View Full Version : August 2006 mums & bubs #15

Mrs Potts
25-10-2007, 12:31
Thinking of you Anne! :hugs::hugs:

MZmama
25-10-2007, 14:05
Thinking of you Mama Anne, Im sure things are all ok.. :kiss: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

mumstar
25-10-2007, 14:56
hey mama anne.. i am thinking bout u... sorry in my groggy state this morning i didnt see ur post sorry!
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: have u been for ultrasound yet?

MountainGirl
25-10-2007, 17:20
:hugs: :hugs: Anne,... your Dr was most probably a moron:o ,.. when is your ultrasound? try not to worry toooooo much,..:hugs:

mumstar
25-10-2007, 20:09
thread number 15 hey! that went quick!

Mokar
25-10-2007, 20:21
We do go through these threads quick!!

Anne, im sending all the vibes I can to you guys for the ultrasound!! :hugs: Best of Luck chick!!

I went to a lingerie party tonight... the stuff was so pretty... but I didnt buy anything as the weight is just dropping off me now and as I have stopped breastfeeding- my boobs are shrinking too.... I probably would have gotten something and in 2 weeks it would have been too big! LOL

Am off to Brisbane tomorrow for Elsha to stay with Nat... and for her little friend, Indi's first birthday! Hopefully it wont be too much of a painful weekend! :rolleyes:

OH OH!!! Also, my internet is being cut off tomorrow for 2 weeks... so... KEEP THE POST COUNT DOWN WILL YA'S?! I dont want a thousand posts to have to read when the net is reconnected! LOL

See you all in 2 weeks!! :wave:

P.S. Tegan, perhaps you could sms me if there are any MAJOR events that happen?? *pretty please* (LOL, gosh I must be addicted... asking someone to sms me with news from a parenting website... )

mumstar
25-10-2007, 20:24
no prob's jess... u will have to send me ur number again though coz my phone died and i lost all my numbers :)

mama anne
25-10-2007, 22:31
thanks girls :)

u/s is on tues, so i just have to put it out of my mind. i'm not too stressed, just .......... need reassurance.
and the thing is, i LOVE my gp, so i think it was just something wrong with the doppler :o

anyway. resume normal transmission.

MountainGirl
26-10-2007, 05:51
Ei-ya Jess:wave: (In Jasper language!),..... have a luvverly 2 weeks,..

All will be fine Anne,. cheeky baby!

littlepickle
26-10-2007, 06:33
Mama Anne - sending lots of good vibes and :babydust2:. A similar thing happened to my sil last year and everything turned out to be ok:hugs:

Just an update on Monique, she is recovering slowly but is still feeling a very sore and low. :fingerscrossed: for a fast recovery

missie_mack
26-10-2007, 08:36
Poor Monique :( It would be awful to be so far away from home and family if you arent healthy
Sending some healing vibes along

Off to pick up DS' portraits today... should be interesting

biscotti
26-10-2007, 09:09
oooo, new thread.
Anne - the exact same thing happened with me this time around except I was about 15 weeks. I saw the midwife who works with my OB (you see her for the routine type stuff) and she was poking around and I was just lying there oblivious and yapping on :ecomcity: when she said suddenly, "I can't find it, I think I'd better get Dr B". I seriously thought I was going to throw up while I was waiting to see him. He found it nearly straight away though (or the baby moved into a better position ) and all was well with the world.
It will be ok :hugs:

Beany and Missie_mack - thanks for the tips with the leg cramps, I have never had them before and they are doing me in iykwim, this morning was the same, I've been up since 4. So I'll up my calcium intake (thanks Beany) and get some tonic water (thanks missie) - can I add some Gin to that :p

Jess - stay strong, stay well, see you when you "get back"....envious of you with the "weight dropping" off btw I have never in my life weighed as much as I do right now, I'm like a roly poly pudding :o

Off to meet with the builder :wave:
Noosamum xx
(mumstar - fancy you being up to hand over already, you lucky things, you'll be in for Christmas :xmas: )

Fairyfloss
26-10-2007, 09:27
fasten your seat belt ladies, thi si sgoing to be a looooooong post
Jess: :yelclap: for sticking with your guns, there is no better revenge than turning your noise up; oh and you and Elish look so fab in the pics , good luck with themove
noosa: my god, only 1 month to go:hugs: , for the cramps:thumbsdown:, I used to get heaps when preggy, try keeping your legs warm, with hot wheat bag
emandmya: long shift, can be hard, but it is good that have some flexibility, well done
Mrspotts:
how's this for cute? Miss K has finally gotten the idea of giving kisses oh so cute:yelclap:
shed: how is your finger doing hope it is better now, andI love house huntting stories, keep them coming, love the pic, so cute, DD never sleeps with dolls
Beany: I must have missed it, what are you studying? answer that once you've finshed your essay
lottiesmum: have you chased away all the monster yet?
mumstar: hope you are feeling better, love the pics btw.
missie_mack: seems like you had fun in canbera, hope you are feelling better soon
Uniquey: I am thinking of you, get well soon
munchkin: you've already spent your tax refund, I haven't even done mine yet,
jane:how are feelling dal, any sign of MS subsiding?
mama anne: hope the U/S goes well:hugs:
alliJB:any thing new for us to read?
:wave: to lilbugalugs, rafee,

biscotti
26-10-2007, 10:12
you've already spent your tax refund, I haven't even done mine yet,

neither have we, we don't do ours until January each year so while everyone else is out on big spend ups, I can only look glumly on. DH always does something sensible (read *boring*) with ours anyway.

Builder thinks the roof might/maybe/if he feels like it, be on by Christmas. I'm a bit excited by that, it might actually look like a house.

I just got an invite to a Melbourne Cup do, I would like to go but I will be 38 wks by then and will have nothing to wear and don't really want to buy anything at 38 wks. Any ideas on dressing up with what I've got?? Just the usual assortment of mumus and tents btw. Oh, and my YIM jeans :D

Mrs Potts
26-10-2007, 10:58
Gosh, my tax refund was spent months ago! :o Did use a big chunk of it to pay off one credit card totally though, so I guess that's a good thing. :yes:

Noosa - wear whatever you want, just top it with a fancy hat!:D Yep, fashion icon am I LOL

Nice new thread we've got here too. I even started it!

Fairyfloss
26-10-2007, 11:12
Noosa - wear whatever you want, just top it with a fancy hat!:D Yep, fashion icon am I LOL

I ditto that and some sparkly earing :babydust2:
people won't even move their eyes off your face (unless they want to pat your belly:D )

lilbugalugs
26-10-2007, 12:08
We got our tax refund back today also...unfortunately ours will be spent on boring things like mortgages :thumbsdown:

We got council approval today for our new carport...hopefully it will be finished in a few weeks...we had a bit of a storm lastnight and I said to DH, wouldn't it just be our luck to get an almightly storm and blow our rusty old carport into the neighbours yard or something a week before it is to be demolished..

I got really bad cramps when pregnant with both of my kids...I think they are worse than labour!!! There is nothing worse than when you are just waking up and strech out your legs and get a massive cramp in your calf muscle..

Took the kids to lollypops this morning and a great time was had by all...Riley is old enough to really get into it now...he is such a brave little soul...he wanted to go on the teacup ride with Erin but I have a really weak stomach :barf: and can't handle it...he is just going to have to wait until he is old enough to go on by himself..

Oh Anne, being pregnant is such a worrying time isn't it??? Try to keep busy over the weekend so that you don't have to think about it...I am confident that all will be well... When is was pregnant with Erin I was about 24 weeks or so and could not get her to move no matter what I tried...called the hospi and they said to come in and the midwife couldn't find her heartbeat...I was crying and freaking out...of course the Dr came in with the ultrasound machine and found her straight away...don't know what was going on there!!!

MountainGirl
26-10-2007, 12:17
Noos,... I am wearing my Yim jeans today,.....already:o

So,.... Next time I mention that I may take the kids to Ikea,..can you all please remind me that it is A BAD IDEA!!!:hair: :hair: Scarlett is the devil,... she stomped and yelled and pouted her way through the store only stopping to request the loo (5 blummin times!!!!) or to whine for an ice cream, or to run away and hide under piles of doonas...arrrrrrggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh,....outta control..she then managed to lock both herself and my little angel boy:o in the car,.. lucky I travel with 2sets of keys for that very reason,..... the only amusing point was when she said in the car "Mummy, I a pain in the bottom, yes?".... yes, my girl,....you are!

missie_mack
26-10-2007, 12:23
Noosa how abouts a sparky kaftan style top or something??

Welll I have exciting news. The postman just came and DS got third place in a local baby competition. The prize was just a little cash which I have put towards our photo package. The photos were very expensive I thought when I asked they werent so bad but I think I was conned in the way they explained it :thumbsdown: Anyhoo not to worry I get to gloat in the inlaws who always say my boy is funny looking because he doesnt look like their families.... I feel a dance coming on that could rival the 'I-told-you-so' dance :smiliedance: :laughing:
To make matters worse the prize is written out to James with just my surname. It seems they left off the hyphenated extra bit :laughing: That will make the outlaws happy :laughing:

missie_mack
26-10-2007, 18:40
3 years is nice Shed :yes: My brother and I are 3 years apart. We are probably closer than most. My Mum says it was good I was old enough to entertain myself or help. Tell him you are doing it so that you can give your child the 'one on one attention they crave' :D

lilbugalugs
26-10-2007, 18:55
Shed - everyone is different and you have got to do what feels right for you. In hindsight I would have gone for more of a 3 year age gap between my two...or at least completely toilet trained DD before I had another...it is pretty tough having a full on toddler and a bubba, or being heavily pregnant and a full on toddler that still needs carrying etc...But no matter what happens you get through it... but how exciting to be thinking of TTC again!!!

I am so jealous of you guys that are pregnant or are thinking about having another...I wish that I had have enjoyed each moment a little more...

I am feeling old (the big 30 next year!!!) ....finished having kids...one child going to kindi next year....not really sure what to do career wise when I do go back to work eventually...I was an accountant...hated it a lot and that was one of the reasons to have a break and have kids now...but now that the kids are getting older etc I am feeling a bit lost about work and what I really want to do...I don't think that I want to go back until Riley is at kindi and then only part time, but what to do???

amandaw
26-10-2007, 19:14
:

shed: how is your finger doing hope it is better now, andI love house huntting stories, keep them coming, love the pic, so cute, DD never sleeps with dolls

I just want to know how he stays tucked under a sheet???? Charlotte is SUCH a mover - she constantly moves from one end of the cot to the other, banging from side to side.....we might have to get her one of those meshed in trampolines to sleep in rather thana bed! :laughing:

Noosa - Where did the last 8 months go!!!! It's even odd thinking 2nd trimester now!

Uniquey - thinking of you while you recover..

Anne - BIG :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:...it's actually funny because last time I would have been able to let it all just slide (ie the knowing that statistically only 50% find heartbeat at that stage) but I think this time I'm so much more aware and will be on a bit of an edge as each of those milestones come up. Will be hanging out for news on Tuesday

Us - well our place went unconditional today which is great - we can now go househunting knowing how much is definitely in the bank. :smiliedance: Just a little stressed that we won't find what we want witout some sort of issue - there's one fantatsic one we've been looking at (well the house is fantastic) but it has an easement in the backyard, and retaining walls that are about 1.5 ms high...neither of these things would have bothered me in the past (in that absolutely everything else is perfect for us...size, entertaining areas, location) but I can jsut see massive supervision of toddlers so they don't crawl/walk/leap off the edge of the retaining garden wall towards the easement...have to make some decisions soon though!

amandaw
26-10-2007, 19:26
Just a bit of a thinking out loud post here ...feel free to ignore

Had one of those heart string pulls relating to teaching and taking leave yesterday - I've been really good this time around, more excited about being pregnant and feeling okay about going, knowing that if I want to (which I'm not so certain about this time) there are ways and means that I could go back to the work which I love. Then at Dance night, I got the big we couldn't have done it without you deal from the older kids (which of course they can - but some of them I have taught since Grade 8 and other than the break last year, I am the only teacher they know so they don't know any better!) Then yesterday one of my favourite 10's (and I have a really promising group there) basically said...well you just can't go anywhere for the next 2 years (because they were talking about the struggle they had with the replacement teacher last time)...I just had a quiet internal giggle just thinking 'if only you knew (that realistically they'll have me for 10 weeks') but I know things like that just bring it home that you do have an impact on these kids lives, and kids like that are the reason you teach! I have some amazing talent ine 9's and 10's coming through and it makes me sad to think that I'll miss seeing that develop! I've had so many kids asking if it will be me taking their class next year..... I so don't want to tell them!!!

Anyway, end of pity post...just needed to get it out as everyone else (well my DH and fellow teachers) thinks I'm nuts!!!

Fairyfloss
26-10-2007, 22:25
I am feeling old (the big 30 next year!!!) ....
I just read that and thought, I have said that all this year, but reading someone else say it makes me feel it even more:eek: on the good side we can grow old together:D, the work will sort itself out, when you are ready, just enjoy your time for now.(btw what day/month is your bday)

Amanda: It must be so tough, being emotionally attached to the kids and your work

shed: take your time, and be as selfish as you want to be, it is your life too,
my DH was planning the second, before DD was even born, :eek: I was still preggy and vomitting everywhere. which reminds me he is going to ask for a plan of action time line at the end of november when my temp position at work ends, I hope my work does not sort out, so I can post pond him and his plans :devil6:

I am back where I was last year, a very fat 70 kg old lady, I've put on all teh weight that I lost before :hair:
any way started on liteneasy diet again, brekky I was on my own, didn't do too well, lunch had orroccan salad: was OK. dinner: fettechini now hat was yum, excpt DD wanted to share, so I am hungry now, arrg better go and see if I can find something healthy to eat. and hope for a better tomorrow:fingerscrossed:

Beany
27-10-2007, 11:19
Beany: I must have missed it, what are you studying? answer that once you've finshed your essay

I'm ignoring that sound advice at the end of the question :p I'm doing my masters in English Literature. Hopefully I'll graduate at the end of next year. Yay!

"Mummy, I a pain in the bottom, yes?".... yes, my girl,....you are!

You're so demure Jane. None of this namby-pambying with Asher, he gets called a pain in the @rse.

Smelly smells emanating from a nearby bum so I'm orf. Hi everyone and good luck with TTC shed.

:D :p

MountainGirl
27-10-2007, 17:54
You're so demure Jane. None of this namby-pambying with Asher, he gets called a pain in the @rse.

:D :p[/quote]

She was a pain in the @rse until she started repeating everything,.....now we have to be happy with 'bottom':p

missie_mack
27-10-2007, 18:39
If you go onto daylight savings (I think only Qld doesn't) don't forget to turn your clock back a hour tonight

Mrs Potts
27-10-2007, 19:03
Clocks actually go forward tonight Ellen.:o

'Spring forward, Fall back' :)

missie_mack
27-10-2007, 19:12
Yes I knew that :D Mind and fingers weren't communicating :laughing:
:idea: Or maybe I meant they go back to daylight savings time
Yes that is my excuse and I am sticking to it :yes:

long day sorry :o

lottiesmum
28-10-2007, 08:58
:smiliedance: and :yelclap: for daylight savings. its so much easier spooning in weetbix at 630am than 530am!

our big news is DS is now officially sleeping through 6pm to 6am. its been a couple of weeks now so i think that's reasonably permanent. and no more breastfeeding....i dropped the morning feed last week and last night i tried dropping it and he was fine. so all done :D . bit sad but it was gradual and no stress on him so all good, really.

amandaw
28-10-2007, 19:49
WOHOOOOO!!!

