View Full Version : Camping with baby?

little bean
26-10-2007, 19:57
Has anyone taken a baby camping? DH and I are desperate for a holiday but funds are limited. We were thinking of camping (in NSW in January) but I'm worried about DD - she will be 5 months old. We could bring her portacot but I'm worried about her being too hot or cold during the night. We have it easy at home, I suppose, as we have an airconditioner in her room, so we don't have to worry about it.

Has anyone taken a baby camping? Any tips or advice?

Noah_and_Elijah
26-10-2007, 20:05
I took my 9 month old camping (tent) and while it was fun I would never do it again, I would much prefer a cabin or something as tents are a pain in the a$$ to get in and out of at the best of times and worse with a baby.

Like I said it was fun but a hassle.

nkenward
26-10-2007, 20:20
We took Connor camping when he was just over 1. We had a ball and he totally enjoyed himself.
But depending on where you are going camping you have to be prepared.

We took a port a cot and he was fine in that, you just take adequate blankets etc...

Make sure you have everything you need for a baby. And certain routines might be put aside - ie: bathing might not be easy to do - take a bucket and a washcloth instead. Incl. pram and a few toys etc..

DH & I in the past have roughed it - but realised that it wouldn't be that easy with a young child. We booked a tent site in a caravan park with access to power. We took a kettle and toaster so we could heat a bottle quickly and make toast easier than having to wait till water boiled over a fire. We also had a camp stove to cook on. When our kids are older and have a bit more patience then we might rough it a bit more.

Oh the other thing is make sure your tent is big enough to store all these things in. We have a big 12 person tent. Definitely makes it easier to live in. But as the other post mentioned - try renting a cabin, depending on where you go these can be quite reasonable.

draught
26-10-2007, 20:24
We went camping when DS was about four months old and it was fine. We cheated and had a campsite with an ensuite - but that was more about his big sisters than him. I used the pram bassinette for him as there wasn't room for the portacot by the time we put our queensize mattress and two singles in the tent!

My main tip would be to make sure that you have a shade structure as well as a tent - something that will keep the sun and bugs off but not get as hot. If you can get one with a floor in it too you will have a clean area for baby to be on the floor etc.

As for the too hot or cold - cold is easy as you can take blankets. Hot - cotton sheets, light clothing, keep her hydrated, and don't go too far from home so that if all gets too much you can pack up and go home with no dramas.

Edited to add - just saw you are in Brisbane. The place we went to was in NOrthern NSW and was great - had lots of facilities for families - I was given the tip about it here - I am wracking my brain for the name to give you a link but if you google Big 4, Hastings Point - possibly North Star - you will find it.

little bean
26-10-2007, 20:29
Thanks:thumbsup: The bubhubbers have great advice, as usual!

Maybe I'll give it a go. I could just imagine that DH would get drunk and fall asleep and I'd be awake all night worrying if DD is too hot or cold - probably about right!!! Maybe we should give it a go and if it's too hard, we could get a cabin or motel. I guess it's not too much worse than any other place without airconditioning. I have just become very comfortable with setting it at 24 degrees and dressing her the same every night. I guess they're not that fragile!!

~Bec~
26-10-2007, 20:32
I asked the same thing here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=129326) and got some good feedback from punkbaby. (Is there anything that woman doesn't know???)

little bean
26-10-2007, 20:33
Thanks for the info about northern NSW, draught. I'll check it out. :thumbsup:

draught
26-10-2007, 20:35
And here is the link to the one I was talking about http://www.northstar.com.au/home.htm
You can take a power cord and a fridge etc if you want to! We used the camp kitchen and it was great - everyone else had their own fridge so we were the only ones with things in the fridge!

Pippi Longstocking
26-10-2007, 20:40
We go camping often. We even went when the youngest was only 2 or three weeks old :D We have just returned from nearly a month's travelling around the eastern states, I am a wee bit of a nomad at heart!

We are very much the minimalist campers. My tip is to only take what you absolutely need - the rest just gets in the way and is a hassle. Our baby cosleeps so we just need the mattress for us - we have a Q size air mattress with separate air chambers on each side to avoid displacing each other.
However, I am not a fan of camping at the height of summer. It can be sticky and uncomfortable. I'd be tempted to get a powered site and take along a pedestal fan (so much for minimalist camping! :o )

little bean
26-10-2007, 20:44
Thanks so much for that.

I think I have read too many baby books - I've made myself completely paranoid about SIDS (with the risk of overheating). Although the most recent thing I've read is that there's a strong link to smoking so maybe I'm worrying for nothing. I guess taking her camping is not much worse than sleeping in any room without air conditioning. I might just have to keep a closer eye on the temperature.

I'll give it a go. :D It will be like old times!!

draught
26-10-2007, 20:45
I like the suggestion of the fan - it would make everyone more comfortable overnight and you might actually get to rest a bit!!

sockstealingpoltergeist
26-10-2007, 22:26
I go camping with my son and family as much as possible- a great cheap way to see the country.

We pack a gas burner stove, Big Pot, Thermos and Kettle. I just put all bottles and teats into pot and boil for 5 minutes. Take them out with a pair of tongs and fill half full with boiled water. I then fill the rest of the bottle with boiled water from thermos when it is feed time and add formula as needed. That way you can have warm bottles even when out hiking and don't have to worry about keeping them cold or heating.

I take an old plastic esky for baths, and of course the porta cot. If your bub isn't used to sleeping in porta cot I would recomend putting him in the porta cot for daytime sleeps three days running, in the lead up to the trip, that way the transition should be easy.

Hope this helps

Oh one of those rugs with the plastic underside is also really handy to use on damp camp grounds. enjoy your trip.:yes:

Noah_and_Elijah
27-10-2007, 05:42
I second what draught said about going to Hastings Point we have stayed there many times (in the cabins) and it is SO much fun! Great place for families! :yes:

Susan Mac
27-10-2007, 11:56
We went camping etc. heaps when I was younger, with my multitude of younger siblings.

Mum always had a bucket that doubled as washing up bucket and baby bathing bucket.

Can't remember what the baby ever slept in, because I always had my own tent, and mum adn dad and the small ones slept in the camperban.

MamaSage
27-10-2007, 12:13
We go camping lots, int he north of WA. We take a few big plastic tubs, they are handy for all sorts of things. (dirty nappies washing in them, food storage, cooking implement storage etc) We take a big tent, but normally don't use it. We all sleep on the swags under a mosquito net that we hang off the back of our 4WD. We have an Engel fridge and a full complement of camp cooking stuff. We take a huge tank of wateras well as extra fuel. Tarps are handy, and plastic backed picnic rugs are too (to echo a pp)

We have never had any problems with camping. Co sleeping makes it easy, as the kids are easy to get to sleep. They normally travel well too. We normally go through the gorges in Karijini Nat PArk, so we have a Patapum for the three year old and I wrap the one year old. Minimal clothing, I use flat nappies while away (quick dry) and take easy to prepare food. You can make it as easy of as hard as you like. :thumbsup: