is Erin feeding now?

Shannon - sounds like you have a bad case of the witching/arsenic hours!! You poor thing. We went through that for a few weeks but Lucy has finally grown out of it - or we've figured out a system that works better for us (us as in me!). Wow, 2hr feeds. How do you cope with that? How good are you to go natural? No way hose! And we do need some sort of a debrief on the labour don't we? I really think that's something they should offer in the hospital before you go home. Even if it's not compulsory and there's just someone you can organise to talk to, or even ring up when you go home. Legs in stirrups - me too!! I thought I'd be really embarrassed about it, but I was just so keen to get her out I didn't care who saw what! I thought what your dr said about Laura's jaundice at 320 being borderline was interesting. Lucy was 220 and we were told that if she'd been 250 or over then she would have had to have undergone the phytotherapy.

SharonU - Anaki is such an unusual nake; how is it pronounced and where is it from? Those 5 days waiting for Anaki would have been long; how did you cope?!?!? Those feeds from 6 - 11 sound like 'cluster feeding' and apparently bubs is just putting their order in for the next day - something to do with milk supply

Babyjoy - Lucy was 9 days before EDD and was induced (which she was deeply offended by), but I have her feeding to my routine and she is fairly flexible upon it too if I want to change the times a bit (see below). Oh, and don't say that about babylove nappies :eek: I just bought a bulk amount of them. Mind you, they're supposed to be suitable for 4 - 8kg and she's about 4.3kg, but they're way too big for her. She just slips right out of them. Keep meaning to email them about that actually.... And it's a bugger about the fitted nappies isn't it? I use cloth for the day and disposable at night and wish I had known about all those pretty fitted ones. Look much better than the terry towel cloth ones. Don't use pilchers or plackies yet. Oh, and yuk on the placenta! When they took out my placenta, they put it on a tray next to DH for the next 45 mins and his eyes kept getting drawn to it and away from it again - kind of like a car crash he says.

Kimmy - love the name Matthias! What a scary moment with the cord, and so soon!! You just don't know what's normal or not and what to do about it do you? You feel like such a bad mum. Lucy had severe nappy rash from the cream we were using and god we felt so bad. I even emailed the company to let them know what had happened I was so unimpressed. We using Amolin baby cream - it's fantastic! We had to put baby metho on Lucy's stump as it got a bit smelly and oozy. Mind you, she lost her cord after her third day at home and we have no idea where it went!! We looked everywhere but couldn't find it. No ideas on slings or monitors sorry; not using them.

The development is amazing isn't it? 4 weeks ago Lucy was trying to figure out how to make her happy noise as opposed to crying noises and was getting so frustrated when she made the wrong noise. Now she can make happy noises and knows she gets our attention by using them - particularly when she gets louder. It was only last week that she would look at us intently for a while and then look away for a break over and over again until she would cry for a sleep. As of a couple of days ago she holds your gaze for as long as 30 mins, making noises, movements and smiling to keep your attention. It's just gorgeous and absolutely melts my heart (not to mention her nanna's!)

Our feeding routine is - 10:30am, 1:30pm, 4:30pm, 6pm (top up feed), 10pm, 2:30/3am and then again somewhere between 7am and 8am. I enforced a 3 hour feed during the day all the time, then found if I topped her up at 6 she would go until 10 and then sleep until 3. If I don't follow this, and give her a top up at 6, and wake her up for a 10pm feed, she feeds at 6:30, 8:30, 12:00, 3:00, 6:30....and she's only snacking. I get her to fully drain both breasts every feed, and got her to do this as soon as she started breastfeeding. I think I've been really lucky she's so flexible and has allowed me to set her feeding times really. Particularly when I hear about your 1.5/2hr feeds!!!!

Ebay - apparently it is technically it is called 'sniping' and it is frowned upon by the eBay ppl, but lets face it, how do you get anything for a decent amount if you don't? Ppl that bid early just push the prices of the items up to an unbelievable amount don't they?

Housework....ha!!!! (Confession: my MIL mopped my floors today and has told me tomorrow she will do the toilets and bathroom - how lucky am I?)

And the dummy - why are people for and against?

~Kimmy~
28-03-2006, 12:04
Dummies. Amy, I'm not really against them. If your child cries incessantly and it's driving you round the bend and others when you're out, then it's a lot more practical than trying to pacify with the boob. Matthias hasn't needed one yet, and I hope I don't have to get one, as both thumb and dummy are hard habits to break if they become dependant on them. Bubba sucks his thumb when he's really hungry and I haven't got to him yet, but he doesn't use it for soothing.

I'll tell my DH that you love the name. He chose it. I was a little hesitant about it at first. It's a very strong adult name. For a baby, it's... well my Dad calls him Matt, and that's okay. I love the meaning. "God's gift" - he really is. I also hope you heal well and soon Amy. What a thing to go through after giving birth.

As for the nappy rash, we've found out what it's from. Antibiotics. It's thrush related. He's got it in his mouth and bottom. We're both getting treated now, and the MCHN said to give him nappy free time at least three times a day, and to use a barrier cream. Funny mum, I though nappy creams were supposed to cure nappy rash. Really they just try to prevent it from getting worse...

Although after your experience with BabyLove Shannon, I'm wondering if it's a contributing factor. I can't use Huggies at the moment though. Newborn is too small, and Crawler is too big. At Coles they didn't have an inbetween. Does anyone know if they do?

Haha, my DH said the placenta looked like a huge liver! I'd seen one before so I knew what to expect. I wanted to donate the cord blood, but the hospital we were at doesn't have the facilities to support that. RWH does I think... And the Angliss. We didn't keep the placenta. Honestly, I was so tired I forgot I had a baby till about 4am the next day. I thought it was a dream. I fainted after the birth. First time in my whole life, and it happened five times for good measure. I think it was a combination of exhaustion, pain build-up, hunger and blood loss. They didn't give me a transfusion though.

Went for our 4 week today. 5kg, 56.8cms and HC 39cms. The nurse was very impressed with him. He can push up, and hold his head on his tummy. He smiles a lot now, and when he does I rub noses with him. Anyone else get that "so cute you want to squeeze them to bits" feeling?

Ponyboy
28-03-2006, 13:45
Am at my wits end. How do people manage to go out anywhere with their children. Anaki is just wanting to feed constantly in the morning and won't settle for a sleep - she is still awake now even though she falls asleep on the breast - put her down and she's awake again. It took me from 7-10.30am to get out of the house to the community health centre - once there she wanted another feed, then got weighed (put on 360grams in a week), then another feed, then a nappy change, then another feed and I'm still trying to walk home. Once home another feed and another feed.... and so on.

How do others manage? I want to meet other mums but am flat out getting out of the house in time for playgroups etc.

Ponyboy
28-03-2006, 14:14
Oh forgot to answer the question about Anaki's name. It's pronounced (Anna-key). It seems to have many origins - Dutch, Hawaiin, Asian etc etc. We originally named her Anakie (after the town in Central Qld) as a private joke between my husband and I who have somewhat controversial/conspiracy theorist ideas and thought rather than spell it Anarchy, we could spell it the same way as the town. We ended up dropping the "e" due to numerological reasons.

~Kimmy~
28-03-2006, 18:24
It reminds me of Star Wars Episode 1, Anakin "Anie" :) cute.

Sharon, I don't know what to say except to suggest what worked for me.
Matthias falls asleep on the breast, but as soon as I put him down, he wakes up. I found letting him burp longer after a feed (sit him upright and cradle his head, wait for the air - sometimes there isn't any but I wait a few minutes at least) works to stop reflux, and minimise the chance of hiccups or spit up. Then I stand by his cot and pat his bottom, rock him gently. He usually drifts off, and once he looks drowsy, I put him down. But he's a textbook baby. He only really cries if he needs something. Only hot days or over stimulation throw a spanner in the works. Like you in the first week at home, I struggled to do anything. I was still in my PJs at lunchtime. Today, I was showered, fed and had him bathed, dressed, fed and ready to go by 10. Give us a couple more weeks and I'm sure we could manage that everyday, but I'm gonna take it slow. Feeling really noddy at the moment.

chillifly
28-03-2006, 20:50
Thank you Kimmy :hugs: I'm a lucky girl aren't I :rolleyes:

HOW DO YOU PACIFY WHEN OUT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!? OMG!!!!!!! Lucy won't even settle with the dummy for ages. I feel so incompetent. Most ppl are understanding, but you can just see some of the looks some of them have. I'm sure that's what makes her more antsy.

We wouldn't survive without the dummy - do you use one SharonU? I've been really strict about keeping Lucy to feed times. I just don't like the idea of her snacking on my boob all the time or using it as a pacifier. Feed and get off. Once she's had a good amount and if she's just fussing around with it, then I take her off and give her a dummy (if she's still hungry she spits it out no fear!). Like Kimmy, the best thing seems to be after a feed to keep her upright for a good 10 mins; this has been great in stopping her from possetting. If it's time for her to have a sleep (they don't sleep all day unfortunately - Lucy only about 4 hours total between 7am and 7pm), I put her down. She usually cracks up and we give her the dummy, put her in the bassinet and pat her back saying 'sssh'. I don't want her to get used to being held in order to go to sleep. We do this until she goes to sleep. If she's not crying and is happily sucking on the dummy (sometimes she will cry and cry - or scream and scream! - and keep spitting the dummy out), I will just let her go off by herself.

In terms of getting out of the house on time, I get up in enough time before a feed to get myself and everything for her ready so as soon as she's finished we're out the door (literally burping her as I lock the front door!). This is where the dummy comes in handy. Don't think she doesn't crack up though because she does!! We just put her in that car seat and persist in putting the dummy in until she sucks on it and then we go - singing nursery rhymes all the way to keep her happy sometimes. This has been a lot of trial and error though. There have been a few times I've gotten nowhere I was just running so late with her.

I guess for me SharonU, I would be tough and start to refuse feeding her all the time by spacing out the time between feeds. Maybe try working out a schedule that works for you based on every 3 hours (which is what is recommended), and start making her wait say an extra 5-10 mins every time she asks for a feed. From what I understand, allowing her to snack constantly runs the risk of her not getting the fatty hindmilk, and only the filling foremilk. Though you said she's putting on truckload of weight, so that's not a problem for Anaki... Perhaps a lac consult would be of benefit to you. Feel free to pm me if you want to talk more about spacing about feeds....

I'm totally against thumb sucking too. I've seen too many kids in primary school still sucking on their thumb. I've never seen a kid sucking on a dummy tho..........

Huggies have an infant nappy 4 - 8kg. www.mumshappynappies.com.au if in Brisbane. Sure you can get them elsewhere though too

I know what you mean about bubs being so cute you could squeeze them to bits! Lucy's smile just melts my heart, she's just gorgeous. She's started having full conversations with noises, arm and leg movements and lots of facial expression. We've started looking away and she tries to get our attention with some really cute noises. This morning though when her dad tried it for the first time, her bottom lip pouted out and her eyes filled with tears. Ignored by her dad broke her little heart. Got Dad's attention quick smart - lots of hugs and kisses - then a ha! noise (gotcha dad!!!)

~Kimmy~
29-03-2006, 08:06
We couldn't break my nephew from his dummy habit till he was two and a half. He wouldn't sleep without it, and sometimes he'd carry it around for comfort. Like breastfeeding, I think when they start walking and talking, it's time to stop. But that's just me. I wouldn't be comfortable with it.

As for my bub, I guess I'm lucky that he's usually easy to soothe. He was having a good hollar in Coles the other day, but he was just dirty and hungry. Went back to sleep after I helped him out. :D

Oh and I hope we keep this thread going. For any newbies to bubhub, this is in the right section and easy to find. Also even though there is a familiar face here for me, it's nice starting over again. Last time around it was first time pregnant, and now here it's first time mum.

How's Laura doing? How was the 4wk check, Shannon? I posted a pic of the mei tai in Yahoo. You see what I mean.

TeenyT
29-03-2006, 11:29
Long live the dummy!! I was so reluctant to use one as well but it has certainly saved our sanity. Erin is a bit of a dummy snob though. She is very brand particular - hates the cheapos but also detests the good Nuk ones. The only ones she accepts are the Avent. But she also dictates when she uses them and will ungraciously spit them out if she "isnt in the mood" for a dummy.

I can completely sympathise with you guys about getting out the house. Some days Erin screams constantly and the thought of going out in public fills me with dread. Im with chillifly and find that if I prepare everything in the nappy bag the night before, express some BM for a bottle then breast feed her just before walking out the door I can usually buy myself 2 hours to do something before she demands her next feed. Then out comes the bottle and I can get another hour once I settle her. I've learnt to be patient and realise that what used to be a quick one hour visit to the shops now takes half if not the whole day, but getting out saves your sanity and just gives you a distraction from the screaming. Also window shopping (and buying if you can be bothered) it makes you feel a little human again. You do need nerves of steel though for the times when bub decides to scream in the shops - why do they always do it when you go into the quietest shop or just as you are about to have a mouthful of lunch. But bugger the people that cant cope with your babies crying - they only have to put up with a minute or two of it while you walk past. It wont kill them so ignore the looks.

By the way, for those that use Huggies disposables: Coles has a special on at the moment with the bulk boxes for $29.99. Going to brave the shops and venture out to buy a couple of boxes at that price!!

Ponyboy
30-03-2006, 09:58
Thanks everyone for the tips but I believe she was going through a growth spurt as it seems to have settled into a feed every 3-4hrs now. Although Monday was a nightmare as she was on the boob all day from 7am-10.45pm and then she slept through till 4am and went back into 3-4hr pattern.

Yes I saw the Huggies sale too. so far I'm finding the BabyLove quite good. Although it seems Anaki is inbetween the newborn and infant size so when she does explosive runny poos it does leak out the legs.

I'm pleased to say that at our recent weigh in a the community health centre she has put on 360grams in one week and is now 4.36kg. She is definately growing overnight!!

I also take the tip about getting ready the night before - I'm a very organised person, comes from my profession - Librarian - so definately have everything ready to go. Just can't control the feeding so that's usually the thing that slows me down from getting out the door!!

Has anyone ventured out to playgroups or mothers groups??

~Kimmy~
30-03-2006, 10:55
Hi Trish, after yesterday I've given up my resistance. If it's going to soothe him enough to get him to sleep after I put him down, then I'm all for it. I need to sleep. He has reflux and thrush at the moment. I've never seen a bottom look so painful. Tonight, we're buying a dummy. You've given me comfort that babies do have to use it constantly and can decide they don't want it or need it anymore.

Shannon, I switched him back to Huggies from Babylove. Even though Crawlers comes up past his navel. I couldn't find Infants. I second your findings on Babylove. Every big wee I noticed a lot of crystals. I've stopped using the wipes too. Cotton wool and tissues. Hopefully his bottom heals quickly - poor thing. I'm going to buy the Aromababy cream today too.

Anyone tried ALDI nappies or Woolsworth/Safeway Select brand?

Sharon, you might already be doing this, but I find most nappies rarely leak out the sides if you make sure all the ruffles are out and it's snug around the tops of their thighs. So far we're still trying to find a level of normalcy. I haven't really looked into playgroup yet, although a few of my friends want me to start one. Definately when I feel we're ready to venture out on a regular basis.

BabyJoy
30-03-2006, 15:45
Hi ladies! Wow, it's so great to read all the posts and find I'm not the only one with issues to deal with! :)

Re: Nappies... I bought the Coles special Newborn pack for $29.99 because Laura is still small enough for them... though the big poos sometimes leak out the sides. They didn't have any infant ones which would have been perfect. I have read on another thread on bubhub that they are hard to find. Perhaps we should all email Huggies and tell them to get their butts into gear! I think Laura is getting big enough for cloth now, so when the huggies are finished I'll make the switch... I think my washing machine is in for a shock! :laughing: Oh, forgot to say I've also used Woolworths Select (3-6kg size) and they were great... no rash, no crystals.

Re: Playgroups/mother's groups... I'm joining a mother's group next Friday (April 7) for mums with newborns. It runs for six weeks at the community health centre and then all the mums move up to the next group (0-3 months) and so on. The health nurse gives a bit of a talk about problems you might be facing and then the mums take it from there... hopefully I'll finally make some close friends with children as everyone else I know is single or married without kids.

Re: Four week check... ummm... I feel like a bad mum, but we didn't have a four week check! I was only told to come back at six weeks. Not that I'm worried, because she's definitely put on weight and is doing great in my eyes.

Re: Dummies... I tried giving one to Laura a few times when the crying is non-stop and my settling efforts were useless. She took it for about ten minutes and then spat it out. Now she never wants to take it... she just likes to have a bit of a cry to get it out of her system! Funny thing is that all the dummies we have were given to us at my baby shower or samples from various companies - we never bought one ourselves. Most of the time Laura settles by gentle rocking, sssh-ing or feeding. I'm definitely working out her different cries... which one means hunger, which one means dirty nappy. I love this "mother instinct"! :smiliedance: I reckon if dummies work for you then use them! I sucked my thumb as a kid and didn't give it up till I was at school!! Way too old if you ask me... at least with dummies you can take them away!

Re: Mei Tai... Kimmy, check out my post in the March Mummies thread. We bought a Baby Bjorn and it's fantastic!

Sharon, when I first read your daughter's name, Anakie (the town) was the first thing that popped into my head... I used to live in Emerald. Can I ask why you'd name your daughter after a town? :rolleyes:

Chilifly... hope you are recovering well from surgery you poor thing! I really sympathise!

Ponyboy
30-03-2006, 16:42
Sharon, when I first read your daughter's name, Anakie (the town) was the first thing that popped into my head... I used to live in Emerald. Can I ask why you'd name your daughter after a town? :rolleyes:

When were you in Emerald - I lived there from 1996-2000.

Well it is interesting you ask about that. We didn't intentionally name her after a town. My husband was watching an episode of "the young ones" and saw Vivian wearing his Anarchy shirt. So he came to the hospital to visit me, and maybe I had some esp or something but I said why not name our baby (if it's a girl) Anarchy but instead spell it like the town Anakie - little private joke as we are known as conspiracy theorists and don't really conform - so that was decided and lucky we had a girl because it was the only name we agreed on. My husband then said we'd have to drop the e because numerologically it was not good when her whole name was added up.

Other names we had for girls were Adele and Mya. For boys - Jim!