Put an offer on a house yesterday and got accepted (well with an extra $2000 but still!) One little weight off knowing that providing pest and building go well (and since it's only a 2 year old place, I can't forsee too many problems) we actually have somewhere to go in 6 weeks time - yeah!!

:smiliedance: Going to go celebrate with ice cream!!!

mum_I'm_hungry
28-10-2007, 20:01
Congrats! Have been meaning to tell you, Amanda, a girlfriend of mine is due 11 May and is off to the Wes as well (her second, too). What's your due date again? I think she has said hello in the May group. Her name's Sam.

Had a great day today. We're trialling something new -- breaking up the weekend into four parts (Sat AM/PM, Sun AM/PM). I get up to the kids Sat AM and Dave sleeps in, then we all go off to the gym, Sat PM I get to do whatever I want (went to the movies this week), evening is open. Sun PM I get to sleep in, Sun AM we do a family thing, Sun PM Dave does whatever he wants and evening is open. I think it might actually work! I was just feeling really guilty whenever I wanted to do something child-free, so now there's no guilt and no resentment. Hopefully we will stick to it, but I don't see why not, apart from the weeks where someone is sick, the kids are sick, or Dave is working and so on.

Teddy took about eight steps in a row today, so he's getting there. Very cute.

Hmmm... not much else.

Hope everyone is good, no :barf: etc. and no mummies :barf: either! :D

mum_I'm_hungry
28-10-2007, 21:23
They are just jealous because he is a looker, Missie, and that you have produced a ladeez man. Bloody out-laws. Mine still haven't seen Teddy and they would adore him. He is the spitting image of my FIL. Out-laws. :p

Love your work, Shed. 'You need to make arrangements...' Classic! Will store this away with the green snot test... :laughing:

missie_mack
28-10-2007, 21:41
Mine still haven't seen Teddy and they would adore him. He is the spitting image of my FIL. Out-laws.

Oh Alli. Even if you don't like the outlaws that is just plain inexcusable :no: May they grow bitter and twisted in their old ages. Maybe one day they will realise what they have missed out on. These boys (and girls) could one day do great things!

Oh and yes it was brilliant to really rub it in :p
I rang Dh to tell him about it. A soon as I told him it went like this...
"Your dancing while your telling me what your going to say aren't you :laughing: "
"Oh erm yes " :o
"Is it like the I-told-you-so dance??"
"Uh-huh "
"I thought so!"
:laughing: :laughing: How thought I was that predictable??

Great news on the whole house front Amanda. That must be a big relief plus getting school holidays etc to really settle in.

Beany
29-10-2007, 01:14
2:20am.

Essay finished. Very low energy :smiliedance: from me.

Very high energy :smiliedance: from Asher.

What on earth is with this kid? :laughing:

mum_I'm_hungry
29-10-2007, 06:33
Oh Alli. Even if you don't like the outlaws that is just plain inexcusable :no: May they grow bitter and twisted in their old ages.

:laughing: Don't worry, they already got to bitter and twisted when they were young! They deserve their miserable little existences.

It's still pelting down here. The weirdest weather. I've never seen seven hours of straight thunder and lightning before. This storm just seems to be hanging over us and not moving on. Ah well, no park today, I guess. Off to my new flash gym. Just got refurbished last week and am loving the new treadmills that all have their own TVs. Pity everyone can see me watching Judge Judy or some other $#%*, though! :laughing:

MZmama
29-10-2007, 08:18
:smiliedance: and :yelclap: for daylight savings. its so much easier spooning in weetbix at 630am than 530am!

sorry lottiesmum - i was totally confused over the daylight savings thing.. i was doing some funky stuff with my calculating! hehe. Congrats on the sleeping through..

amanda - congrats on the house! YAY.. better you feel SOOO much better. got pics?

DP has just got into the habit of thinking that I am always home with DS while he gets to come and go as he pleases (not that he really goes anywhere, but in principle I mean). I put him on the straight and narrow when he said he was going to play golf this morning. I asked him what he wanted to do with the baby. He goes "What do you mean" and I said, well, you need to make arrangements to make sure he is looked after" and he goes "where will you be?", and I go "I will be here" and he goes "well why can't you look after him?" and I go "I can, if you ask me to I will be happy to, but you don't get to come and go as you please just because I look after bubby while you are at work during the week, I look after bubby because you are at work".

that is awesome shed - i really should use that! DF has been in that habit since DD was born.. he comes home from work, and lies on the couch.. and does nothing till i say dinner is served.. although he does 'semi-watch' DD while dinner is being made.. but basically if she gets into anything she shouldnt, he just waits till i get up to her.. and now that i am working it is REALLY starting to p!ss me off and i wasnt sure how to put it without being a b!tch..

missie - congrats - thats awesome.. well done lil james.. he has always been such a stunner with eyes you get lost in.. so cute. and i am with shed, i seriously, cannot comprehend how the in-laws cannot see that.. like honestly..

missie_mack
29-10-2007, 08:37
DF has been in that habit since DD was born.. he comes home from work, and lies on the couch.. and does nothing till i say dinner is served.. although he does 'semi-watch' DD while dinner is being made.. but basically if she gets into anything she shouldnt, he just waits till i get up to her.. and now that i am working it is REALLY starting to p!ss me off and i wasnt sure how to put it without being a b!tch..

Maybe that can be Daddy time and find a toy that interests Daddy that they play with? Or they could have a bath together? As she is getting older she will probably have things that interest him a little more... maybe set him a challenge to teach her something long term which they can practice during that time. DH was very jealous I taught DS how to High 5 hence secretly spent bathtime to teach him how to do chicken arms :laughing: Sometimes I have to wonder who is the bigger child in my house:laughing: ... I cant imagine it is easy but if you do it gradually maybe he wont even notice and you wont have to worry about any titles?

Mrs Potts
29-10-2007, 11:48

Amanda - YAY on the house! How exciting :smiliedance:

Missie - well done to James. He is a cutie!

Beany - yay on the essay! No doubt it will be distinction-worthy :yes:

Shed - there's a great house for sale over the road from me if Canberra interests you. I know it's a great house - it's my old house! ;) And the neighbours are awesome :p

Big news from us: Miss K took her first 2 steps on Friday night. Since then she's been putting up to 5 together at a time, though quite infrequently. Seems a bit strange to me though, since she can't even really stand up by herself yet. :yelclap:

Hope everyone is well! :wave:

biscotti
29-10-2007, 13:16
I would love to move anywhere that is not Sydney.

Come to Queensland Shed :yes: although we are having some fairly wild weather atm.

missie_mack - James is one gorgeous little boy (but you already know that I think that...and your inlaws are insane - but you already know that I think that too!).

:yelclap: for Keely and Teddy walking :smiliedance:

:yelclap: for Beany!!

Amanda - congratulations! Now post some pics of your new house ( I love looking at houses), you too Mumstar!!

Only read back as far as this page, off to scroll back :)

missie_mack
29-10-2007, 14:38
Hows your cramps going Noosa any relief??

shed
29-10-2007, 15:51
ooh ooh, exciting news!

my little dog is coming into heat!!

eeee, blind panic!! what do I do now? I have forgotten everything.

Oh yeah, that's right. Ring the stud dog's owner and wait for about two weeks.

phew.

Crisis over!!

Please please cross your fingers and eyes and anything else that's not already crossed that it goes well this time. I think I completely missed her last season, and the one before that we missed the ovulation date, and the one before that the stud dog was useless.

So hopefully someone will be pregnant around here soon!! :fingerscrossed:

missie_mack
29-10-2007, 16:02
OOh there is your TTC attempt Shed!!

Beany
29-10-2007, 16:46
Maybe it'll get you all clucky again. Or Yappy. Or something.

I handed the essay in. Yay me!

I put Asher down for his nap at 2pm, buggered around the house for an hour, went off to hand the essay in, came back to the city and bought a t-shirt, came home at nearly 5 and Asher was STILL asleep! :eek: How come he sleeps the sleep of the dead when his dad is looking after him and barely closes his eyes when I am? Boys. *tuts*

So, though uni is out, Noodle is still being made to come home early one day a week. I'm meant to get some work done on my (forgotten and ignored) dissertation but this week, I'm taking a break and going to the movies, I think. Or just wander around the shops.

Off to brave the stinking heat and by some luxury items for the kitchen. Like bread. And milk.

MountainGirl
29-10-2007, 17:44
Oooooh Ellen,..you have your 'terrier pants' on today! Remind me to have you on my side next argument!!!!:laughing:

Anne - let us know how you go tomorrow?:hugs:

mumstar
29-10-2007, 18:45
hi all

i went past the new house today and EVERYTHING is finished, i am so excited about that but now very much stressing i am not ready to move!

amandaw
29-10-2007, 19:40
Congrats! Have been meaning to tell you, Amanda, a girlfriend of mine is due 11 May and is off to the Wes as well (her second, too). What's your due date again? I think she has said hello in the May group. Her name's Sam.

Teddy took about eight steps in a row today, so he's getting there. Very cute.

Yeah, I di know who you are talking about...I noticed the Wes bit first (actually thought taht surely I couldn't do another Alli and be in there at the same time, but have not a clue)- small world isn't it. They've moved me foward from the 2nd to the 1st (leap year next year) but I still think it'll actually be an April baby....only time will tell

Ps didn't stomach the pooh article as well as your others Alli....so not looking foward to the toilet training part of parenthood (and it'll be when I'm back on the job...bugger :laughing: )

Still no signs of walking at this end (from the girl who today used the glider rocker footstool to climb onto a packed box of toys to stand on her dresser and muss stuff :eek: :eek: :eek: talk about heart in your throat!!!) I swaer she's going on a run in the new house!!!!

:
It's still pelting down here. The weirdest weather. I've never seen seven hours of straight thunder and lightning before. This storm just seems to be hanging over us and not moving on.

I 2nd this.....it was an amazing sight!!

Will get DH to take some photos when her goes in for pest and building this week (would post the realestate.com address for you guys, but who knows who else is out there and it has the address etc on....will be able to get much better photos anyway)...lots of room to entertain all the Brissie August mummies if everyone over the south side feels like bring a packed lunch for the car trip over :laughing: :laughing:

amandaw
29-10-2007, 19:46
Very exciting puppy (well dog and hope to be puppy!)and house news! Yah Shed and Mumstar

mama anne
29-10-2007, 20:56
hey girls :)

very tired this evening ..... spent the whole day doing stuff so i'm buggered now ... but dh's mum is coming to mind b tomorrow for the WHOLE day .... so the big question ... sleep or shop for food? sleep or fold the washing? sleep or do anything productive?
we'll see i guess.

trying not to think about the ultrasound tomorrow. 2pm. will obviously let you all know what the outcome is.

cheekypossum
29-10-2007, 20:56

Just popping on to subscribe to the new thread.

Also I would love to be apart of the Secret Santa if it is not too late to put Chloe's name in :thumbsup:

Hope everyone is well.

Same ol' same here :rolleyes:

lilbugalugs
29-10-2007, 21:02
ARGH...it must be the weather but my kids have been crazy today. I was under the sad dillusion that it would be the hardest having two kids when one was a baby...nope...much harder having a strong willed toddler and a 3 year old with attitude. My pair fight like you wouldn't believe...ENOUGH ALREADY!!! Everybody to their respective corners :hair:

mum_I'm_hungry
29-10-2007, 21:06
OMG, Lil. Me too. It must really be the weather. They were like a pair of unruly dogs today, off scrapping in corners, picking fights etc.. Weird. I thought it was because they were cooped up inside, so took them to the shops to give them a run around and they were truly hideously revolting there, too!

*munchkin*
29-10-2007, 21:43
Lots to catch up on...
Congrats on the house Amanda
Congrats Teddy and Keeley for walking :yelclap:
Beany...congrats on your big purchases (bread...milk...)

Tash - love the new Avatar! Makes me giggle.

Noosa....not long now!!!! :smiliedance:
Missie Mack - I second the others - James is just a BEAUTIFUL child - dreamy dreamy eyes. Your in-laws are stoopid.

Went to the hospital tonight to visit my good friend who gave birth on Saturday....to an
11 pound 10 baby boy
:eek:
It was her first baby. Eeek! She is only a small girl - her husband is very tall, but not specially big. Apparently they weighed her placenta and it was 3 kilos. She only put on 12 kilos the whole pregnancy (:eek: ), so after 5.5 kilo baby, 3 kilo placenta, there ain't much left!

He was a lovely little baby, with a very very big head and neck, as you can imagine! Of course she ended up having a caeser after a 12 hour labour...thank goodness! As she was in the recovery room (!) her obstetrician said "We need to talk about your next child - I think you will need a caeser!"

No other news here except Destructo-Baby is ripping up the house - she climbing on the couches now, perching right on the edge, freaking me out. I bought one of those whizz-bang bike seats Noosa, and an itty-bitty pink helmet, so will take it for a spin tomorrow. :smiliedance:

missie_mack
29-10-2007, 22:09
Aww Munchkin.... widdle bubbas. I just think the bigger babies are soo cute. They never seem to have that old person look about them that some newborns get :D

biscotti
30-10-2007, 10:25
Morning all,
mama anne - :hugs: for today, thinking of you, I am sure all will be fine .

missie - those leg cramps come and go. This morning I woke with them at 5 am (better than 4am:o ) , the worse thing though is that they leave me with sore legs (like I've been to the gym or something) for the rest of the day. I hate them :mad:

11 pound 10 baby boy :eek: Munchy?!? Yikes. I am very very worried about the sz of this baby, because seriously I am huge (I'll change my avatar this afternoon, hope you all don't have widescreens 'cos I'll look even more enormous). C was 9lbs. I wonder how much bigger can I get, I feel like my tummy is stretched as far as it can go. DH is getting a bit funny about having a water birth, he wondered last night why I just "can't do it normally, like on the bed or something". Er sorry buddy, my birth and if I want a water birth, I'm having one, ....I felt so ripped off not getting one for C after all that planning. NOT helping that my closest friend thinks it's all a bit "weird" too, thinks I'm turning into a "hippy and will I be calling the baby Rainbow?" Knew I should have kept my mouth closed :o

Ooops, didn't mean to make that all about me :o I'm just cranky.

And tired.

Noosamum XX

shed
30-10-2007, 10:37
DH is getting a bit funny about having a water birth, he wondered last night why I just "can't do it normally, like on the bed or something".

ha ha, this made me smile.

Normal is boring. Weird is much more fun although I always prefer the term "quirky" :thumbsup:

I hope you and Miss Tilly Rainbow :laughing: have a wonderful wonderful birth noosa!! Its so exciting. I can't believe you have made two whole new people in the time that the rest of us have made one (and some have made one and a bit). That's awe inspiring... amazing! What an over achiever, lol!

Its going to be great. A newborn, oh how scrumptious. I miss those days. I miss the baby days so much, even though the toddler is so beautiful and funny and so much fun. Oh the baby was delightful. It went so fast. Nobody told me it would go SO fast.

missie_mack
30-10-2007, 11:10
Noosa has your DH read up about water births?? Even my Mother (Mrs Old and Traditional- Traditional- Prude lol) thinks waterbirths make sense. Less pressure on the Mum and Bub not to mention that women all over the world have traditionally been doing this for centuries!! You go Noosa :thumbsup: I think its inspirational...

BTW I really think it should be Tilly Serendipidity :laughing:

Beany
30-10-2007, 14:47
Tilly Peace-Dove should enter the world exactly as Mother Noos Sparkle-Freckles wants. When Father Noos Grumpy Pants pushes a kid out, he gets to choose the method.

Even I, with my fear of natural childbirth, would by far prefer to have a waterbirth than any other. Keeps bits moist. Less tearing. Always a good thing!

Uniquey
30-10-2007, 15:40
Hello Chickadees,

A big thank you:hugs: to Littlepickle, MrsPotts, Tashmusa, Emandmya, AlliJB, Munckin, Jane, Noosamum, Missie_Mack, Fairyfloss and Amandaw for thinking of me/asking after me.

What a trying time of late, I was out shopping and experienced the most excruciating abdominal pain which wouldn't go away. After hours of being in agony, DH rushed me to the Hospital where I was left to suffer from Saturday night until Monday morning. Finally on the Monday afternoon, I was diagnosed with acute appendicitus (finally) and a blood infection had my appendectomy on the Tuesday morning. When they finally operated on me my appendix was gangrenous, so needless to say after the op I I was prodded, given needles in my arms, legs, stomach, bottom, pumped full of saline, morphine and a bucket load of antibiotics. I was supposed to stay in Hospital for the full week, but I just couldn't sleep and I was stressing about DH having to take time off work to look after Miss A. So,,,I haven't been a happy camper of late as you can imagine. It's something I just didn't need a year after a caesarian section. I am definitely improving, but because I had the blood infection and the gangrenous appendix, my body has had to fight a lot and I am so lethargic and sore and sorry. It really brought home how much we don't have a support netowrk here to help us. DH has had to take 'holiday' time to care for Miss A as I can't lift her etc.:crying: Anyway, that's about all from me, sorry to be so gloomy!

P.s/ :smiliedance: To Jane for the wonderful, wonderful BFP news!! How exciting, all these new mammas-to-be-again:D

amandaw
30-10-2007, 16:18
:hugs: to Uniquey - so great to hear from you...even with such scarey news!! Glad to see that you are on the mend (even a slow one) now...lots more :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: your way!

WOAH....11 10...I think not!!!!

And Missie Mack - just have to say that I love love love your avatar..very cute ....oh and Tash with the ROAR!!!

Munchkin...I'd love to see you wizzing round with Miss em on the back...fancy a hike out to this side of town for a cuteness giggle!

Well should go and pack...school camp for the next 3 days (always good timing what with the house and stuff?!?!?!?)

Will see/talk to you all Friday :wave:

missie_mack
30-10-2007, 16:25
I am back on the Lite n Easy. Just had my first lunch. It was beautiful. Thai beef salad with fresh rockmelon and honeydew melon after that.
wanna see? lol
yum yum skinny bum (http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/2629/picture209zv9.jpg)

Do you think its something you could replicate yourself (yanno if someone could be bothered to)?? Sorry but you know the story about curiousity and the cat :o

Beany
30-10-2007, 16:33
Welcome back poor sore Monique *vewwy gentle hug*

I hope you're feeling better soon and that Mr Uniquey is treating you like the crowned queen of Sheba.

shed
30-10-2007, 17:51
OMG Uniquey you poor thing!! I hope you feel better soon! what an ordeal you poor little darling! I can't believe they took so long to find out what it was! that is insane.

missie_mack, yes, you could, if you could be bothered. Its the lunches that I find to be the hard part about being a SAHM. After having bought my lunch for the last twenty years or so I find it really hard to make it at home so I end up having toast. With Lite n Easy its all done, and its a proper meal, much more than I would usually have. The other things is that I think it would cost more because you have to buy all the ingredients to make something rather than just what you need.

I love the snacks. and the no-guilt eating. You just relax and eat what they give you, like a robot.

biscotti
30-10-2007, 17:53
You just relax and eat what they give you, like a robot.

...or like a baby :D

mumstar
30-10-2007, 19:36
hi all

mama anne how did the ultrasound go??? i have been thinking about you today...

we have been quick busy here today... cleaning and packing at the moment! I have given my notice to the landlord and we will be all settled in the next few weeks at the new house!! troy gets home tonight and i know he is gonna be heaps excited coz the house is finished!

i have to say its only a couple of days of daylight savings and i am used to it already... i really hated it last year but now im getting ok with it.... weird huh!

hope everyone else is good too!

mama anne
30-10-2007, 19:54
hey girls

well the ultrasound went well (where's the PHEW!!! emoticon?). Bubba was kicking back with legs crossed and arms behind their head, completely unaware of the complete stress (not to mention the early-contraction-like pain from my bladder!) it was causing its mummy.

the only different thing was that its measuring 12 weeks 3 days instead of 14 weeks, but the operator said that could be because i have longer cycles than usual ... :confused: .... anyway am assuming my lovely gp will explain to me on thurs what the go is.

it was a little surprising that bub was a bit small, considering the gestational diabetes debacle last time and them worrying b would be too big .... anyway. enough rambling.

my next door neighbour is 6 days overdue .... she;s having a stretch and sweep tomorrow, and then if that does nothing they'll talk about inducing her on friday or monday. she was asking me if internals hurt at all .... i told her it'd hurt more if she was stressing that it would hurt!

anyway have lots of sewing to do for same friend .......... thanks for the well-wishes everyone :hugs:

Beany
30-10-2007, 20:01
Yay Anne and baby-attention-seeker!

Great news :hugs:

mum_I'm_hungry
30-10-2007, 20:18
That's great news, Anne! :thumbsup:

*munchkin*
30-10-2007, 20:29
:yelclap: Anne and Baby Anne. So glad all is well!

Uniquey - you poor thing!!!! OMG...that sounds just horrible, and must have really knocked your poor body for six. How come the stoopid people didn't work out is was your appendix any earlier??? Lots of :hugs: and healing and resting vibes coming your way. Pity you're not in BrisVegas or we could come and bring you baked goodies.

I have a confession to make...you know I can't hide much from you ladies (dunno why, being an internet forum and all???!!!??? I'm weird). I've been doing Weight Watchers, and have lost 4 kgs so far. It is just over the internet, so no meetings which I just couldn't face. It's just fantastic...I love love love it. So easy to follow once you get in the rhythm of it, and what I like most is that I can still eat my normal favourite stir fries etc. You can just enter in the recipes and find out how many 'points' they are. I was too weak to stick to Lite n Easy...too much of a food loving greedy guts. I think it's great you can stick with it Shed!

Anyway, I feel really good as I am starting to fit back into clothes easily again, and only have 3kgs to go to pre-preggers weight. People keep saying 'oh you don't need to lose weight', but I know how I was before, and would like to get back to that again. It's just a 'being nice to myself' thing for me.

So there you have it. Now I'm going to go and hide :o

missie_mack
30-10-2007, 20:47
:smiliedance: Yay for Anne, Munchkin and our new walkers....

I am sure you will be feeling up to scratch before you know it Uniquey :hugs:

missie_mack
30-10-2007, 21:07
Maybe we could do a special deal for your DH and send him meals?? :laughing: :laughing: Im sure he could get a special deal cheaper than takeaway....
anyone looking to work from home??

Fairyfloss
30-10-2007, 22:40
Mamma anne, I am so happy that your u/s went well:smiliedance:
Uniquey; you poor darling, hope you feel better soon:hugs:

With Lite n Easy its all done, and its a proper meal, much more than I would usually have. The other things is that I think it would cost more because you have to buy all the ingredients to make something rather than just what you need.

I love the snacks. and the no-guilt eating. You just relax and eat what they give you, like a robot.
well done shed, I am impressed that you actually serve your food, I eat mine just off the original packging.
are you doing the full 7 day rogram, or do you any thing on your own?

I am not happy being on liten Easy this time around, don't get me wrong, last year when I was with them I lost 10 kilos and dropped 2 dress sizes, and I was never hungry, I always had food left over, that I had not manged to finished,.... but this time, I am constantly hungry, and end up eating something extra, then feel really bad and guilty and don't feel very motivated, but i know, if I don't do it, I will feel even more misrable,:( this week I am thinking of doing just dinners and then add a meals in bowls to it.na may be stick to full 7 day one more week, I don't have a issue with being on my own for brekky but what has chaged, I was BFing last time for god sake, I should have been more hungry... arrrg my brain hurts just thinking about it. I am so hungry:banghead:
MIL and DH love my dinners, so I always try to order extras for them so I won't run out. the DH doesnot bother me, but MIL does, it usually happens when they are over at our house and DH orders pizza, and she won't eat cause she has high (some thing or anther) and I get told to give her one of my dinners cause it is healther!!!!! I just have one word for them bullies!!!
OK this sturned into a full on rant, better stop

have not read more than this page so more personals later once I have cought up

MountainGirl
31-10-2007, 05:48
Yay Anne!!!! I went to bed worried last night cause you hadnt checked in by the time I logged off,.....and then wanted Jasper to wake up in the night so that I could check in here:o that sounds mental and stalker-ey doesn;t it?!??!?! hahaha~

Munchy:smiliedance: :yelclap: Good on you love! Nothing shameworrthy about that!!! I am hoping my MS will put me in better shape,.......hmmmm,...

Mon - :hugs: Oh love,....you have had a rough trot,... is there anything I can do,.. mail you down meals????? Ha!

MZmama
31-10-2007, 07:15
YAY Anne, thats excellent news! She/He is gonna be a cheeky one!!

AAWWWW Mon.. you poor poor poor thing... glad you are in recovery though, even if it is slow. lots of :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: to you.

Shed, well done on the lite n easy.. the meals actually look delicious! speaking of food, i am actually craving bread and butter pudding!

umm nothing new here, i forgot to say mya's cousin pushed her over, flat on her face on floorboards - she got a bloody nose :crying: .. then she got chased, and pushed in the back, face first into tiles.. but the dora couch saved her! thank goodness..

biscotti
31-10-2007, 10:34
ha ha, this made me smile.

Normal is boring. Weird is much more fun although I always prefer the term "quirky"

I hope you and Miss Tilly Rainbow, have a wonderful wonderful birth noosa!! Its so exciting. I can't believe you have made two whole new people in the time that the rest of us have made one (and some have made one and a bit). That's awe inspiring... amazing! What an over achiever, lol!

Its going to be great. A newborn, oh how scrumptious. I miss those days. I miss the baby days so much, even though the toddler is so beautiful and funny and so much fun. Oh the baby was delightful. It went so fast. Nobody told me it would go SO fast.

Shed, thank you, you made me smile during my little self indulgent attack of the miseries yesterday, and you are so right, it is going to be great ...there is nothing like a newborn. I think I was losing sight of the big picture, you know, that after the birth (no matter how it happens) we are going to have this precious new little life to love...you made me remember that.
I think too, I was feeling a bit blerk because I am 40 next week (*gasp* 40, how on earth can I be 40??!!??)

Missie - he has read everything I have given him about water births, I think (for him) it's because we don't know anybody else who has had a water birth (mind you, most of our friends finished having their families years ago :o ), I'm sure if everyone was doing it then he would be on the bandwagon with me. What I think he doesn't get, is that at the hospital that I am going to (after months of research when I was first pregnant with C), water birth is normal, in fact more babies are born in water at this hospital than any other way, it's a leader in it's field, women come from all over Australia to have their babies there.

And Beany, you are right too, when he is pregnant, then he can choose how he wants to give birth, and I will fully support him with what ever choice he makes :D . Tilly Rainbow Serendipity Peace-Dove however is having a water birth (well things going to plan anyway).

Because I'm feeling a bit grrr, I have just sent him an email saying that I grabbed the ph no of a midwife who does homebirths from a friend at school this morning who had a homebirth last year (and believe me, in our circle that was considered to be very weirdy beardy) and that if he would prefer me not to have a water birth, I am perfectly happy to have Tilly at home instead - that will freak him out :devil6: Ha!

Mama Anne - soooo pleased for you :hugs:

Uniquey - be easy on yourself, you really have had a bad run. (I have run out of smiley faces, but sending you more cyber flowers!!)

Munchy - ooooh, what other skeletons do you have in your closet??!!:laughing: I didn't know you could do weight watchers online, I'll have to have a look as I am as a big as a house and I just have that feeling that this baby weight won't be dropping off too quickly :o

Have a great day everyone,
Noosamum XX

missie_mack
31-10-2007, 11:42
in fact more babies are born in water at this hospital than any other way, it's a leader in it's field, women come from all over Australia to have their babies there.

Its funny, years ago the hospital got a bad rep. Nice to see things have changed :yes: I have a cousin who moved there for a surgery change and really should could have gone anywhere she wanted... highly educated and achieving family that one. She has a sister who works at the Victor Chang Institute and both her parents are Drs too. Her father also teaches at UNSW. Makes the rest of us look a little simple though :laughing:

biscotti
31-10-2007, 12:46
Its funny, years ago the hospital got a bad rep.

I'm going to Selangor :) Missie, Nambour Hosp still has a bad rep :yes: (oh and no water births at Nambour allowed)

missie_mack
31-10-2007, 12:59
Ahhh it all makes sense now :o

Been doing your bit for breast cancer Noosa and eating the pink timtams like last time?? :)

I will bring the bubbly online for your 40th next week if someone else will prepare some nibblies??

biscotti
31-10-2007, 13:06
Been doing your bit for breast cancer Noosa and eating the pink timtams like last time?? :)

Oh you have a good memory MM and errr...yes :o it's the least I can do :o :laughing:

MZmama
31-10-2007, 13:12
I will bring the bubbly online for your 40th next week if someone else will prepare some nibblies??

I'll organise some online nibblies, maybe do some cheese platters (minus camembert and any other naughty cheeses).. and some sweets..

is someone able to make an online birthday cake, with 40 candles of course :p ?

mumstar
31-10-2007, 14:43
hi guys

prehandover went really well... a few things to fix, wait for the money to clear and we will be in!

Got a new mobile phone today too... had to coz noah threw mine in the toilet!!! i cant believe it!

mama anne, really glad the ultrasound went well!

so what time and date are we all to be online for noosa's 40th bday party! hehehe! sounds like fun!
heres the cake (http://www.costacakes.com/images/birthday40th2.jpg)

mum_I'm_hungry
31-10-2007, 14:58
Oh, mumstar. How nice of you to bake! ;)

Am doing my bit at the moment eating the pink m&ms. Bought some for Ivy's 4th b'day cake and, of course, ate the packet within 48 hours. Whoops. Hopefully this packet will last till the cake is iced! :laughing:

Teddy is throwing some super tanties! Had a great one today because he wanted a banana instead of his lunch... it's so hard not to laugh at him. He really gets into it -- head down, in a ball on the floor and everything...

mum_I'm_hungry
31-10-2007, 19:11
So Teddy has a new word today. It sounds something like Bee-atch. He had another tanty about a banana this afternoon and then started chanting 'Nana, bee-atch! Nana bee-atch!'. Um. No. No way are you getting one now, kid! :laughing:

missie_mack
31-10-2007, 19:18
Maybe he is trying to say Nanna :D :laughing:

mum_I'm_hungry
31-10-2007, 19:22
:laughing: Nanna would be his great-grandmother -- who is now 88. And she would take him on for saying that, believe me!!!

Fairyfloss
31-10-2007, 21:06
emandmya sending :hugs: for you and mya poor little darling, hope she is better

Shed, what did you have today, I have never tried the tortills before, so ordered some today based on your recomandation. keep up the good work:thumbsup:
Munchy :yelclap: well done you go girl

scarlett_jasper how is you MS going, settlled down yet?
noosa: wow the big 40, I think we should celebrate with a :babydust2: I will arrange fire works
mumstar cute cake, cyber cake are so good to eat 000 calories, and I am glad our prehand over went well
Alli the pink mm are they part of the breast cancer range?

