View Full Version : Royal Brisbane and Womens Hospital Birthing Centre

*Country Bumpkin*
25-02-2006, 06:16 PM

Well i recieved the good news on thursday that i have been allocated a place in the RBWH Birthing Centre!! :thumbsup:

However i visited my Dr yestersay and he told me a whole heap of horror stories!! He is also an OB and he worked at the RBWH and also in the birthing centre- so he would know. He said that about half of the midis are beautiful and do wounderful deliveries however the other half are butchers and dont know what they are doing:confused:

He told me alot of other horrible things about it such as if i do decide i need an epidural they will do everything they can to talk me out of it (i already knew that lol) but if i still want one- they wont let me have it!!! I told him i would yell and scream till i got one his reply "they will just shut the door and let you scream"

I guess what Im looking for is reasurance from anyone who has been to the birthing centre.... any stories or advice would be most appreciated. I just need to know what everyone else has been through- please be as detailed with your stories as you can GOOD or BAD I dont mind.

Thanks all

JanetF
25-02-2006, 07:37 PM
Don't take the word of a surgeon for this stuff. Go to the FBC website and have a look. And get a copy of their protocols so you know what they really do and don't have to hear it secondhand from someone who prefers to take your money to do what they're doing through the public system. BCs aren't perfect, especially those in hospitals but that one has a pretty good reputation. There was an incident where a baby died not that long ago but you know what that was? The MWs saw that a surgeon was needed and put the call out but the surgeon didn't come. Somehow this has been blamed on the MWs. David Molloy, old head of AMAQ (and surgeon with almost 100% c-sec rate!) used to make inflammatory statements about the FBC all the time. He's a laughing stock across Australia. You've made about the best choice possible within the hospital system. Your only safer birth would have been a home birth. Let this guy slide. He's scaremongering. Maybe write a complaint after you read the FBC's outcomes? They're better than any old surgeon, any day! And his epidural tale? What a crock! :mad:

Tea Lady
25-02-2006, 10:11 PM
There are quite a few lovely ladies around here who have been to the BC and I'm sure they could tell you how it was.

Maybe you could ask your Dr to give you some published data about his concerns? I was talking to someone recently who was telling me about a baby who died there and apparently it was the midwives' fault that time (she knows the family) but they have since changed their protocols to make this situation less likely to occur - so maybe your Dr may have out of date info.

I'd be really interested to know what you find out with this as I'm thinking of putting my name down for the BC next time and I'd be particularly interested to see any negative information since what I've heard so far is nearly all positive (which is a good sign!).

Good luck with it, and please keep us posted :D

Ffrenchstar
26-02-2006, 08:09 AM
I went to the birth centre and I wouldnt go anywhere else.

My hubby knows the doctor who started the last "hoo-haa" about "the killing fields..." he is an absolute nutcase...

I have never been to such a supportive and nurturing place, infact I would be scared to go back to the mainstream part of the hospital, Idont know what I will do if I dont get in this time:rolleyes:

Not to in anyway lessen the pain of the couple who lost their baby there but that is the ONLY time anything like that has happened in the birth centre.

Argh, doctors sometimes make me angry...methinks it is because there is way less need for them in birth than they would like to think....

LOL, soryr for the rant, I am on my way out the door.....

26-02-2006, 08:23 AM
Hey Adele, I had (and still have) the oppertunity to go into the Birthing Centre but I chose not to for the pain-relief factor.
I'm going to try to go without-drugs but I was told that at the BC I wouldn't be allowed them at all, and to me, that wasn't what I wanted. I want choice (I stub my toe and cry you see, I'm a big big big wuss!) In the mainstream birthing suites I can still have a shower, use heat packs, music, massage, birthing balls etc... but I can also scream like a maniac for the needle.

However, that's the ONLY REASON that I didn't want to choose it. I know a middie who works there and she is FANTASTIC! Even tho' I'm not going there she still offers herself to me to ask anything, giving me her number to call "anytime" if I'm worried.. so I don't think there's too much of a problem.