Ponyboy
30-03-2006, 16:45
Sharon, you might already be doing this, but I find most nappies rarely leak out the sides if you make sure all the ruffles are out and it's snug around the tops of their thighs. So far we're still trying to find a level of normalcy. I haven't really looked into playgroup yet, although a few of my friends want me to start one. Definately when I feel we're ready to venture out on a regular basis.
Hi Kimmy! Yep I pull the ruffles out. I do believe it only happens with really big poos that I don't think any nappy could hold. Am going to convert my flat cloth nappies into fitted ones, once I get a pattern I like and learn how to sew!! Oh and actually find a length of time not interupted (not that I don't like being interupted by our gorgeous daughter) by feeds and dirty nappies.

Ponyboy
30-03-2006, 16:50
Just read back over the forum and realised that some of you talked about your labour. I've just posted my "birth story" in the Birth Stories subforum if you wish to read.

BabyJoy
31-03-2006, 08:11
Hi Sharon, how weird is that? I lived there from 1996 to 1998.
I worked at the newspaper (Central Qld News). We may have crossed paths!

Ponyboy
31-03-2006, 15:33
The angry red spots have only just disappeared after I gave him nappy free time for the last two days. But it's still a bit blistery in the crack and around the anus. I was using PawPaw but it didn't seem to help. I think it was too far gone by the time I started using it. The best remedy I found for the moment, is nappy free and as dry as possible (blow after wet wipes or pat with cotton pad).

Just wondering how you do the nappy free time? Anaki seems to be constantly pooing or weeing - and she hates having her bum showing and being naked. I'd love to give her nappy free time but am unsure how to do it without her screaming or there being a big mess.

chillifly
31-03-2006, 17:53
Kimmy I'm with you on the walking and talking with breastfeeding and the dummy. Only problem I see is what if they're talking at 6 months and walking at 7.5 months like I was?!?!?!?!? I want to BF to 12 months if possible, but can't imagine doing it if she can ask for it.....

LMAO Teeny T!!!! They are snobs aren't they? Lucky for us Lucy took to the ones we had bought for her. Only discovered about the snobbiness at mother's group where they were all talking about how their bubs kept rejecting their dummies and they had to buy one of all the different types and go from there. Lucky for me Lucy liked the cheapies

Thanks SharonU!! What babylove size? We've got 4-8kg and :eek: . We were driving yesterday and Lucy was crying continuously; we figured because she was tired. Nothing was pacifying her though and it got to the stage where it sounded like she was breaking her heart and I had tears in my eyes and got DH to pull over (he wasn't impressed). When I went to get her out, her little suit was soaked through; the car seat was absolutely drenched!!!!!!! :crying: I felt so bad!!! We had her in the babylove and she was sitting up straight, WHAT THE?!?!?!?!? They're just way too big - and we bought 300 of the damn things in a bulk buy :mad:

We've had trouble with the nappy free time too. I did get a sample pack of these disposable 'change mats' which I reckon would work really well. They have a plastic backing and a soft, absorbable top and are quite big. We put Lucy on that last time we did nappy free time and she pooed and weed all over it - but nothing on the carpet. Didn't last long because of the screaming though. She doesn't even like having her nappy off :rolleyes:

~Kimmy~
02-04-2006, 09:45
Sharon, like Amy, I use the disposable change mats. I put him on his tummy so he doesn't usually wee till I turn him over. It only lasts ten minutes tops but I figure some time is better than none at all. I get them from Dimmeys. They're called Baby Love Cruisers. His rash is a lot better, not red at all now. I have to treat the thrush now though. I'm off to get antifungal cream today.

Shannon, I found some reviews on the Baby Bjorn. I think I'll try out that brand, Snugli, Theodore Bean and Infantino. I definately have to get one - it's going to save my sanity.

BabyJoy
02-04-2006, 10:03
Hello! Kimmy, I recommend trying them all on first with Matthias in them and picking the one that's the most comfy (and easiest to manage). I found the Theodore Bean one really uncomfortable (buckles digging into my sides).

I had the biggest laugh this morning that I have to tell you about. Kimmy, when I read your post about Matthias getting squirted in the eye by your breast milk, I thought, wow that's impressive, but then it happened to me!! I couldn't believe it! It was like a leak in a hose pipe that just won't stop! Poor Laura got an eye full and then it went all over her face and over the couch. I put my hand over my boob to stop it, but then when I pulled away to have a look, it started squirting again! Sorry if this is TMI but I just couldn't stop laughing -- I felt like some freak of nature! BEWARE: breastfeeding boobs have a life of their own! :D

With regards to disposable change mats, I bought a couple of plastic change mats that you can just wipe clean or throw in the wash and they've been really good. If I time it right, Laura's tummy/bare bum time can last around half an hour without her making a mess. I usually lie her on a nappy over the plastic sheet in case she gets sweaty and sticky. The other thing is that I lay her right next to a window so she gets some filtered light. There's lots of plants outside and she gets quite mesmerised by them blowing in the breeze!

~Kimmy~
03-04-2006, 11:37
And after having blissful 3-4 hour nights. I'm down to 3 hours of sleep total if I'm lucky. The past two nights have been a nightmare. I think it's either because he has now developed bad reflux, or it's all down to a suspected cold. His breathing is very loud and stuffy sounding. I'm going to give him another couple weeks. But if this continues I might switch to formula night feeding. Every mother who's done it says bub sleeps 4 to 7 hours. I would be thankful just to get back to 4. :( I love my baby and I hate feeling resentful. He starts crying only ten minutes after I've put him down. This morning he was up at 3 and didn't really sleep at all till 7. It was terrible. I pretty much had him on my boob to settle him the whole time. At least I got a little shut I like that but not much.

Amy, I didn't have to go on a search for Infant in the end. He fits Crawler pretty well now. I haven't had any leaks - touch wood. A friend bought me a box of 90 as a birth gift. I started using them on Saturday after I finished the BabyLove I had left. His rash is almost completely gone. I just have to finish treating the thrush and his bottom will be blemish free. I'm so happy it just doesn't look sore anymore. :smiliedance:

I hope all the mummies and babies are having a good day. Matthias is finally asleep again, so I'm going to grab a quick nap so I can go out this afternoon. My good friend had her baby on Friday. She had to have a C-section because he was breech, poor thing. She was so unhappy about it, because she knew her recovery was going to be so much longer and it's an operation. She says she's a terrible patient. I think I would be too. I can't stand feeling restricted.

BabyJoy
03-04-2006, 14:45
Sorry to hear about your lack of sleep Kimmy. I'm sure all of us can relate to that at some stage. Laura has also had nights like that. The night of the cyclone was misery... stinking hot, no power for a fan or airconditioning, and she just cried and cried. :(

I read somewhere about sleeping patterns and it said that babies have about 20mins of light sleep before they go into deep sleep. After 20 minutes of that, the light sleep happens again and so on. This is why they wake easily when you put them down during the first 20 mins. I've tried putting Laura down after the 20 mins is up and it seems to to work. You can tell they have gone into deep sleep because they are even more floppy (don't get that startle reflex), and their eyes don't move as much. Laura set a new record last night for her longest sleep yet... four and a half hours! Doesn't sound like much, but I really appreciated the extra hour and a half (she normally goes three-hour stretches before crying for a feed).

I'm trying cloth nappies on Laura today for the first time as the newborn huggies have finally run out. It looks so huge on her, but I've folded it up so it's really snug and using pilchers to try to prevent any leaks. I thought I would only use disposables for nights and when we go out. I sure hope she doesn't get a rash from using cloth. I'm also using nappy liners to make clean-up a bit easier.

Is anyone using washable nursing pads? I've just been using disposables but thought it might be worth buying washable ones to save money. Anyone got any recommendations?

Ponyboy
03-04-2006, 17:19
Routine and babies - I'm sure they are lying to us!!!

Anaki just had another day of constant feeding but is now asleep and I'm hoping it doesn't mean she'll be up all night. She even had a few nights of going 5 hours from 12am-5am - but I kept waking up because I thought there was something wrong.

I was doing the cloth nappy during the day and disposables at night and going out but gave up as none of the clothes fitted over the cloth nappies - perhaps it was me folding them wrong. However I will try and sew some fitted ones in the near future - when time permits.

I'm thinking that if I get up at the 4am feed and stay up we might be on to something. I woke up a few times last week at 5am and we seemed to actually get some sort of routine going and things went smoothly. However if we get up later it stuffs the day up - anyone else find this??

Sorry to hear about everyone's lack of sleep but I can relate to it. Twice over the weekend I had 3am nappy changes that resulted in explosive poo all over the floor. You kind of stand there for a minute wanting to burst into tears because you don't know where to start and you can hardly open your eyes - anyone else had this??

Still the gorgeous bundles we have are all worth the sore boobs and sleepy eyes - reminds me of the morning after late nights at the clubs!!! 8-)

chillifly
03-04-2006, 19:17
Kimmy - :thumbsup:
babylove cruisers - them the ones! :fingerscrossed: the rash disappears completely and doesn't come back. I felt like such a bad mum when Lucy got her first nappy rash (the second day we had her home); it was from the product we were using though. For the snuffly nose, have you tried 'Fess's little noses'? You buy it at the chemist and it's pretty good. Hope your friend and her bubba is okay and you had a good visit.

I've heard that room temp boiled water helps to settle. Actually my mother has been shoving it down my throat trying to get me to do it. I've done it a couple of times, but Lucy hates it and thinks she's being ripped off when she should be getting milk. Anybody else tried it?

Sharon, you're going to hate me, and by saying this I'm probably going to jinx it, but Lucy has been in a routine pretty much from day one and she sticks to it everyday. It's fantastic because I know how to organise my day around her. Yes, yes, I know I'm lucky and you're sending daggers my way..... ;) I couldn't imagine not having a routine for her to go by. How do you cope?!?!?!?!? As for cloth nappies during the day, I don't bother with doing them up at the bottom; after all, it's only DH and I that see her more often than not. Explosive poo @ 3am - you did have a rough night.:( What is it with explosive poo anyway?!?!? We had it all over the bouncy bouncy just as we were about to walk out the door... *sigh*

Babyjoy, I've got Tommee Tippee washable nursing pads and have found them okay; mind you, I've only used them 3 or 4 times. I don't use them cos I don't leak.

How are you gals coping with mothers and mils? Good, bad, interferers, helpers???

Ponyboy
04-04-2006, 06:35
My mum has been pretty good. She doesn't stick her nose in unless asked although her and my sister ganged up on me one day and hounded me about Anaki not wearing a singlet under her clothes - it was summer for goodness sake!! Oh and then there is the wind issue. Anaki gets a lot of wind and will burp and pass wind ok but still whinge of tummy ache - my mum keeps telling me it's because of chocolate. But you see I eat a standard amount of chocolate each night for dessert and Anaki is not always whingy about wind only some times so I think it's not the chocolate.

MIL lives down in Tassie. She stayed with us for 4 days after I came home from hospital and although she was trying to help she annoyed me no end. I just wanted to be alone with my baby and work out how to cope on my own. She kept wanting to do things and talk and relate everything I was going through to her own experiences - drove me mad. I'm a person that likes to have control and know for myself that I can do things on my own - I mean she wasn't going to be there all the time so I figure I had to learn how to do it all alone so it wasn't a shock. She didn't understand this and plus Rohan and I had no time to ourselves with our new daughter and that annoyed us both too.

One thing I'm finding hard to handle is considering motherhood as a career. I'm quite respected in my workplace as a hardworker and at the end of the day I felt I had achieved things. Now I feel like all I'm doing is feeding and changing nappies and not really achieving much. At present I feel like I wouldn't mind doing p/t work once maternity leave is up but at the same time feel guilty that I won't be spending the full amount of time with my daughter. Is anyone else in that predicament??

~Kimmy~
04-04-2006, 08:10
Sharon, I'm feeling the opposite. I have a full time job waiting for me, but right now I'm thinking how in the world will we manage? I'm over the moon if i can get us both bathed, do a load of washing, tidy the house and get breakfast, lunch and dinner in for the day. I have a new found respect for mums will two or more under 3. On getting up earlier - I found if I feed him at 6 or 7 and stayed up instead of going back to sleep, I could fit more in for myself (breakfast and shower in the morning, instead of late mid-morning). 4am is too early, although it's only the two am feed that I feel like a drunk zombie.
Thankfully all his accidents happen during the day. Like you I think I'd have a breakdown if it happened around dawn or two.

Amy, my mum's the same. She's been trying to feed him water since hospital. I keep telling her, nowdays they're telling us breastmilk exclusively. Foremilk is the thirst quencher. Matthias still has thrush but the rash has completely cleared up. I took photos, and my friend (new mum) was amazed at how bad it can get overnight. As for my MIL, she's so scarse I wonder if she remembers I've had the baby. Unlike my mum, she doesn't work. She's been over twice, and visited three times in the hospital - I was there for just over a week all up. Something she does keep asking though, are you sure you have enough milk? This billy goat ( he makes bleating noises between sucks) has a double chin and is 5.5kgs. The MHCN has no concerns about his feeding. My DH says not to worry about her. :( But I feel neglected for him. She has her other nephew almost every second day. Granted he's three, but she had him from 16 months.

Shannon, I'm definately going to try washables. Kmart sells them and I'm sure Bras n Things would. The comfortable ones - Pigeon and Johnsons are just too expensive to use contiunally. As for Mr Matthias, I was in heaven last night. He went two hours between feeds, and only took one side so I was up for only twenty minute stretches. Now if only he could fit in two drained sides and be out for four hours - I can live in hope!!! :laughing:

For newborns/infants (cloth nappies), fold the nappy over twice to make a triangle. For bigger babies, use towelling, a chuck and fold only one. The plastic snibs the hospital used were brilliant. I didn't have any leaks and he fit into his clothes fine. I want to use cloth but DH doesn't want to. Considering he doesn't do any changes now (he thinks tissues and sorbelene is too messy and complicated) I wish he'd relent.

BabyJoy
04-04-2006, 09:34
Well, so far so good wih the cloth nappies... no rash and no leaks. Laura's wearing 000 size now, although she still fits into 0000 but it's not as easier to put her arms in the sleeves.
I'm probably in the minority when it comes to mothers/mil and other family interfering... I don't have anyone here. They all live a long way away (MIL is in South Africa) and my parents stayed for a week when I got out of hospital, so DH and I have coped on our own ever since. I suppose we're lucky that we don't have people interfering but I would have loved some more help around the house!

I agree with you Kimmy regarding work and motherhood. I don't know how other mums manage! I've also got a full-time job to go back to in five months time (AAAGGH!) but the boss said I could go back part-time to begin with. I might even decide to extend my leave to a year instead of six months because I really don't want to miss out on this period of her life. So hard to decide!

Ponyboy
04-04-2006, 09:42
I agree with you Kimmy regarding work and motherhood. I don't know how other mums manage! I've also got a full-time job to go back to in five months time (AAAGGH!) but the boss said I could go back part-time to begin with. I might even decide to extend my leave to a year instead of six months because I really don't want to miss out on this period of her life. So hard to decide!

I suppose what I'm saying is that I too have a full time job to go back to in 11mths time - my work is very "family supportive" and provides the option to do 12mths maternity leave at half pay - which is what I'm doing. But I'm tossing up the idea of going back because my husband doesn't want Anaki to go into daycare and I really don't want to miss those years either, but at the same time, finances don't stretch that far with a mortgage etc, and stepping out of the industry until she's in school may make it extremely difficult to get back in. Plus I'm studying my BA(Librarianship) via distance and that's not free either - the time to study would be good, but not if we can't pay for it.

I just think the government is making it harder to be a stay at home mum.

Ponyboy
04-04-2006, 09:46
Just back from the Community Health Clinic. Anaki has put on another 300grams so now weighs 4.6kg at 2 months old.

Nappies - I've tried the triangle nappy but it's still too bulky and none of her clothes fit. She too has gone up to 000 size.

Managed to buy 6 outfits from ebay for $20 including postage - worth looking into if you are wanting to save some money!!

chillifly
04-04-2006, 15:05
First off, can I just say, please please please please please don't take offence at anything I've written below. I'm just being honest about the decisions we've made regarding being a SAHM and our financial situation. I'm just trying to express them honestly and hopefully not upset anyone IYKWIM.

I just think the government is making it harder to be a stay at home mum.

I had to give up work PERMANENTLY (no leave, maternity leave, extended leave, leave without pay, etc.) at 13 weeks because I was too sick with the pregnancy to continue working. We got no money from the government whatsoever, and the mortgage takes up 60% of my husbands fortnightly wage. We had huge medical bills because of the pregnancy (during and after) - don't ask about the state of our credit card!!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek:

(Medicare and private health :banghead: I just wish you got more back and without all of the stuffing around.)

The maternity payment was great to pay back some of the medical costs (didn't cover it all), and now we're entitled to $161.70 a fortnight - which I know doesn't seem much considering we're living on one wage with a mortgage, but we lived on one wage WITHOUT IT. This way is soo much better. Once we start the new financial year it will be a bigger fortnightly payment because I won't be working. I get paid to stay at home :smiliedance: Granted not much, but better than nothing....

I haven't worked since July last year and was sooo bored while waiting for Lucy to arrive. Now she is here I just love it and couldn't imagine leaving her. DH and I discussed the issue of me returning to work after she was born, but both strongly feel that with the cost of child care (and the lack of care and love they actually receive), that Lucy would be better off at home with me. I've worked in child care and have seen and heard too much to want to put Lucy through that. Yeah we're going to be (are!) on struggle street and she may not have the brand names and the biggest toys and whatever, but she will have her mum whenever she wants her and I don't think you can put a price on that. But again, that's just us and our decision/s based on the experiences/knowledge we have.

Plus, how can I be on bub hub on and off during the day if I go to work ;)

babytoo
04-04-2006, 15:28
Its so hard to find the right balance....you just can't justify working sometimes when you have to foot out so much money on child care. With my son, I went back to work casually and he was in child care 3 days a week...I had to make enough money to cover his fees and to come out with a bit of extra cash to make it worth while but not always the case with no guarantee of hours at work! The gov has now said that you need to work 15 hours per week to get the 30 hour entitlement but my work could not and would not guarantee hours so I have to pay for 3 days child care but not necessarily be working those days IF I go back. Ok I admit my son is in care 3 days at the moment even though I am not working...he is 3.5 and needs the education, play time and social interaction that he gets there considering he still doesnt start school for 2 years!
There is no incentive to work but it is very difficult to stay at home as well...there is a fine line and balance that you need to find financially to make it all work in your favour. We are having great probs at the moment as my hubby has increased pay and I am only entitled to 20 hours child care at a reduced rate (like $20)....again its a hard balance to find!

chillifly
04-04-2006, 16:44
I forgot to mention that the job I was in, was not one that I loved or enjoyed either and I would only be going back to that or high school teaching (which I hate), and I'm hoping to attain my librarian post-grad degree before Lucy starts school as well.