OMG Elena bites, I mean she does it delibrately, I was trying to get a stone off her hand (which she was trying to eat) and she sunk her teeth as deep as she could in to my hand, so I would let go, :shame: I felt sorry for her being so angry, but more sorry for myself for having a ferral child
had a speciallist appointment today, now I need to do lots of test couple of ultrasounds, an endoscopy and possibly another surgery, I will soon turn into a walking sieve, :banghead: I am not having a good week at all arrg

biscotti
01-11-2007, 09:37
You know what?
I never really swear, not on here and not in RL but.................

OMFG OMFG OMFG

It's November!!!!

*swoons*

mum_I'm_hungry
01-11-2007, 10:05
Yikes! What's your actual due date, Noosa? I can't believe you're going to get to see Tilly Cinnamon Leaf Rainbow Sunshine Moon soon! Are you getting excited yet? I bet she will just be the sweetest baby ever and as soon as she arrives, you'll know exactly why this was such a good idea after all.

That's strange about all the opposition to the water birth. I mean, it's just a bit of water, isn't it?! What's weird about that? Maybe you could tell everyone the bear skin rug on the grass was already booked out!

Beany
01-11-2007, 11:48
Everybody calm down.

CALM DOWN!!!

Everyone else, start boiling water!!

mum_I'm_hungry
01-11-2007, 12:28
I've got the towels!

Ooohhh, Beany, while you're at it, make us a cuppa, darl! :laughing:

missie_mack
01-11-2007, 12:32
Look I will make the cuppas and pop the coffee machine on

BUT

only if Ivy is willing the share her cake

Tell her I have some lovely candy to swap her for a slice... just don't mention it is natures candy left over from giving the kids who knock on your door for halloween.
Yes I am mean :devil6: I love the look on their face when you give them saltanas and tell them it is natures candy :laughing:

mum_I'm_hungry
01-11-2007, 12:37
Missie, you are pure Halloween evil. Nature's candy. Did they leave any sort of 'natural' deposit on your front doorstep?!

Ivy's cake. OMG. What a debacle. The cake itself was fine -- Donna Hay simple vanilla cake. Yum. But the icing. :no: I tried to ice it last night when the weather was going haywire (really humid) and the butter kind of separated in the icing and went all weird. I had to scrape it off this morning (and all the pink and white m&ms, yep, Flossie, breast cancer ones!) and start again. Had to do a Betty Crocker icing quick fix and bung on some tiny pink and white lolly butterflies. It turned out okay in the end! But, oh, the agony of it all! She is actually four on Saturday, but her best friend Elana is only at kindy on Thursdays, so she wanted to take the cake today (how cute).

Off to the beach for a week on Saturday, so will be gone for a bit...

lilbugalugs
01-11-2007, 13:22
Oh my gosh is it almost baby time already?? Wow

Ali - I love that cake, but also feel your pain...it is never as easy as you imagine!!!

Yup, Riley bites also and has done since he was quite little...he will come up and give you a cuddle and a bit of a nip on the leg (it really makes you jump) I think that he just does it in excitement, but there are also times (like yesterday) when it is more than that. Erin had to go to playgroup sporting a large bite mark (teeth marks and all) on her arm...her fault because she was trying to steal his toy :hair: He is really getting his own back!!!

mum_I'm_hungry
01-11-2007, 15:13
OMG. Have just done a very freaky ambo run to the hospital with Ivy. They called one from daycare because she was doubled over on the floor in pain just screaming her head off and couldn't get up, walk etc.. They called me to come and see her, but started to get really worried before I got there and called the ambulance. When I got there, she was still going, on and off. Spasm-y kind of pain. Of course, it was all gone before we reached the hospital (the desired outcome, but always embarrassing!). Had a few more small pains at the hospital and then nothing. She started running around as normal and asking for crackers and juice :rolleyes: and generally being her very well obnoxious almost four-year-old self, so we came home.

Maybe it was the cake?

Ah well, everyone safe at home now and watching dreadful Nemo, which is the main thing!

littlepickle
01-11-2007, 15:34
Oh Alli, how awfull for you, and of course for poor Ivy!!! I am so glad that she is ok now. Did they know what the problem was? I reckon thats got to be a worse nightmare type thing, to get a call like that from Childcare. Poor you:hugs: sending a double choccy browny your way. I hope Ivy is alright:hugs:

mum_I'm_hungry
01-11-2007, 15:45
:wave: Thanks! She's doing just great on the couch now, so all is good here again... phew. Not sure what the problem was, but it was the wrong side for appendix or anything and was definitely gastro. She'd eaten all morning, devoured cake with the rest of them, but had just done a normal poo (TMI?!) when it all happened (doubled over after that). Really strange, but will just watch her and see how we go. If we'd stayed at the hospital they would have ended up doing bloods etc. and it all would have probably ended up just as traumatic as the tummy and found nothing, so may as well just keep a close eye on her here and run back if there are any flare ups.

Gah!

A little bit funny, though as most of the parents in the kids a&e were in the same boat with kids looking just fine during their 'therapeutic wait' (a bit of waiting weeds out the not so sick ones, it seems!). We got the eye a bit because we looked tres sick when we came in -- two ambos and Dave in scrubs (he was upstairs in theatre, so just came down when we got there) -- and within minutes she was doing the crackers and juice line. Ah well, always good to make an entrance, hey?!

Beany
01-11-2007, 15:51
Oh Alli! You poor thing! And Ivy too, of course, but she seems nonplussed by the whole thing.

Maybe it was all a ploy for the end result. She got the crackers and juice, right? :p

mum_I'm_hungry
01-11-2007, 16:02
It wouldn't surprise me! She is quite the little foodie. I do feel a tiny bit guilty as we've been testing a theory out this week that it's pears that make her gassy and give her a bloated tummy. She's been eating a lot of them (well, two a day), so we might cut that back a bit before the poor child pops!

missie_mack
01-11-2007, 16:08
I was thinking gas too Alli. And boy does it hurt. The fond memories I have from early pregnancy as I am generally a non gassy person (or is that TMI :laughing: ) I read somewhere that slippery elm is meant to help that but I dunno if its suitable for kids etc.

Sounds like a awful afternoon but it would have been amusing to see the jealous faces of the other parents when it looked like a surgeon came to meet you both at the door.
Hope things improve for your holiday and you all have a great time!!

MountainGirl
01-11-2007, 17:31
Ali,...that's terrible! My brother used to get cramps like that if he drank soft drink,..the sphincter in the top of his stomach would shut off and his tummy would blow up with the gas,...he'd roll around for 30mins or so, in agony, then the muscle would relax and he would be fine,......

My friends son also does the same thing with bananas,...

anyway :hugs: :hugs:

shed
01-11-2007, 17:42
Alli: you poor thing!! I hope she is better now and its not the start of something awful.

Well, we had an interesting day. DP took the day off, which I hate, so I tortured him. I made him change nappies and bath the baby and then I made him take him shopping with him to get groceries (I am on the Lite n Easy so he had to go and get his food for the week so he could cook it for himself :devil6: ).

Before he left I made him promise to strap bubby in to the trolley. I made him look me in the eye and promise to make sure the strap was tight, not just a token gesture. I said that babies fall out of trolleys sometimes and usually land on their heads, so I went on an on about it a bit because I wanted to be sure he would do it. Its one of my 'paranoias'.

So anyway, here's the freaky bit. when he got home I decided to go shopping too, so I took bubby and off we went. When we were sitting in the food court (having a caramel latte, not strictly 'on the diet' but oh well) I saw a baby FALL OUT OF A TROLLEY!! :eek: :yes:

It happened about thirty metres away from me. He looked about 15 months old, a little chinese baby, and he LANDED ON HIS HEAD :yes: :eek:

I couldn't believe my eyes. I swear this is a true story.

He wasn't strapped in and he just leaned over and then hit the deck.

Everyone gathered round, it was very LOUD and caused quite a commotion. I went to feed bubby in the parents room and when I got out I could see people still talking about it.

I still can't believe it.

Freaky.

Freaky.

Beany
01-11-2007, 18:11
Poor kid. Let's hope he still knows maths.

I like when Noodle takes the day off for exactly those reasons: I can make him change nappies and take Asher out while I have a lie in a faff about all day. Tis most excellent :D

He has, however, taken the entire month of December off. My New Years resolution may have to be to find Asher a new daddy :laughing:

Talking of Asher, I have to take him to see a paed soon. His left leg is a bit bowed. It isn't giving him any trouble, he's running around happy as Larry, climbing everything in sight and so forth but it just looks a bit wrong and I don't want it turning into a big deal later on.

We talked to the doctor on the phone and he said that it's all perfectly normal, lots of kids get it and outgrow it by the time they are four but I'm paranoid and sad now. I saw it a while ago and ignored it deliberately because he was my boy and perfect so if his leg was like that, it was normal and perfect. But I knew it wasn't really. I feel bad for having left it this long. Not that I could have done anything about it but mother guilt and logic - never the twain shall meet.

*munchkin*
01-11-2007, 20:43
I'm sure Asher will be fine Beany - they are still only little tiny people (babies) so I'm sure they can correct anything that needs correcting.

Alli - Poor widdle Ivy. Glad to hear she is ok now, and she had the smarts to see what she could get out her trip to the hospital! I would have gone for some lollies myself...:)

I'll organise some online nibblies, maybe do some cheese platters (minus camembert and any other naughty cheeses).. and some sweets..

is someone able to make an online birthday cake, with 40 candles of course ?
I'll make cupcakes, and a special one with a BIG 4 and a 0 on it. Would you like it with pink icing and a teddy bear on it too Noosa? I won't put 40 candles on because it might burn this whole thread down :D

Noosa - how incredibly exciting that OUR little Tilly Ethereal Moonstar Earthchild will be born soon! Yay! I never understood the whole water birth thing, but now I think it's a great idea. Being in the shower was by far the best thing whilst in labour - so soothing and took away the pain. Go for it!

Mumstar - glad the handover went well. Yay!

So tomorrow we have Pirates and Fairies day at Em's daycare. Too funny. Can't BELIEVE we are into dress-ups already. I feel so...so...OLD! And...mumsy! I love the whole mother bit, but I'm just really not ready for the whole dress-ups costume thing. It's much more daunting for me than a poo-eating episode.
Luckily a lovely lady at work who happened to overhear me freaking out lent me a gorgeous little pink ballerina dress which is IDGY WIDGY SQUIDGY CUTE!!!!!!! So adorable. I'll take lots of pics and post some. I found out that this lady's baby was born 5 days before Em! I immediately bonded with her of course, her being an August Mum and all!

Oh - they told me they have given up trying to teach her to use the spoon :laughing: :laughing: . Boy did I laugh! "I toooooold you soooooooo"

biscotti
01-11-2007, 21:28
Let's just drop the Tilly altogther, I'm quite enjoying Rainbow Moon Child Cinnamon Leaf Peace Dove Serendipity :D

Alli - my EDD is Nov 20 so about 3 wks to go. And my god, what an afternoon you've had :eek: Glad everything is more settled now, holy moly!

And yes, yes, yes I want cupcakes, bubbly (well it's cyber bubbly so I can have that :rolleyes: ), nibblies, fireworks (thanks Parisa!), cheese platters and everything you've got :D hahahaha

Beany - you might find that it self corrects, Miss 7 had a turned foot and it self corrected by about 3 or so. You wouldn't know it now, she is so into her gym and ballet.

Shed - *eek* at the baby falling out of the trolly. Oh that poor Mum, I bet her heart is still in her throat.

Munchy - dress ups for toddlers, goodness, how cute, we want pics! Laughing at the spoon thing btw!

Noosamum XX

MZmama
02-11-2007, 07:08
oh alli - how scary.. i am so glad ivy is ok and was fine even at the hospy, how cute, crackers and juice! does wind pain run in your family? it runs in mine, i missed most of it thank goodness but i know my mum/sisters have trouble

i wouldnt worry to much beany.. a friends daughter has a turned in ankle, she took her to a podiatrist and was told it would correct itself over time, so im sure its the same for asher - these kids are amazing creatures!

on the other hand - i HATE when DF has a day off.. he wont change nappies, nor do anything extra then he does on a normal (which is nothing), and thinks a day off warrants him to sleep on the couch and laze.. pfft men :rolleyes:

oh and shed, how horrible.. thats any mothers worst nightmare.. is the bubby ok?

not much happening here.. oh, mya ate dog food yesterday - eekk.. i was feeding her salami, so i thought she had it.. but nope, she helped herself to the lovely blue bowl on the ground :eek: :barf: .. this is after she WOULDNT eat dinner.. kids.. :laughing:

Fairyfloss
02-11-2007, 11:17
Alli: oh you poor dal, it must have been so scray, glad all is good now:hugs:

shed[/b];2058780] (I am on the Lite n Easy so he had to go and get his food for the week so he could cook it for himself ).
I like your assertiveness, I would e forbideen to do Lite n easy if I do that. btw the tortilla stack ws nice thanks fo recomanding (although it was made of lavash bread and not tortila) never the less very fulling for once I felt full:thumbsup:
oh and how freaky was that accidet, hope the bub is OK
Beany: I am sure asher will be fine, does it look that way even if he is not wearing nappy, cause you know how thick nappies are, it might just be an illusion:fingerscrossed: for your appointmnet to go well

[quote=*munchkin*;2059344]
they told me they have given up trying to teach her to use the spoon . Boy did I laugh! "I toooooold you soooooooo"
don't you love the feeling:D dress up already how cute

not much happening here.. oh, mya ate dog food yesterday - eekk..
the kid knows nutrition when she sees it
ok so that might leave a bad taste in the mouth:hugs:

noosa: one jumbo firework comming right up

I hate DH staying home, (which is quite regualr, cause he is self employed) it usually means big doeses of nagging thrown around, he will help with the hose chores and the baby, but not without a grunt, and windge and constant nag, I mea nonstop, he woud even stop to draw a breath... arrg it drives me bonkers, and oh yeh, no internet, no tv, no fun, until all the work is done, which means nothing for that day.

missie_mack
02-11-2007, 11:19
Aww Flossy you really dont seem happy in your marriage at the moment :hugs: I hope things improve and perhaps you both can reach a happy medium to make things more pleasant for everyone.

cheekypossum
02-11-2007, 13:25
:banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

My periods returned today............................................. .................................................. .................................................. ............... just had to get that off my chest.

Beany
02-11-2007, 13:56
Tash: my heart bleeds. Lucky cow! Mine came back a few weeks after the lochial bleeding! Count yer blessings! :p :hugs:

Well we just got back from meeting the divine Ms Raf. You know, someone mentioned recently the belief that breastfeeding a child to sleep all the time and being constantly with them would make said child all shy, clingy and reserved. Poor Raf damned near had a new mouth to feed as Asher moulded himself to her, grabbed her hand and went off without a backward glance at me :eek:

Little sod!

Meant to begin work on dissertation. Noodle came home early so I could go to the library. Secretly looking at the Hoyts website to see what movies are on ... shhh! :D

missie_mack
02-11-2007, 13:59
Whats the new Cate Blanchett one called?? It could almost be studying. Its historical and it has a written screen play :p

mum_I'm_hungry
02-11-2007, 14:36
Gah! Can't remember everything I have to say now.