Good luck! :D

cobysmummy
26-02-2006, 12:25 PM
i was interested in going to the BC until i found out that i wouldnt be allowed drugs... whilst i was pregnant i said i would have drugs if i thought i needed them so i wanted them to be there just incase,.. and thank god i did... i definately needed them!! i had pethadine and epidural coz coby was posterior (only turned posterior once labour started :rolleyes: and i also needed the vaccuum extraction to get him out... after three hours of pushing... if i had gone to the BC i would still be there coz there was no way he was getting out himself.. .

i know that doesnt answer ur question coz i havent been there but i think its better to have the drugs on hand incase the need arises...

good luck with ur decision...

Ffrenchstar
26-02-2006, 02:34 PM
Just to let you know....you absolutely CAN have gas and you CAN have peth there if you need to. They try to encourage you not to (and having 2 totally different birth experiences, I would definately choose the no drug option again - much smoother delivery, quicker recovery) but of course you can have them if you want them. If you want an epidural they transfer you to the normal labour ward (which is right next door!)

Ffrenchstar
26-02-2006, 02:37 PM
Adele, congratualtion on getting into the birth centre by the way, you are very lucky:) Reminds me, I must give them a call this week:o

*Country Bumpkin*
26-02-2006, 04:17 PM

Thanks for all your comments/support!!!! I know that you can be transered if you need an Epi however i know that it can take hours......

Frenchstar- Thanks for that- I thought you could have peth in the BC but after reading alot of the other posts on here I was starting to wonder:confused: So you ave confirmend it for me

I am lucky to be in so i guess ill just keep my place- after all they wont let me go to the BC if something dosnt go as planned so well just wait and see

IamHero
28-02-2006, 10:19 AM
I have to say I agree with your OBS. I attended a BC in King Edward in Perth. ( See post, BC not all fun & games ) it was the most horrific experience of my life. :thumbsdown: It was my third child So I know what to expect birth wise & wanted a relaxed atmosphere. What I got was a horrible midwife who offered no support & remember because the is usually only 1 midwife there at a time if you don't get along you can't ask for someone else. You can't not have an epidural & if you real push for one you will be taking to the hospital although they WILL try to talk you out of it. I also ended up with a 4th degree tear because they don't do episiotomies This meant I had to go to Theatre to have surgery, which meant I missed the first few hours with my daughter, which as any mum know are very special. Lucky for both of us we received the best possible care at the KEMH which was some consolation.
I am now pregnant with my fourth child :thumbsup: & even if I was offered a Million dollars I would never attend a BC again or recommend one.
I think you should think long & hard about it & not just go because you feel lucky to have got in. Got because you really believe that this is the best birthing place for you & your baby. It may seem a very relax place but when you are in the middle of labour it may be very stressful. I now believe there is something very secure & comforting about being in a hospital.
Goodluck what ever you decide. :)

mrsrobo
28-02-2006, 10:21 AM
My sister had her first there and my sister in law had her 2 there and they had no promblems plus my aunty works there as well

Rosa
28-02-2006, 11:26 AM
I had my dd there back in May 05 and I recommend it to everyone now. Having your own midwife makes such an incredible difference and like ffrenchstar,preffered that birthing experience much more than my first where I did have and epi and pethadine etc. I think you are just so much more aware of what is happening. I say go in and see them for your first appointment see how you feel about it after then. Good Luck

*Country Bumpkin*
28-02-2006, 11:56 AM

Well i went back and looked over the friends of the birth centre site agin and emailed them with a couple of ?'s and i now fel totally confident and comfertable going to the b/c i suppose all the good stories outweigh the bad.

after all bad things can happen anywhere so im sure seeing as so many women want to go to the b/c i will be fine!!

keep the stories rolling in though

Tea Lady
28-02-2006, 02:26 PM
i now fel totally confident and comfertable going to the b/c

That's great to hear!! Would you mind posting a link to the friends of the BC site? Thanks

alicesmum
28-02-2006, 02:52 PM
hi adele
congrats on getting in to the BC.

i am having a baby there in June. My MWs are Jo and Marg and having met both, i feel very confident that they will be great!

it was a real conundrum for me making the decision to go there, as it is my best friend whose baby died there in September 2004. We were both pregnant at the same time (alice was only 4 weeks old when my friend's baby was born there, and died). Early in our pregnancies, she got in and I didn't. I spent months wishing I had got in! We will never know if there would have been a different outcome through the normal part of the public hospital, but it is quite likely the same thing woudl have happened. But who knows? They are very strong on natural birth in the B/C and probably do delay more than others re intervening. Janet - I am not sure that it true about the surgeon not coming quickly. i think there were unnecessary delays in calling a doctor. however, once he arrived there was a lot of unnecessary mucking around too. "a comedy of errors" my friend's DH called it. the main problem with the birth however was that my friend had pre-eclampsia and HELLP syndrome, neither of which had been diagnosed at all (though easily should and could have been), so when she went into labour the poor baby was already compromised. Hence, it pays to be very aware of such things. Educate yourself about the signs of pre-eclapmsia and HELLP (and about birth), and you will be in a much better position than my dear friend was.