And yeah babytoo, you've gotta come up with the social interaction too. And that can be expensive with playgroups, swimming, etc., in order to meet that need. Although I kinda think that when we were kids, what did our parents do with us??

All this said, gimme 12 months and I could be dying to go back and be considered a 'real person' again :o

PS If DD ever gives me time tonight I'm going to respond to the previous posts ;)

Ponyboy
04-04-2006, 16:59
It's great to be hearing the different views people have re: work/childcare. I'm lucky to have 12mths paid leave. We are surviving on the lower income and I'm sure if I decided not to return to work we'd still survive. I suppose I'll just wait till the 12mths is up and decide then.

And yes about the social side of childcare. My mum had some good friends with kids around the same age as us so we just visited them and played. And the neighbourhood was filled with kids around our age too. So we spent all our time outside playing with other kids or making our own games.

Times have changed I suppose. Or maybe they haven't.

I'm still tossing with the idea of having another child. Everyone keeps saying that they need company but at the same time I'm not sure how I'd cope with a baby and a toddler.

Ponyboy
04-04-2006, 18:23
[FONT="Comic Sans MS"]I forgot to mention that the job I was in, was not one that I loved or enjoyed either and I would only be going back to that or high school teaching (which I hate), and I'm hoping to attain my librarian post-grad degree before Lucy starts school as well.

Amy, did I mention that I'm also studying to be a librarian (well I am working as one technically or was but am not yet fully qualified). I'm a qualified library technician and I'm completing my BA(LIS) through Charles Sturt University. Only did one basic subject this semester instead of 2 but may try 2 next semester depending on how I'm going with Anaki. I was supposed to finish in 2007 but looks like it may take a bit longer.

chillifly
04-04-2006, 18:37
(She's asleep and I've just gotten tea, done the dishes and organised coffee and dessert for the mil and fil, so now I'm free for a while :rolleyes: :fingerscrossed: )

One of my mother's group mums was dropping her bub off at the gym childcare and noticed an 18 month old hitting a sleeping baby on the head with a toy of some sort - and not one of the carers did a thing. She said she just shut her eyes and pretended she didn't see it and still dropped her bub off.

Ok, the earlier posts:

:thumbsup: Sharon. You know Anaki and the diet that's best for you both. And for the record, a lil chocolate never hurt anyone.

My MIL and FIL in Tassie too - Devonport - there here at the moment (see above) and tomorrow they're going home :smiliedance: . Have been here since 23rd March and while they're pretty good, it can be a bit wearing having people around all the time. They were really good when I first came home from surgery, but MIL just doesn't always listen and drives us both crazy, and now they're happy to sit on their butts and let me run around and do everything for everyone. Grrr!!! But they've been pretty good I suppose - have heard of worse!

Kimmy, Matthias sounds as though he's feeding a lot for you, you poor thing. Hopefully he'll start to space out really soon for you. I'll have my fingers crossed and sending sleepy vibes your way when I'm up of a night time. Though 'they' do say that the average time a woman sleeps with a bub under 3 months is 4.5 hours per night! Yikes!

What is it with the water?!?!? My mother makes out like I'm dehydrating Lucy because I don't give her water and only breastmilk. "It goes straight to her tummy and becomes a solid mass that she has to try and digest". LOL, nature designed it a lil better than that. She drives me nuts!! She is 'emotionally attached' to Lucy and invested in her interests a lot too much! When we decided to have a naming ceremony instead of a christening she cried and threw a tantrum about how we were denying her the experience of blessing Lucy and welcoming her into the religious fold. BTW, we're not religious and dont' go to church, so WHAT THE????

As for 'enough milk', it seems to be the buzz words thrown at breastfeeding mothers these days. It's like they have to come up with something to make you constantly worry about when it comes to BFing - simply because you can't see how much they get. And let's face it, I'd think we'd know if they weren't getting enough food.

Kimmy, I'm sorry your MIL doesn't get to see Matthias, but you can't control her; just give him all the love you can and he will grow up well rounded for sure. (I only had my parents and brother - no extended family whatsoever - and I'm not too screwed up, I think!) Maybe you could try and organise a 'Matthias' and Nanna/Grandma day on a fortnightly basis to get her going a bit???

I also recommend darting cloth nappies at the side of the legs, with the double triangle fold. This seems to make them a lot snugger which is good because Lucy is so small. She's 9 weeks on Thursday and is still in 0000!!! I'm going to change my avatar Sharon so you can see how I have Lucy in the cloth nappies. I honestly don't worry about doing them up at the bottom, even if they do fit. I only wish I'd known about the fitted cloth nappies before buying the flat terry towelling ones.

Shannon - how are you recovering from Larry? And there's always the other side to the extended family stories isn't there.

Oh, and good work on the clothes Sharon! I've got my eyes on some sleeping bag ones that I'm hoping will go for under $20 total (incl. postage), otherwise I may as well go down the street and buy them at Target for $25.00 - a lot cheaper than grobags.

Ok, think that's it. Don't know about you gals, but I have to write things down on a post-it note as I read along and want to reply too, because, like today, it often takes me the better part of 6 hours or so to finally get the chance to reply.

chillifly
04-04-2006, 18:44
Amy, did I mention that I'm also studying to be a librarian (well I am working as one technically or was but am not yet fully qualified). I'm a qualified library technician and I'm completing my BA(LIS) through Charles Sturt University. Only did one basic subject this semester instead of 2 but may try 2 next semester depending on how I'm going with Anaki. I was supposed to finish in 2007 but looks like it may take a bit longer.

LOL, I did see that Sharon. Looks like we may have a little more in common then two little girls born 2 days apart :D So, you're a book lover too then????

I actually started my post-grad at Charles Sturt when we were in Tassie, but then decided to move back to Brisbane, so ended up having to give it in. I'm hoping to start in a couple of years time. :fingerscrossed: Somebody arrived and I'm a bit busy for the next few ;)

I was also happy to see you've added me to your messenger - would be great if we could all do a group chat one day/night on a regular basis wouldn't it? Maybe something to think about. (Mind you, that's if I ever catch up with the 63 threads I'm subscribed to lol)

Did anyone see Sunrise with the Baby Whisperer on this morning at 8:40? She was talking about sleep patterns and dummies. What did you think?

chillifly
04-04-2006, 20:58
DH tells me he's been reading some of the posts and read that someone's (Kimmy's) mum has been questioning her about her milk supply; and I quote

"her kid is 5 days older than Lucy and weighs 5.5kgs...I think she's got enough friggin' milk" :mad:

(Lucy weighs 4.3kgs)

:laughing: :laughing:

Don't worry Kimmy, my hubby will stick up for ya :thumbsup:

Ponyboy
05-04-2006, 13:45
Have had an interesting couple of days with Anaki's sleeping habits - or lack of!!

For a few days she was actually sleeping through 5 hours a night from 12 midnight to 5am. Then she switched back to 12am, 3am, 7am. Then the last 2 days she hasn't been having her afternoon sleep till around 4.30pm and going right through till 7.30pm and then not really sleeping well at night. So today I laid down with her around midday to get her to sleep and she is sleeping now. However I don't want to have to do that every day. Has anyone else experienced sleep changes like that?

I was told by many mothers that after 6 weeks a routine should form. Not happening here!!:confused:

chillifly
05-04-2006, 14:00
Sorry Sharon don't know; Lucy has been fairly consistent. I had actually been told by other mums that at the 6 - 8 week mark they actually change their sleeping habits again. Could be a growth spurt? :fingerscrossed: Anaki settles down soon

BabyJoy
05-04-2006, 14:24

Sharon, the 12am/3am/7am routine is generally what Laura sticks to, but then there are some nights where she is all over the place. The last two nights she has woken for 3am feed and then stayed awake for hours! Not crying, just wide awake and won't let me put her down. She is very much a text book baby who has her witching hour right at dinner time!
I think I'll start a diary of sleep habits to try and work out what works and what doesn't in regards to her daytime naps because I guess you can only sleep so much in a 24 hour period and if they sleep to much during the day, it means they'll be awake more at night.
I do think a big sleep in the middle of the day (2-3 hours), and short naps in the morning and afternoon works best for Laura and me... that's normally when I'm out and about so it's better if she is sleeping while I'm shopping.

It has been raining cats and dogs up here in Cairns and I think the damp/humid weather has made my arthritis play up... it's worse in the middle of the night and I really struggle to pick her up to feed her as my hands hurt so much. Wish I could go on full strength drugs, but then I think I would really miss breastfeeding Laura... I actually love those times of day (mummy and daughter times).

~Kimmy~
07-04-2006, 10:17
I worked till 36 weeks and left the job I had because they couldn't give me flexible enough hours, or family friendly concessions. I had 5 weeks annual leave and a $500 bonus when I stopped. That covered the home loan repayments till the maternity payment came and that'll take us till early May. The job I'm getting from my FIL is flexible and I can bring Matthias with me.

Luckily I had a normal pregnancy with manageable nausea and vomiting. There were a few bad days when it got out of hand, but I rarely get sick, so I had plenty of sick leave available. I went full public care so there were no expenses pregnancy or birth. Next time around though, I will get an OB, just so I don't have so many concerns and when it comes to delivery I have one OB and not 5 different ones, all with there own judgments.

Thanks for sharing your experience, Amy. A few weeks before Matthias was born, my feelings about staying on changed. It was though the bigger I grew and the more I felt him, the more I realised I wouldn't be able to say goodbye to him every morning. And certainly not at two months, which is what the plan was at the beginning. And as you and babytoo both mentioned, you really have to be in a high income bracket or have a family member on hand for returning to work to be a benefit. We would have only been about $200 better off a week with baby in full time care, it wasn't worth it. I'd be missing so much for two weeks worth groceries?

My mum and dad were so much worse off and she didn't work at all till we were all in school (4 of us). I think the reason most had children close together is there was no playgroup back then. I think make your own. Two friends and I got together last week and had a great time. They came over, we had home cooked lunch together, the kids played (5 between us, all under 4). We're going to do it regularly and get some of our other mother friends to come along. It's not so daunting if you know it's only your place once a month, or less, and you know where you're going and who you're going to be socialising with.

Sharon, I want Matthias to have a sibling and I'd love a girl but like you I'm not only considering how I'd cope but how I'd go with another birth. I'm still a bit sore, and there are quite a few stitches about. And with the scaring, unless I have a small baby, recovery will be even longer the next time around. As to Anaki's sleeping, Matthias had a few 'scattered sleep days' but last couple he's gone back to 10, 12, 3 and 6 of a night. And he has two naps (an hour or two) during the day. The rest of the time he's playing, fussing or feeding. As Amy mentioned, it could be a growth spurt.

Amy, the gym baby story is exactly one of the reasons I couldn't picture leaving my child with anyone I didn't know and trust. Also I heard that children tend to get sick more often in childcare. To think I was going to leave my 8 week old. *crazy* Haha! Thanks Amy and to your DH too. My DH is very proud of his big boy, and is supportive of me. He says his mum is just uncomfortable with it, none of the were breastfed, and in hospital she was told she didn't have enough milk. We've come along way since then with breastfeeding knowledge (proper holding and latching on, also our diet, and demand instead of rigid routine feeding) One of my great uncles was starved after birth because they though he was too big. He grew up to be a 7 foot big man, but had a lot of health problems and died young. I still contribute that to his treatment as an infant. Nurishment at this age is vital.

I have a book called The Baby Whisperer, by Tracey Hogg. Is it the same lady? I like how she treats the infant like mini adults, and her E.A.S.Y method works sometimes for me. I think Matthias is a pretty predictable baby though. It only gets hard for me if he's got a tummy ache. He still has trouble getting rid of wind. From memory, I don't think she was against dummies, just as long as you weren't using one to 'shut your baby up' as she put it, to help them sleep as a comfort was fine.

Shannon, I kept a journal for both of us since the birth but I stopped on Sunday. It was just getting nutz, writing what sort of nappy he had, the time and which side I was feeding at 2 in the morning. But if you're not sure what's happening and what to see if there's method in the madness, then it's a good idea. I know what foods caused what, his rough routine and what his cries mean.

chillifly
07-04-2006, 13:26
Shannon :hugs: I hope the weather calms down for you soon; it is so hard not being able to touch or pick up your own child. Sending snow vibes your way...

Kimmy what did you think of public apart from the ob situation (bit unlucky to get 5 isn't it?). My parents were the same; my dad earnt $11,000 when I was born; and they went on to have another kid and mum didn't go back to work until I was in grade 3. :thumbsup: for your own playgroup. I'm in a mothers group which I'm hoping will go that way. Anybody else manage to get into a mothers group?

As for a second child I swore no way after the pregnancy I went through. Now I'm thinking how could I deprive Lucy of a sibling?? Maybe if amnesia kicks in.....

Yep, I've heard the same about being sick, makes sense when you think about it.
Starving a baby because he was growing too big :eek: I would like to think we've come further than that.

And Kimmy you are so good to know what sets of Matthias's wind. I think (!) chocolate gives Lucy wind, but I so am hoping I'm wrong :o

BabyJoy
07-04-2006, 15:14
Thanks Amy! Send up that snow! :laughing:

I joined a parent's group today (although it's all mums, no dads) and it was so great to finally have someone to talk to face to face about Laura. It at the community health centre and was meant to go for an hour and a half but instead a bunch of us stayed for three hours chatting away about birth, sleeping, settling, poos, etc, etc. I'm really looking forward to the next week... and I also hope it turns into a playgroup.

I'm afraid I still haven't any inkling to have another baby. The birth experience is still fresh in my mind and I really think one is enough. Ask me again in a year and maybe I'll have changed my mind. :rolleyes:

Kimmy, I kept a journal for one day and thought bugger this! It's too much trouble... I can't believe you did it religiously for weeks! Besides I have already worked out her different cries. I haven't worked out what foods cause her tummy aches, but so far she hasn't really had any bad nights, so I'm just sticking to what I normally eat (and that includes chocolate!). I hate cabbage so there's no chance of problems there (mum tipped me off about how cabbage is a no-no).

Amy, the public hospital where I gave birth was FABULOUS! Could not say one bad thing about them. However, my cousin gave birth in a public hospital in Rockhampton and she had one horror story after the next. She was given no help with breastfeeding, no help when trying to settle her little boy, no help with his first bath, in fact she said that the hospital felt like a ghost town... no staff anywhere! She had a horror birth experience and was adament things would be different with her second child (and they were... different public hospital, different staff, wonderful birth experience).

I'm still so thrilled about Laura sleeping through the night for the first time... I went to the supermarket after parent's group and I wanted to tell everyone!
"Guess what, my daughter slept for six and a half hours straight last night! Woohoo!"
I think I'm turning into a nutbag! :p

Ponyboy
07-04-2006, 19:38
I have found a mothers group. At the community health centre they have just set up a regular mothers/parents meet up every Thursday morning. We had our first meet up yesterday with 6 of us coming. There were 4 boys and 2 girls (incl. Anaki). Ages ranged from 2mths - 5mths so good as they are all at similar age. We started by thinking up activities/talks we might want to hold. So I'm glad to have finally found a group of other mums to chat to in person - not that I don't like doing the forums as they have been extremely helpful as well.

Discovered something interesting today - Anaki likes to sleep on her stomach. I know this is against SIDS sleeping but I only do it during the day when she is lying on a mat on the floor and under supervision. It started by accident as I put her down for tummy time and she fell asleep. It's helped give me some sanity at night as she used to just want to feed all the time and be held, now she sleeps a little so I have time to get dinner organised.

For the last 2 nights she's slept through for 5 hours - 9.30 - 2amish. And then 2amish to around 6amish and then we get up. Have a feed and head out the door around 7.15am for our walk. this may change as winter comes in and it gets colder and I might like to stay in the warm bed. Am dreading early morning nappy changes as she usually has 2 changes a night/morning.

Public hospital experiences - I'd say mine was ok until I finally go to room in with Anaki after her being in Special Care Nursery. My first time at room in and she wouldn't settle as she was used to being in lights and sound. So it took a while to get her down. Then finally she was asleep and the nurse on duty sticks her torch in on Anaki's crib and wakes her to tell me that my daughter is disturbing people (even though other baby's were rooming in and crying) and because she was still under the care of Special Care Nursery I had to remove her from the ward and take her there. I was very upset and tempted to call my husband to take me and Anaki home but it was 2am. So I complained to the SCN staff who must have passed it on because when I saw the nurse the next day she was a bit cautious. Oh and my other complaint was conflicting advice re. breastfeeding - I mean they all work in the same place so they should all advise the same - but no they didn't and things worked better when we got home. Less pressure.

BabyJoy
08-04-2006, 08:38
WOOHOO! Two nights running and Laura is sleeping through! Last night she went to bed at 10.30pm, woke at 5am and my boobs were killing me, so I fed her, she went back to sleep at 6am and didn't wake till 8.30am. I had such a good sleep! :sleeping:

Sharon, our mum's group has a talk each week as well by one of the nurses on staff. This week was about sleeping and settling. There were about 15 mums at this group and all of us are breastfeeding. It was funny to hear the different cries babies have and also to see them at various stages of development. The youngest bub was three weeks old, and the oldest was 10 weeks. After six weeks of this group, we move to a Monday group for the next age group, so all the mums stick together and get to know each other.
I wouldn't worry too much about her sleeping on her tummy. Laura doesn't like it much, but a friend of mine had a daughter who loved tummy time and sleeping on her tummy, and it didn't do her any harm.

Beautiful weather today... although I suspect it's going to get really hot. Might switch on the aircon and do some baking! (I'm really getting into this motherly role now!)

chillifly
08-04-2006, 09:41
Good on you for complaining Sharon! :thumbsup: When I complained about the poor treatment Lucy was receiving in special care nursery, I was told it was just my hormones :mad: I was in private...

Lucy is going the other way to your daughters - she was sleeping about 4 hours straight of a night time, and last night decided she wanted a feed every 3 hours (so 3 night feeds instead of 2). Oh well, I suppose that at least if it's a growth spurt she'll finally grow into and then out of all these newborn clothes she is currently swimming in.If only she didn't take 45 mins to feed....

My mothers group was formed through the community health centre as well. We had three weekly meetings in a row of a Thursday morning and then it was up to us to continue it - which we have. It's been going for 6 weeks now and we're having an Easter Bonnet Parade for the bubs this week. Should be fun :smiliedance:

My parents are coming over today. Mum started out telling me what a wondeful, calm, 'natural' mother I am, and now tells me I need to see a baby whisperer or something because Lucy cries when I put her down to sleep :banghead:

Ponyboy
08-04-2006, 13:30
My parents are coming over today. Mum started out telling me what a wondeful, calm, 'natural' mother I am, and now tells me I need to see a baby whisperer or something because Lucy cries when I put her down to sleep :banghead:

Isn't it funny. Everyone says the same about me - how calm I am. And really it's just making it harder for me because the minute I show that I might be just a little be stressed out, they all jump on it. It's just added pressure. It's like I can't show that I might be having a hard time because then I feel I'm failing all these people who said that I was calm. Stupid, aren't I?!?

chillifly
08-04-2006, 16:49
It's like I can't show that I might be having a hard time because then I feel I'm failing all these people who said that I was calm. Stupid, aren't I?!?

No and yes! :banghead:

It's not just that you feel like you're failing them, it's like you become incompetent because you can't calm your baby down within the 5 seconds they seem to expect and you get a bit frustrated. Normally when I put Lucy down for a sleep I keep her in her bassinet until her next feed (only when she's exhibiting all those tired signs), even when she wakes up I just put her back to sleep. But my mum makes me feel so bad for putting her down to sleep and making her cry that I'd just bring her back up again. Now she is one cranky baby and I am one bad mum :shame:

Do you ever grow out of feeling like a child with your own mum? I thought I would when I had my own child; that I would finally be able to assert myself, but I'm still fighting her to NOT give Lucy water because she doesn't need it :banghead: and this does not make me a bad parent!!! :banghead:

MOTHER'S!!!!!!!!

Charlie's Mum
09-04-2006, 17:34
Hi all, my little Charles who is not really so little was born on the 8th of Feb, a week overdue - and even then he didn't want to come out and had to be induced. That hurt pretty bad! I don't know how women manage without an epi, particularly if they are being induced but my intention to give birth with just gas and pethidine went out the window pretty quickly when the contractions hit bad. I can remember watching all those birth shows and thinking that the women who were screaming and shouting were acting a little over the top but I became one of them myself until the epidural kicked in.

Charles was a pretty massive baby, 4.25 kgs at birth. So far he's been really good and easy to manage. He used to have one witching time each day. It would last for half an hour to an hour, which is not too bad but now we've discovered that he absolutely loves sleep suits and as soon as we put him in it and put him in his cot he's out for the count. I highly recommend them. We also don't put him in his cot to sleep during the day so he knows that when he goes upstairs into his room it's sleep time. I'm not against dummies at all, in fact I don't think there should be any rules when it comes to parenting, everyone has to do whatever they feel is right for their baby. (I learnt this the hard way in hospital when I kept doing what the nurses told me- read on to find out more) Now I just focus on providing a warm and secure environment for Charlie and go out of my way to anticipate his cries. Not all crying is bad of course or controllable but I feel if you can ease their discomfort surely it's a good thing. At this age they're not messing with your mind or anything and trying to manipulate you. We use a dummy every now and then and find that sometimes giving him a dummy for a few minutes as he settles into sleep is enough and he spits it out himself when asleep.

So for the most part these last 8 weeks have been smooth sailing for Charlie. I on the other hand have been through the wars and blame it on my time in hospital. The nurses gave me little or no help with breastfeeding and in fact, after the birth they popped Charles on my breast and left him there without telling me how long to let him feed. 45 minutes later no one had come back into my room and he was still on my first breast! Most of you would know that you are only supposed to let them feed for 5 minutes or so at first to help you nipples adjust and because it only takes a few minutes to get out the colostrum. Anyway, that set a bad precedent, my nipples became severly cracked within a couple more days and I would cry and shake in pain when he was latching on and soon during the entire feed. The nurses insisted I keep going. Then one night my milk came in and I was so huge I looked like Dolly Parton. I couldn't lie down in any position my breasts hurt so much. I remember it was 3 am, I was in massive pain and Charlie was screaming to be fed. I called in a nurse and when she saw my breasts her mouth dropped. Between tears I told her to get me some formula to feed Charlie with. The next morning they tried to get me back onto breastfeeding but I made them look at my nipples (they hadn't bother before then just kept telling me to breastfeed and get over it essentially) and finally they admitted that I needed to rest my nipples and express. So for the remainder of my time in hospital I expressed but insisted that he be given some formula everyday. He was ocer 4kgs and was used to getting all the food he wanted in the womb so I wasn't about to starve him and he wasn't about to let me! The day I was to be discharged they popped him back on my breast for five minutes, saw that he latched on ok so said i was fine to go home. When the pediatrician saw Charles she told me that she thought I would get mastitis. I didn't even know what this was as none of the nurses had told me about it. Sure enough three days after I get home my nipples had healed but I got such a severe fever that I was almost admitted to hospital. Mastitis had hit and for me it was worse than childbirth! The mastitis then led to thrush in my nipples which can hurt like hell. (you feel painful stinging well after you've stopped feeding) When the mastitis was nearing its end I developed what was first diagnosed as a simple infection in my eye. After a week of treatment things had gotten worse not better. My eye hurt a ton, I couldn't go outside because the sun hurt my eye, I couldn't even read in bed because the light from the lamp was too strong. My eye was red and half closed when I finally got sent by my doctor to a specialist who quickly realised I had two ulcers in my eye and my eyesight was at risk! Now, with a month of treatment behind me my eye is only just getting better, I have lost a bit of sight but am lucky to not have lost a lot more due to the position of the ulcers and I will never be able to have lasik eye surgery (i wear glasses and have desperately wanted to get my eyes fixed for some time!) Apparently the ulcers were the result of being extremely run down (blame the mastitis and the general tiredness that comes from being a new mum) and now that I've had them once they can come back at any time and harm my vision more.

But apart from the pain that I am in and have been in, I've enjoyed every minute of my time with Charles and can't stop kissing and cuddling him. I had to stop breastfeeding because they put me on steroids to get rid off the ulcer - not that that worked so I lost breastfeeding for nothing! I battled with that for awhile but since I had always fed him some formula every day since the beginning I realised that it wasn't something to beat myself up over. To all the mums who seem to be feeding their babies all day long I would say given them even 40mls of formula at the end of a feed and that will put an end to endless feeding. The fact is they are getting lots of nutrients from your breastmilk anyway so what's the harm of letting them get a fuller feeling with a bit of formula. If you do that you get the added bonus of being able to let other people help out with feeding and a bit of time off never hurt anyone.

Anyway this is so long I've probably lost all of you! My partner is spoiling me tonight by taking care of everything and giving me the whole night off so I have time to write for the first time.

One tip I'll give before I sign off is that with Charles we got a bit of nappy rash at the beginning but since we switched to using tissues and sorbolene to clean his bottom he doesn't get anything at all. All of our nappy rash and barrier creams are feeling neglected as we don't use them anymore. It's top stuff and really cheap so you can go to town with it.

take care everyone,
kirstin

chillifly
09-04-2006, 18:58
Hi Kirstin - welcome :hugs: Charlie was a big boy wasn't he?! And no induction is VERY unpleasant - I'm assuming you had the syntocin drip. Puts you off doing it again doesn't it :(

:laughing: I had to laugh when you said about babies not manipulating their parents at such a young age. You should meet my daughter! At 8 weeks she discovered she could get our attention back by sticking out the bottom lip and having tears in her eyes (the saddest look you could ever imagine). She started having quite long conversations with us when the IL's where up here; she'd make lots of noises, smiles and constant eye contact with you, and of course would look away when she didn't want to be stimulated any more. When we looked away from her, she would kick her legs, smile even more so, and make really loud happy noises to get our attention. Not with her dad though. When he looked away from her, she stuck out that bottom lip and brought out the crocodile tears - and of course got lots of attention from her dad then, only to turn around and smile and make a loud 'ha' happy noise. She's used it on him ever since....

Sorry to hear you've had such a rough time since coming home with your bub too Kirstin. Unfortunately, midwives aren't all that people make them out to be (check out the bad midwives thread for similar and worse stories), and breastfeeding is not as easy as people like to tell you it is. It is a skill and takes a lot of damn hard work. Sometimes, such as in your case, it's almost as though it was never meant to be, no matter how hard you've tried. Hopefully things will only improve from here.

That said, Lucy is in her cot for the first time tonight :smiliedance: Took an hour but we got there..... It wouldn't have been so bad, if it weren't for the fact she's discovered she's got a fist and that it's infinitely more interesting to lick and suck on than a dummy. So when she's not keeping herself awake by pulling out her dummy and going for her hand, she's pulling the hair she's discovered she's got on the back of her head.

Anybody else's bubs discovering new 'things' about their bodies?

~Kimmy~
10-04-2006, 09:13
Hi Kirstin. Matthias was 11 days early and 3.9kg. He's done a lot of catching up since. He's 6 weeks tomorrow and 5.8kg. I've finally been able to stretch him out to 2.5-3 hours between feeds now. Still no sign of the blissful 5 hours overnight though. I'm sorry to hear about you breastfeeding experience, aside from conflicting latching on and feeding positions, a blistered nipple and rough nurses (who quickly changed their tune when the saw the state of downstairs), we'e done pretty well. He's a slow feeder, 15-20mins a side but he's growing well and my milk is still filling my boobs like swollen waterballoons. I'm persevering despite the broken sleep and discomfort (we also go thrush), but if he keeps at three hours we might switch to formula at night.

I don't use wipes either. Sorbelene or water and tissues. I change him every three hours but he still gets a rash sometimes. I've found that some nappies just aren't dry enough, and then he gets a rash. Tried Babylove and Huggies, just bought a box of Snugglers. I'll let everyone know how we go with these when we start.

I use a dummy when were driving and he's hungry crying. He takes it long enough to settle again till we get home. He won't that it any other time, he'll just spit it out.

Amy, it was because of Matthias' suspected birth position and the fact I didn't have my own OB that I had so many. Two during the transfer and three over the course of my labour (shift changes and who's available when the midwives had a query). I would definately go public again. I loved the hospital I chose initially (and I got to go back after the birth), the food was yum and 90% of the midwives were wonderful. Only thing I'd do different, I'd have my own OB and I'd have at least half my visits with them.

Shannon, I wish I'd known about the cabbage. We both would have had such a better weekend. I had coleslaw - a lot thinking ahh homemade healthy food. So much tummy pain and gas. Oh boy poor thing. I did it so long because not knowing how he was feeding and whether he was weeing enough to pass the jaundice had me worried. It took a couple weeks till it was all gone. I'm glad it wasn't a one off for Laura. Hope the long sleeps continue!!

Sharon, I've finally learned how to settle him without nursing. He likes to go up on my shouldere with backrubs or across my knees on his tummy with bottom pats. He's a very windy boy so I guess it helps. He's fallen asleep on his tummy before, but I don't like to keep him like that just in case he turns his face into the bed and smothers himself. When he's bigger and stronger, I might let him sleep like that.

The only complaint I have is that people all have something to say about how to care for my baby. I mean he's my boy and nobody can know him better than me. And I've been looking after children since I was 12 years old. I know it's different when you have your own and they're with you 24hrs a day... Oh well, I guess it all comes with motherhood. Our mothers probably went through the same thing. Amy, my mum does the same thing with the water. So far I've been able to reason her out of it, but she has a lot of old ways that I still have to catch her on. So far she respects how I do things, but I wonder how things would go if I left her with him. When Matthias gets going (bawling) he pulls his hair, scratches his face, cries tears and starts scratching and pulling my nipples when I finally get to him. It's so hard to feed him when he's really upset. There are hands and arms going everywhere.

BabyJoy
10-04-2006, 09:49
Good morning wonderful mummies! :smiliedance:
Hope you all had a good night. I was up late wrapping presents for DH - it's his birthday today, and Laura decided to stay up with me!

Welcome to the group Kirsten and Charlie! :thumbsup: So sorry to hear about your bad experiences at hospital and with your eye... really hope things are looking brighter for you.
I'm also using sorbelene and tissues - brilliant for little bottoms! Every time I've used wipes (and I've tried three brands so far) Laura starts getting a red bum, so I'm not even going to go there again. She's in cloth nappies during the day and although they look really bulky on her, she hasn't had any rash and we've had no leaks. I'm using Woolworths Select nappies at night and they've been really good.

Kimmy, Laura turned six weeks yesterday and she weighs only 4.2kg. Funny how every baby is different with weight, height, age, etc. Mum said when I was a baby, the child health nurses were so strict with weight and age that they would make you feel like a bad mother if your bub wasn't up to a certain measurement. I'm so glad it's not like that anymore.

Laura is learning to settle herself to sleep. I've been trying to put her down while she's drowsy instead of when she's in deep sleep, and it's worked about three out of five times, so that's pretty good. I have to say that I think I have a really "easy" baby to look after. She doesn't cause me any stress at all, thank goodness.
My only worry at the moment is that she has a weepy eye. It looks like conjunctivitis, but I found out that it's just a sticky eye that is quite common in babies. (Read about it in my Baby Love book). It was bad yesterday, but seems to be clearing up today.

I think I'm also lucky that I don't have anyone around telling me what to do, or what not to do. I've been on my own since week three, so I've just used my own instincts (and a couple of good books and bubhubbers!) when it comes to her care. Though I sometimes wish I had my mum around for advice or just to help around the house!

Well, she's woken for a feed now, so better sign off! :chef:

Charlie's Mum
10-04-2006, 20:21
Hi everyone again,
it's really good to read all of your postings. Sounds like we're all going through similar things. Everyone has something to tell you and they're always adamnant that their way is the best way. We moved from Perth to Sydney last year so are all alone here but don't think that means we don't get the advice like you all seem to be getting. When our parents come to visit they end up staying for at least a week or two to make it worth their while. For the first few days they manage to keep their ideas to themselves but you can see them boiling away just wanting to tell you what to do and not do. By the end of the week they can't hold it anymore and just let loose. My mother is a good old Catholic irish woman which means that she loves us a lot but doesn't really know how to show it and can come off quite cold. She also believes in tough love which is why I said in my earlier posting that all i want to do is give little Charlie as much a feeling of being secure with us as possible. I just didn't get it with her when I was growing up. (don't worry i had a great dad) Anyway, I love sleeping with Charlie on my chest. Aside from the fact that when we do so he can sleep for a good 3 hours during the day and wakes up in great spirits I just plain love it. I figure that he's growing so fast we won't be able to do it for long but god does my mum hate it. She thinks it will make it difficult for me down the track with him always wanting to be near me. Everytime she calls she asks if he's still sleeping on my chest! She's got heaps of other 'advice' that sound more like orders to me and my fiance's mum is not that much better, though i have to admit she is a much more loving type of person and I don't mind leaving Charles with her at all. I just can't believe that the unsolicited advice never stops. You get it when you are pregnant and then when the baby is born. Oh well, I guess they mean well. I prefer to hear from other friends and women going through the same thing at the same time. Which I guess is why i'm here.

Amy, Charlie too is great at the bottom lip cry. It's so sad but at the same time so funny because it's like the world is ending for him for the smallest of reasons. We have to hold back our laughs when this happens but it's pretty hard. He's also starting to really play with his voice so we get the full range from the loudest screams you'll ever hear to cool giggles and everything in between. It's amazing that they grow and learn so quickly. And they really want to learn which is fun to watch. Everytime we say the word 'kiss' and move our head towards Charlie he opens his mouth wide. It's cool. We've also got him doing tummy time which is hilarious because he tries to crawl. At 8 weeks it's obviously far too early but that doesn't stop him from trying. He ends up rolling over a lot which is pretty funny to watch.

I'd be really interested to hear how long your babies sleep for during the day and what you do with them when they are awake etc. now that my eye is finally clearing up I can get outside and try to walk some of my butt off. I don't know how you are all doing physically but i've had a bit of a hard time accepting that my body will never be the same. For most of the pregnancy i did really well. I just didn't get cravings so didn't eat much more than I used to. I carried only in the front which was cool. Then the last month hit and something happened to my appetite. I reckon Charlie must have gone through a massive growth spurt because suddenly i couldn't stop eating! it explains why he didn't want to come out, the room service was just too good. Now I'm paying for it though and even though I've lost quite a bit I have these newly round hips that I didn't have before. They just come from nowhere! I know it's nothing that most people don't go through but it doesn't make it easier. You know, we're all young and to think that our bodies have seen their best days is kind of sad. Does anyone feel the same?

Ponyboy
11-04-2006, 10:34
Hi all and welcome Kirsten and Charlie!!

Life continues to gather interest - we have good days and bad. And yes, Kirsten, I can relate to the rounded hips. I have developed quite a taste for chocolate - pre pregnancy I enjoyed it, during pregnancy I loved it, post pregnancy I'm addicted!!! I keep justifying it by saying I need the energy for breast feeding LOL

Anaki still has no routine as such so nothing new there. She continues to put on weight. She's put on another 350grams putting her up to 4.95kg or 10pds 15oz. She's now 9 weeks old. Still doesn't like the tummy time much (must improve on this as health nurse says we should be aiming for 1/2 hour a day - eeek!!) Loves sleeping on her tummy. Loves to hang off mum's arms and look at the ceiling. Continues to do at least 3 explosive poos a day. And alas has stopped the continuous feeding every day - only does it some days now. So must've been a growth spurt. She still doesn't feed in any routine - can range from every 2 hours to every 1/2 hour. Sleeping an average 4hrs through at night between feeds. Has started having a big sleep around 7pm - 9.30pm (allows me to get dishes done etc). Had dropped the morning sleep but is currently sleeping now so who knows!!! Was struggling to get afternoon sleep (was staying awake allday but this varies). I try to occupy her with tummy time, swing time (I bought a fisher price take along swing on Sunday - godsend), chatting, walking, reading and then I wish she'd sleep so I can get things done - terrible really.

I purchased 6 fluffies fitted nappies on Sunday (really didn't want to make my own - it was wishful thinking but am really not that patient with sewing). They are ok although require a booster - which I will make out of my flat cloth nappies. I've read mixed reviews on them but for me they are much better than the flat cloth nappies folded which didn't allow for any clothes to fit over them. I am going to go and purchase some more when I get to the shops again.

So that's really the news from us!! Hope everyone else is going well.

Tisme
11-04-2006, 15:11
Am posting this before reading the rest of the thread .... oh well .....

