View Full Version : Is it leagal to put abooster in the front seat?

MissBrightside
24-02-2006, 23:46
My ex always puts my 3yo in the front seat of his car with the booster seat. I was just wondering if this was leagal. I dont think it is but when i say i dont like it i get told to shut up hes fine!

Mamaduke
24-02-2006, 23:51
I'm pretty sure that legally, a child cannot be in the front seat until they can see over the side window without any booster seat etc. Also, alot of cars these days have the passenger side airbag which could potentially kill a child if they were in an accident and sitting in the front seat.
You might be better off to check your state's roads authority (website or phone) as they would have a better idea of what is legally required...or even your local police station... give them a call now ... there's always someone home there!

MissBrightside
24-02-2006, 23:53
Thanks mamduke I didnt think it was my ex has no idea he thinks its cool he sits in the front with him. Our boy is only 3. I will be ringing about this. Should i report him if i see him doing this?

goldcoastgirl18
24-02-2006, 23:59
yes it is { father is a police officer} and said children are not to be in the front untill there the right hight{ with out havin to sit on sumthing----

just letting you no that a lady from the kindy that i use to work at had her son in the front in his chair and crashed the car.. the airbags came out in the childs face and broke his nose...

louise:)
:yelclap: lucas 25-11-2005

MissBrightside
25-02-2006, 00:03
Thanks for the advise. I will not let him put him at risk and if I see him do it once more I will report him. He is also driving with no licence at the moment, so what do i do if he comes to pick up my boys to drive somewhere with him? or can i just play innocent? or is that really bad? i dont know what to do. He will get sooooo nasty if he knew i dobbed him in.

Mamaduke
25-02-2006, 00:04
I know how he feels...I used to drive with Jesse in the front of my hubbie's Echo (no passenger airbag) and Jesse loved it! Then I was told how dangerous it could be:shame: . I wouldn't report him though...could just start something you don't need. I'd just have a word to him that the safest place for your little boy is in the middle in the back seat...he can still see out the front and chat to dad!
He's not the only one...I see heaps of people with their children in boosters in the front seat...as well as alot of children under 12 who are in the new cars with passenger airbags...Jesse begs me to let him sit in the front of my car but I'm too scared with that airbag there!!!!

MissBrightside
25-02-2006, 00:09
Thanks again mumaduke your probably right i shouldnt say anything. Im just really mad at him at the moment because he came to see my boys today and flat out abused me in front of them calling me a c... because he said i didnt talk nicely to him on the phone. I dont know what he is talking about! I dont remember being rude.

Ana Gram
25-02-2006, 00:15
Actually I have looked at a few of the states road laws and while they all agree that it is unsafe it isn't illegal.

They all recommend that the back seat is the safest spot and say to consult the cars manual to check where the air bags are

MrsMiggins
25-02-2006, 00:28
I have a friend who was once in a very similar situation. Her & her ex were on very bad terms & he was caught driving their son to daycare not only unlicenced, but with NO CAR SEAT AT ALL!! Their son was only 2yo at the time!! (He had lost his licence for speeding & drink driving)

She reported him & while it took a long time for any action to come of it (she had to also involve the family daycare mum who reported him also as she had witnessed this & was concerned herself) he eventually got fined & lost his licence for a longer period.

I think it is important to do something, it is the safety of your child at stake.

Good Luck!! {hugs!}

pegasus
25-02-2006, 00:29
We recently bought a booster seat (DS is still too small to use it, but it was a good buy and we'll need it when number 2 comes along - he needs to put on 2.5kg in 5months). I read all the directions about fitting it and it told how to fit to Australian standards....

So although illegal to put car seats in the front (you can't do this due to the anchor bolts anyway), I don't think it's illegal to put a booster in the front.

tickle
25-02-2006, 07:56
We recently bought a booster seat (DS is still too small to use it, but it was a good buy and we'll need it when number 2 comes along - he needs to put on 2.5kg in 5months). I read all the directions about fitting it and it told how to fit to Australian standards....