Anyway, i did decide to go there this time because my first birth was very textbook and with no drugs (just long!), and I am glad because the service is also much more personalised than in the main part of the hospital (and the appt wiating times much less!!!). However, having gone through all this with my friend, I have explicitly told my mum and husband that if, at any point, my labour seems not to be progressing (they were there last time, so they know how I labour) and if I, like my friend, is shouting out for a c/s, then they are to insist on immediate action. None of this delaying and trying 50 different positions while my baby is being compromised.

Having said all that, the fact is that you have a much higher chance of everything going right than something going wrong. Most of the time, babies get born yeh? Most of the time, things all work out fine. SO for me personally, I avoid the hype and neuroticism and trust that my body can do it. I doubt I will need to demand any intervention, because I trust that it will all go fine. This attitude helped me a lot last time too i think.

I hope you have a great experience there. PM me if you want to chat more. :p

rachel

buttrfly
28-02-2006, 10:58 PM
the fbc website is www.fbc.org.au

I've had my last two bubbas @ the birth centre with the same midwife (who is just fantastic!!) and i can't recommend it highly enough :D I had my first daughter mainstream at the RBWH and altho it was a relatively easy birth it in no way compares to the two I've had since (even moreso the last one, it was just amazing!!)

It wouldn't hurt to start writing down any questions you want to ask your midwife when you have your first appointment with her so that you don't forget them :)

All the best for your pregnancy!!

Deb
01-03-2006, 05:12 PM
Dear All,

Quote by JanetF:

"There was an incident where a baby died not that long ago but you know what that was? The MWs saw that a surgeon was needed and put the call out but the surgeon didn't come. Somehow this has been blamed on the MWs."

That was my baby - she died because my midwife failed to diganose pre-eclampisa, failed to alert anyone else to my condition (including me), failed to get me out as soon I knew something was wrong and pleaded for help...it had nothing to do with the doctors.

Yes, birth centres are a good idea - as long as there is adequate risk assessment and case management. I think it's important to remember that birth centres are not just about empowering women to have babies, but also empowering women as midwives. That means that, just like doctors, they may be acting in accordance with what's best for their profession and not necessarily what's best for the mother. I felt totally disempowered throughout my labouring experience, even though I also have close friends who have had wonderful birth centre experiences. It doesn't matter whether you go with a midwife or a doctor, you have to trust your instincts, ensure that you are happy with the individual professional who is caring for you, and never imagine that there is no risk.

I wish everyone a wonderful birth centre experience.

SAVINA
01-03-2006, 09:02 PM
i have 3 kids and u think i woulod be well adjusted and relaxed about the whole birth but iv been lucky ive had pretty good labours experience and i managed to get through a 13 hr labour withonly pethidine but every pgy is different with each baby u have !
and i would really consider your options open ! dont go there if u think your lucky its really popular and hard to get in! go there because your ha[ppy with thet but if this is your 1st birth and u havent done it before then i would becareful as its all good to think natural when your not in labour but!!!!!
when you are in labour its a different story! you maybe able to handle the pain really good! but you may not handle it as well ! as you may think !
im not trying to scare you but id go where i know i have plenty of options if need be!

good luck with your birth! and baby!

draught
01-03-2006, 09:50 PM
That was my baby - she died because my midwife failed to diganose pre-eclampisa, failed to alert anyone else to my condition (including me), failed to get me out as soon I knew something was wrong and pleaded for help...it had nothing to do with the doctors.