Dianne KB - Cody Christopher 19th January 7pounds 6
Bubble belly - Nova Star 20th January. 4090g
Aardvark – 23rd Jan Aaron 4.145kg/9lb 2oz
Biene - Olivia Aeryn 31st Jan 3.39kg
Chillifly – Lucy Anne Kate 2nd Feb 6lb 7oz
Jackieb76 - Alana Ann 13th February 8pd 4oz (3750g)
Eleanor – Declan Robert 13th Feb 3670
Babytoo - Ruby Jane 15th Feb 6lb 6oz
Mels_bump - Annika Mira 17th Feb 2635gm (5lb 12oz)
Mumtobe25 - Emma Colleen 17th Feb 7lb 12 oz
Bec - Isabella Elizabeth 22nd February 8lb 12

This is from the other Feb thread (the one we started whilst bub still inside) and thought that I would transfer it over here and get everyone here (who isn't already listed) to add to it.

babytoo
14-04-2006, 07:34
Wouldnt it be nice to meet each other?

Some of us have been together since we were first pregnant...experiencing each others fears, ups and downs

~Kimmy~
14-04-2006, 08:22
I welcome back my smiley angel baby. He's now back to his birth feeds of 3 hours. Woohoo! And he's always been one that if he's happy, he doesn't need to be completely asleep for me to put him down. At the moment he's sleeping in the big bed with daddy. I get a morning free - ahhh bliss. We should have public holidays more often :laughing:

Turns out I didn't get a baby carrier Shannon. The Bjorn had a 10kg limit and the Infantino has a 11.8kg limit. We tried him in both. The Infantion he was too long for. And the Baby Bjorn was a really snug fit. We didn't think it was worth spending the money fit it was only going to last him a couple of weeks. Now that he's stronger I'm going to try the mei-tie again. That has no weight limit, and when he's bigger I can wear him on my back.

Hi Eleanor.
Kimmy – Matthias 28th February 3900g

I also know what you mean about the help. Some days I'm lucky if I can shower and eat on time. I feel bad but I get desperate enough to just let him cry so I can get things done. When he's awake he doesn't like to be left alone. He wants someone to play and talk to him.

Kirstin, Matthias loves falling asleep on me too. Although I can't do it lying down, he thinks that's tummy time and it keeps him awake. Sitting up, he'll fall asleep against me. I think it's soothing for them because they can smell us and hear our heart beat. It's all familiar to them. I don't think you can spoil them at this age. Although at night time you'd want to get them into a pattern so they sleep on their own. He also makes all the right movements but he can't quite co-ordinate or support his body on his knees yet, so he's kind of wriggling on the spot - he gets very frustrated that he's immobile. Like Charlie, he often winds up on his back again from his efforts. :p

When he's awake, I sing songs to him. The same ones everyday. He smiles now when he hears one he must like. He loves Incy Wincy Spider, and of course little piggy and Like A Teddy Bear. I also hold his hands and let him pull himself to semi reclined from lying down. And I lie him on my legs with his feet against my stomach and let him push. He can occupy himself for short periods (10-20mins) in his porta-cot or bouncer with his activity gym or just looking around. Since he can't really grab and feel properly, he's mostly just looking and listening at this stage. I get lots of smiles for my efforts though. It's so cute. He loves me attacking his neck with kisses. I can't wait to hear him chuckle. He'll have two long sleeps during the day (morning and around lunch) and a short one in the afternoon (30mins - 1hr), but he's drowsy while he's feeding. And he feeds every 2-2.5 hours during the day. 3 at night. I've been lucky and once I got close to 5 but it hasn't happened again.

As for the body, I'm not really sad. I'm just wondering when I'll feel normal down there. I'm scared to try now, but really missing the intimacy. The GP said I'm healing really well and she can only see one point that's still a bit gapey. I'm not worried at all about the body fat I still have. It'll burn off with the breastfeeding, and I haven't gotten back the daily walk yet. Was too sore before. But now it's the weather stopping me. I think I'll have to make it late afternoon instead of after dinner now. Too cold for bub otherwise.

Hi to all the other February mummies. And babytoo, it would be fun to meet all the mummies and babies. But a lot of us are really spread out. Maybe those who are close could arrange an outing for a cuppa.

BabyJoy
14-04-2006, 08:50
Good morning! :D I also wish we could meet up... but it's one hell of a trip from Cairns to anywhere else in Australia!

Kimmy, everything you described about Matthias is EXACTLY what's happening with Laura's development. She's such a sweetie and I'm at a stage now where I feel totally relaxed and comfortable with my parenting skills. No more worries when heading out to do the shopping either (I used to panic that she would start screaming in the middle of Coles). Now I just time it better so that she's in a happy mood (full belly, clean nappy - that's all it takes!).

It's nice having DH home today... he bathed her this morning while I made a big cooked breakfast. But I couldn't help but laugh when he had her on the towel drying her off (nice and clean at this point) when she let out an enormous poo! Back in the bath and new towels were in order!!

I have to say I couldn't care less about my body at the moment. I'm way too focused on Laura to care what I look like. I shed heaps of weight in the first month from breastfeeding, and my private parts have healed up nicely (DH is pleased about that!)
I just have a bit of "jelly around my belly" - well, that's what it feels like!
I can't take Laura for walks because my arthritis has invaded my hips. I can only last for about an hour in the supermarket and I'm constantly stopping and starting, and then I have to sit and rest for a while before doing anymore shopping. Thank goodness for parent's rooms!

My parents are holidaying in Tasmania at the moment - they are touring in their MG. It's so weird talking to Mum on the phone... me up in the warm tropics, and her with her winter woolies on! You'd think we were in two different countries.

Well, HAVE A GREAT EASTER EVERYONE!! Hope the Easter bunny brings you lots of yummy eggs! :yelclap:

chillifly
15-04-2006, 13:30
Have you ladies checked out the samples forum and threads? Lots of good freebies in ther. Kimmy, there's one that Heinz sends out about what grandparentsmay need to know about feeding. "Breast milk provides all the food and fluid that a young baby needs - NOTHING ELSE IS NEEDED until the baby is around 6 months old" Wish me luck I'm going to give the pamphlet to my mum tomorrow :fingerscrossed: hehehe

How cute is it when the bubs open their mouths for a kiss? Lucy does it for her mr fishy fishy rattle (except then dad puts mr fishy fishy's lips in her mouth and says 'don't eat me! don't eat me!' LOL she loves it!)

We don't really have an set awake or asleep times during the day apart from 7pm to 7am when if she's not feeding or getting her nappy changed, then she's in her cot. I'm happy to let her set her sleep times as sometimes she's happy to be awake for most of the day and other days she'll want to sleep all the time. Today for example, she's feeding like a champion, and sleeping for a little while, then up feeding, then playing for a while, then sleeping.......

As far as my body goes, I'm just happy I can say I had a body size I was happy with - I just wish I had realised it at the time. My DH doesn't seem to bothered by my 'jelly belly' (lol - love that!) either; not that HE can complain. It would be nice when everything gets sorted out down there though. It seems like you just think you'll be back to normal and something else goes wrong.... :rolleyes:

Sharon, I recommend trying to put Anaki up a bit higher for tummy time. We actually use our exercise ball. She's too busy trying to figure out what the heck is going on as we swoosh her around, to cry. Can usually get a good 5 minutes out of her before she realises we've tricked her. We also count the time she awakes from her sleep (belly sleeper) and props her head up and has a look around, and she only likes to be held with her tummy to our chests, with her head over our shoulder and she keeps her head up at this time too.

How are you finding the fitted cloth nappies? Are they better/worth it do you think?

Lucy can move quite a bit if you let her. Manages to push herself along with her feet, but is very slow at it. Bit like a snail really. When she's up she requires constant attention, she gets really crabby otherwise and this concerns me greatly. We brought a play-gym for her to lie on so I can get some stuff done (when she's in her bouncy bouncy she likes someone to be there to talk to her), but she just cracks up after about 30 secs and I won't leave her to cry. I feel bad, but I can't entertain her the entire time and feel she needs to learn to entertain herself - even if it's only for 5 minutes at a time. Am I expecting too much too soon?

Sharon, totally agree on the weight loss!!! (after I've just finished eating a packet of chips and think about going and getting a hot cross bun :o )

Used our kapoochi carrier this morning - hated it. Lucy kept diving forward all the time, she got really hot in it, and I hit her in the head when I dropped a peg and tried to catch it. WOW did I feel bad!! :(

There was some talk of meeting and a coffee; how bout a cyber coffee & chat on messenger or something?

Tisme
16-04-2006, 12:51
Baby joy - Laura Amelia February 26

Ponyboy
16-04-2006, 18:43
SharonU - Anaki Maggie Robyn 4th Feb 2530g
Baby joy - Laura Amelia February 26

BabyJoy
17-04-2006, 02:53
SharonU - Anaki Maggie Robyn 4th Feb 2530g
Baby joy - Laura Amelia February 26 2790g

(just added Laura's birth weight)

Ponyboy
17-04-2006, 06:05
Shannon - Can't believe that you were up that early but then so was I but I was in bed feeding Anaki.

Have bad hayfever today so am feeling a little low.

On a side note, Anaki has had 2 days where she has been sleeping during the day and spacing out the feeds - boobs have had a chance to feel full!! 8-) I'm thinking since I didn't get much sleep last night due to runny nose she'll probably be wide awake all day when I'd like to have a sleep!!!

Ponyboy
17-04-2006, 09:59
How are you finding the fitted cloth nappies? Are they better/worth it do you think?

Hi Amy!

The fitted cloth nappies are going well. They fit snuggly like disposables and seem to absorb as much as regular square terry towelling. I like them and have 10 plus 8 coming through ebay. You have to watch it on ebay to make sure you aren't getting ripped off. The fluffies terry towelling are $6.79 and the fluffies flannelette are $4.46. I have been using Bebel nappy pads to boost them and cheapo sanitary pads. So working for me.

~Kimmy~
18-04-2006, 08:16
I'm so glad I wasn't discouraged enough to give up on the carrier idea. BabyCo had their own brand which takes up to 15kg and is a three way carrier. He loves facing outside, and amazingly it was big enough to fit Dad comfortably. He's a very big man 109kg. Matthias fell asleep on Dad in Coles. One lady commented on how cute he looked. :D

Shannon, all my stitches are gone and the GP said I'd healed nicely but I'm a little scared to try anything yet. Also I had spotting yesterday after a week of just very light yellow tinge - so I'm wondering if I'm getting my period. Sorry if TMI
As for Laura and Matthias' development - our pregnacies were pretty simliar too. Although I don't have the discomfort or difficulty of arthritis.

Amy, how'd you go with the pamplet? All the parents respect my wishes now. However, they still like to scare my with comments like, "He's so big, are you sure he doesn't want to eat now?" Or "Does Matthias want some egg?"

I've finally figured out what the witching hour means. It means when baby turns into a little monster and nothing'll work except the boob constantly, or walking around the house rocking...

Matthias has those religiously between 5 and 7pm at night and the same in the morning. If I don't settle feed him, the crying will go on for ages and the unsettled period will stretch out from 1-2 hours to 4hours. That happened when I tried control crying. He cried for 40mins, not constant howling but it was nerver wrecking. It sounded like a very pathetic, "Can anyone hear me? Please come and get me." The night time session I think is a prep for bedtime. He wants to get enough in to carry him to his first night feed, around 10-11 pm. But the 5 am thing is, pretty much when he thinks it's awake time. Which technically it is by the time he's done feeding and changing. I think I'm just going to have to get to bed when he does 7.30pm (holy mackeral there goes my social life indefinately) or work on less sleep. Because to get up at 6am isn't that bad really. The sun's pretty much up. Well off to the MCHN today. Will let everyone know how we go.

BabyJoy
18-04-2006, 10:16
Good morning mummies! I have a very happy, smiling baby on my lap right now... being a mum is so wonderful sometimes!
Then there's the witching hour....

Kimmy, I know exactly what you're going through. Laura is a shocker between 6pm and 8.30pm and on really bad nights it goes till 11.30pm. Very unsettled, very tired, very cranky! DH and I are dealing with it quite well though... we try to stay very patient and when one of us has had enough, the other takes over. We don't have a witching hour in the morning though... she's really happy in the morning (that's when I get the most smiles) and I think it's because she gets a lot of sleep. She is sleeping five or more hours at a time, then feed/nappy at around 5 or 6am which takes about 45 mins and then another 2-3 hours of sleep. This morning we didn't get up till 9am.
The other morning she woke up extra early at 4am and I ended up on bubhub while feeding her cause I was bored!

I got a fright this morning because when I went in to see her, she had blood on her nose. She had scratched herself and I felt really guilty because I meant to trim her nails yesterday and forgot. Have done it this morning though, so hopefully no more cuts.
The weather here is finally getting cooler so I can put her in wondersuits or long sleeve clothes at last!
Well, it's time for some playtime... seeya later!

~Kimmy~
19-04-2006, 18:01
I'm the same with the nails. They grow so fast. I've cut them at least once a week, but this week they were a bit long. He was really upset yesterday during his 5-7 Jekkel/Hyde show and scratched his nose, forehead. It was pretty deep. I can tell you I cut them quick smart and gave him gloves to sleep in. He's pretty happy today. So far we've cruised through the witching session, but it could be because I'm wearing him and fed him before 5. I try to keep his nails as short as possible because he likes to grab my boobs. In hospital I had a lot of little nail marks. Boob is not so bad, but when he grabs my nipples I have to fight the reflex to jerk away and give him a fright. Big ouch.

We have to move the change table because he's figured out how to use his feet and move along it while I'm changing him. I can hang onto his feet but I want the added safety net of a wall on one end. :p

It's interesting that they're so similar in development. :) I took Matthias for a walk today in his pram - if he's awake he usually doesn't like it that much and I want him to get used to it, I start working in two weeks. I was hoping to walk to Kmart - a bit ambitious I realised. We turned around only 1/3 of the way there because it was too windy and I found out how unfit I was. I used to be able to walk 3-4km on sweat (then again I wasn't wearing a nappy bag and trying to pushing a jogger up hill). It was nice to get out though. I think we'll make it a daily thing, perhaps just not quite so far yet.

Ponyboy
24-04-2006, 13:35
It's been a while since anyone has posted and I suppose it's due to the Easter holidays and all these wonderful public holidays - which really don't equate to much when you are on maternity leave like me. Just means the shops are closed and unfort. my husband is working on them because his shifts are falling on them this year - good money though!!

Anaki continues to put on weight. At last weigh in (Tues 18th) she was 5.3kg. She continues to have adhoc feeding days but we do have a set waking up time and going to bed time. As in she will still have feeds during the night now 4-5hrs apart but she always gets up at 6am. And we always go to bed together at 9.30pm - most times she's already asleep on the lounge room floor and it's a matter of moving her to our room where she sleeps with us - or in some cases I change her nappy and then give her a feed in bed.

As for walking. We always do a morning walk in the pram. Of late she has decided she doesn't like it about halfway through the walk and I have to carry her home - which is all well and good if it wasn't at the bottom of a hill LOL. I try to do one in the afternoon when I can if she's not asleep or I'm not asleep!!

How's everyone else going? Anaki is starting to slide across the blanket when on her tummy to get to things. She lifts her head quite hight when she's at mother's group to look at the other "people" her size. So she is developing quite well. We are getting more smiles out of her which is good.

BabyJoy
24-04-2006, 17:58
Congratulations Sharon! You got published! ;)
That's my favourite mag at the moment... it was a great letter that you wrote!

I am having problems getting Laura to have tummy time... she absolutely hates it and cries as soon as I turn her over. I have to persist for her benefit but it's not fun, it's dreadful.
However we've had two blissful nights with no witching hour and she slept for a seven hour stretch last night! Woohoo! Hope it lasts! :fingerscrossed:

chillifly
24-04-2006, 19:07
Greetings all! Hope everyone had a good Easter :)

Thanks for the info Sharon. Nappiwash is about to run out so I will have to investigate!! My hubby's a chef so I know all about working on pub hol's and eating dinner by yourself :( At least I have Lucy to share them with now

Grrr Kimmy! They all know so much better than us don't they? My mother had a full blown tantrum (with tears and everything) because when Lucy asked for a feed half-hour earlier than her usual time and I fed her, mum said I should have given her water to settle her and that by feeding her whenever she wanted I was ensuring that Lucy wouldn't settle for anyone else. I finished feeding Lucy and walked out. I went back on Friday and said her opinions were her opinions and only that. And that she brought her kids up based on the information she had and I intended to do the same with mine. So, we just don't talk about any of it now. Works for me.

Lucy only tolerates tummy time on the ball or in her cot (while she's growling trying to get our attention to come get her). She strongly dislikes laying flat on her back as well. She can lift her head quite well, but refuses to do so and is more of a once in a blue moon occasion. Most of the other bubs in mum's group are rolling over too, but Lucy won't have a bar of staying on the floor so I can't see that happening anytime soon. I tried to do rolling over games in her cot today and she stuck that bottom lip out and started bawling. She just fights everything.

At the moment we're back to newborn status with feeds - but not sleeps! She's feeding every 1.5 to 2 hours a day (STILL!), and at night/early morning now demands 4-5 feeds. She also refuses to go back to sleep after her 2am feed. If we're lucky we might get her down for maybe 2 hours.

I can't believe we ever lamented the fact she slept so much.....

Ponyboy
24-04-2006, 19:28
Congratulations Sharon! You got published! ;)
That's my favourite mag at the moment... it was a great letter that you wrote!

Darn shame it didn't make letter of the month LOL - for those who are wondering what we are talking about - I had a letter to the editor published in Practical Parenting.

On a side note I currently subscribe to the following mags: Practical Parenting (gift at baby shower), Mother and Child (gift at baby shower), Natural Parenting, Byronchild, and Australian Parents.

Ponyboy
24-04-2006, 19:29
Should also add that I've become a pro at writing 25 words or less why I want to win something as I enter just about every competition in these mags!!

Anyone else a competition freak!! LOL I said to my husband I could make a full time job out of it. :yelclap:

BabyJoy
25-04-2006, 11:11
Yep! I'll confess... I'm a competition junkie! :D
I actually won a great prize pack in Practical Parenting last year... it was almost a complete nursery package from Playgro (cot, change table, heaps of linen, toys, storage boxes, kids' table and chairs, floor mat, nappy stacker, baby bath, potty and night lamp). Trouble is that we are still waiting on about half the items to arrive! This competition ended last September!! Must remember to give them a call tomorrow.
It really saved us a lot of money as we are on a really tight budget. I ended up forking out a lot of money on medical bills instead as I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis last year.

I'm currently seeking out competitions online... this morning I entered one to win a year's supply of wine! Hope I win! :smiliedance:

Ponyboy
25-04-2006, 20:50
Trouble is that we are still waiting on about half the items to arrive! This competition ended last September!! Must remember to give them a call tomorrow.

What do you mean you are waiting on items? What's the deal with the competitions? Don't you get everything in one hit??

