View Full Version : A new arrival at our place!

M O P
26-02-2006, 13:41
We're finishing shearing here at our place so there's sheep going everywhere. We have 100 of our neighbours sheep up in the yards at the shearing shed, they're coming over to pick them up tomorrow.

But this morning my husband and I were up there and we saw some crows hanging around them. We went to investigate further and found brand spanking, afterbirth shiny new twin lambs. I kept an eye on them all morning and came to the conclusion the mother was only interested in one (merinos have as much maternal instinct as Coke cans) so I took the other home. I've been feeding him up and now he can get himself up and walk around the lawn, yay:smiliedance: .

I'll have to give him back to the neighbours tomorrow so I'll try to make the most of having him here! He's soooo cuuute!

Scout
26-02-2006, 14:36
How gorgeous Karen.

I'm don't really do well with the whole nature and food chain thing.....so were the crows hanging around for the reason that I think they might have been? A yes or no is a suitable response, I won't deal well with the details!

I'm a city gal through and through - meat comes wrapped in plastic at the supermarket and that's the extent of what I need to know!

drewid
26-02-2006, 14:39
Oh how sweet! Baby animals are soooo cute :D

M O P
26-02-2006, 15:23
Scout
I think the crows were hanging around for the afterbirth which was hanging from the mother still. Sorry if that's too much info! They will hang around and start to eat defenseless lambs too. It's a cruel world out there:crying: Now this prob is too much but see how you go, my husband has actually seen Wedge-tail eagles take new lambs and joeys to their nests.

This baby is now 7 hours old and already drinking from a stubby and running around on the lawn!

The ironic part is I now have to go and put a leg of lamb in the oven for tea tonight.

Scout
26-02-2006, 18:42
:eek: Oh Karen. I'm just terrible with that stuff - I need about 10 years in the country to toughen me up!

I note that you have a cat though - I like it when country people have cats. What sort of dogs do you have - working dogs?

Biene
26-02-2006, 19:31
Oh how cute, good thing you kept an eye on it!

27-02-2006, 00:36
OOOOoooooOOOOOooooooooo !!!!!
Gorgeous !

M O P
27-02-2006, 07:30
Scout- we've 3 that are meant for working but they're all treated like our pets:
a 12 year old retired black Kelpie Daisy
a really good 3 year old black & tan Kelpie Willy
a 2 year old big brown Kelpie with heaps of personality but not many skills Barney
and my baby dog Sav, (short for savage- he isn't really but has a serious case of small man syndrome) who's a terrier of some sorts our neighbours gave to us as a wedding present just over a year ago.

They are like our children, and I just know they"ll all to be in constant peeing battles on our pram tyres!!:mad:

BiNdI86
27-02-2006, 09:09
awwww...how cute!!

i always wanted a pet lamb...but coming from a beef property i had to make do with calves.

I used to hand raise calves and it was heaps of fun!!

M O P
27-02-2006, 09:41
But calves are sooo cute too! They have those beautiful eye lashes!

BiNdI86
27-02-2006, 09:50
beautiful lashes...but rough tounges!!! if you walked into the pen they would start licking you!!!kinda weird but cute...and they always made the cutest moo noises as i walked by..

our record is 35 calves AT ONCE!!!! it was great!!! that was only three years ago!!! they would mob you if you walked in!!! They were all feedlot orphans :(

BiNdI86
27-02-2006, 09:53
my nephew just asked me to add that he and his brothers had a baby kangaroo named joey and a baby goat named billy (very original naming!!:laughing: ) and they now have a baby galah named earnie!!

It never ends on a farm!!!

M O P
27-02-2006, 15:05
LOL Bindi sounds like you're running even more of a zoo than we are!

Little Jimmy, the tiny lamb, has now gone over to our neighbour's place. I was a bit sad but he did cry right outside our bedroom window last night for a while so won't miss that! Good practice for us come June!