Yes, birth centres are a good idea - as long as there is adequate risk assessment and case management. I think it's important to remember that birth centres are not just about empowering women to have babies, but also empowering women as midwives. That means that, just like doctors, they may be acting in accordance with what's best for their profession and not necessarily what's best for the mother. I felt totally disempowered throughout my labouring experience, even though I also have close friends who have had wonderful birth centre experiences. It doesn't matter whether you go with a midwife or a doctor, you have to trust your instincts, ensure that you are happy with the individual professional who is caring for you, and never imagine that there is no risk.

I wish everyone a wonderful birth centre experience.

Deb
I am sorry for your loss. Thank you for taking the time to share your story with us, and to make sure that accurate information is provided to assist people in making their decisions.

Tea Lady
02-03-2006, 10:02 AM
Yes, thanks so much Deb for sharing your story.

birth centres are not just about empowering women to have babies, but also empowering women as midwives

I hadn't thought of it that way before, but that's a very good point.

Thanks too for posting the link buttrfly.

jarrahsmumma
02-03-2006, 10:10 AM
Deb - so sorry for your loss. What a tragedy..

As for the experiences mentioned here, everyonr has different births, and people have horror stories about BC's and hospitals. Make up your own mind, research OBJECTIVLEY. Get facts, not stories. And as for the Ob who told you all that stuff, how bloody unprofessional of him :shame: :shame:

*Country Bumpkin*
02-03-2006, 10:39 AM
Ohhh Deb,

I think I speak for all of us when i say how sorry I am... what a horrible loss for you and your family!! I have cried on 4 sepearate occasions after hearing your story.... that was how distressing i found it.

I have my first appointment on the 29th of this month with my midiwife- Marion...I have heard that she is great but do any of you know what shes like??

Also Deb could you please OM me with your midwifes name...only if possible just incase i come across her in my travels.... it would make me feel alot more coumfertable knowing who she is and not having to wonder- not to cause problems just so i know

Ok hope your all well

Ffrenchstar
02-03-2006, 11:34 AM
Deb, so sorry to hear of your loss. I admire you for coming on here and giving an objective opinion. You could quite easily bad out all birth centres with what you have been through. Thanks again.

Adele, Marion was one of my midwives, she is beautiful!:) I hope you have a great experience:)

alicesmum
02-03-2006, 12:31 PM
adele
deb's MW no longer works at the BC, so you def won't come across her.

BecH
03-03-2006, 06:51 AM
The birth centre was so supportive throughout my pregnancy as well as during a long birth. You can have pain relief, gas, pethidine, and epidural (although not in the birth centre rooms, but your midwife will stay with you) even though they support a more natural birth. I couldn't have asked for more professional people.

A lot of women are struggling to get into the birth centre so if you are having doubts it would be good to give up your spot asap. But the statistics are excellent. They have very low rate of bad tears and epsiotomy. The lowest rate of deaths in Brisbane hospitals, as well as low interventions such as c-section. The bath is fantastic and post baby when I have had issues they are always willing to help me out.

I would also speak to the midwives about your concerns, and view the birth centre if you haven't already, it is such a homely place for birthing.

My husband loved the experience so much (he is studying medicine) he wants to become an Obstetrician that alligns himself with the Birth Centre and supports there practices.

Please PM me if you want to know about my personal experiences.

*Country Bumpkin*
06-03-2006, 12:44 PM

Well Ive come acrossanother lady who lost twin boys in the Royal Womens Birthing Centre......

It was another cause on precapsia that wasnt diagnosed!!! They didnt find out till she was already in labour that her twin bubs had died!!!! She was told not to worry about preeclampsia as she was at the very end of her pregnancy!!! They found out something was worng before she went itno labour but the midwife did nothing and her babys died- they were both still born

Im going to meet with my midwife on the 23rd of this month and i will be discussing what i have been hearing and making my decision from there- for some reason I really dont feel all that coumfertable having a baby at all right now...