~Kimmy~
26-04-2006, 10:42
Shannon, instead of putting her on the floor try lying semi reclined on the bed or couch and lie her on your chest. They just want to get her to use her muscles to strenghten them. You can always just lie her face up on the floor for her mental development. Matthias doesn't like tummy time all that much either but he has no trouble holding his head. :D Actually I think I saw a photo of you and Laura in that position and she was asleep.

Matthias doesn't laugh and he doesn't baby talk much, but he has huge smiles. Posted one on yahoo.

And we've finally hit over 3 hours. He'll go from 6/7 till 11/12. Woohoo. And then back to three hours. Good thing though, he's learnt to put himself to sleep. His feeds go for 20-30 mins. I spend 10-15mins burp/cycling him, change his nappy and he's in his cot wrapped. Even during the day, he'll go down after a play. I'll know he's tired because he starts to fuss or he's yawning. I don't have to feed or rock him to sleep anymore. Been that way for four days. :fingerscrossed: *touch wood* he stays that way.

Like you Sharon, I'm going to start going to bed 9.30 the latest. My lids have gotten puffy and sore like a stye. But I think it's stress and lack of sleep, because that's the only things that have really changed for me. I haven't gotten a stye in years.

Amy, I really hope that Lucy starts to settle for you again. If I'd taken my mum's friend's advice on board without researching first, I would have been putting Matthias at risk of botulism. She said I shouldn't be using chemical treatments for his thrush (this was when we had a horrid Saturday, he wouldn't settle all day and kept vomiting his feeds) and I should rub honey in his mouth. She was also harping water after feeds to clean his mouth and inbetween feeds if he fussed. The only good thing she recommended was gripe water for his wind.

I used to be a competition nut till I was getting so much spam and research calls that I gave it up. Now I only do the mail ones and always tick the please do not pass on my name box. I just entered Matthias into the Bonnie Babes comp. They have a lot of different categories and great prizes.

Hope all the mummas and bubbas are well. :hugs:

BabyJoy
27-04-2006, 13:27
Hello!

Sharon, the prize pack was really big and when we received the first lot, there was a letter inside saying "sorry we ran out of stock... we'll get these items to you in April". :banghead:

Kimmy, the child health nurse who runs our mum's group said it's best to have bub on a flat surface to get the most out of their neck muscles. Laura is great holding her head up when I hold her or when she is on my chest, but hates it when on the floor! Oh well, I'll just give her a minute or two each day when she's at her happiest.

It was her two-month birthday yesterday and she had to have her first lot of immunisation needles! It was so awful! :( Poor little Laura cried so hard that it brought tears to my eyes. Then she must have had pain in the evening because it was hard to settle her. I gave her some children's panadol which helped. Then she had a brilliant night's sleep... from 10pm to 6.30am... EIGHT AND A HALF HOURS!!! :smiliedance:
I'm dreading the next round of shots.

Ponyboy
30-04-2006, 14:06
Just wondering what toys you all use for your little one? And what sort of games you play??

I have purchased some toys for Anaki from ebay:

LAMAZE PUPPYTUNES
MAGIC RATTLE POOH
Gloworm

I also read to her. Just looking for ideas.:idea:

~Kimmy~
01-05-2006, 12:09
I have;
A sausage dog from Jolly Jumper.
An Activity Gym - it's on stand with rattles, musical buttons and shapes.
A turtle - from Play n Learn
A soft dog looking rabbit with crackly ears from PlayGro
A plush monkey rattle from PlayGro
A soft cow rattle

He loves play with the gym because it's so colourful, at the moment he kicks or hits things. He can play alone for 30mins to an hour. I sing songs to him from Sabbath School, and I just show him picture books. He loves staring at shapes and colours. The more colourful and detailed the book, the longer he'll want to look at it.

BabyJoy
10-05-2006, 03:44
A very early good morning to the February Mums! :wave: Where has everyone been?
I should be :sleeping: but have just fed Laura and now I'm wide awake (she is drifting in an out of sleep, I'm hoping she'll settle herself at the moment).

Laura has a few different rattles, some teething toys which she obviously doesn't need yet, but they are small to play with at the moment, a really soft ball that is scented (smells like powder), a soft teddy, a Playgro gym to lie on with dingly dangly things and a musical lion (at the moment she's reaching out and hitting the objects and sometimes she tries to grab them), three Hairy McClary books, a Kick 'n' Play piano from Fisher Price (this is just as much fun for me!) and her Playgro musical mobile in her cot. Some of these things keep her entertained for ages.
She also has a CD of lullabies which works well to calm both of us down when she's having a bad night... thankfully that hasn't happened very many times!

Well, she's still stirring, so better go and see to her. Have a great week!

Kade's Mummy
10-05-2006, 10:27
Hi everyone! :wave:

Thanks Babyjoy for directing me here - I also posted on the other Feb 06 thread - I noticed Chillifly suggested a while ago that this group should perhaps join that thread, but I gather the two seperate threads are still going?

Anyway, I'm a first time mum to little Kade born on 22 Feb and would love to join your chats. He's doing really well now, but has been battling both reflux and colic which has made him quite exhausting! However, the older he gets, the better he seems to be.

In a snapshot, here's a little about us:

Pregnancy - loved it, can't wait to do it again! Just a little nausea at the start, but really enjoyed the whole experience.

Labour - oh god, v painful but v quick, 3.5 hrs from start to finish :eek:

Sleeping - Kade's not too bad, in fact last night he went to sleep at 9pm and I didn't hear from him until 5am! Then he has a quick feed and went straight back down. I had to wake him at 9am! This is not his normal behaviour, but I really hope it becomes it!!

Feeding - just recently switched to bottle, on Karicare AH-AR. He's on Zantac for the reflux :barf: , which while I hate giving it to him seems to really help

Development - because of reflux, tummy time has been hard but he seems pretty strong and smiles heaps, which melts me! He actually rolled from his tummy to his back last night, but hasn't done it again this morning.

Look forward to chatting with you all and learning about your bubs.

~Kimmy~
23-05-2006, 12:19
Hi Kade's Mum.

Matthias had bad refux for a while, but it turns out he was having a bad reaction to Daktarin because as soon as we switched to Nilstat (to treat his thrush), he kept his feeds in. It took about a month to clear up the thrush using various treatments, vinegar in the laundry, showers instead of bath and changing his bib after every spit up.
He only vomits up what comes out with an air pocket now. So I just make sure to burp him regularly so he doesn't accumulate too much air. He drinks too fast (breastfeeding) and keeps reattaching himself - hence the too much air.

Been awhile since I've dropped by but it's because work and bub keep me on my toes. First free moment I've had in awhile. Started at my new job on the 8th.
Hope all the February mummies are well. :hugs:

ShanMac
29-05-2006, 12:48

I have a little wonder born in Feb (a surviving twin we lost our other little boy at 10 weeks) and recently moved back to Bris from London at 27 weeks.

I missed all the antenatel classes where I was hoping to meet other mums! etc I have not met many mums (apart from those from ICN and the special care nursery) at all due to spending every day for 10 weeks in hospital with my boys.

Anyways looking for a mother's group or other lonely mums who need a break from the house (me!) for a coffee something anything and hoping to make some new friends.:smiliedance:

Im in the Lutwyche area.

Anyone interested, anyone know of a mother's group in this area???

This is all new to me!

Shannon and baby Hamish

Kade's Mummy
29-05-2006, 12:54
Hi and welcome Shannon! :wave:

So sorry to hear about your little one, but congratulations on beautiful Hamish. I live in Melbourne but am more than happy to chat on line.

Hope you enjoy bubhub!!

ShanMac
29-05-2006, 13:06

Lived in Melb a few years back and loved it! Still using dial-up at home after moving back ... such a painful process, i lose connection all the time! Bring on cable i say!

~Kimmy~
30-05-2006, 10:29
Hi Shannon. I live in Melbourne too, but I found a local mother's group through my MC Health Nurse. Mention it on your next visit. I'm sure they'll help you out. :)

ShanMac
30-05-2006, 10:38
Thanks ... i did speak to her and she gave me info on playgroups ... which i will try but wanted something more informal .... or are they? should i join a playgroup any exp with this?:eek:

Tisme
10-06-2006, 00:16
Hi Kade's Mum.

Matthias had bad refux for a while, but it turns out he was having a bad reaction to Daktarin because as soon as we switched to Nilstat (to treat his thrush), he kept his feeds in.

I was told to not use Daktarin anymore as the "new improved" formula is too harsh for Bubs. I used to use it all the time with my first, then my second had a REALLY bad reaction to it, poor little thing (under a hip harness) had blisters all over.

Sorry bit too late I know, but glad to see you got it cleared up!

~Kimmy~
13-06-2006, 08:40
Thanks ... i did speak to her and she gave me info on playgroups ... which i will try but wanted something more informal .... or are they? should i join a playgroup any exp with this?:eek:

ShanMac, I joined my local parents group and I really enjoyed it. Even though the nurses run it, it's very informal and it's great to meet other mothers and bubs. Sorry this is a really belated reply. I'm back to full time work, don't get to check all the time now. :D

eleanor, better late then never :p It was actually the nurse that told me to use Daktarin and the Dr. that told me to use Nilstat. He's all clear now. Was from a week after I used Nilstat. Hasn't had thrush again since. :fingerscrossed: And now I'm enjoying stress/pain free breastfeeding.

rubyredlips
15-06-2006, 09:13
Hello there

Hope your little ones are well.....I can't beleive almost 4 months has passed since THAT DAY!!!!!eek! Ruby has just started making the cutest noises....she looks so intense sometimes like she's really trying to tell you something! awwwww:kiss:

She still only weighs 4.7kgs (last weigh was 3 weeks ago - going again tomorrow) so she's little but no-one seems worried....her length & hc are spot on average!

So far we have had the cruisiest time...no probs at all! :fingerscrossed:

Arent' we lucky to have them!

Tisme
15-06-2006, 10:18
Glad to hear its all going well then.

Rubyred .... my boy is now 7.2kg (weighed today) and what I wouldn't give for a small child again (my other two at this age were only just barely the 5 kg mark!!! LOL Enjoy it.

Meanwhile I am lugging my BIG boy around everywhere as his reflux is playing up, and I have a VERY sore shoulder.

Does anyone else have the problem that bubs only wants to be carried on the one side all the time?? Declan throws a hissy fit (hilarious but dangerous as he arches backwards) if I put him on my right hand side .... as a result my left arm is VERY strong and my left shoulder is KILLING me.

aardvark
15-06-2006, 10:57
My big boy is 7.9kg!!!

He started to wear a few size 0 clothes a couple of weeks ago.

Tisme
15-06-2006, 12:10
Cool so I'm not the only one with a monster >>>> LOL Figuratively speaking

rubyredlips
15-06-2006, 17:03
Oh my god!! how do you do it???????? you must be one strong mama!

A friend of mine has a really big boy - maybe it's a boy thing? Maybe you can get some kind of support strapping from docs/physio? :idea: Good luck! Failing that - the other half should treat you to frequent massage!!!!!!!!

Tisme
15-06-2006, 21:09
I see him once a week if I'm Lucky .... and I mean REALLY lucky not sarcastically!!! LOL

I don't know ... my other boy was only 5.1 kg at this age ... but Declan is on the RIGHT formula and Ciaran wasn't so that probably has more to do with it!!! LOL

~Kimmy~
16-06-2006, 07:10
Matthias is 8.7kg with clothes on and he's wearing 0. :) He's a big boy like his Daddy. His last measurements were two weeks ago. I update my signature every time we go to the nurse. We won't be seeing her till the end of the month. He'll be four months then. My arms grew with him. After birth I felt really weak and had backaches but now I'm fine. I learnt to distribute his weight and I'm lucky that he's a baby that doesn't have to be rocked very often or held to go to sleep.

I think it really is a boy thing :hugs: because in our parent's group the there are a couple of big boys (none quite as big as him but close, half a kilo or so), but only average to petite girls. The scary thought is they say the next one will be bigger. Ack!

We went for his professional photos last night and he didn't smile once. He's the most chatty smiley baby, but he wasn't impressed with the situation at all. His Daddy says it's because you can't pay for his smiles. They're free and he won't sell them :banghead: Anyway, I still bought a picture $90 (that's the cheapest) because we did take an hour of their time and they took about 13 photos, different poses.

~Kimmy~
16-06-2006, 07:11
Oh Jo (RubyRedLips), I forgot to say, the more the merrier. I'm so glad this thread is looking like it's headed back to the active list. :D

rubyredlips
16-06-2006, 07:50
hi kimmy,

i just noticed that your Matthias and my Ruby share the same birthday!She was 6pm arrival after only a few hours -how about you?

with mums groups - i really should join one shouldnt i? I'm getting a bit sick of my own company!i'm the only one in my (small) circle of friends with a wee one!!! ive been meaning to go with my next door neighbour but have talked myself out of it for some reason........i will go next week!

any fun stuff happening for you guys this weekend? ENGLAND WON 2 - 0!!!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

babytoo
16-06-2006, 09:04
Ok I'm popping up in this thread now....

My Rubes is small too and doesnt drink much...as I said in another thread, the chn said I need to wake her during the night to get an extra feed into her....buckleys!! There is no way known to man that I will wake her....she is happy enough, just small like me:)

Rubyredlips.....I have the same thing about friends etc...for some reason I am shy or scared of rejection or something and won't make an effort to make new friends....I don't really know what it is..I really want to meet people my age and that live in my surrounding area with kids around the same ages...not asking for much am I???? lol

Has anyone started solids yet?

rubyredlips
16-06-2006, 16:28
Hi Babytoo... :wave:

Its good to know I'm not the only one with a little little one! This lady at the shops today was like "oooh my, isn't she small..." and sort of grimacing at me like I was an evil mother from hell starving my baby (bit of an exaggeration perhaps but you get my drift? Ha!)

Same with my Rubes...there would be NO WAY IN THE WORLD I would wake her to feed her...I reckon they'll let you know if theryre hungry!

Nice to talk to ya!

OH, no i havent started solids yet - i have started giving one large bottle of formula for her last feed (10pm ish) as it seems to have helped her sleep all noight (could be a coincidence?)anyway, wasnt going to start anything else til shes 5months.....have you?

babytoo
16-06-2006, 18:18
I started solids with my DS at 11 weeks:eek: and decided to hold off with Ruby for a while longer...she isn't a huge feeder and I struggle getting her quota of milk. I had heard that in some cases solids are introduced when this happens..having said that I tried twice some farex and she didnt take to it at all so I am waiting another month to try again...not overly fussed or in a hurry this time around!

Ponyboy
17-06-2006, 15:15
It's been a while since I posted - mainly due to not having much time to read all the threads I want to read!!

Anaki is now almost 5mths (next Saturday) and weighs 7.52kg (not bad for a baby born 6 weeks early). She is talking to herself, giggling, holding her head up well, grabbing onto her play gym toys but not grabbing things from the floor, puts her hands in her mouth and sucks on them, blows rasberries and many other cute things. She is not feeding so much during the day (and seems to not sleep as much either) and seems to like to graze like a cow early hours of the morning - which is not too good for mummy's sleep. I hope to introduce some rice cereal in the coming month but was told by the health nurse not too until 6mths. We'll see.

Am extremely tired today so am veging out watching dvd's and Anaki is at the moment on her tummy talking to herself or perhaps she's asleep as I haven't heard her for a while - best check!! Glad to read everyone is going well, hope to drop in on the forum more often!!

~Kimmy~
19-06-2006, 07:36
Jo (RubyRedLips), my water broke at 2am and I was in steady easy labour till 1.30pm. Then heavy labour started and didn't stop till he was born, from 6 till 7.59pm I was having contractions every minute, it felt so good when they told me I could push. What a relief. I had a few complications but managed a natural birth with gas. I definately think the formula is a coincedence. For Matthias I've tried a couple bottles of formula. Didn't last any longer than a bf session. Just changed his poo.

Babytoo, I found the parents group run by the MCHN really great. I'm usually shy but the mothers and the nurses are so supportive and friendly. So far I've loved all the Maternal Child Health nurses I've met. I've met three. I can't believe that your nurse told you to wake her. In our group, the nurse was saying after three months we should be encouraging them to sleep through. Matthias only just started too (last four days) he use to wake for a 2am half feed. His bed time is 7. He'll wake around 10-11 for a feed and then sleep till 5.30-6

We haven't started solids but I'm preparing for it. I'm storing breastmilk to mix with rice cereal when he's interested in experimenting. Trying to make the introduction less foreign. :D He's happy just nursing for now. They say even when you do introduce solids, to breastfeed first and then offer food. At this age till 6 months, all they need is breastmilk or formula. :chef: (not really the chef yet, just the milk factory)

Sharon, I found the opposite for Matthias. He feeds more during the day and less at night (:smiliedance: for me). This is the same cookie monster that feed every 1.5 for 7 weeks. He's sleeping more though. He has two solid naps during the day and his bed time is 7pm till 5.30. With two feeds between. :D I'm loving my new sleep time. He's only just learnt to grab things and bring them to his mouth. Before he was just good at batting.

Tisme
19-06-2006, 10:00
I still get Declan up for a "dream feed" at 11pm .... or else he wakes at 3am and I know which I prefer. :thumbsup:

When it comes to babies (I found out the hard way with Ciaran and Alana) with low fluid intake it is better to ensure they fulfill their quota than to allow them to dehydrate. If that means that their quota is filled through the day then let the child sleep, but if not you need to wake them .... otherwise you end up with a baby that is uncoscious NOT asleep as my little boy was when he started sleeping 13 hrs a night from 2 weeks old. Or a babie that has to rehydrate by nasal tube like my little girl. I'm not writing this to scare anyone.... but it is a general feeling (I know I hate waking my kids when they were babies) that you "let sleeping babies lie" but that is if they are healthy and hydrated.
Mind you it is severe dehydration that results in this but it happened to me, twice, so I've learnt my lesson. Your best off asking the nurse what your babies quota of fluids is (based on their weight) and ensure that in all the bottles they are drinking that they get this quota .... unfortuanately don't know how the bf mothers do it.

~Kimmy~
20-06-2006, 07:13
Bub goes only 3-4 hours between feeds during the day and the longest at 7-9 hours at night. I have about 110ml in each breast - not that I ever get to that level during the day. But if he went any longer at night, aside from the leaking I'd probably get mastitis. I found a way to tell how much you have is leak while feeding one breast, and when the leaking stops, continue expressing. It's easier while bub is feeding because you're already letting down and you're more likely to get more out. You only have to do it once to find out approx how much...

aardvark
20-06-2006, 07:24
Finding out how much a bub is drinking at the breast sounds like just too much hassle. I just count the wet nappies from the day if I am worried what he's had. It's usually 10-12 really wet ones, so he's getting heaps.

