View Full Version : Reaching out to Kalgoorlie mums!

abbysmummy1
26-10-2007, 14:02

I am a first time mum to my four month old baby girl. I'm 33, married and living in Kalgoorlie. I've only been in Kalgoorlie for 18 months and don't really know any mums. I would love to meet some new people if anyone is interested.

Cheers:wave: :wave: :wave:

abbysmummy1
04-11-2007, 01:54
Judging by the huge response to my thread (a total of 0 responses), I'm assuming there is no-one in Kalgoorlie. I have been in for 18 months and never felt so isolated in my whole life. I can't wait to move back to civilisation in QLD and get out of this stupid backward hick town!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

rileysmum_wa
13-11-2007, 22:00
I'm not in Kalgoorlie at the moment but i used to live in kambalda which is not far away, and i know what you mean about feeling isolated. I used to hate it but i think that it is a lot better than where we are now, so much so that we are hoping to move back to kal in the next couple of months :) So, if you are still there when we get back there i would love to catch up.

Shell

Lisa and Holly
15-11-2007, 23:53
hey how r u! im lisa my daughter, holly was 2 in august and i too have only bee in kal since december last year.

Twoterrorsmum
16-11-2007, 10:28
Hi there I live in Kal too:wave:

Abbysmummy-Kal isn't that bad! I don't think it's a backward hick town at all, you must have met some odd people to have put you off :laughing:
I know how hard it would be if you don't know alot of people but sometimes you just have to make the most of this place. Do you go to playgroup? I go to a session at Kal Central Playgroup, you should give them a call as I know there are a few groups you could join. I go on a Monday morning but our session is at full capacity atm.

Have a great weekend girls:)

abbysmummy1
22-11-2007, 18:30
I'm not in Kalgoorlie at the moment but i used to live in kambalda which is not far away, and i know what you mean about feeling isolated. I used to hate it but i think that it is a lot better than where we are now, so much so that we are hoping to move back to kal in the next couple of months :) So, if you are still there when we get back there i would love to catch up.

Shell

Thanks Shell, it would be great to meet you if/when you return to Kal.:thumbsup:

abbysmummy1
22-11-2007, 18:32

Thanks for your replies. I'm sorry I sounded so negative about Kal, was having a very bad day that day and just venting I guess.

I have enquired about playgroups but they seem to be all full and breaking up from chrissy hols in a couple of weeks.

If anyone is keen to meet for a coffee and chat somewhere like Hammonds Park, please let me know. :thumbsup:

Lisa&Davey
24-11-2007, 14:45
No problem Abbysmummy. We all have days like that.

I'm a bit flat out at the moment but as soon as things quieten down a little I'd love to catch up.

I'm going to be away from Kal over the next couple of weeks but I'll PM you as soon as I get back.;)

smurf87
17-08-2009, 10:22
Hi my name is sharleen and im 22 i have a daughter who is 3 next month. I know how u feel i have lived in kal for 6 yrs now i dont really have any friends cause i isolate my self at home and im very shy. I have thought about taking my little one to playgroup but i dont know anyone so i stay home oor just go to the park. It would be great to meet anothe mum so if ya wanna meet just let me know. ok thanks

chloeadele
27-08-2009, 13:29
Hi Sharleen, I'm 21, and expecting my first in January. I'd love to meet you as I've just arrived in Kal a week ago and know no-one! Maybe we could meet for coffee at Gloria Jeans?? Let me know if your interested. I'm not used to meeting people out of the blue, but I would love to make some friends here!

Cassie84
09-09-2009, 15:31
Hi to all i have 2 girls im sick of staying at home watching tv looking for some new friends to have coffee or lend a ear or just take the kids to the park ETC.....

Just bored of this town ...

:):flowerz:

chloeadele
08-10-2009, 13:19
Sorry bout doubling up on the msgs, just figured at least everyone would know about it!