I have 2 options mainsteam maternity ward or b/c both have terrible stories excpet i keep hearing all the ones about the b/c!!! Not sure what to do and Im going crazy with worry:crying:

Tea Lady
06-03-2006, 12:53 PM
Oh, try not to worry too much Adele, most ladies have their babies just fine, whether in the hospital or the BC. I think you're doing the right thing to be as informed as possible and then make the choice you feel best about. :hugs:

06-03-2006, 01:15 PM
I have 2 options mainsteam maternity ward or b/c both have terrible stories excpet i keep hearing all the ones about the b/c!!! Not sure what to do and Im going crazy with worry:crying:

I reckon for every 5 horror Birthing Centre stories their is their is probably 50 horror mainstream hospital horror birth stories!;)

*Country Bumpkin*
06-03-2006, 01:37 PM
Hi Gals..... thanks for the support!! Im really not sure. DP keeps promising me that everything will be ok...but its just hard to get my head around at the moment- jut as my confidence goes up i get another story and it drops right back down again!!! Ill be ok though:thumbsup:

Ffrenchstar
06-03-2006, 01:54 PM
I reckon for every 5 horror Birthing Centre stories their is their is probably 50 horror mainstream hospital horror birth stories!

I totally agree with that Amanda:) My hubby works at the Mater and he has seen alot of babies die or have complications.

The birth centre has been in the press lately (thanks to Pecararo who has his own agenda.....:rolleyes: ) and thats why these stories seem pronounced. As Deb said, you REALLY just have to trust your own instincts no matter where you are...put faith in yourself becase your body will tell you if something is wrong. No one can promise you the perfect birth but I appreciate the whole birthing process and the way the body is supposed to work after havinga natural birth as compared to one with routine intervention (breaking if waters, etc etc...)

When I gave birth at the birth centre, they checked bubs heart beat seriously every 2 minutes towards the end when I was in the water, this was fantastic and they definately would have picked up anything wrong straight away:)

I can tell you, you are in good hands with Marion, she is fantastic and has worked there for a long time:thumbsup:

You will be fine! Just dont be afraid to speak up if you feel something isnt right, you know your body and your baby better than anyone....good luck!

SAVINA
07-03-2006, 03:47 PM
u do what feels right if your havin 2nd thoughts id pay attention and go with what u really think if yiour not sure then go to mainstream hospital .
really its not that bad u will have your baby either way and as long as ufeel comfortable were your at it will go alot more smoothly for u as u wont be as tense!

i was talking to a lady at playgroup today and she had her baby at the bc and had a really great experience but that was her 3rd and now shjes havin a 4th but she wants to have a home birth ! so her births go well no complications!

good luck with your choice

BJelly
07-03-2006, 05:05 PM

From reading your posts I'd say you must choose whatever birthing option feels right for you. Just because the BC is popular, doesn't mean it is the one that is right for you - especially with your first birth and everything. Sorry if this sounds harsh, but if you are having second thoughts about the BC, give up your spot for someone who really wants it.

Fear and anxiety can make birth more difficult - these emotions interfere with the hormones our bodies release during the birthing process. So you really want to feel as positive as you can about the way you will give birth - the more confident you feel in your care providers, the more relaxed you will be about the birth.

Read up as much as you can about the birthing process, get educated - this will help boost your confidence too. I can highly recommend having two support people - especially if one of them is woman who has given birth herself and is supportive of the type of birth you want.

I personally would have loved to have given birth at the BC, but it's not for everyone. Don't do it just because everyone says you should want it - if it feels wrong it is wrong.

*Country Bumpkin*
07-03-2006, 07:07 PM
BJelly- Ok so let me start by saying at this stage I AM NOT GIVING UP MY PLACE!!!!!I have posted several times stating this......

I am perfectly aware that there are other people wanting to get into the b/c and i am aware that i am lucky enough to have a place however at this stage I havnt even met my midwife to aid me in making my desision...

I am currently speaking with the women who have lost their babys at the RBWH b/c and i will be bringing this up with my midwife and hospital staff.

I have read so many books etc... and I am very educated on my options..

In the end I will make the decision that I beleive is best for my baby and myself.

Im not sure about this- but i dont think you have read all of my posts explaining all the details etc.....

Thanks for taking the time to post

BJelly
08-03-2006, 11:13 AM
No worries Adele,

I'm glad you are happy with your decision to go to the BC. Sorry if I sounded patronising. I guess I'm guilty of reading too much into your fears and not paying enough attention to your positive feelings about the BC:o.

Wishing you a happy and healthy pregnancy and birth :) .

Ffrenchstar
08-03-2006, 05:55 PM
Hey Adele:)

I thought of you today. I was at the gym having coffee (as you do:p ) and a lady I know who is an obstetrician at the RWH joined us. All of us having coffee had had babies at the birth centre (all positive experiences:thumbsup: ) and she offered her opinion of the birth centre. Alot of Obs are negative about it but she was saying how good she thinks all the midwives there are and she actually said they know how to deliver babies better than most doctors!! (this is straight out of the mouth of an Obstetrician!!:eek: ) SHe said in all the time her hubby and her have worked there, she has only been called twice to the BC (and she saees things go wrong all the time in the normal labour ward) and both those were uncomplicated and turned out fine. She said its a pain when they get called there because hte bed is so low, but apart from that she was really positive about it.

Just thought I would let you know from her perspective.

*Country Bumpkin*
08-03-2006, 06:04 PM
Ffrenchstar- Yipppiiiiiii FINALY someone in the medical profession who actually SUPORTS the b/c!!! WOOOOHOOOOOO

Wow thanks that has made me feel a lot better and that would be hard to do today.........:rolleyes:

Ffrenchstar
08-03-2006, 08:13 PM
LOL....no worries:D

Hukuna Matata
08-03-2006, 08:44 PM
Well Ive come acrossanother lady who lost twin boys in the Royal Womens Birthing Centre......

Well this story can't be true because if you are having twins, you can't birth in the BC as you would not be considered as low risk. And there have been very few babies pass away in the BC - my head is thinking two in the 10years that the BC has been operating.

Some people get confused by what is the BC and what isn't. Some people who use the Birthing Suites at RBWH will tell you they had their baby at the birth centre. These people don't really understand what the BC is and what it entails.....

Marion was one of my midwives and she is fabulous. While she didn't deliver my DS, she did majority of my antenatal visits and she took a few of the antenatal classes we attended. That woman knows her stuff and I would have been very comfortable for her to attend me in labour. I also have friends who birthed with Marion and they said she was fabulous. Things got a bit sticky there for a while for them, but they said that Marion was very professional and knowledgable and handled everything beautifully.

I don't have Marion this time around because she will be overseas when I am due:crying: . We were both quite disappointed about this. DH and I would have loved to share another preg and birth with Marion. My current midwives are super though:thumbsup:

I was up in the BC today for an appt and the alarms went off. My MW ran out of the room and my DH says that almost 1/2 dozen people rushed into one of the birthing rooms within 30secs. Obviously something wasn't going quite right at the time for one of the birthing mums. However, a minute or two later, everyone left (except birthing mum/family and their midwife of course) as everything was OK and being managed exceptionally. I was astonished to see how quick the response was.

I hope that your mind is put at ease soon. It is a wonderous way to give birth, with the support of a known midwife. You're going to hear horror stories about anywhere that you consider, and if anything, there will be less horror and more tales of triumph in regards to the BC so don't get too bogged down in it all. Get the stats (and they will give them to you if you ask - they are quite proud of what they acheive when compared to the normal birthing suites and the rest of QLD). I also think that the walls of the BC are an indication of how the BC is held in high regard by families - who else (including myself) would publicly display photos their birth.... It would have to be special.

Sorry about the long post....

** and Ffrenchstar - :fingerscrossed: you get a place in the BC - you do know that the entry process is a bit different now......

Ffrenchstar
08-03-2006, 08:50 PM
Thanks Mummalicious, I mean Hakuna Matata!:laughing: I am really :fingerscrossed: too! Otherwise homebirth here we come?? I know, they told me all about the process now and that I actually have to get my pregnancy confirmed by a GP now :rolleyes: and get a referral and stuff...and you dont find out until 16 weeks:eek:

*Country Bumpkin*
09-03-2006, 10:01 AM
Hukuna Matata- Hello!! Thanks for your post!! It has also made me feel alot better!!

Now what you said about the twins at the b/c i had wondered this myself.... i never though that twins were considered low risk!!!

I asked her about this and she said that all the normal rooms were full so they had to take her...... i dont think that seems right some how.... i had been wondering for a while i think she is a bit confused like you said.

I have only been hearing great things about marion also so that makes me feel alot better plus what you said about the alarms going off while you were there for some reason that is also coumferting:confused: dont know why lol.....