Beany, I'm sure Asher's leg will be fine, but definitely get it checked out if you're worried. Who knew such little people could cause such worry?

Hey Tash. You seem to have been missing for a bit. And where is Jessi? :detective:

Flossie, a tip for your other half... 'happy wife, happy life'. All men should know this one!

Well. I think I got mummy judged this morning! I'm sure they didn't mean it that way (maybe... :rolleyes:), but Ivy's centre director and a couple carers told me they hope they could be as 'calm' as me if something happened to one of their kids similar to what Ivy went through yesterday. They seemed surprised I wasn't freaking out and crying etc.. Which I think is kind of weird. I mean, if your kid's in serious pain, you can't be freaking out and crying, can you? You have to be there for them! Anyway, I was busy freaking out about where the ambulance was and trying to get her to tell me where it hurt. So now I am the centre's token unfeeling b!tch. :mad:

Right. Off to the beach for some r&r. No palm trees, so will use this tree instead! :xmastree: :D

Beany
02-11-2007, 18:27
See? No heart at all. Her daughter nearly DIES and she goes off on holiday! *tuts* *wags fingers* *gets head shoved firmly up own backside*

:p

raffee
02-11-2007, 20:38
Asher is gorgeous. I'd happily take him home beany. In fact, anytime you want some babysitting, you have my number.

It was great seeing you today, albeit briefly. Maybe next time we'll meet at a park, and let the boys run amok.

Mrs Potts
03-11-2007, 09:18

Alli, glad to hear Ivy's pain was short-lived. Do we get to call you Gina-hard-faced-b!tch now? :laughing:

Em - glad I'm not the only cruel mumma who puts a hairy horn on top of her DD's head. Dough thinks I'm mean when I give Miss K a top-knot, but it's so darn cute!

Hope everyone else is well. Not much news from here. The weather is overcast and gloomy - which matches my mood perfectly lately. Or maybe the weather gave up on trying to be sunny and happy 'cos it couldn't compete with the never-ending gloom eminating from my house...

MZmama
03-11-2007, 10:30
Em - glad I'm not the only cruel mumma who puts a hairy horn on top of her DD's head. Dough thinks I'm mean when I give Miss K a top-knot, but it's so darn cute!

i think its SO darn cute too, so she gets one all the time, and some days she gets the top knot, and two piggy tails at the back!!

i got a sleep in today - 10.30 aaahhhh, i feel refreshed! :yes:

mumstar
03-11-2007, 11:16
hi guys just popping in quickly... we get so busy when troy is home... i will catch up on the post later!

we are off to watch the redbull air race today! packing up a picnic and heading into town... i hope noah has a big sleep now though so he is not a cranky bum all day! is any one else's babies starting to cut down there nap time? noah seems to be sleeping for shorter and shorter amounts of time during the day these days.

hope you all have great weekends!

Uniquey
03-11-2007, 12:29
OMG Uniquey you poor thing!! I hope you feel better soon! what an ordeal you poor little darling! I can't believe they took so long to find out what it was! that is insane.

:hugs: Shed, yes, when you're in excruciating pain it's certainly not helpful when they take days to find out what's wrong with you. They suspected appendicitus as soon as they saw me in the ward, but took another day to find out for sure! The Doctors did mention that in terms of women with abdominal pain etc, they like to rule out 'women problems' first such as a cyst on the ovary, STDs etc before appendix.

Uniquey
03-11-2007, 12:34
:wave: Everyone, MrsPotts, sorry to hear you're feeling gloomy, is there something in Canberra's water at the moment:thumbsdown: I'm starting to wonder, now I have Miss A in the wars. She was excitedly following after her Daddy on the tiles, slipped, heard a big thud, her head smacked on the tiles and she cut open her chin. Ahhhh!! DH has gone away for the weekend on his Motorbike, so now I am going to be worried sick all weekend until he returns here safely.

Mrs Potts
03-11-2007, 13:24
Hey Em - I've just changed my avatar so our girls can be 'horned' together!:D

Monique - thanks for the thoughts. Hope Miss A is OK, and that you're doing better. :hugs:

MZmama
03-11-2007, 14:48
Hey Em - I've just changed my avatar so our girls can be 'horned' together!:D

:smiliedance: so so so cute!! my DF actually likes the horn, so im in luck there!

mya keeps finding the toilet brush - and when i am busy i dont know she has it, until i see her flash past a doorway with it.. eeeewww, groooossss :barf: :barf: :barf:

missie_mack
03-11-2007, 15:29
Oh James has become a fan the last week or so. We now have to perch ours on the window sill for the neighbours to see :thumbsdown:

Uniquey
03-11-2007, 15:35
Missie, that's exactly where our toilet brush now lives, perched on the window sill for all the neighbourhood to see!

Our house is turning into a fortress, we have cable ties and kiddy locks on every cupboard, drawer, hutch. Another favourite pastime of Miss A's is to open the drawers in her room and pull out EVERY one of her lovely ironed clothes! She did this to Dh a lot whilst I was in Hospital apparently!

Em and Erica, loving the 'horned' girls, too cute!

Beany
03-11-2007, 15:37
I gave Asher a horn a week or so ago. Which was what actually prompted the shearing of the locks yesterday :( Gone is Mr Alfalfa Boy and we've ushered in the era of Marine Lad. He looks so grown up! I'm so sad about it! I miss his mohawk!

:(

missie_mack
03-11-2007, 15:44
Beany you will have to change the av now lol

Uniquey- Oh I know what you mean. We had this two hook job for the cupboards whose handles are close-ish and he snapped it.
All photo frames now removed from shelves and he is dead keen to sit on my ergonomic stool-y thingo for the computer lol

biscotti
03-11-2007, 16:04
:laughing: I actually bought an extra toilet brush for C to carry around :laughing:

Shed - if you are around or anyone else who had a doula.
Can I ask what you paid - does this sound about right (I have no idea as you can see).

Basic Doula Service - $750

2 visits before your due date
Phone and email support 24/7
Support during labour and birth
1 visit after birth

Noosamum xx

shed
03-11-2007, 16:05
Yeah, noosa that sounds about right.

biscotti
03-11-2007, 16:08
Ah Shed, there you are, excellent thank you :)

Mrs Potts
03-11-2007, 19:52
I gave Asher a horn a week or so ago.

Is it just my filthy, immature mind, or should Beany edit this post?? :o

I must be such a horrible mummy. 99% of the time Miss K is imprisoned in the lounge/dining room. Fenced off from the rest of the house by inpenetrable (sp?) baby gates. Until she figures out how to climb them or open them. One or the other is bound to happen any day now. I'm too lazy to baby-proof the entire house. So no toilet brush for Miss K. Am I depriving her??

*munchkin*
03-11-2007, 21:26
So no toilet brush for Miss K. Am I depriving her??

Yes Mrs P. She'll be scarred for life. Same as Emily because nasty Mummy won't let her climb over the back of the couch, head-first onto the floor:rolleyes: . Or base jump off the change table.

Fairyfloss
03-11-2007, 21:31
mya keeps finding the toilet brush - and when i am busy i dont know she has it, until i see her flash past a doorway with it.. eeeewww, groooossss

I changed my brush to a non brush type, its called DUCK fresh brush, and it has flaushable pads that you use to clean the toilet, then simply flush teh head, the reminder is just a bit of plastic, that can be washed and folded away safly. it is not as economical as a the older types, but it does not have as many germs. (I spray it with bleach, every every use)

Another favourite pastime of Miss A's is to open the drawers
oh god tell me about it DD does this all the time, except we keep more than cloths in our drawers, and has become an out right hazard. I have sticky tape some of the worst ones, (like today she found my nail polish remover, and manged to opened the cap, lucky she did it in front of DH so he stopped her :hair: from drinking it. I need to find some sort of latch for them haven't seen any yet, so the sticky tape will have to do for now, (although all the varnishes are coming off:thumbsdown: )

We had this two hook job for the cupboards whose handles are close-ish and he snapped it.
I have given up on those I now use a elastic loop made out of the thin long ballons, (4 folds) it is hard to her, to do anything with it. (mind you replacing all the broken ones was very costly, I had to fit 15 pairs of door)

I must be such a horrible mummy. 99% of the time Miss K is imprisoned in the lounge/dining room.
hehehe join the cluc I do that too, depriving them from toilet brushes is no that bad after all.;)

Beany: Can we have a look at the grown up Asher pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaase
Mrs potts and EM : love the "horns" so cute, what do you use to tie it up?

I am such a bad mum,we were showing our new house to the outlws, I got out of teh car first to open teh door, and did not relise DH has left DD sleeping in the car, I came back oh max 5 minutes later, to a screaming baby who was drawing in sweat. poor thing I feel so bad, I could have lost her, :banghead: then every one is screaming at me, I do feel guity, but I think they were just as guilty for leaving her there with out even pulling any of teh windows down

Beany
04-11-2007, 01:02
Is it just my filthy, immature mind, or should Beany edit this post?? :o

I must be such a horrible mummy. 99% of the time Miss K is imprisoned in the lounge/dining room. Fenced off from the rest of the house by inpenetrable (sp?) baby gates. Until she figures out how to climb them or open them. One or the other is bound to happen any day now. I'm too lazy to baby-proof the entire house. So no toilet brush for Miss K. Am I depriving her??

Absolutely filthy, dirty, immature mind. Just like mine :o I actually deleted that line, re-wrote it, deleted it again and then thought "ah they're all mothers! They wouldn't think THAT!"

Didn't bank on Ms Tongue-Stud and her gutter brain popping up :p

Asher had a chew of the toilet brush a while ago when I was in the shower. Ickity ickity ick. Other than that, we've been brush free and he's locked into the living room unless I am within a few feet of him. I can't baby-proof most of the stuff here so I just stuff-proof Asher.

We have the toilet duck thing too, Flossy but I can't seem to find any refills for it. Having got rid of the ordinary brush, I am now reduced to donning the marigold gloves and diving in with a bottle of bleach and some Viva paper towels.

I'll post a picture of Marine Boy tomorrow :) Too late to look for cables and things now. I'm sorry to hear about poor little Elena being left in the car but don't blame yourself. These things happen and they'd have happened a damned sight less if your husband hadn't been just nagging all the time instead of helping.

So really, when it comes down to it, it's his fault! :mad: :laughing:

MountainGirl
04-11-2007, 07:08
:wave: Hi all,... just popped in to say that I went to the premier of Ricki Lakes doco "The business about being born" with my hippy homebirthing cronies last night,...and it was brilliant,... you should try and see it,.... a real eye opener,.

MZmama
04-11-2007, 08:09
Our house is turning into a fortress, we have cable ties and kiddy locks on every cupboard, drawer, hutch. Another favourite pastime of Miss A's is to open the drawers in her room and pull out EVERY one of her lovely ironed clothes! She did this to Dh a lot whilst I was in Hospital apparently!

We are quite lucky here.. no baby proofing has really been done.. other than ensuring toilet/bathroom doors are closed. everything else she only does rarely, like every now and again she'll want to pull all the dvd's out the stand, or open the drawer/door on the entertainment unit... we do have an older kitchen, so the cupboards are hard to open and i spose she isnt strong enough yet!

I gave Asher a horn a week or so ago. Which was what actually prompted the shearing of the locks yesterday :( Gone is Mr Alfalfa Boy and we've ushered in the era of Marine Lad. He looks so grown up! I'm so sad about it! I miss his mohawk!

oh how gorgeous, a few friends of mine cut their lil boys hair early, and they just looked SO SO adorable.. such lil handsome men. cant wait to see Asher donning his new do..

Mrs potts and EM : love the "horns" so cute, what do you use to tie it up?

They look like Braces bands, like tiny elastic bands (about the size of my finger), but they are for her, and especially designed for baby girl hair!! well little girl hair i suppose.. $2 for HEAPS from the cheapo shop.. have a look around there.. if you cant find any, i can send you a packet..

bit tired here this morning.. got to bed at 1ish, and mya slept till 7.. so i got a decent amount of sleep, will just need extra coffee today!!

wattle
04-11-2007, 19:51
Hi girls, just thought I'd pop in for a super quick hello. I have been so ridiculously busy lately. I'm back doing quite a lot of music gigs so every spare moment is taken up with learning songs and making outrageous madonna costumes and silly little cheerleader outfits for when we sing Mickey. "Oh Mickey you're so fine, you're so fine you blow my mind, Hey Mickey".......c'mon hands up, who remembers that one?

Little Steph is so pleased with herself now that she is walking confidently. She breaks into a little run every now and then, then goes 'thud' on her bum, then up and into another little jog. It's so cute. She's become addicted to the bath now too and screams absolute blue murder when I take her out. Anyone else's bub doing that? The tanties have gone up a notch too lately, plenty of kicking and screaming - the whole works. They're still very cute little tanties though compared to Max's......or maybe it's just that she can't kick me quite as hard as he does in his boots. ouch.

Noos - love the avatar! What a gorgeous photo.

missie_mack
04-11-2007, 21:26
Wattle I was only thinking of you yesterday! How is Stephs toilet training going??
We were so pleased yesterday James did his first 'wee wee' on the potty- although granted its a long journey ahead. So yes I was curious how Steph was going.. although I am sure little boys can be tougher to train from what I have been told.

Beany
04-11-2007, 22:21
... you've started toilet training already? :eek:

We're nowhere near even thinking about starting that. He pooed in the bath again the other day. His father was acting like a little girl because he had to scoop the poo out to chuck into the toilet. I, meanwhile, had Asher out of the bath, cleaned the bath and started to fill it again while I washed the toys in the sink. Just as his father was clean enough to stop going "yuckyuckyuck", Asher walked past him and pee-ed on his foot :laughing:

*munchkin*
05-11-2007, 07:13
:laughing: That's priceless Beany!!

I cannot believe you are toilet training yet!! I am leaving that up to the daycare people. I see that as a big bonus of daycare! That, and teaching Em to use a spoon :D

Wattle - we are starting to have the tanties here too, particularly when we get her out of the bath. I'm wondering whether the whole 'relaxed baby makes nightmare toddler' thing might be going to happen here. hmmm.....

Guess what? I won a flight yesterday! :smiliedance: How cool is that? I was chuffed. Don't know where I'll go yet - it's valued up to $499, so we could get ourselves pretty far! It's fun just to think about where we could go.

biscotti
05-11-2007, 08:59
Morning :wave:

Interesting night here, after a sort of "show" in the late afternoon, I had contractions that started at about 20 mns aprt at 8pm and by 1 am were 10 mins apart. By 2 am I couldn't speak through them but they started to drop off by 3 am and now at 9 am, they have stopped altogther. DH has gone to work looking a bit bleary eyed.

C is now asleep and I'm off to see if I can sleep too :sleeping:

BOIL THE WATER!!!

Noosamum XX

biscotti
05-11-2007, 09:01

MZmama
05-11-2007, 09:10
OMG :eek:

Noosa - whats going on? you sleeping, you in labour, or still subsided... HOW EXCITING!!!

:smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Good luck - thinking of you.. let us know.. xxx

Beany
05-11-2007, 09:31
OMG!

Yay!!

Someone get the catcher's mitt ready!

AND WHERE'S THAT BLOODY WATER?!

All the best Noos. Come on now, pantpantpant breeeeaaaaattttthhhhheeeee pantpantpant ...

Mrs Potts
05-11-2007, 09:44
Ooooh Noosa!!! How exciting that things could be happening! :eek::D

I'll be expecting an sms when there's any news!

MountainGirl
05-11-2007, 10:01
Noos!!!!!!!! How exciting,.... how scary,.... but how exciting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Come on down Tilly-boo!:hugs: :smiliedance:

biscotti
05-11-2007, 10:17
Thanks all.....it's all gone quiet now though, nothing for ages and ages.
I've got this sudden energy spurt though and just cleaned both bathrooms (ha! nesting finally kicking in :laughing: )

But on the baby front, all gone very very quiet.

:o

Noosamum xx

Take the kettle off the boil!

missie_mack
05-11-2007, 10:19
Oooh Noosa how exciting!! :D If you didnt already I bet you are packing your bags now lol

Umm toilet training. Not really formal toilet training just giving it a go and if it doesnt work out thats cool IYKWIM He is just fascinated with going to the toilet. Runs to it if he knows someone is going and wants to know what we are doing (which is a bit too much for me to deal with really lol) and he seems to know when he is about to go when he is in the bath. So yeah we thought we would buy the potty and see how it goes :o

missie_mack
05-11-2007, 10:20
Damn braxton hicks are just cruel sometimes. I would have them for a whole day or all night and then they would suddenly stop....
But its still all go from here Noosa :smiliedance:

littlepickle
05-11-2007, 10:43
Water Boiled ..............Check :thumbsup:
towels ...................... Check :thumbsup:
Twine ....................... Check:thumbsup: (btw whats that for?)

OMG:eek: How exciting Noos!!! Wow, the next gereration of August bubs is on the way! (almost)
Maybe tonight is the night!!!!!

Eeeeeyaaaaaaay!!!!

Pantalaimon
05-11-2007, 11:02
Hey Ladies

Im could use some help from my fellow August Mummies.

James is in need of some votes to win the Cloth Idol Competition, so come on over and vote!

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=133379

Im sure James is cute enough to win on his own but a little help is always appreciated.

Beany
05-11-2007, 14:52
I think I've gone into labour for you, Noos :(

Ah this pain brings about memories. Unfortunately, the end result won't be nearly so cute :eek: :laughing:

biscotti
05-11-2007, 17:51
I think I've gone into labour for you, Noos :(

Oh thanks Beany:laughing: , S_J had a her hand up for the job but I'm sure she won't mind :D

Well had a couple of niggly pains this afternoon but nothing else so........I don't think it's going to be tonight!!

Will let you know if anything else happens, ...if nothing else, I got the bassinet out of storage today so that was one good thing to come out of a very restless/sleepless night lol!!!

Noosamum xx

MountainGirl
05-11-2007, 17:52
[quote=littlepickle;2068712]\
Twine ....................... Check:thumbsup: (btw whats that for?)
quote]

just incase Noosadad wants to cook a roast chicken whilst Noos is in labour, just like Jamie Oliver did!:laughing:

lottiesmum
05-11-2007, 17:53
oh mama noosa! sending positive powerful thoughts your way. you go girl.:thumbsup:

ooooh i'd love to see that birthing flick....hmmm will have to see if i can get down to sydney to check it out. i'm a bit torn about birth for my 3rd (not that theres any rush no one there yet!) - the nearest birthcentre is RPA (where i had the other 2 and loved it)...i think i'd have the baby in the car if i had to drive there in rush hour!

well, better get dinner on.

MountainGirl
05-11-2007, 17:57
Lottiesmum,.it was only on for one night,.. but I am trying to buy a copy out of the US,..so I'll lend it to you,....(or burn one:o If I can say that on here!)

Hey girls,. I am off to Brisvegas tomorrow (at blummin 5:30am) for a show,.and will be back Friday,.. so Mike has the kids all week!!!!! Have a great week everyone,...:wave:

biscotti
05-11-2007, 18:11
I was wondering about that twine too :laughing:

littlepickle
05-11-2007, 18:38
just incase Noosadad wants to cook a roast chicken whilst Noos is in labour, just like Jamie Oliver did!:laughing:

:laughing::laughing: Imagine that!! My dh would struggle with vegemite on toast... ooh I envy you lucky ones with hubbys that can cook!! My Dh does make a good cuppa though!

Hey Jane! Any chance of meeting us Brissy folk while you are here? Would love to meet you!

Uniquey
05-11-2007, 21:31
Noosamum, Are you still going to your Melbourne Cup function? If you are, I hope your niggly pains don't decide to surface again:eek:

Littlepickle, Did you buy the Nov 3rd New Idea?

Jane, Have fun in Brisvegas, *insert envy emoticon* here:wave:

littlepickle
05-11-2007, 22:47
Oops:eek: Nope not yet Nique, I went out today and totally forgot! I will get t tomorrow! promise:thumbsup:

Beany
05-11-2007, 23:22
Hey Monique - how are things with you? Less sore, I hope.

Noos, and you? Maybe it'll be one of those marvellous things you hear about: the painless labour :fingerscrossed: Be kind to mummy, Tilly Rainbow Peace-Dove Falula.

MZmama
06-11-2007, 08:51
My dh would struggle with vegemite on toast... ooh I envy you lucky ones with hubbys that can cook!! My Dh does make a good cuppa though!

my df cant even make a good cuppa! :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

DD slept in till 8.20 this morning!:eek: !.. i needed it after getting home at 2am from work.. but i dont know what possessed her!

SJ - do you think from the response they had about the birthing movie thingo they will replay it?

noos!?

littlepickle
06-11-2007, 13:20
Em, hope you enjoyed your lie-in! It must be pretty tiring having to work until 2am!!! How many days a week do you do that? Hope you are still enjoying your new job!

Any news on Noosa? Are you there Noos? I remember when Miss E Was due, I got so sick of people asking if anything had "happened" yet

Beany
06-11-2007, 13:27
Hee Rach, I used to tell any hapless soul that asked me that about everything that had happened up to that point: full gory details of hemorrhoids and all.

biscotti
06-11-2007, 13:35
Any news on Noosa? Are you there Noos?

Still here :wave:

Am seeing my OB in the morning so we'll see what he says. It's just niggling pains now :rolleyes:

tjfaz85 had her baby on the 4th and we had the same due date - queue jumper :laughing:

Today is the last day I can say I'm in my 30's :crying: :D

shed
06-11-2007, 13:39
I never got a chance to tell anyone anything. Little blighter came too quickly for me to get any doting attention or fussing around me. I woulda enjoyed that too :cool: . No twinges, no nuthin' until the big day.

Good luck Noosa. You guys are going to do great, I just know it. Enjoy your last-ever labour!!

Beany, I feel like I haven't seen you for ages. I have been such a hermit.

biscotti
06-11-2007, 13:40
Noosamum, Are you still going to your Melbourne Cup function?

No Uniquey, it was cancelled this morning as it was an outdoors "do" and it is pouring today in beautiful Noosa so they cancelled, not having room indoors. I hadn't really anything to wear anyway (although I was going to dress C up :D ) so we are just at home. There's a thing on at the school but all anyone ever says to me these days up at the school is "oh how long now?" and I'm just a teeny bit over that!

shed
06-11-2007, 13:40

Without lying you mean.

You can still say it :D

biscotti
06-11-2007, 13:41
Good luck Noosa. You guys are going to do great, I just know it. Enjoy your last-ever labour!!

Thanks Shed, you are so positive, thank you :thumbsup:

biscotti
06-11-2007, 13:42
Without lying you mean.

You can still say it :D

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

:yes:

Beany
06-11-2007, 15:48
Shed: I know - it's been forever since I've seen you! I still have those things I'm meant to give you. I even bought a little envelope to post them off in but I've been to afeared to stand in a post office queue in the city with Asher ... :eek:

It's study day today and I have a headache :( or should that be :D?

So am I the only one left with a kid that doesn't sleep through, still?

Beany
06-11-2007, 15:50
I hope you get a good, pain-free birthday Noos. 'Course that means that you have only 7 hours to push Tilly out. *taps watch* Well? Get on with it!

Uniquey
06-11-2007, 17:01
Hey Monique - how are things with you? Less sore, I hope.

Feeling much, much better thanks Beany. From advice of a very good friend I am taking those inner health capsules and they have worked wonders. Still so very sore in my stomach and the 3 cuts, but that's to be expected I guess. I am much more mobile thank goodness.

Don't forget to post a piccie of your little man's new do:yes:

Uniquey
06-11-2007, 17:06
No Uniquey, it was cancelled this morning as it was an outdoors "do" and it is pouring today in beautiful Noosa so they cancelled, not having room indoors. I hadn't really anything to wear anyway (although I was going to dress C up :D ) so we are just at home. There's a thing on at the school but all anyone ever says to me these days up at the school is "oh how long now?" and I'm just a teeny bit over that!

Oh well, think of the money you have saved:thumbsup: Would love to have seen Miss C dressed up though, it's been ages since we saw a pic of her.

Last day of the dirty thirties huh, I keep teasing my DH about turning the big 40 next May, meanie I am!

Uniquey
06-11-2007, 17:07
Oops:eek: Nope not yet Nique, I went out today and totally forgot! I will get t tomorrow! promise:thumbsup:

Excellent, I hope they still have that edition for sale? I can't wait to see what you think, whether you agree with me:detective:

How's life post Vanuatu, want to go back?!

Beany
06-11-2007, 18:11
Here we go!

Before (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP6695.jpg)
After (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP6715.jpg)
And again! (http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r100/Beany_bucket/IMGP6764.jpg)

amandaw
06-11-2007, 18:34
Awwwwww - I think I like the long hair too (though his cheeky eyes certainly stand out more when the eye isn't grabbed by the beautiful locks

C still hasn't had any sort of a haircut yet - I'm DEFINITELY not doing it, and I'm sure she wouldn't sit still long enough for anyone to do anything worthwhile....me though - gees I need a decent haircut - wish I was game enough to just go in and say do something funky and glam.....but then I may actually have to care more and actually do something other than pull it up in a pony tail each day :laughing:

Still here :wave:

Am seeing my OB in the morning so we'll see what he says. It's just niggling pains now :rolleyes:

Well I hope Miss Tilly gives you your birthday off! Will say a big happybirthday now, just in case i don't get on tomorrow (have our 2nd obs visit - hope all is well!)

Me - well survived camp....lots of lost sleep and ordinary food, but what else do you expect with lots of hyperactive teenagers! Had a ball though and was a bit naughty ...danced on the tables (which were all gaffer taped together, because as soon as a few of the teachers found out, it was like everyone was my parents!!), did the giant swing (only to half height because that way there was no free fall first...did run it past 3 instructors first just to be sure), but avoided surfing (figured hard board and strong waves are not a good mix).....it's amazing - there's not a chance on earth I would have even considered doing anything remotely 'risky' first time around. A great time was had by all though - who wouldn't with 4 days up at Curramundi on the beach!!!

Did tell 2 members of admin while I was on camp, and a handful of the teachers who were there, so will be interesting to see how quickly word spreads - spend most of last week in my togs, so I was sure I was busted, but not one of the kids said anything, and neither did the year 12's today... will just have to wait and see if their curiosity or my need to tell kicks in first (min you, last lesson with the 12's on Friday, so I bet I break first!)

Mrs Potts
06-11-2007, 19:45
gees I need a decent haircut - wish I was game enough to just go in and say do something funky and glam.....but then I may actually have to care more and actually do something other than pull it up in a pony tail each day :laughing:

Well I hope Miss Tilly gives you your birthday off!
I so hear you on the haircut. And I'm exactly the same on the ponytail thing too. I bought a straightener a little while ago and I just love it, but I'm so darn lazy I CBA'd with the 10 mins it takes to do it.:rolleyes:

As for Tilly arriving on Noosa's birthday - I hope she does! All the best people have their babies on their birthday - right LP? (at least, I think it's LP??)

So a big happybirthdayhappybirthday to the gorgeous Noosa for tomorrow. I'll be at work so probably won't get on. Hope you have a fabulous day! :hugs:

Beany - that Asher sure is a spunk! :yes:

Uniquey
06-11-2007, 20:16
Beany, OMG, can Asher get any more gorgeous! Those big Moo Cow brown eyes are to die for :yes:

Amanda, Good Luck with your OB visit tomorrow:thumbsup: As for hair cuts for the wee one, I wish! I think Miss A is definitely the BALDEST Augustian baby. I think all the other bubs have way more hair then she does, by far!
I have have rather fond memories of Camp Currimundi, way back when! Glad to hear you had a ball, wish I had teachers like you back in High School, would have been a hoot!!

:wave: Erica

shed
06-11-2007, 20:22
Beany, Asher looks so much like Noodle in that 'before' shot.

missie_mack
06-11-2007, 20:27
So she cut the Noodle out of him?? :eek: :laughing:

Beany
06-11-2007, 20:43
So she cut the Noodle out of him?? :eek: :laughing:

I'm working on it!

:devil6:

littlepickle
06-11-2007, 20:45
Excellent, I hope they still have that edition for sale? I can't wait to see what you think, whether you agree with me

How's life post Vanuatu, want to go back?!

Oh no!! I went to get the mag today and it was a different issue, the front cover had bec and Leighton on the front:mad: Do you have a copy that you can scan the page of?
As for Vanuatu, would love to be back there relaxing with a cocktail in hand;) Have to check out Turtle Island next!

As for Tilly arriving on Noosa's birthday - I hope she does! All the best people have their babies on their birthday - right LP? (at least, I think it's LP??)

Why thank you Mrs Potts *takes a bow* :hugs:
The good thing is that you dont officially age if you have a baby on your birthday as you never get to have a birthday of your own ever again:laughing::laughing: So Noosa, if you have Tilly Rainbow on your birthday you will remain in your thirties!! See!!:wizard:

Beany, loved the photos of Asher, like Monique said, he has the most amazing big brown cow eyes! Totally adorable! I like the new short haircut as well as the longer one. He looks so much older with the shorter hair, just like a little boy now rather than a baby.

Amandaw - Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself on camp, I used to love school camp. I bet you break and tell the Year 12's!!!
Hows the house thing coming along? DId you get that one in Petrie that you were interested in?
I hear you on the ponytail thing, thats one of the reasons I havent had my hair cut off. I am always just pulling it up into a ponytail when I am in a rush (which is most of the time)

Uniquey
06-11-2007, 20:49
Rach, I will see if I can scan the pages for you, if not, I wonder if any Mummies on here have the last New Idea edition:detective:

cheekypossum
06-11-2007, 20:56
Rach, I will see if I can scan the pages for you, if not, I wonder if any Mummies on here have the last New Idea edition:detective:

:yes: I should still have last weeks copy around here somewhere.....I could post the mag to you Rach if you wanted....or scan it....whatever is easier. My mum works at a Newsagency so I get the previous weeks but without the cover.

Great to see you back posting Monique....glad to hear that you have recovered a little.

Have bevome really slack with posting...have been coming on everyday but just don't know what to type sometimes :confused:

happybirthday to Noosa for tomorrow!!!

Will be having a quick stopover in Brisbane the weekend of Feb 29th. An american country music duo are coming to Australia and we got tickets......my sister has gotten into an OB in Townsville so after all that excitement I won't be down in May now. But Monique let me know the dates you will be there if I can get cheap flights I might be able to convince DH I need a week away ;)

LittleMissMel
06-11-2007, 21:11
Hi Guys :wave:

Thought it was about time I got into this section!!

I am Mel and I'm 24 and live on the Gold Coast. My DD Charlotte was born on 28th August and is a little terror - well she was today anyway!! I swear I'm never leaving the house again with her lol... not likely... I'm a shop-a-holic!!