Hello hello!
OK, I want to organise something officially, so, here is an open invitation to all mums and mums to be and their kids in Kal to come down and have coffee/lunch at Dome every Thursday at 11.00am.
Tell anyone you think that might be interested.
How to spot eachother.... I'm the pregnant one with no kids, and there should be a mum there with a double pram.
Hope to see u there, if there are any probs pm or email me chloeluff@westnet.com.au

lousmum
08-11-2009, 17:35
hi everyone,

i'm moving to kal in jan. i have a 7 month old and my partner in going to be fifo 2 weeks on and 1 week off. so i need to meet some friends otherwise i am going to go insane. so if anyone is keen to catch up when i move over that would be cool. my name is steph and i'm 26 and my daughters name is savannah she will nearly be 10 months when i get to kal. well hope to hear from someone soon:wave:

Jami80
13-11-2009, 15:58
I used to live in Kalgoorlie for a year but moved back to perth in 2006. I also felt totally isolated. I only made about 2 friends but they had their own families so most times it was just my kids and I while my hubby worked.
I ended up working for my hubby's uncle who used to own 'The Lunch Bowl' which helped.
My FIL and BIL live in Kambalda so we do go there for holidays.
Like one of the other girls said...joining a playgroup or something would be a good way of meeting people.

chloeadele
13-11-2009, 16:11
Hi Lousmum I'm Chloe, I moved to Kal from inner city melbourne in August and its taken a while but I've settled in and I'm happy here. There's a group of us who go for coffee and/or go to the gym together each week with children of various ages. Kal can feel isolating but the more people you get to know the easier it is, and you'll eventually start to enjoy it. We've all sacrificed a part of our lives to come here for our partners and i think that brings all us girls together. I will be back in melbourne to have my first baby over xmas and will be back at the start of Feb, so once you settle in you'll have to come out for coffee and meet us so we can give you the run down on the town! If you have any questions about the place or anything else, let me know! :)

kelndkids
03-05-2010, 10:55
hi i know these were all posted a while ago but im new to Kal been here 1 week really wanting to meet some people i have a 3 nd a half yr old son and a 2 yr old daughter :) if ne1 knows a good playgroup or wants to meet for a cuppa nd a play let me know xxx

Cassie84
05-07-2010, 15:27
hi i know these were all posted a while ago but im new to Kal been here 1 week really wanting to meet some people i have a 3 nd a half yr old son and a 2 yr old daughter :) if ne1 knows a good playgroup or wants to meet for a cuppa nd a play let me know xxx

Contact me if you like send me a message and we can arrange something

garfield84
10-07-2010, 17:29
hi ladies, thought I would bump the message up abit.

I'm (soon to be) 26 and I shall be 30 weeks on Monday, 12th July ... OMG (scary !!!!):eek:

I'm also from Kalgoorlie Boulder (born and bred).
Email ? Facebook ? Skype ?
Something to do lol

kelndkids
12-07-2010, 13:28
hey look me up on face book my name is Kellie Vincent email is vincentgirls2004@hotmail.com look forward to chatting with ya :)

laurainkal
20-07-2010, 16:37
Here another mum to be in Kal! 13 weeks to go :-) :wave:

garfield84
20-07-2010, 17:10
hi lauraunkal, welcome to the group and congratulations on the pregnancy :D

Hope its going well for you hun. Not long to go now :D

laurainkal
20-07-2010, 21:42
Thanks Garfield,
Feeling a bit tired but otherwise great.
You haven't got long to go either :D
Hope your feeling well.
Are you having your baby in Kal?
Do you know what your having? We are having a boy :D

garfield84
20-07-2010, 23:45
Hey Laura, (I'm also known as Kelly, but feel free to call me either one. lol)

Congrats on having a boy :D No we don't know what we're having. Had to keep the family and friends on their toes with guessing *hehe*
Partner said it and said it well - its like knowing what your getting for Christmas before Christmas is even here.
Which I thought it said it well. lol

Yup not long to go at all. Besides afew hiccups along the way, have been blessed with a pretty good pregnancy, I must say.
How are you feeling about the birth and all that ? Hope the pregnancy has been nice and smooth for you as well.
First bub ?
I'm not too bad, alittle scared at times... more or less its just holding this precious life in my hands and knowing I get to take bub home with us. Its not someone else's we can hand back *lol*

Intending on having a natural birth here in Kal. Fingers crossed all goes well of course.
What about you? Kal vs Perth

headoverfeet
20-07-2010, 23:51
Hi :wave: I'll be moving up to Leinster in September, not really Kal but nowhere near Perth lol

garfield84
21-07-2010, 00:02
Oh my goodness that will be a big change from Kal ...
What's making you go there, if you don't mind me asking ? I've never been there so wouldn't know... but its mainly work yeah ?

headoverfeet
21-07-2010, 00:23
It's a closed mining town, Hubby works at Agnew GM, Um were going for the money :laughing: no rent or utilities and hubby will be on the same 8 days on 6 days off roster plus he will be home at night (or during the day when on night shift).

garfield84
21-07-2010, 00:41
ahh yup sounds good. Don't blame you for the money ! Gotta go where the money flows right ?
Hope it all goes well for you :) Keeping out of trouble up there ey :P
Don't know much about rosted shifts. Never liked my Dad being on them, can't imagine with a partner.
Does the shift work make a difference or is it really like any nomal day shift just sometimes night time work?

headoverfeet
21-07-2010, 00:53
Yeah I'm weary of the small town talk :yes:

He will do 8 days of day shift then have 6 days off, then do 7 nights of night shift and have 7 nights off. I just say 8 days on 6 days off because its easier for people to understand and it is shorter to say :o

He will leave around 5am and be home by 6pm on day shift and on night shift he will leave a 5pm and be home by 6am (but he will obviously sleep during the day) This is what he does now only he goes back to the single persons quarters (when we move he will come home). So every second swing is night shift.

Hope that is not too confusing!

laurainkal
22-07-2010, 11:16
Kelly - Def. planning on having the baby in Kal.All my fam. is in Perth but been in Kal for 6 months now and calling it home :)
How exciting not knowing what the gender is,is just had to know so I could do my shopping and prob because i'm not very patient and thought waiting those 20 weeks was long enough LOL.Pregnancy has been going well morning 'all day' sickness in the first 4 months but other than that and tired and heartburn i'm feeling great :) For some strange reason i'm not scared at all (yet) giving birth :no:
Babymaker- Leinster never been there so can't say anything about it.My partner is doing shiftwork too and i'm loving it!He does 2 days 6 till 18.00 and than 2 nights 18.00 till 6 and than 4 days off.Do have to say that i;m not working so if he's off during the week we still spend time together,it would have been different if i had a fulltime job i think.
Well that's me for now,i'm in Perth visiting the fam till saturday so won't be online much :)

:goodvibes: Laura :goodvibes:

headoverfeet
22-07-2010, 11:28
Wow Laura that's a funky shift, is he an emergency service worker?

Just found out yesterday our move in date is the 30th August so things are happening earlier then expected!

Can someone tell me what kind of shops you have in Kal? Big W, Target, electrical stores? and if there are any bed places? Thanks :)

garfield84
22-07-2010, 12:59
Hi babymaker, sorry I haven't replied yet. Read it the other night and then went to bed and forgot the next day - I do apologise !
Yeah for the size of Kal word gets around proberly the same with any town really. But its still home :)
Yeah the shift hours do make sense. Sounds rather tiring with the night shift though. I honestly don't know how guys do it to be honest !
As for your question we do indeed have Kmart, Target, Rockmans, Rivers, Chain reaction, katies and I think some other clothing stores.
As for electrical stores we have Harvey Norman, **** Smith, I think Betta Electrical is on Federal Road... (Been here all my life and I'm shocking for directions !)
Afew other stores thrown into the works as well.
Sadly we don't have Big W ... would be nice though :D
Morning Laura :)
Welcome to Kalgoorlie. *lol* As weird as that kind of sounds. Big difference to Perth isn't it ?
Is your family planning on coming to Kal, or just you and hubby ?
Don't worry I'm not the most patient person either. Even my partner can agree on that one ! lol
It has been interesting trying to get nuetral coloured clothing for bub especially when I'm not one for the colour of green *lol*
I must agree the all day sickness is the worst isn't it. Have you suffered any braxton hicks yet ?
I'm cautious when it comes to the labour - more or less to make sure I stay calm and don't have a seizure. But otherwise its more about bringing home a newborn bub and being repsonsibile for him or her for the rest of ours and their lives. As big of a responsibility it is, I still can't wait.

Vodkakitten
08-09-2010, 17:29
Hi, I know this is a pretty old thread but I thought I;d try my chances of getting some replies!

Next month we'll be moving to Kal...don't know where they are going to house us yet, a bit worried as I have never been to Kal and have no idea what to expect....

I have a 4.5yr old and a 3 year old....Can anyone give me any info on a good public school/daycare?

kelndkids
09-09-2010, 17:05
hi i was the same when we moved here i'd never been to Kal b4, i've made some wonderful friend is the past 5 months and am loving living here... schools will depend on where u are living if you are going public, we start at North Kal nxt yr (kindy) and from what i've heard from the 'locals'it is a great school. in regards to daycare you might wanna start ringing around now to get a spot or you can use the occasional daycare centre, that one you just call a few days in advance to book in... i dont come on here very much nemore but if u want any info contact me via email or facebook .. vincentgirls2004@hotmail.com Kellie Vincent.

garfield84
16-09-2010, 19:32
Hi Vodakitten and soon to be a welcome to Kalgoorlie !!
I'm a born and bred Kalgoorlie girl but can't say much of being a 'local'. I went to Boulder Primary School and can say it was a good school, and have even heard of the other local primary schools are good too. Not too sure on the daycare systems here.
Like Kellie said, it depends on the area that you will choose to live in. Its a pain in the bum when it comes to the zoning locations but we can't do much about them.
I will do my best not to bad mouth a particular popular Daycare centre so wont recommend them how ever I was able to look on yellowpages website for you and found afew daycares you can always call and obtain more information from.

Boulder Kids Corner Child Care Centre
60 Moran St, Boulder
ph: (08) 9093 3338
Eastern Goldfields YMCA
1 YMCA Way, Kalgoorlie
9021 1035
Goldfields Child Care Centre
26 Whitlock St, Kalgoorlie
ph: (08) 9021 4035
Goldfields Outside School hours care
Cnr of Rhodes & Connolly St, Kalgoorlie
ph: (08) 9021 4035
Hannan St Play & Learn
514-516 Hannan St, Kalgoorlie
ph: (08) 9022 7988
Kalgoorlie Creche
Hay St (Cnr Nethercott St), Kalgoorlie
ph: (08) 9021 3659
The Playhouse
20 Carrington St, Kalgoorlie
ph: (08) 9091 6619
-------------Primary Schools -------------
1. Boulder Primary School (Public)
Lane St, Boulder
9093 1295
2. St Joseph's School (Private)
Burt St, Boulder
9093 2351
there were afew Primary schools up in the Kalgoorlie area, so I've just copied the link for you - http://www.yellowpages.com.au/search/listings?clue=school&locationClue=Kalgoorlie+WA&x=29&y=20
Hope that helps hun :)
Kellie & and are on one anothers friends list on facebook but feel free to add me on there or via email as well hun. Just pvt msg me for my email address :)

Beachside Mumma
05-01-2011, 13:56
Well the time has come and we will finally be moving to Kalgoorlie this year. DP is going over in a few weeks and the girls and I will be there by the end of Feb. I am sooo excited! ((does that make me crazy??:laughing:)) But they as they say a change is as good as a holiday and something sure as hell needed to change for us. So if anyone would like to chat PM me... I have 2 girls - 7 months and 2.2yrs.

Amanda

notreadyforthis
16-04-2012, 16:02

I'm new to Kal also and have just found out I'm about 5 weeks pregnant with my first child. Excited but also a little stressed... I was wondering if anyone can tell me the best doctor to see at this stage in town? I don't have a regular GP yet so was looking for some advice on the best doctors in town for maternity.

Thanks! :)

garfield84
16-04-2012, 17:58
notreadyforthis - first of all welcome to Kalgoorlie !!
Congratulations on the pregnancy as well :)

Maternity Doctors ... I highly recommend Dr Hodson.
(Tower medical centre - 9021 2751)
I didn't use him as my OB as I was classed as a special cause and dealt with Dr McCallum.
But Dr Hodson is really nice (busy, but nice).
So is Dr Kylie Sterry (female Dr). I'm not sure which office she works from though, but no doubt either a local dr can tell you or I can ask for you if you like.
I'm pretty sure one of my friends has gone through her.

Are you a member of facebook ? Check out some of the mummy pages on there for support if you like :) (I'm Kels84 on there)

garfield84
17-04-2012, 15:01
Beachsidemuma / Amanda,

Sorry there was no repsonse to you - I actually did not get a notification nor realise there was a comment.
Sorry about that hun.

Assuming you've moved to Kalgoorlie by now, how are you finding it ?

JessD81
17-04-2012, 16:12
Hi notreadyforthis
I currently see Dr Ried (Collins St Surgery) he is a retired OB and he can see me up to 20 weeks and everyone recommends Dr Barney McCullum his bedside manner is appalling but he is the best of the best and everyone goes to him for advice if need be. I have decided I will go under him in a few weeks as I'm almost 16 weeks

garfield84
17-04-2012, 16:44
JessD81,

I swear by Dr McCallum. To see him you need a referal, but of course he's not everyone's cup of tea.
He is straight to the point (which is what I personally wanted with our pregnancy).
Basically a spade is a spade to him. As long as your open and honest with him - he is a good doctor :)
Congrats on your pregnancy and good luck hun xxx