Congrats about getting into the b/c!!! Thats great.... you dont have much longer to go.... so i guess youll be able to tell us all about it again!!!! If you want to of course:rolleyes:

Now whats this about a wall of naked women pushing out watermellons..... god i hope the walls not like that lol i would run screaming in the other direction:eek: haha i make myself laugh sometimes

Ffrenchstar- This is how the new ballot system works- Insted of it being done by the b/c its done by the maternity outpaitents admin staff.

So go to ur DR NOW if you havnt already done so and say that you would like a referal sent into maternity outpatients for antenal care etc... just like usual HOWEVER make sure that you get your Dr to put down on the form that you WANT B/C Care!!!

My dr didnt do this and if it want for a very good friend of mine from young parents program i would have missed out!!!

Then when you go in for your first antenatal visit at maternity utpatients tell them AGAIN the you want b/c care. Youd better hurry though cause the ballot for your month will be coming up very soon. I was luck i got in 2 days before it was done!!!

Hope this helps....... GOOD LUCK:fingerscrossed:

SAVINA
11-03-2006, 02:43 PM
just wondering if u have to live in the area to get into the bc!

sometimes there is a cut off zone!

can someone let me know as im thinking about it when we habe our 4th!:)

*Country Bumpkin*
11-03-2006, 02:46 PM
I believe you do...... they normal except women in the north brisbane region before anyone else..... why i dont know but you could try!!!!! I suppose it all depends on where you are.

Did you read my thread on the application process?? If not i would reconmend you read that as the proces for nomination has just changed...the post is probably about 1-2 pages back and it was too Ffreanchstar!!

Good luck

Hukuna Matata
11-03-2006, 03:09 PM
Nope, there is no catchment area for the BC. Anyone can be considered for the BC. Women from Kingaroy to the Gold Coast have birthed at the birth centre.....

There is confusion everywhere about this. If someone tells you that they only accept women from the northside of Bris, they are wrong so ask again....

Ffrenchstar
11-03-2006, 03:09 PM
The RWH has a catchment but the birth centre doesnt (although apparantly some of the staff in admissions have been telling people there is:rolleyes: ) I was talking to a friend who is very involved with FBC and she said there is definately no catchment.:thumbsup:

Ffrenchstar
11-03-2006, 03:10 PM
LOL! Snap Kara:p

tammiet
13-06-2006, 09:37 PM

Well i recieved the good news on thursday that i have been allocated a place in the RBWH Birthing Centre!! :thumbsup:

However i visited my Dr yestersay and he told me a whole heap of horror stories!! He is also an OB and he worked at the RBWH and also in the birthing centre- so he would know. He said that about half of the midis are beautiful and do wounderful deliveries however the other half are butchers and dont know what they are doing:confused:

He told me alot of other horrible things about it such as if i do decide i need an epidural they will do everything they can to talk me out of it (i already knew that lol) but if i still want one- they wont let me have it!!! I told him i would yell and scream till i got one his reply "they will just shut the door and let you scream"

I guess what Im looking for is reasurance from anyone who has been to the birthing centre.... any stories or advice would be most appreciated. I just need to know what everyone else has been through- please be as detailed with your stories as you can GOOD or BAD I dont mind.

Thanks all

I Love the Birth Centre. I just had my second chils there on 30th May and its the second time i have been there i also had my first there and its the best place under the sun. My daughter is 16 months and my son is 2 weeks. Both are fine because the midwifes who work in the birth centre are qualified in what they do.

I cant give it enough praise. You will love it. Its such a great environment. The lady's are so lovely and nice.

I had no drugs with either of my children, but if you want gas all you have to do is ask and they will give it to you. My sister in law had her 3rd child there and she had gas and even a close friend who i met through a mothers group which originated from the birth centre had to go out to the normal labour section to have an epidural, but as soon as she had it they moved her back to the birth centre and the best part is that your designated midwife gets to go everywhere with you.

I wish all the best of luck honestly you will love it. I hope i get in again when i have my next child i will cry if i dont.

Tammie

tammiet
13-06-2006, 09:45 PM

I Love the Birth Centre. I just had my second chils there on 30th May and its the second time i have been there i also had my first there and its the best place under the sun. My daughter is 16 months and my son is 2 weeks. Both are fine because the midwifes who work in the birth centre are qualified in what they do.

I cant give it enough praise. You will love it. Its such a great environment. The lady's are so lovely and nice.

I had no drugs with either of my children, but if you want gas all you have to do is ask and they will give it to you. My sister in law had her 3rd child there and she had gas and even a close friend who i met through a mothers group which originated from the birth centre had to go out to the normal labour section to have an epidural, but as soon as she had it they moved her back to the birth centre and the best part is that your designated midwife gets to go everywhere with you.

I wish all the best of luck honestly you will love it. I hope i get in again when i have my next child i will cry if i dont.

Tammie
I forgot to add i had Marion and Jane for my daughter (#1) and Marg and Jo for my son (#2) and they were all so wonderful.
Tammie:smiliedance: :smiliedance:

CarolineF
16-06-2006, 07:00 PM
All hospitals and birthing centres have their problems and their fans or detractors.

For centuries doctors and midwives have been arguing over who is the best at delivering children. There used to even be a problem between midwives and men midwives in the 18th and 19th centuries.

There are a few things that I believe that everyone should remember:

1. Only low risk pregnancies are accepted at birthing centres.

2. Midwives are not doctors and if a problem does occur you have to hope that they have the experience and the knowledge to recognise that there is a problem that goes way beyond their remit. There are some excellent midwives out there. The other issue here is that there will inevitably be some midwives who want to hang on to a mother for as long as possible and try and deal with an issue themselves rather than transfer onto an OB controlled ward. If a mother or child dies on a midwife led unit major questions should be asked. Because they do deal with the lowest risk mothers, there really should be no or few deaths at all. I do know from personal experience that midwives have called in doctors very late and then blamed the doctor for the death when earlier intervention may have prevented it.

Unless the relationship between them improves (especially in Brisbane) some mothers and babies will suffer. OB's need to understand that midwives play a very valuable role and vice versa.

3. Mortality rates in hospital will obviously be greater than on a midwife led unit cos the hospital will deal with many more mothers, all levels of pregnancies including the very high risk, and those mothers carrying infants who have serious developmental problems etc. Comparing the stats between them is not comparing eggs with eggs.

Where you decide to give birth is a very personal issue. My own view is that I would not want to be on a midwife led unit where they would try and dissuade me from using pain relief at a time when I am at my most vulnerable. Once you are there, legs akimbo, it's hard to exert your personal authority and insist on what you want.

Secondly, should anything go wrong I would want reassurance that there is a doc nearby and the necessary nursery.

Personal experience has given me these views. I respect both professions and we can do without neither of them. They should complement each other, not fight each other.

*Moggy*
01-07-2006, 07:16 AM
I have had 2 of my 3 children at the Birth Centre. If I ever fall pregnant again I will have absolutely no hesitations to put my name down again. My husband and I both feel at 'home' there and for straight forward births I don't think there is any better place to be.
I simply cannot sing the praises of the FBC enough.

Cyndie
03-07-2006, 12:56 PM
I gave birth to my beautiful little girl Mia at the bc back in February 2005. I have always been concerned about the intervention used in normal hospital births and researched it alot before deciding to have my baby at the Birth Centre. :detective: Although I ended up having a 36hr labour and needing an epidural I was still able to push Mia out naturally without any other intervention thanks to my midwife Karen. I was then sent back to enjoy the comfort of my birth centre room and my husband and I where left to enjoy our bundle of joy. The birth centre gave me the chance to have my baby the way I wanted. Although most of my dealings where with Karen McCloskey I was also able to meet a lot of the other midwifes and I can say only good things about them. I hope to fall pregnant with my next baby in the next few months and other than my own home I can think of no better place to have my baby than the Royal Brisbane bc.. I really hope that I get in again. :fingerscrossed:

I think if you have any doubts go and see the bc for yourself. I would gladly support the birth centre under any circumstance and only hope that more centre like them become available so women can have the chance to have babies the way they want. :smiliedance:

FinnsMama
06-07-2006, 11:08 AM
I also had my first at the RBWH BC (March 2006) and had a FANTASTIC experience with Marg and Jo as my midwives - no drugs, no interventions, only a first-degree tear... of course part of my great experience was pure luck, but I also think being supported by experienced midwives who believed in my ability to give birth naturally helped heaps.

Wherever you wind up having your bub, the best thing you can do is educate yourself as much as possible, and let your caregiver/s know the kind of birth you are hoping for, what things are important to you, what you want to happen straight after the birth etc. :)