We were hoping to get our older one into a booster before the new baby too but somehow I think I'm dreaming about him putting on 4kg in 10weeks.:rolleyes: So I guess it's another carseat for us.
Sorry that was completely off topic.:o

MammaMia
25-02-2006, 07:58
Urban myth that it is illegal.

Not necessarily safe though.

onabreak
25-02-2006, 12:27
I am not sure if it is illegal either.

But what about some people who only drive utes and have no other option but to put there child in the front seat in a booster. So I can't see how it can be illegal because how else are they going to drive their child any where, they can't be forced to buy another car just for the back seats????:rolleyes:

Odessa
25-02-2006, 13:44
Hi nicandbensmum,

I notice you mentioned your ex is driving around without a license? No one else has pointed this out yet, but that is HIGHLY illegal and carries massive penalties, not to mention that if he has an accident, he will not be covered by insurance. I'd be very concerned if I were you. Has he not renewed his license or has he been disqualified? The man who killed all those kids outside Mildura last week was unlicensed (disqualified) and he had his children in the car with him! :thumbsdown: :shame:

MissBrightside
25-02-2006, 16:01
Darkstar he has been diqualified for speeding. Lost his licence for 6 mths with 3mths to go. I know it is illegal for him to be driving, but i dont know how to say he cant take the kids in the car without him shouting at me and threatening me. I dont want to call the police or anything because i dont want to make our breakup nasty. I just want to get on with my life with my boys, and he can see them every 2nd.

Odessa
25-02-2006, 16:26
I'm sorry but I'm going to have to be a little judgmental here. How can you let him take your kids in the car with him, after he's been disqualified from driving for speeding?! It'd have to have been a pretty serious speeding offense for him to get that kind of sentence. This is your children's safety we're talking about! What if he was speeding with your kids in the car and had an accident? You wouldn't be able to forgive yourself! Please do not stay silent to keep the peace on this subject, you can't afford to gamble with your children's lives.

our little treasures
02-03-2006, 12:31
WE own a van with no back seats and when dh needs to go somewhere he puts the kids in abooster seat, I think it is illegal for cars with back seats though!:confused:

Lunar
02-03-2006, 13:00
I'm sorry but I'm going to have to be a little judgmental here. How can you let him take your kids in the car with him, after he's been disqualified from driving for speeding?! It'd have to have been a pretty serious speeding offense for him to get that kind of sentence. This is your children's safety we're talking about! What if he was speeding with your kids in the car and had an accident? You wouldn't be able to forgive yourself! Please do not stay silent to keep the peace on this subject, you can't afford to gamble with your children's lives.

I agree here. Wouldn't it be far better to have a little more conflict there than not have your children there??? Please do something about it. He has had his license taken away for a very goo reason, he is a danger on the road to himself and to others especially. A car is ultimately a weapon too, and it just might be your children being hurt from his stupidity! Don't sit back and do nothing. You will regret it if something happens, I only pray that nothing does.

Kells
02-03-2006, 13:20
On the booster seat thing... I got told it was ok to sit in the front as long as there is no airbag....

To the ladies talking about trying to get toddler to booster seat by the time bubs comes..Hire a capsule from the Red Cross for 6 mths for the bubs. They are so much easier to carry the baby in whilst dealing with a toddler (they fit very nicely across the trolleys with toddler in the seat) and I found it good for the fact you never had to wake the baby getting them out of the car. They can stay in the capsule (for a limited time of course :D )

Good luck with your ex. I agree with the others about him driving, but can see your point as well if its hostile already and he's abusive. Go with what you feel in your heart though. Are you able to drop them off to him at all??

hillbaby5
02-03-2006, 13:53
It is illegal to put children in the front seat of a car whith airbags It is dangerous and Can kill them there are actually height restrictions for children and adults.
Also in most car accident the passenger in the front seat is worst injured
so not a good idea
they wouls prob have info on the racv website