Anyway... looking forward to getting to know you all and your bubs.

Going off now to get some sleep.
Speak to you all soon.

missie_mack
06-11-2007, 21:18
Hiya Mel and welcome to the thread. :wave:
I am Mummy to my little terror James!

Uniquey
06-11-2007, 21:29
:wave: Tash, Yes please, can you please send Rach the magazine or pages 110 and 111 of the Nov 3rd edition of New Idea. I will reimburse you the cost of posting etc. Thanks heaps in advance:thumbsup:
I will definitely try and be in Bris when you are, I wasn't planning on going then,I was thinking of more April/May-ish but you've inspired me to go sooner!
No doubt you're very excited about seeing Brookes and Dunn (hope I got the names right).

:wave: Mel23, Hello and Welcome!~ Mums and Shop-a-holics fit right in here:smiliedance:

littlepickle
06-11-2007, 21:36
:wave: Tash, Yes please, can you please send Rach the magazine or pages 110 and 111 of the Nov 3rd edition of New Idea. I will reimburse you the cost of posting etc. Thanks heaps in advance:thumbsup:
I will definitely try and be in Bris when you are, I wasn't planning on going then,I was thinking of more April/May-ish but you've inspired me to go sooner!

Excellent!!! Whehey! Would be great to see you both!

Tash thanks for the offer of sending/scanning the magazine pages. I was being an airhead (again) and only remembered to get the magazine on the day that the next issue came out:banghead:

Hey Mel:wave: Welcome to the thread!!!

cheekypossum
06-11-2007, 21:56
Excellent!!! Whehey! Would be great to see you both!

Tash thanks for the offer of sending/scanning the magazine pages. I was being an airhead (again) and only remembered to get the magazine on the day that the next issue came out:banghead:

Hey Mel:wave: Welcome to the thread!!!

Could you PM me your details and I will pop the pages in the mail for you tomorrow.

Welcome Mel :wave:

mumstar
06-11-2007, 22:58
happybirthdayHappy Birthday Noosa!happybirthday

So whens the party???

mumstar
06-11-2007, 22:59
hey guys

well troy went back today so i am on my own again for 2 weeks! The kids were so good today when he left... first time no tantrums fro Aiden!!

hope everyone else is good!

Uniquey
06-11-2007, 23:54
:wave: Mumstar

Uniquey
06-11-2007, 23:58
'Happy Birthday to you, happy Birthday to you, happy :babydust2: 40th:babydust2: birthday dear Noosamum, happy birthday to you. Hip, hip, hooray, hip hip, hooray:smiliedance: :yelclap: All the very best for the next 40 years and beyond. May they be filled with good health and happiness!

happybirthday Love, Uniquey and Miss A xx

Fairyfloss
07-11-2007, 00:19
Noosamum: Sending you labour vibes for a pain free, drug free, water logged, quick healing .... labour
Uniquey I am so happy you are feeling better
get well soon:hugs:

that s what I am hoping for, except, I also have teh challenge of her co-sleeping with us, my attemps at leaving her in her cot, if it does not resolve itself by teh time second bub comes around, then we will have some serious issues
Beany: How cute is Asher, he looks so grown up, and very toddler like no more baby face
amandaw: that camp sounds like fun. glad you enjoyed it, on my lazy days, my hair goes up in a bun, looks net with out even brushing (which happens quite a lot)
Mrs Potts [quote]I bought a straightener a little while ago and I just love it
lazy is me who gets a straightener for my sis so she would come and do my hair, on the occational days that I need it
littlepickle: what is in the mag, can we have a peek?
tashmusa: you lucky girl you must save a furtune not buying your mags,
mel: Hello, and wellcome to our thread, I have a little DD which turns our house into a war zone. we are in Melbourne, btw, your little miss C is so cute (assuming, the bub in your avatar is her LOL)

well troy went back today so i am on my own again for 2 weeks!
I must have missed it, where and why did he go
:wave: to missie_mack& jess and rafee & cathy (come out both of you we know you are lurking)

us:
my Dad invited us for a BBQ today, in a natioal park, DD had loads of fun, playig around, and is now sporting a slightly brused cheek, after tripping over.
the only down side, I thinks the outlaws had lemons for breky, cause they were acting so strange, a typical sour lemon, would not lift a finger, did not offer to help or bring anything,
we didn't tell them dad is bringing food, cause they didn't ask, they just assumed we would take something for all of us, they turn up empty handed in our door step yet again (not that that bothers me nothing on my shoulder I did my fair share and took drinks snags snack and rugs) but I am so glad, for once dh agreed with me that the SIL is just a plain spoil brat, and his parents are taking us for granted. (this was not their first time doig this) this might sound evil, but I a glad, dh was embaressed by their actions, it might mean him having a few word to them in private:fingerscrossed: some people are just so selfish, on the way back they were expecting me to carry 5 bags and the baby, (lucky for my dh got FIL to carry some of teh load for me) but it is the principle do I really have to ask? they were going to be driven to their home by our car, the least they could do was to help me carry the bags, not run to the car:mad: they even forced us to leave early, because MIL just decided that while mum was making tea, she is going to dress up and tell us to go home, just that no explaination, just a simple let go home in front of every one ( it was 5 in the afternoon day light saving for god sake, the sun was barely off our face :hair: )

um you know what forget about it, I had a great day that was important to me, I had not been out with my family in ages, and I did today, so I am going to let the rest become a blurry memory (except if I need to serve revenge in future:devil6: )

Fairyfloss
07-11-2007, 00:21
:smiliedance: :party: :party: Happy Birthday Noosa:party: :party: :smiliedance:

remember life starts at forthy

Fairyfloss
07-11-2007, 00:23
and here is the fire works I promissed

:babydust2: :babydust2:
:babydust2: :babydust2::babydust2:
:babydust2:

(well sort of)

MZmama
07-11-2007, 07:29
HAPPY BIRTHDAY NOOS... yay for you.. the big 40.. happybirthday .. heres the cheese platters etc i promised .. :babydust2: :wizard: :babydust2: .. if i knew how to post links of pics from the net i would!

Em, hope you enjoyed your lie-in! It must be pretty tiring having to work until 2am!!! How many days a week do you do that? Hope you are still enjoying your new job!

its ok thanks LP.. I only work monday, tuesday and friday's.. monday's is the late one, tuesday and friday we are usually outta there by 12.. so its not to bad.

Am seeing my OB in the morning so we'll see what he says. It's just niggling pains now

what did he say!?!?! btw - where was that recent belly pic you promised?

So am I the only one left with a kid that doesn't sleep through, still?

well, im proud to say mya sleeps in her cot, by herself from around 9pm to 6am.. no more 4am bottle.. and i believe it came down to a blankie thingy that smelt like me, and her thumb.. she is a massive thumb sucker, and unlike a dummy, it doesnt really fall out or off! hehe

i hope asher sleeps for you soon, and same to shed bout badey.. i know what its like.. u need some :sleeping:

beany - asher is just SO cute.. i LOVE the new 'do'...

hi mel.. look forward to seeing you around the place.. my daughter mya was born on the 25th..

missie_mack
07-11-2007, 07:43
Happy
30th
Birthday
Noosa
;)

I was going to bring a a couple of bottles of Bolli to share around but thought stuff it brought Louis Roederer instead. If your only going to have one drink you may as well make it a good one!! :D

Have a great day Noosa. Hope you get very spoilt!

shed
07-11-2007, 07:50
:babydust2: :babydust2:
Happy Birthday Noosamum!!!

:babydust2: :babydust2: :babydust2:

Beany
07-11-2007, 09:30
:party: Happy Birthday Noos! :party:

shed
07-11-2007, 09:36
OMG OMG!!

sorry to interrrupt the festivities but I need your thoughts, vibes and prayers...

(relax, its shallow, don't worry).

Remember House A?

the one that we put in an offer and it was knocked back, so we put in a higher offer which was knocked back, but we don't want to pay more because its worth what we offered? But I really really want it and can't forget about it?

The agent just rang. The owners have split up, the woman wants to see the agent tonight to talk turkey (is that just a kiwi saying? well, if it is, it means to get down to the cold hard facts over money) because she wants to sell it now.

I am not religious, but just yesterday I said to the universe that I still wanted that house. And today the agent rings.

oooh oooh, how exciting!!

Sorry, ignore me. Just getting excited. House B sold, we didn't put in an offer, we missed out on House C, and I just can't forget House A. Its been months of looking and I just can't let go of this bloody house.

missie_mack
07-11-2007, 09:38
:fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed:
:fingerscrossed:

Fairyfloss
07-11-2007, 10:50
oh shed that is great, :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: hope you get it for a great price:fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed:

littlepickle
07-11-2007, 10:57
Happy Birthday Noosa!!! happybirthday

Fairyfloss, I cant believe how selfish your nlaws were, I would have been annoyed too! At least your DH agreed with you and saw it for himself. :fingerscrossed: he will have a word with them about it. Glad you had a good day though!

Shed: Good luck with the house, it sounds as though you are meant to have that house so:fingerscrossed: it all gets sorted out in your favour soon!

Em, I did the blanket thing with Miss E when she first started sleeping in her cot. It worked really well and she isnt attached to a blankie or anything now. Another thing that helped with the transition was the musical projector that scattered stars all over the ceiling for her. She still likes to have that going when she forst goes to bed.

Tash - thanks for the magazine piccies, will PM you:hugs:

Nique - So glad to hear that you are getting better! Hows Miss A' swimming and music lessons going? I have been a bit slack and havent taken Elise for swimming lessons for about 6 weeks. She had an ear infection that wouldnt go away, and by the time it dod, we were off on holiday. I will have to get back into it methinks!

us Miss E is growing so fast, I just cant believe how much a little girls she is now, the whole baby phase seems to have gone so quickly. She is running around the place, and keeping me on my toes. The talking has gone up a level now too. She has learned so many words lately, but best of all is "I love you" she said it for the first time on Saturday and I just melted. I guess she is saying it because its something she hears a lot, but its just so cute!

biscotti
07-11-2007, 11:29
*wave*
Thank you, thank you , thank you for all the birthday wishes :kiss: Just lovely and you have all made me smile. i think I'm still in denial though ... 40:eek:

Saw my Ob this morning first thing, Tilly has decided that just for my birthday she will turn into a posterior position:crying: , so that's part of the answer to the painful contractions, and the lower back pain I have going on, etc etc etc
So now I am not in a hurry for her to be born at all, in fact I want to slow things right down to give her time to right herself because the words "longer and more painful labour" were not the words I wanted to hear today!
I posted a link last year on turning babies (I think for my3sons:confused: ) but now can't find it..who else had a posterior baby, I am sure someone else did......or who else knows some tried and true methods, or will I just google.....:confused: *panic panic*

And Shed.....I really really really want you to buy that house!!!!!!!!!!!!:fingerscrossed:

Noosamum XX

biscotti
07-11-2007, 11:33
... brought [/COLOR][COLOR=#000000][COLOR=darkorchid]Louis Roederer instead. If your only going to have one drink you may as well make it a good one!!

Excellent choice btw :)

missie_mack
07-11-2007, 11:35
Noosa the website you are looking for is called Spinningbabies if I remember right. On the plus side I read that water births are great for birthing posterior babies and :fingerscrossed: they can always turn in labour!!

Looks like Miss Tilly wants to make a big entrance to the world lol :yes:

It was me that had a posterior baby.. but that wasnt the reason I had my c section incase your scared now lol

Beany
07-11-2007, 11:59
You're not 40, Noos. You're thirty-ten. Next year, you'll be thirty-eleven :yes:

wattle
07-11-2007, 12:48
Hi Everyone. :wave:

Happy Birthday Noos, you special Mummy you! I hope you have a spectacular day.:party:

I had a posterior bub for a while, but I managed to encourage her to turn by spending a lot of time on my hands and knees. Aparantly the weight being forward really helps. When you sit in a chair, sit right forward too, rather than reclining at all. A swiss ball is good to. I think, from memory (and that's vague) that a few hours on hands and knees a day is ideal, but do it maximum 10 - 15 mins at a time, and some gentle rocking is good too.

Beany - love Asher's haircut. He looks like such a little man now.

lottiesmum
07-11-2007, 15:20
missy - classy choice of bubbles! me i'm a krug girl...(ummm yes well in my fantasies....!)

but of course big birthday wishes for MamaNoosa. Eh - you are as old as you feel....

hello cathy...hope things are going smoothly over at your place.

uniquey - you poor sausage. i hope you mend quickly and are being cared for. i hope you have arranged help...i too make bald babies btw - DD was bald as a bowling ball until she was 2. at 3.5 she still hasnt had a hair cut because it curls rather than grows longer. so maybe your DD will be a curly top too?! DS has no hair to speak of either.

good luck with the house shed. fingers crossed.

ds popped tooth number 4 today!

*munchkin*
07-11-2007, 19:06
:babydust2: :babydust2: :babydust2: :babydust2:

Happy Birthday NoosaMum!

*munchkin*
07-11-2007, 19:10
:smiliedance: :yelclap: Shed that house is meant to be!! Seriously!!! I'm so happy for you! If they are splitting up, they will want to sell it with minimal fuss and ASAP, so you are in!!!!!!!!!

Well today I got the official paperwork for my permanent part time job. Yay me! Same company, still 3 days a week, but PERMANENT, not contract. Yip Yip Yipppeeee! It's like the final piece of the 1000 piece jigsaw, and I've done it. So now I can officially start planning my holiday with my free flight! Am I insane thinking of travelling to Bali with Jetstar on my own with a little baby???? It's just that that would be the cheapest place to holiday. Either that or go and crash with my little brother who has just moved to Fremantle *(:wave: Mumstar!).

shed
07-11-2007, 19:15
And Shed.....I really really really want you to buy that house!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay....well since its your birthday...

We will.

In fact, I think we just did :eek: :D

Yep!!! :yes:

Its all agreed on. Just got the call :D x1000

I am going in tomorrow to sign the contract and leave the holding deposit thingo and organise the pest and building inspection thingo.

wow!!

I can't believe it. It was the first house we looked at, all those months ago, I can't even remember when but its been months. Every house has been compared to it and every house has come up short.

And its zoned to the most beautiful little public school you have ever seen. Its just like a little country school.

woo hoo!!!

wow!!! :eek: :o

I can't believe it.

littlepickle
07-11-2007, 20:21
Shed, congratulations on the house. I hope the whole thing goes really smoothly for you. Sounds like it was meant to be:thumbsup:

Lottiesmum: Miss E hasnt had a haircut either due to the curls, when her hair is wet it comes down past her shoulders at the back and below her chin at the front, but when it is dry, it bouces up into these tight little curls and doesnt look long at all. I could probably make a topiary out of it:laughing:

Nique: I reckn Miss A is going to have curls like her daddy!!

Munchkin: Congratulations on the job. Excellent! Bali sounds lovely!

Noosa: Miss E was in the perfect position before labour and turned posterior half way through labour, I too have heard that water births are the best for posterior bubs.

mum_I'm_hungry
07-11-2007, 21:02
:rain: Back home again. Bloody rained out. Can hardly believe it, actually. Is it possible to be on water restrictions and rained out of your beach holiday? Bolted with the kids today and left my water-logged parents to squelch around the beach by themselves! :rain:

:eek: I can't believe Noosa almost gave birth!

:smiliedance: Shed got her house!