As for breast leakage - I'm collecting what leaks and freezing it so I can go out to dinner with DH on saturday night. I leak over 150ml per day during daylight hours!!!

rubyredlips
17-07-2006, 10:37

This may sound strange but I have been longing for big milky boobs for the last few weeks.....my supply went down quite drastically and attempts to fix it havent really worked :( expressing 3 times a day aswell as feeding 8 times a day, lots of rest and food (for me) every 2 hours! Just coud'nt do it!

I was quite sad about it for a while but have had to accept that my breastfeeding days are numbered and the main thing is Ruby gets enough food - even if it come in the shape of formula.

She's now starting to gain weight after a month without putting a thing on! ENJOY THOSE BOSOMS LADIES!!!

chillifly
17-07-2006, 12:55

How's it going? Haven't been around for ages unfortunately.

What stages are all our bubs up to now? Weight for age? Sleeping (does anyone??)? Etc.

Lucy is 5.2kgs at 5.5 months. At 4 months, she was 5.4kgs, but dropped about 300grams in a month (very scary), but still grew 1cm. Put her on solids, which she is loving, and the weight gain is increasing. Still feel bad that she lost weight though. She is allergic to Farax and Heinz rice cereal but prefers to eat those over the rice I lovingly cook!!!!

She has been sitting up unassisted since 4 months, and got a tooth at 5 months 1 week to the day! Only took 2.5 months to finally cut, so hang in there ladies, the end is in sight!!!!!! Though now when I try to give her bonjela she bites my finger, and it is suprising just how sharp those teeth are.
Tummy time is no longer a drama - loves it - although because she has been rolling from her tummy to her back for a couple of months now, she tends to roll over, and then get upset because she can't figure out how to get back lol. Head strength is amazing - and upper body strength for that matter.
Starting to reach for people (especially me!!!! I'd feel special, but I know it's just for the milk).
EVERYTHING goes in the mouth; EVERYTHING! She just can't quite figure out how to get her dad's goatee in her mouth yet......
Doesn't talk much and smiling and laughing is non-existant around strangers, and very minimal with us. Bit disappointing, but she's just a very serious baby I guess.
Can wake up six or so times a night, and sleeping only in very short bursts, with a couple of feeds thrown in. Longest stretch we've had is 5.5 hours and that has happened three times total. We long for a long sleep lol.
Used to blow raspberries, but now prefers to make popping noises with her mouth - we think it means feed me, lol

Advice needed please - how do you get bubs to drink water when they will not have a bar of it?? Just spits it right back out at you.

rubyredlips - did you try fenugreek? I am on it constantly! I don't get the big milk boobs because my daughter feeds constantly; insatiable appetite which is worse since the solids. And no, I don't like it or encourage it lol. Some mums I know do both - formula and breastfeed that is.

Okay ladies, your turn, gush about your precious bubs :) I hope you are all doing wonderfully and bubs are enjoying their first winter.

~Kimmy~
17-07-2006, 12:57
Jo, I just wanted to get to you quick. I felt my supply deminishing too. But I've tried all sorts to boost and I think it might be working. Taking bf vitamins, drinking plenty of water, eating a few more calories and taking blessed thistle and drinking raspberry leaf tea. < i read somewhere that it's good for bf. Can't hurt as a Uterine tonic too. Good luck. Like you I'd be so sad to lose that bonding time.

rubyredlips
18-07-2006, 09:17
Thanks for that Kimmy - I am taking bf vitamins and it have improved a bit but am just worried that it's still not enough to bf exclusively.....really dont want to create a stressful situation and up until now Ruby's a v chilled out & happy bub! (just a bit skinny!)

So, we've settled into half/half (bf/formula) and I'm really not worried now....she's chunking up nicely, she was 5.2kg at 4 months, meant to weigh her today but weather is **** so I might stay home nice & snug!

Chillifly - I cant beleive youre little one can sit up and has a tooth! :yelclap:

Ruby can sit if you hold her, her heads really strong, and like Lucy really enjoys her tummy time now - couldnt stand it before! She'll roll from front to back pretty well and looks quite startled! She has been giving big gummy smiles to complete strangers which is funny, then frowning at grandma! oops...

She's a great sleeper :fingerscrossed: always needs be down around sundown! lucky to make it to 6pm without a tanty! She will go down and we rarely have to go in to re-settle...day sleeps go for 2/3 hours, night time from 5pm til 10pm...then up again 6am ish...am happy with that!

Don't know about the water thing.....do they start to need water when you go onto solids? I'm a litle clueless there! Am going to a 'solids talk' at ECC in a couple of weeks.....

Think I've rattled on enough! Hope youre all well :wave:

chillifly
12-08-2006, 07:44
How goes the feeding now? Still working well on both?

And as for teeth, well, all the better to bite you with mummy. Blood and everything! What a shame I had already been told to wean her and am in the process of doing it now. Had I not been told that I think I would be weaning her anyway. If she goes anywhere near my boobs she just bites me. Was told to wean her because she didn't put on any weight for TWO months; did lose 300 grams though. Big stresses in our house. One week on formula and she gained 700 grams. :rolleyes:

How did your feeding class go? We were told about 120ml of water a day, particularly if they're on formula.

Hope everyone is well . Target Baby sale starts next Thursday, woohoo!!!! :smiliedance:

~Kimmy~
14-08-2006, 08:09
It's a shame you had to give up bf so early. I'm thankful Matthias doesn't have teeth yet. Even though the teething process drives us all crazy. Matthias started purees two weeks ago. We wanted to wait till six months but he started waking every three hours again, after just starting to go 4-5. :P He's loving it. Pumpkin has been the favourite so far, but we've only had rice, potato and pumpkin. Broccoli next.

rubyredlips
17-08-2006, 12:57
Hi ladies..

Hope all is well, Ive just given Ruby her first mouthful of rice cereal cos I just couldnt wait any longer!! She did seem like she was getting a bit bored with milk though......anyhow, she pulled a bit of a face and pretty much spat it all out again! Rome wasn't built in a day hey!

She's been v funny lately, shaking her rattle like a maniac, LOVES the newspaper, gets right into it AND HAS SLEPT FROM 6pm til 6am TWICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:yelclap:

Whats happening in your worlds? I'm just off to watch Eastenders on UKTV......I am a slob

sherryn
28-08-2006, 16:22
Hope its ok for me to join your thread i did try and start my own a while back and got invited here but not long after that moved house and now im back online yippee :smiliedance: hello conversation

my little mans name is logan he was born on the 2nd feb 11 days over due weighed a woppen 9lbs but thankfully came with ease i had to be induced and now knowing his nature (stubben) there was no way he was coming out on his own free will

my husband and i have been very lucky hes a nice healthy baby with no problems with sleeping (thank goodness) from his 1st week he has slept right through the night

we are at the moment looking to join a play group but im a bit worried i wont enjoy it and then ill feel bad about not returning and then what do you say to the mums you did meet when you see then at the shops
guess im just going to have to take the chance

ive met a few mums online and met up for coffee which has been really good they also have bubs the same age
were now starting a walking day at northlakes bit far to go but hay it get you out the house
( if your in the general area and want to meet up let me know)

Logans now sitting up really well trys to everything and anything he can reach not crawling but still rolls around the lounge its amazing how far away he can get now

im going to have to do the dreaded house clean up and remove anything that he can choke on or touch that hes not supose to oh well once its done its done i guess

Had his 6 month injections a few weeks ago the tough little cookie didnt even cry i had a luch time appointment and i think he was more concerned with the fact he was starving to death then the needle coming

he now weighes 8kg which is good i thought he might stay bigger then the other bubs cause he was born big but hes evened out

well cant wait to chat to you all:ecomcity:

Tisme
02-09-2006, 09:58
mY ds2 IS not sitting up ........ :confused: he is sooo frustrated at not being able to .... still hates tummy time .... and wants to constantly be held so that he can reach things.

He has decided to cut out ANOTHER bottle, bringing his total fluids BACK to 200 ml a day (the same age and amount that landed me in hospital with DD) and will eat 3 meals a day. He sleeps toooo long, eats toooo much and DOESN'T drink.

Apart from that he is a happy CHUBBY 8kg boy with the most adorable giggle.

He says Mama, dada (when prompted for HOURS!!!! :D) and NANANNANANANANANANANANANNANA (his favourite person at the moment) and never takes his eyes of DS1 whilehe is in the room.

I need help with a routine but by the sounds of it all your bubs are doing really well and aren't changing TOOOOOO much in their day??? this is my 3rd child and I still am concerned .... after all he is ONLY 6months.

sherryn
03-09-2006, 12:21
logan hated his belly too he is now 7months and only really starting to like it cause he can roll back onto his back when ever he wants

you have other childern and you might have done this with them
but i always sat him infront of me on the floor and played
put pillow around him and pushed him over (sounds mean but i made it a game)
i bought a round blow up paddle pool and filled it with heaps of the plastic colourful balls and sat him up against the edge that way he was kind of sitting and could reach all the balls he loved it

logan also has 3 meals a day and did at 6months but was having 3 200ml bottles
i now give him baby yoghurt everday he has weetbixs for brekkie with formula normally just 1/2 scoop of powder and a little water i put formula in his mashed potato and everything i cook really just to squeeze in a little more

if he doesnt want a bottle try a cup and if its the milk he doesnt like try a different formula they all taste a little different plus some are thicker than other so if you have one thats quite thick with his food it may be too much
logan was having like the amount of a small baby jar of food and his 3 bottles now hes having the large size baby jars but doent always have the bottles try a little bit of food and top it up with a bottle afterwards

he is now ok to be drinking baby juice aswell logan hated it at first and still has to wait until its not too cold any liquard is better then none

how much sleep is too much
logan wakes at about 6.30-7.00 he has a bottle then he plays with his toys watched the wiggles has brekkie at 8.30 and is back in bed by 9.00 he will then sleep from 9.00-12.00 wakes for lunch then back to bed by 1.00 wakes at 3.00 for a bottle then usually stays awake has dinner at 5.00 another bottle at 7.00 and streight to bed after that although he doesnt always want the night tome bottle
he was great he deceided his own routine and i love it thats like 17hrs asleep and only 7 hrs awake in a 24hr period

my sisters kids all refused the bottle about 6-7 months
she went to the dr and they were slowly put on cows milk

they normally say its right from 12 months but check with your dr if they say a big no no check with your local health centre and also get the advise from thoes women they have baby advise there too and will help you with any problems you have

good luck:)

~Kimmy~
04-09-2006, 09:35
Tisme, did your routine change at all? Or you never had one? I've found having a regular bedtime and regular get up time helps keep the rest of the day in check. Also with the feeding. Matthias definately fed less when his gums were sore. Sometimes he'd only take one side and an hour or two later he'd be back for the other. I'd just keep persisting to make sure he drained both sides. Sometimes I'd feel like he only had three good day time feeds. He usually has two naps (40-1 hr) and his day is from 7 till 7.30. He does have days where he just doesn't nap though. Could be teething, attention seeking or just missing his cues that keep him up. And he still wakes up 2-3 times a night. :(

Hope you get to figure out what's making him restless. Matthias started sitting by himself about two weeks ago. We first used to prop him up with a pillow and get him to sit forward in his car seat before we got him out. If you urge him and keep prompting he'll do it, just to watch the big smile he'll get from you for his efforts. Because he has mild ezcema we only just started him on food again. He's on a few spoons of cereal a day. We introduced at five and a half months.

Tisme
12-09-2006, 01:22
He used to LOVE his routine. Now that is all up the creek. He is on 3 meals a day and 3-4 bottles. I'm not overly upset anymore as he is drinking at least 2/3 his quotient for the day. Although now that we hav changed formula AGAIN he seems to be calming again.

He is starting to sit up for a small amount of time but his back is just not very strong. I know with practice it will get there but I hate seeing kids at this frustration stage. even worse to see tham in the rocking before crawling. that just tears me apart cos you can't help them with that .... they gotta work it out themselves.

rubyredlips
12-09-2006, 10:07
Tisme - I'm glad youre not overly upset anymore as all these babies seem soooooo different!

I was disapointed the other week when a friend called to tell me her 3 month old son had just rolled over! Ruby is 6 1/2 months and still isnt doing that! I think she could if she REALLY tried as she's quite strong but she doesnt seem too bothered.

If we didnt worry - that would be worrying!

Rubys routines have shifted a little, she stopped sleeping well during the day but seems to have gone back to it now.........YIPEEEEEEEEE :smiliedance:

Ponyboy
16-09-2006, 16:57
Been a while since I posted anything on here and can't believe 7mths has gone by already!!

My little darling is having solids 3 times a day - 3-4 spoons of rice cereal in morning, and either vegetables or fruit for lunch and veges for dinner. She is rolling over, sitting up and inching along the floor - no sign of crawling yet. She babbles and squeals and has the cutest laugh!! :)

I still feel like I'm stuck in a surreal world as each time I wake up and see her sleeping beside me I think wow I have a little girl!!

She is still a napper no more than 20mins sleep at a time although at night she goes for 5hrs before needing a feed. I still bf and love it.

Anyway she has woken up now so I must cut this short.

mum2elouise
06-10-2006, 17:20
Hi ladies:wave:

I've only recently joined and just found this thread so thought i'd pop in and introduce myself. My name is Rachael, i'm 18 years old, married to hubby of 10 months now (have been together for 3 years, 8 months), am a very proud :yes: Mum to my gorgeous daughter, Elouise, who was born on the 20th Feb.

Elouise is breastfed and very much enjoying it! I don't think she'll want to stop any time soon:D

I'm absolutely LOVING being a Mum!!! I'm enjoying it so much. I'm a SAHM and most probably will be until we finish having kids and the youngest is at school. We'll see how we go financially though.

Anyway, i'm looking forward to chatting with you all some more and getting to know you! :ecomcity:

BTW, are there any other Sunshine Coasters here? Would be interested in meeting up, if so.

Tisme
15-10-2006, 21:18
Milestone line up ;P

8mths: sitting - just started
tummy time - don't even THINK about it Mum - Reflux too .... yuck!!
rolling - from tum (as soon as put down) to back with a gusto CRY
Crawling - not even close
Babbling - Never stops - Gotta keep up with big brother nd sister
Laughing - In between Talking
Standing - with help at EVERY opportunity when not eating
Eating - with a gusto
Drinking - why drink when I can eat???
Day Sleeping - LOVES me sleep - still 1.5 hours twice a day with SOmetimes a half hour nap late after noon
Night Sleeping - 10hrs 8pm - 6am
Teeth - 6 through with 2 pushing ..... 4 at top and 2 at bottom

Did I miss anything????
This is for a bit of fun ... not a "see what my baby can do .... nah nah nah nah" FUN ladies.

Tisme
16-10-2006, 06:11
welcome mum2elouise. I love that name.

How many in here are from Sydney???

Kade's Mummy
16-10-2006, 07:34
Tisme - I love this milestone idea! My DS was born on Feb 22.

Our milestones are as follows:

Sitting - only supported
Tummy time - doesn't like it (reflux baby) but does roll and roll and roll!
Crawling - nope
Babbling - Never stops - mama, dada, bubba etc
Laughing - I love his deep little laugh!
Standing - only supported, but loves it - more than sitting
Eating - lots!
Drinking - why drink when I can eat??? I hear ya Tisme!!
Day Sleeping - I wish - one 1.5 hour if I'm lucky, plus a 20 min.
Night Sleeping - 12 hours - 7am-7pm, usually have to get up to him once though
Teeth - none! Lots of dribble, everything in the mouth, pretty ratty at times but no teeth yet

Tisme
22-10-2006, 20:39
Anyone else wanna share?????

annetta
24-10-2006, 06:45
I've just joined Bub Hub and thought I'd post a reply on the Feb 06 baby thread. Chunks was born 10 Feb by c-section. It didn't hurt like you poor mums who went through labour but god, it was hairy. I had placenta previa grade 4 and lost 2.5 plus litres of blood and had to be transfused. I went into theatre at approx 1700. Ch unks was born at 1725. I got into recovery at 1940 feeling like i'd been run over by a bus. I didn't get to hold Chunks for 24 hours and was in hospital for 2 weeks. Never again.

I'm still breastfeeding him and introduced solids at 6 months. Mind you, the only reason I'm breastfeeding is because he has a suction like a vacuum cleaner. He latched on and doesn't let go.
I co-sleep and he feeds at night.

For easy and discreet feeding when out - I wear the new tops out which separate at the lower breast line.

Mybabble
24-10-2006, 06:56
i just found this thread too:wave: lachlan was born on the 10th feb, after a very long labour but id do it again in a second! I cant believe how much they grow in such a short amount of time. Its amazing. Lachy has been crawling for a few weeks and gets into everything and anything! He has been saying dad for a while and has now started to say mum but its only when he wants something:) Its amazing how much i love him,i think he gets annoyed at me because i cant stop kissing his chubby little cheeks.lol

CodSop
25-10-2006, 09:14
:wave: everyone i have just found this thread even though i have been on bubhub for ages i just dont look very hard. My name is Gail i am 25 i have been married for 4 yrs and my son :D Cody was born on the 28th of Feb and i am just loving be a mum.

I am a sahm and intend to be untill our youngest child goes to school. :smiliedance:

Really loking forward to chatting to you all and sharing stories and milestones.:ecomcity:

CodSop
25-10-2006, 09:26
Milestone line up ;

Nearly 8mths:

Sitting : Just started doing it on his own and thinks he is so clever.
tummy time: Loves it cause i can move now.
rolling : Both ways it was a great way to get around.
Crawling : Commando crawls and can get up on his knees but just not sure how to go yet ( wont be long)
Babbling : Never stops dad,dad mostly but occasionally mum.
Laughing : When hes not talking he has such a cute little laugh.
Standing : with help EVERY chance he gets.
Eating : 3 meals a day loves it.
Drinking : why drink when I can eat???
Day Sleeping : Most days he has 2 2hour sleeps and a half hour nap around 5 ish
Night Sleeping : Goes down around 7:30 8 and mostly sleeps through till 7 but some nights he will wake up once around 3ish
Teeth : Nope lots and lots of dribble and chewing on everything but no teeth yet.

This is a great idea to know where eveyone is upto:D

Tisme
31-10-2006, 22:49
welcome and thanks for sharing!!!

mum2elouise
02-11-2006, 09:21
welcome mum2elouise. I love that name.

Thanks Tisme. I love it, too!:D Ok, as for Elouise's milestones:

Sitting - by herself since 5 months old
Tummy time - loves it! Always has. She gets around everywhere on her tummy
Crawling - has been commando crawling since 6 months old and has been crawling 'properly' for about 3 weeks now (so 7.5 months)
Babbling - always! Says Bub, Dad, and Mum (started saying them in that order) but Mum is her favourite now and is constantly calling me "MUM-MUM-MUM!!". So gorgeous to hear her:D
Laughing - Gorgeous chuckles when we tickle her! Is a very happy bub
Standing - only with my support although doesn't like it that much. Would much rather get down on the ground and crawl! She went through a stage about a month ago when she realized she could stand and wanted to do it all the time, but soon got sick of it once she realized she couldn't move that way!:laughing:
Eating - 2 meals a day - brekky and dinner, and sometimes has a taste of my lunch, too. She eats whatever we eat - never liked baby food. "Why have mush when i can have what you're having Mum?":)
Drinking - Lots of breastfeeds. Has around 10 per 24 hour block. Can also drink out of a cup by herself, after lots of practice! She gets it half the time, the other half she puts her lips on the top of the cup so it pours down her chest! Just has water with solids.
Day Sleeping - Has 3 sleeps - one around 8-9am, one at 12-1pm, then one at 3-4pm.
Night Sleeping - Goes down at around 9pm, wakes anywhere from 7am to 9.30am! She has a couple of breastfeeds per night but it's no drama as we co-sleep, so i'm not having to get up in the night to feed her. Just roll over, at the most.
Teeth - has her 2 bottom front teeth. They both came through within a day of one another a month ago. No teething symptoms whatsover - just the day they cut the gum, she was cranky. No drooling, no red cheeks, no pre-crankiness...

CodSop
02-11-2006, 16:20
Oh oh!! I have to change my milestones! Today DD was very very cranky, and I checked and her bottom teeth are coming through! I'm so excited!:smiliedance: My little girl is growing up... :yelclap:

I went and called her grandparents straight away! I get very excited about these things...

Oh wow :smiliedance: she sure is growing up!!! Now you will have to be careful of your fingers lol :laughing: !!!! Cody is dribbling and whinging (sp) alot but still no teeth they are so cruel!!!

Tisme
03-11-2006, 10:15
Declan STILL has 6 teeth .... lots of drool, lots of grinding the poor things, and massive red gums but no more white caps .... :banghead:

CodSop
07-11-2006, 10:30
:banghead: cody has decided he needs to be feed every 4 hours of a night now :eek: its like having a newborn again!! I ask him whats with this and he just grins and babbles at me :laughing: !!! Thankgod he is easy to get back to sleep i just feed him and pop him back in the cot and off he goes back to sleep!! so lately i am so tierd:sleeping: we are ttc#2 but i can hardly stay awake for that kind of stuff.

Hows everyone else going???? This thread is getting a bit quite we need some more chit chat happening come on where are all the feb mums gone???????

mum2elouise
15-11-2006, 11:04
Hi! Cody'smummy, my Elouise has been feeding VERY frequently at night this past week, too... And i mean, 5-7 times per night:eek: I think she could be teething as she is very clingy to me, whinges if i put her down and would even whinge if daddy was holding her! She's fone with him now though.

Also she's been biting me:mad: I have very sore nipples as a result of this! 2 splits on my left nipple and 1 on my right where her 2 little bottom teeth have sunk in... I even had to resort to expressing for 2 days there as it was just too painful to feed. Still hurt now although i am feeding her on them both again - just sort of grit my teeth and bear it!

karcarcor
20-11-2006, 18:20
Hi all, I'm new to this thread but have read a bit.
My DS was born on feb 3rd 2006. He sat at 5months and has been crawling for 4 or 5 weeks now. He loves to pull himself up onto everything especially Mum!
He got both his bottom 2 teeth last week and has been a bit grizzly since.
He still wakes twice a night, although I've not been feeding him at night, I now go and pat his back to resettle him.
He's still breastfeeding 4-5 times a day and has 3 solid meals. He also drinks water from a sipper cup.
He waves goodbye(ta ta) and claps. And he says Ta and Dad.
Look forward to chatting soon

CodSop
21-11-2006, 14:26
Wow great to see some action in this thread its been a bit quite!!!

Welcome Karcarcor great to hear your little man is doing so well. Cody has learnt how to commando crawl and i think he will keep doing that now till he walks cause he has tried to crawl properly numerous times but it is to slow for him he hasn't got time to learn he is a busy little fella!!!:laughing: He is pulling himself up on anything he can he really likes doing it in the bath and stomping his feet but i am so scared he is going to slip and crack his head or something cause he dosent like me to hold him he wants to hold the side of the bath and stomp.its so scarey.

Mumtoelouise cody has become very clingy and whingey now aswell. I play soccer on a Friday night and cody stays at home with daddy well last week when i got home cody was bawling and bawling and dh said he had been doing it for half an hour or so!!!:eek: then i picked him up and he was fine like nothing had happened. The little monster!!!!

We are having another baby now due in july so i am so tierd :sleeping: and getting up 2 or 3 times a night is really taking its toll i have to have an afternoon nap with cody!!:laughing:

Hope everyone is well i will stop talking now i love to talk ok i will zip it!!!

karcarcor
21-11-2006, 18:52
My little man likes to stand up in the bath too. A bit scary!
He's been really grizzly the last 2 days. Just seems to cry for no reason then when I pick him up he's fine. Maybe anothere tooth's about to come through?

chameleon
22-11-2006, 11:28
Oh wow. Congratulations CodysMummy! :yelclap:

My little one has always been very clingy, never wanting to go to anyone else. But the other day we had a big family get together and she got passed around to everyone and didn't seem to miss me at all! It was quite nice for a change.

She is getting so so close to crawling now but can't seem to work her arms and legs together. :no: She just goes backwards, and then gets frustrated because she is getting further away from her toys!

mum2elouise
22-11-2006, 14:27
Wow! Congrats CodysMummy:smiliedance: on your :bfp: !!!! We've just started ttc, this month, too, so am :fingerscrossed: that i don't have too long to wait until i join you as a Feb mum preg again.

Some news here - Elouise has learnt 3 new words this past week!! So her vocabulary now consists of 6 words (she started saying them in this order) - bub, dad, mum, nan, daddy and mummy!

Major developmental growth spurt here, which unfortunately meant lots of LONG nights with Elouise even waking 15 times one night! As well as the 3 new words she's started saying, she's just learnt how to pull herself up to standing as of a week ago. She has also taught herself a new sign! (We do baby sign here). She has taught herself 'come here' which is something that neither DH or i do, she's just come up with it all by herself! She puts her arm out in front of her with her hand open, sideways with her thumb pointing up, and curls her fingers into her palm, then stretches them out, then curls the, etc.So proud of her!:D

CodSop
22-11-2006, 16:00
Thanks for the congratulation we are so excited but it hasn't sunk in yet cause my first scan is not till 15th dec once i have seen bub it will seem more real.

Wow mum2elouise hopefully it doesnt take long to get your :bfp: . Goodluck fingercrossed for you and a quick journey to bubba #2. Big congratulations to Eloise she is so clever fancy teaching herself a sign wow! She says so many words to what a little chatterbox lol:laughing:

Mumm to a Princess: How frustrating that must be for your little princess to be going backwards that would really bug me to so i know how she must feel!! Poor little thing wont be long and everything will click and she will be so proud of herself!!!

Cody has taken another step forward this week to he can now get from his tummy to a sit yeah clever cody. He really struggles sometimes and others he does it really easy!! Once he gets into the sit he then proceeds to pull himself up on whatever he can reach. haha
Yesterday we had tears he was pulling the kitchen drawer out and pushing it back in and then while it was open he put the other hand on the top of the drawer to pull himself up and pushed the drawer closed jaming his tiny fingers tight in the drawer. It all happened so quick i could see it happening but just didn't get to him in time. The poor little man bawled for ages.:crying: Its so sad seeing him upset but on the positive he has left the drawer alone since.:D

Tina_K
26-11-2006, 21:33
Hi all... I'm a new BubHub-er!
My little princess was born after a fantastic water birth on her due date... Valentines day!
I'm married & a "mostly SAHM" (I work 9 hours a week).
Taya sat at 5 months, pulled herself up at 7.5 months & crawled at 8 months. She's a BIG chatter box... mama, dada, baba, numnum, lalala (singing!) & a few more. Her favourite at the moment is 'what?" I never realised how much I said it to her until she started saying it all the time!!
She walks around all our furniture, waves at evryone she sees & claps her hands... although I think shes forgotten how to do that at the moment!
I really love being a Mum & I'm having so much fun with her at this age. Sometimes shes so independant, but other times she just cuddles me & says "ohhhh" which melts me everytime!
Its fantastic to be able to chat to other Feb mums & hear about what your munchkins are doing 2!

rubyredlips
27-11-2006, 11:51
Hi All!

Just thought I'd say a quick hello and introduce myself - My name is Jo and I am Mum to Ruby who will be 9 months old tomorrow!!:eek:

I did visit this forum a while ago but have been a bit tied up with various stuff and it was also a tad quiet??

Anyhoo, not much time AGAIN as I have to get ready to go out....I am so excited...!!! Ruby has a bit of a screen test for a baby bonds job! he he he!!! I PROMISE I am not a pushy mum but my friend works in advertising and has arranged it for us!

Hope Ruby can find her smile cos she wasn't too happy this morning! :fingerscrossed:

Can I share my milestones with you all later?

Look forward to chatting with you,

Have a great afternoon!

karcarcor
27-11-2006, 23:52
Yesterday we had tears he was pulling the kitchen drawer out and pushing it back in and then while it was open he put the other hand on the top of the drawer to pull himself up and pushed the drawer closed jaming his tiny fingers tight in the drawer. It all happened so quick i could see it happening but just didn't get to him in time. The poor little man bawled for ages.:crying: Its so sad seeing him upset but on the positive he has left the drawer alone since.:D

Kayne has done this a thousand times - he doesn't seem to learn!!

Haven't been here for a while,has taken me ages to read everything. I guess I'll have to get on the computer more often!

Kayne doesn't talk much at all - he says Dad and Ta but that's all. He's been walking around the furniture for about a month now, and this past week he's been pushing his walker around the family room. Wont be too long before he's walking I dont think.AAAAAGH
I'm not ready for him to grow up.He's probably my last and I'm really enjoying him as my little baby.

Hope everyone is well. Talk soon

aardvark
28-11-2006, 06:34
Hello all.

My DS is well and truly on the move now. Crawling, cruising the furniture (and letting go!!).

He's only had teeth for about the last 3 weeks, and I have found it no co-incidence that until about then, he just didn't want any solids at all, so he's been fully bf'd for a looooong time.

I'm starting to dread going back to work next year, but there's no way of avoiding it (short of winning lotto).

rubyredlips
28-11-2006, 12:31

These babies all sound so different dont they? Its great to know theres all these new little people around!!

Ruby does nt look anywhere near crawling...but is really happy on her tum and spins around full 360, and shuffles backwards.

She loves standing up which is giving me a stuffed back! She goes as stiff as a board when you try and get her to sit!:laughing:

I know what you mean about work aardvark, Ive been going just once a week forf a couple of months now and it as dull as anything! Time for a career change me thinks!
:idea: ?????

Jo

mum2elouise
30-11-2006, 11:40
I agree with you there about all bubs being so different, rubyredlips! My little girl isn't too interested in standing yet. She pulls herself up to standing on the coffee table and her rocking horse and things like that but not too often. She can't walk around furniture yet, either, although she will take a couple of steps if she's holding onto me (onto my legs or something without me holding her, if you know what i mean).

How's everyone's bubs doing lately? Are any of you ttc another, quite yet?

bigglet
30-11-2006, 11:46
oh oh oh oh oh !!!

Can i join in this group pretty please?!?!

I've been looking for other mum's with Feb bubs!!

So... hello :wave: to everyone!!

And congrats CodysMummy on BFP!!

Seems like a few people are thinking of the next one too!! Same here! One day I'll hopefully be there too!!

HELLO!!! :D

Oh.... apparently my little 9 month old said her first word the other week (according to childcare) and it was......

CLAP.

Yup... not mummy, not dada... not bubye... not ta.... but clap. Even the carers were astounded - apparently clap is not an easy word to say. :confused:

rubyredlips
01-12-2006, 07:14
Hi Bigglet & welcome!

Congrats on your clapper! Mine has just figured out how to clap her hands....although I dont reckon theres much chance of her saying it!

She does Mama & Dada....I think her next words could be either 'off' or 'out' as thats what I seem to spend most of the day saying to our dog! :shame:

Have a great day & look forward to chatting more!

aardvark
01-12-2006, 07:35
Heaven help me, he thinks he can stand unsupported - and he can't. There have been a few tumbles and squawks.

He has however mastered the art of leaning his bum against things so he has both hands free, and he is determined to try to walk.

CodSop
03-12-2006, 17:40
Hahaha aardvark my little man is exactly the same he stands up holding onto my fingers and before long he is trying to push me away so he can do it on his own and he tumbles over poor little fella!!! Cody leans his bum and his tummy and side against things so he can have both hands free and then forgets to hold on again before he decides to walk away!!:laughing: Its so cute he will be walking before we know it. He has finally learnt to crawl properly instead of commando crawling.

Hi bigglet thanks for all the congrats i have not been on for ages cause i am just so tierd had forgotten how tierd you get in the first trimester thank god we are nearly through that now.

Haha rubyredlips i am sure cody is going to be saying "no cougar, no tonka, outside" really soon cause i seem to be saying it all the time to the dogs.

Hows everyone going any new milestones??? Cody still has no teeth oh well guess they will show up soon.
hope everyone is well and not as :sleeping: as i am.

rubyredlips
05-12-2006, 07:58

I just realised Cody's Mum that your DS was born on the same day as my DD! I did know of another mum (she used to come on here?) with a bub born on the same day too!

What time did he arrive? Ruby joined us at 6pm after just 6 hours start to finish :smiliedance:

Heres the milestones that I can remember! (bad mother)

Teeth: 6 months
Sitting: 6 months
Standing: 6 months (busy month that one!)
Rolled over: never
Crawling: not yet! lots of tummy bouncing!

I really thought she would be crawling by now but just goes backwards! Hmmmmm.......

Tina_K
06-12-2006, 14:33
Cody'sMum, my DD has no teeth either, I was starting to think she was the only toothless bub her age! It doesn't stop her though, she eats ANYTHING! It's almost embarassing sometimes, cos whenever she sees food when were out its "numnumnum!" at the top og her lungs lol.
She's saying a few new things in the last few wks... "boob", "wa-sat" or "who-sat" "bye". She's mimicking a lot now too.
Hmmm, must go, I can hear the princess calling, woken up & dancing in her cot!

bigglet
06-12-2006, 14:36
Emily has 6 teeth - 2 on the bottom and 4 on the top!

But she hasn't said any words yet except for the word "clap" which she said twice and I never heard it!!

She has just worked out how to stand up! She pulls herself up! It's scary how quickly they grow!!! :eek:

CodSop
07-12-2006, 16:21
Cody'sMum, my DD has no teeth either, I was starting to think she was the only toothless bub her age! It doesn't stop her though, she eats ANYTHING!

Wow i am so glad to hear that cause i was thinking Cody must be the only toothless 9 month old around cause all the other bubs in our mums group have teeth!! It dosent stop cody either he still eats everything he can. HeHe

She has just worked out how to stand up! She pulls herself up! It's scary how quickly they grow!!! :eek:

It really is very scarey how quick they grow once they learn how to do something there is just no stopping them cody pulls himself up on anything and everything he can get hold of sometimes it all ends in tears but mostly he has it all under control.

So they are rubyredlips i dont know of any other bubs born on the 28th so its nice to meet another one exactly the same age. Cody was born at 9:10pm after 11 hours i was induced at 10am. So ruby is a few hours older than cody but there's not much in it.

CodSop
07-12-2006, 16:23
Sorry Bigglet i missed your new sig.

Congratulations on your pregnancy

Hope all goes well i am nearly 12 weeks now so i am finally not tierd all the time i can go all day without a nap :smiliedance: :smiliedance: .

mum2elouise
15-12-2006, 17:26
Wow! I haven't logged into this thread lately. Congrats Bigglet!! I'm envious:crying: I want to be preg, too!:D No, seriously though, i hope you have a fantastic next 8 months or so.

Well, Elouise has had 2 new teeth cut through - her top front 2. So that is 4 all up now. The next 2 on top are just about through, too.

She is finally standing so much more! She pulls herself up on everything now and takes a couple of steps but doesn't move her arms if you know what i mean. So not quite cruising yet.

She has learnt to kiss now - blows kisses to everyone all the time! So cute because she purses her lips up so much that sometimes she looks like a little fishie with her little fishy mouth! :laughing: Elouise has also learnt to tick tock like a clock with her tongue. That's another one that is nonstop now...

Anyway, better go check on this roast in the oven. Good to hear that everyones well and good. Check back in soon:wave:

rubyredlips
05-01-2007, 05:20
:party:

Hope you all had a fab first Chrissy with the babies!

Just thought I'd pop on to say hi as its been a while....I've been awake since about 4am (even though Ruby is fast asleep :hugs: ) DP SNORES. Its really doing my head in! Our sofa is soooooooo uncomfortable! I've been looking on ebay for another one but no luck yet!

Ruby got 3 new teeth for christmas!!! 2 on the bottom (thats 4) then one on the top! She seems to be back to her happy little self now and is loving life!

No crawling though????????????? Hmmm, really thought she would be by now. She stands and holds onto the furniture but doesnt move anywhere!?!?! All in good time I guess!

Meant to say before, CONGRATS to BIGGLET & CODYSMUMMY! hope all is well!

Bye for now

CodSop
01-02-2007, 20:10
Wow its been so long since i have been in here!! Hope evertyone had a great chrissy and the new year is shaping up good for you!!

Well cody finally has some teeth!!!:smiliedance: he has 2 front bottom teeth and the top ones are not very far behind!! but now it hurts when he bites!!!

Cody is nearly walking he has taken the odd step here and there but is just not quite ready to walk just yet as much as he would like to. He spends pretty much all his time on his feet walking around the furniture the cupboardsds the walls pretty much anything he can hold himself up on.

I just cant believe he will be 1 in 26 days time it has just gone so fast!!!

Has any one got plans for a first birthday party??? i just not sure wheather to have one or not i think if i do it will just be Cody's little friends from mothers group and friends ect nothing to flash. Guess i better get to it and organise something it will be here before i know it!!!:eek:

Well hope everyone is well and the not so little bubbas are all progressing along happily!!!