:sleeping: Running off to bed...

littlepickle
07-11-2007, 21:24
aaarrghh, I have that horribly fluey thing going on .. sore throat, achy joints and headache. I dont want a cold, or a flu for that matter. just took a load of garlic capsules which should help to ward off an impending cold as well as any unwelcome advances:laughing:

I am still crossing my fingers that I didnt get that job I had an interview for the other day. It was a full time permy job, and the only reason I went to the interview was because I have a real problem with saying no to people on the phone. Such a soft touch! Anyway, I am hoping that I dont get the job as I want to stay home with dd. Part time is ok, I can handle that, but wasnt to at least get to spend the majority of time with dd.
sorry - just thinking out loud and getting my little whinge out there:D

Alli, sorry to hear you were rained out on holiday, thats happening to everyone at the moment, we got rained on in Vanuatu, another friend is in holiday in the Dominican Republic and is in the middle of a flood zone.
As for Brisbane, I wish the weather would decide what it is going to do. It has been overcast and gloomy for the past 2 days but not much in the way of rain. I wish it would just rain dammit!

Fairyfloss
07-11-2007, 23:22
OMG :smiliedance: shed congrats, that house was just meant to be, (I think we should thank dp for being late that made you miss out on the other house) of course we will keep that quite, enjoy your new home
littlepickle: take care dal, hope you feel better soon:hugs: as for the job, I was actually thinking may be I should hope you get it, because it then puts you in the position of power, to either ask for part time hours, or just reject them fully, either way the knwing they wanted you will make you feel good. ( I am more than happy to give you ahand with your not acceptance letter)
Hello cathy:wave: : how is max behaving these days, hope you are all well
lottiesmum: hope the teething is painless
*munchkin*: :yelclap: yay for perm job, a holiday is well overdue
alli: you poor thing, hope your next holiday is better,:fingerscrossed:

speaking of which why on earth is this weather is so caotic,( don't answer that I am suppose to be the expert:laughing: ) Gippsland has had the crippling druaght, horrible bush fires and flood, all just since last year, it is like one minute, every thing is bone dry, next the whole state chookes to their smoke, and now, they are losing again, to flood , poor people

MZmama
08-11-2007, 07:25
shed - OMG OMG.. yay for you!! im so excited.. whens settlement, did you end up paying the amount you wanted?? there is something about first houses.. we ended up buying the first house we saw .. 4 months down the track.. once again.. congrats, its a nice feeling.. cant wait to see pics...

btw - how did the dog breeding go?

munchkin - congratulations on the permanent job.. thats fantastic..

Miss E hasnt had a haircut either due to the curls, when her hair is wet it comes down past her shoulders at the back and below her chin at the front, but when it is dry, it bouces up into these tight little curls and doesnt look long at all. I could probably make a topiary out of it:laughing:

oh i have to see.. take a before and after shot! cant believe its past her shoulders, to cute. :yes:

sucks you are sick too, mya is JUST getting over it - extremely snotty cold. oh and un-luck for the job :p

alli - sorry bout the holiday..

us - its the christmas pageant this weekend.. except i have to work friday night and the pageant starts at 9am saturday morning.. SOOO me and a girlfriend are going to stay in the city for the night, well she will look after DD and her son, whilst i work and i just go back there after work. atleast that way we can get up and get ourselves ready at our own pace rather than having to be on the train by like 7am..

hi all :wave:

missie_mack
08-11-2007, 07:33
OOh the Adelaide Christmas Parade!!

Im off to google

lottiesmum
08-11-2007, 07:39
Talking about weather - it has been 8-10 degrees here for the past few days. that is :snow: or close enough for mid-spring!!!! have had the heating on 24/7 for days :rolleyes:

we are sick-ville again. flu/cold thing. yuck.

hooray for munchkin and shed and maybe LP (if she wants it to be :D )

missie_mack
08-11-2007, 07:47
:o DH has asked me, to ask all of you to remember to vote for him in Cloth Idol (gavstar in thread #2). It seems he hasnt got enough to do at work :rolleyes: :laughing: James is falling behind andmy DH is becoming super competitive

lottiesmum
08-11-2007, 09:38
oh missy i didnt realise that was YOUR James :laughing: . i wondered who that "imposter" was :o . will go and vote for you now.

mumstar
08-11-2007, 09:42
hi guys

well we are off to playgroup today. all feeling better and actually everyone was in bed by like 8pm here so in great moods today!

Noosa: i delivered aiden posterior and if you can move that baby before the labour do it!!!! i wouldn't want any one else to have to go through what i went through! :gloomy:

munchkin: come to perth! weather is great and loads of things to do! i can show you around :):yelclap:

shed: Congrats on the house!:thumbsup:

littlepickle and lottiesmum: hope you get well soon:babydust2:

em: have fun at the xmas pagent!:xmas:

Beany
08-11-2007, 10:03
Hmmm all quiet on the Noosa front ... :detective:

missie_mack
08-11-2007, 11:31
Maybe she is feeling unwell with forty-itis??

Beany
08-11-2007, 11:39
I'm hoping she's busy yelling profanities at Noosadad :D

missie_mack
08-11-2007, 11:44
:laughing: I would think she is more likely to be scrubbing the floor on all fours bribing Tilly to turn around.

I know I resorted to bribery in the last days :o Damn kid never listened. Perhaps because I was promising gold jewellery and pretty dresses and calling him a girls name :laughing:

Fairyfloss
08-11-2007, 12:50
:o DH has asked me, to ask all of you to remember to vote for him in Cloth Idol (gavstar in thread #2). It seems he hasnt got enough to do at work :rolleyes: :laughing: James is falling behind andmy DH is becoming super competitive

of course, I should have recognised the cute james in the avatar , well my vote is in, go james :smiliedance: so cute

ladies the voting closes on 10-11-2007 at 08:36 AM
come on those who haven't voted yet give james a helping hand, it is very close

Mrs Potts
08-11-2007, 13:03
Just a quickie before I forget everything that I've read.

Shed - awesome news on the house!!! :fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed: it all goes through smoothly to settlement for you. BTW, we bought the first house we looked at too.

Noosa - hope you had a fab birthday. I'm a Veuve girl myself

Monique - was going to email/call to see if you want to catch up next week, if you're up to it.

Damn. That's it. Can't remember anything else.

No news from us, except I have a 6 yr old going free to good home. Actually, some day I wouldn't even care if it was good home :shame:

Miss K is still only taking the odd steps here and there, but she's definitely getting more confident.

Hope the sickies are feeling better!

shed
08-11-2007, 13:33
Just got back from signing about a million pieces of paper.

So we will be in by christmas.

Wow. I still can't quite believe it. I just can't believe it. I was actually starting to get a bit annoyed with myself because I couldn't stop visualising us living there. It would just pop into my head, us just living there, doing everyday stuff. I couldn't help it. I must have visualised it into being!

DP and I didn't even smile about it last night. We were both walking around looking at each other like this ----> :eek:

I just can't believe it!! :smiliedance:

Ok, so I will shut up about it for a while now because now all we do is wait :sleeping:

eeeeeeee!!!
-------------------------------------------

missie-mack, my vote is in, I also wondered who the intruder was when he posted in here, lol, we are a clannish lot :laughing:

Noooooooosa??? oh Noooooooosa?

Beany
08-11-2007, 14:06
Yay shed!

I'm glad you got the house. Now you have to tell me everything so that when I am as ancient as you, I can buy a house, too! :D

Seriously, gives me a lot of hope seeing someone in their late thirties getting a mortgage. I was beginning to think it was well out of my range but I suppose we can do it, really. Just a matter of getting that deposit together ... How many kidneys do you suppose a 3 person household needs? :detective:

mama anne
08-11-2007, 14:28
hey girls

SHED! When you posted bout the house I was almost as excited as if Noosa had had the baby!
Or if Beany had've told us she was preggers :laughing:
Thats such good news, I'm VERY excited for you :smiliedance:

noosa have been enjoying reading your updates. Dunno what to say about Tilly Rain earthchild being posterior except .... if you need some baby-turning vibes, we're already sending them to you.

missie aready voted for him :)

well news here ... we not only have a WALKING child, but we're moving next wednesday :eek: we found out on monday that we got the place we applied for, but we're moving next wednesday as thats when the lease starts and so as not to pay rent in 2 places.
so since monday i've spent my time freaking out, packing, trying to wash all the dirty washing so i dont have to transport 10 garbage bags of stinky clothes, freaking out ....... yeah thats about it.

well, in that train of thought, i should go pack some more .... :wizard:

shed
08-11-2007, 14:28
Actually DP isn't in his late thirties. He is 40!!

I dunno why he never bought a house before now. I honestly don't know. Its cool though, coz now we get the first home buyers dough as well.

As for advice, I have none. Marry someone who already has a house deposit, that's what I'm doing! :devil6: :laughing: if it was up to me we'd be on - you guessed it ----> "Struggle Street" :p

(sorry guys, stupid private joke).

Beany
08-11-2007, 14:44
Or if Beany had've told us she was preggers :laughing:

Wash your mouth out, young lady!

mama anne
08-11-2007, 14:59
:D :shame: :D

amandaw
08-11-2007, 18:19
[B]Amanda, Good Luck with your OB visit tomorrow:thumbsup: I have have rather fond memories of Camp Currimundi, way back when! Glad to hear you had a ball, wish I had teachers like you back in High School, would have been a hoot!!
Erica

Awww shucks :o it's easy when you teach nice kids!...actually, have cringed when someone said that to me in the past....I was all of about 22 and tutoring the primary school aged son of DH's boss....her female partner was at home, and made the comment and I soooo didn't know how to take it or what to think...made for a very uncomfortabe tutoring session
Ob appointment went well - very strong heartbeat and normal bp for me, so all is good.

Hows the house thing coming along? DId you get that one in Petrie that you were interested in?

We actually ended up with a much newer place at Kurwongbah (just one street away from Petrie though)- goes unconditional tomorrow, so that will be one certainty in place. We settle on the 8th of Dec, so still a few weeks away yet

:smiliedance: Yeah Shed - was obviously meant to be - fingers crossed that all the pest and building don't reveal any nasties now...don't want anything to wipe the smile off your face

Welcome Mel - I also have a Charlotte - born on the 12th

Noosa - hope there's been plenty of time spent on those hands and knees. C was posterior, but did turn about 2 weeks out - phew! I know one thing (that actually sounds quite nutting) that DH decided to try (as I was nearly in tears when the ob said that he probably would be heading to a cs if she remained that way) was shining a torch low on my belly, apparently they can see it, and head towards the light - i think he may have found it on the turning babies site anyway. All :fingerscrossed: for you

hey girls

well news here ... we not only have a WALKING child, but we're moving next wednesday :eek: we found out on monday that we got the place we applied for, but we're moving next wednesday as thats when the lease starts and so as not to pay rent in 2 places.
so since monday i've spent my time freaking out, packing, trying to wash all the dirty washing so i dont have to transport 10 garbage bags of stinky clothes, freaking out ....... yeah thats about it.

well, in that train of thought, i should go pack some more .... :wizard:

Holly heck!! Congrats on the walking...gald it's you moving on the short time limit rather than me!!

MountainGirl
09-11-2007, 06:31
:wave: Hi Guys,.... Am back from lovely rainy brissy,..... Work was too hard,..and too tiring,..and vomiting everymorning infront of your rigging crew in the portaloos is not a good look!!!!!! It was good to use my brains again though,.... will be back later to read the reams o posts!

missie_mack
09-11-2007, 10:17
Woo Hoo Shed :D I bet your thinking of layouts and colours already. You might even be in by Christmas. How wonderful your first Christmas in your own home :D

shed
09-11-2007, 12:08
Yep, now we just wait. We are both a bit nervous, I dunno about what, about it not working out or something. We put in two offers previously and they were both knocked back so we got our hopes up and then got disappointed about this same house, so I think we are just sort of holding our breath a bit.

Definitely thinking of what we are going to do with the place. We are getting new carpet, we already decided that - no matter what house we bought.

And I am painting the wall in the loungeroom, the same colour as I painted the wall here a while ago, during my painting phase. It matches our furniture, and since we won't be getting new furniture for a long long (loooooong) time we might as well make the wall match what we have.

And I want a skylight in the kitchen and DP wants a different tap in the ensuite. And that's all for the moment. Everything else can wait.

Settlement date is 15 December, if it all goes smoothly. A 5 week settlement due to christmas.

I cooked a roast dinner last night, to sort of celebrate. A night off from the Lite n Easy.

later on I asked DP to make me a cuppa. He goes "no, you make me a cuppa" and I go "oh go on babe, I just made you a roast dinner!"

and he goes "I just bought you a house!".

:laughing: checkmate!!

I still made him make it anyway :laughing:

mumstar
09-11-2007, 16:08
oh noosa where r u???

congrats again shed on buying your house!

littlepickle
09-11-2007, 18:49
Shed, how exciting for you! Excellent that you get to spend Christmas in your new house! So details daaahling details!! Whats your new house like??

Jane - Yep, the weather here in Brissy has been very um changeable. Its been ok today but very dull over the last few days. Sorry to hear you were suffering with morning sickness though. What was the show you were working on?

mama ann - Congratulations on the walking! Good luck with the move! I guess, one positive of moving house quickly is that the whole thing is over and done with quickly. And like Shed, at least you will be all moved in before Christmas!

Noosa - where are you???:detective::eek:

Mrs Potts
09-11-2007, 18:53
I've been wondering about Noosa too! Wonder if Tilly's on the move???

mum_I'm_hungry
09-11-2007, 19:47
:eek: I think we are all going to be mummies again! Go Noosa! Go Tilly! :yelclap: :smiliedance: :fingerscrossed: for happy water births!

littlepickle
09-11-2007, 20:06
Ooooh how exciting!!!:babydust2::D:smiliedance:

Anyone for champagne?

mum_I'm_hungry
09-11-2007, 20:10
Count me in! The preggers club will have to abstain, though, he he...:D

littlepickle
09-11-2007, 20:14
*passes a glass of the finest to Alli*:D

Sorry Preggers club:o I have orange juice too?:o

Yay bring on the Bucks Fizz!!!

wattle
09-11-2007, 20:24
Double for me please :party: I could (hic) do with (hic) a drinky (hic) or two tonight (hic) *silly giggle*

littlepickle
09-11-2007, 20:34
hic *passes bottle to wattle*:party:

Has anyone tried Almond Champagne? I tried some stateside and havent ever seen it anyone else, it was soooooo nice, in an unusual way. I do like champagne cocktails too ...

littlepickle
09-11-2007, 20:35
hic *passes bottle to wattle*:party:
giggle, hic... that rhymes giggle:laughing:

mama anne
09-11-2007, 21:49
Count me in! The preggers club will have to abstain, though, he he...:D
i dunno though, i think internet champagne is ok, as long as you have your fingers crossed while you drink it.

so if thats true, pass me the bottle :D

shed
09-11-2007, 21:50
Noosa?? Noooooooooooosa???

you better not have gone off to have a baby without posting on here first :mad:

and if you haven't gone off to have a baby I think you should post every few hours.

So we know you're still around.

Beany
09-11-2007, 22:06
Has anyone else's kidlet become extremely aggressive lately? Asher is constantly trying new wrestling moves on me, body-slamming me if I'm lying on the floor, ramming into me if I'm standing up, smacking me ALL THE TIME.

He use to reach up to me when he woke up and wanted me to pick him up. Now he reaches up to me to smack my face! He's also started to poke me in the eye as I feed him and wee himself laughing when I yelp about it.

It's like ... he's turning into a BOY! :eek: :no: :eek: